GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: T O Hare on December 11, 2008, 01:48:51 PM

Title: Most memorable score
Post by: T O Hare on December 11, 2008, 01:48:51 PM
On viewing the score of 2008 it got me thinking on what is your most memorable score from a gaelic match.. Recently for me it has to be Benny Coulters punched goal in the replay match with Tyrone this year!!! The buzz it generated was unreal!!!!!!
Title: Re: Most memorable score
Post by: Dinny Breen on December 11, 2008, 02:05:20 PM
Brian Murphy's goal for Kildare against Meath in 98'

and this is one of my favourites

Maurice Fitzgearld against Dublin in 2004

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=oVyrlUef8oQ (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=oVyrlUef8oQ)
Post by: Yes I Would on December 11, 2008, 02:42:20 PM
Wee James' point against An Doire 94 was a majestic score under pressure in the fiercest of games.
Also the score in the 98 final instigated by Michael Donnellan and finished by Sean Og i always rememeber as a beauty due to its fluidity and simplicity.
Post by: thebandit on December 11, 2008, 02:51:21 PM
Armagh - Oisín's goal in AIF 2002, fisted point v Dubs 2002, second goal v Down in 1999. Marsden's point v Derry 1998. John Mac x 2 v Dublin in 03. Houlie shaking the wire!

Monaghan - Tommy's goal v Tyrone in 2006, Mark Ward's own point v Meath in 2005! Locky's goal in Ballybofey in 1995, Stephen McGinnitty's double in Blayney in 1993 and of course...... Eamon McEneaney's point v Kerry in 1985
Post by: thejuice on December 11, 2008, 02:56:15 PM
That goal by Brian Murphy was a heartbreaker.

My most memorable score, well there's been too many to name one.

Ollie Murphy's goal to clutch a draw against Westmeath 2001

Graham Geraghty's goals against Tyrone in 1996 and 2007

Kevin Foleys Goal against the Dubs 1991 followed by Beggy's rocket.

The equalising point by possibly Tommy Dowd against Dulbin 1991(3rd game)

Brendan Reilly's winning point against Mayo in 1996

Colm Coyles tying score against Mayo in 1996

John McDermotts goal against Kerry 2001

Cian Wards points against Dublin in 2007

Jody's Divine interventions against Kildare 1997

Liam Hayes giving us a glimmer of hope against Down 1991

(non-meath scores)

Kevin Brodericks point against Kilkenny 2001
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=B9HyF9tDaJQ

Paul Flynns goal gainst Cork 2004

DJ's point against Clare in 2002

Wexfords Goal to win Leinster Vs Kilkenny 2004

Wexford Rory McCarthy's goal agasnst Galway 1996

Sean Cavanaghs goal against Meath 2007

Peter Canavans goal against Kerry 2005

Ciaran McDonalds point against the Dubs 2006

Of course who could forget this wonder point against Locmacrory:

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=w4rZW1Ht9Qs&eurl=http://www.rogercasementscov.co.uk/vids.htm&feature=player_embedded
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on December 11, 2008, 02:59:36 PM
Deccie Meehan's goal v Kerry in the replayed 2000 final.  It was as good as it got on the day from a Galway perspective  :-\
Post by: nrico2006 on December 11, 2008, 02:59:50 PM
Was that Fitz point not in 2001?  Great all the same no matter what the year.

My favourites are still Mulligans goals aginst Dublin in 2005, the first games was the best score I have ever seen and the second was so important as it quashed the Dubs comeback - his celebration will forever live in the memory.

Post by: T O Hare on December 11, 2008, 03:02:59 PM
My most memorable club score was this last minute goal by Ronan Sexton to keep the bridge in the championship last year, we were three points up with time virtually up.. Martin Cole had a chance for a point and it was blocked.. watch it here, pure magic 
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=J3SJevdrZ8U

Title: Most memorable score - A Sligo take
Post by: magpie seanie on December 11, 2008, 03:11:14 PM
O'Hara's goal v. Galway in 2007.

Sloyan's goal, celebration and bump off the 'keeper v. Tyrone in 2002.

