GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: rrhf on March 24, 2011, 10:09:53 AM

Title: Tyrone V Kildare
Post by: rrhf on March 24, 2011, 10:09:53 AM
Its set to be a 4 pointer with the winner having a real chance of promotion.  After several years huffing and puffing the flour bags must finally win soimething thsi year surely.  On current form the Leinster team look to have a slight edge on Tyrones weary warriors, but who would rule out the likes of the inform Sean Cavanagh, playing like a 21 year old again, and co. to wipe the smile off McGeeneys face?   
Title: Re: Tyrone V Kildare
Post by: Fuzzman on March 24, 2011, 02:52:31 PM
Looking at the league table its a must win game for Tyrone if they've any chance of getting promoted
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/gaa_tables_footballleague.html (http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/gaa_tables_footballleague.html)

Kildare are home to Sligo in the last game whereas we're away to our old pals Mead.

Laois are away to Sligo and home to Donegal in their last game.
Derry are home to Mead and away to Antrim

Derry will be hoping we can beat the SillyWhites and then they've a good chance of qualifying as they beat us in the head to head should we end with the same points. However should Tyrone, Derry & Laois win all their remaining games, then Laois would go up on score difference if stay with their current +16
Is that right lads? If so then we need to win our last 2 games and hope Derry lose or draw one game. Come on Baker.
If Derry win their 2 games they'll be hoping we win our two games as well as Laois beat them on their head to head game so they need a 3 way tie for 2nd.

Post by: BennyHarp on March 24, 2011, 03:25:01 PM
Does it go on the head to head then if points are tied?
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 24, 2011, 03:30:14 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 24, 2011, 03:25:01 PM

Only if 2 teams are tied.

Tyrone have this game in the bag, no point in Kildare travellling up, will probably send up big Willie and some of the Juniors.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 24, 2011, 04:33:29 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 24, 2011, 03:30:14 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 24, 2011, 03:25:01 PM

Only if 2 teams are tied.

Tyrone have this game in the bag, no point in Kildare travellling up, will probably send up big Willie and some of the Juniors.

We've got to give the geriatric Tyronies some chance Dinny. Big Willie would have them for breakfast.

(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/e3/59/56/7d1fcec9f0fda3916b6a7c194ec217c3dd8689d40f/INPHO_00414742.jpg)

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF453/RP0063848.jpg)

The Heff is so tough he can eat his own fist:
(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/3a/ff/25/2b8592879c088c9122dd45fdf488a50c4a640a9863/INPHO_00480977.jpg)
Post by: Mr. Nakata on March 24, 2011, 05:37:12 PM
Fuzzman, your analysis has depressed me greatly. I thought we had a great chance of going up. After reading that, I would say not any more.
Post by: rrhf on March 24, 2011, 06:44:03 PM
Myself included, its a tough very conditional ask.  Reality is regardless of anything we need Derry beat in the last 2 and thats unlikely to happen to be honest.  If you add in the fact that Kildare are desperate for promotion to show that despite all the huff and puff there is concrete evidence of improvement over the last few years, its even more unlikely.  Who can forget that the last time Kildare went to Omagh they kicked Tyrone around the field, their physiicality that night was unreal and with the right referee they'll get away with it again.         
Post by: ONeill on March 24, 2011, 08:15:56 PM
Quote from: Mr. Nakata on March 24, 2011, 05:37:12 PM
Fuzzman, your analysis has depressed me greatly. I thought we had a great chance of going up. After reading that, I would say not any more.

This is the worst day ever. Thanks, Fuzz.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 25, 2011, 11:14:12 AM
Jaysus Willie would be like Gulliver in Lilliput.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 25, 2011, 01:02:57 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 24, 2011, 06:44:03 PM
Myself included, its a tough very conditional ask.  Reality is regardless of anything we need Derry beat in the last 2 and thats unlikely to happen to be honest.  If you add in the fact that Kildare are desperate for promotion to show that despite all the huff and puff there is concrete evidence of improvement over the last few years, its even more unlikely.  Who can forget that the last time Kildare went to Omagh they kicked Tyrone around the field, their physiicality that night was unreal and with the right referee they'll get away with it again.         

Willie's gonna get ya
Post by: Fuzzman on March 25, 2011, 01:53:02 PM
Jeepers Creepers.
I didn't think when I posted that I would be having such a negative impact on ye all.

I wasn't even sure I was right with all that analysis but as no-one has picked any holes in it as yet I presume it is accurate.

Would ye not be hopeful that Laois could beat Donegal in the last game at home? Probably NOT.
If they did how would that leave things? Like this

Donegal..10.. +19 currently 
Laois......10.. +16  currently 
Tyrone...10.. + 6  currently 
Derry.....10.. -14  currently   
Kildare....9....+11 currently

So two top score differences get promoted?

Matches left are
Donegal v Antrim, Tyrone v Kildare, Derry v Meath, Sligo v Laois
Antrim v Derry, Laois v Donegal, Kildare v Sligo, Meath v Tyrone

So basically we need Derry to drop a point or we're else we're depending on Laois to win their 2 remaining games and we get a much improved score difference.
Ah well. We might get Armagh next year too.

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 25, 2011, 06:29:07 PM
So we can assume ye'll be beating Kildare then?

Right so. Won't bother wasting a trip up to see that. Should save a few bob on petrol for the old Range Rover.
Post by: lenny on March 25, 2011, 07:26:59 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 24, 2011, 02:52:31 PM
Looking at the league table its a must win game for Tyrone if they've any chance of getting promoted
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/gaa_tables_footballleague.html (http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/gaa_tables_footballleague.html)

Kildare are home to Sligo in the last game whereas we're away to our old pals Mead.

Laois are away to Sligo and home to Donegal in their last game.
Derry are home to Mead and away to Antrim

Derry will be hoping we can beat the SillyWhites and then they've a good chance of qualifying as they beat us in the head to head should we end with the same points. However should Tyrone, Derry & Laois win all their remaining games, then Laois would go up on score difference if stay with their current +16
Is that right lads? If so then we need to win our last 2 games and hope Derry lose or draw one game. Come on Baker.
If Derry win their 2 games they'll be hoping we win our two games as well as Laois beat them on their head to head game so they need a 3 way tie for 2nd.

I think Derry will be content to stay in div 2 for another season. They have introduced a lot of new players this year and another season in div 2 would do no harm.
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 25, 2011, 09:57:23 PM
Two teams are going to get promoted whether they like it or not.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 25, 2011, 11:02:28 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 25, 2011, 01:53:02 PM
Jeepers Creepers...

You didn't push me into the depths of unforgiving despair FM, but DH did with his tales about big Willie da Flourbag Monster!  ;)
Post by: ONeill on March 25, 2011, 11:46:16 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on March 25, 2011, 06:29:07 PM

Right so. Won't bother wasting a trip up to see that. Should save a few bob on petrol for the old Range Rover.

Sure it might be on the television. Would you know a house with a TV ok down there? The boys in Maynooth I'm sure have one for watching the Easter message an all.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 26, 2011, 12:45:15 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 25, 2011, 11:46:16 PM

Sure it might be on the television. Would you know a house with a TV ok down there? The boys in Maynooth I'm sure have one for watching the Easter message an all.

