Kerry V Tyrone Fodder AISF 23rd August 2015

Started by never kickt a ball, August 02, 2015, 04:58:12 PM

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 19, 2015, 11:12:14 PM
And RTÉ appear to have deleted their tweet!

How sus does that look after all the stuff about RTE dictating terms to the GAA?

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 19, 2015, 11:00:36 PM
As I said on day 1. McCann's dive was ridiculous and stupid, but to trump up a charge of disrepute, on the back of a media backlash, was unfair and inconsistent when viewed against similar incidents.

By all means legislate a proper, retrospective process for dealing with incidents like this, but don't try and parachute a process in, in the middle of the season.

A real lose, lose scenario. McCann was wrong, but the GAA managed to turn him into a martyr and then had to back down.

Can't believe that I completely agree with you!

Only joking. I am glad the ban was overturned, it was completely ridiculous. People need to understand that The Sunday Game is entertainment not to be taken too seriously. Like Vincent Browne, only unlike TSG crew, Browne is clever enough to know he is merely entertainment. The lads think it is real.

Quote from: omaghjoe on August 19, 2015, 11:23:22 PM

How sus does that look after all the stuff about RTE dictating terms to the GAA?

Link please?

Quote from: muppet on August 19, 2015, 11:27:34 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 19, 2015, 11:23:22 PM

Link please?

No link now, the tweet has been deleted -- but @RTEGAA tweeted a good while ago (45 mins) that the ban had been overturned.

Independent tweeted it too, as did Ger Gilroy of Newstalk. Looks like it's premature though, the Tyrone PRO says nothing has been heard yet.

It would be some laugh now if the suspension is upheld. The whole of Tyrone will explode in mass hysteria!

Quote from: yellowcard on August 19, 2015, 11:40:11 PM
It would be some laugh now if the suspension is upheld. The whole of Tyrone will explode in mass hysteria!

I wonder did RTE tweet that fake outcome just to wind us up? O'Rourke is probably at home now, sat back with a glass of brandy, pissing himself laughing!!  :)

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 19, 2015, 11:46:35 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 19, 2015, 11:40:11 PM

I wonder did RTE tweet that fake outcome just to wind us up? O'Rourke is probably at home now, sat back with a glass of brandy, pissing himself laughing!!  :)

RTE should be done for simulation!

And then bringing the GAA into disrepute.

And then treason.

And then war crimes.

Because it is important to follow process and retain perspective.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 20, 2015, 01:03:59 AM
Appeal successful, ban overturned. Phew! :)

Are ye sure? Ye deleted your post last time Fear ;)

Quote from: omaghjoe on August 20, 2015, 01:05:22 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 20, 2015, 01:03:59 AM
Appeal successful, ban overturned. Phew! :)

Are ye sure? Ye deleted your post last time Fear ;)

Yep, certain this time (that deleted post was a false confirmation too)! :)

Both Tyrone rescissions correct. At best Meyler banged into Hughes by accident, at worst he modified his run so Hughes would body check him and get a black. Either way he didn't deserve a black card. Was he already on a black card before that he appealed it?

sid waddell

Breaking: Tiernan McCann found innocent after chocolate biscuit mutiny ends GAA disciplinary hearing

Tyrone's Tiernan McCann has finally had his eight week ban for bringing the GAA into disrepute overturned after a dramatic night of events at Croke Park.

The Central Hearings Committee (CHC) finally reached a decision at around 1am, after running out of chocolate digestive biscuits.

Twitter had gone into overdrive nearly three hours previously after rumours of McCann's ban being overturned leaked out, but these reports proved premature, due to what was at that point still a well stocked cupboard.

Mayo's Kevin Keane had much earlier had his red card against Donegal downgraded to a yellow in a decision that took less than 30 seconds, but McCann's hearing was to prove much more lengthy.

"There was no way we were letting that diving Nordie gobshite out of here without making him wait for a long time", said Fintan Crummy, Chairman of the CHC. "The decision was obviously a formality, but there was loads of lovely finger food available and the committee members decided it'd be a sin to let it go to waste. When we polished that off we tucked into the biscuits. They were lovely. Chocolate digestives, not the miserable Irish-made ones now, the proper McVities ones. Great with a pot of tea."

Eyewitnesses said the committee members sat dunking biscuits in tea and laughing at McCann for over three hours while the hearing took place.

At one point McCann asked if he could have a biscuit only to be met with a frosty response from committee Chairman Crummy, followed by loud laughter from the rest of the committee.

"The cheeky bollix actually asked us for a biscuit", said another committee member, on condition of anonymity. "I said to him, "you're bloody lucky you'll be walking out of here a free man tomorrow, and it will be tomorrow, mark my words."

"We could have gone on until tomorrow morning if we had to", continued the committee member. "The lads were all enjoying the biccies immensely. But we ran out of them at about 1am. We did think of sending somebody out to get more, and a couple of packets of fags while we were at it, but the nearest 24 hour shop is way up on Dorset Street, and that's a bit of a trek at this time of night, so we just said, "f**k that, we'll call it a night. Innocent." Twas probably the wise decision, the lads were f**king stuffed, actually."

But Crummy was still upbeat as he left the hearing. "At least the greasy haired bollix will have to drive all the way back to Tyrone in the middle of the night. He won't sleep tonight, that's for sure."