Phillip Neary's goal v. Roscommon in 1997 in Markievicz. Always stays with me that one.
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 11, 2008, 03:14:42 PM
Jason Reillys goal in the '97 Ulster Final.
Post by: corn02 on December 11, 2008, 03:38:46 PM
For Armagh: Oisins, obviously, in 02.

Holywood against Fermanagh.

Paddy McKeever's goal aginst Donegal in Ballybofey 1999.

McEntee's daisy-cutter and Barry Duffy's slice against Tyrone in 02.

Marsden's point just before half-time in 02 final.
Post by: furboot on December 11, 2008, 03:49:06 PM
Here's 3 to savour on video clips...

B Dooher for Tyrone v Kerry in 2008 Final
http://www.dvdsales.ie/shop/football_final_2008___tyrone_v_kerry.417.1.10302.sports.html (http://www.dvdsales.ie/shop/football_final_2008___tyrone_v_kerry.417.1.10302.sports.html)

C McDonald for Mayo v Dublin 2006 & Alan Brogan in the same match
http://www.dvdsales.ie/shop/2006_football___semi_final_mayo_v_dublin.417.1.10099.sports.html (http://www.dvdsales.ie/shop/2006_football___semi_final_mayo_v_dublin.417.1.10099.sports.html)

Declan Meehan for Galway v Kerry in 200 Final
http://www.dvdsales.ie/shop/2000_all_ireland_football_final_kerry_v_galway.417.1.10024.sports.html (http://www.dvdsales.ie/shop/2000_all_ireland_football_final_kerry_v_galway.417.1.10024.sports.html)

Post by: T Fearon on December 11, 2008, 03:50:09 PM
Tops for me

Oisin's goal in the 2002 Final, the turning point which gave the team and all Armagh fans belief

Paddy Mc Keever's goal in the semi in 2002 V Dublin, scrappiest goal ever but once again it spurred the team on.

Andrew Mc Cann's late lifeline goal in the 2000 drawn semi with Kerry

Both Marsden and Hughes goals in the 1999 semi against Meath.

Cracking thirty yard shot by Fran Mc Mahon into the roof of the net in the NFL Versus Cork in 1982

A couple of majestic long range Jimmy Smyth points against Roscommon in the drawn semi final of 1977. Undoubtedly they lifted the team and spurred a great comeback that day to force a replay.
Post by: full back on December 11, 2008, 03:59:30 PM
Tony might remember this......
Jim Mc Conville's goal against Cork in the 80's
Think it was a league game & Armagh were 2 points down (I think) with time virtually up
I was only a gassun at the time but it really stands out in my mind
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 11, 2008, 05:08:45 PM
What a day...

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=I-R8ZOckJSM (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=I-R8ZOckJSM)
Post by: southderryman on December 11, 2008, 05:14:51 PM
you'll go a long way to find a better score than eamon burns' point against down in 91. best score i've ever seen
Post by: Zapatista on December 11, 2008, 05:15:54 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on December 11, 2008, 02:42:20 PM
Also the score in the 98 final instigated by Michael Donnellan and finished by Sean Og i always rememeber as a beauty due to its fluidity and simplicity.

This was a great score but I don't think it was rare enough to be the most memorable. I have seen countless of scores of this quality I just don't remember them.
Post by: Puckoon on December 11, 2008, 05:22:08 PM
Matty McGleenans fisted goal against Cavan in an ulster championship final (97 I think??)
Sean McLaughlins point that never was - how Ill never forget that one.
Mulligans Goal in 2005 - both of them against the dubs actually.
Post by: mattockranger on December 11, 2008, 07:41:33 PM
Eoin bradley got a goal against down a couple of years ago in a qualifer game against down..majestic!

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 11, 2008, 07:42:42 PM
Quote from: southderryman on December 11, 2008, 05:14:51 PM
you'll go a long way to find a better score than eamon burns' point against down in 91. best score i've ever seen

the solo dummy - then outside of the boot over the black spot?
Post by: mattockranger on December 11, 2008, 07:57:16 PM
this is memorable ;D

1:32 from the kickout!

watch
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wi9ZufwO5tU&NR=1

Post by: Jinxy on December 11, 2008, 08:19:26 PM
Quote from: thebandit on December 11, 2008, 02:51:21 PM
Armagh - Oisín's goal in AIF 2002, fisted point v Dubs 2002, second goal v Down in 1999. Marsden's point v Derry 1998. John Mac x 2 v Dublin in 03. Houlie shaking the wire!

