GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: omagh_gael on January 25, 2016, 07:34:07 PM

Title: Tyrone v Cavan. 31/01/16. Healy Park, Omagh.
Post by: omagh_gael on January 25, 2016, 07:34:07 PM
Time to move on from the McKenna cup. Great to get a head of steam built up moving into the league and to test out some of the young lads in a decent atmosphere. I have been most impressed by our willingness to keep going to the end and turning over a relatively experienced Derry team twice when it looked like all was lost.

Nearly impossible to call the starting 15 on Sunday. My best guess is:

Morgan
HP McGeary
McNamee
McCrory (is he available?)
Harte
McMahon
T McCann
C Cavanagh
M Donnelly
McAliskey
Meyler
Sludden
McCurry
S Cavanagh
L Brennan

So many options to pick from though.
Title: Re: Tyrone v Cavan. 31/01/16. Healy Park, Omagh.
Post by: Redhand Santa on January 25, 2016, 10:13:30 PM
Lot of decisions to make alright. Likes of hampsey, K McGeary, and Rory Brennan have to be close to starting. A fit Bradley would definitely start. Panel looks a lot stronger than this time last year.
Post by: omagh_gael on January 25, 2016, 10:26:05 PM
What's the latest regarding Bradley's injury? Will it be long before he's ready to go?
Post by: cavanmaniac on January 26, 2016, 09:13:32 AM
I suppose the first day is the only day any team might catch Tyrone on the hop,  but it should be a comfortable start and victory for the home side here.  Cavan will eyeing other more manageable scalps to stay up but it'll be a good learning experience against Tyrone.
Post by: redhandefender on January 26, 2016, 10:19:02 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on January 25, 2016, 07:34:07 PM
Time to move on from the McKenna cup. Great to get a head of steam built up moving into the league and to test out some of the young lads in a decent atmosphere. I have been most impressed by our willingness to keep going to the end and turning over a relatively experienced Derry team twice when it looked like all was lost.

Morgan
HP McGeary
McNamee
Harte
McMahon
T McCann
C Cavanagh
M Donnelly
McAliskey
Meyler
Sludden
McCurry
S Cavanagh
L Brennan

I would doubt mcaliskey will be playing half forward now? has he ever lined out there.

Hopefully he keeps a strong contingent of the new blood in the mix
Post by: Itchy on January 26, 2016, 06:57:47 PM
I might draw the ire of the Tyrone mob when I say Tyrone are nothing special but what they have is a consistent set up, a strong game plan and one or two top class players, especially Sean cavanagh. I think cavanagh will destroy gunner if he plays full forward and that should be enough for a Tyrone win by 5/6 points.
Post by: ONeill on January 26, 2016, 07:19:27 PM
We've nothing against Cavan, have we? 2005 was a long time ago.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2016, 08:23:43 PM

Morgan
HP McGeary
McNamee
Harte
McMahon
T McCann
C Cavanagh
M Donnelly
McAliskey
Meyler
Sludden
McCurry
S Cavanagh
L Brennan

I'd go with

1. Morgan
2. McCrory
3. Hampsey
4. McNamee
5. R Brennan
6. Clarke
7. McCann
8. C Cavanagh
9. R Donnelly
10. Sludden
11. Harte
12. Meyler
13. McCurry
14. M Donnelly
15. McAliskey

I'd be interested to see how Clarke goes as a sweeper in there. I'd have Mattie operating out the middle of the field but leave him inside at stages during the game and see how he gets on. Richie Donnelly really seems to have staked his claim for a midfield spot in the McKenna and O'Fiach Cups.
Post by: tyroneman on January 26, 2016, 08:42:30 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2016, 08:23:43 PM

Morgan
HP McGeary
McNamee
Harte
McMahon
T McCann
C Cavanagh
M Donnelly
McAliskey
Meyler
Sludden
McCurry
S Cavanagh
L Brennan

I'd go with

1. Morgan
2. McCrory
3. Hampsey
4. McNamee
5. R Brennan
6. Clarke
7. McCann
8. C Cavanagh
9. R Donnelly
10. Sludden
11. Harte
12. Meyler
13. McCurry
14. M Donnelly
15. McAliskey

I'd be interested to see how Clarke goes as a sweeper in there. I'd have Mattie operating out the middle of the field but leave him inside at stages during the game and see how he gets on. Richie Donnelly really seems to have staked his claim for a midfield spot in the McKenna and O'Fiach Cups.

