GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 22, 2009, 10:03:33 PM

Title: Tír Eoghain vs Doire NFL 2009
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 22, 2009, 10:03:33 PM
Onwards on upwards  ;)

Can Tyrone win their first League game in Healy Park of '09 on the evening of Saturday 28th March? On current form the answer would have to be an emphatic 'No', but then again this is against Derry, and that has its own dynamic - a repeat of last night's fare is not an option.
Title: Re: Tír Eoghain vs Doire NFL 2009
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 22, 2009, 10:18:22 PM
Will Paddy Bradley get a chance to tease the Tyrone players like last year? Based on recent performances he could well do. Hopefully Harte will be in a position to name a strong side for this one as it would be nice to get a couple of decent performances in before the championship. Its never nice to get beat to Derry and hopefully the players will respond. Does anyone know what the Stevie O'Neill situation is? Is the injury bad or is he being held back as a precaution? Any chance of a run out for him in this one?
Post by: ONeill on March 22, 2009, 10:22:49 PM
Surely Mickey and his troops will be up for this one. Batin the in-breds is like Christmas.

You get the feeling that many of the old hands need a challenge to 'get up' for games at this time of the year (Dublin in Croke and being humiliated by Kerry).
Post by: ziggysego on March 22, 2009, 10:24:12 PM
Mickey raised them to put manners on the Dubs. He can do the same for inbreds too.
Post by: whiskeysteve on March 22, 2009, 10:43:21 PM
we are not inbred.

you are all inbred.

Your sisters are your mothers.

and your young folk have turned the Holylands into a warzone

The Hills Have Eyes was a documentary about Tyrone.
Post by: mountainboii on March 22, 2009, 11:08:43 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 22, 2009, 10:24:12 PM
Mickey raised them to put manners on the Dubs. He can do the same for inbreds too.

Aye but Dublin are shite, and could very well get relegated. Derry have been better, and could well win the league.
Post by: SidelineKick on March 23, 2009, 08:32:03 AM

Ziggy, Greencastle? Seriously?

Should be a decent game but we won't worry too much about it.  Safe now and Cassidy is continuing to experiment with the side.  He's doing a decent job of following Mickey Harte in having cover for all positions.  Too many times in recent years we have had too many positions cemented down from early in the year.  There is absolutely no one on the Derry panel that can be a guaranteed starter.
Post by: orangeman on March 23, 2009, 09:22:10 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on March 23, 2009, 08:32:03 AM

Ziggy, Greencastle? Seriously?

Should be a decent game but we won't worry too much about it.  Safe now and Cassidy is continuing to experiment with the side.  He's doing a decent job of following Mickey Harte in having cover for all positions.  Too many times in recent years we have had too many positions cemented down from early in the year.  There is absolutely no one on the Derry panel that can be a guaranteed starter.
[/b]

Serious ???

Not even Enda, the Bradleys, Kevin Mc Guckin, Doc ????
Post by: SidelineKick on March 23, 2009, 09:30:19 AM
I'm completely serious.  For the first time in years I don't think anyone could predict a team for the championship.

Yesterday proved that Doc can be done without, the midfield coped very well.  I'm not saying he won't be on because I would like to think he will, I just think Cass is making it clear that every position has cover and everyone is capable of playing that position in the championship.. The minute any of them start to be complacent is the minute they will be put on the bench.

I would be confident that all of the players you mentioned will start but that is by no means a guarantee.
Post by: KingLarsson on March 23, 2009, 10:39:40 AM
Wer gunna do youns tyrone wans!!!
Post by: orangeman on March 23, 2009, 10:42:51 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on March 23, 2009, 09:30:19 AM
I'm completely serious.  For the first time in years I don't think anyone could predict a team for the championship.

Yesterday proved that Doc can be done without, the midfield coped very well.  I'm not saying he won't be on because I would like to think he will, I just think Cass is making it clear that every position has cover and everyone is capable of playing that position in the championship.. The minute any of them start to be complacent is the minute they will be put on the bench.

I would be confident that all of the players you mentioned will start but that is by no means a guarantee.

That's good news for Derry  - not such good news for the rest of the country !
Post by: SidelineKick on March 23, 2009, 10:43:00 AM
Quote from: KingLarsson on March 23, 2009, 10:39:40 AM

Just what I was going to say. Great minds eh?  ::)
Post by: SidelineKick on March 23, 2009, 10:44:03 AM
Quote from: orangeman on March 23, 2009, 10:42:51 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on March 23, 2009, 09:30:19 AM

That's good news for Derry  - not such good news for the rest of the country !

Less of that you.  No talking Derry up allowed.  It's encouraging alright but we'll not get carried away.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on March 23, 2009, 10:44:19 AM

numpty!
Post by: uselessfootballer on March 23, 2009, 11:03:04 AM
I would be more than a wee bit worried about  this Saturday's game.
Derry took the piss a bit last year and they are undoubtably a better side at the same stage this year. I also think that Tyone are a bit behind where they were at this stage last year, so those 2 factors together could lead to an embarassing night.
Hopefully through fear of being completely embarassed by Derry can lead to the senior guys lifting the performance a bit, but the intensity and workrate from the half back and half forward lines is missing and probably will be until the middle of the championship. Also in the middle of the field McGinley or Cavanagh (Sean) need to start, to workhorse players such as Holmes and Hughes don't work together.
Here's hoping but probably a night when Red Hand children should be kept at home and away from the TV
Post by: KingLarsson on March 23, 2009, 11:24:43 AM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on March 23, 2009, 10:44:19 AM

numpty!

??? can i not voice my opinion?
Post by: wherefromreferee? on March 23, 2009, 11:26:17 AM
Quote from: KingLarsson on March 23, 2009, 11:24:43 AM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on March 23, 2009, 10:44:19 AM

numpty!

??? can i not voice my opinion?

You sure can KL, but why not wait until after the game?  You'll find that comments like the one above can comeback and bit you on the ass.
Post by: KingLarsson on March 23, 2009, 11:30:03 AM
well hi, il let them bite me. But the numpty comment is uncalled for
Post by: wherefromreferee? on March 23, 2009, 11:34:51 AM
Quote from: KingLarsson on March 23, 2009, 11:30:03 AM

We'll see  ;)
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 23, 2009, 11:38:27 AM
Quote from: uselessfootballer on March 23, 2009, 11:03:04 AM
I would be more than a wee bit worried about  this Saturday's game.
Derry took the piss a bit last year and they are undoubtably a better side at the same stage this year. I also think that Tyone are a bit behind where they were at this stage last year, so those 2 factors together could lead to an embarassing night.
Hopefully through fear of being completely embarassed by Derry can lead to the senior guys lifting the performance a bit, but the intensity and workrate from the half back and half forward lines is missing and probably will be until the middle of the championship. Also in the middle of the field McGinley or Cavanagh (Sean) need to start, to workhorse players such as Holmes and Hughes don't work together.
Here's hoping but probably a night when Red Hand children should be kept at home and away from the TV

Couldnt agree with that. Tyrone were really pretty poor in the league last season and there was little indication of what was to come in the summer. Indeed plenty of people would have said this time last year that Tyrone were finished as AI contenders.I dont think they would say that at this stage.

In the early years of Mickey's reign Tyrone went all out to win everything, McKenna and League included, and there wasnt all that much experimentation. It worked at that time but there a lot more miles on the clock now and the strategy has changed. Of course the team still aims to win every match but there is a lot of chopping and changing in the McKenna and League. The aim now is for the team to really hit the ground running when it matters, ie August and September. The main thing at this stage is to work on the fitness, hopefully uncover some new options (ie Cassidy) and to hope that the key men are injury free come the championship. And to make sure Division 1 status is regained as playing the top teams is the best way to prepare for the summer. Another win should be enough to achieve that.

Post by: Kentucky Blue on March 23, 2009, 12:18:27 PM
For derry's relatively handy win in celtic park last year, it didnt count for nothing come the championship. Individually the likes of paddy bradley had a field day but as for this year I would greatly take a beating from Tyrone in the league if it meant derry bucked into gear for the championship.
Think Cassidy is shrewd enough. Dont think his full hand will be on show as derry dont need the points as such.

But every man will be playing for their place and they will know if they can do well and win their duel agianst a Tyrone player, they will go a long way to securing their place in the first 15.
Tyrone are still the benchmark having won Sam last year so it will be a good test.

I expect a really tight, lively affair. Derry 1-11 Tyrone 0-14  :D
Post by: rrhf on March 23, 2009, 12:34:26 PM
I fancy Tyrone on this one,  I know we are playing poorly but we will be okay for Derry, always take Derry when we need to.  The revenge factor for the 06 championship will be a key point.  If we lose this we are probably down, so I fancy a bit of improvement.   
Post by: charlie stubbs on March 24, 2009, 06:16:17 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 23, 2009, 12:34:26 PM
I fancy Tyrone on this one,  I know we are playing poorly but we will be okay for Derry, always take Derry when we need to.  The revenge factor for the 06 championship will be a key point.  If we lose this we are probably down, so I fancy a bit of improvement.   

id agree with that tyrone are always at their best i think when they are written off e.g. by alot of people after last years league and before dublin game last year.  the added incentive of playing derry will lift them also.  dont think mh will let them 4get bradley taking the hand fllicking the ball up last year
Post by: BennyHarp on March 24, 2009, 10:07:42 PM
Yeah, i wouldnt be too worried about the form this time of year - with aging legs and lads with alot of miles on the clock, i'd say mickey has abondoned his philosphy of a few years ago of trying to flat out win every game! I think now the focus is on a more gradual progression to peak form in August and September! So as far as i'm concerned, i 'd be delighted to see Paddy Bradley doing a few kick ups on saturday night - it may come back to bite him!

Quote from: KingLarsson on March 23, 2009, 11:30:03 AM

I agree the numpty comment was uncalled for - i thought it was quite an intelligent post from KingLarsson - for a 3 year old!
Post by: ONeill on March 24, 2009, 11:08:08 PM
It'd be good to see a somewhat championship-look settled side for these last 2 games v L/Derry and Mayo.

Anyone penetrate Mickey's circle?:

Is Dooher near a run-out?
Is O'Neill near a run-out
McGinley?
How's Ricey cupping coping?

Post by: red hander on March 24, 2009, 11:08:22 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on March 22, 2009, 10:43:21 PM
we are not inbred.

you are all inbred.

Your sisters are your mothers.

and your young folk have turned the Holylands into a warzone

The Hills Have Eyes was a documentary about Tyrone.

Sure Deliverance was a reality TV show shot around Bellaghy
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 24, 2009, 11:37:01 PM
Anybody know why Cassidy was withdrawn at the last minute for the Donegal game?
Post by: tyronefan on March 24, 2009, 11:43:04 PM
hamstring was tight at training on thursday night and mickey didn't want to chance it

he should be ok for this weekend
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 24, 2009, 11:45:14 PM
Sláinte tf, good news. Another feckin' hamstring though, MH should get the lads on the bikes with Stevie up around the Sperrins.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on March 25, 2009, 10:40:16 AM
Is this game on the tele?
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 25, 2009, 10:50:55 AM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on March 25, 2009, 10:40:16 AM
Is this game on the tele?
Live on Santa Sports
Post by: under the bar on March 25, 2009, 10:55:44 AM
QuoteIs Dooher near a run-out?

Saw him & O'Neill swimming & then doing gym work.  Neither be back till Championship time.  Just as well as we need them and they are 2 men that do not need league games under the belt.,
Post by: orangeman on March 25, 2009, 01:51:18 PM
Taken from the Derry football thread -

Sean Cavanagh has admitted he would love to stick it to rivals Derry on Saturday night after last year's 'showboating' at Celtic Park.

Derry hosted an won the corresponding 2008 league fixture and celebrated, according to Tyrone star Cavanagh by goading their great rivals. 'If we're looking for something to kick-start our season then a game with Derry is certain going to answer that,' said Cavanagh. 'We played them last year up in Celtic Park and there were a few "tackles" that night.

'Paddy Bradley was toeing the ball a bit at the end, maybe a wee bit of showboating from the Derry guy's that maybe didn't sit too well with the Tyrone supporters or us.'

Cavanagh also added his voice to growing calls for Tyrone's May 31 Ulster SFC clash with Armagh to be moved from Omagh to Croke Park.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on March 25, 2009, 01:53:35 PM
You love stirring OM  ;)
Post by: screenexile on March 25, 2009, 01:55:51 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 25, 2009, 01:51:18 PM
Taken from the Derry football thread -

Sean Cavanagh has admitted he would love to stick it to rivals Derry on Saturday night after last year's 'showboating' at Celtic Park.

Derry hosted an won the corresponding 2008 league fixture and celebrated, according to Tyrone star Cavanagh by goading their great rivals. 'If we're looking for something to kick-start our season then a game with Derry is certain going to answer that,' said Cavanagh. 'We played them last year up in Celtic Park and there were a few "tackles" that night.

'Paddy Bradley was toeing the ball a bit at the end, maybe a wee bit of showboating from the Derry guy's that maybe didn't sit too well with the Tyrone supporters or us.'

Cavanagh also added his voice to growing calls for Tyrone's May 31 Ulster SFC clash with Armagh to be moved from Omagh to Croke Park.

::) ::) ::) ::)

It'll be interesting to see what kind of team we put out. I have a notion that Cassidy will not be too interested in winning this game (Championship rivalries are what matters to Cassidy not preceived league rivalries) and will just use it as a chance to give fringe players some game time. In fairness though most new lads who have come in previously have stepped up when needed. Not too worried about the game though as it's more important for Tyrone to win it than us. It's full steam ahead to the Monaghan game now I reckon.
Post by: under the bar on March 25, 2009, 02:33:33 PM
QuoteCavanagh also added his voice to growing calls for Tyrone's May 31 Ulster SFC clash with Armagh to be moved from Omagh to Croke Park.

