GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: downgirl on January 18, 2009, 08:08:58 PM

Title: All Ireland Scór 2009
Post by: downgirl on January 18, 2009, 08:08:58 PM
Just wondering if anyone can give me details about where in Athlone it is taking place??  Is it in Athlone IT or something??  Also does anyone know how much tickets are and is it a bad road up from Cork?  Would you just go to Portlaoise and across?
Title: Re: All Ireland Scór na nÓg Final 2009
Post by: cornafean on January 19, 2009, 10:55:00 AM
Athlone IT is the traditional venue for Scor na nOg finals.  Dunno about tickets, have you a contact in your local Scór committee? Driving from Cork? - 2 options: via Portlaoise or via Thurles & Roscrea. The latter is more direct for Athlone but the roads mightn't be as good.
Post by: sabhallphadraig on January 19, 2009, 11:21:13 AM
Quote from: downgirl on January 18, 2009, 08:08:58 PM
Just wondering if anyone can give me details about where in Athlone it is taking place??  Is it in Athlone IT or something??  Also does anyone know how much tickets are and is it a bad road up from Cork?  Would you just go to Portlaoise and across?

Is there much interest from Down in this one?  ;D

Tickets are likely to come by I'd guess although  as cornafean points out, the best route is via the local Scor contact (do you know who that is from Down?).  Alternatively, having some local Scor contacts in Cork might be useful in getting hands on tickets - let us know :)

When is the programme finalised? Anyone with any info on the clubs & counties taking part able to fill in the details below? Thanks

UPDATE: OK - this looks like the lineup (performance order to be finalised still I guess). A good spread of counties represented with seemingly Cork topping the appearance list with 5 provincial titles.

Rince Fóirne

Amhránaíocht Aonair

Ceol Uirlise

Aithriseoireacht

Bailéad Ghrúpa

Nuachleas

Rince Seit

Tráth na gCeisteanna

Post by: downgirl on January 19, 2009, 10:32:48 PM
sabhallphadraig....is that you G????!!

Dont have any scór contacts in Corcaigh, can't find a club that does scór sinsear anywhere near me seems to be everywhere out in the sticks...a bit like saul  :P

Nah in seriousness like, my scór contact from home never bebod or texted me back!!!

sabhall naomh phadraig abú!!!  :D
Post by: sabhallphadraig on January 20, 2009, 02:42:57 PM
Quote from: downgirl on January 19, 2009, 10:32:48 PM

downgirl - (I'm not 'G' btw) - tickets I guess are gonna be hard to come by - I know the interest in the club (& wider) is high atm and there's even talk of travelling down to look for tickets on the day (anyone know if that option exists??) and soak up the atmosphere. The club scor coord is doing a good (& difficult) job in trying to get as many tickets as poss and then distribute them as far down the priority list as it goes but not everyone will get I'd say.

Anyone (cornafean?) know how many Athlone IT holds for the finals?

Anyone in Boherbue in Cork (well done on having 3 finalists btw - superb) with a few spare tickets from your allocation for your northern cousins?  ;D
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 20, 2009, 03:23:37 PM
Quote from: cornafean on January 19, 2009, 10:55:00 AM
Athlone IT is the traditional venue for Scor na nOg finals.  Dunno about tickets, have you a contact in your local Scór committee? Driving from Cork? - 2 options: via Portlaoise or via Thurles & Roscrea. The latter is more direct for Athlone but the roads mightn't be as good.

Roads are fine as long as u don't put the wings on (although u might need em for crossing the bog as well as a settled stomach)...
Post by: Ddawg on January 20, 2009, 03:38:25 PM

Bout ye Downgirl! I thought your Scór contact had been in touch ;D Tickets will be hard to get one would predict with a lot of interest but as an ex scórer i would say you will  be high enough up the list to hopefully get one! Wont be til about a week and a half before that every1 knows how many tickets they will get!

Looks to be a good running order and the makings of an Excellent All Ireland on the 40th Anniversary of Scór!
Post by: cornafean on January 20, 2009, 03:59:53 PM
Quote from: sabhallphadraig on January 20, 2009, 02:42:57 PM
Anyone (cornafean?) know how many Athlone IT holds for the finals?

I don't know the exact numbers it holds, but I don't think that tickets are normally that hard to come by.
Post by: downgirl on January 20, 2009, 11:40:40 PM
Quote from: Ddawg on January 20, 2009, 03:38:25 PM

Bout ye Downgirl! I thought your Scór contact had been in touch ;D

Yea Ddawg, he got in contact eventually after numerous texts and bebo comments  :P

By the way I won't be an ex-scórer for long, when I finish in Cork I will be back doing instrumental hopefully with the uilleann pipes...I have some fabulous tunes in mind...defo have to win a county medal at least!!!!!!!
Post by: Rav67 on January 21, 2009, 11:21:06 PM
Good to see Scor still going strong in some places, the amount of clubs entering in Derry seems to have dramatically dropped since I first went to watch Scor na nOg around 1993/94.  Myself and fellow poster Tommy Tight Lips are past Scor champions, can always lay claim to having been an all-county winner in a premier GAA competition
Post by: downgirl on January 22, 2009, 03:29:29 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on January 21, 2009, 11:21:06 PM
Good to see Scor still going strong in some places, the amount of clubs entering in Derry seems to have dramatically dropped since I first went to watch Scor na nOg around 1993/94.  Myself and fellow poster Tommy Tight Lips are past Scor champions, can always lay claim to having been an all-county winner in a premier GAA competition

What did you get a county medal in Rav?? I would die for a county medal in instrumental!!
Post by: Donagh on January 22, 2009, 03:35:37 PM
1979 county, provincial and national semis winner here. Robbed in the final to come runner-up  :'(
Post by: downgirl on January 22, 2009, 03:41:04 PM
Quote from: Donagh on January 22, 2009, 03:35:37 PM
1979 county, provincial and national semis winner here. Robbed in the final to come runner-up  :'(

Jeez Donagh, you are showing your age there!!  :D  What were you competing in anyway?
Post by: Whitehair on January 23, 2009, 04:55:39 PM
We (Clann na Banna, Down) got beat in the Tráth na gCeisteanna AI final 5 years ago. We'd won 5 rounds to progress to the final but hadn't put enough effort in to win it, glad I took part though after initially entering as a last minute thing!

Post by: leenie on January 24, 2009, 07:33:56 PM
if the ulster final of scor is anything to go by then the all ireland should be spectacular.... the talent is getting better every year. I to am a scor competitor and now help with the scor na og for my club, to see the young getting so involved and being passionate about scor is great.... there is much more to scor that just the nights of the competition, there should be extra points for those who have to practice in old halls, no heating and snow outside on the ground... but sure its worth it!

though as much as i love scor sometimes it can be very frustrating, i don't know about other counties but sometimes the adjudication can be somewhat questionable.. but this has been taken on board as there was an adjudicators seminar this month designed to improve and standardise adjudication. so it will be interesting to see how it fairs.

This year at scor na og, i seen a young fella representing silverbridge in the recitations and i have to say in all my time at scor na og, he was the best i have ever seen, he was brilliant, unfortunately he didn't make it to the all ireland but i have no doubt that he will one day soon.
Post by: seabee on January 25, 2009, 01:09:04 PM
Tickets very hard to come by. i think there were a few hundred who arrived in athlone last year without tickets and had to watch the competition on big screens in an adjoining building
Post by: Rav67 on January 25, 2009, 01:58:00 PM
Quote from: downgirl on January 22, 2009, 03:29:29 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on January 21, 2009, 11:21:06 PM

What did you get a county medal in Rav?? I would die for a county medal in instrumental!!

Got one in the quiz, entered recitation as well.  TTL won the ballad group event in the same year I think.
Post by: downgirl on January 25, 2009, 07:54:51 PM
Quote from: leenie on January 24, 2009, 07:33:56 PM
if the ulster final of scor is anything to go by then the all ireland should be spectacular.... the talent is getting better every year. I to am a scor competitor and now help with the scor na og for my club, to see the young getting so involved and being passionate about scor is great.... there is much more to scor that just the nights of the competition, there should be extra points for those who have to practice in old halls, no heating and snow outside on the ground... but sure its worth it!

though as much as i love scor sometimes it can be very frustrating, i don't know about other counties but sometimes the adjudication can be somewhat questionable.. but this has been taken on board as there was an adjudicators seminar this month designed to improve and standardise adjudication. so it will be interesting to see how it fairs.

This year at scor na og, i seen a young fella representing silverbridge in the recitations and i have to say in all my time at scor na og, he was the best i have ever seen, he was brilliant, unfortunately he didn't make it to the all ireland but i have no doubt that he will one day soon.

Yes Leenie, completely agree on the adjudication, some decisions in the past have been very unfair, I remember 2 years ago, one of the adjudicators for the East Down it was either semi or final, she was from Downpatrick club (and she was adjudicating for East Down which Downpatrick is a part of??!!)  and there were 2 competitors in the solo singing from Dpk and she put the 2 of them as equal 1st or 2nd and then one of the McCrickards from Castlewellan as either 1st or 2nd can't remember which.  So bad like she let them through because they were from her club (I think one was football the other was competing for camogie club or something).  Don't get me started on it...that's another reason I stopped coming home for scór like, what's the point in me paying for flights and all if a certain club beginning with M are always going to win the county instrumental??!!!!  >:( >:( >:(
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on February 02, 2009, 10:29:40 AM
Any word on winners?
Post by: cornafean on February 02, 2009, 10:43:43 AM
Quote from: downgirl on January 25, 2009, 07:54:51 PM
that's another reason I stopped coming home for scór like, what's the point in me paying for flights and all if a certain club beginning with M are always going to win the county instrumental??!!!!  >:( >:( >:(

The slogan "quitters never win and winners never quit" is so true of Scór. The key to doing well is persistence, persistence persistence. If you keep at it and put up with the inevitable disappointments, slip-ups and questionable adjudication, your day will come. The real fun is in the journey, not in the arrival.
Post by: downgirl on February 02, 2009, 11:32:56 AM
Quote from: cornafean on February 02, 2009, 10:43:43 AM
Quote from: downgirl on January 25, 2009, 07:54:51 PM
that's another reason I stopped coming home for scór like, what's the point in me paying for flights and all if a certain club beginning with M are always going to win the county instrumental??!!!!  >:( >:( >:(

The slogan "quitters never win and winners never quit" is so true of Scór. The key to doing well is persistence, persistence persistence. If you keep at it and put up with the inevitable disappointments, slip-ups and questionable adjudication, your day will come. The real fun is in the journey, not in the arrival.

Yes that's grand if you are at home but Aer Arann are too expensive for me to be flying home 3 weekends out of 4 to get an east down medal and nothing more!
Post by: downgirl on February 02, 2009, 11:33:43 AM
Quote from: youbetterbelieveit on February 02, 2009, 10:29:40 AM
Any word on winners?