No room for Justy or big Sean? Brave call......
Post by: Gaffer on January 26, 2016, 09:49:50 PM
When does Micky trim his beard panel?
Post by: tyroneman on January 26, 2016, 09:57:01 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on January 26, 2016, 09:49:50 PM
When does Micky trim his beard panel?

Harry Og and Quinn dropped so far....
Post by: omagh_gael on January 26, 2016, 10:53:26 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 26, 2016, 07:19:27 PM

There's talk of Gerry Kineevy coming out of retirement to ref it for the craic.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2016, 11:07:41 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on January 26, 2016, 08:42:30 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2016, 08:23:43 PM

Morgan
HP McGeary
McNamee
Harte
McMahon
T McCann
C Cavanagh
M Donnelly
McAliskey
Meyler
Sludden
McCurry
S Cavanagh
L Brennan

I'd go with

1. Morgan
2. McCrory
3. Hampsey
4. McNamee
5. R Brennan
6. Clarke
7. McCann
8. C Cavanagh
9. R Donnelly
10. Sludden
11. Harte
12. Meyler
13. McCurry
14. M Donnelly
15. McAliskey

No room for Justy or big Sean? Brave call......

Cavanagh wasn't involved last week, I think we can afford to do some experimentation throughout the league, it's the best way to gauge the depth we have if we tweak things from game to game.
Post by: BennyCake on January 26, 2016, 11:34:16 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on January 26, 2016, 10:53:26 PM

Sam number 4 then. He handed them the first 2.
Post by: sensethetone on January 27, 2016, 08:13:12 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 26, 2016, 11:34:16 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on January 26, 2016, 10:53:26 PM

Sam number 4 then. He handed them the first 2.
Thanks for all the help Gerry.
Post by: omagh_gael on January 28, 2016, 09:59:12 PM
1 – Michael O'Neill – Cluain Eo – 11 Appearances
2 – Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin – 72 Appearances
3 – Justin McMahon – An Omaigh – 93 Appearances
4 – Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór – 74 Appearances
5 – Niall Sludden – An Droim Mhór – 5 Appearances
6 – Rory Brennan – Trí Leac – 9 Appearances
7 – Tiernan McCann – Coill an Chlochair – 31 Appearances
8 – Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh – 110 Appearances
9 – Matty Donnelly – Trí Leac – 69 Appearances
10 – Cathal McShane – E R Uí Néill – 12 Appearances
11 – Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin – 93 Appearances
12 – Conor Meyler – An Omaigh – 6 Appearances
13 – Lee Brennan – Trí Leac – 3 Appearances
14 – Connor McAliskey – Cluain Eo – 48 Appearances
15 – Ronan O Neill – An Omaigh – 43 Appearances

16 – Niall Morgan – Éadan na dTorc – 45 Appearances
17 – Mark Bradley – Coill an Chlochair – 12 Appearances
18 – Sean Cavanagh – An Mhaigh – 213 Appearances
19 – Conor Clarke – An Omaigh – 46 Appearances
20 – Pádraig Hampsey – Oileán a'Ghuail – 4 Appearances
21 – Hugh Pat McGeary – Cabhán a'Chaortainn – 3 Appearances
22 – Kieran McGeary – Cabhán a'Chaortainn – 4 Appearances
23 – Conall McCann – Coill an Chochair – 15 Appearances
24 – Ronan McNamee – Achadh Uí Aráin – 46 Appearances
25 – Padraig McNulty – Dún Geanainn – 21 Appearances
26 – Barry Tierney – An Omaigh – 28 Appearances