Is the Healy Park pitch considerably smaller than that at Croker?  Anyone know the dimensions? 
Post by: KingLarsson on March 25, 2009, 02:41:31 PM
I think derry could win this wan by as much as ten points the difference in the teams is so big right now
Post by: rrhf on March 25, 2009, 02:42:13 PM
Thats the war cry we need to send the inbreds back home over the Sperrins with their cousins. Tir Eoghain Abu!!.  
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 25, 2009, 02:43:01 PM
Quote from: under the bar on March 25, 2009, 02:33:33 PM
QuoteCavanagh also added his voice to growing calls for Tyrone's May 31 Ulster SFC clash with Armagh to be moved from Omagh to Croke Park.

Is the Healy Park pitch considerably smaller than that at Croker?  Anyone know the dimensions? 

Is this the same Sean was complaining in today's Star about players expenses having to travel to training? Costs a lot of money for us supporters to go to Croke Park especially with a family but hey! I'm sure the GPA aren't too concerned about that.
Post by: screenexile on March 25, 2009, 02:45:15 PM
I just hope there's not too many Mucksavage Tyrone weemen about wearing their Tattyreagh/Eskra/Edendork Geansai's and UnderArmour underneath them... if they look at you the wrong way their brother/husband/cousin (All the one man) usually takes offence and starts the ruck! They were well behaved in Celtic Park last year but it will likely be different on their home patch!
Post by: Will Hunting on March 25, 2009, 03:53:06 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 25, 2009, 01:51:18 PM

Is this the same Cavanagh (or 'Sean' as the Tyrone posters call him) that walked off Croke Park last year bawling his eyes out because he had hurt his leg? Was funny the other night to see him going over to help 'Colm' in his wee tantrum with the umpire!  :D :D

As for the game, it's an irrelevant one for Derry. More fringe players to get a game as other posters have said. No point in going hell for leather against the inbreds in March. A win would be nice though  :)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 25, 2009, 04:04:40 PM
Quote from: Will Hunting on March 25, 2009, 03:53:06 PM
No point in going hell for leather against the inbreds in March.

You're talking about a Derry training game here I take it?
Post by: orangeman on March 25, 2009, 04:09:33 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 25, 2009, 02:43:01 PM
Quote from: under the bar on March 25, 2009, 02:33:33 PM

Is this the same Sean was complaining in today's Star about players expenses having to travel to training? Costs a lot of money for us supporters to go to Croke Park especially with a family but hey! I'm sure the GPA aren't too concerned about that.

Six of Gaelic Games' greats were also named as Opel Brand Ambassadors today, including:

Tadhg Kennelly - Kerry Footballer   a Kerry great ???  ;)
Alan Brogan - Dublin Footballer
Sean Cavanagh - Tyrone Footballer
Joe Canning - Galway Hurler
Dan Shanahan - Waterford Hurler
Eddie Brennan - Kilkenny Hurler
Each Brand Ambassador was presented with an Opel car for a period of two years.
Post by: ziggysego on March 25, 2009, 04:15:03 PM
I'll say Tyrone will be able to lift themselves for this game. MH isn't going full whack, as thankfully he doesn't want to win every game now. Much better to progress naturally over the year and hit when it's possible.

However he'll want to preserve Division 1 status for next year, so it is a must-win game for us.

Still, it's nice to leave the inbred looking bewildered after 70 minutes.
Post by: SidelineKick on March 25, 2009, 04:16:14 PM
Cavanagh does realise that we can't all go to a presentation night and charge a fortune doesnt he?  A trip to croker isnt a cheap day out, but sure as long as sean gets another game in Croke Park.

Think Derry will put out another experimental team, been going well so far so don't see any reason as to why we can't win this one with a "weakened" team.

Quote from: ziggysego on March 25, 2009, 04:15:03 PM
I'll say Tyrone will be able to lift themselves for this game. MH isn't going full whack, as thankfully he doesn't want to win every game now. Much better to progress naturally over the year and hit when it's possible.

However he'll want to preserve Division 1 status for next year, so it is a must-win game for us.

It is Ziggy, I was at Celtic Park last year.
Post by: ziggysego on March 25, 2009, 04:19:30 PM
Derry's season collapsed then Sideline, where Tyrone's continued to climb ;)

The good spirit of Drew Kirk (RIP) will be watching over us on Saturday night.
Post by: SidelineKick on March 25, 2009, 04:22:02 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 25, 2009, 04:19:30 PM
Derry's season collapsed then Sideline, where Tyrone's continued to climb ;)

The good spirit of Drew Kirk (RIP) will be watching over us on Saturday night.

Not really true is it Ziggy as we won the League after that?  :o
Post by: ziggysego on March 25, 2009, 04:23:08 PM
Well I meant after the League. We all know Doire peaked in the League.
Post by: Will Hunting on March 25, 2009, 04:41:31 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on March 25, 2009, 04:16:14 PM
Cavanagh does realise that we can't all go to a presentation night and charge a fortune doesnt he?  A trip to croker isnt a cheap day out, but sure as long as sean gets another game in Croke Park.

That money goes straight into the "Tyrone training fund" don't you know Sideline   :D :D
Post by: SidelineKick on March 25, 2009, 04:54:43 PM
Quote from: Will Hunting on March 25, 2009, 04:41:31 PM

That money goes straight into the "Tyrone training fund" don't you know Sideline   :D :D

Me and my dodgey memory! I wouldn't want to open that can of worms again  ;) :D
Post by: SidelineKick on March 25, 2009, 05:55:38 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on March 25, 2009, 05:51:19 PM

I think the bewildered looks last year stemmed from the excessive taunting and gloating that was going on whilst exiting the ground considering it was only a league game.

On a side note, I really hope it isn't as cold on Saturday night as it was for last year's corresponding fixture- now that was baltic.

Please elaborate.

It could not possibly be as cold, that was a ridiculous night had about 5 layers on me!
Post by: tyrone86 on March 25, 2009, 06:06:29 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on March 25, 2009, 05:55:38 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on March 25, 2009, 05:51:19 PM

I think the bewildered looks last year stemmed from the excessive taunting and gloating that was going on whilst exiting the ground considering it was only a league game.

On a side note, I really hope it isn't as cold on Saturday night as it was for last year's corresponding fixture- now that was baltic.

Please elaborate.

It could not possibly be as cold, that was a ridiculous night had about 5 layers on me!

As far an Tyrone and Derry games go, you expect to get (or give, depending on the result) a fair amount of abuse upon exiting the ground from your fellow gaels. I thought the amount of slagging was excessive for the "importance" of the game - I thought it was way worse than the 2006 championship game and I would have been in much worse form leaving Healy that day.
Post by: SidelineKick on March 25, 2009, 06:18:07 PM
A bit of slagging yes sure its part of it. But if you say excessive I wouldnt be on for that.

However is this a generalisation?  Was it a few people or were the entire crowd of Derry supporters taking it in turns to have a go at the Tyrone supporters?  You do realise if a dozen numpties take it upon themselves to taunt the opposition and gloat then you can't tar everybody with the same brush?

I fail to see where you're coming from.
Post by: tyrone86 on March 25, 2009, 06:24:43 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on March 25, 2009, 06:18:07 PM
A bit of slagging yes sure its part of it. But if you say excessive I wouldnt be on for that.

However is this a generalisation?  Was it a few people or were the entire crowd of Derry supporters taking it in turns to have a go at the Tyrone supporters?  You do realise if a dozen numpties take it upon themselves to taunt the opposition and gloat then you can't tar everybody with the same brush?

I fail to see where you're coming from.

It might have been a generalisation, but it seemed more excessive than usual to me. We'll not get bogged down in it, believe me, we've more than our fair share of numpties in own ranks that are more than capable of getting the rest of us punished for their sins.
Post by: SidelineKick on March 25, 2009, 06:31:04 PM
I enjoy a bit of banter and slagging, but after the match i think the thats the time to say nothing.  After Derry beat Armagh in the qualifiers there were a few Armagh supporters that said fair play etc and its nice to have that kind of respect for each other where although winning is almost everything, you can have a bit of courtesy and congratulate the other team. Its annoying when other fans have bad experiences with your own supporters, though i suppose as you say every team has them.

Looking forward to the game itself, both teams will have a few men trying to prove themselves and although we are safe and probably not too worried about a final, I can't see Cassidy telling the lads to take it easy, not will MH or the lads forget last year.  That, along with 2 needed points, it has the makings of a good game.  If Sean Cavanagh is doing kick ups at the end, I'll certainly take that. It seemed to work for Tyrone last year  :D
Post by: ONeill on March 25, 2009, 07:06:05 PM
There's nothing like a Tyrone/Derry game to stir the blood. Feck it, I know a Derry hoor at work. Gonna get a sly dig tomorrow.
Post by: loughshore lad on March 25, 2009, 10:13:45 PM
Very hard to know how Saturday night will go.  Derry are obviously the form team and Cassidy is well on the way to achieving his objective for the league.  MH is not overly worried about the league for obvious reasons, the championship is the priority and he is looking to see who can bolster his options come the summer.   So far only Sean O'Neill (defence) has gave an indication he could be a serious option come the summer. Tyrone over the last 2 games resemble where they were this time last year and by all acoounts are training pretty heavily at present.  Maybe the memories of last year will stir a bit of a response from Tyrone.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 25, 2009, 10:25:29 PM

Think Derry will put out another experimental team, been going well so far so don't see any reason as to why we can't win this one with a "weakened" team.

I see different people talking about how expensive a day out in Croke Park is but how much extra does it really cost? The tickets won't be any dearer and if eating out is too much for you bring your own food. The only extra cost will be the diesel money and if there's 3 or 4 in the car that wont work out too much each. In fact if it's a family going Croke Park could work out cheaper because there should be plenty of family tickets available which you would have no hope of getting in Omagh. Add to that the fact that the you'll be watching the match in a top quality stadium with a decent pitch which should help improve the quality of the game. If the game goes ahead in Omagh there'll be plenty of complaints in the week leading up to it when people realise 18,000 tickets isnt enough for a high profile Tyrone Armagh clash.

Will be interesting to see the Tyrone line up tomorrow night. Would like to see a close to a starting 15 but looks like injuries will prevent this. Wouldnt be suprised if Derry name a very experimental line up after what happened last year. They'll be trying to prove their focus is on the championship.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 25, 2009, 10:43:30 PM
Quote from: loughshore lad on March 25, 2009, 10:13:45 PM
Very hard to know how Saturday night will go.  Derry are obviously the form team and Cassidy is well on the way to achieving his objective for the league.  MH is not overly worried about the league for obvious reasons, the championship is the priority and he is looking to see who can bolster his options come the summer.   So far only Sean O'Neill (defence) has gave an indication he could be a serious option come the summer. Tyrone over the last 2 games resemble where they were this time last year and by all acoounts are training pretty heavily at present.  Maybe the memories of last year will stir a bit of a response from Tyrone.

I think aiden cassidy has made a reasonable case for inclusion come the summer, sean o neill does look good but he has his work cut out to nail down a corner back spot as I don't think there'll be room in half back line if Harte, Jordan and block are all fit   
Post by: ONeill on March 25, 2009, 10:47:24 PM
Is it still...

Ricey - Justin - ___?___
Harte - Block - Jordan
McGinley - Hughes
Dooher - BMcGuigan - TMcGuigan
McCullagh - O'Neill - Mugsy

At full strength? Hard to leave out Joe McMahon. SO'Neill at 4?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 25, 2009, 10:54:37 PM
I think we'll need a keeper too Shane  ;)

You wouldn't be too far off with that 14, but there'll be a change or two depending on the opposition.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 25, 2009, 10:56:30 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 25, 2009, 10:47:24 PM
Is it still...

Ricey - Justin - ___?___
Harte - Block - Jordan
McGinley - Hughes

No player of the year o neill?!!
Post by: Tyrones own on March 25, 2009, 10:56:41 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 25, 2009, 10:47:24 PM
Is it still...

Ricey - Justin - ___?___
Harte - Block - Jordan
McGinley - Hughes

What's your plan for big Sean?
Post by: ONeill on March 25, 2009, 11:06:12 PM
Holy Jaysus - you know I knew there was something wrong.

McCullagh to 12? I just can't see Colm losing a starting place.
Post by: ONeill on March 25, 2009, 11:10:06 PM
Although Mugsy seems to be playing around the HF and even deeper this league. Perhaps he's thinking a fully fit Brian McGuigan and McCullagh cannot play in the same line.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 25, 2009, 11:10:23 PM
Looks like Mulligan is being groomed for a CHF berth, as the occasion may demand.
Post by: ONeill on March 25, 2009, 11:12:17 PM
Are we convinced by Snowy O'Neill?
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 25, 2009, 11:13:26 PM
Tommy McGuigan hasnt showed his best form so far in the league. He'll have to improve to keep Joe McMahon out. Would love to see Dooher and Brian McGuigan back fit in the half forward line but hard to know in Dooher's case in particular how realistic it is. Hopefully McGuigan will get good time in the last 2 league games and for Ardboe before the championship. Certainly wouldn't say Hub is guarenteed a place at this stage but he is contention. Think Sen Cavanagh might be in with a chance to of starting, anywhere from midfield up.