There's racing on at the Curragh that Sunday. Sure I might pop down to that instead.

I can't see this match being televised. Watching Tyrone and their cynical, defensive, suffocating, puke football negating Kildare's natural swashbuckling exhuberance and flair won't be that attractive a proposition for the viewing public.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2011, 12:55:15 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on March 26, 2011, 12:45:15 AM
I can't see this match being televised. Watching Tyrone and their cynical, defensive, suffocating, puke football negating Kildare's natural swashbuckling exhuberance and flair won't be that attractive a proposition for the viewing public.

Good man DH! ;)

I hope we sicken the bejaysus out out of you, ye lilywhite gits ye!  :D
Post by: Puckoon on March 26, 2011, 07:23:37 AM
Is this game tomorrow?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2011, 10:50:42 AM
Next weekend Puck, on Sunday 3rd April @ 2:30pm in Omagh.

Post by: Dinny Breen on March 26, 2011, 02:34:29 PM

Petrol old bean, tis recession swapped my baby for a diesel, very middle class I know.

Worried about our full back line and our propensity to give away easy frees and no side wins frees easier than Tyrone.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 26, 2011, 08:35:04 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 26, 2011, 02:34:29 PM

Petrol old bean, tis recession swapped my baby for a diesel, very middle class I know.

Worried about our full back line and our propensity to give away easy frees and no side wins frees easier than Tyrone.

Pity we couldn't get someone to score at least 50% of them!
Post by: under the bar on March 27, 2011, 09:47:10 PM
QuoteWorried about our full back line and our propensity to give away easy frees and no side wins frees easier than Tyrone.

Can we see the stats on that or are you just talking out of the wrong hole again?
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 28, 2011, 11:39:50 AM
Quote from: under the bar on March 27, 2011, 09:47:10 PM
QuoteWorried about our full back line and our propensity to give away easy frees and no side wins frees easier than Tyrone.

Can we see the stats on that or are you just talking out of the wrong hole again?

I know you just learned how to walk and it will be a struggle but do try and open your other eye as their is no point in denying the obvious, it's not even a criticism per se more a simply observation. Plus Kildare fans had a many year under Micko so we do what we are talking about in this respect.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 28, 2011, 12:11:39 PM
Did somebody mention soft frees:

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF6/006020.jpg)

Good old Lynchie!
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 28, 2011, 12:27:15 PM
Very good DH, I'm sure that picture of Martin will have the Meath hores arriving soon, I think Roli is our best player these days at winning ahem soft frees...

(http://sport.irishexaminer.com/sport/blog/image.axd?picture=2010%2F6%2Flouth+kildare.jpg)

Post by: AZOffaly on March 28, 2011, 01:14:20 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 28, 2011, 12:27:15 PM
Very good DH, I'm sure that picture of Martin will have the Meath hores arriving soon, I think Roli is our best player these days at winning ahem soft frees...

(http://sport.irishexaminer.com/sport/blog/image.axd?picture=2010%2F6%2Flouth+kildare.jpg)

Lynch. That man should have been in the Olympics. He'd have given Greg Louganis (sp?) a run for his money. I blame Micko. etc, etc, etc. :D
Post by: Radda bout yeee on March 28, 2011, 02:16:14 PM

Come up surely DH! Drop into Sallys after the game - there must be at least a dozen Tyrone punters who owe you drink after Cheltenham!  ;)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 28, 2011, 03:10:00 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on March 28, 2011, 02:16:14 PM

Come up surely DH! Drop into Sallys after the game - there must be at least a dozen Tyrone punters who owe you drink after Cheltenham!  ;)

Us refined Kildare folk tend not to frequent pubs. A bottle of Moet with a few prawn sandwiches and a bit of caviar with the Range Rover parked up is more our style. Hopefully the sun is out so our stetsons can make their first appearance of 2011.

Defenders would be better off leaving Roli shoot most times. Smithy is cute out at drawing 'fouls'.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on March 28, 2011, 03:32:10 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on March 28, 2011, 03:10:00 PM

Us refined Kildare folk tend not to frequent pubs. A bottle of Moet with a few prawn sandwiches and a bit of caviar with the Range Rover parked up is more our style. Hopefully the sun is out so our stetsons can make their first appearance of 2011.

Defenders would be better off leaving Roli shoot most times. Smithy is cute out at drawing 'fouls'.

Well I never..... hospitality slapped right back in my face!
LOL i knew Kildare men would be the type to take 'Hang' sandwiches in the boot as opposed to spending some money in the local economy! lol
Post by: ONeill on March 28, 2011, 05:39:06 PM
If them Kildare lads aren't diving, they're pulling our lads down by the elbows:

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/46145000/jpg/_46145178_flynn_oneill_766.jpg)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 28, 2011, 05:51:00 PM
Careful now......

(http://i28.tinypic.com/hra7va.jpg)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 28, 2011, 05:52:45 PM
Such Tyrone cynicism cannot be tolerated and will be severely punished:

(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/d9/a5/45/a9aaa0b7c30930836921f1ff8cd32a936e9cee2504/INPHO_00263890.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 28, 2011, 05:58:04 PM
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF381/281288.jpg)

If it was rugby we'd hammer them even without Jamie, Johne, Fergus and Geordan...
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 28, 2011, 06:04:34 PM
Sure bring back the Barnhall Bruiser for the craic. Big Trevor has experience of giving Ulstermen a good hiding!

(http://img.rasset.ie/0000b9c810dr.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 28, 2011, 06:13:09 PM
Brilliant DH  :D
Post by: omagh_gael on March 28, 2011, 06:30:37 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on March 28, 2011, 06:04:34 PM
Sure bring back the Barnhall Bruiser for the craic. Big Trevor has experience of giving Ulstermen a good hiding!

(http://img.rasset.ie/0000b9c810dr.jpg)

I like his mates attempt to stop big Trevs left hook. A feeble 'stop it' with a pasty white hand!
Post by: Jinxy on March 29, 2011, 12:25:40 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on March 28, 2011, 12:11:39 PM

Good old Lynchie!

I wouldn't say it took too long to find a picture of Martin falling over himself!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 29, 2011, 11:42:12 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 29, 2011, 12:25:40 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on March 28, 2011, 12:11:39 PM

Good old Lynchie!

I wouldn't say it took too long to find a picture of Martin falling over himself!

Got to admire Lynchie's attempt at buying a free against Darren Fay in the '97 classic:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=58hWCdmjS1s (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=58hWCdmjS1s)

(8:30 onwards)
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 29, 2011, 01:09:22 PM

moet- rotten cheap stuff
its tattinger ya want- on special for €30 in tesco right now. usually €42-€49

Dinny- you could add Devin to yer list - would make a decent enough midfielder- Trevor was a very decent midfielder for leixlip underage !
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 29, 2011, 03:06:22 PM
I'll bow to the superior knowledge of the more refined Derry palate.