Monaghan - Tommy's goal v Tyrone in 2006, Mark Ward's own point v Meath in 2005! Locky's goal in Ballybofey in 1995, Stephen McGinnitty's double in Blayney in 1993 and of course...... Eamon McEneaney's point v Kerry in 1985

It was a goal.
Post by: tierworker blue on December 11, 2008, 09:19:34 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 11, 2008, 03:14:42 PM
Jason Reillys goal in the '97 Ulster Final.

Ditto! What a day...
Post by: Jinxy on December 11, 2008, 09:22:48 PM
Geraghty never got the credit he deserved for a peach of a goal against Tyrone in '96.
Meath were savage that day!
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on December 11, 2008, 09:30:02 PM
Peter Canavans free with the 2nd last kick of the game to defeat Armagh in 2005. What a perfect way to end the 3 match series between the 2 counties especially after the sending off of Canavan in the Ulster Final. The crying game or whatever it was called from earlier in the year didnt seem so funny then.
Post by: ardal on December 11, 2008, 09:31:21 PM
Fitzy equaliser semi 2001 (?) to go to replay
Post by: tierworker blue on December 11, 2008, 09:32:55 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 11, 2008, 05:22:08 PM
Matty McGleenans fisted goal against Cavan in an ulster championship final (97 I think??)

That was '95. I watched that game from way up in a tree at the corner of the pitch since there were no tickets to be had. There was just meself and me auld lad in blue and about a dozen Tyrone lads. Every time we scored me auld boy shook the tree so hard that a few lads would hit the ground and have to climb back up nursing sore bits! Matty Mc Gleenan put an end to the shaking eventually!
Post by: thebandit on December 11, 2008, 09:38:19 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on December 11, 2008, 08:19:26 PM
Quote from: thebandit on December 11, 2008, 02:51:21 PM

It was a goal.

Tá an ceart agat Jinxy!!!! Some moment..... the conspiracy theory started immediately that it was Charles McCarthy (Father is a prominent Ballybay man and Charles and Paul Finlay are first cousins)
Post by: stew on December 11, 2008, 09:38:41 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on December 11, 2008, 09:30:02 PM
Peter Canavans free with the last kick of the game to defeat Armagh in 2005. What a perfect way to end the 3 match series between the 2 counties especially after the sending off of Canavan in the Ulster Final. The crying game or whatever it was called from earlier in the year didnt seem so funny then.

if thats your idea of a great score you are hard up for great scores. It was never a free to begin with, then the feckin ref moves the ball up to make sure the wee bastid couldnt miss and Tyrone get what they didnt deserve in that game, a win.

:'(

Post by: ONeill on December 11, 2008, 09:39:18 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on December 11, 2008, 09:30:02 PM
Peter Canavans free with the last kick of the game to defeat Armagh in 2005.

If that was a pub-quiz answer you'd get nil points!
Post by: ONeill on December 11, 2008, 09:40:34 PM
Quote from: stew on December 11, 2008, 09:38:41 PM

if thats your idea of a great score you are hard up for great scores. It was never a free to begin with, then the feckin ref moves the ball up to make sure the wee bastid couldnt miss and Tyrone get what they didnt deserve in that game, a win.

1. Memorable score, not great score.
2. The ref didn't move it.
3. It was a free and wasn't disputed.
Post by: southderryman on December 11, 2008, 09:51:08 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on December 11, 2008, 07:42:42 PM

the solo dummy - then outside of the boot over the black spot?

aye thats the one. probably being biased from a derry point of view, but that score really stands out in my mind. i really think if some one like canavan or cooper had scored it we'd have seen it hundreds of times on the tv
Post by: full back on December 11, 2008, 09:53:55 PM
Quote from: full back on December 11, 2008, 03:59:30 PM
Think it was a league game & Armagh were 2 points down (I think) with time virtually up

Anyone remember this or am I away with the fairies, think the game was in Cork ???
Corn & BC would probably be too young to remember
Post by: corn02 on December 11, 2008, 09:57:28 PM
Quote from: full back on December 11, 2008, 09:53:55 PM

Anyone remember this or am I away with the fairies, think the game was in Cork ???

