Another Bandwagon To Jump On

Started by ludermor, January 19, 2010, 11:21:17 AM

http://www.rte.ie/sport/tennis/2010/0119/sorensenl_australianm.html

Louk Sorensen became the first Irishman to win a grand slam match in 25 years when he defeated Yen-Hsun Lu in the first-round of the Australian Open

Archie Mitchell

Remember his father - Sean Sorensen. Decent player himself and I seem to recall him giving McEnroe a game in the early 80's

dublinfella

So rather than congratulate an Irish sportsman on a great acheievement, your line is that its a bandwagon in train.

How bizarre.

Not often I'd agree with dublinfella here, but ludermore I don't know the point you're trying to make here.

Congratulations Louk.

Dakota

Quote from: Archie Mitchell on January 19, 2010, 11:26:45 AM
Good Irish name too.

Do you have to have a Irish name to be a proper Irish man?

Silky

Ziggysego is hardly a "good Irish name"? Neither is Dakota.

Sure Sorensen is Irish isn't it - from our Scandanavian ancestors?

Quote from: Silky on January 19, 2010, 01:36:16 PM
Ziggysego is hardly a "good Irish name"? Neither is Dakota.

You seem to be under the illusion that my name is actually ziggysego

Quote from: ziggysego on January 19, 2010, 11:40:58 AM
Not often I'd agree with dublinfella here, but ludermore I don't know the point you're trying to make here.

Congratulations Louk.
Im just saying that there will be a bandwagon following his great achievement in winning this game and ill be happy to jump on it ( as i was with the cricket team). Of course im glad he won as i am generally when all irish sportspeople win.

It's just about as racist an attitude as you can get, to question somebody's nationality based on their name. Chilling and smacks of nazi-type racial purity ideology.

the colonel

what a ridiculous thread, fair play to the guy. whats the problem? i doubt there will be a bandwagon as he will more than likely get beat in next round
the difference between success and failure is energy

Quote from: Hardy on January 19, 2010, 01:44:12 PM
It's just about as racist an attitude as you can get, to question somebody's nationality based on their name. Chilling and smacks of nazi-type racial purity ideology.

Reminds me of the slagging some fella from Wicklow or Kildare got. He wasn't really Irish because his name was very colonial/English. This despite the fact that he's slogging away in muck and shite to represent his county.