Winners in what way?  Final isn't until 21st Feb...do you mean provincial winners?
Post by: sabhallphadraig on February 16, 2009, 10:18:53 AM
Quote from: seabee on January 25, 2009, 01:09:04 PM
Tickets very hard to come by. i think there were a few hundred who arrived in athlone last year without tickets and had to watch the competition on big screens in an adjoining building

Final is on for this Saturday and I guess there'll be a few travelling again without tickets. Can anyone confirm (seabee?) if the big screens next door to the venue will be available again this weekend?  Thanks
Post by: Ddawg on February 16, 2009, 07:59:15 PM
No need to worry about those big screens for Sabhall Naomh Phadraig is there? Downgirl I believe your Club cultural officer has a ticket ready for you...so im told! ;)
Best of luck to Saul Ballad Group, Co. Down on Saturday! You will do club, county and province proud! Maith Sibh agus Ádh Mór Oraibh!!
Post by: downgirl on February 16, 2009, 11:28:02 PM
Ddawg...do you have a bed for me as well??!  :D
Post by: Ddawg on February 17, 2009, 12:38:38 AM
Indeed. We will also bring a few sleeping bags! lol! We wont need anywere to sleep especially if Saul win! You coming up Friday night?
Post by: downgirl on February 17, 2009, 04:42:58 PM
Yep Ddawg, hoping to get up on Friday, need to have the lab reports handed in early cus I think they are due Fri at 5 but hopefully will leave them in early and hit the road about 2 or so...are we having a session on Friday night??  Is that what you want me to bring the pipes flute and fiddle up for?!  :D
Post by: Ddawg on February 18, 2009, 01:15:58 AM
You got it in 1  :)
Post by: leenie on February 21, 2009, 03:53:11 PM
good luck to all those taking part today,,,,, especially those representing ulster!
Post by: Donagh on February 21, 2009, 10:53:15 PM
Any results yet?
Post by: downgirl on February 22, 2009, 03:59:44 PM
Just back from Athlone...a lot of celebrating done last night!!

Here's a list of the winners as far as I can remember!!

Rince Fóirne
Comore Doire (An Mhachaire - Watty Grahams)

Amhránaíocht Aonair
Meagan Burns, Ard Mhacha (Beal Atha an Airgid - Silverbridge)

Ceol Uirlise
Corcaigh - Boherbue   these lads were fantastic, could have gone into senior scór and won it.

Aithriseoireacht
James Murray, Ros Comáin (Naomh Dominic)

BAILÉAD GHRÚPA
AN DÚN - SABHALL NAOMH PHADRAIG - SAUL
(Will post videos up on youtube later so will post the links!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e7ETcVub7x0 - first song they sang, have a listen and comment on it!

Can't really the remember the rest due to the celebrating, will post them up and perhaps sabhallphadraig or someone else who was there can help me fill it in!

Tráth na gCeist
I think this is right correct me if I am wrong - Tiobaird Árann - Loughmore-Castleiney...this one was initially a tie between the crowd that one and the team from Drumlane, Cavan, so it was nearly another Ulster win!

Nuchleas
Again, correct me if I am wrong, Galleamh An Creagáin Maigh Locha - Mountbellew/Moylough

Rince Set
Longford (Naomh Uinsionn) - Longford (St. Vincents)
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2009, 05:01:34 PM

QuoteAmhránaíocht Aonair

excellent
Post by: downgirl on February 22, 2009, 05:02:50 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2009, 05:01:34 PM

QuoteAmhránaíocht Aonair

excellent

yea pints she was brilliant.
Post by: seabee on February 22, 2009, 05:28:50 PM
Quote from: sabhallphadraig on February 16, 2009, 10:18:53 AMCan anyone confirm (seabee?) if the big screens next door to the venue will be available again this weekend?  Thanks
Sorry, just saw this now, haven't been on line in a few days. Did you make it to athlone?

Did anyone else put videos on youtube?
Post by: leenie on February 22, 2009, 06:44:16 PM
fair play to the ulster representatives, having seen them in the ulster final delighted for them!  3 out of 8 ... very good... (best province) ;)
Post by: downgirl on February 22, 2009, 09:17:42 PM
If anyone would like to watch the All Ireland Champion Ballad Group here are the links:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e7ETcVub7x0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qWyKXr7b-Es

Enjoy!
Post by: sabhallphadraig on February 23, 2009, 08:13:04 AM
Downgirl,

Thanks for the link - they're great and I totally understand the nerves part. What a weekend and thanks for your part in that.  You're spot on with the winners across the categories even though I think we all got major distracted after the Ballad Group announcement. Well done to Watty Grahams and to Meagan Burns on their deserved wins. I feel for the Drumlane team in the quiz - so close but hope they come back and succeed in the future. Also, cheers to the Boherbue contingent (Liam, Ger etc) including the fantastic Instrumental Music group - u's made it a Saturday night / Sunday morning to remember.  There's a bit of a sleepy write-up on the club site now .... www.saul-gac.com
Post by: downgirl on February 23, 2009, 09:37:06 AM
Sabhallphadraig, how was the homecoming for the girls?

Also what were the results of the East Down final?  Do instrumental need me to come up for the county final?  :D
Post by: downgirl on February 23, 2009, 01:06:47 PM
This is Boherbue, Cork, the lads that won Instrumental, this isn't what they played for the scór but just to give you an idea of how good they are!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DdyMzznpckg
Post by: leenie on February 23, 2009, 03:33:43 PM
Quote from: downgirl on February 23, 2009, 01:06:47 PM
This is Boherbue, Cork, the lads that won Instrumental, this isn't what they played for the scór but just to give you an idea of how good they are!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DdyMzznpckg

they are very good, no wonder they are 3 in row champions.... glad its traditional rather than "trad"...
Post by: sabhallphadraig on February 23, 2009, 05:25:57 PM
Quote from: downgirl on February 23, 2009, 09:37:06 AM
Sabhallphadraig, how was the homecoming for the girls?

Also what were the results of the East Down final?  Do instrumental need me to come up for the county final?  :D
It was great - convoy (flags, car-horns) from Castlewellan and crowd of players, committee etc waiting at St Patrick's Centre for the welcome - good reception back. Then on out through Downpatrick, Saul, Raholp before breaking up to head for East Down Scor Final..... need to target some success on the football field now  ;D   I can PM you some of the pics ...

Last night then was wins in 4 (Ceili, Solo, Recit & Ballad) + Runner-up in 1 (Instrumental)..... you'd need to ask Ddawg tho' for any more on the plans for the county final  :)

Post by: downgirl on February 23, 2009, 07:44:33 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on February 23, 2009, 03:21:55 PM
Downgirl, Thanks for all those links. Do you have any of Meagan Burns?

I don't sorry Dougal, I wish I did have!  There is bound to be someone from the Armagh contingent that went down for it that recorded it though?
Post by: magpie seanie on February 24, 2009, 02:08:07 PM
Our dancers were unlucky by all accounts to be beaten in the Connacht final by Manor I think. Its a pity cos I would have probably gone if they were in it.

How did Niamh Ní Fhearghail (who is a native of my parish) get on in the solo singing?
Post by: downgirl on February 24, 2009, 04:32:37 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 24, 2009, 02:08:07 PM
Our dancers were unlucky by all accounts to be beaten in the Connacht final by Manor I think. Its a pity cos I would have probably gone if they were in it.

How did Niamh Ní Fhearghail (who is a native of my parish) get on in the solo singing?

They only announce the winners at the All Ireland final, so won't know for a few weeks how everyone else was placed.  What was she singing do you know??  Can remember her but not what she sang!
Post by: downgirl on February 25, 2009, 03:47:15 PM
Just found this on youtube, the winning rince fóirne from Derry

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OMUhLz2q5XM&feature=channel_page
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 25, 2009, 03:58:46 PM
Am I the only one who just does not get the novelty act... eh? why? What the fuc? Is this what Cusack had in mind back in 1884... Irish culture  ::)  At least if it was in the native language ...
Post by: seabee on February 25, 2009, 04:34:15 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 24, 2009, 02:08:07 PM
I thought she was very good. I'd say the final result was very close.

Here's a video of the Boherbue Figure btw   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LFYlFNbjqPk (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LFYlFNbjqPk) and to view a large selection of Scór videos visit www.youtube.com/roscommonscor
Post by: downgirl on February 26, 2009, 07:21:34 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on February 25, 2009, 03:58:46 PM
Am I the only one who just does not get the novelty act... eh? why? What the f**? Is this what Cusack had in mind back in 1884... Irish culture  ::)  At least if it was in the native language ...

It has to be based on something Irish and all tho sure it does??

There were some good ones there at the final actually!!!
Post by: downgirl on March 03, 2009, 06:17:02 PM
How did the county finals in scór sinsear go??

The Down results are as follows:

Ceili Dancing
Ballyholland

Solo Singing
James Brennan, Rostrevor

Instrumental Music
Mayobridge

Recitation
Gareth McGreevy, Saul

Ballad Group
Saul

Novelty Act
Clonduff

Set Dancing
Clonduff

Quiz
Mayobridge

Leenie, how did you get on in the Tyrone county final?
Title: Re: All Ireland Scór 2009
Post by: leenie on March 03, 2009, 10:45:21 PM
ach runners up ......

got a nice medal though!
Post by: corn02 on March 03, 2009, 10:49:55 PM
Dromintee won the ceili and, I think, the instrumental.
Post by: theresagreen on March 03, 2009, 11:25:41 PM
 the monaghan final was very enjoyable, though i wasn't taking part... i wouldn't be brave enough.
Post by: amallon on March 04, 2009, 09:04:44 AM
I hear Silverbridge got 60/60 in the quiz in the Armagh county final.   :o
Title: All Ireland Scór 2009
Post by: 5 Sams on March 04, 2009, 09:07:53 AM
Quote from: amallon on March 04, 2009, 09:04:44 AM
I hear Silverbridge got 60/60 in the quiz in the Armagh county final.   :o

Wouldnt worry about it Aidan....sure look what happened to Bredagh!!
Post by: KIDDO 4 on March 04, 2009, 11:15:56 PM
Kildress won the Tyrone quiz with 56 from 60, with Killyclogher winning  4 events ,   the final attracting a capacity attendance in Galbaly last Sunday night.
Post by: leenie on March 05, 2009, 12:16:44 AM
Quote from: KIDDO 4 on March 04, 2009, 11:15:56 PM
Kildress won the Tyrone quiz with 56 from 60, with Killyclogher winning  4 events ,   the final attracting a capacity attendance in Galbaly last Sunday night.

killyclogher making up most of those attending....

Post by: seabee on March 08, 2009, 12:52:12 PM
Roscommon County Final Results
Figure Dancing: Kilglass Gaels

Solo Singing: Sarah Corcoran, Padraig Pearses

Instrumental Music: Ballinameen

Recitation: Mick Rock, Elphin

Ballad Group: St. Dominics

Question Time: Clann na nGael

Novelty Act: St. Dominics

Set Dancing: Elphin

Full report to follow later on www.bebo.com/roscommonscor (http://www.bebo.com/roscommonscor)
Post by: downgirl on March 09, 2009, 01:09:45 PM
When are the Ulster semi finals?

Also has a date been confirmed for when the All Ireland Scór na nÓg will be televised?
Post by: KIDDO 4 on March 09, 2009, 02:01:31 PM
Tyrone won 7 of the 8 events at theUlster Scor semi final in onS.at night last, in Glenties.
Post by: downgirl on March 09, 2009, 02:16:59 PM
What counties were in that semi with Tyrone?
Post by: cornafean on March 09, 2009, 02:39:12 PM
Did Tyrone win the Quiz?