I'd agree if everyone is fit there is probably only 1 spot up for grabs in the defence, Sean O'Neill looks like he could have a chance. I'd say he's more likely to be picked at centre half back though with Gormley moving back into the full back line.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 25, 2009, 11:14:44 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 25, 2009, 11:12:17 PM

Jury out still, but he could get a run-out on Saturday. Needs more playing time.
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 25, 2009, 11:15:34 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 25, 2009, 11:12:17 PM

He doesn't miss with half a chance. Queen's mentors know he is classy.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 25, 2009, 11:27:39 PM
my team would be

1. devine
2. ricey
3. Justy
4. S O'Neill
5. Davy
6. Block
7. Jordan
8. Enda
9. Cassidy
10. Dooher
11. B Mc Guigan
12. Joe Mc Mahon
13. Mugsy
14. Sean
15. SON

Backs can be fluid allowing block to perhaps pick up Clarke/Mc Donnell an sean moving to 6, also leaves hub as back-up for midfield and players like tommy and Colly to come on when game opens up
Post by: Bogball XV on March 25, 2009, 11:46:44 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on March 25, 2009, 10:25:29 PM

I see different people talking about how expensive a day out in Croke Park is but how much extra does it really cost? The tickets won't be any dearer and if eating out is too much for you bring your own food. The only extra cost will be the diesel money and if there's 3 or 4 in the car that wont work out too much each. In fact if it's a family going Croke Park could work out cheaper because there should be plenty of family tickets available which you would have no hope of getting in Omagh. Add to that the fact that the you'll be watching the match in a top quality stadium with a decent pitch which should help improve the quality of the game. If the game goes ahead in Omagh there'll be plenty of complaints in the week leading up to it when people realise 18,000 tickets isnt enough for a high profile Tyrone Armagh clash.

Will be interesting to see the Tyrone line up tomorrow night. Would like to see a close to a starting 15 but looks like injuries will prevent this. Wouldnt be suprised if Derry name a very experimental line up after what happened last year. They'll be trying to prove their focus is on the championship.
Yeah, but you might only get about 25,000 in croker to see two division 2 rivals face off in the first round of the ulster championship.
How many at the galway game again?  I reckon 18,000 will be plenty and tbh croker needs 50,000 to create any sort of atmosphere.

As for the game, you'd have to fancy tyrone, cassidy doesn't want the distraction of a league final and he'll probably want to give a few fringe players a run out, he'll be hoping this doesn't backfire as they might end up playing too hard for their prospective places against monaghan, so maybe expect more changes at ht to ensure tyrone get the result they need.
Post by: Tyrones own on March 25, 2009, 11:49:55 PM
I'll go out on a limb here and say that Dooher will start very few games anymore
more of an impact sub from here out.
so here goes;

Devine
Ricey        Justy        S O'neill
Davey       Block            Model
   McGinley    Joe McMahon
McCullough   Brian     Sean
Tommy  Mugsy  Steven

and quite a few lads to come in to any position really, I'd be fairly confident in that line up
if we can stay fit.
Post by: armaghniac on March 25, 2009, 11:55:52 PM
QuoteYeah, but you might only get about 25,000 in croker to see two division 2 rivals face off in the first round of the ulster championship.

I don't see why the attendance at this game should be less than in 2002 when neither Armagh nor Tyrone had won an AI and Armagh were in Div 2. Not enough to fill Croke Pk but the obvious cure is to stick another game there too, if there is a wish to use Croke Pk. The family tickets in Croke Pk before meant kids went free, something the Ulster council got little thanks for as even here and among fans they were characterised as moneygrabbers.
Post by: tyrone86 on March 26, 2009, 12:15:02 AM
Well, one thing is for certain, we'll be ate at MF against if the Hub/Holmes partnership gets another run out. I'd like to see McGinley and Joey get a few games together in the middle - whilst Cassidy could develop into a good inter county player, it's too much to be pinning hopes on him to be nailing a place down in his first year - give the lad a chance to adapt to the Inter County game.

As for Snowy, I'd hope he gets a bit more game time. I thought he played well against Westmeath. He showed well for the ball and he looks stronger than last year. As Derry are the form team in Ulster at the moment, it would do no harm to have a look at him against a SM Lockhart or a Kevin McGuckin to see whereabouts he is in the pecking order. Similarly with PJ Quinn and Cathal McCarron, give them as much of the 70 minutes as they can last on Skinner and Paddy to see where they are in the bigger picture.
Post by: rrhf on March 26, 2009, 08:37:53 AM
Theres only one thing mitigating against a Derry win this weekend, and thats Derry themselves.  With nerves jingling coming up to the big game, my fear would be that: if the Balinderry and Bellaghy men were to start bitching at each other, or that the Balinascreen players could withdraw in protest at not getting the Kerry game, maybe just maybe one or two prominent menbers end up in an all day sessions in the pub, or perhaps that the odd girlfriend is shared.  It can happen to any county on the way up and its how friendships and team spirit could be fostered in these potentialities. perhaps Derrymen on here would be wiser to keep their own counsel this weekend before the action as theres so much could happen on the day or in the evening.  I know Ill be there at the game supporting the team that are all Ireland champions and so have nothing to lose really on Saturday.  Lets hope its a good clean game and fun to watch.     
Post by: loughshore lad on March 26, 2009, 08:44:37 AM
Quote from: tyrone86 on March 26, 2009, 12:15:02 AM
As for Snowy, I'd hope he gets a bit more game time. I thought he played well against Westmeath. He showed well for the ball and he looks stronger than last year. As Derry are the form team in Ulster at the moment, it would do no harm to have a look at him against a SM Lockhart or a Kevin McGuckin to see whereabouts he is in the pecking order. Similarly with PJ Quinn and Cathal McCarron, give them as much of the 70 minutes as they can last on Skinner and Paddy to see where they are in the bigger picture.

Yes it would be good to see how snowy, PJ and McCarron cope in better company.  PJ was excellent in the marshes last year before he got injured and looked to be on his way to nailing down a corner back spot. 
Post by: wherefromreferee? on March 26, 2009, 09:18:37 AM
Will the teams be named today?
Post by: ONeill on March 26, 2009, 09:51:32 AM
Much mention of Bradley's toe-tapping in the mass media this week, with Cassidy (not Aidan, the Clonoe man) the latest in the IN today. Will Fergal Doherty be his Ginger Rogers?

Post by: rrhf on March 26, 2009, 02:38:37 PM
I reallly hope that the supporters dont roar out lines like.
Tyrone wans
"Wheres ye're fecking toetappin now Paddy"
"Cavanagh slow down fer fecks sake and let that Derry man catch ye."
"Hi boys yes are spending more time in the ponderosa than yes are in Owenbeag"
"Gordon Brown loves Londonderry town"
or Derry wans
"Youenz boyz not win sam no more, tellin ye"
"Theres no sam maguire in Tyrone" (cos Cuthberts on his holidays)
"Ye cant strake in this game unless ye re from Cork"
Roll on saturday night!!!
Post by: wherefromreferee? on March 26, 2009, 03:04:33 PM
"Go on Derry the bhoy ye!"
Post by: Estimator on March 26, 2009, 03:14:43 PM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on March 26, 2009, 03:04:33 PM
"Go on Derry the bhoy ye!"

Classic
Post by: Drumanee 1 on March 26, 2009, 03:26:49 PM
undoubtedly you will here "there's no London in Tyrone" in which you reply "there no hospitals in Tyrone either"
Post by: Fuzzman on March 26, 2009, 03:42:52 PM
What's the latest with Brian McGuigan and his vision?

Is it back to being almost as good as it was or is it true what I heard that he doesn't see things coming in from the side of him now and so is more likely to get caught in posession?

Is his ankle injury all sorted now too?
Would be great to get him back to even 70% of what he was and with a fit Stevie at 14 or even 13/15 come the summer.
Post by: under the bar on March 26, 2009, 03:49:02 PM
Would not be surprised if Derry go all out for a win as they'll not need to pace themselves since they'll be nowhere to be seen come August! ;)
Post by: SidelineKick on March 26, 2009, 04:24:25 PM
 ::) boring.
Post by: phpearse on March 26, 2009, 04:27:53 PM
Quotethey'll be nowhere to be seen come August

Not too sure about that. Derry seem to have a bit about them this year and as the ones in Clonoe will testify he brought them from a decent enough team to championship winners. There is always the possibility of Derry imploding later in the year but maybe they will surprise and remain focused for the full year.
Post by: armaghniac on March 26, 2009, 05:29:31 PM
As recently as a dozen years ago this game would have involved the top two teams in Ulster.
Post by: gerry on March 26, 2009, 07:53:36 PM
Not long now till we here the tyrone squad. A must win for tyrone as we like to have division 1 status sorted before we go to mayo.

With it being in healy park it could go any way for tyrone.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 26, 2009, 09:11:37 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on March 25, 2009, 11:46:44 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on March 25, 2009, 10:25:29 PM

Yeah, but you might only get about 25,000 in croker to see two division 2 rivals face off in the first round of the ulster championship.
How many at the galway game again?  I reckon 18,000 will be plenty and tbh croker needs 50,000 to create any sort of atmosphere.

As for the game, you'd have to fancy tyrone, cassidy doesn't want the distraction of a league final and he'll probably want to give a few fringe players a run out, he'll be hoping this doesn't backfire as they might end up playing too hard for their prospective places against monaghan, so maybe expect more changes at ht to ensure tyrone get the result they need.

Bit of a difference between a league game on a cold wet Saturday night in February and a clash of the All Ireland and Ulster Champions in the 1st round of the championship. Also Tyrone and Armagh are big rivals and each have a big support. Couldnt be that hard for the gaa to sell if they put a bit of effort into it. As was pointed out earlier these 2 attracted over 30,000 for 1st round games at start of decade before any All Irelands were won.

On a different note Cassidy doesnt seem that impressed with Cavanagh mentioning Bradleys piss taking in last years league game.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2009, 09:17:47 PM
Bradley took the piss, and Derry won the League. Here's to more of the same.
Post by: snappiered on March 26, 2009, 09:21:34 PM
PJ, Conor, Mc Carron
Davy Sean O Neill, Jordan
Hub, Mellon
Tommy, Cassidy, Col Cav
Mugsy, Sean, Mc Cullagh
Post by: wherefromreferee? on March 26, 2009, 09:33:46 PM
Quote from: snappiered on March 26, 2009, 09:21:34 PM
PJ, Conor, Mc Carron
Davy Sean O Neill, Jordan
Hub, Mellon
Tommy, Cassidy, Col Cav
Mugsy, Sean, Mc Cullagh

Is this your guess Snappiered, or was the Tyrone team named tonight?
No keeper, Derry have the advantage from the start, hopefully they'll play with the wind before tyrone catch on  :P
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 26, 2009, 09:43:28 PM
Thats the team with Curran in nets.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 26, 2009, 09:48:15 PM
Happy enough with that line up when you consider the players missing:
Ryan McMenamin
Ciaran Gourley
Justin McMahon
Joe McMahon
Enda McGinley
Brian Dooher
Brian McGuigan
Stephen O'Neill

If everyone was fit and on form you would have 7 definate starters there. Harte is obviously taking no risks with McGinley because he seemed ok last week when he came on. Hopefully McGuigan will get good game time. Thought Mellon did well last year against Louth and Westmeath in midfield before struggling v Mayo. Will be interesting to see how he gets on this week there. Will also be a big game for McCarron and Cassidy.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2009, 09:51:04 PM
I'd be slightly worried about our mobility in midfield: I thought Hub did OK last day out, but no one there to pick up and run with the break. I'd hope that Cassidy will be floating around that particular area, which he probably will.
Post by: the green man on March 26, 2009, 10:08:22 PM
Harte has put out his two established half backs to counter Derrys wing men. Its these two positions that I think Derry have greatly progressed this year. Its shaping up nicely for a good game.
Post by: tyronefan on March 26, 2009, 10:17:19 PM
bbc says Aiden Mc Carron is starting in the forward line
Post by: móidín doire on March 26, 2009, 10:30:17 PM
From derry site:

Derry Senior Team v Tyrone (NFL: 28/03/09) 

1 Shane McGuckian

2 Gerard O Kane

3 Kevin McCloy

4 Sean M Lockhart

5 Paul Cartin

6 Barry McGoldrick

7 Sean Leo McGoldrick

8 Patsy Bradley

9 Enda Muldoon

10 James Kielt

11 Paul Murphy

12 Paul Young

13 Paddy Bradley

14 Eoin Bradley

15 Paul Bradley

Subs
16 Barry Gillis

17 Brian Og McAlary

18 Kevin McGuckin

19 Joe Keenan

20 Chrissy McKaigue

21 Seamus Bradley

22 Joe Diver

23 Brian Mullan

24 Eoghan Brown

From BBC:

Tyrone : J Curran, PJ Quinn, C Gormley, C McCarron, D Harte, S O'Neill, P Jordan, K Hughes, R Mellon, C Cavanagh, A Cassidy, T McGuigan, C McCullagh, S Cavanagh, O Mulligan.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2009, 10:33:12 PM
Quote from: móidín doire on March 26, 2009, 10:30:17 PM
From derry site:

Derry Senior Team v Tyrone (NFL: 28/03/09) 

1 Shane McGuckian

2 Gerard O Kane

3 Kevin McCloy

4 Sean M Lockhart

5 Paul Cartin

6 Barry McGoldrick

7 Sean Leo McGoldrick

8 Patsy Bradley

9 Enda Muldoon

10 James Kielt

11 Paul Murphy

12 Paul Young

13 Paddy Bradley

14 Eoin Bradley

15 Paul Bradley

Aye, Cassidy's not worried about this one!  :D
Post by: the green man on March 26, 2009, 10:38:03 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2009, 10:33:12 PM
Aye, Cassidy's not worried about this one!  :D

I'd say there's about 7 who wont start against Monaghan
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2009, 10:41:06 PM
Quote from: the green man on March 26, 2009, 10:38:03 PM

And?... We have 10!
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 26, 2009, 10:41:45 PM
Strong enough Derry team too. If weather holds up should be a decent game. Mellon will offer more mobility in midfield than Holmes FOSB.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2009, 10:44:23 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on March 26, 2009, 10:41:45 PM
Mellon will offer more mobility in midfield than Holmes FOSB.

Perhaps TD, though your thinking is in line with MH's I'd say. Usually Collie Holmes would have offered more too; not one of his better returns last day out in Ballybofey.
Post by: the green man on March 26, 2009, 11:00:15 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2009, 10:41:06 PM

And?... We have 10!