Trev had trials for the Kildare minors back in the early nineties before he committed to the egg chasing.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 29, 2011, 03:09:40 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 29, 2011, 01:09:22 PM

moet- rotten cheap stuff
its tattinger ya want- on special for €30 in tesco right now. usually €42-€49

Dinny- you could add Devin to yer list - would make a decent enough midfielder- Trevor was a very decent midfielder for leixlip underage !

And Fionn Carr, good Ardclough man not to mention big bad Bob Casey, jayus for a county full of jockeys we can produce some big yolks...
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 29, 2011, 03:13:25 PM
Fionn Carr was a super little footballer. That Broughall lad from Towers has an underage World Cup medal doesn't he?

This is rugby county..........  :D
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 29, 2011, 03:31:51 PM
That would be Damien, all 6ft 7 of him, retired from playing senior end of 2009, still plays a bit of senior B. He was on the u/19 World Cup winning team with O'Driscoll, Wallace et al. Could have gone pro but back trouble put an end to his rugby career, still tips away at the rugby and actually played Leinster Juniors last year.
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 29, 2011, 05:40:51 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on March 29, 2011, 03:06:22 PM
I'll bow to the superior knowledge of the more refined Derry palate.

Trev had trials for the Kildare minors back in the early nineties before he committed to the egg chasing.
the brother used to mark Trev, says Brennan was a decent footballer. No dirt in them days - well not from Trevor !

I dont drink champers myself, but those who do say
'moet,
no way' !
Bolly, tatt etc all same price and supposedly way better

more of a bord-ducks man meself.

Post by: Redhand Santa on March 29, 2011, 08:51:02 PM
The Kildare posters have taken over and its turned into a rugby thread! Enough of that!

Tyrone should be in good shape after a weekend away and with Jordan and Dooher back in training should have extra options. Would be good to win this one to at least leave the Meath game interesting.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 29, 2011, 10:25:15 PM
QuoteThe Kildare posters have taken over and its turned into a rugby thread! Enough of that!

Sure you have the match won might as well talk about something else.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 29, 2011, 10:27:10 PM
Sure Tyrone's brand of football is more akin to rugby-league anyway so you'd think ye boys would be used to the rugby talk.  ;)

Seriously though, this match should be a good indicator of where Kildare stand. I get the impression from the teams put out for the matches so far that McGeeney isn't that pushed on promotion. Whether that will change now that it's in our own hands, who knows.

Hopefully the starting XV for the summer is beginning to take shape. I'm sure the management are already planning without Earley, Conway and Peter Kelly but it would be a massive bonus if even one of them was back to play some role in a few months time. Connolly has looked very solid and looks to have secured his place between the sticks. I think the full-back line will remain the same. McGrillen is one of the first names on the teamsheet these days. Mick Foley is playing super football at the moment. There might be concerns about him on more open pitches when the ground firms up but he's the best option in Kelly's absence. Mac had a fine season last year and is a real leader within the squad. We haven't seen enough of Ollie Lyons and Ciarán Fitz due to injury and Mac has the edge on both in terms of experience.

Morgan Flats and Bolton will make up 2/3s of the half-backs. Hard to know who will line out with them. McGeeney is clearly a big fan of Flanagan but he's yet to regain his form of 2009. Chalky has played superbly in the past two games and is in with a big shout. I'd like to see him tried alongside Flynn at midfield with Leper at centre-back. I suspect McGeeney might think a half-back line of Flats/Leper/Bolton might be too attack minded though.

Flynn's partner at midfield is another dilemna. Paudie is worth a place on the team but I don't think it's at midfield. Hugh Lynch is an excellent distributor of the ball but he's not the quickest or the best ball winner. Tomás Connor apparently did very well at midfield for the juniors last week and might be worth a run. I'd love to see Chalky and Flynn together against Tyrone where they'd get a stern test.

Forward line will be between JD, Jimmers, Rob Kelly, Eoghan Flats, Roli, Paudie, Cribbin, Smith, Dowling and Leper (depending on where McGeeney wants to play him). Smithy is under pressure but he normally comes good in the summer. Wouldn't surprise me to see him back starting on Sunday. Kelly has played very well in the full-forward line while both Cribbo and Dowling have had good cameos. I'd like to see how the following team would get on:

Connolly
McGrillen     Foley      McLoughlin
M Flaherty   Callaghan     Bolton
      Flynn         White
Sweeney  O'Neill    E Flaherty
Doyle     Kelly       Kavanagh

Jimmers and Kelly to play as a two man full-forward line. JD and Flats on the forty with Roli and Paudie playing out around midfield.   

Post by: Jinxy on March 29, 2011, 11:09:42 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on March 29, 2011, 08:51:02 PM
The Kildare posters have taken over and its turned into a rugby thread! Enough of that!

Tyrone should be in good shape after a weekend away and with Jordan and Dooher back in training should have extra options. Would be good to win this one to at least leave the Meath game interesting.

Interesting how?
Post by: ONeill on March 29, 2011, 11:26:43 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 29, 2011, 11:09:42 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on March 29, 2011, 08:51:02 PM

Interesting how?

In terms of promotion. Tyrone would have to head into Royal heartland looking for a win to gain promotion against a shower we never bate.

To be honest, I think Tyrone will swipe Kildare aside. Sure what have they ever won.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on March 30, 2011, 09:32:45 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on March 29, 2011, 10:27:10 PM
Sure Tyrone's brand of football is more akin to rugby-league anyway so you'd think ye boys would be used to the rugby talk.  ;)

Seriously though, this match should be a good indicator of where Kildare stand. I get the impression from the teams put out for the matches so far that McGeeney isn't that pushed on promotion. Whether that will change now that it's in our own hands, who knows.

Hopefully the starting XV for the summer is beginning to take shape. I'm sure the management are already planning without Earley, Conway and Peter Kelly but it would be a massive bonus if even one of them was back to play some role in a few months time. Connolly has looked very solid and looks to have secured his place between the sticks. I think the full-back line will remain the same. McGrillen is one of the first names on the teamsheet these days. Mick Foley is playing super football at the moment. There might be concerns about him on more open pitches when the ground firms up but he's the best option in Kelly's absence. Mac had a fine season last year and is a real leader within the squad. We haven't seen enough of Ollie Lyons and Ciarán Fitz due to injury and Mac has the edge on both in terms of experience.

Morgan Flats and Bolton will make up 2/3s of the half-backs. Hard to know who will line out with them. McGeeney is clearly a big fan of Flanagan but he's yet to regain his form of 2009. Chalky has played superbly in the past two games and is in with a big shout. I'd like to see him tried alongside Flynn at midfield with Leper at centre-back. I suspect McGeeney might think a half-back line of Flats/Leper/Bolton might be too attack minded though.

Flynn's partner at midfield is another dilemna. Paudie is worth a place on the team but I don't think it's at midfield. Hugh Lynch is an excellent distributor of the ball but he's not the quickest or the best ball winner. Tomás Connor apparently did very well at midfield for the juniors last week and might be worth a run. I'd love to see Chalky and Flynn together against Tyrone where they'd get a stern test.