Cavan, Fermanagh and Monaghan are on in final Ulster semi-final this Saturday night in Clontibret.

Cavan are represented by
Killeshandra - Ceili & Set
Cornafean - Novelty, Quiz, Inst Music & Recitation
Templeport - Solo singing
Mountnugent - Ballad group
Post by: KIDDO 4 on March 10, 2009, 01:15:31 AM
Derry andDonegal  in the Glenties semi final with Kildress Tyrone reaching the quiz final.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 10, 2009, 02:54:45 PM
Sligo winners (from sligogaa.ie):

Amhranaíocht Aonair:  St Mary's
Ceol Uirlise:  Bunninadden
Aithríseoireacht:  Eastern Harps
Bailéad Ghrúpa:  Calraigh/Naomh Iosef
Tráth na gCeist:  St. Molaise Gaels
Nuachleas: Eastern Harps
Rince Seit:  Calraigh/Naomh Iosaf

Connacht finals in Elphin on Sunday March 29th.
Post by: downgirl on March 13, 2009, 10:27:59 PM
Any results from the Ulster Semi-Final tonight?  Probably a bit early actually, but if anyone has the results (sabhallpadraig??) post them up! 
Post by: stiffler on March 13, 2009, 10:49:04 PM
Quote from: downgirl on March 13, 2009, 10:27:59 PM
Any results from the Ulster Semi-Final tonight?  Probably a bit early actually, but if anyone has the results (sabhallpadraig??) post them up! 

Was this in Saval?

Aghagallon had two entries, Ballad group and novelty act.

havnt heard any results yet though.
Post by: downgirl on March 13, 2009, 10:57:23 PM
Yep Stiffler, in Saval.  You know what scór is like, won't announce the results for at least another hour I would say  :D

Oooh so you are against Saul ballad group then!!
Post by: Ddawg on March 16, 2009, 02:49:12 AM
Yea and unfortunately Saul Ballad Group were beaten by Aghagallon and the Down County Champion from Saul couldn't take part in recitation as if he got through he couldn't have gone onto the Ulster Final as he was performing in the Grand Opera House that night  :-[

The results were:

Celi: Dromintee, Armagh
Solo: Madden, Armagh
Instrumental: Dromintee, Armagh
Recitation: Carrickcruppen, Armagh
Ballad Group: Aghagallon, Antrim
Novelty Act: Clonduff, Down
Set Dancing: Clonduff, Down
Quiz: Silverbridge, Armagh

Saturday night

Celi: Emyvale, Monaghan
Solo: Monaghan
Instrumental: Lisnaskea, Fermanagh
Recitation: Fermanagh
Ballad: Emyvale, Monaghan
Novelty Act: Monaghan
Set Dancing: Emyvale, Monaghan
Quiz: Cornafean, Cavan

Line up for Ulster Final on 28th March

Celi: Tyrone, Armagh, Monaghan
Solo: Armagh, Tyrone, Monaghan
Inst: Derry, Armagh, Fermanagh
Recit: Armagh, Tyrone, Fermanagh
Ballad: Antrim, Tyrone, Monaghan
Novelty: Tyrone, Monaghan, Down
Sets: Tyrone, Monaghan, Down
Quiz: Armagh, Tyrone, Cavan
Post by: cornafean on March 16, 2009, 09:33:32 AM
A great atmosphere, a packed hall and a very good show in Clontribret on Saturday night.

The Ulster Final is in Swatragh on Saturday week.
Post by: downgirl on March 16, 2009, 04:59:30 PM
Hard luck to Saul ballad group, I believe it was a very close competition though?  Who did recitation instead of the Down County Champion?
Post by: downgirl on March 16, 2009, 05:17:35 PM
Meagan Burns solo singing winner 2009:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DTuJDt44Mfk&feature=related
Post by: Joxer on March 18, 2009, 10:13:54 AM
Whos the |Derry team in the instrumental?

What was the talent like on Saturday night in Clontibret?

Hard luck to AMallon in the ceist Friday night, two good teams
Post by: amallon on March 18, 2009, 02:18:05 PM
Cheers Joxer in the battle of the Bridge's it was the men from Silverbridge who sneaked it in the end by one question.  I'd like to have been beaten by the eventual Ulster champions so I hope the Bridge go all the way.
Post by: downgirl on March 18, 2009, 09:35:05 PM
One of the lads from Boherbue told me he posted this up on youtube, well worth the listen these lads are fantastic for being juniors!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sOSkoFkOZrY
Post by: Billys Boots on March 19, 2009, 02:56:38 PM
Quote from: amallon on March 18, 2009, 02:18:05 PM
Cheers Joxer in the battle of the Bridge's it was the men from Silverbridge who sneaked it in the end by one question.  I'd like to have been beaten by the eventual Ulster champions so I hope the Bridge go all the way.

Those lads from Cornafean, if they're who I think they are, will be hard to beat.
Post by: redandblack4ever on March 19, 2009, 11:46:24 PM
What, if any, does anyone on the thread know about the Tyrone and Monaghan Novelty Acts. Just curious because 2 of my nephews are with the Clonduff group.  Are there any videos avaliable on the Internet? I'm in Chicago and haven't seen any. If someone could post a link, I'd really appreciate it.

Mrs. redandblack4ever
Post by: 5 Sams on March 20, 2009, 12:00:39 AM
Quote from: redandblack4ever on March 19, 2009, 11:46:24 PM
What, if any, does anyone on the thread know about the Tyrone and Monaghan Novelty Acts. Just curious because 2 of my nephews are with the Clonduff group.  Are there any videos avaliable on the Internet? I'm in Chicago and haven't seen any. If someone could post a link, I'd really appreciate it.

Mrs. redandblack4ever

Cant help you with your query Mrs Redandbalck but I have seen the Hilltown novelty act from the 1st round up until now and they have steadily improved....they'll not be far away....
Post by: amallon on March 20, 2009, 08:58:40 AM
Mrs. redandblack4ever - The Clonduff novelty act is very good and will take a lot of beating. 

Billlys Boots - I think we might have came up against Cornafean in the 2004 Ulster Final they hammered everyone out of sight.  I'm near sure it was them.
Post by: Joxer on March 20, 2009, 11:27:08 AM
What Derry club are in the instrumental??
Post by: gaa_phil on March 23, 2009, 04:28:17 PM
Castledawson will represent Derry in the Ulster final, they'll find it tought against Armagh but they are a very good group also. Good luck to the Clonduff club for Saturday, they are Down's only representatives left (novelty act and set dancing) but from attending the other ulset semi-finals, they stand a really good chance and look good for glory!! This discussion forum is a great way to pass the day at work! ;D
Post by: cornafean on March 23, 2009, 07:43:22 PM
Great to see Aghagallon back in the Ballad Group - does anyone know have they the same lineup that won an All Ireland (and should have won at least one more) around the turn of the Millennium?
Post by: stiffler on March 23, 2009, 07:53:58 PM
Quote from: cornafean on March 23, 2009, 07:43:22 PM
Great to see Aghagallon back in the Ballad Group - does anyone know have they the same lineup that won an All Ireland (and should have won at least one more) around the turn of the Millennium?

It has 3 of the 5 members from the 1999 all ireland winning group this year.
Post by: leenie on March 23, 2009, 08:32:44 PM
Quote from: amallon on March 20, 2009, 08:58:40 AM
Mrs. redandblack4ever - The Clonduff novelty act is very good and will take a lot of beating. 

Billlys Boots - I think we might have came up against Cornafean in the 2004 Ulster Final they hammered everyone out of sight.  I'm near sure it was them.

is the clonduff novelty about being in a nursing home? i heard it is a copy of killycloghers novelty act from last year! which is available on youtube.

Killyclogher are representing tyrone and they are hard to beat (speaking from experience).... their novely is a a nursery school and toddlers becoming potential footballers!
Post by: Billys Boots on March 24, 2009, 09:00:48 AM
QuoteBilllys Boots - I think we might have came up against Cornafean in the 2004 Ulster Final they hammered everyone out of sight.  I'm near sure it was them.

I never came up against them in Scór, Aidan (I took part in Longford) but I remember them from the Rehab Pub Quizzes of the 80s, and I (think I) heard they'd at least one Scór All-Ireland under their belts at a later stage.  Laureleye might know better.
Post by: Joxer on March 24, 2009, 09:33:50 AM
Quote from: leenie on March 23, 2009, 08:32:44 PM

is the clonduff novelty about being in a nursing home? i heard it is a copy of killycloghers novelty act from last year! which is available on youtube.

Killyclogher are representing tyrone and they are hard to beat (speaking from experience).... their novely is a a nursery school and toddlers becoming potential footballers!

No- About Obama coming to Ireland,  funny and well done-  Will be close now.
Post by: gaa_phil on March 24, 2009, 06:57:52 PM

No it was the Cavan group Cornafean who copied Killyclogher's novelty act from last year and it was poorly done! Someone posted up the competitors for the ulster final in each category but does anyone know is that the line up as it will appear on the programme on Saturday night?
Post by: leenie on March 25, 2009, 12:27:33 AM
Quote from: Joxer on March 24, 2009, 09:33:50 AM

No- About Obama coming to Ireland,  funny and well done-  Will be close now.

very good... man i wish i was going.... (actually wish my club was there)....
Post by: carol6 on March 29, 2009, 11:49:05 AM
Just a word or two of congrats to the Swatagh club on their organisation of last night's Ulster Scor Final. A very high standard of competition in all categories and really enjoyed the quality on show. Micky Convery and his team can feel rightly satisfied with their night's work. The tea ladies did a great job as always and were still flat out making refreshments even when the quiz was on. As usual the adjudications did not meet with universal acceptance and there does need to be more consistency in applying the rules of scor. I don't feel the portrayal of the "Irish drunk driver",  a suitable topic for the scor stage despite the fat that the "drunk" was very well done. But throwing "urine" across the stage, which caused problems for the set dancing teams that followed the novelty act, might be more suited to a different environment than Scor.

Congrats to all the entries for all the time and effort they must have put in while preparing for last night. Best wishes to the teams that now go forward to represent Ulster in the All Ireland Final in Killarney on the 18th of April. But why Killarney again? It would make more sense for the final to be staged in a more central place or to rotate it on an annual basis. For the teams from Ulster the journey to Killarney is not only expensive but in some cases requires taking time off work and a significant amount of fund raising. Perhaps our Scor officers could raise this at provincial and national level and ensure that trips to Kerry are for the holidays only?   ::)
Post by: Joxer on March 29, 2009, 12:02:38 PM
Rant over??  ;D

There will be some weekends craic in Killarney!

Great standard last night.  Ceili dancing result surprised everybody, including the winners I would think.  Some fantastic competition on the night with the Recitation and Instrumental being the highlight for me.  Will taking some beating on some of them acts.  Novelty Act was very very good and well put together.

Armagh took three of the EDIT (Carol: spell check:  AWARDS) with Cavan taking the Quiz and the same Emyvale team taking Ceili and Sets

Ceili Dancing: Emyvale (Monaghan)
Solo Singing: Madden (Armagh)
Instrumental:  Dromintee (Armagh)
Recitation: Carrickcruppen (Armagh)
Ballad Group:  Killyclogher (Tyrone)
Novelty Act:  Killyclogher (Tyrone)
Set Dancing:  Emyvale (Monaghan)
Quiz:  Cornafean (Cavan)

Fair play to the Swatragh club for a great nights craic.  Fear an Ti was very witty and handled the job well!