My da's bigger than your da! Your'e one penis at times.
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 26, 2009, 11:13:45 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on March 26, 2009, 10:17:19 PM
bbc says Aiden Mc Carron is starting in the forward line

Harte makes three Tyrone changes

Allianz NFL coverage on BBC Radio Ulster MW Saturday, 28 March 1930 GMT and Sunday 29 March 1415 Both programmes live on BBC Sport Website

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has made three changes for Saturday night's NFL Allianz Division 1 clash against Derry.

Johnny Curran returns in goal to continue a rotational process involving John Devine while Cathal McCarron replaces unavailable Ciaran Gourley.

Gourley is on duty at St Patrick's Dungannon's Hogan Cup semi-final on Saturday afternoon.

Aidan McCarron comes into the attack with Ryan Mellon moving to midfield and Colin Holmes dropping to the bench.

Tyrone need a result at Healy Park to drag themselves out of the relegation zone, and Harte has adopted a more conservative approach than in recent weeks.

He had been regularly making up to eight changes for each game.

The only line, however, to remain intact from last week's defeat to Donegal, is the half-back unit of Davy Harte, Sean O'Neill and Philip Jordan.

Cassidy's inclusion at centre-forward sees Owen Mulligan revert to his more customary corner-forward slot.

Tyrone : J Curran, PJ Quinn, C Gormley, C McCarron, D Harte, S O'Neill, P Jordan, K Hughes, R Mellon, C Cavanagh, A Cassidy, T McGuigan, C McCullagh, S Cavanagh, O Mulligan.

Story from BBC SPORT:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/go/pr/fr/-/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/7967056.stm

Published: 2009/03/26 21:18:55 GMT

© BBC MMIX

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2009, 11:18:30 PM
Quote from: the green man on March 26, 2009, 11:00:15 PM

And?... We have 10!

My da's bigger than your da! Your'e one penis at times.

Ha!  ;D

I wasn't even taking the (a) piss!  :D

You bring numbers into it, don't expect anyone else not to. And I know the truth hurts!  :P

Where's my rattle!
Post by: the green man on March 26, 2009, 11:22:28 PM
yes you were, implicitly. you saw derrys team and you thought it was fairly strengthy.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2009, 11:39:59 PM
Quote from: the green man on March 26, 2009, 11:22:28 PM
you saw derrys team and you thought it was fairly strengthy.

I don't deny that, but... this is League, not Championship, the Muckers have been telling us all week how Cassidy was going to put out a team of no-hopers (cue the denials!) since they'd no interest whatsoever in this game.

yes you were, implicitly.

Nothing implicit, except that I have now had a piss, explicitly.
Post by: the green man on March 26, 2009, 11:46:43 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2009, 11:39:59 PM
you saw derrys team and you thought it was fairly strengthy.

I don't deny that

but its not that strong a derry team
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2009, 11:49:37 PM
Quote from: the green man on March 26, 2009, 11:46:43 PM

Aye, they're going to be hockeyed, totally so.
Post by: the green man on March 26, 2009, 11:52:42 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2009, 11:49:37 PM
Quote from: the green man on March 26, 2009, 11:46:43 PM

Aye, they're going to be hockeyed, totally so.

Totally
Post by: SidelineKick on March 27, 2009, 08:14:53 AM

And?... We have 10!

Who's the 10?
Post by: loughshore lad on March 27, 2009, 08:51:28 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 26, 2009, 03:42:52 PM
What's the latest with Brian McGuigan and his vision?

Is it back to being almost as good as it was or is it true what I heard that he doesn't see things coming in from the side of him now and so is more likely to get caught in posession?

Is his ankle injury all sorted now too?
Would be great to get him back to even 70% of what he was and with a fit Stevie at 14 or even 13/15 come the summer.

Brians vision is as it was last year as far as I know.  He can see nothing out of the injured eye without the use of an artificial lens and even with it in he has a blind spot on one side, its not some thiong that going to improve any with time.  The ankle seems to be eventually sorted he has played a game and half for Ardboe and seems to e moving freely.

Interesting enough selection from both teams.  Derry have a strong enough line up out with what looks to be Cassidys first choice half back line, big Enda in the middle and the 2 Bradleys inside.  Glad to see PJ, McCarron and Sean O'Neill make the cut and get the chance to test themselves against the likes of the Bradleys. 
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 27, 2009, 09:24:42 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on March 27, 2009, 08:14:53 AM
Who's the 10?

Ryan McMenamin
Ciaran Gourley
Justin Mc Mahon
Joe Mc Mahon
Enda Mc Ginley
Brian Dooher
Brian Mc Guigan
Stephen O'Neill
Collie Holmes
Mickey Mc Gee
Pascal Mc Connell
John Devine

12 actually, and Celtic Cross holders to a man.
Post by: SidelineKick on March 27, 2009, 09:51:42 AM
And two 'keepers in that, wherever will you start the other one?  ::)

8 of the named team won't start.

Not all 12 of those will start.

You do realise you named the players missing and not the 10 that won't start?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 27, 2009, 10:16:03 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on March 27, 2009, 09:51:42 AM

Feck it, I've let the cat out of the bag, sorry MH!
Post by: SidelineKick on March 27, 2009, 10:21:56 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 27, 2009, 10:16:03 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on March 27, 2009, 09:51:42 AM

Feck it, I've let the cat out of the bag, sorry MH!

:D very good.

From that team however the starters would be IMO:

Gormley
Harte
Jordan
McGuigan
McCullough
Cavanagh

Probably about it?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 27, 2009, 10:39:43 AM
It won't be as predictable as that I'd say, but it wouldn't be far off.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 27, 2009, 12:15:07 PM
Both seem to be sending out strong enough teams considering who's injured or not available.

Is it just me or does watching Colm Cavo annoy you too?
He always seems to flatter to deceive at this level and wonder what Mickey sees in him
Maybe he'll be like Young Mulgrew & take a long time to prove himself at this level.

From here on in I'd say both managers will be trying to get more settled teams and so it will be interested to see who claims the two corner back positions come May or is Ricey as Shoe in?

Tyrone by 7 I reckon with Derry having 4 yellow carded and Mugsy man of the match.
;) ;)
Post by: Estimator on March 27, 2009, 12:27:22 PM
Tyrone by at least 10 - Derry to have 6men yellow carded - Cavanagh and Mugsy to have a 'keepy up' competition before the end of the game  ;)
Post by: ONeill on March 27, 2009, 01:47:43 PM
Tyrone by 1. Muldoon to score the clincher.

Post by: SidelineKick on March 27, 2009, 01:52:03 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 27, 2009, 01:47:43 PM
Tyrone by 1. Muldoon to score the clincher.

:D if he had his way!

Although he did bag a goal in the championship the last time, I'm sure he coudln't sleep for weeks after that  ;)

A draw at half time, a draw at full time.  Cavanagh to score 1-5, P Bradley to score 1-5. Cavanagh to do 3 kick-ups, P Bradley to do 4 kick-ups.
Post by: ONeill on March 27, 2009, 02:02:04 PM
Hope there are no silly early yellows. The temperature has been bubbling nicely all week. I can see Gormley getting a skelp at Bradley  and getting away for it, only for Johnny McBride to fall in the stands holding his face and Canavan to be thrown out of the ground.

Pity the great Eamonn Coleman wasn't about - he enjoyed these occasions.

Did you read the sizeable build-up in the GL today - some interesting quotes from the '92 lads. 'Tyrone people have a habit of building up their players, Adrian Cush was shite' (or something to that effect).
Post by: SidelineKick on March 27, 2009, 02:06:24 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 27, 2009, 02:02:04 PM
Hope there are no silly early yellows. The temperature has been bubbling nicely all week. I can see Gormley getting a skelp at Bradley  and getting away for it, only for Johnny McBride to fall in the stands holding his face and Canavan to be thrown out of the ground.

Did you read the sizeable build-up in the GL today - some interesting quotes from the '92 lads. 'Tyrone people have a habit of building up their players, Adrian Cush was shite' (or something to that effect).

It was probably:

"'Tyrone people have a habit of building up their people, Malachi Cush was shite"
Post by: Kentucky Blue on March 27, 2009, 03:15:54 PM
Really looking forward to the game now!! some top duals in prospect. Can see lockhart goin man to man on sean cavanagh.

Interesting to note who tyrone will employ on the 2 bradleys (paddy and eoin)? any idea's?

Fergal Doc and Niall McCusker missing robs derry of a great physical presence and leadership but good opportunity for other men to step up to the plate. Would like to see muldoon striking the free kick's from the deck from range.
Here's hoping for a quality, intense game. No point derry holding back because we are safe, no guarantee we will meet tyrone again this year so hope we can win going flat out and remain in with a chance of a final place after Easter.
Post by: loughshore lad on March 27, 2009, 03:29:41 PM
Quote from: Kentucky Blue on March 27, 2009, 03:15:54 PM
Interesting to note who tyrone will employ on the 2 bradleys (paddy and eoin)? any idea's?

Would say Conor Gormley will pick up Paddy Bradley, its hard to know if PJ or Cathal McCarron will pick up Eoin Bradley - think Harte might give McCarron the task to see how he fares.
Post by: aroundincircles on March 27, 2009, 04:46:47 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 27, 2009, 12:15:07 PM

Is it just me or does watching Colm Cavo annoy you too?
He always seems to flatter to deceive at this level and wonder what Mickey sees in him
;) ;)

same as that a yap
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on March 27, 2009, 05:04:18 PM
Quote from: loughshore lad on March 27, 2009, 03:29:41 PM
Quote from: Kentucky Blue on March 27, 2009, 03:15:54 PM

Would say Conor Gormley will pick up Paddy Bradley, its hard to know if PJ or Cathal McCarron will pick up Eoin Bradley - think Harte might give McCarron the task to see how he fares.

He will be eat alive if he does!... McCarron that is!
Post by: new devil on March 27, 2009, 05:27:59 PM
Eoin bradley hasnt the balls to play well against Tyrone....didnt think it was possible but hes a bigger t##ser than his brother
Post by: SidelineKick on March 27, 2009, 05:33:02 PM
Quote from: new devil on March 27, 2009, 05:27:59 PM
Eoin bradley hasnt the balls to play well against Tyrone....didnt think it was possible but hes a bigger t##ser than his brother

Know him well?
Post by: Joel Cairo on March 27, 2009, 05:57:18 PM
Bit of a preview on tomorrow night's game:
http://oakleafers.blogspot.com/2009/03/derry-can-claim-derby-victory.html

No surprise, I've went for a Derry victory  :)
Post by: omagh_gael on March 27, 2009, 06:23:22 PM

Ignore this, new devil seems to be fond of abusing people behind the cover of a screen name!
Post by: SidelineKick on March 27, 2009, 06:35:50 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 27, 2009, 06:23:22 PM

Ignore this, new devil seems to be fond of abusing people behind the cover of a screen name!

Oh right, we have a couple ourselves, they provide great entertainment, look out for them - "hmmmcoy" and "KingLarsson".

Tonesfirstandlast provides his fair share of bollix too.
Post by: KingLarsson on March 27, 2009, 07:16:08 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on March 27, 2009, 06:35:50 PM

Oh right, we have a couple ourselves, they provide great entertainment, look out for them - "hmmmcoy" and "KingLarsson".

I hardly speak bollix. comparing mesel and hmmcoy is stupid as thon boy is only bein a pain in the arse never offerin a decent opinion

Cant see tyrone gettin near derry tomora night
Post by: new devil on March 27, 2009, 07:39:12 PM
Who else have i abused omagh gael?
Post by: ONeill on March 27, 2009, 07:43:42 PM
Jaysus I love playing Derry. It makes you appreciate having a roof over yer head.
Post by: red hander on March 27, 2009, 08:06:04 PM
...Aye, and having only one head.
Post by: mc_grens on March 27, 2009, 08:08:25 PM
Even if it is in Tyrone O'Neill...

I often drive from Dublin to Derry, and go via Omagh, Gortin, etc. One of the first things you come to in Tyrone, just after Aughnacloy I think, is a nice smelly land fill site.

Just sayin.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 27, 2009, 09:08:08 PM
Quote from: new devil on March 27, 2009, 07:39:12 PM
Who else have i abused omagh gael?

Of the top of my head and if u check pg 690 on the Tyrone thread u took a  nasty cheap shot at peter donnelly and that post on Eoin Bradley was completely out of order
Post by: ziggysego on March 27, 2009, 09:09:54 PM
How come Pascal isn't getting a run out this League campaign? Anyone know?
Post by: tyssam5 on March 27, 2009, 09:42:49 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 27, 2009, 09:09:54 PM
How come Pascal isn't getting a run out this League campaign? Anyone know?

Didn't he bust his knee in the weights room? Not sure how he's getting on.
Post by: ziggysego on March 27, 2009, 10:08:40 PM
Ah, I wasn't aware of that. Thanks tyssam5.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on March 27, 2009, 10:12:19 PM
Derry havent been able to find the back of the oppositions net this season so far, would be great to change that statistic tomorrow night.

Derry 3-10 Tyrone 2-11
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 27, 2009, 10:23:57 PM
If Donegal beat Westmeath on Sunday & Dublin do likewise the next matchday then they will each have 5 points :o
Tyrone could be stuck on 4 if two losses in the last two games.
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 27, 2009, 10:30:52 PM
C'mon Tyrone....................I am cheering for the All Ireland champions on Sat.

I thought I would never say such words and strike me down, but a win for the beardies will put us into the league final, its the least they can do to pay us back some of the pain they have inflicted on us  :P we have left them win 3 All Irelands the feckers  ;).

Post by: wherefromreferee? on March 27, 2009, 10:38:50 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on March 27, 2009, 10:30:52 PM
C'mon Tyrone....................I am cheering for the All Ireland champions on Sat.

I thought I would never say such words and strike me down, but a win for the beardies will put us into the league final, its the least they can do to pay us back some of the pain they have inflicted on us  :P we have left them win 3 All Irelands the feckers  ;).