Forward line will be between JD, Jimmers, Rob Kelly, Eoghan Flats, Roli, Paudie, Cribbin, Smith, Dowling and Leper (depending on where McGeeney wants to play him). Smithy is under pressure but he normally comes good in the summer. Wouldn't surprise me to see him back starting on Sunday. Kelly has played very well in the full-forward line while both Cribbo and Dowling have had good cameos. I'd like to see how the following team would get on:

Connolly
McGrillen     Foley      McLoughlin
M Flaherty   Callaghan     Bolton
      Flynn         White
Sweeney  O'Neill    E Flaherty
Doyle     Kelly       Kavanagh

Jimmers and Kelly to play as a two man full-forward line. JD and Flats on the forty with Roli and Paudie playing out around midfield.

I only recognise two names on that teamsheet yet everyone knows who the tyrone boys are in Ireland as its a whose who of all ireland medals and all stars therefore Tyrone will win!  :P
Would love to beat Kildare to wipe that smirk of McGeeneys face!
Post by: Jinxy on March 30, 2011, 09:46:19 AM
Kildare really are becoming the team everyone loves to hate.
I finally understand why the Laois folk have it in for them so much.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 30, 2011, 09:48:38 AM
Looking through your post there DH it's fair dues to Geezer for developing such a squad and the fact that we are without the three mention yet we can absorb those losses quite comfortably and when you make allowance for the fact that our performaces haven't been good and we are still in contention for promotion it augers well for the summer.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 30, 2011, 11:07:02 AM
The Kildare panel is so strong, even big Willie Heff can't get a look in!
Post by: Fuzzman on March 31, 2011, 12:02:06 PM
Holy God what have yis done to this thread.
Don't be letting the kids near yer logon lads

2 pages of pure rubbish

So back to the game.
Do we expect any of the U21's to be named tonight?
Sounds like a few of them had blinders last night v Down
I hope Peter Harte gets a position tied down and doesn't become another Joey and be moved all over the place.
Not that Joey is good no matter where he plays

Do I detect a renewed optimism that should we win this game that we could still get promoted? Its all about Derry getting defeated isn't it but I think we could be in for a tough encounter ourselves.

Post by: nrico2006 on March 31, 2011, 12:39:03 PM
I expect Tyrone to win this one, McGeeneys weights and Protein shakes can only take a side so far.
Post by: rrhf on March 31, 2011, 12:51:52 PM
Good point nrico.  Tell me this will he travel down to kildare to travel up again with the team on the bus or will she just pull in in Armagh and pick him up?  My feeling is that he needs to be on the bus the whole road no matter how much option B would save.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 31, 2011, 02:11:39 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 31, 2011, 12:51:52 PM
Good point nrico.  Tell me this will he travel down to kildare to travel up again with the team on the bus or will she just pull in in Armagh and pick him up?  My feeling is that he needs to be on the bus the whole road no matter how much option B would save.

McGeeney has lived in the Pale for years.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 31, 2011, 02:19:40 PM
Must confess I have never heard of this Kildare before but suppose that's the charm of Tyrone dropping to Division 2 for a year, we get to take on some of these lesser teams. Hope Kildare enjoy their day in the sun.
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 31, 2011, 03:15:37 PM
DH - if they played Flanagan at chb thy might see the best of him...

Kildare certainly not playing like they did in championship last year, they werent even using the trademark armagh cynicism off the ball or fouling the ball carrier further out the field (so they could get men back behind the ball).
Kildare beating meath wasnt a huge task, meath are woeful right now (though they could still beat Derry as we are more unpredictable than forrest gumps box of chocolates).
Unless the flourbags can 'turn it on' all of a sudden, then its tyrones to lose.
However, the red arse county have been as much jekyll and hyde as ourselves this year and its hard to see a pattern with them too.
However, in the last two league games, Harte will bring his team closer to championship XV and its now all left to see whether the in-breds have it or are they over the hill.
I suspect Harte will summon the best out of them and the six fingered banjo players will beat the horsey set by 5 points or more !
(thats a kildare win then !!)
Post by: ONeill on March 31, 2011, 03:30:17 PM
Wasn't Arthur Guinness a Kildare man? Some hoor too.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 31, 2011, 03:51:37 PM
These Tyrone people seem to think they are up there with the GAA aristocracy such as Kerry and Dublin, their negative tactics are out-dated and alas poor Mickey should have retired when he was still someone. Football has moved on the last 3 years, don't think anyone in the real world will be too surprised when the swash buckling lilywhites wipe the puke aside. Kildare by 4.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 31, 2011, 04:14:02 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 31, 2011, 03:15:37 PM

I'm not sure Brian's distribution is good enough for this level LB. There's nobody as brave or as committed but he could be squeezed out of the team when everybody is back fit. Morgan Flaherty and Emmet Bolton are fairly certain to start on the wings. Flan might lose out to Gary White or Éamonn Callaghan come the summer.

Arthur Guinness was a Celbridge man.
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 31, 2011, 04:32:44 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on March 31, 2011, 04:14:02 PM
I'm not sure Brian's distribution is good enough for this level LB. There's nobody as brave or as committed but he could be squeezed out of the team when everybody is back fit. Morgan Flaherty and Emmet Bolton are fairly certain to start on the wings. Flan might lose out to Gary White or Éamonn Callaghan come the summer.
a proper stopper is what I like at chb
kildare have enough on the wings if the other two lads are fit and allow flanagan to man the house.
Dinny - kildare out puked the red arses last year - that kind of cynicism while not for the purists was exactly what I'd love Derry to do - plus kildares forwards love that kind of room to run at defenses - kind of the same tactic as Dublin use though kildare use three/four as opposed to the Dubs 2.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 31, 2011, 06:33:28 PM
LB, Flanagan was imho our poorest performing back last year when his pace, positioning and distribution was all questionable from game to game. And reports are he has regressed even more this year, I liked to see O'Callaghan there myself personally.
We certainly aren't at the same standard as in the championship last year but we have improved in the league with a point more with 2 games left this year compared to the 7 games last year. McGeeney's approach has been all about improving step by step and we generally have a good record against Ulster sides and I think we perform better away from the confined spaces of Newbridge. Sunday will be tight but I fancy Kildare to get something out of it, very little pressure on us.

Post by: ONeill on March 31, 2011, 08:44:57 PM
No team yet?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2011, 08:52:51 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on February 15, 1974, 11:07:24 AM

That he was, as he systematically and determinedly destroyed every local and small brewer within a 50 mile radius of St James' Gate, da lilywhite git!  ;)
Post by: ONeill on March 31, 2011, 08:59:24 PM
1    Pascal McConnell    
2    Martin Swift            
3    Joe McMahon    
4    Damian McCaul    
5    David Harte    
6    Conor Gormley      
7    Ryan McMenamin    
8    Kevin Hughes       
9    Aidan Cassidy       
10    Colm Cavanagh    
11    Brian McGuigan
12    Sean Cavanagh    
13    Martin Penrose     
14    Stephen O'Neill    
15    Owen Mulligan     

16    John Devine    Seán Ó Daimhín    Aireagal Chiaráin
17    Mark Donnelly    Marcas Ó Donnaile    An Charraig Mhór
18    Brian Dooher        Brian Ó Dúchair    Clann na nGael
19    Philip Jordan    Pilib Mac Siurtáin    An Mhaigh
20    Cathal McCarron    Cathal Mac Cearáin    An Droim Mhór
21    Aidan McCrory    Aodhán Mac Ruairí    Aireagal Chiaráin
22    Enda McGinley    Éanna Mag Fhionnaile    Aireagal Chiaráin
23    Stephen McNally    Stiofán Mac an Fhailí    Oileán a'Ghuail
24    Sean O'Neill         Seán Ó Néill    An Droim Mhór
25    PJ Quinn    P. S. Ó Cuinn    Baile na Móna
Post by: ONeill on March 31, 2011, 09:00:55 PM
The full back line and the subs is the big news here. Joe can play FB no problem but hate to see his natural roaming game curtailed. Swift??