Post by: carol6 on March 29, 2009, 12:31:07 PM
Allocates??????????/  ;)
Post by: Joxer on March 29, 2009, 12:46:11 PM
This hour going forward has  affected me.
Post by: seabee on March 30, 2009, 02:05:20 PM
Connacht results:
Figure Dancing:    Glencar – Manorhamilton, Co. Leitrim
Solo Singing:       Claire Igoe representing Corofin, Co. Galway
Instrumental Music:    Corofin, Co. Galway
Recitation:      Catriona Lynskey representing Garrymore, Co. Mayo
Ballad Group:      Mountbellew-Moylough, Co. Galway
Question Time:   Clann na nGael
Novelty Act:      Sean O'Heslins, Ballinamore, Co. Leitrim
Set Dancing:      Abbeyknockmoy, Co. Galway

Full report on www.bebo.com/roscommonscor
Post by: downgirl on March 30, 2009, 02:54:15 PM
Any videos up on youtube from the provincial finals yet?
Post by: ziggysego on April 01, 2009, 02:38:03 PM
Does anyone know when the All-Ireland Final is? I've looked all over the place. Not even gaa.ie tells you anything about the Scor. Need to know before 5pm.

Thanks
Post by: Joxer on April 01, 2009, 02:47:02 PM
Saturday 18th April INEC Gleneagles Hotel Killarney
Post by: ziggysego on April 01, 2009, 02:48:43 PM
Thanks Joxer!

It's terrible the GAA isn't even promoting this slightly. No mention of it on the GAA website.
Post by: Joxer on April 01, 2009, 03:00:46 PM
They are promoting their pockets alright,  22 Euro a ticket and no commissions for anybody.  I think this is a great event and a excellent part of the GAA.  I know there are alot of overheads but jesus christ 22 Euro is a bit steep in this day and age.
Post by: Off The Fence on April 01, 2009, 03:03:42 PM
E22,  Feck that is a bit steep alright...  Very worthwhile competition though and great evenings entertainment
Post by: corn02 on April 01, 2009, 03:12:30 PM
Quote from: Joxer on April 01, 2009, 03:00:46 PM
They are promoting their pockets alright,  22 Euro a ticket and no commissions for anybody.  I think this is a great event and a excellent part of the GAA.  I know there are alot of overheads but jesus christ 22 Euro is a bit steep in this day and age.

You are joking yes?

8 pound last weekend. Some rise for a final.
Post by: ziggysego on April 01, 2009, 03:16:08 PM
€22? That's madness.

Scór is a great competition, but not promoting the event and these high prices... crazy.
Post by: cornafean on April 01, 2009, 04:08:30 PM
You will pay as near as makes no difference to €22 to see a minor play in any rural theatre. In comparision, the Scór finals are very good value, and a damn sight better crack as well.

Post by: gaa_phil on April 01, 2009, 04:42:52 PM
Quote from: cornafean on April 01, 2009, 04:08:30 PM
You will pay as near as makes no difference to €22 to see a minor play in any rural theatre. In comparision, the Scór finals are very good value, and a damn sight better crack as well.

]

Yes Cornafean, it may be true that if one was to go watch a show in some theatre, they would pay 22 euro and upwards. However, the proposition that one would pay this to watch a minor in a rural theatre is slightly exaggerated. Furthermore, anyone involved in plays and shows do get payed but scor is an amateur competition which should not involve money to be enjoyed and those participating get nothing more than a cup of tea and a sandwhich and a patronising pat on the back if they win or lose on the night. Once again, it is a great event ruined by those greedy members of the Grab All Association!! Oh and I totally agree with the view that the GAA do nothing at all to promote scor and the saying that "scor is dying" is all down to the GAA and their failure to promote it!!! Try typing in 'Scor' to google or google.ie and search around to see if you can find the county or provincial champions of scor in 2008; I bet it will take a good while for you to come up with something!
Post by: gaa_phil on April 01, 2009, 04:45:33 PM
...I meant 2009 but still, im right!!!
Post by: corn02 on April 01, 2009, 04:45:44 PM
Quote from: gaa_phil on April 01, 2009, 04:42:52 PM

]

Grab All Association!!

This one again. I do wish people would reserach things before coming out with this tripe. Do you know how much is put back into clubs etc?
Post by: cornafean on April 01, 2009, 04:50:35 PM
Quote from: gaa_phil on April 01, 2009, 04:42:52 PM

Yes Cornafean, it may be true that if one was to go watch a show in some theatre, they would pay 22 euro and upwards. However, the proposition that one would pay this to watch a minor in a rural theatre is slightly exaggerated. Furthermore, anyone involved in plays and shows do get payed but scor is an amateur competition which should not involve money to be enjoyed and those participating get nothing more than a cup of tea and a sandwhich and a patronising pat on the back if they win or lose on the night. Once again, it is a great event ruined by those greedy members of the Grab All Association!! Oh and I totally agree with the view that the GAA do nothing at all to promote scor and the saying that "scor is dying" is all down to the GAA and their failure to promote it!!! Try typing in 'Scor' to google or google.ie and search around to see if you can find the county or provincial champions of scor in 2008; I bet it will take a good while for you to come up with something!

As the poster before me said, this "Grab All Association" idea is tripe. As are the notions that "Scor is dying", and that certain persons are "ruining" it.

The argument that Scór is an "amateur competition which should not involve money" could just as easily be used by anti-Scór elements to argue that the Scór finals should be staged at zero cost in some draughty parish hall in the back end of nowhere (as happens sometimes with Readoiri, Fleadhanna Cheoil etc) and not in a decent (if costly) venue like the INEC or (someday soon, I pray) the Odyssey or the Waterfront Hall. I do not agree with this argument.

That said, I agree with you that the GAA's efforts to promote Scór are abysmal.
Post by: corn02 on April 01, 2009, 04:59:24 PM
Promotion or non-promotion, Scor is not dying, it is growing and growing. More clubs enetering, standard rising and bigger attendances. It is having a real resurrgence.
Post by: ziggysego on April 01, 2009, 05:07:55 PM
While attendance is growing, who outside the competition knew when it's on?
Post by: cornafean on April 01, 2009, 05:18:08 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 01, 2009, 05:07:55 PM
While attendance is growing, who outside the competition knew when it's on?

If you didn't know when Scór was on in your own county and/or province, ask your county PRO why.
Post by: gaa_phil on April 03, 2009, 11:46:40 AM
Yes indeed anyone attending the ulster final would see that in Ulster at least, scor is still alive but in a lot of cases, the first round of scor for a lot of these counties is their county final; does this not reflect a lack of interest in scor? Moreover, does this lack of interest not devalue the county medal? Furthermore, if you look at the participation in scor in the South, you will see that in fact scor is dying; this would be supported by the fact that a lot of counties dont even participate in the south! Also, I have read that their is no concessions for the all-ireland final; do you think that elderly people and young children should have to pay 22 euro cornafean, into a place which holds over 3,000? I think the Gaa should step back and realise that this is too big an ask; especially in these current economic times! You also said that this money is funded back into clubs; how much did the Gaa spend on their firework display at the Tyrone v Dublin match? Perhaps they could cut these unneccessary expenses and take into consideration the people who have followed scor from the early rounds! You are obviously a die-hard Gaa fan, ignorant in mind and held back by the belief that the Gaa can do no wrong! GRAB ALL!
Post by: corn02 on April 03, 2009, 11:58:23 AM

You are obviously a die-hard Scor fan, ignorant in mind and held back by the belief that the Gaa can do nothing right!

The Grab All refernce is ficticious as ufos.
Post by: corn02 on April 03, 2009, 12:00:25 PM
Scór Dhá Scór !

Scór Ard Mhacha celebrates 40 years.

As part of Scór's 40th Anniversary celebrations, a showcase of Armagh Scór will be held

In

Silverbridge Resource Centre

on

Friday 3rd April at 8pm.

Entertainment throughout the night will be provided by various Scór artists, representative of the clubs in Armagh.

Ceili and Sets will follow, music by the Cathal McAnulty Ceili Band.

Admission is free and all are welcome.  Refreshments served.  Bar facilities available.
Post by: cornafean on April 03, 2009, 12:01:43 PM
Quote from: gaa_phil on April 03, 2009, 11:46:40 AM
You are obviously a die-hard Gaa fan, ignorant in mind.

Why insult me?
Post by: Joxer on April 03, 2009, 01:56:37 PM
Corn your a fool if you dont think the GAA is a green eyed monster!  The majority of people in the higher level of it are in it for the cash and to screw the patron at every opportunity,  this is another one!
Post by: corn02 on April 03, 2009, 02:31:18 PM
Quote from: Joxer on April 03, 2009, 01:56:37 PM
Corn your a fool if you dont think the GAA is a green eyed monster!  The majority of people in the higher level of it are in it for the cash and to screw the patron at every opportunity,  this is another one!

You have anything to back that up there? To screw the patron at every oppurtunity is just a ridiculous statement altogether.
Post by: cornafean on April 03, 2009, 02:31:31 PM
Quote from: Joxer on April 03, 2009, 01:56:37 PM

The majority of people in the higher level in the GAA won't be at the Scór All Ireland tomorrow fortnight. They will be at the GAA Congress in Cork.
Post by: corn02 on April 03, 2009, 03:05:06 PM
The GAA invested 52 million euro into clubs, counties and provinces last year. Grab all indeed.
Post by: carol6 on April 05, 2009, 10:17:17 PM
Scor may well be struggling in some of the southern counties and that is due in no small way to the work done, or not done, by the cultural committee and the scor officers in these counities. In Tyrone the scor officers do a grand job of promoting scor at every opportunity. Granted it is not perfect and there are many things about it that I would like to see changed but in fairness to those involved it provides great entertainment to the patrons who attend and affords the competitors a chance to represent their clubs, counties and provinces. Indeed if good enough they might even go on to win an All Ireland title. 22 Euro to get in to the final in Killarney is over the top and with so many empty seats there in the past few years, surely a family ticket or reduced prices for pensioners and students should be applied.
As for the venue, I have already said that it should be more central or at least moved around the country to help promote the competition in other counties. I realise many people are looking forward to the weekend's craic in Killarney but I have to say you could have a great weekend with most scor people anywhere in Ireland. I just hope that next year some thought is given to moving it from Munster to somewhere with less travel for the northern teams.
For any followers of Scor in Tyrone, Killyclogher club are hosting a night at the races and a scor themed concert as fund raisers for the Killarney trip. The race night takes place in Mc Gurks Bar on Easter Monday and the concert will be held in Dun Uladh on Wed 15th of April. Both start at 8:30 and all support is welcome.
Good luck to all representatives from Ulster and let's hope we can bring back as many All Ireland Titles as last year
Post by: Oldira on April 06, 2009, 09:33:25 AM
The problem is most County Boards pay lip service to Scoór. They all have a cultural officer but in many cases that post is filled by people with no real interest in Scor and it is used as a way to get someone a seat on the County Executive. In my county (Roscommon) that is not the case and there is a terriffic young Scór Committee but the truth is nobody else from the County Board even bothers to turn up at County or Provincial finals. At the end of the day its down to individual clubs and if the interest is not there at club level there is very little than can be done. Perhaps if Croke Park gave financial awards to Counties that take Scor Seious that may concentrate minds a bit.
Post by: Oldira on April 06, 2009, 09:36:23 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 24, 2009, 09:00:48 AM
QuoteBilllys Boots - I think we might have came up against Cornafean in the 2004 Ulster Final they hammered everyone out of sight.  I'm near sure it was them.