Sorry FB, I'm too young, but BC should be old enough to remember. I came onto the scene when Jimbo was finishing up. Pity he never played when an Armagh team was near the top of the three. The Jim McConville score that sticks out for me was the first score against Westmeath in the 94??? semi-final of the league. I think that was my first match in Croker. It wasn't a memorable score, but I think it was after 1 seconds that made it stand out - Hogan erupted. That fecker ORourke ruined it for us in the final.
Post by: full back on December 11, 2008, 10:05:29 PM
Aye, I know you are too young corn
It was a league game in Cork, not that important but the score stands out in my mind. Think it was a quick free to 'monkey'
Maybe I am making this up ???
Post by: Treasurer on December 11, 2008, 10:52:18 PM
So many to pick from....off the top of my head

Flaherty 1981
Darby 1982
O'connor 1994
Malone 1997
Franks 2008

Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on December 11, 2008, 11:00:04 PM
In hurling a goal by Wexford in the last minute to defeat Kilkenny a few years ago in a leinster semi has to be up there.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 11, 2008, 11:10:49 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on December 11, 2008, 11:00:04 PM
In hurling a goal by Wexford in the last minute to defeat Kilkenny a few years ago in a leinster semi has to be up there.

Indeed, young Michael Jacob in the 2004 Leinster Hurling Semi-Final, what a score!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 11, 2008, 11:42:21 PM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on December 11, 2008, 02:59:36 PM
Deccie Meehan's goal v Kerry in the replayed 2000 final.  It was as good as it got on the day from a Galway perspective  :-\

As good a goal as I can remember, certainly in an All Ireland final.

From an Armagh point of view, Oisin's goal is the main one. Funny that the "winning score" isn't such a big thing to us because it happened so far from the end (61 minutes or so) that no-one realised its significance at the time.

Geezer's point just after Andy McCann's goal in 2000 is a memorable one because of what it seemed to be. Obviously Maurice Fitz wasn't quite finished.

Quote from: corn02 on December 11, 2008, 09:57:28 PM

Sorry FB, I'm too young, but BC should be old enough to remember. I came onto the scene when Jimbo was finishing up. Pity he never played when an Armagh team was near the top of the three. The Jim McConville score that sticks out for me was the first score against Westmeath in the 94??? semi-final of the league. I think that was my first match in Croker. It wasn't a memorable score, but I think it was after 1 seconds that made it stand out - Hogan erupted. That fecker ORourke ruined it for us in the final.

Was that game not against Laois Corn?
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on December 11, 2008, 11:55:53 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on December 11, 2008, 07:57:16 PM
this is memorable ;D

1:32 from the kickout!

watch
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wi9ZufwO5tU&NR=1

Great goal ;D
Post by: ONeill on December 11, 2008, 11:56:37 PM
The '05 final had some incredible scores.

McGuigan's shimmy in the first half.
Dooher's launcher
Cooper's first
Canavan's Goal
Canavan's point
The O'Neill-Cavanagh-O'Neill-Cavanagh-O'Neill point
Post by: 5 Sams on December 12, 2008, 12:02:26 AM
Mo Fitz on the sideline 50 yards out Cusack Stand side V Mayo in 97...end of competition...genius
Post by: AFS on December 12, 2008, 12:20:00 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 11, 2008, 11:42:21 PM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on December 11, 2008, 02:59:36 PM
Deccie Meehan's goal v Kerry in the replayed 2000 final.  It was as good as it got on the day from a Galway perspective  :-\

As good a goal as I can remember, certainly in an All Ireland final.

From an Armagh point of view, Oisin's goal is the main one. Funny that the "winning score" isn't such a big thing to us because it happened so far from the end (61 minutes or so) that no-one realised its significance at the time.

Geezer's point just after Andy McCann's goal in 2000 is a memorable one because of what it seemed to be. Obviously Maurice Fitz wasn't quite finished.