Dooher and Jordan back running again.
Post by: ONeill on March 31, 2011, 09:06:41 PM
1. Shane Connolly, St. Laurences
2. Hugh McGrillen, Celbridge
3. Michael Foley, Athy
4. Andriú MacLochlainn, Ellistown
5. Gary White, Sarsfields
6. Brian Flanagan, Johnstownbridge
7. Emmet Bolton, Eadestown
8. Tommy Moolick, Leixlip
9. Padraig O'Neill, St. Laurences
10. Ronan Sweeney, Moorefield
11. Eoghan O'Flaherty, Carbury
12. Keith Cribbin, Johnstownbridge
13. John Doyle, Allenwood
14. Daryl Flynn, Moorefield
15. Robert Kelly, Straffan
Post by: Rois on March 31, 2011, 09:16:09 PM
Is this Dermot Carlin's wedding wkend?

Justin must still be injured?

Post by: ONeill on March 31, 2011, 09:21:25 PM
Justin out for a while with the injury he picked up v Antrim - for the rest of the league at least.

The team seems to be relatively settled apart from the FB line. I wonder if Ricey will revert to CB when Jordan is up to speed again. Throw in Justy and there might just be one spot up for grabs in the other corner. With Joe, Enda and Brian Dooher still to factor later on Mickey has some job leaving out anyone listed there from 4-15.

Post by: Aaron Boone on March 31, 2011, 09:25:23 PM
A settled Tyrone midfield is also good news:
8    Kevin Hughes       
9    Aidan Cassidy       
Post by: ONeill on March 31, 2011, 09:27:13 PM
Peter Harte and Niall McKenna will also keep the first fifteen on their toes.
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 31, 2011, 09:30:35 PM
If Coney would keep it simple he could be a serious option to. Has got his hands on a lot of ball in last couple of u21 game and knocked over a few cracking points. Would imagine he's more likely to make it at this stage than McKenna.
Post by: ONeill on March 31, 2011, 09:32:57 PM
Can the Kildare men give us a run down on the Kildare FF line? I suppose we know what Doyle is all about - might suit Joe McMahon. What can we expect from Flynn and Kelly?
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 31, 2011, 09:54:10 PM
Suprised you are not aware of Daryl Flynn - he was one of the stand out midfielders in Ireland last year and probably Kildare's player of the year, expect him to start in midfield if not he'll probably move there at some stage. Rob Kelly is a star in the making - missed most of last season through injury although made an appearance in the AI semi, it was his shot at the death that almost won it for Kildare, good pace for a big man and an excellent ball winner, he's very comfortable on the ball. Played very well for UCD in the Sigerson this year and was Kildare's best player against Meath. Like most players these days two footed, would like to see be more aggressive and work a little harder off the ball. 
Post by: ONeill on March 31, 2011, 09:59:42 PM
What I mean is Flynn at FF - what does he offer there if he stays?
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 31, 2011, 10:21:23 PM
I don't think he offers a whole lot expect ball winning ability, he looks uncomfortable in there and his temperament is not suited to full forward,  just can't see him staying in there to be honest.
Post by: loughshore lad on March 31, 2011, 10:39:27 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 31, 2011, 04:32:44 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on March 31, 2011, 04:14:02 PM
a proper stopper is what I like at chb
kildare have enough on the wings if the other two lads are fit and allow flanagan to man the house.
Dinny - kildare out puked the red arses last year - that kind of cynicism while not for the purists was exactly what I'd love Derry to do - plus kildares forwards love that kind of room to run at defenses - kind of the same tactic as Dublin use though kildare use three/four as opposed to the Dubs 2.

Sure they did it for 2 years under the previous manager and were still not up to it  ;D
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 31, 2011, 11:46:35 PM
I find it hard to believe that's the Kildare team that will start. If Flynn does play at full-forward it's confirmation that Kildare couldn't care less about promotion.

I'd expect him to start at midfield with either Jimmers or Smithy coming into the forwards. Tomás Moolick is a fine prospect but he's very raw at this level and I think this could be a bit too soon for him. I've a hunch that McGeeney wanted to ease Flynner back in after his suspension (a smart move to keep him out of trouble in two keenly contested local derbys) and wanted a better look at Paudie, Moolick and Hughie Lynch. If Kildare were going gung-ho for promotion, the logical selection would have been Flynner and Roli midfield, with Paudie in the half-forwards. Morgan Flats will probably start in place of Flanagan with Chalky going to the centre. Leper is still struggling with his knock and should be kept in reserve.

Looking forward to see how Rob Kelly gets on against Tyrone. He won't get the space he was afforded against Meath and Laois. He reminds me a lot of Karl O'Dwyer. He's not the quickest but he is brilliant at making space for himself and he is very accurate off both feet.
Post by: Fuzzman on April 01, 2011, 11:45:01 AM
Yes that Tyrone team has got a strong settled look about it and with McGinley, Dooher, Justy, Jordan/Katie Price pushing to get in the team along with the U21 lads I think things are shaping up rightly.
It will be interesting to see who Mickey springs from the bench if we're not winning come the 2nd half.
Will he turn to his youth or his older wiser heads

I wonder does Joey worry that he needs to be careful he doesn't make that position his own now and is Justy praying he will.
Post by: rrhf on April 01, 2011, 01:23:58 PM
Its a thumbs up from me!
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 01, 2011, 02:45:37 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 31, 2011, 06:33:28 PM
LB, Flanagan was imho our poorest performing back last year when his pace, positioning and distribution was all questionable from game to game. And reports are he has regressed even more this year, I liked to see O'Callaghan there myself personally.
We certainly aren't at the same standard as in the championship last year but we have improved in the league with a point more with 2 games left this year compared to the 7 games last year. McGeeney's approach has been all about improving step by step and we generally have a good record against Ulster sides and I think we perform better away from the confined spaces of Newbridge. Sunday will be tight but I fancy Kildare to get something out of it, very little pressure on us.
yes Dinny- when he was played (imo) out of position on the wing - he should be in th emiddle and have bolton on the wing
imo
until I see the team list, i'll not know for certai, but youd better hope that Kildare have replaced at least 7 of their team that faced Derry - not up to it (yet at least)
Post by: cadhlancian on April 01, 2011, 08:55:51 PM
A settled looking team all right, but what does that mean? There is definetly a distinct lack of pace in the half back line.
Post by: loughshore lad on April 01, 2011, 09:04:20 PM
Quote from: cadhlancian on April 01, 2011, 08:55:51 PM
A settled looking team all right, but what does that mean? There is definetly a distinct lack of pace in the half back line.