I never came up against them in Scór, Aidan (I took part in Longford) but I remember them from the Rehab Pub Quizzes of the 80s, and I (think I) heard they'd at least one Scór All-Ireland under their belts at a later stage.  Laureleye might know better.

Cornafean have actually 3 senior All Irelands...1993,1997 and 2008. Two of their opponents in the All-Ireland this year were up against them in Millstreet in 1993. Thats some longevity.
Post by: gaa_phil on April 06, 2009, 08:08:26 PM
The majority of people in the higher level in the GAA won't be at the Scór All Ireland tomorrow fortnight. They will be at the GAA Congress in Cork.

I think that this is just pathetic altogether; how could the GAA even take credit for scor whenever "The majority of people in the higher level in the GAA" wont even attend the most important date in the scor calendar? This is unbelieveable; scor is becoming a complete seperate event altogether, yet the grab all are lining their own pockets from it and wont even attend the All-Ireland! Have to say Carol that I totally agree with everything you've said, you really hit the nail in the head there; why charge more and have so many empty seats? It would seem just logic that the grab all charged less and actually filled the venue; that way Corn02 or whatever you're called, they could keep funding clubs and also allow people who have an interest in scor, to attend the event. Moreover, I think that if the All-Ireland scor was to be held up North, competitors in the south would be able to take advantage of the euro exchange rate and get more value for there money and this would be more practical and facilitative towards Northern fans attending the event.

Have to agree that the efforts made in some counties in the North are brilliant and they have to be acknowledged. I know in Tyrone and Armagh, the standard is very high and there is always a good turn out for the events. Similarly in Down, there are 5 rounds before the County final and particularly in South Down, the venues are always packed! I think however, that this should be the case throughout Ireland. If someone win's an All-Ireland medal in any of the Gaelic games, they are plastered over the national papers and the net which I believe should be the case! However with scor it is much different! The GAA in all seriousness, does have to make a greater effort for the promotion of scor; I propose that they create a website dedicated to scor which would acknowledge the county, provincial and All-Ireland champions every year!
Post by: Oldira on April 07, 2009, 09:05:38 AM
Quote from: gaa_phil on April 06, 2009, 08:08:26 PM

I think that this is just pathetic altogether; how could the GAA even take credit for scor whenever "The majority of people in the higher level in the GAA" wont even attend the most important date in the scor calendar? This is unbelieveable; scor is becoming a complete seperate event altogether, yet the grab all are lining their own pockets from it and wont even attend the All-Ireland! Have to say Carol that I totally agree with everything you've said, you really hit the nail in the head there; why charge more and have so many empty seats? It would seem just logic that the grab all charged less and actually filled the venue; that way Corn02 or whatever you're called, they could keep funding clubs and also allow people who have an interest in scor, to attend the event. Moreover, I think that if the All-Ireland scor was to be held up North, competitors in the south would be able to take advantage of the euro exchange rate and get more value for there money and this would be more practical and facilitative towards Northern fans attending the event.

Have to agree that the efforts made in some counties in the North are brilliant and they have to be acknowledged. I know in Tyrone and Armagh, the standard is very high and there is always a good turn out for the events. Similarly in Down, there are 5 rounds before the County final and particularly in South Down, the venues are always packed! I think however, that this should be the case throughout Ireland. If someone win's an All-Ireland medal in any of the Gaelic games, they are plastered over the national papers and the net which I believe should be the case! However with scor it is much different! The GAA in all seriousness, does have to make a greater effort for the promotion of scor; I propose that they create a website dedicated to scor which would acknowledge the county, provincial and All-Ireland champions every year! [/quote]

Excellent idea! The GAA website is scandalously out of date. What can you expect with a president whose county does not (has it ever?) take part in Scór? 
Post by: cornafean on April 07, 2009, 09:31:07 AM
I propose that they create a website dedicated to scor which would acknowledge the county, provincial and All-Ireland champions every year! 

The Cork Scór Committee have put together a fantastic Scór website which beats the socks off anything ever produced (either on the web or in print) by the Scór authorities at national level. It is a treasure trove of Scór information from all over the country. (and it somehow manages to have on its headline banner, a photo of a Cornafean Scór na nOg novelty act from Killeshandra hall in the mid-1980s !!!)

http://www.scorchorcai.com/

Quote from: Oldira on April 07, 2009, 09:05:38 AM

What can you expect with a president whose county does not (has it ever?) take part in Scór? 

It wouldn't bother me if the GAA President was from the moon, but the fact that Nickey Brennan has attended only one out of four All Ireland Scór Sinsir finals since he was elected as Uachtaran Tofa says more about his commitment to Scór than anything else.  :( >:(
Post by: downgirl on April 07, 2009, 01:44:01 PM
Nicky Brennan was at the AI Scór na nÓg final in Athlone there and one of the first things he did was gave out about the special 125 years of the GAA Late Late and how it didn't include anything to do with scór, he said that apparently there were meant to be some scór representatives but at the last moment it was cancelled and out of his control or something like that...can't remember exactly now.  It's probably on the dvd if anyone has it.  He was obviously just talking for show though, and probably only cus Jarlath Burns was there so he felt he had to say something.

Corn, who presented the medals at the other 3 finals he didn't attend???!!!
Post by: cornafean on April 07, 2009, 01:49:23 PM
Quote from: downgirl on April 07, 2009, 01:44:01 PM
Corn, who presented the medals at the other 3 finals he didn't attend???!!!

Sean Kelly in 2005 (the day after Nickey's election) & 2006 (the evening of the GAA Congress 2 miles away in the Great Southern Hotel). Christy Cooney last year.
Post by: corn02 on April 07, 2009, 04:54:08 PM

Have to agree that the efforts made in some counties in the North are brilliant and they have to be acknowledged. I know in Tyrone and Armagh, the standard is very high and there is always a good turn out for the events. Similarly in Down, there are 5 rounds before the County final and particularly in South Down, the venues are always packed! I think however, that this should be the case throughout Ireland. If someone win's an All-Ireland medal in any of the Gaelic games, they are plastered over the national papers and the net which I believe should be the case! However with scor it is much different! The GAA in all seriousness, does have to make a greater effort for the promotion of scor; I propose that they create a website dedicated to scor which would acknowledge the county, provincial and All-Ireland champions every year!

Wow what a stiupid post again.

You have an argument in there somewhere but you stary so far off it's crazy.

Firstly, you call them the grab all again. I'll ask you again have you any statistics supporting this. I said they had invested 52 million last year which would prove contary, but I await your figures with hope.

You know my username is Corn 02, in fact you typed it. Why did you need to say or whatever you're called. If you wish to be ignorant in this debate that is your perogative.

You think it should be held up north so that shoppers can take advantage of the rate, The travel/overnight stay shouldnt come into account no? A centralised location should be the venue every year. Is there not a big, new complex in Athlone.

Post by: gaa_phil on April 07, 2009, 05:41:46 PM
Sorry Seamus Heaney but the fact that they spent 500,000 euro on a firework display is baffling since they always complain how much in debt croke park still is? Also, how much does it cost to send county footballers away on holidays before the season begins? I dont know the exact figures but could some more funding not be put into promotion of the All-ireland scor? Again, as I have said, scor is becoming an almost seperate entity and has very little to do with the GAA! Yes it may be true that they fund 52M euro into clubs etc. but the All-Ireland final of scor demonstrates that this is at the expense of many vulnerable members of society! For example, my cousin has an ulster title in scor this year, it is going to cost her family an absolute fortune to take her husband (who is currently out of work) and children to Kilarney for the Weekend and these extortionate ticket prices are going to prevent her from sharing her success with the rest of her family! You are completely ignorant to the fact that there are so many empty seats every year and that this could be avoided if ticket prices were lowered; that way, with a full venue the grab all would get as much money!
Post by: downgirl on April 07, 2009, 08:42:39 PM
Senior Scór final is always in Killarney, somewhere more central would be a far better idea.
Post by: carol6 on April 07, 2009, 09:25:31 PM
It has been in Killarney for the past 4 years but it was held in Castlebar a few years ago. The problem is finding somewhere suitable elsewhere with a decent stage, changing rooms etc but I feel the idea of expecting everyone in the country to drive the whole way to Killarney four years in a row is more than unreasonable. Would it be similarly unfair to our friends in Munster to expect them to travel to Belfast four years in a row for the All Ireland Final if it was to be held in The Waterfront Hall ?. The answer is to find a compromise somewhere in the middle. I felt that when Croke Park was being redeveloped that The GAA authorities should have made provision somewhere on the site for a theatre where the scor finals could have been staged. It could also have been used to host congress, ard comhairle meetings, competition launches, press releases and other cultural events. Maybe we could ask our Sports Minister here in the north to consider an integrated theatre with his new stadium and ask our southern brothers to join us up here while the Euro is still strong? They could have a wonderful weekend of cultural enlightenment and do some cheap shopping at the same time?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 08, 2009, 03:51:43 AM
Keep ye're puke dancing out of Kerry !
Post by: carol6 on April 08, 2009, 08:56:46 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 08, 2009, 03:51:43 AM
Keep ye're puke dancing out of Kerry !

I admit there are times when I find the Kerry dialect hard to follow in conversation or when listening to Wishie on the radio but now I am struggling with the written word.
"ye're"????? What tribal area of the region does that particular phrase come from?

As for dancing, the Kerry crowd will only come in for the sets in the scor, negotiate a cheaper deal on entry and then leave. True followers and upholders of all that is good and praiseworthy in Gaelic games and Irish culture ;D

Keep up the good work Mike, we all need a laugh now and again.
Post by: cornafean on April 08, 2009, 10:26:20 AM
Quote from: carol6 on April 07, 2009, 09:25:31 PM
The problem is finding somewhere suitable elsewhere with a decent stage, changing rooms

This is the issue in a nutshell. The TF Royal in Castlebar was the venue in 2004. It was not suitable as it was too small, so small that competitors were not allowed enter the hall itself and had to watch the remainder of the show on close-circuit TV in adjacent rooms. The members of my own club's quiz team, who took part that day, could not get into the hall to see their fellow clubman take part in the Recitation.
In this day and age, this was not acceptable way to treat competitors.  Imagine the fuss if the Tyrone minors were shunted out of Croke Park after the minor final last year and had to watch their senior counterparts play Kerry on TV!

For all its faults distance-wise at least the INEC in Killarney provides ample space for everyone and decent facilities for competitors.

I'm not aware of a venue in Athlone that can accommodate 1,500-2,000 people. The Athlone IT hall is already too small for Scór na nOg finals, let alone Scór Sinsir.