KM, not sure of the tables, but is this automatic, or would you still need to beat the Dubs?
Post by: Redhandfan on March 27, 2009, 11:23:44 PM
Those boyos from The Gaelic Life are certainly doing their best to heighten interest in tomorrow night's game in Omagh.  Today's edition was dominated by articles and interviews which centred a lot on the intense rivalry between these two loving neighbours. I have to say it made for some great reading and has whetted the appetite for what should be another fiercely contested derby.

The fact that Tyrone are in serious relegation trouble and have been playing well below the standard of what we would expect from reigning All-Ireland champions makes this a fascinating contest in many respects.  Tyrone supporters are expecting a backlash from our team tomorrow night....I just hope we will not be disappointed!

In response to some previous posts on this thread:

1) David Coldrick of Meath will be the referee.
2) Big Packie McConnell appeared to be still limping when I saw him in Mullingar.  He doesn't look as if he will be back any time soon.
3) Colm Cavanagh is well worth his place on the Tyrone team at present.  His work rate has been excellent and, had it not been for his late winning goal away to Westmeath, we would be sitting joint bottom of division one at the minute and in even bigger relegation trouble than we are now.  The criticism and petty jibes levelled at him by some of the Tyrone posters on this Board is uncalled for.
Post by: ONeill on March 27, 2009, 11:26:30 PM
KILL!
Post by: Redhandfan on March 27, 2009, 11:35:27 PM
Steady on, O'Neill....that's taking things a bit too far.

Maiming will be sufficient.
Post by: ONeill on March 27, 2009, 11:38:45 PM
Ach come on, it's Derry. Armagh were a flash in the pan. Derry have always been there. Remember '85, '86, '92, '95, '97, '92 (x2), '03 (x2), '04, '06 and then the toe-tap.

Tyrone v Derry is Ulster football.
Post by: Redhandfan on March 27, 2009, 11:54:14 PM
What do you suggest are the best weapons to bring into the ground tomorrow evening?  It is always best being prepared if things really kick off in the stand and terraces.
Post by: ONeill on March 28, 2009, 12:03:38 AM
Mirrors.
Post by: Bogball XV on March 28, 2009, 12:05:40 AM
Quote from: red hander on March 27, 2009, 08:06:04 PM
...Aye, and having only one head.
Brilliant, best post of the thread, nay, the year!!
Quote from: ONeill on March 27, 2009, 11:38:45 PM
Ach come on, it's Derry. Armagh were a flash in the pan. Derry have always been there. Remember '85, '86, '92, '95, '97, '92 (x2), '93 (x2), '94, '96 and then the toe-tap.

I'm with you ONeill, but what about 06, cos I've rarely left a ground in finer fettle than that day - how many did the reigning All Ireland Champions score in the first half that day again???
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 28, 2009, 01:08:37 AM
QuoteKM, not sure of the tables, but is this automatic, or would you still need to beat the Dubs?

We have 10pts , Galway on 9 and Derry on 7, the rest of the division is made up of the also rans, so if Derry lose , we cannot be passed out by 2 other teams and are in the final, Derry could still be the final opposition though if Galway lost their last 2 games and Derry won their last game. Of course if we bate the Jackeens we will be there in the final anyway.

So c'mon tyrone, c'mon tyrone, c'mon ty.............  fucks sake I am losing it.
Post by: Bogball XV on March 28, 2009, 02:15:30 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on March 28, 2009, 01:08:37 AM
QuoteKM, not sure of the tables, but is this automatic, or would you still need to beat the Dubs?

We have 10pts , Galway on 9 and Derry on 7, the rest of the division is made up of the also rans, so if Derry lose , we cannot be passed out by 2 other teams and are in the final, Derry could still be the final opposition though if Galway lost their last 2 games and Derry won their last game. Of course if we bate the Jackeens we will be there in the final anyway.

So c'mon tyrone, c'mon tyrone, c'mon ty.............  f**ks sake I am losing it.

didn't know you boys cared about the league, all them final defeats to the ulster sides must have hit hard last year KM :D
Post by: rrhf on March 28, 2009, 10:23:13 AM
spare ticket for the donaghmore end if anyone needs it.  Face value. Do the Derry men come down through the mountains with their cousins .

Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 28, 2009, 11:19:50 AM
Ach come on, it's Derry. Armagh were a flash in the pan. Derry have always been there. Remember '85, '86, '92, '95, '97, '92 (x2), '03 (x2), '04, '06 and then the toe-tap.

What about 84 ulster final and Frank McGuigans 11 points. The battle of Omagh in 89. The game in 90 with a Tyrone goal from a 50' disallowed at the very end. The drawn game in the early 90's in Amragh with Colm Donaghy sent off after only being on the pitch a minute followed by the Armagh win in Omagh. 94 and Tyrone's first championship win in 3 or 4 years with Plunkett Donaghy taking 9 steps to scpre Tyrones third goal, 2000,2001 - Mulligans goal after 20 secs against hot favs Armagh,2002 x 2 with the Thornton miss, the 2003 All Ireland Final or the 3 game saga in 2005. No doubt this years game wont be incident free either.

Looking forward to tonights game though. Hard to know what way it will go but will be interesting to see if Tyrone can lift themselves. This is the 1st time Mellon and Hughes have been paired together at midfield since their succesful partnership at the start of the 03' league. Strange it has taken so long for them to be given another go but hopefully it will work out.
Post by: ONeill on March 28, 2009, 11:33:02 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on March 28, 2009, 11:19:50 AM

What about 84 ulster final and Frank McGuigans 11 points. The battle of Omagh in 89. The game in 90 with a Tyrone goal from a 50' disallowed at the very end. The drawn game in the early 90's in Amragh with Colm Donaghy sent off after only being on the pitch a minute followed by the Armagh win in Omagh. 94 and Tyrone's first championship win in 3 or 4 years with Plunkett Donaghy taking 9 steps to scpre Tyrones third goal, 2000,2001 - Mulligans goal after 20 secs against hot favs Armagh,2002 x 2 with the Thornton miss, the 2003 All Ireland Final or the 3 game saga in 2005. No doubt this years game wont be incident free either.

Jaysus will ye have a bit of wit and let me have my fun. Feckin party pooper.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 28, 2009, 11:44:23 AM
Just thought it was a good time to look back at some of the great Armagh matches over the last 25 years as well! The 95 victory over Derry ranks as one the best though. Tyrone werent given much chance entering the game with 15 men never mind 13. It was tense stuff throughout the match.

Will our full back line be able to cope with the Bradleys tonight? Eoin and Paddy caused lots of problems last year. No doubt if Gormley is injury free after last weekend he will be up for this match. The yellow card rule could spoil a game like this though. Muldoon v Hughes and Cavanagh v McCloy will be great battles to.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 28, 2009, 11:45:33 AM
In fairness I probably should have held back the Armagh stuff for another 6 weeks, there'll be plenty of time for it then.
Post by: Tyrones own on March 28, 2009, 02:45:19 PM
Any of ye here in the US know where we can see this game? checked Setanta and don't see it advertised.
Post by: laceer on March 28, 2009, 07:10:45 PM
Is this match on tv?
Post by: omagh_gael on March 28, 2009, 07:13:38 PM
Yeah it's on setanta
Post by: gerry on March 28, 2009, 07:18:16 PM
Best crowd i seen yet at saturday night game
Post by: Carmen Stateside on March 28, 2009, 07:19:11 PM
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=34132&part=sports (http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=34132&part=sports)

For those without Setanta Ireland!
Post by: laceer on March 28, 2009, 07:21:49 PM
Does anyone know the name of the channel on justin.tv that the dublin match was shown on? Think it was celtic something
Post by: Tyrones own on March 28, 2009, 07:30:07 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on March 28, 2009, 07:19:11 PM
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=34132&part=sports (http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=34132&part=sports)

Cheers Lad, mighty job!
Post by: new devil on March 28, 2009, 07:32:00 PM
Why isnt it on setanta broadband?
Post by: gerry on March 28, 2009, 07:55:49 PM
Mccullagh shooting woefull tonight
Post by: joemamas on March 28, 2009, 07:57:46 PM
cannot get picture on justin, any other options
Post by: full back on March 28, 2009, 07:59:02 PM

I can get commentary, but the screen is all black :-\
Any ideas?
Post by: joemamas on March 28, 2009, 08:00:40 PM
same as that
Post by: FermPundit on March 28, 2009, 08:01:23 PM

Brilliant, thanks Carmen
Post by: FermPundit on March 28, 2009, 08:03:47 PM
Quote from: full back on March 28, 2009, 07:59:02 PM

Any ideas?

I used to have this problem, but only when I used internet explorer. If you can use Mozilla firefox instead, it should work fine.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on March 28, 2009, 08:14:49 PM
Good half ! some great scores being taken. Bradley started on fire but Gormley has got tighter the longer the game has gone on!
Passing letting Tyrone down on occasions!
Mulligan looks to be in good shape.
Post by: Bensars on March 28, 2009, 08:20:03 PM
Quote from: FermPundit on March 28, 2009, 08:03:47 PM
Quote from: full back on March 28, 2009, 07:59:02 PM

Any ideas?

I used to have this problem, but only when I used internet explorer. If you can use Mozilla firefox instead, it should work fine.

Cheers working great on firefox
Post by: gerry on March 28, 2009, 08:22:11 PM
Aye mugsy looking and playing alot better tonight. Is it me or do tyrone always seam to overwork the ball with 4 passes when 1 would do.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 28, 2009, 08:30:30 PM
Anyone post a wee latest every now and then for us workers.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 28, 2009, 08:32:57 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on March 28, 2009, 08:30:30 PM
Anyone post a wee latest every now and then for us workers.
Tír Eoghain 0-8 Doire 0-7
Post by: Bensars on March 28, 2009, 08:33:32 PM
40 mins gone.   Tyrone 8  derry 7

derry have started 2nd half the stronger with 2 points
Post by: comethekingdom on March 28, 2009, 08:35:00 PM
Tyrone 0-8 Derry 0-8
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 28, 2009, 08:36:38 PM
Doire 0-10 Tír Eoghain 0-8
Post by: gerry on March 28, 2009, 08:43:48 PM
Tommy lucky to be staying on
Post by: milltown row on March 28, 2009, 08:44:30 PM
what is it with tyrone and hitting people in the balls???
Post by: comethekingdom on March 28, 2009, 08:48:13 PM
McGuigan should have been sidelined - PJ Quinn gone now for a second black. dermot Carlin coming on. Point for Mulligan - sides level.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 28, 2009, 09:01:10 PM
Well??
Post by: Two Hands FFS on March 28, 2009, 09:04:42 PM
14-11 to tyrone full time

Derry had a easy free to make it 12-11 with couple to go...missed it. Tyrone hit 3 on the bounce to sneak it
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 28, 2009, 09:06:14 PM
Tyrone 0-14 Derry 0-11.

Big finish by Tyrone with 3 scores in the closing couple of minutes. Justice was done really as Derry had got off the hook with Mulligan's penalty miss, the foul had prevented a certain goal. The free Derry missed at the end was a terrible decision by the ref, never a free. An important win for Tyrone.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 28, 2009, 09:06:43 PM
Tyrone win 14-11, KM (tyrones biggest fan) will be a happy man!
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 28, 2009, 09:08:58 PM
Good stuff... thanks for the updates chaps.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on March 28, 2009, 09:10:38 PM
Best team won. Tyrone's control with the finishing line in sight is awesome. I dare say McGuigan's knee will be the biggest talking point here though.
Post by: tyrone exile on March 28, 2009, 09:11:21 PM
Thought the referee tonight was especially poor, but at least we got the win!
Post by: Minder on March 28, 2009, 09:11:52 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on March 28, 2009, 09:10:38 PM
Best team won. Tyrone's control with the finishing line in sight is awesome. I dare say McGuigan's knee will be the biggest talking point here though.

Was it a "hefty swipe" ?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on March 28, 2009, 09:13:07 PM
A deliberate knee to the balls of Sean Marty Lockhart. A stupid moment of petulance.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 28, 2009, 09:15:13 PM
These Tyrone boys seem to love the balls!
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on March 28, 2009, 09:15:53 PM
not like enda muldoon to have a quiet game against tyrone  ::) ::) ::)
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 28, 2009, 09:16:07 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on March 28, 2009, 09:13:07 PM
A deliberate knee to the balls of Sean Marty Lockhart. A stupid moment of petulance.
It was deliberate, yes.  It was hardly a 'stupid moment of petulance' though since it was deliberate.  He should have got a yellow but didn't.
Post by: screenexile on March 28, 2009, 09:16:18 PM
Yeah McGuigan should take a look at himself for that and I'm sure the authorities will as well. One that got away for us if Brown had gotten that free at the end I think we would have went on to win.

Baffled by some of the changes made by our management and it seemed as if we didn't want to win this game leaving Kielt on for so long and bringing in Brown and Diver at the end but we're safe I suppose and that's all you can say.

Tyrone again cleaned out at MF but we had little to offer up front when Tyrone double teamed Paddy which was ultimately our downfall. All these players we have used and all these "options" we have well there weren't too many evident this evening in the FF line and the one option that has barely been tried yet has been left on the bench since the first game of the league!!!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on March 28, 2009, 09:19:14 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on March 28, 2009, 09:16:07 PM
It was deliberate, yes.  It was hardly a 'stupid moment of petulance' though since it was deliberate.  He should have got a yellow but didn't.

By deliberate I mean it wasn't an accident. By petulant I mean he didn't put a whole lot of thought into it. There's a difference.
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 28, 2009, 09:35:39 PM
Kerry into the final with 2 games to spare   :D youse are all fecking useless. 

Are we the only ones taking this fecking thing seriously?

Post by: ziggysego on March 28, 2009, 09:36:04 PM
Derry played well, but the danger of inbreding means you can't last a full game.
Post by: screenexile on March 28, 2009, 09:44:51 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 28, 2009, 09:36:04 PM
Derry played well, but the danger of inbreding means you can't last a full game.