Quote from: corn02 on December 11, 2008, 09:57:28 PM

Was that game not against Laois Corn?

T'was. I remember it because it the first senior Armagh game I was at in Croker. Think we gave them a good hammering that day, bit like the hammering we got from Meath in the final  :(
Post by: carribbear on December 12, 2008, 12:23:29 AM
Darby's goal 1982 will always be a memorable one as will Sheehy's vs Dublin in 1978

Joe Brolly's late goal vs Donegal in 1998 Ulster final (more for the celebration which is still the standout)

Johnny McGurks point v Dublin in 1993
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 12, 2008, 12:28:10 AM
Quote from: thejuice on December 11, 2008, 02:56:15 PM
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=w4rZW1Ht9Qs&eurl=http://www.rogercasementscov.co.uk/vids.htm&feature=player_embedded

Thanks for sharing that one with us, unmissable!  :D

If Maurice Fitz had had half the work ethic of, say, Brian Dooher, he could well have been the greatest player ever; What he could do with his feet with a ball!

Mulligan's goal against Dublin in the first drawn game in 2005, the most memorable, and what a (perfectly legitimate) goal!  ;D
Post by: carribbear on December 12, 2008, 12:29:18 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 12, 2008, 12:28:10 AM
Mulligan's goal against Dublin in the first drawn game in 2005, the most memorable, and what a (perfectly legitimate) goal!  ;D

*ahem*
Switching hands is perfectly legal ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 12, 2008, 12:43:53 AM
Quote from: carribbear on December 12, 2008, 12:29:18 AM
*ahem*
Switching hands is perfectly legal ;)

Under certain circumstances... yes!  ;)
Post by: J70 on December 12, 2008, 01:16:43 AM
Quote from: carribbear on December 12, 2008, 12:23:29 AM

Joe Brolly's late goal vs Donegal in 1998 Ulster final (more for the celebration which is still the standout)

Bastard! Push in the back by McGonigle on McGinley as well! >:( :)
Post by: J70 on December 12, 2008, 01:32:44 AM
Obviously I have to choose one from the '92 final... Manus Boyle's one with 12 minutes left to put us six points up. Tony Boyle won the ball out on the left wing and released it to Manus in front of the Cusack. With Mick Deegan hanging out of him, he worked his way in a few meters, before hitting a shot from 25m that seemed to take forever to come down before dropping just behind the center of the crossbar. Not the best score of the game, but the reaction of the crowd told the story that we were actually probably going to win this game! That Dublin knocked over a quick three points in the following few minutes before we regained control again (through Manus!) doesn't take away from it... that was the moment.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 12, 2008, 10:24:32 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 11, 2008, 11:10:49 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on December 11, 2008, 11:00:04 PM

Indeed, young Michael Jacob in the 2004 Leinster Hurling Semi-Final, what a score!

Was at that game, best value for money I ever got as a "neutral". Still get a kick out of watching Cody throw himself to the ground when the goal goes in, not much time for the cats me...
Post by: corn02 on December 12, 2008, 10:51:56 AM
Quote from: full back on December 11, 2008, 10:05:29 PM
It was a league game in Cork, not that important but the score stands out in my mind. Think it was a quick free to 'monkey'

Meant to say 13 seconds not 1.
Post by: Teachtaire on December 12, 2008, 10:57:49 AM
Ulster Championship 1986 I think, first round. Micky Darragh shooting into the Motorway goal down the wing in front of the stand. Hits the ball with the inside of the boot from about 50 yards out and it bends for a great point. What made it memorable was that Tyrone were coming into the match as beaten AI finalists from the previous year - I think McCabe missed a sitter that day as well.

Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 12, 2008, 10:59:38 AM
The very first one, not telling where, when or who with, but it was a happy, sticky mess! :P
Post by: corn02 on December 12, 2008, 11:02:25 AM
Quote from: corn02 on December 12, 2008, 10:51:56 AM
Quote from: full back on December 11, 2008, 10:05:29 PM

Meant to say 13 seconds not 1.