What's the craic with McCarron? How is he available?
Post by: ONeill on January 28, 2016, 10:01:29 PM
McCurry?
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 28, 2016, 10:13:47 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on January 28, 2016, 09:59:12 PM
1 – Michael O'Neill – Cluain Eo – 11 Appearances
2 – Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin – 72 Appearances
3 – Justin McMahon – An Omaigh – 93 Appearances
4 – Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór – 74 Appearances
5 – Niall Sludden – An Droim Mhór – 5 Appearances
6 – Rory Brennan – Trí Leac – 9 Appearances
7 – Tiernan McCann – Coill an Chlochair – 31 Appearances
8 – Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh – 110 Appearances
9 – Matty Donnelly – Trí Leac – 69 Appearances
10 – Cathal McShane – E R Uí Néill – 12 Appearances
11 – Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin – 93 Appearances
12 – Conor Meyler – An Omaigh – 6 Appearances
13 – Lee Brennan – Trí Leac – 3 Appearances
14 – Connor McAliskey – Cluain Eo – 48 Appearances
15 – Ronan O Neill – An Omaigh – 43 Appearances

16 – Niall Morgan – Éadan na dTorc – 45 Appearances
17 – Mark Bradley – Coill an Chlochair – 12 Appearances
18 – Sean Cavanagh – An Mhaigh – 213 Appearances
19 – Conor Clarke – An Omaigh – 46 Appearances
20 – Pádraig Hampsey – Oileán a'Ghuail – 4 Appearances
21 – Hugh Pat McGeary – Cabhán a'Chaortainn – 3 Appearances
22 – Kieran McGeary – Cabhán a'Chaortainn – 4 Appearances
23 – Conall McCann – Coill an Chochair – 15 Appearances
24 – Ronan McNamee – Achadh Uí Aráin – 46 Appearances
25 – Padraig McNulty – Dún Geanainn – 21 Appearances
26 – Barry Tierney – An Omaigh – 28 Appearances

What's the craic with McCarron? How is he available?

I think McKenna Cup bans only apply to McKenna Cup. I remember Gearoid McKiernan's ban for his verbal exchnage with Drew Wylie last year only applied to McKenna Cup games.
Post by: rrhf on January 29, 2016, 12:15:23 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 28, 2016, 10:01:29 PM
McCurry?
Mcdropped?
Post by: WT4E on January 29, 2016, 12:31:44 AM
That has to be the most ginger half forward line of all time!!!!
Post by: tyroneman on January 29, 2016, 08:11:25 AM
Quote from: rrhf on January 29, 2016, 12:15:23 AM
McCurry?
Mcdropped?

Couldn't see mcCurry being dropped out of the panel altogether. Must be injured. 
Post by: sensethetone on January 29, 2016, 08:24:04 AM
Good enough team.
Post by: The Trap on January 29, 2016, 10:32:35 AM
I wonder if a lad from another club missed the McKenna Cup final for a sking trip would he get straight back in the team?
Post by: The Trap on January 29, 2016, 10:33:40 AM
I wonder if a lad from another club missed the McKenna Cup final for a skiing trip would he get straight back in the team?
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 29, 2016, 10:38:21 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on January 29, 2016, 08:11:25 AM
Quote from: rrhf on January 29, 2016, 12:15:23 AM
McCurry?
Mcdropped?

Couldn't see mcCurry being dropped out of the panel altogether. Must be injured.
Richie Donnelly not listed either. I would presume they are both injured
Post by: Redhand Santa on January 29, 2016, 10:39:33 AM
Quote from: The Trap on January 29, 2016, 10:33:40 AM
I wonder if a lad from another club missed the McKenna Cup final for a skiing trip would he get straight back in the team?

Like Tiarnan McCann for example going to Australia and then getting straight back on the team? He's not from Errigal. Pretty sure there's been other examples of seniors players over the years as well.
Post by: WT4E on January 29, 2016, 10:42:37 AM
Quote from: The Trap on January 29, 2016, 10:32:35 AM
I wonder if a lad from another club missed the McKenna Cup final for a sking trip would he get straight back in the team?

I can't for the life of me see what Harte sees in McCrory - he's not a bad player but I don't think hes even close to being in top 6 defenders in the county!
Post by: Gaafan2 on January 29, 2016, 11:02:52 AM
Quote from: WT4E on January 29, 2016, 10:42:37 AM

I can't for the life of me see what Harte sees in McCrory - he's not a bad player but I don't think hes even close to being in top 6 defenders in the county!

I'd have HP McGeary ahead of mccrory; better defender and can take a point.