:D :D :D :D

I thought the danger of inbreeding is a fascination with men's genitalia and certainly Tyrone have taken this fascination to new levels this season!! ;)
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 28, 2009, 09:45:47 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on March 28, 2009, 09:19:14 PM

By deliberate I mean it wasn't an accident. By petulant I mean he didn't put a whole lot of thought into it. There's a difference.
Ach come off it.  He knew exactly what he was at.
Post by: Gaffer on March 28, 2009, 09:55:08 PM
The last two minutes of the game reminded me of th All Ireland last year. BANG! BANG ! BANG !

McGuigan's right knee to get the headlines though !!!!!

Tyrone Bashers gonna have a field day !!!

Post by: RedandGreenSniper on March 28, 2009, 09:57:38 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on March 28, 2009, 09:45:47 PM

Hard to say with any level of certainty. I think it was just a moment where he lost it. If he knew exactly what he was at he wouldn't have been caught by the cameras and he'll probably get a retrospective ban now, with the referee asked to re-examine it. It actually did deserve more than a yellow.
Post by: screenexile on March 28, 2009, 09:57:53 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on March 28, 2009, 09:55:08 PM
The last two minutes of the game reminded me of th All Ireland last year. BANG! BANG ! BANG !

Not Tyrone bashing but just people who like to see our games played in the correct spirit and with dignity... obviously something Tyrone know very little about given their continued antics on the field!
Post by: aroundincircles on March 28, 2009, 10:01:27 PM
Not a bad ole game of football some positives and negatives from both sides.
Post by: Tim Buzaglo on March 28, 2009, 10:06:17 PM
McGuigan - filthy tr**p. Simple as
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 28, 2009, 10:06:32 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on March 28, 2009, 09:57:38 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on March 28, 2009, 09:45:47 PM

Hard to say with any level of certainty. I think it was just a moment where he lost it. If he knew exactly what he was at he wouldn't have been caught by the cameras and he'll probably get a retrospective ban now, with the referee asked to re-examine it. It actually did deserve more than a yellow.
Ok, we see the same incident with the same punishment or more yet not the same intent on McGuigan's behalf.
Post by: clarshack on March 28, 2009, 10:09:57 PM
Quote from: screenexile on March 28, 2009, 09:57:53 PM

Not Tyrone bashing but just people who like to see our games played in the correct spirit and with dignity... obviously something Tyrone know very little about given their continued antics on the field!

well that lockhart fella is a real saint isnt he!

dont underestimate how important this victory was for tyrone tonight. absolutely massive. ;D
Post by: clarshack on March 28, 2009, 10:11:36 PM
Quote from: Tim Buzaglo on March 28, 2009, 10:06:17 PM

that's well out of order mate.
Post by: Gaffer on March 28, 2009, 10:15:04 PM

Told ye !!!!
Post by: screenexile on March 28, 2009, 10:16:12 PM
Quote from: clarshack on March 28, 2009, 10:09:57 PM

dont underestimate how important this victory was for tyrone tonight. absolutely massive. ;D

What exactly is he suppoosed to have done to merit a knee to the balls??
Post by: ziggysego on March 28, 2009, 10:17:12 PM
Can't blame McGuigan for a twitch on the back of his knee. I had the same problem and had to get surgery.
Post by: kickingmule on March 28, 2009, 10:18:37 PM
[/quote what does that make you??? ....dickhead...
Post by: Gaffer on March 28, 2009, 10:21:31 PM
Quote from: screenexile on March 28, 2009, 10:16:12 PM

Have a pop at McGuigan if you want but don't go on as if every Tyrone player is guilty of the offence.
Post by: Tim Buzaglo on March 28, 2009, 10:22:19 PM
Quote from: kickingmule on March 28, 2009, 10:18:37 PM
[/quote what does that make you??? ....d**khead...

I don't give a f**k what that makes me, then sooner your lads realise you can't get away with that kind of thing the better.

I may well be a dickhead, but i've never went near any mans stones
Post by: Oak Leafer on March 28, 2009, 10:22:50 PM
Good game of football tonight. Tyrones desire to avoid relegation taking them over the line.
Someone mentioned Muldoon not playing well against Tyrone....what game were you watchin??? Him going off was the reason we lost
Post by: screenexile on March 28, 2009, 10:26:38 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on March 28, 2009, 10:21:31 PM

Have a pop at McGuigan if you want but don't go on as if every Tyrone player is guilty of the offence.

Not all of them no but there are too many incidents that follow this Tyrone team around and this season has been no better with Riceygate and now McGuigan getting in on the act... maybe Harte should say a few more rosaries to tell god to have a word with his players and stop this behaviour!!
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 28, 2009, 10:27:12 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 28, 2009, 10:17:12 PM
Can't blame McGuigan for a twitch on the back of his knee. I had the same problem and had to get surgery.
Post by: Gaffer on March 28, 2009, 10:36:33 PM
Quote from: screenexile on March 28, 2009, 10:26:38 PM

Not all of them no but there are too many incidents that follow this Tyrone team around and this season has been no better with Riceygate and now McGuigan getting in on the act... maybe Harte should say a few more rosaries to tell god to have a word with his players and stop this behaviour!!

You are mocking Mickey Harte for being religious and devoted to God.  :(
Post by: screenexile on March 28, 2009, 10:42:12 PM
Not really I don't have a problem with anyone being religious but he goes on about it all the time and the fact that when certain players of his conduct themselves in a manner which is unbecoming of a sportsperson (Or human being for that matter) he does nothing to condemn it just dismisses it as nothing and  obviously does nothing to stop it from happening again and in Ricey's case even appeals the punishment he has been given.

It's the hypocrisy that annoys me about him and I will put my house on him saying something like "It was unfortunate/Heat of the moment/Tommy is not that type of player" rather than say what it is, " A disgraceful act which has no place on the football field". He will more than likely appeal whatever suspension he's given as well again!
Post by: aroundincircles on March 28, 2009, 10:42:51 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on March 28, 2009, 10:36:33 PM
Quote from: screenexile on March 28, 2009, 10:26:38 PM

You are mocking Mickey Harte for being religious and devoted to God.  :(
In all fairness mickey is now more devoted to colm cavanagh than god.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 28, 2009, 10:51:25 PM
Quote from: screenexile on March 28, 2009, 10:42:12 PM
Not really I don't have a problem with anyone being religious but he goes on about it all the time and the fact that when certain players of his conduct themselves in a manner which is unbecoming of a sportsperson (Or human being for that matter) he does nothing to condemn it just dismisses it as nothing and  obviously does nothing to stop it from happening again and in Ricey's case even appeals the punishment he has been given.

It's the hypocrisy that annoys me about him and I will put my house on him saying something like "It was unfortunate/Heat of the moment/Tommy is not that type of player" rather than say what it is, " A disgraceful act which has no place on the football field". He will more than likely appeal whatever suspension he's given as well again!
It's his hypocrisy that annoys me too.   Oh and the rest of the post is spot on too.
Post by: Gaffer on March 28, 2009, 10:59:32 PM

Why do you expect Mickey to be different to any other manager?
Post by: INDIANA on March 28, 2009, 11:02:56 PM
Didn't see the incident funny enough. Cracking game of football though really enjoyed it like a championship match.
Post by: screenexile on March 28, 2009, 11:19:25 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on March 28, 2009, 10:59:32 PM

Why do you expect Mickey to be different to any other manager?

He sets himself up as being different from any other manager so shouldn't he be judged by different standards?? I know it seems as if I'm singling him out but other managers shouldn't do it either. As yet our manager has to be tested in this regard but if he did the same thing I would be equally as annoyed about it and would have no problem saying so!
Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2009, 11:23:38 PM

When has any manager in the history of gaelic games said that about one of his players?
Post by: illdecide on March 28, 2009, 11:29:15 PM
As guys stated 99% of managers will back their players even if they're in the wrong, it's all part of "one for all & all for one". What would the players think off their manager if he went to the press and called him a dirty hoor. Micky Harte is a shrewd hoor and plays the "alter boy" role with the media but i bet he's a different man in the changing rooms...

BTW i think he's a class manager before anyone jumps in to tear me to shreds...
Post by: Redhandfan on March 28, 2009, 11:32:25 PM
That's a bit more like it from Tyrone.....not a flawless performance by any means but a big improvement from recent outings and the desire was clearly there in those final few minutes to secure a valuable and well deserved win.  As a previous poster said, this is a huge result for Tyrone.  Confidence will have been restored and the trip to Castlebar on the last day of the league will be a little more relaxing now! This also proves we can win in Omagh, so Armagh beware!!!

I am a bit surprised to learn that some neutrals actually enjoyed this game.  I thought it was very stop-start at times, due mostly to an overly fussy referee.  This was certainly not one of David Coldrick's finest hours.....many of his decisions were baffling to say the least.

I thought there were a number of positives tonight from a Tyrone perspective.  I thought our half back line excelled all through with Davy Harte kicking two more wonder points, Philly Jordan leading by example in the centre, and Sean O'Neill giving another assured display on the wing.  Ryan Mellon and Hub got through a mountain of work at midfield (I had to laugh at the poster who thought were 'cleaned out' in this sector).  Mugsy won a lot of ball in attack and was about the sharpest of our forwards, Tommy McGuigan kicked the frees when most needed, while Sean Cav came good at vital times as well.  

However, the introduction of Brian McGuigan was absolutely crucial to the outcome of this match.  He picked up a lot of loose ball and seemed to give the Tyrone attack so much more shape when he came on.  His pass that led to the penalty was simply sheer class.  I really look forward to seeing him link up again with the likes of Stevie O'Neill when the two of them return to full fitness.  With Ricey, Stevie, the McMahon brothers, Dooher and co still to come back, things are looking up again for the All-Ireland champs!
Post by: ziggysego on March 28, 2009, 11:32:41 PM
Actually illdecide, I think that was a pretty balanced comment.
Post by: under the bar on March 28, 2009, 11:33:18 PM
QuoteNot really I don't have a problem with anyone being religious but he goes on about it all the time and the fact that when certain players of his conduct themselves in a manner which is unbecoming of a sportsperson (Or human being for that matter) he does nothing to condemn it just dismisses it as nothing and  obviously does nothing to stop it from happening again and in Ricey's case even appeals the punishment he has been given.

It's his hypocrisy that annoys me too.

Good.  The more misery Mickey can heap on Armagh & Derry people the better.....
Post by: orangeman on March 28, 2009, 11:36:29 PM
Great win for Tyrone - well deserved.
Post by: ziggysego on March 28, 2009, 11:45:34 PM
Quote from: under the bar on March 28, 2009, 11:33:18 PM
QuoteNot really I don't have a problem with anyone being religious but he goes on about it all the time and the fact that when certain players of his conduct themselves in a manner which is unbecoming of a sportsperson (Or human being for that matter) he does nothing to condemn it just dismisses it as nothing and  obviously does nothing to stop it from happening again and in Ricey's case even appeals the punishment he has been given.

It's his hypocrisy that annoys me too.

Good.  The more misery Mickey can heap on Armagh & Derry people the better.....
:D :D :D

Couldn't have put it better

Post by: Radioulster on March 28, 2009, 11:47:04 PM
It's tyrone vs derry tommy is from the loughshore the blood is up it doesnt make him a tr**p. quit the glory of the game bollocks Screen man a manager backs his players-end of. If he doesnt who will? the media? catch yourself on good performance from tyrone and not bad from derry either.
Post by: screenexile on March 28, 2009, 11:51:40 PM
I'm not saying hang him out to dry but say the did wrong and the manager will have a word with him about it would at least suffice... Crying that an incident is getting too much attention and then appealing a perfectly warranted suspension is not the way to go about it in my book!
Post by: mountainboii on March 29, 2009, 12:06:56 AM
My prediction is that this thread will rumble on for the next fortnight, especially since there isn't a game next week, centering on the Tommy McGuigan incident. Every few dozen posts some eejit will say something like, "McGuigan is a dick, etc.,etc.", which will subsequently be followed by 20 posts from hotheaded Tyronies defending their man. After a while the Tyronies will start to complain that people from Armagh and Derry are dragging the issue out simply due to their petty jealousy, while at the same time oblivious to the fact that 70% or 80% of the posts on the thread will have been made by Tyrone supporters  ::)
Post by: ziggysego on March 29, 2009, 12:09:35 AM
McGuigan IS a good man. Armagh and Derry are jealous.
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on March 29, 2009, 12:16:11 AM
no hes not,hes a dick!!! :P
Post by: ziggysego on March 29, 2009, 12:17:33 AM
You're a dick :P
Post by: illdecide on March 29, 2009, 12:19:01 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 29, 2009, 12:09:35 AM
McGuigan IS a good man. Armagh and Derry are jealous.

Don't bring Armagh into it Ziggy ;)

This is between you guys and the Derry wans...I had Lunch with M Harte one Friday in Ballygawley and he's a sound man who i know for a fact backs his team to the hilt (right or wrong)...

As long as we can beat them Meath hoors tomorrow it will have been a good weekend ;) but it's always nice to see you and the Derry wans cut the tripe out of each other ;D
Post by: ziggysego on March 29, 2009, 12:21:43 AM
Couldn't make it to the game tonight illdecide, so went to the local to watch it on Setanta Ireland. A poor unfortunate Derry man found himself in the pub to watch the game... Poor lad.
Post by: ziggysego on March 29, 2009, 12:32:31 AM
Quote from: hardstation on March 29, 2009, 12:31:25 AM
Who won?