Why did I say Westmeath. I think they played Meayh in the other semi before the Laois Armagh match, is that right?
Post by: Drumanee 1 on December 12, 2008, 11:14:24 AM
damien cassidys point against donegal 1993 ulster final,on a water logged pitch dummy handtoe with the right and drives it over with the left,massive score in a massive match.
Post by: timmyot501 on December 12, 2008, 12:02:09 PM
I remember Maurice fitz scoring a peach of a point against Cavan.  Think it was 1997 either in the All-Ireland semi in Croke Park or it may even have been the League match in the polo grounds NY for the 50th anniversary of the 1947 final.  Anyway the way I recall it the ball was rolling out over the end line for a wide ball. Fitzgearld managed to back-heel the ball to keep it in play and proceeded to loop around back onto the field, took the pass back from his colleague and swung over a point with his right foot - Class.
Post by: carribbear on December 12, 2008, 01:28:04 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 12, 2008, 01:16:43 AM
Quote from: carribbear on December 12, 2008, 12:23:29 AM

b**tard! Push in the back by McGonigle on McGinley as well! >:( :)

Sur Geoffrey would never cheat!! :D
Post by: rrhf on December 12, 2008, 02:33:38 PM
They were lads with kilts boyo. 
Post by: AZOffaly on December 12, 2008, 02:47:13 PM
When I think of memorable scores, there are loads, but for different reasons, some good, some bad. Some stand out because of their quality, some because of their importance, and some because they meant very good or very bad, results for Offaly. A by no means exhaustive list.

Quality Scores that stand out.
Maurice Fitz v Dublin in Thurles from the sideline.
Maurice Fitz v Armagh, the goal where he soloed right footed, then scored left footed. Just before his equalising 45.
Owen Mulligan v Dublin, The show and go goal
Mikey Sheehy v Dublin, the chip over Paddy Cullen
John Fenton for Cork v Limerick back in the 80s, a ground stroke from about 50 yards out.

Important Scores that Stand Out.
Canavan's goal v Kerry in 2005
McConville's goal v Kerry in 2002

Offaly involvement scores that stand out
Darby v Kerry
Johnny Dooley's free v Limerick in 94
David Frank's solo and point v Waterford this year
Roy Malone's goal v Meath in the Leinster final 1997
Eamon Taffes goal for Clare in 1995
Johnny Flaherty v Galway in 1981
Mick Lawlor's goal for Laois v Offaly in the draw in 2003
Post by: Uladh on December 12, 2008, 02:54:52 PM
QuoteMaurice Fitz v Armagh, the goal where he soloed right footed, then scored left footed. Just before his equalising 45.

was the goal not in the replay?
Post by: AZOffaly on December 12, 2008, 02:56:49 PM
Possibly Uladh. I thought he scored the goal, and then the 45, but the 45 could have been the previous game.
Post by: Uladh on December 12, 2008, 03:00:09 PM

The 45 you refer to was a free from the edge of the D - awarded "where the ball landed" in the dying seconds when armagh were trying to hang on - by the eminent mr bannon if i'm not mistaken.

sorry to mess up your post chap!
Post by: AZOffaly on December 12, 2008, 03:04:48 PM
Just goes to show you why that score is not memorable, but the goal is :D
Post by: Fuzzman on December 12, 2008, 03:32:13 PM
My Donegal father in law is always raving on about the point Mugsy scored by fisting backwards over his head.
Can anyone remind me who that was against.

Obviously its not a very memorable score but just asking the question anyways
Post by: anglocelt39 on December 12, 2008, 04:15:45 PM
1.Jason Reilly, Clones, Ulster Final 97

2. Diego Maradonas fisted effort V England, world cup 86
Post by: Hardy on December 12, 2008, 04:29:30 PM
For me, the most memorable one is so much more memorable than the others it's in a category of its own. Same as they had to devise a special handicapping system for races Arkle ran in:

Kevin Foley.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on December 12, 2008, 04:36:24 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on December 12, 2008, 03:32:13 PM
My Donegal father in law is always raving on about the point Mugsy scored by fisting backwards over his head.
Can anyone remind me who that was against.