Ritchie Donnelly has to be injured. He performed really well in the McKenna cup.
Post by: redhandefender on January 29, 2016, 11:12:27 AM
Lads he is still trying out players, you don't go out every game in the league with your full first choice. There should be enough there to win. you will never be able to predict his teams for the league
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 29, 2016, 11:39:11 AM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on January 29, 2016, 10:39:33 AM
Quote from: The Trap on January 29, 2016, 10:33:40 AM

Like Tiarnan McCann for example going to Australia and then getting straight back on the team? He's not from Errigal. Pretty sure there's been other examples of seniors players over the years as well.

Mickey O'Neill missed our final league games last year as he was in Vegas. He started against Donegal in the Championship.

Meyler missed the Meath game but started next time around against Tipp.

McNabb was in Australia for the McKenna Cup last year and started the league.

Colm Cavanagh came straight back into the team after returning from honeymoon.
Post by: omagh_gael on January 29, 2016, 11:51:57 AM
Not a Cavan man to be seen; must be a real fear in them.
Post by: Mikhailov on January 29, 2016, 12:05:24 PM

Some would say he is not even in top 6 in Errigal...
Post by: WT4E on January 29, 2016, 12:38:19 PM
Quote from: Mikhailov on January 29, 2016, 12:05:24 PM

Some would say he is not even in top 6 in Errigal...

Surely that can't be true?
Post by: cavan4sam on January 29, 2016, 02:42:17 PM
Cavan Team to play Tyrone

Team in Full:
1. Raymond Galligan (Lacken)
2. Padraig Faulkner (Kingscourt)
3. Killian Clarke (Shercock)
4. Killian Brady (Mullahoran
5. Ciarán Brady (Arvagh)
6. Conor Moynagh (Drumgoon)
7. Feargal Flanagan (Butlersbridge)
8. David Givney (Ballymun Kickhams)
9. Gearoid McKiernan (Swanlinbar)
10. Martin Reilly (Killygarry)
11. Niall McDermott (Ballinagh)
12. Dara McVeety (Crosserlough)
13. Cian Mackey (Castlerahan)
14. Eugene Keating (Kilmacud Crokes)
15. Jack Brady (Ramor Utd)
Post by: Itchy on January 29, 2016, 04:07:03 PM
Thats a strong Cavan team if they are all fit to play. It could be tighter than people think. 8 of those lads would have been on U21 teams beating Tyrone so the fear factor at least is not there for them
Post by: Main Street on January 29, 2016, 10:07:17 PM
McKenna cup hangover for Tyrone,
Cavan by 2 points.
Post by: rodney trotter on January 29, 2016, 10:19:08 PM
Yeah Antrim apparently, ye have been stuck in Division 4 long enough.
Post by: Aaron Boone on January 29, 2016, 10:37:41 PM
Quote from: Main Street on January 29, 2016, 10:07:17 PM
Cavan by 2 points.
When it comes to Ulster Champinship wins, Cavan are miles ahead. That in itself has Tyrone on the back foot.
Post by: east down gael on January 29, 2016, 10:43:02 PM
Let it go hs!
Post by: armaghniac on January 30, 2016, 12:18:08 AM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on January 29, 2016, 10:37:41 PM
Quote from: Main Street on January 29, 2016, 10:07:17 PM
Cavan by 2 points.
When it comes to Ulster Champinship wins, Cavan are miles ahead. That in itself has Tyrone on the back foot.

Cavan were one of the greatest teams of the last century, to be sure.
Post by: omaghjoe on January 30, 2016, 06:00:08 AM
tbf he is an established player at this stage, if he was trying to break into the team it might be a different story
Post by: Itchy on January 30, 2016, 09:27:46 AM
Quote from: hardstation on January 29, 2016, 10:21:43 PM
We have more morals.

That's about all ye have so. Ye have no players and pitch either. Laughing stock of ulster.
Post by: Over the Bar on January 30, 2016, 09:34:50 AM
QuoteWe beat you lot often enough this last number of years.

Ach now, if you're gonna count u21 successes you'll hardly need reminding who the AI champions are!
Post by: Itchy on January 30, 2016, 09:37:28 AM
Quote from: hardstation on January 30, 2016, 09:30:44 AM
We beat you lot often enough this last number of years.