Quote from: carol6 on April 07, 2009, 09:25:31 PM
I felt that when Croke Park was being redeveloped that The GAA authorities should have made provision somewhere on the site for a theatre where the scor finals could have been staged. It could also have been used to host congress, ard comhairle meetings, competition launches, press releases and other cultural events.

Indeed. In retrospect, this was a huge mistake on the part of the people who otherwise did such a fantastic job in designing Croke Park. Apart altogether from Scór it would have been a huge moneyspinner from concerts etc.

Post by: corn02 on April 08, 2009, 02:02:33 PM
Quote from: gaa_phil on April 07, 2009, 05:41:46 PM
Sorry Seamus Heaney but the fact that they spent 500,000 euro on a firework display is baffling since they always complain how much in debt croke park still is? Also, how much does it cost to send county footballers away on holidays before the season begins? I dont know the exact figures but could some more funding not be put into promotion of the All-ireland scor? Again, as I have said, scor is becoming an almost seperate entity and has very little to do with the GAA! Yes it may be true that they fund 52M euro into clubs etc. but the All-Ireland final of scor demonstrates that this is at the expense of many vulnerable members of society! For example, my cousin has an ulster title in scor this year, it is going to cost her family an absolute fortune to take her husband (who is currently out of work) and children to Kilarney for the Weekend and these extortionate ticket prices are going to prevent her from sharing her success with the rest of her family! You are completely ignorant to the fact that there are so many empty seats every year and that this could be avoided if ticket prices were lowered; that way, with a full venue the grab all would get as much money!

And, amazingly, you stock goes lower as you fail to show any knowledge in your post once again.

When have they complained about how much debt they are in? The fireworks display was paid for by increasing the price of the Tyrone Dublin tickets by a few euro. People were happy to pay, did not cost the GAA a dime and everyone, except yourself, agreed it was a great success.

Likewise, the GAA does not pay for counties to go on training weeks, or holdiays as you have so wrongly named them, the counties do. It is an added expense at the descretion of the county. Would you be happy if a club refused to pay for live music to accompany sets/ceile in scor when a tape could be used?

You say I am ignorant to the prices. I am not, I have already said they are too high. Well maybe not too high, but there should be concessions. 22 euro for a night of such high entertainment is good value. If you want the GAA to take a more direct input in maybe they should corellate them with the All Ireland football/hurling final prices?

Ah and of course, once again you say grab all and once again, for the third time now, I will ask for figures to back this up.
Post by: cornafean on April 08, 2009, 04:48:48 PM
Corn02,

I don't think there's any point in engaging with this guy. He's only here a wet week or two and he's already trying to drag this discussion into the gutter. Typical WUM if you ask me.
Post by: corn02 on April 08, 2009, 04:52:25 PM
Quote from: cornafean on April 08, 2009, 04:48:48 PM
Corn02,

I don't think there's any point in engaging with this guy. He's only here a wet week or two and he's already trying to drag this discussion into the gutter. Typical WUM if you ask me.

Yeah true.

More fool me for biting.
Post by: downgirl on April 08, 2009, 11:15:07 PM
IT Athlone was small enough for scór na nóg alright, and on the ticket prices sure tickets for that were €20.  I dunno how many it holds, round about the 1000 mark maybe?  Any word on when the scór na nóg final will be shown on RTE? 

The scór sinsear final should alternate between each province, there's bound to be one hall in each province that would adequately hold the audiences and competitors??
Post by: cornafean on April 09, 2009, 03:05:02 PM
Quote from: downgirl on April 08, 2009, 11:15:07 PM
The scór sinsear final should alternate between each province, there's bound to be one hall in each province that would adequately hold the audiences and competitors??

Unfortunately there isn't one such hall in each province. End of.
Post by: corn02 on April 09, 2009, 03:31:04 PM
I heard Killarney can hold 2,500 or something?

I don;t think there is a hall in Ulster with that sort of capacity?
Post by: downgirl on April 10, 2009, 04:14:04 AM
Well then have it in the RDS or somewhere Dublin would be central for everyone :D :D (OK maybe not quite the RDS but somewhere similar!!)
Post by: seabee on April 10, 2009, 02:52:02 PM
Quote from: downgirl on April 08, 2009, 11:15:07 PM
Any word on when the scór na nóg final will be shown on RTE? 
The 2008 Scór Sinsear highlights were shown on RTE last July so it'll probably be around the same time again this year. Didn't know they were going to show Scór na nÓg.
Post by: cornafean on April 10, 2009, 02:55:03 PM
Quote from: downgirl on April 10, 2009, 04:14:04 AM
Well then have it in the RDS or somewhere Dublin would be central for everyone :D :D (OK maybe not quite the RDS but somewhere similar!!)

I remember discussing this a few years ago with a senior national Scór official and they told me that the potentially suitable venues around the city are either too expensive (at the time he estimated that the rent costs in the old Point Theatre would mean an average ticket cost of €70-80 per head :o ,  a lot compared to the INEC) or too small - The Helix & the Olympia both hold only around 1300 people while the National Concert Hall and the Gaiety are smaller again.

Incidentally the NCH are planning on building a new auditorium with 2,050 seats,which would suit Scór down to the ground. Whether this plan survives the recession remains to be seen.
Post by: corn02 on April 10, 2009, 03:09:59 PM
Quote from: cornafean on April 10, 2009, 02:55:03 PM
Quote from: downgirl on April 10, 2009, 04:14:04 AM

I remember discussing this a few years ago with a senior national Scór official and they told me that the potentially suitable venues around the city are either too expensive (at the time he estimated that the rent costs in the old Point Theatre would mean an average ticket cost of €70-80 per head :o ,  a lot compared to the INEC) or too small - The Helix & the Olympia both hold only around 1300 people while the National Concert Hall and the Gaiety are smaller again.

Incidentally the NCH are planning on building a new auditorium with 2,050 seats,which would suit Scór down to the ground. Whether this plan survives the recession remains to be seen.

I would imagine Killarney is hired out? Would certainly add to the 22 euro cst. Still can;t get over them having no concessions.

Despire that, the standard will be so high that yous will think yous robbed them by paying only 22euro at the end of the night!

Would be great if RTE showed the finals live or at least a comprehensive round-up when it is still relative.

Post by: cornafean on April 10, 2009, 03:24:57 PM
Quote from: corn02 on April 10, 2009, 03:09:59 PM

Would be great if RTE showed the finals live or at least a comprehensive round-up when it is still relative.

Whatever about RTE, it should be tailor-made material for TG4.
Post by: downgirl on April 10, 2009, 09:47:30 PM
I was told they were gonna show scór na nóg, I will have to reconfirm with my local scór contact  :D

It's not just the price of the ticket, theres the hotel room for 2 nights, travel costs, and food costs and all when you are down there; if it was somewhere more central you would probably only need one night in a hotel if even that, and travel costs wouldn't have to be as high.  But I'm not complaining corn02, I agree totally with you about the high standard of the competition it is well worth the money!
Post by: downgirl on April 11, 2009, 01:50:17 PM
Boherbue Set Dancers (Scór na nÓg AI final)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FUklMfioL8c

and their ceili dancers
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wznfEAZgUa0&feature=related

The fella playing the accordion is guy who trained their wee instrumental group that won...absolute legend!! (and hot too  :P)

Boherbue instrumental winners 2007
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=szp0odxGh9c&feature=related

And again, Boherbue instrumental winners 2008
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V5ttfoYi11M&feature=related
Post by: Oldira on April 15, 2009, 09:33:40 AM
So is there anybody going to the final on Saturday? Should be fun.
Post by: downgirl on April 17, 2009, 12:38:50 AM
I don't know anyone going this year I don't think!  I'd say Killarney will still be packed though!
Post by: gaa_phil on April 17, 2009, 05:21:49 PM
Good luck to all the Ulster representatives in tomorrows final! I hope it is as successful as last years was!
Post by: seabee on April 18, 2009, 08:37:22 PM
Just heard some of the results:

Instrumental Music: Corofin
Question Time: (I think) Allenwood
Novelty Act: Sean O'Heslins
Set Dancing: Abbeyknockmoy
Post by: cornafean on April 19, 2009, 08:25:37 AM
I got this info by text last night so it may not be 100% reliable. Make sure to verify it before lighting bonfires etc ;)

Winners
Rince Foirne:  Emyvale(Monaghan)
Amhránaíocht Aonair: Ellemarie O'Dwyer (Freemount, Cork)
Ceol Urlise Corofin ( Galway)
Aithriseoireacht: Peter Dolan(Moate All Whites-Westmeath), reciting "The Present"
Bailéad Ghrúpa: Clara (Offaly),
Nuachleas: Sean O'Heslins(Leitrim)
Rince Seit: Abbeyknockmoy ( Galway )
Tráth Na gCeist: Allenwood(Kildare),
Post by: Joxer on April 19, 2009, 08:28:07 AM
Great Days craic yesterday and congratulations to all the winners but jesus there were some strange decisions made! 

That INEC is some spot!
Post by: cornafean on April 19, 2009, 08:40:53 AM
You're up early  ;D
Post by: Joxer on April 19, 2009, 10:42:16 AM
Havent got to bed yet!
Post by: orangeman on April 19, 2009, 01:03:20 PM
Well done to all who took part and many congratulations to the winners.
Post by: Real1995 on April 19, 2009, 04:41:18 PM
Commiserations to Dromintee...pity, would have been gr8 to have had another south Armagh winner.....
Post by: cornafean on April 19, 2009, 07:22:36 PM
Scór Chorcai have a report on yesterday's Scór here http://www.scorchorcai.com/Html/Latest%20News.htm#april1909

The Cork Scór people obviously have a bigger PR department than Croke Park  ::) as the main gaa.ie website has no Scór update yet. http://www.gaa.ie/#latestNews

Post by: downgirl on April 19, 2009, 09:47:15 PM
Ok so turns out I did know somebody at it, he said the ballad groups were not of a great standard and that our wee junior group who won the All-Ireland would have walked it!!

Ella-Marie O'Dwyer is fantastic, would have been something seriously wrong if she didn't get solo singing.

Joxer, in your opinion what were the strange decisions?
Post by: downgirl on April 19, 2009, 09:59:29 PM
I would be eternally grateful if someone could tell me the name of this song by the way...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P59ml7pXUDI&feature=related
Post by: tyrone86 on April 19, 2009, 11:21:23 PM
Quote from: downgirl on April 19, 2009, 09:59:29 PM
I would be eternally grateful if someone could tell me the name of this song by the way...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P59ml7pXUDI&feature=related

The Mad Lady and Me by Jimmy McCarthy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FsPvlygBMVI (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FsPvlygBMVI)
Post by: downgirl on April 20, 2009, 01:41:01 AM
Thanks T86...couldn't place it!  :D
Post by: Oldira on April 20, 2009, 09:58:11 AM
Special Congratulations are in order to Allenwood who won their first title on their NINTH attempt the first one being in 1978! One of their team (3 brothers incidentally) has been on all previous teams. Their perseverance must be commended. Great day I must say and some great ceol agus caint into the wee hours.
Post by: Joxer on April 20, 2009, 11:00:27 AM
Quote from: downgirl on April 19, 2009, 09:47:15 PM
Ok so turns out I did know somebody at it, he said the ballad groups were not of a great standard and that our wee junior group who won the All-Ireland would have walked it!!