Good point.

The team was relatively settled last year and like 2009 came up short.  The U21's are obviously not available and you would hope a few of them will maybe push on and give serious options as the year progresses.
Post by: ONeill on April 01, 2011, 09:10:39 PM
Peter Harte could give Davy a run for his money this year. His pace would be welcome too.
Post by: loughshore lad on April 01, 2011, 09:14:53 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 01, 2011, 09:10:39 PM
Peter Harte could give Davy a run for his money this year. His pace would be welcome too.

Yes he could, his pace would be most welcome.  Fine player.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 01, 2011, 09:25:41 PM
I'd say that there are about 5 or 6 of the U21s that could push the more established players this year, with genuine shouts for full Senior inclusion - no bad thing at all.
Post by: ONeill on April 01, 2011, 09:44:44 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 01, 2011, 09:25:41 PM
I'd say that there are about 5 or 6 of the U21s that could push the more established players this year, with genuine shouts for full Senior inclusion - no bad thing at all.

I think that's generous. Can really only see Harte being anywhere near that level.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 01, 2011, 10:07:54 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 01, 2011, 09:44:44 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 01, 2011, 09:25:41 PM

I think that's generous. Can really only see Harte being anywhere near that level.

And I think that's mean, ya curmudgeon ya!  ;)

Peter Harte a certainty, Niall Mc Kenna for another, and if the likes of Coney, Girvan, Mc Niece, and one or two more can scale the senior peak before the Championship is out you never know (always assuming they make the panel, of course).
Post by: ONeill on April 01, 2011, 10:28:49 PM
I know what you're saying but when I look at the senior forward options - Colm, Sean, Brian McG, Brian Dooher, Penrose, O'Neill, Mulligan, maybe Tommy McG, Joe McM and Enda McG and I don't see Coney et al being anywhere near breathing down their collective neck. But sure I'm a pessimistic hoor as you well know.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 01, 2011, 11:42:59 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 01, 2011, 10:28:49 PM
But sure I'm a pessimistic hoor as you well know.

I'll concede that much  ;)

Somewhere in the middle no doubt!
Post by: loughshore lad on April 02, 2011, 08:07:39 AM
Quote from: ONeill on April 01, 2011, 10:28:49 PM
I know what you're saying but when I look at the senior forward options - Colm, Sean, Brian McG, Brian Dooher, Penrose, O'Neill, Mulligan, maybe Tommy McG, Joe McM and Enda McG and I don't see Coney et al being anywhere near breathing down their collective neck. But sure I'm a pessimistic hoor as you well know.

In one way I can see the merit in what you are saying RE Kyle but to be fair to the lad he hasn't exactly got much of a chance to show if he is up to the level or not.  He would be a better scorer from distance than any of the players mentioned above, which has to be a consideration against the likes of Cork and Dublin who I would think will be there at the business end, and more likely to get on the score sheet than all those listed bar mugsy, O'Neill and Penrose.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 02, 2011, 01:57:49 PM
I think you're right Loughshorelad. Scoring from distance is key in the modern game. All teams have cottoned onto Tyrone's strategy of freeing up the middle channel around the 'D' to allow the option for high percentage scores. These areas are now packed and, as like Dublin last year, when we were forced to take on the more difficult shots we were let down a bagfull by wayward shooting.

This is were Kyle could be a saviour as we've all seen his incredible abilitiy to score magnificent long range scores. No matter how well you organise your defense it's almost impossible to prevent a skillful forward from scoring out round the '40. I have my fingers crosSed that he'll get a good run in the u-21's as he appears to be a lad who thrives on confidence, much like SoN. Wouldn't itnbe great to see Kyle throwing them over for the seniors like he did against Meath in the 2nd half in the minor semi final in 08.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on April 02, 2011, 03:23:34 PM
Quote from: loughshore lad on April 01, 2011, 09:04:20 PM
Quote from: cadhlancian on April 01, 2011, 08:55:51 PM

Good point.

The team was relatively settled last year and like 2009 came up short.  The U21's are obviously not available and you would hope a few of them will maybe push on and give serious options as the year progresses.

I share these concerns. It is a settled looking team and it's full of excellent players and packed with experience. It is however as loughshore lad much the settled team that fell short over the past two summers. I sometimes think we make too much of the players being veterans - yes the 97/98 minors have a lot of miles on the clock but they are only 30/31 and have a lot to give - but I do feel we need to add more youth and have a better all round balance.

I don't agree that only Petey Harte of the 2008 team is ready to step up either, there are a few more there who need games with the seniors and if they get them will improve the panel. If we think back to the start of the last decade loads of the 97/98 minors were already established on the senior panel within the next 2 or 3 years. I'm sure giving them that experience early on and putting faith in them helped their development enormously. I do worry we failed to bring on the 2004 talent as we could have and might be in danger of doing the same thing with the 2008 boys. Tyrone have a great opportunity here to fuse the experienced lads of the past few years with the best of this new generation, need to ensure we don't miss the boat with that. I'm still hopeful Mickey will bring a few more lads through before the season is out. For what it's worth I would have liked to have seen Coney in the league games already,potentially he brings more of a scoring threat than anybody on the senior team bar SON.
Title: Cluiche
Post by: drici on April 02, 2011, 05:49:25 PM
Tyrone v Kildare
2-30pm   Dungannon
David Coldrick
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on April 02, 2011, 05:56:04 PM
Where's the pitch in Dungannon lads?

Presume the best route from the south is to turn off at Newry and go via Armagh city
Post by: Gaffer on April 02, 2011, 06:21:15 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on April 02, 2011, 05:56:04 PM

Presume the best route from the south is to turn off at Newry and go via Armagh city

Thats right and head onto Moy then Dungannon. Best thing I can say then is as you head into Dungannon the pitch is in a north west direction. Point your car in that direction and you ll pick up the traffic for the  match. Not a big town so you ll have little bother
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on April 02, 2011, 06:23:28 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on April 02, 2011, 06:21:15 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on April 02, 2011, 05:56:04 PM

Thats right and head onto Moy then Dungannon. Best thing I can say then is as you head into Dungannon the pitch is in a north west direction. Point your car in that direction and you ll pick up the traffic for the  match. Not a big town so you ll have little bother

Thank you sir
Post by: ExiledGael on April 02, 2011, 09:10:50 PM
Where exactly is the pitch in Dungannon, know the bus depot and Stangmore Park on the road to Belfast? Where do I go from either of these?
Post by: Cde on April 02, 2011, 09:13:48 PM
http://www.tyronegaa.ie/club/club-locator/
Post by: hassletravel on April 02, 2011, 11:35:17 PM
Hopefully there is a minutes silence tmw for young Kerr, I'm sure it'll get the respect it deserves
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 03, 2011, 12:51:54 PM
Hard to get excited about this game now but hopefully both sides put on a good performance and football is the winner.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 03, 2011, 01:39:41 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 03, 2011, 12:51:54 PM
Hard to get excited about this game now but hopefully both sides put on a good performance and football is the winner.