Face reality, ye are a crap Div4 team. Beating a Cavan team that was at its lowest point in history is hardly something to be shouting about. Ye have a population probably bigger than the combined total of every other team in Div4. If I were you I'd be embarrassed to go slagging anyone else while ye can't sort your own mess out. Now off with ya to the div4 thread, if there is such a thing.
Post by: square_ball on January 30, 2016, 09:43:17 AM
And that is what you call a bite!
Post by: tyroneman on January 30, 2016, 01:48:05 PM
Much snow round Omagh?
Post by: tyroneman on January 31, 2016, 02:45:36 PM
Pure sh!te here in Omagh. Tyrone unable.to break down Cavan 14 man defence. Cavan taking some good scores from distance. No one standing out for Tyrone.

Need to seriously buck up in second half. Set up with a system to frustrate yr Donegal,  Dublin etc but not to break down teams like this.

Poor, poor showing so far. Brennan not the answer from frees either
Post by: omagh_gael on January 31, 2016, 03:37:11 PM
Ty win ten points to 8. Poor poor fare, although conditions didn't help. Once again frees and wides in general hit us hard. Far too poor. Anyway, two points in the bag and the opposition set up will be vastly different next day out against Galway.
Post by: Club Rossa on January 31, 2016, 05:37:47 PM
Very poor game in dreadful conditions.glad to get the points though Cavan could have snatched it in injury time.Big improvement needed for Galway.
Post by: leenie on January 31, 2016, 06:08:51 PM
Wasn't great now, certainly didn't get the pulses racing .. Suppose it's the points that count
Post by: tyroneman on January 31, 2016, 06:43:56 PM
Lot of sideways running and it made the heart sink to see our best 2 forwards roaming around the 45 handpassing to teammates 2-3 yards away.

McNulty in at FF might have shaken things up but again he was a right distance from the square when he came on.

For average teams like Cavan we should be pressing up and forcing mistakes/turnover in their scoring zone, not inviting them up to our 45.

Once again the lack of a free taker is a major concern.
Post by: Throw ball on January 31, 2016, 07:00:19 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on January 31, 2016, 06:43:56 PM
Lot of sideways running and it made the heart sink to see our best 2 forwards roaming around the 45 handpassing to teammates 2-3 yards away.

McNulty in at FF might have shaken things up but again he was a right distance from the square when he came on.

For average teams like Cavan we should be pressing up and forcing mistakes/turnover in their scoring zone, not inviting them up to our 45.

Once again the lack of a free taker is a major concern.

From the way Cavan played in McKenna Cup that is what they want you to do. They are very good and quick on the break.

Just be thankful you have the 2 points.
Post by: redzone on January 31, 2016, 07:01:44 PM
V tough conditions out there today but Cavan set up very negetive with 3/4 players back at times when we had procession. Now this system can be beat by kicking long range points, but such has the conditions and the time of year this is v hard to do. Tyrone haven't really done much training so I wouldn't be to worried. It's still Jan after all. I'd say that was a 4/10 performance and we still won.