Antrim
Post by: KingLarsson on March 29, 2009, 12:48:21 AM
youns wans wer so lucky. cheatinn hoors. how does it feel to be the rangers of northern ireland!!
Post by: ziggysego on March 29, 2009, 12:50:56 AM
Crossmaglen? Brilliant!  ;D
Post by: KingLarsson on March 29, 2009, 12:54:41 AM
Quote from: noeldebrun on March 29, 2009, 12:51:18 AM
Quote from: KingLarsson on March 29, 2009, 12:48:21 AM
youns wans wer so lucky. cheatinn hoors. how does it feel to be the rangers of northern ireland!!

kl your always good for a laugh

Whos laffin after thon mugging!!
Post by: Doire abú on March 29, 2009, 12:55:48 AM
Quote from: Tommy Tight Lips on March 28, 2009, 09:15:53 PM
not like enda muldoon to have a quiet game against tyrone  ::) ::) ::)

Are you being serious? ??? ??? Enda Muldoon was probably man of the match until he went off.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 29, 2009, 02:22:45 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on March 28, 2009, 09:08:58 PM
Good stuff... thanks for the updates chaps.

Chaps...! this isn't polo "old boy" FFS.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 29, 2009, 10:07:41 AM
Quote from: KingLarsson on March 27, 2009, 07:16:08 PM

Oh right, we have a couple ourselves, they provide great entertainment, look out for them -

I hardly speak bollix. comparing mesel and hmmcoy is stupid as thon boy is only bein a pain in the arse never offerin a decent opinion

And u say u don't speak bollix?!!  :o
Post by: Doire abú on March 29, 2009, 11:11:54 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 29, 2009, 10:07:41 AM

Oh right, we have a couple ourselves, they provide great entertainment, look out for them -

Ignore King Larsson, he makes a fool of himself on the Derry thread as well.
Post by: Gaffer on March 29, 2009, 11:26:57 AM
Quote from: Doire abú on March 29, 2009, 11:11:54 AM

Ignore King Larsson, he makes a fool of himself on the Derry thread as well.

He's hilarious!
Post by: London 2012 on March 29, 2009, 11:33:37 AM
The tommy mcguigan incident was much to do about nothing and the over the top comments made by bias derry supporters are exactly that. When McGuigan released the ball SML continued to be in his face trying to get a reaction from him instead of going straight to the ball on the ground which I think he was supposed to be wanting. McGuigan shouldn't have raised he knee but there wasn't much momentum behind it. It was a definate yellow card maybe even a sending off going on the fickle new rules but McGuigan's no 'filthy tr"£p as some people have said. What did SML do as soon as the knee made contact....look at the ref to make sure he seen it then go down making more of it than he needed to. Though maybe in SML's defence thats the way all players behave these days? GAA heads who think their game is so manly and tut at the soccer stars rolling about when they've hardly been touched have to fave facts that GAA is FOLLOWING this soccer trend rather than following rugby players....
Post by: screenmachine on March 29, 2009, 11:40:37 AM
theres a difference between hardly being touched and not being touched at all and jumping to the ground like some of the soccer 'stars' do.  If someone is stupid enough to make contact with you on a gaelic pitch then the referee has every rite to send them off if he has seen it, should that be a box to the face or a filck on the nose, u can't strike an opponent with hand/fist/knee.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on March 29, 2009, 11:55:47 AM
It was a knee to the balls ffs, I don't know too many of ye that would be able to stand up after that. Unless you're not telling us something . . .
Post by: aroundincircles on March 29, 2009, 12:04:34 PM
Did any of yous see connor gormley dropping the knee into bradley in the first half and giving away a free the protesting his innocence?
Post by: KingLarsson on March 29, 2009, 12:13:00 PM

Well il admit id a bit to much buckie last night but still feel we were robbed hi. Wat part of tyrone is thon ref from anyway!!
Post by: seamusthebard on March 29, 2009, 12:17:20 PM
Quote from: aroundincircles on March 29, 2009, 12:04:34 PM
Did any of yous see connor gormley dropping the knee into bradley in the first half and giving away a free the protesting his innocence?

AND THE SECOND HALF AS WELL.
Tommy Mcguigan is not a dirty player and always plays the ball. Sean Marty was overdoing the macho bit at that time as tommy had dropped the ball. Now I wouldn't call anyone a tr**p, never mind a gaelic Footballer but Gormley gets off with murder.
Post by: aroundincircles on March 29, 2009, 12:22:13 PM
Gormley is a sneeky boy. Not tommy's form all the same.
Post by: Hotrocks on March 29, 2009, 12:30:33 PM
This win for Tyrone seems to have upset a few Derry wans!
So Mc Guigans a tr**p, and Gormley, anyone else? maybe Ricey was being too loud in the stand?
You know Mc Guigans incident wasnt that serious when the BBC (spit) fail to mention it!
Post by: Mid Down Gael on March 29, 2009, 12:32:49 PM
Gormley is in the same league as McMenimin. Oisin McConnvilles book tells it all. Tyrone are hated mainly because of these two and thier dirty negative play. Davy Harte, Cavanagh etc... dont stoop to the tactics used by Gormley and McMenimin. they are good enough footballers without behaving the way they do.
Post by: aroundincircles on March 29, 2009, 12:33:23 PM
Quote from: Hotrocks on March 29, 2009, 12:30:33 PM
This win for Tyrone seems to have upset a few Derry wans!
So Mc Guigans a tr**p, and Gormley, anyone else? maybe Ricey was being too loud in the stand?
You know Mc Guigans incident wasnt that serious when the BBC (spit) fail to mention it!
I am not upset just making an observation I am from tyrone.
Post by: aroundincircles on March 29, 2009, 12:52:06 PM
what a pass from brian to big cavanagh for penalty incident
Post by: Hotrocks on March 29, 2009, 12:59:55 PM
Thought Quinn was doing well last night up till the yellow card! Mulligan impressed alright as did B Mc Guigan when he came on.  Mellon got through some work in the middle !
Post by: Rois on March 29, 2009, 01:32:28 PM
Just watched McGuigan's offence there, can't believe that is what all the fuss is about. Wrong, yes, have I seen worse, undoubtedly, does it make me question Mickey Harte's catholicism, no.
Mulligan impressed me last night, as did Jordan in the latter stages. The Tyrone defence appeared very patient and that served to frustrate in a number of instances.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 29, 2009, 04:31:39 PM
We rightly criticise the media, especially in the North, of their negative coverage of Gaelic games. Reading these threads, maybe their portrayal is accurate as you have to browse through pages of 'he did this', 'he did that' before you get the odd post relevant to the game.

If there is a genuine, relevant issue it needs discussed but we appear to have a habit of accentuating the negatives of any misdemeanor on this forum.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2009, 05:37:29 PM
That was a massively improved performance (from Ballybofey), and there was only going to be one winner last night. Absolutely exquisite pass from Brian Mc Guigan leading to the penalty, one of the best I've ever had the privilege of witnessing. Oh how the wine sours though  ;)
Post by: loughshore lad on March 29, 2009, 05:48:18 PM
Tyrone were good value for the win last night, this group of players have a great capacity for closing out games.  I was expecting a bit of a response from Tyrone last night and it was very obvious from the outset they were up for the game.  Good to see McCarron and Sean O'Neill play well and they look like they will give more options at the back.  As with the AI final last year the introduction of Brian was vital, he was excellent when he came on last night and from what I have saw from him this year he looks to be in much better form than last, I think he will have a big year.
Post by: jodyb on March 29, 2009, 05:56:18 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 27, 2009, 02:02:04 PM

:D :D :D :D F#ck ye O'Neill I belly laughed when I saw that. Class!!!!
Post by: whiskeysteve on March 29, 2009, 06:17:36 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2009, 05:37:29 PM
That was a massively improved performance (from Ballybofey), and there was only going to be one winner last night. Absolutely exquisite pass from Brian Mc Guigan leading to the penalty, one of the best I've ever had the privilege of witnessing. Oh how the wine sours though  ;)

Dont agree with that. Had Brown converted that easy free to put Derry ahead the outcome could have been very different. Not too bothered with the result though as i'd be a bit wary of Derry taking their eye off the ball after good league form and the focus is now totally on the Monaghan game with no distractions left.

Couldnt make the game but watched it on Setanta. During the analysis at half time they raised an interesting point that our top 4 scoring forwards; Bradleys, Murphy, Kielt are predominately left footed and that most of the ball was getting passed into the right corner to suit this. The Tyrone defence adjusted well to this after a while, particulary on Murphy who didnt have the pace/right foot of the other 3 to shake this attention. However the return of Enda Lynn and Mark Lynch further down the line will hopefully balance this out. Enda Lynn will also cover more ground than the starting wing forwards yesterday and may exert more pressure on attacking backs like Harte who got up for 2 points.

Thought Muldoon was excellent yesterday, maybe ran out of steam a bit at the end but his fielding and distribution was by and large excellent. Sean leo was also v good, winning a lot of breaking ball and impressing with possession. He could still be pushed up to half forward as Cartin and O'Kane have impressed also
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2009, 06:27:17 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on March 29, 2009, 06:17:36 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2009, 05:37:29 PM
Dont agree with that. Had Brown converted that easy free to put Derry ahead the outcome could have been very different.

Perhaps that statement was coloured by the fact that I was never worried last night that Tyrone wouldn't win, despite the very shaky third quarter. Had we lost, of course, that confidence would have been totally misplaced, but I genuinely wasn't.

Post by: ONeill on March 29, 2009, 08:35:45 PM
Although Coldrick tried his best to ruin it, it was £10 well spent, with the added highlight of the Derrytresk Trad band warming the cockles at half time. I was surprised at the crowd in terms of numbers - a decent showing despite the bitterly cold night it was. Was that an eclipse of the moon too?

There was much more to be optimistic about last night than in previous games. Cavanagh, Jordan, Harte, Mugsy, Gormley, Hughes, Mellon and Tommy all looked sharper and are gradually getting up to summer speed. Cavanagh is some act. He played in fits and spurts dictated by himself and when he decided to get involved Derry simply couldn't handle him, often resorting to dragging him down. I think his penalty incident happened when he was just sauntering/strolling back as Derry were building from defence. I remember thinking then that he's still a wee bit short in terms of fitness the way he wasn't rushing to help out the defenders. Tyrone turned the ball over and Cavanagh was brilliantly found in acres of space. He's irreplaceable.

Hub and Mellon worked hard all night but weren't really helped out when they broke the ball. Derry won probably twice as much of midfield ball but that was more to do with the work their half backs and forwards were doing. Hub's point at the end was mightily impressive. Was it 1/1 for him??

Davy Harte was majestic in the first half and knocked over two points from distance when the rest of the side especially McCullagh, Colm Cav, Mugsy, Mellon and Sean were playing hot potato with the ball on the half forward line without threatening. To be fair they had little to target as Cassidy I thought was a little static and always had SML glued to his back. Cassidy and Colm Cav started as a two man FF line but were rarely utilised. I'm still undecided about Colm. He seems a bit awkward at times but doesn't lack confidence or ability. He's probably more of an impact sub.

I thought O'Neill had a great game in the HB line, playing more in Jordan's role with the Model at CHB. He fits in well to the system and didn't look like a newcomer. The two corner backs were solid if not excellent. Gormley had his hands full and probably came out evens. Paddy Bradley is still an excellent footballer and his anticipation of the long ball on top of him was a delight to watch. He rarely lost a ball aimed at him from Bradley or Muldoon. Kielt had his moments but was receiving a bit of a hard time from the Derry crowd. Eoin Bradley was just Eoin. He can win a ball and hold onto possession but often tries to beat his man when a simply delivery would leave a better placed teammate in the clear. I don't think he'll change.

McCullagh seems to be a horses for courses man. Against a tight-marking defence he struggles to find his range and although he shows for every ball he can lose possession by taking a wee bit too much out of it which can be a bit demoralising for the team. On one occasion in the first half he was sent clear by Mellon I think but took 1-2 solos two many and was caught. He's still capable of destroying certain defences but not the Kerry/Derry of this world.

With O'Neill, McGinley, Dooher, Ricey, Justin Mc and Joe (who came on) still to start Mickey has some dilemma on his hands. Who partners McGinley hasn't been answered. He has moved Cassidy away from there with the old hands of Hub/Holmes/Mellon alternating. Joe McMahon is another option. Another is Justin if Mickey's sufficiently happy with O'Neill and Gormley at HB and FB. Mugsy's still tearing around the middle third with a new lease of life but won a couple of crucial balls closer in late on - something that Cassidy wasn't offering.

All-in-all many positives although still nowhere near championship level. As for Derry, I was disappointed. I can't see what Brolly's been waxing about lately. It looked like the same old Derry to me.
Post by: aroundincircles on March 29, 2009, 08:37:26 PM
hi oneill who won minors today the hill and derrylaughan do you know
Post by: ONeill on March 29, 2009, 08:38:49 PM
Derrylaughan
Post by: aroundincircles on March 29, 2009, 08:40:39 PM
feck that by how much do you know
Post by: ONeill on March 29, 2009, 09:36:43 PM
Something like 5 points
Post by: redcard on March 29, 2009, 10:19:18 PM
Quote from: aroundincircles on March 29, 2009, 08:37:26 PM
hi oneill who won minors today the hill and derrylaughan do you know
Quote from: aroundincircles on March 29, 2009, 08:40:39 PM
feck that by how much do you know
Quote from: ONeill on March 29, 2009, 09:36:43 PM
Something like 5 points

all the results here

http://www.tyronegaa.ie/youth/football/minor/grade2/
Post by: whiskeysteve on March 29, 2009, 10:33:58 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 29, 2009, 08:35:45 PM
It looked like the same old Derry to me.

Still lack that ruthless, inbred, 'go for his balls' mentality
Post by: SidelineKick on March 30, 2009, 08:31:41 AM
Thought it wasn't an overly bad game on Saturday night, wasn't overly worried about the win but going into the last 2 mins level and a free to win it I must say I'm disappointed at not coming away with the win.  Being safe is good enough for me though at this stage.