Hear hear Dinny. Puts things into perspective. It pains me to think the scum who killed young Ronan are free to go about their lives and Ronan can no longer enjoy things like going to the football. So sad.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 03, 2011, 02:37:25 PM
Tyrone one point up, penrose free.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 03, 2011, 02:39:22 PM
Tyrone 0-2 to 0-0 b mc guigan from play
Post by: omagh_gael on April 03, 2011, 02:42:15 PM
Still 2 up. SoN didn't start, Mark Donnelly in FF.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 03, 2011, 03:07:24 PM
Tyrone now up 8 to 3
Post by: Siggy on April 03, 2011, 03:13:20 PM
Thanks for the updates OG.
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 03, 2011, 03:15:52 PM
Quote from: hassletravel on April 02, 2011, 11:35:17 PM
Hopefully there is a minutes silence tmw for young Kerr, I'm sure it'll get the respect it deserves

Was there a min's silence?
Post by: Rois on April 03, 2011, 03:17:14 PM
Penrose on fire but has to be, six is min we need with the strength of the wind.

9-3 at half time

Yes
Post by: Mid Down Gael on April 03, 2011, 03:19:10 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on April 03, 2011, 03:15:52 PM

Yes.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 03, 2011, 03:33:10 PM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on April 03, 2011, 03:19:10 PM

Yes.

Fair play.

Tyrone now 10 - 3 up
Post by: omagh_gael on April 03, 2011, 03:40:42 PM
11- 3 now donnelly from play
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 03, 2011, 03:54:47 PM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on April 03, 2011, 03:19:10 PM

Yes.

Good.
Post by: bigfrank on April 03, 2011, 03:55:14 PM
BRIAN DOOHER is on the field and there's a huge roar from the O'Neill Park stand as Brian gets into position to launch his 16th season with the Tyrone seniors
Post by: Fuzzman on April 03, 2011, 03:57:17 PM
great news. Who got the other points?
Post by: bigfrank on April 03, 2011, 03:58:25 PM
more good news :)

There's a great reception for Philip Jordan as the Moy man enters the fray in place of Damian McCaul for his first taste of intercounty football in 2011. It's great to have the three times All-Star back in action today
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 03, 2011, 04:10:13 PM
14 to 5.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 03, 2011, 04:12:08 PM
This will be a good help to our score difference. Could be doing with a Derry defeat but they look to have Meath beat.
Post by: Siggy on April 03, 2011, 04:12:35 PM
Tyrone are moving along nicely now.

Post by: FairyWaterDuke on April 03, 2011, 04:23:10 PM
Donegal look to be promoted.

8 points  - Derry have +24 difference
8 points -  Tyrone have +16 difference

Antrim vs Derry
Meath vs Tyrone

Do Tyrone now have a chance of promotion?
Post by: The Boy Wonder on April 03, 2011, 04:31:34 PM

No. Derry will beat Antrim and get promoted, no matter what Tyrone do. Derry win the head to head.

But if Laois beat Donegal they would scupper Derry's chances.
Post by: Fuzzman on April 03, 2011, 04:31:51 PM
Was it as one sided as the score suggests? How did the full back line and MF do?
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 03, 2011, 04:33:17 PM
Head-to-head is silly, that Derry-Tyrone game was at the start of Feb.
Post by: Rois on April 03, 2011, 04:41:23 PM
Fuzz, Joe didn't put a foot wrong and for me was MOTM, well, with Penrose but no prolific scoring in second half. Kildare missed easy frees. Gormley good also despite Johnny Doyle's best attempts to get the better of him. Swift - meh.
Happy with that performance.
Kildare were so poor though.
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 03, 2011, 04:59:20 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 03, 2011, 04:39:54 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on April 03, 2011, 04:33:17 PM
Head-to-head is silly, that Derry-Tyrone game was at the start of Feb.
And what?
Aye, sure it was so long ago, let's forget about who won and give them a point each.

+/- points diff is logical and easy to work out.
Read the other threads right now to see posters getting confused on when more than two teams finish level.

Post by: Aaron Boone on April 03, 2011, 05:05:39 PM
Ok.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 03, 2011, 05:06:51 PM
Team   P   W   D   L   F   A   +/-   Pts
1   Donegal   6   4   2   0   6-79   5-54   28   10
2   Laois   6   4   0   2   5-83   6-61   19   8
3   Tyrone   6   4   0   2   4-75   3-63   15   8
4   Derry   6   4   0   2   5-72   6-79   -10   8
5   Kildare   6   3   1   2   4-65   2-68   3   7
6   Sligo   6   1   1   4   5-71   7-74   -9   3
7   Meath   6   1   0   5   6-63   3-83   -11   2
8   Antrim   6   1   0   5   3-65   6-91   -35   2

the above info re score dif on this thread is wrong, here is the div 2 table as it stands.

We need ourselves, Derry and Laois to win our last games and hope we better Laois' result by four points.

Correct?
Post by: Dont Matter on April 03, 2011, 05:12:28 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 03, 2011, 05:06:51 PM

the above info re score dif on this thread is wrong, here is the div 2 table as it stands.

We need ourselves, Derry and Laois to win our last games and hope we better Laois' result by four points.

Correct?

No, if Donegal beat Laois, all you have to do is beat Meath unless Derry win by 30 points or something.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 03, 2011, 05:23:25 PM
If Donegal beat laois then it doesn't matter if Derry win by 1 point or 30. If we both finish on 10 points then they go up as it's head to head if two teams finish level.
Post by: Dont Matter on April 03, 2011, 05:26:47 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 03, 2011, 05:23:25 PM
If Donegal beat laois then it doesn't matter if Derry win by 1 point or 30. If we both finish on 10 points then they go up as it's head to head if two teams finish level.

Yes you are right. Jaysus this is confusing.
Post by: Jinxy on April 03, 2011, 05:26:59 PM
You forgot to carry the 1.
Post by: Redhand Santa on April 03, 2011, 05:27:42 PM

Correct?

More or less or for Derry to drop a point(s) and Laois not to win. Chances of Derry not beating Antrim are close to nil so basically Tyrone need Laois to win but not by much.
Post by: Redhand Santa on April 03, 2011, 05:28:58 PM
Head to head is unfair. I'm sure if you look at the league the home team is statistically more lilkely to win.
Post by: cadhlancian on April 03, 2011, 05:35:36 PM
Lads, FFS! Any chance of a "half decent report on the game" , or do you all just wanna talk shite and argue about nothing?? ;)
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 03, 2011, 06:03:21 PM
Nothing to see here, move along.
Post by: Jinxy on April 03, 2011, 06:08:34 PM
Quote from: cadhlancian on April 03, 2011, 05:35:36 PM
Lads, FFS! Any chance of a "half decent report on the game" , or do you all just wanna talk shite and argue about nothing?? ;)

I think you've got your answer.
Post by: Cde on April 03, 2011, 06:13:23 PM
http://www.teamtalkmag.com/?p=3907
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 03, 2011, 06:22:01 PM
Not at game but listened to McGeeney's post-match interview after the game and in his own words it was Kildare's worst performance under him, and considering the defeat to Wicklow 3 years ago and the Laois and Down games in the league last year that is saying something. To paraphrase we lacked urgency, direction, poor free taking and our tackling was too high and stupid, Tyrone he said were an a good side with some of the best forwards in the country but we just made it easy for them today. He was not a happy bunny but when a team is a lethargic as he describes you have to look at the training and the mental preparation, not for the first time Kildare got it wrong.
Post by: trileacman on April 03, 2011, 06:29:12 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on April 03, 2011, 05:27:42 PM

Correct?