Best for Cavan was big geroid, Mackey made some decent runs and keating showed glimpses of his old self. I don't think hyland is the right man for them, a new man with new ideas maybe would be better.Quite clear they went out today not to get a hammering and succeeded in that.
Post by: An Watcher on January 31, 2016, 07:30:06 PM
Don't think u can read very much into that today. Awful conditions.  2 points in the bag. Move on.
Post by: ose 14 on January 31, 2016, 07:49:42 PM
deserved the win just about but could easily have lost this game. tyrone were a lot more negative than cavan. not only do tyrone sweep in front of their porous full backline via big colm but niall sludden and tom daley actually sit in front to protect him against the run. midfield remains a worry and our forward line is bereft of height and balls. mccaliskey is no colm mcfadden. mickey the only way that team is going to win anything is put mattie donnelly at full forward and put the other 13 behind the ball. one part of that you do anyway. saw benny hurl taking notes hope he scribbled down the words big and forward and put them on the same page. its the same old dung im afraid. (only hope is the lads are tired after taking the mckenna around the hills.)
Post by: redzone on January 31, 2016, 07:58:22 PM
What did u make of ure club man Ronan oneill today
Post by: ose 14 on January 31, 2016, 08:21:33 PM
he had the same impact as every one of the other 5 starting forwards as an omagh man my view is simple  he cant get injured on the bench. ronan o neill mccurry mccaliskey bradley brennan little difference in them. none of them can tackle or win a ball thats poor.and tyrone dont play to any of their strengths. over to the magician to sort them out ronan o neill spent most of the first half tracking cian mackey  who certainly had a much greater impact in the second half. mickey was obviously maximising ronans natural wing-back play total footballer id say. ;)
Post by: redzone on January 31, 2016, 08:35:30 PM
Yeah was wondering why Mackey didn't get on it in the first half alright. Mcshane might be the answer at full forward. Can win a ball anyway and is always willing to break the tackle. U only have to look at the jersey to see the effort he puts in, but he way to wasteful on the ball at times. Richie Donnelly is badly needed at midfield to, free up Matty to go back to the wing with Petey a key player to come in as well
Post by: ose 14 on January 31, 2016, 08:48:01 PM
redzone did cathal mcshane not start full forward against donegal and 3 time all star neil mcgee last may. cant remember him touching it dont think hes cute enough with his back to goal. the only man for full forward is mattie donnelly allow colm cavnagh to play in the middle and let rory brennan sweep he wont need someone sweeping in front of him that might allow tyrone to play a forward at 11(ronan o neill maybe) to move the ball a bit quicker. maybe mickeys persisiting with the sideways dung to lure the rest of the country in. mickey has been given 2 years surely he can take a chance and go for it a bit more especially in div 2. though the older the tree the less its likely to bend.
Post by: tyroneman on January 31, 2016, 08:59:14 PM
Someone needs to teach Coldrick how advantage works too.......
Post by: redzone on January 31, 2016, 09:11:08 PM
Not many men get the better of McGee. He was thrown in at the deep end that day, debut I think. We def need someone that can win a high ball.maybe u will see a bit of kick passing this year from Tyrone but today was not the day to try it.

Yup the advantage was not applied to well today. If we had if took a few of our chances early on maybe the game would have opened up a bit more for us

What ovation Mcrory got when he came of. Most of the crowd must have read carmen statesides drunken rant this morning on here
Post by: clarshack on January 31, 2016, 09:13:38 PM
brutal stuff today. even though conditions were bad, i expected a lot more from tyrone. there was nothing up front and the defence was dodgy enough too. massive improvement needed.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 31, 2016, 09:14:27 PM
Niall McKenna is an option for full forward when he gets fit again.
Post by: rrhf on January 31, 2016, 09:28:12 PM
Very negative reaction to match today. Have a feeling most big teams feel there's only one time to peak this year and that's August. Kerry Tyrone and mayo cannot waste resources in Jan when there's only one game and one team that counts... a crack at the dubs who are so far ahead they are guaranteed their league and Leinster. Expect the worst season in history.  But ye can't blame them
Post by: tyroneman on January 31, 2016, 09:37:10 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 31, 2016, 09:14:27 PM

McKenna has has numerous chances and hadn't impressed in any of them unfortunately.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 31, 2016, 10:30:52 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on January 31, 2016, 09:37:10 PM

McKenna has has numerous chances and hadn't impressed in any of them unfortunately.

He was excellent against Cavan when he was named in the full forward line for the McKenna Cup final last year.

He was one of the fall guys for the Monaghan game and didn't get much of a look in after that with injuries and the form of McAliskey and McCurry. If we are struggling for a big target man type option inside then I'd like to see McKenna given a chance. The whole team and system developed as we went on last year, McKenna only really got a chance in the full forward line when we were a disjointed side lacking in identity.

He might not be the answer but I don't believe he's had a fair shot at that role which I think is his best.
Post by: Itchy on January 31, 2016, 10:53:28 PM
Poor game. Personally feel both teams were very defensive and cancelled each other out in many ways. Feel a bit unlucky not to get somethings from the match but Tyrone had the few leaders going their thing when it mattered. A lot closer than some idiots would have us think before the match.
Post by: tiempo on February 01, 2016, 12:11:15 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 31, 2016, 10:30:52 PM

He was excellent against Cavan when he was named in the full forward line for the McKenna Cup final last year.

He was one of the fall guys for the Monaghan game and didn't get much of a look in after that with injuries and the form of McAliskey and McCurry. If we are struggling for a big target man type option inside then I'd like to see McKenna given a chance. The whole team and system developed as we went on last year, McKenna only really got a chance in the full forward line when we were a disjointed side lacking in identity.