Thought big Enda was very impressive again as were the Bradleys (unfortunately that doesnt include Paul - taken off very early in his defence).  We kicked ourselves out of it in the 2nd half, and a few wayward shots in the first aswell.  Paul Murphy looks to be coming into his own more and more with each game.  Again, Patsy did himself no harm in midfield.  One question - when will Diver ever learn?  He eyed the man (Hughes?) up when he was in the air and hot him as he was landing, making no attempt to disposses him, 30 yards out in front of the goals.  He frustrates me.

A few other observations - Coldrick was extremely whistle-happy and at times ruined the game both ways.

Tommy McGuigan - the incident happened right in front of me, Sean Marty perhaps over enthusiastic in getting the ball from him, and I know Tommy is not this type of player, but there is no place for this type of shit.  I would like to know what he got a black card for???  Again, the linesman forgot to bring his glasses, this happened directly in front of him.  I don't want a witch hunt but if the ref game him a tick, what was it for? It was a straight red.  (Barry McGoldrick did the same v Galway the previous week - gave Joyce a dead leg, in front of the linesman, very stupid and was lucky not to get a red - they need to open the eyes and mouths!)

Owen Mulligan - was impressed with his performance but thought kicking the ball at Sean Marty when he was on the ground was poor form, a man I cannot bring myself to respect.

Tyrone are learning well from Dublin and using the short kickouts to their advantage, really brings the 'keeper into the game and keeps him on his toes.  A few dodgey ones but all in all used it to good effect.

Tyrones finishing was certainly more clinical and had Derry has been as accurate could have won this game (almost) comfortably.

Entertaining night, but as Tyrone well know this result won't count for much.

On a lighter note: when Jordan was taking a free he stole about 10 yards (i think he thought it was being moved forward) and I shouted "where's he going to?!" to which a Tyronie from behind me shouted "Croke Park"  :D couldn't say much to that, was very witty and quick.
Post by: rrhf on March 30, 2009, 09:54:53 AM
Great game and great endeavour from the Derry men they gave us a right oul scare. On the way out I was talking to a few Derry men giving out about Coach Cassidy and his Bellaghy paroachialism causing them to lose this game.  They talked about Bellaghys Diver coming on,  Bellaghys Brown being told to take the last free kick and concluded that the kerry game shouldnt have been in Bellaghy.  I dint knowe there was so much anti Bellagh ysentiment in derry ...Is this the start of the cracks in the armoury?  As a wise old man once sung "Its a long way to the top if you wanna rock n roll."       
Post by: SidelineKick on March 30, 2009, 10:16:57 AM
Nah, Brown was the obvious choice to hit that free, Bradley, Bradley, Murphy, Kielt all lefties, McGoldrick had gone off injured, was just unfortunate he missed it, I'm sure he was gutted but these things happen.

I can see peoples' frustration with Diver however; I've mentioned him in my last post, he oozes passion but seriously lacks a bit of sense at times.  I certainly respect his enthusiasm and will to play and win every game for whatever team he's playing for but sometimes you have to wonder what goes through his head.  That challenge on (Hughes?) was as senseless a tackle as you will see.

As for the gripe at the Kerry match being in Bellaghy, you were probably just talking to a 'Screen man
Post by: rrhf on March 30, 2009, 11:00:52 AM
I think you are very very unfair on Mulligan - there was a great deal of respect between the players at the end in particular Mulligan who congratulated the goalkeeper on the penalty save.    Dare I suggest these two will meet again at the senior end of the championship.  Derry has hardy bucks in defence, and with Doc in have a sound midfield and a very decent couple of players up front, and a smart manager.  They have all the ingredients to win Ulster this year and maybe have a ping at the big one.. but Tyrone are still a wee bit better.       
Post by: SidelineKick on March 30, 2009, 11:13:43 AM
Quote from: rrhf on March 30, 2009, 11:00:52 AM
I think you are very very unfair on Mulligan - there was a great deal of respect between the players at the end in particular Mulligan who congratulated the goalkeeper on the penalty save.    Dare I suggest these two will meet again at the senior end of the championship.  Derry has hardy bucks in defence, and with Doc in have a sound midfield and a very decent couple of players up front, and a smart manager.  They have all the ingredients to win Ulster this year and maybe have a ping at the big one.. but Tyrone are still a wee bit better.       
[/b]

:D you couldn't help yourself. 

Perhaps heat of the moment (2 days later I know) I may be a bit harsh, but he seems more intent on being the centre of attention at times (goading the Hill after scoring against the Dubs), where someone like Tommy McGuigan was just elated to score in AIF and celebrated with his team mates not AT the opposition.  Anyway I'm going off on one, I don't hate the man, or think he's a tr**p (a word being thrown about too much recently).  He's a great talent and scored a fantastic point in the 1st half, had a great view of it.  I still think kicking the ball at a man injured on the ground is very petty and can say alot about the man, the play had been stopped for about 30 seconds at that stage it wasnt spur of the moment, anyway I'm going off on another one  :D

Tyrone showed their class to not panic and they finished in the same style against Dublin.  Credit where credits due.
Post by: ziggysego on March 30, 2009, 11:25:38 AM
Since there's a big love-in going on, I might as well join in.

Derry weren't too bad.
Post by: the green man on March 30, 2009, 11:30:09 AM
(http://news.bbc.co.uk/olmedia/1595000/images/_1599123_dariusdanesh150.jpg)
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 30, 2009, 11:37:34 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 30, 2009, 11:25:38 AM
Since there's a big love-in going on, I might as well join in.

Derry weren't too bad.

Where you there Zig? I looked everywhere for you?  ::) You were marked as absent....
Post by: ziggysego on March 30, 2009, 11:44:20 AM
Derry ones tried to poisin my Dad, so I couldn't get.
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 30, 2009, 11:47:08 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 30, 2009, 11:44:20 AM
Derry ones tried to poisin my Dad, so I couldn't get.

You missed a good night-good atmosphere and decent game of football. Tyrone looking good and building well for May.
Post by: ziggysego on March 30, 2009, 11:57:55 AM
Went down to the local to watch it fox. Looked a decent game and they've come on a lot since I've last seen him. Still plenty of room for improvements, but it's looking like it could be a long summer for the Tyrone Gaels.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 30, 2009, 12:09:24 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on March 30, 2009, 11:13:43 AM
Quote from: rrhf on March 30, 2009, 11:00:52 AM
[/b]

:D you couldn't help yourself. 

Perhaps heat of the moment (2 days later I know) I may be a bit harsh, but he seems more intent on being the centre of attention at times (goading the Hill after scoring against the Dubs), where someone like Tommy McGuigan was just elated to score in AIF and celebrated with his team mates not AT the opposition.  Anyway I'm going off on one, I don't hate the man, or think he's a tr**p (a word being thrown about too much recently).  He's a great talent and scored a fantastic point in the 1st half, had a great view of it.  I still think kicking the ball at a man injured on the ground is very petty and can say alot about the man, the play had been stopped for about 30 seconds at that stage it wasnt spur of the moment, anyway I'm going off on another one  :D

Tyrone showed their class to not panic and they finished in the same style against Dublin.  Credit where credits due.

I think McGuigan shimmied across the end line arms out stretched looking at the canal end crowd if I remember, but I don't think there is anything wrong with goading the crowd. It's all a bit of craic, and if the crowd give you abuse it's the best way to answer it. If I recall correctly Mulligan went down to the Hill after one of the games (Might've been the 05 replay) and applauded the hill on his own, and not in a sarcastic manner.

Sure wasn't there some fella a loc of years back would've been known for blowing kisses to the crowd after scoring...
Post by: ziggysego on March 30, 2009, 12:10:59 PM
Yeah, I think the same lad has a piece in a weekly GAA newspaper. The name escapes me...
Post by: SidelineKick on March 30, 2009, 12:18:47 PM
Alright alright I got caught up it a moment (twice).  Tommy didn't goad the crowd after his goal, there was a mix of supporters.  Mulligan stood in front of the Hill full of Dublin supporters.  You'll have me going off on ANOTHER one now.  Likewise Joseph Brolly blew kisses at his own fans as opposed to goading, still I'm sure he'd have seemed like a hateful wee hoor for the opposition fans.  Good job he's such a gent now and everybody loves him  ;)
Post by: SidelineKick on March 30, 2009, 12:19:53 PM
Oh and Ziggy i didn't think it was your style to condone violence on the pitch, you're not the man I thought you were  :(
Post by: ziggysego on March 30, 2009, 12:25:28 PM
I DID have to get surgery for it Sideline. Had to go to London for it in 1991. Spinal problem in my neck. Constant pins and needles and the knee would jerk up like Tommy. That said, maybe Tommy was being a wee scamp on Saturday. If so, no place for it. Just don't be making mountains out of mole hills.
Post by: SidelineKick on March 30, 2009, 12:28:37 PM
I'm sure you did Ziggy but I don't think Tommy did!!

Seriously though as I said, Tommy is not that type of player, I really enjoy watching him, and in a world with slack rules one could say Sean Marty deserved what he got!

All I was wondering was what was he ticked for? It annoys me when refs do that (not just Sat nights incident).  If they see it then he's off, if not they don't do anything, its simple.  As I also said Barry McGoldrick did it v Galway last week and should have walked. It was right in front of the linesman! So silly.
Post by: goal and a point on March 30, 2009, 12:53:34 PM
Not justifying Tommys actions but Rory Woods was not sited for his minor kicking the week before so dont really see the fuss in this.
Post by: SidelineKick on March 30, 2009, 12:56:51 PM
Quote from: goal and a point on March 30, 2009, 12:53:34 PM
Not justifying Tommys actions but Rory Woods was not sited for his minor kicking the week before so dont really see the fuss in this.

I know thats not directed at me personally but I am not making a big deal out of it, its the refereeing decision that annoys me.  I didn't see Woods' incident I'm afraid!
Post by: Mr. Nakata on March 30, 2009, 12:59:26 PM
Brian McGuigan's pass into Sean for the penalty was sublime. It truly was a joy to behold. However, I think the beard needs to give him extra training, a few more laps round the pitch maybe. He seems to be a good stone or two overweight. Big Joe would need to lay off the pies as well. These 2 are brilliant players but both look a very long way off championship fitness. With one competitive game left and 8 or so weeks to go I suppose there's plenty of time.
Post by: Kentucky Blue on March 30, 2009, 01:50:16 PM
Entertaining game on saturday night. Tyrone's intensity and pace was that wee bit ahead of derry's i thought. The way they turned the screw at the very end was very efficient, however a lot of this stemmed form derry's close range free miss. Could not believe it but its not the end of the world. Derry will still go away knowing they have a lot to work on and i think they will have learned a fair bit about themselves and hopefully are closer to knowing the first choice 15.

One thing i would like to highlight and i was very disappointed in.....  :(
After Brown missed the free, Joe McMahon must have ran about 30 yards to go over and push him on the head, exchange a couple of verbals then run on. Dont know how many others noticed this but i only saw it because i wanted to see brown's reaction after the free. There is absolutely no place for this. I know its become part and parcel almost but the only way it can be stamped out is if the officials flag it up and punish harshly.

No team is whiter than white and derry has its fair share of players teams love to hate but for McMahon, who is a teacher and should be setting an example is a down right disgrace.
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 30, 2009, 02:13:26 PM
I'm told a few London boys were behaving badly round Cookstown on Saturday night after the game and had to be ejected from Mint?  Anyone else shed any light on this?  green man?  Spirit of 94?
Post by: SidelineKick on March 30, 2009, 02:31:53 PM
Is there anywhere online that I could catch the highlights of the game??
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 30, 2009, 03:11:59 PM
I agree with the Derry supporter who called for the game to be played in the "correct spirit and with dignity". Tommy let himself down on Saturday night. Id also think though correct spirit and dignity would include not cynically fouling players who are about to score, and not throwing yourself to the ground, when you havent been fouled, to win a crucial (well it should have been crucial had it not been kicked wide) free.
Post by: the green man on March 30, 2009, 03:36:21 PM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 30, 2009, 03:11:59 PM
and not throwing yourself to the ground, when you havent been fouled, to win a crucial (well it should have been crucial had it not been kicked wide) free.

It wasnt kicked wide. McGuckin saved the penalty
Post by: SidelineKick on March 30, 2009, 03:37:46 PM
Quote from: the green man on March 30, 2009, 03:36:21 PM
and not throwing yourself to the ground, when you havent been fouled, to win a crucial (well it should have been crucial had it not been kicked wide) free.

Post by: tonesfirstandlast on March 30, 2009, 03:38:20 PM

Fair play to you greenman!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: nrico2006 on March 30, 2009, 04:35:22 PM
QuoteThese 2 are brilliant players but both look a very long way off championship fitness. With one competitive game left and 8 or so weeks to go I suppose there's plenty of time.

I would say Brian McGuigan has not been flat out recently since he is only returning from injury.  I am excited by the possibility of him being fully fit this summer, as last year was a bit too soon for him.
Post by: jodyb on March 30, 2009, 07:00:53 PM
Broken Record time. Beeb's highlights just had to show Mc Goldrick's head, of course without a word of explanation that it was an accidental clash. No coverage of any gaa whatsoever this day last week. Just amazed they didn't show the kneeing incident. Editors musta missed it.
Post by: corn02 on March 30, 2009, 07:09:24 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on March 30, 2009, 04:35:22 PM
QuoteThese 2 are brilliant players but both look a very long way off championship fitness. With one competitive game left and 8 or so weeks to go I suppose there's plenty of time.

I am excited by the possibility of him being fully fit this summer

Ohhhh matron!
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 30, 2009, 07:25:28 PM

Very good ;D. Nobody could deny that the penalty was the correct award however and whilst it was a good save it was a lucky escape for Derry that Tyrone got nothing from what was a certain goal but for the foul on Cavanagh. Justice was certainly done when Brown missed the free at the end as the referee had a mistake with the award in the first place.

Cynical fouling, diving and indeed trying to get fellow players booked as the Gooch did at the weekend have no place in the game. I look forward to pages of condemnation of these things as we have seen in regards to Tommy McGuigan ;).