More or less or for Derry to drop a point(s) and Laois not to win. Chances of Derry not beating Antrim are close to nil so basically Tyrone need Laois to win but not by much.
Or for Laois to win by 5 and we win by 9. Then laois and tyrone go up. what happens if we win by eight? tied with Donegal on points difference.
Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on April 03, 2011, 06:39:03 PM
Can see all 4 teams on 10 points after next weekend-then it's team to get the calculators out
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 03, 2011, 06:45:08 PM
Quote from: Rocky Mc Guigan on April 03, 2011, 06:39:03 PM
Can see all 4 teams on 10 points after next weekend-then it's team to get the calculators out
With draws, Kildare can still mathematically get through.

Noone being mid-table is the 'problem'.
Post by: tyroneman on April 03, 2011, 07:20:29 PM
Was SON injured? Warmed up but never took tracksuit off and looked bit downhearted coming to the sideline at the start.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 03, 2011, 07:45:12 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on April 03, 2011, 04:31:51 PM
Was it as one sided as the score suggests? How did the full back line and MF do?

It was that I'd say Fuzzman, and Kildare didn't score at all in the second half until 2 minutes from the end of normal time (they were on 3 points at half-time) when we eased off.

Thought Conor Gormley was (defence) immense today, as was big Joe, and the rest did adequately.
Post by: tyroneman on April 03, 2011, 08:23:25 PM
Packie - not much to do. Still gives you heartattack when he starts thinking he can play outfield.
Swift - Solid. Gave little away.
Joe - Immense. A Rolls Royce player. Calmness personified.
McCaul - same as swift. Solid.
Ricey - usual shift. Joined in attack as much as possible.
Block - gave Doyle nothing. A world removed from Celtic park.
Davy - excellent. Linked a lot of play always made himself available for a pass.
Cass - improving every game
Hub - another goochesque point. Swivel, hit, over. Good game mixing it in MF
Sean - played well but tendency to carry into trouble. On his game, unmarkable.
Brian - pure class at the heart of everything good about today.
Colm - not great. Handling and decision making suspect. Great point from distance though.
Mugsy - did a lot of work round the pitch smart and effective.
Donnelly - given q chance and took it with both hands brave and busy n
Penrose - great game always showing for ball and linking play. Free taking excellent in difficult conditions
Post by: Club Rossa on April 03, 2011, 08:36:06 PM
Very accurate summary tyroneman.Gormley and McMahon were brilliant today and McGuigan is in great form too.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on April 03, 2011, 09:12:44 PM
Shocking stuff altogether. Tyrone looked really up for it today and Kildare simply didn't want to know. Only Mick Foley can hold his head up.

That beating has been coming down the tracks for a while. Kildare's results have masked what has been a significant decline in performances this year. We're really struggling without Dermot at midfield though that wasn't helped today by Daryl picking up a yellow card for what looked a fair enough hit. He was walking the tightrope after that. Penrose took Mac to the cleaners and he resorted to his bad habits of a few seasons ago in a vain attempt to halt his gallop. Roli, in fairness to him, won a bit of ball and kept showing but I lost count of the number of times he lost it then. Jimmers had his worst game in years and Johnny missed a few shocking frees. Dowling was horsed out of it a few times and Paudie did no better when he came on. Rob Kelly received around two decent passes over the entire seventy minutes. Plenty of issues to address in the next month or so. I'd say Dwyer is already sizing up an ambush from across the Poulaphouca reservoir.

Hard to know how they'll approach the match next week but you'd anticipate some sort of reaction after that rubbish today. I'd start both Conor Brophy and Tomás Connor who were both togged out today and see how they get on. Hopefully Leper will be fit again too - our kickpassing today was dire.

BTW, not to offer this as an excuse for Kildare's abject performance but is that really the second best field in Tyrone? The pitch was in a very poor condition.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 03, 2011, 09:18:01 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on April 03, 2011, 09:12:44 PM
BTW, not to offer this as an excuse for Kildare's abject performance but is that really the second best field in Tyrone? The pitch was in a very poor condition.

No DH, it wouldn't be the second best pitch in the county, but nowhere else would have had the capacity (at such short notice) for the anticipated attendance.
Post by: Redhand Santa on April 03, 2011, 10:29:45 PM
Tyrone certainly look in much better shape than this time last year. A lot of the older players are playing with a new sense of hunger particularly Ricey, Gormley and McGuigan. Cavanagh has also found his form again. The defence was very good today although Kildare looked very poor up front.

There will be tough competition for the championship team, hopefully improved further by the continued development of Coney and Harte. Its also good to have McCaul back and there will be a tough battle for the last spot or 2 in defence. Joe McMahon is a class act and can play anywhere. Thought Swift had a good game today. I've also been critical of Mark Donnelly in the past but this was his best game for Tyrone by some distance.

Still not totally convinced that Hub and Cassidy are the best midfield pairing even though Tyrone did rightly there today. The doom and gloom from February has certainly lifted but there will still be a lot of work to do before the championship.
Post by: Final Whistle on April 03, 2011, 11:33:34 PM
Quote from: bigfrank on April 03, 2011, 03:58:25 PM
more good news :)

There's a great reception for Philip Jordan as the Moy man enters the fray in place of Damian McCaul for his first taste of intercounty football in 2011. It's great to have the three times All-Star back in action today

4 times, just to clarify.

Great to see the team performing so well, february football does not suit our thoroughbreds-September much better.
Post by: rrhf on April 04, 2011, 09:24:19 AM
Good day for the team, things starting to look better.  Their ability particularly around half time to control the ball and the game was at the higest level I have seen for years.  Heres hoping the progress continues.  Will Mc Geeney see the championship?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on April 04, 2011, 10:09:34 AM
Quote from: rrhf on April 04, 2011, 09:24:19 AM
Good day for the team, things starting to look better.  Their ability particularly around half time to control the ball and the game was at the higest level I have seen for years.  Heres hoping the progress continues.  Will Mc Geeney see the championship?

Are you his optician?
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 04, 2011, 10:32:17 AM
QuoteWill Mc Geeney see the championship?

Are you serious? This is Kildare not Athletico Madrid and the our chairman is not Jesus Gill....
Post by: rrhf on April 04, 2011, 11:25:11 AM
Sorry I misinterpretated DH's statement incorrectly about Dwyer sizing up an ambush.... thought it was job related.  Monday slumber. ???
Post by: Lily11 on April 05, 2011, 03:04:07 AM
Fierce disappointing display from us yesterday. Tyrone are a great team but we just didn't show up at all.
Daryl Flynn should be left in the middle of the field and not switched into the forwards all the time.
Our chances of promotion are very slim now but I wouldn't be too bothered about that once we come right for the championship.