He might not be the answer but I don't believe he's had a fair shot at that role which I think is his best.

Niall McKenna won't get near a Tyrone team again, that's not to say Mickey won't use him as training session fodder for another number of years yet.
Post by: redhandefender on February 01, 2016, 09:20:13 AM
Quote from: ose 14 on January 31, 2016, 08:21:33 PM
he had the same impact as every one of the other 5 starting forwards as an omagh man my view is simple  he cant get injured on the bench. ronan o neill mccurry mccaliskey bradley brennan little difference in them. none of them can tackle or win a ball thats poor.and tyrone dont play to any of their strengths. over to the magician to sort them out ronan o neill spent most of the first half tracking cian mackey  who certainly had a much greater impact in the second half. mickey was obviously maximising ronans natural wing-back play total footballer id say. ;)

What a pile of rubbish, same old crap, this team got to an AI semi final and they have improved a lot in personnel since then.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 01, 2016, 09:37:09 AM
Yes as usual there is a lot of crap written here from moaners and I heard a lot at the game yesterday from so called fans. The amount of surface water on the pitch was unreal in some places so hitting passes and shots was a bit of a lottery at times and thus the more sensible approach of a short passing running game.
Its horrible to watch but against teams like Cavan who know it works and gives them a chance against better players.
If it was a dry sunny day then you would see a lot better football from our forwards I think.

We could have lost the game had Cavan got a late goal with all our messing about with back passes and trying to close the game out but in fairness we got the 2 points and hopefully next Sunday will be a drier day in Galway who play much more open football.

On another note, it looks like Derry's manager Damian Barton really is trying to level the playing field by keeping up his "ramping up the hatred of Tyrone" mode. He probably knows nothing gets Derry working better together than the sight of a Tyrone jersey and getting the fans and players up for a battle by rallying the troops this way. I can imagine, come 22nd May, there will be already a lot of scores to settle in Celtic park.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/gaelic-games/35455958 (http://www.bbc.com/sport/gaelic-games/35455958)
Post by: Fuzzman on February 01, 2016, 10:08:50 AM
What did yis think of the Cavan No 12 yesterday?
He was marking McShane for most of the first half.
Post by: rrhf on February 01, 2016, 10:30:40 AM
Quote from: tiempo on February 01, 2016, 12:11:15 AM

Niall McKenna won't get near a Tyrone team again, that's not to say Mickey won't use him as training session fodder for another number of years yet.
Great insight into your thought process.  Says more about you than anything else. 
Post by: WT4E on February 01, 2016, 10:38:25 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 01, 2016, 10:08:50 AM
What did yis think of the Cavan No 12 yesterday?
He was marking McShane for most of the first half.

I only managed to see the second half - only thing I noticed about him was he threw two sweet lookign punches at mcaliskey in front of where I was but didn't get spotted so got away with it.

Lucky he didn't hit McCann or Collie Cav or else they may have went down -  to be fair to McAliskey he took them on the chin stayed upright and got on with it. Don't like to see any man throwing jabs but I was proud of McAliskey for taking them like a man!

PS Where Tyrone mentioned at all last night on league sunday?
Post by: tiempo on February 01, 2016, 10:44:42 AM
Quote from: rrhf on February 01, 2016, 10:30:40 AM

Great insight into your thought process.  Says more about you than anything else.

Correct me if I'm wrong.
Post by: WT4E on February 01, 2016, 10:49:19 AM

You would have to imagine there is a plan for McKenna this year - Mickey must have told him something last year as he went for an operation last year whilst his club where fighting for survival in division 1 and ultimately got relegated from Senior for the first time in years.

If he doesn't play you would imagine he would be very annoyed!
Post by: Itchy on February 01, 2016, 01:27:55 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 01, 2016, 09:37:09 AM
Yes as usual there is a lot of crap written here from moaners and I heard a lot at the game yesterday from so called fans. The amount of surface water on the pitch was unreal in some places so hitting passes and shots was a bit of a lottery at times and thus the more sensible approach of a short passing running game.
Its horrible to watch but against teams like Cavan who know it works and gives them a chance against better players.
If it was a dry sunny day then you would see a lot better football from our forwards I think.