Ella-Marie O'Dwyer is fantastic, would have been something seriously wrong if she didn't get solo singing.

Joxer, in your opinion what were the strange decisions?

This statement would be true. 

Why does it take two weeks for the overall results to be given out?
Post by: downgirl on April 20, 2009, 11:12:45 AM
Joxer what was the instrumental section like?? That's where my heart really lies!!

Don't know why it takes so long for the overall results to be given out, I suppose they have to be officially checked or something?  I willl give my scór contact a text and see if he can enlighten us!  :D
Post by: Joxer on April 20, 2009, 11:19:40 AM
Was very very clsoe.  Personally I thought it was between Armagh and Kerry and I think this was the general feeling. Speaking to alot of people at half time they thought maybe Armagh just shaded it and when the result came and Corofin won it I was a bit shocked at the decision but fair play to them.

Thought the fella might have won the solo singing,  thought he was very good.  Set dancing had to be the tiniest of margins between Glenflesk and the winners.  They both were exceptional and couldnt be split IMO. 

Scor is Scor and there will always be controversy. 

Was GAA PHIL at it?  wonder what he thought if he was?
Post by: corn02 on April 20, 2009, 11:24:28 AM
Quote from: Joxer on April 20, 2009, 11:19:40 AM

Was GAA PHIL at it?  wonder what he thought if he was?

He was indeed, in his Armagh jersey too.

I'd say he was happy to see Nicky Brennan making an appearnce too coming straight from congress.  ;)
Post by: gaa_phil on April 20, 2009, 06:27:06 PM
Armagh jersey Corn??? ;D way off lad! :D Aye gr8 weekend and yeah it was good to see Nicky Brennan doing what he is supposed to be! Was slightly disappointed with only one All Ireland for Ulster! Perhaps it being the 40th year and after the clean up by Ulster last year, that went against the Ulster contingents! Or maybe im being too sceptical!:) I felt sorry for your girl from armagh doing the recitation; she was beat by "The present"; didn't some fella from Cornafean win the Ulster with that 2 years ago? Fair play to her though, I hear she is only 18 or something! Aye, I do agree with the instrumental being a big shocker, I didn't see that one coming Joxer! Also in an earlier post, someone said about the Emyvale Ceili dancers being shocked and somewhat implying they were undeserving of their Ulster win, well they're All-Ireland champs now and fair play! It's the same always with scor; the quiz is the only discipline which will go undisputed and jeez them guys are impressive, they really know their stuff!
Post by: superhuman on April 20, 2009, 07:21:13 PM
Quote from: gaa_phil on April 20, 2009, 06:27:06 PM
Aye, I do agree with the instrumental being a big shocker, I didn't see that one coming Joxer!

I also agree with that!! I am from Cork myself and I was down watching the Scór as a neutral supporter, however I felt that the Armagh instrumental group were better!! In my opinion they deserved to win. I have been goin to Scór all my life and they were 1 that stuck out in my mind, however no doubt they will be back and perhaps collect another All-Ireland title for Ulster. I also found it quite shocking that not 1 team from the 6 six counties won anything  ??? I dont know...but thats Scór for you!!
Post by: cornafean on April 21, 2009, 09:15:12 AM
Quote from: gaa_phil on April 20, 2009, 06:27:06 PM
I felt sorry for your girl from armagh doing the recitation; she was beat by "The present"; didn't some fella from Cornafean win the Ulster with that 2 years ago?

Indeed, Michael McGibney did "The Present" in the AIF two years ago. I heard that the guy from Moate did a fantastic job of it on Saturday. Well done to him.
Post by: gaa_phil on April 21, 2009, 01:41:32 PM

Indeed, Michael McGibney did "The Present" in the AIF two years ago. I heard that the guy from Moate did a fantastic job of it on Saturday. Well done to him.

Yes your man from Cornafean was excellent at it, I think even better than your man from Moate. He was robbed in the All-Ireland that year!
Post by: Ball Hopper on April 21, 2009, 02:05:49 PM
Anyone have the words to "the Present"?
Post by: corn02 on April 21, 2009, 04:54:44 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on April 21, 2009, 02:05:49 PM

Is that the French one?
Post by: gaa_phil on April 21, 2009, 05:57:05 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on April 21, 2009, 02:05:49 PM

No its not the french one, its about a man looking for a woman and he buys her a present, getting it mixed up with her mothers knickers  ;D written by some man Mcgeeney (probably spelt wrong) from Armagh. I think perhaps Ciaran Mcgeeney's father! You'll get it on one of the Bard of Armagh cd's!
Post by: Ball Hopper on April 21, 2009, 08:16:33 PM

Was it a pair of gloves he bought her?

That's an old comedy routine alright...I remember Brendan Grace doing it as an impersonation of Monica Carr.

Bonus marks for anyone who can tell me who Monica Carr is.
Post by: cornafean on April 21, 2009, 09:59:41 PM
Quote from: gaa_phil on April 21, 2009, 05:57:05 PM
written by some man Mcgeeney (probably spelt wrong) from Armagh. I think perhaps Ciaran Mcgeeney's father! You'll get it on one of the Bard of Armagh cd's!

Yes, Pat McGeeney, who is indeed Kieran's father. Small world.

Quote from: Ball Hopper on April 21, 2009, 08:16:33 PM

That's an old comedy routine alright...I remember Brendan Grace doing it as an impersonation of Monica Carr.

Yes, a pair of gloves.

Monica Carr used to appear on RTE agricultural shows and write for the Indo on farming topics
Post by: Ball Hopper on April 21, 2009, 10:13:20 PM
Good man, corn.

Post by: gaa_phil on April 21, 2009, 10:22:42 PM

That's hilarious and he took the credit for it at the Bard of Armagh competition, but it was really well written ;D Thanks for that Ball Hooper, I must youtube it or look about somewhere for it! I tried looking up Monica Carr there, couldn't find anything on her...must have been before my time  ;D
Post by: gaa_phil on April 21, 2009, 10:24:38 PM
...sometimes I have too muct time on my hands! Cornafean...is there anything you don't know? :) Were you in the Quiz team?
Post by: leenie on April 21, 2009, 10:30:38 PM
 congratulations to emyvale....

what about the novelty acts? what were they like? i know what killycloghers was about... i'd say they were disappointed..

was a poor yr for ulster as they normally do very well in all ireland scor, sure tyrone had 3 winners last year! but sure congrats to all who won fair play...

slightly jealous ... but one day  ::)
Post by: Ball Hopper on April 21, 2009, 11:01:51 PM
Quote from: gaa_phil on April 21, 2009, 10:22:42 PM

That's hilarious and he took the credit for it at the Bard of Armagh competition, but it was really well written ;D Thanks for that Ball Hooper, I must youtube it or look about somewhere for it! I tried looking up Monica Carr there, couldn't find anything on her...must have been before my time  ;D

Must have been the 70's when that radio show was on...it was hosted by Peter Murphy (of Cross Country Quiz fame). The more "mature" posters like myself will remember that Cross Country Quiz show...inter-county quiz held among Macra na Feirme members.

God, I'm old.  35 years ago or so.

Post by: Oldira on April 22, 2009, 09:32:32 AM
Does anyone have a positive opinion on the Trath na gCeist format? Its totally dead as an audience pleaser and the centre was less than half full for Saturdays final. They need to bring back the microphone questions at least for provincial and All Ireland finals. Its fine to have written questions up to county level if but for big finals the written format is a disaster. The teams on Saturday had 32 all Ireland finals appearances between them and I doubt they are scared of the microphone.
Post by: cornafean on April 22, 2009, 09:41:24 AM
Quote from: gaa_phil on April 21, 2009, 10:24:38 PM
...sometimes I have too muct time on my hands! Cornafean...is there anything you don't know? :) Were you in the Quiz team?

No, I wasn't on the team.  I wouldn't be able to keep up with those lads :)
Post by: cornafean on April 22, 2009, 09:58:40 AM
Quote from: Oldira on April 22, 2009, 09:32:32 AM
Does anyone have a positive opinion on the Trath na gCeist format? Its totally dead as an audience pleaser and the centre was less than half full for Saturdays final. They need to bring back the microphone questions at least for provincial and All Ireland finals. Its fine to have written questions up to county level if but for big finals the written format is a disaster. The teams on Saturday had 32 all Ireland finals appearances between them and I doubt they are scared of the microphone.

The written format is a total turn-off for the audience, and indeed for the contestants. There is zero excitement whatsover.

If you watch an tape or dvd of old Scór quiz finals, you will notice that there used to be great audience participation in the quiz - cheering, applause and sometimes laughter in reaction to a witty comment or facial expression on the part of a contestant. Now things are so bad that the quizmaster doesn't even bother asking for silence anymore, or warn against prompting.

What used to be a highlight of Scór is now more like one of Samuel Beckett's more experimental plays.
Post by: corn02 on April 22, 2009, 10:31:52 AM
Quote from: leenie on April 21, 2009, 10:30:38 PM

what about the novelty acts? what were they like? i know what killycloghers was about... i'd say they were disappointed..

was a poor yr for ulster as they normally do very well in all ireland scor, sure tyrone had 3 winners last year! but sure congrats to all who won fair play...

Did you compete Leenie?
Post by: Oldira on April 22, 2009, 11:09:39 AM
Quote from: cornafean on April 22, 2009, 09:58:40 AM
Quote from: Oldira on April 22, 2009, 09:32:32 AM

The written format is a total turn-off for the audience, and indeed for the contestants. There is zero excitement whatsover.

If you watch an tape or dvd of old Scór quiz finals, you will notice that there used to be great audience participation in the quiz - cheering, applause and sometimes laughter in reaction to a witty comment or facial expression on the part of a contestant. Now things are so bad that the quizmaster doesn't even bother asking for silence anymore, or warn against prompting.

What used to be a highlight of Scór is now more like one of Samuel Beckett's more experimental plays.

Ha Ha! Thats good! I spoke to a senior scor person who claimed it was his idea to change to written (a Meathman I think). He claimed people were too nervous to take part in TnaC especially at Scor na nOg level. I rubbished this claim as competiors in recitation and solo singing etc have to face the audience. There is going to be a major attempt to revert back next year and anyone who has contacts in Scor should tell them to support the change. Even if this was only for Provincial and All Ireland Finals where the crowds are big and the contestants are experienced it would suffice. There is a certain snobbish attitude, particularly at Croke Park level towards the quiz.
Post by: DownFanatic on April 22, 2009, 06:07:45 PM
Just wondering here how hard the Trath na gCeist is at All Ireland level? Has anybody any examples of the questions asked at this level?
Post by: leenie on April 22, 2009, 09:04:27 PM
Quote from: corn02 on April 22, 2009, 10:31:52 AM
Quote from: leenie on April 21, 2009, 10:30:38 PM

Did you compete Leenie?

not in the all ireland no.... i wish !
i take part in senior and help with scor na og...  we have gad a few successes at junior and senior at ulster but it has been a long time since we got to the all ireland....

i hate the written Trath na gCeist... as for it saving time.. it does not in my county... really should go back to the old format!
Post by: Billys Boots on April 23, 2009, 01:30:12 PM
QuoteJust wondering here how hard the Trath na gCeist is at All Ireland level?

