All Ireland Minor Championship 2015

Started by twohands!!!, April 13, 2015, 10:25:38 AM

Quote from: Jinxy on July 28, 2015, 12:23:45 PM
It's every young lads dream to play in Navan.
Ye should put PT on the tourist trail to go with Newgrange and Lough Crew as three prehistoric sites.

Esmarelda

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2015, 08:37:08 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2015, 08:14:40 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 27, 2015, 08:12:29 PM
How many Cavan players will get contract offers from Kildare after the match is the big question.

Will they be prepared to live in Straffon and play the odd game of hurling though?

There's an unopened box of Barry's teabags and an e-toll tag in the appartment. That should seal the deal.
Looks like the recruitment drive had widened its net

http://www.thejournal.ie/walli-ullah-afghan-2241049-Jul2015/

When asked why he was on the side of the road he replied "I just want to play football' . He was immediately locked in a gym with a years supply of protein shakes and pens to draw strange signs on his arm

Longford going well last I heard.
Ft Derry 0-12 Longford 2-4. Only 2 pts for Longford in 2nd half.

Derry win by 2 great 2nd half come back

Our two corner forwards won it for us. It's not often you could say that about a Kildare team. Cavan double marked Hyland and while he was quieter than he was in the Leinster Final he still got 1-3 from play. The focus on Hyland freed up more space for Ciaran Kelly who was faultless from play and from frees.

Cavan were very dogged. The changes they made to their team in the second half seemed to improve them no end. I wonder did they select the wrong team to start with considering the positive impact some of their subs had? They exposed us on several occasions but I felt we showed a bit more quality and composure in front of the posts. Kildare were rocking after Shay Ryan was black carded and never seemed to be fully in control in the final quarter although maybe that's to be expected with minors. Hopefully their prior experience of Croke Park will stand to them in the semi final.

oakleafgael

Derry made very hard work of Longford today. Hard to know if the sad passing of AD had any effect on them or not but they where very flat in the first half. That said Longford where a limited enough team who got the most out of themselves. Big long ball into there full forward worked them a scrappy goal and then another within a couple of minute left them well up after playing next to no football.

Much better showing in the second half, Glass got a lot more ball and wasted very little. Glad that we got over the line after what has been and continues to be tough times for the county, fair play to the Ballinderry men involved both on the field and the line today. Finally if that's the standard of official served up for an All Ireland Quarter final then things are bad. Clueless doesn't start to cover it.

Quote from: oakleafgael on August 01, 2015, 09:48:03 PM
Derry made very hard work of Longford today. Hard to know if the sad passing of AD had any effect on them or not but they where very flat in the first half. That said Longford where a limited enough team who got the most out of themselves. Big long ball into there full forward worked them a scrappy goal and then another within a couple of minute left them well up after playing next to no football.

Much better showing in the second half, Glass got a lot more ball and wasted very little. Glad that we got over the line after what has been and continues to be tough times for the county, fair play to the Ballinderry men involved both on the field and the line today. Finally if that's the standard of official served up for an All Ireland Quarter final then things are bad. Clueless doesn't start to cover it.
Yeah, they usually blood newer county referees in the minor

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 01, 2015, 08:55:57 PM
Our two corner forwards won it for us. It's not often you could say that about a Kildare team. Cavan double marked Hyland and while he was quieter than he was in the Leinster Final he still got 1-3 from play. The focus on Hyland freed up more space for Ciaran Kelly who was faultless from play and from frees.

Cavan were very dogged. The changes they made to their team in the second half seemed to improve them no end. I wonder did they select the wrong team to start with considering the positive impact some of their subs had? They exposed us on several occasions but I felt we showed a bit more quality and composure in front of the posts. Kildare were rocking after Shay Ryan was black carded and never seemed to be fully in control in the final quarter although maybe that's to be expected with minors. Hopefully their prior experience of Croke Park will stand to them in the semi final.
What was the final score?
Was it just the 2 games on Saturday?

The Insider

That referee has been around for a few years now, had to be escorted off the pitch in Kiltoom by Shane Curran following a Connaught club championship game 3 or 4 years ago . We felt we had as much cause for complaint as Derry but the weather conditions caused trouble for both sets of players and referee . A previous poster was harsh on us saying we were limited , perhaps he should do a little bit of research on us . 7 teams play 15 a side , 7 play 13 a side totals 196 players starting minor .Take out 15 and 16 year old's playing for around 10 of those teams we have a pool of around 100 to pick from . We lost 2 of the starting team that beat Meath in the Leinster semi to injury as well of not having 1 of last years starters  all year because of injury as well yet we were 4 minutes away from causing a huge shock . Both sets of players should be congratulated for leaving everything on the pitch . In the end the best team won . The way both teams supporters and families mixed on the pitch following the final whistle was testament to the efforts of both sets of players . We have the smallest pick in Leinster but have constantly over achieved in both minor and U-21 by not feeling sorry for ourselves and playing with pride in the jersey

PW Nally

Quote from: The Insider on August 02, 2015, 11:54:09 AM
That referee has been around for a few years now, had to be escorted off the pitch in Kiltoom by Shane Curran following a Connaught club championship game 3 or 4 years ago . We felt we had as much cause for complaint as Derry but the weather conditions caused trouble for both sets of players and referee . A previous poster was harsh on us saying we were limited , perhaps he should do a little bit of research on us . 7 teams play 15 a side , 7 play 13 a side totals 196 players starting minor .Take out 15 and 16 year old's playing for around 10 of those teams we have a pool of around 100 to pick from . We lost 2 of the starting team that beat Meath in the Leinster semi to injury as well of not having 1 of last years starters  all year because of injury as well yet we were 4 minutes away from causing a huge shock . Both sets of players should be congratulated for leaving everything on the pitch . In the end the best team won . The way both teams supporters and families mixed on the pitch following the final whistle was testament to the efforts of both sets of players . We have the smallest pick in Leinster but have constantly over achieved in both minor and U-21 by not feeling sorry for ourselves and playing with pride in the jersey

Good post.

Quote from: The Insider on August 02, 2015, 11:54:09 AM
talk about a list of excuses!
only joking. fair play to Longford