Obviously its not a very memorable score but just asking the question anyways

If memory serves me correct it was in the second half against Kerry in the 2005 final.
Post by: Doire abú on December 12, 2008, 05:27:55 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on December 12, 2008, 04:15:45 PM
1.Jason Reilly, Clones, Ulster Final 97

2. Diego Maradonas fisted effort V England, world cup 86

Couple of other "scores" where memorable that day too.  8) 8)
Post by: cornafean on December 12, 2008, 05:33:33 PM
Damien O'Reilly's fly-kicked point for Cavan v Donegal in Breffni Park 1992.
Roy Malone's goal for Offaly v Meath in 1997
Joe McMahon's goal v Dublin this year.
Kevin Foley v Dublin in 1991.
Post by: boojangles on December 12, 2008, 06:39:58 PM
Quote from: cornafean on December 12, 2008, 05:33:33 PM
Damien O'Reilly's fly-kicked point for Cavan v Donegal in Breffni Park 1992.Roy Malone's goal for Offaly v Meath in 1997
Joe McMahon's goal v Dublin this year.
Kevin Foley v Dublin in 1991.
Ya bet me to it Cornafean. The best score I ever seen.1992,I was 6 in the old terrace in Breifne when it was just a big sand bank.Damien Reilly kicked 2 of the best points Breifne has ever seen that day.The ball was going out over the end-line but some how he got his left boot to it and flicked it over the bar.It won score of the Championship that year.The other one was to take the lead with time up but then Mairtin Beag popped up with his own classic to force a replay.The rest they say is history!!
Could some of Donegal posters please back it up, cos Im suprised nobody else bar Cavan men have mentioned it.
Post by: ExiledGael on December 12, 2008, 09:33:08 PM
Can only be one for the little green men, Brewster All-Ireland quarter-final v Armagh in '04.

Honourable mentions to Barry Owens for his goal this year v Derry in Ulster semi and Sean Doc in Ulster final.
Barring my own county it's Mulligan's goal v the Dubs.
Post by: J70 on December 12, 2008, 11:21:50 PM
Quote from: boojangles on December 12, 2008, 06:39:58 PM
Ya bet me to it Cornafean. The best score I ever seen.1992,I was 6 in the old terrace in Breifne when it was just a big sand bank.Damien Reilly kicked 2 of the best points Breifne has ever seen that day.The ball was going out over the end-line but some how he got his left boot to it and flicked it over the bar.It won score of the Championship that year.The other one was to take the lead with time up but then Mairtin Beag popped up with his own classic to force a replay.The rest they say is history!!
Could some of Donegal posters please back it up, cos Im suprised nobody else bar Cavan men have mentioned it.

Great score all right, as was his equalizer after McHugh scored the 55 yard free against the breeze in stoppage time. That was the closest we came to losing that wonderful year - we were definitely lucky to get out of Breffni with a draw.
Post by: Tyrones own on December 13, 2008, 01:56:54 AM
Mugsy's goal against the Dubs....Personally the best I've ever witnessed
Maurice Fitz's score from the side line
wee Peter putting the Lid on Armagh in the 2005 semi...Fcuk there was massive pressure on that kick
Post by: small white mayoman on December 13, 2008, 09:35:07 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ebIGGboEzyA

Ciaran Mc's 1st point in the 2004 Ai final an absolute beauty about 42's seconds in the clip, one of the few good things that happened that day  :(

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbcEbvRk4BE

His sideline kick against Dublin wasn't bad either about 40seconds in
Post by: small white mayoman on December 13, 2008, 09:42:21 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MIRi87JmIsY

Theres fitzy's point for ye
Post by: wherefromreferee? on December 13, 2008, 03:30:48 PM

Here Here!  Couldnt agree more.
Post by: johnMac on December 14, 2008, 06:56:27 PM
Quote from: small white mayoman on December 13, 2008, 09:35:07 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ebIGGboEzyA

Ciaran Mc's 1st point in the 2004 Ai final an absolute beauty about 42's seconds in the clip, one of the few good things that happened that day  :(

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbcEbvRk4BE

His sideline kick against Dublin wasn't bad either about 40seconds in

check out his point 5.00 in, in the first clip. better score again. look how far out he was. great scores but forgotten cause of how wrong that day went.