Wouldn't know recently, but in my day the questions were very much of the Peter Murphy type - indeed, he may have been responsible for them.  And no, that wasn't at All-Ireland level, though we did make the Leinster final once.
Post by: Oldira on April 23, 2009, 02:29:34 PM
All Ireland Final 2009

1 How many counties have won All Irelands but not won Sam Maguire
2/Who was first man to win the freedom of Dublin
3/ Into what channel does the River Slaney flow
1/In what year did DJ Carey win his first All Ireland medal
2/Who founded a monastery at Glasnevin
3/ What river flows through Limavadey
1/ How many sets of brothers on 1982 Offaly team
2/ Prime Minister of Northern Ireland in 1972
3/ Who is Former Attorney General and Chairman of BP and Goldman Sachs

team

1/ In what year did Malachy Brian Borus sucessor die
2/ Who was first Goalkeeper to win five all stars (as gaeilge)
3/ Who is the chairman of FAS
4/ Who was only man to captain a winning team before and after introduction of Sam Maguire  
   Cup

Post by: Ball Hopper on April 24, 2009, 04:59:05 PM
Quote from: Oldira on April 23, 2009, 02:29:34 PM
All Ireland Final 2009

1 How many counties have won All Irelands but not won Sam Maguire
2/Who was first man to win the freedom of Dublin
3/ Into what channel does the River Slaney flow
1/In what year did DJ Carey win his first All Ireland medal
2/Who founded a monastery at Glasnevin
1/ How many sets of brothers on 1982 Offaly team
2/ Prime Minister of Northern Ireland in 1972
3/ Who is Former Attorney General and Chairman of BP and Goldman Sachs

team

1/ In what year did Malachy Brian Borus sucessor die
2/ Who was first Goalkeeper to win five all stars (as gaeilge)
3/ Who is the chairman of FAS
4/ Who was only man to captain a winning team before and after introduction of Sam Maguire  
   Cup

Wouldn't do too well myself on these questions. First question is probably Limerick, Tipp and Wexford...so 3 is the answer.  Offaly brothers were 5 pair?

Anybody shed light on the rest?
Post by: Joxer on April 24, 2009, 05:45:45 PM
DJ Carey 1992

First Goalkeeper I believe was John O'Leary
Post by: leenie on April 24, 2009, 05:51:06 PM

the river roe...

and thats all i can answer.... no wonder we didn't get through the first round
Post by: Ball Hopper on April 24, 2009, 06:21:20 PM
Quote from: Joxer on April 24, 2009, 05:45:45 PM
DJ Carey 1992

Was thinking Noel Skehan for first goalkeeper to 5 All Stars...question doesn't specify hurling or football.
Post by: cornafean on April 27, 2009, 12:00:48 PM
Quote from: Oldira on April 22, 2009, 11:09:39 AM
[I spoke to a senior scor person who claimed it was his idea to change to written (a Meathman I think). He claimed people were too nervous to take part in TnaC especially at Scor na nOg level. I rubbished this claim as competiors in recitation and solo singing etc have to face the audience.

Be careful or they might introduce written recitations  ::) ;)

Quote from: Oldira on April 22, 2009, 11:09:39 AMThere is going to be a major attempt to revert back next year and anyone who has contacts in Scor should tell them to support the change. Even if this was only for Provincial and All Ireland Finals where the crowds are big and the contestants are experienced it would suffice.

This can only be good news.

Quote from: Oldira on April 22, 2009, 11:09:39 AMThere is a certain snobbish attitude, particularly at Croke Park level towards the quiz.

Unfortunately this attitude prevails among a certain element of Scór people at all levels. Some people dislike the Tráth na gCeist as they don't like seeing people missing questions on stage, particularly in the early rounds of the competition. 

There are two basic reasons for this, one a tendency among some clubs of not making any attempt whatsoever to train a quiz team prior to a competition (the same clubs wouldn't dream on putting on an unrehearsed Novelty Act, or an untrained dancing team); Along with this, there can be a tendency amongst a small minority of quizmasters to set very difficult questions in the early rounds. Where this happens, the County Scór committees should be rooting it out and ensuring that it does not happen again, in the same way as they monitor and control the standard of adjudication.

Some people forget that the Tráth na gCeist is the only Scór competition that anyone can take part in, if they can't sing, dance, recite or act.  In my own club, this competition has brought many people into Scór, particularly in Scór na nOg, who would never have become involved otherwise.

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 27, 2009, 12:17:37 PM
Quote from: cornafean on April 27, 2009, 12:00:48 PM

Unfortunately this attitude prevails among a certain element of Scór people at all levels. Some people dislike the Tráth na gCeist as they don't like seeing people missing questions on stage, particularly in the early rounds of the competition. 

There are two basic reasons for this, one a tendency among some clubs of not making any attempt whatsoever to train a quiz team prior to a competition (the same clubs wouldn't dream on putting on an unrehearsed Novelty Act, or an untrained dancing team); Along with this, there can be a tendency amongst a small minority of quizmasters to set very difficult questions in the early rounds. Where this happens, the County Scór committees should be rooting it out and ensuring that it does not happen again, in the same way as they monitor and control the standard of adjudication.

Some people forget that the Tráth na gCeist is the only Scór competition that anyone can take part in, if they can't sing, dance, recite or act.  In my own club, this competition has brought many people into Scór, particularly in Scór na nOg, who would never have become involved otherwise.

I fall into that latter category you mention cornafean and am glad of the opportunity to be fit to represent my club, even if it is only the Scór quiz team.
Post by: Joxer on April 27, 2009, 12:28:57 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on April 24, 2009, 06:21:20 PM
Quote from: Joxer on April 24, 2009, 05:45:45 PM
DJ Carey 1992

Was thinking Noel Skehan for first goalkeeper to 5 All Stars...question doesn't specify hurling or football.

It did..

Any clips from the final on You Tube?
Post by: downgirl on April 28, 2009, 01:48:46 PM
Roscommon Set dancers
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m_9kwqwprXA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y5pIeODq1hQ&feature=related

Ballad Group winners (Clara, Offaly)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oEOzxFvQ57M&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X64Q-HOUp70&feature=related

Don't like the way they are singing Carrick-a-Rede....it seems very disjointed??

Can't believe this decision to be honest, haven't heard any of the other ballad groups but this group has very little in the way of variation of dynamics, guitar also seems a bit harsh....

Anyone else think Saul junior ballad group could have beaten them???
Post by: Joxer on April 28, 2009, 03:19:24 PM
YES ME!

Post by: downgirl on May 01, 2009, 11:34:52 AM
Why the capital letters Joxer??!!  :D
Post by: amallon on May 01, 2009, 05:33:24 PM
Even though I've had a couple of stinkers at the mic in my years in the quiz I would far go back to that format.

Just to come back to you on your point about preparing for the quiz, how exactly do you do this.  We might learn the managers of a the main counties, and read the papers in the run up to a quiz but mostly its impossible to prepare for.  You either know it or you don't!
Post by: Ddawg on May 03, 2009, 02:27:41 AM
Aye, they woulda won Downgirl  ::) I honestly thought that Galway would have won solo singing- one of the nicest voices I have ever heard. Would have given ballad group to Tyrone as they were, to me, what constituted a ballad group. I actually fancied Clare for the Novelty Act- I thought their creation of the GAA concept was excellent and well carried!

I wonder are any Scór acts performing on Monday in Portloaise, thought the All Ireland Winning Jr Ballad Group from Down might have been asked considering Down are playing but haven't heard anything.

I enjoy the current quiz format and took part it in it myself this year for a bit of craic and got my individual ones right but if put under pressure under old format it may have put me off!
Post by: downgirl on May 03, 2009, 10:57:14 AM
Ah now Ddawg...sure you only LOVE being in front of the microphone don't you?!  Aye, surely, aye, you do!!!  :P
Post by: downgirl on May 10, 2009, 05:31:08 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t4GwDzLifcg&NR=1

All-Ireland Scor Novelty Act Winners 2008 - Killyclogher

Very good!!
Post by: Oldira on May 11, 2009, 04:41:20 PM
Quote from: amallon on May 01, 2009, 05:33:24 PM
Even though I've had a couple of stinkers at the mic in my years in the quiz I would far go back to that format.

Just to come back to you on your point about preparing for the quiz, how exactly do you do this.  We might learn the managers of a the main counties, and read the papers in the run up to a quiz but mostly its impossible to prepare for.  You either know it or you don't!

You need to know managers of ALL counties. Plus things like All Stars,current holders and names of all cups, texaco award winners, clubs from counties, counties of Referees, etc and thats just 10% of GAA. Huge amount of prep work needed to get to an All irELAND.
Post by: downgirl on May 19, 2009, 12:29:52 AM
Any more videos up on youtube yet?
Post by: Joxer on May 19, 2009, 12:28:50 PM
Hope,  Hear the DVD's are 25 Euro, 25 EURO...Fecking steep!
Post by: downgirl on May 19, 2009, 04:30:27 PM
25 euro??!!!!!!  :o :o

As far as I can remember the scór na nóg dvd was about 12 euro...???
Post by: seabee on June 09, 2009, 09:27:37 PM
Highlights of the 2009 Scór Sinsear All-Ireland Final will be broadcast on Friday July 31st and August 7th at 7.30 p.m. on RTE1
Post by: downgirl on June 09, 2009, 10:06:20 PM
Thanks for that seabee, no sign of the scór na nóg final then?
Post by: seabee on June 09, 2009, 11:20:54 PM
No, didn't hear anything about it....it's a pity
Post by: seabee on June 16, 2009, 08:10:14 PM
Scór Roscommon are holding a music session/get together in Murrays Bar, Knockcroghery this Friday (the 19th) at 9:30pm. All welcome
Post by: zoe on July 13, 2009, 09:19:48 AM
Does anyone know what figure dances won the all ireland & cant be danced this year?  ???
Post by: downgirl on July 13, 2009, 12:59:51 PM
zoe, send ddawg a private message he should be able to tell you  :)
Post by: Ddawg on July 14, 2009, 12:24:36 AM
Reply sent Zoe!
Post by: downgirl on July 25, 2009, 10:27:16 PM
The group that IMO should have won the ballad group section this year...far better than the crowd that won...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XZmr82jmvEQ

Killyclogher Ballad Group
Post by: Joxer on July 31, 2009, 12:17:35 PM
Highlights of this years All Ireland Scor Sinsear Finals are on at 7.30 tonight on RTE
Post by: downgirl on July 31, 2009, 07:30:21 PM
Quote from: Joxer on July 31, 2009, 12:17:35 PM
Highlights of this years All Ireland Scor Sinsear Finals are on at 7.30 tonight on RTE

*Bump*

If you have never watched scór now is your chance!!
Post by: orangeman on July 31, 2009, 07:39:19 PM
Quote from: Joxer on July 31, 2009, 12:17:35 PM

Good show.
Post by: downgirl on July 31, 2009, 07:42:13 PM
Interesting choice of The Butterfly for instrumental there by the group from Kerry, wouldn't have thought of it as a typical scór tune, and IMO not fussed on those individual wee bits they put in to try and spice it up a bit.

Easy club reel played very well by Dromintee
Post by: Joxer on August 01, 2009, 11:26:30 AM
http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1053050

Last nights Show