We could have lost the game had Cavan got a late goal with all our messing about with back passes and trying to close the game out but in fairness we got the 2 points and hopefully next Sunday will be a drier day in Galway who play much more open football.

On another note, it looks like Derry's manager Damian Barton really is trying to level the playing field by keeping up his "ramping up the hatred of Tyrone" mode. He probably knows nothing gets Derry working better together than the sight of a Tyrone jersey and getting the fans and players up for a battle by rallying the troops this way. I can imagine, come 22nd May, there will be already a lot of scores to settle in Celtic park.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/gaelic-games/35455958 (http://www.bbc.com/sport/gaelic-games/35455958)

Fuzzman - are you implying that Cavan were defensive and Tyrone were not?? From where I was sitting Tyrone played with 2 sweepers despite being the team with the better players apparently.
Post by: Itchy on February 02, 2016, 07:09:56 PM
Does anyone in Tyrone have an update on tiernan McCanns hair after this incident...

http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/video-tyrones-tiernan-mccann-was-sent-headoverheels-by-a-hit-against-cavan-34417618.html
Post by: BennyHarp on February 02, 2016, 07:56:17 PM
Quote from: Itchy on February 02, 2016, 07:09:56 PM
Does anyone in Tyrone have an update on tiernan McCanns hair after this incident...

http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/video-tyrones-tiernan-mccann-was-sent-headoverheels-by-a-hit-against-cavan-34417618.html

So a national newspaper runs a story that is just about the lad shipping a fairly hefty tackle? Classy journalism!
Post by: Itchy on February 02, 2016, 10:33:40 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 02, 2016, 07:56:17 PM

So a national newspaper runs a story that is just about the lad shipping a fairly hefty tackle? Classy journalism!

There is an element of payback for that player if you read between the lines. Don't think it was even a foul myself, just a good hard tackle.
Post by: Main Street on February 02, 2016, 10:46:01 PM
I hereby nominate tyrone match threads as the classiest threads on GAA board.
They are are just outstanding  for their football intelligence, their sportsmanship and general positivity.
You will never ever see a thread that Tyrone are involved in, degenerate into the  lowest  standards of abuse or whataboutery.
And if ever there is a risk that might happen, it is entirely the fault of non-Tyronies.
Long live Tyrone.

Post by: omaghjoe on February 03, 2016, 12:25:20 AM
Quote from: Main Street on February 02, 2016, 10:46:01 PM
They are are just outstanding  for their football intelligence, their sportsmanship and general positivity.
You will never ever see a thread that Tyrone are involved in, degenerate into the  lowest  standards of abuse or whataboutery.
And if ever there is a risk that might happen, it is entirely the fault of non-Tyronies.
Long live Tyrone.

Its funny, I cud say likewise about Monaghan threads, but Id be lying cos id have no interest in reading them

The obsession continues...roll on August for you lads wha?
Post by: BennyHarp on February 03, 2016, 07:35:13 AM
Long live Tyrone.

;D These are my favourite sort of posts. You can almost smell the bitterness.  ;D Thanks for cheering me up Main Street.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 03, 2016, 09:50:08 AM

That's pathetic to say the least.
Post by: trueblue1234 on February 03, 2016, 09:57:05 AM
Long live Tyrone.

Jesus Christ, MS Grow up!!
Post by: cavan4sam on February 03, 2016, 10:15:23 AM
Quote from: Itchy on February 02, 2016, 10:33:40 PM

There is an element of payback for that player if you read between the lines. Don't think it was even a foul myself, just a good hard tackle.

It wasn't a foul. The Gunner won the ball, the ref blew it up because of a head injury to McCann. It was a great 50/50 challenge and McCann was unlucky to get hurt. If it had been any other player it wouldn't be making the national media but after last years theatrics and last weeks incident with Brendan Rodgers there seems to be people happy to see this. Play was restarted with Cavan having possession.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 03, 2016, 10:17:25 AM
Quote from: cavan4sam on February 03, 2016, 10:15:23 AM
Quote from: Itchy on February 02, 2016, 10:33:40 PM

It wasn't a foul. The Gunner won the ball, the ref blew it up because of a head injury to McCann. It was a great 50/50 challenge and McCann was unlucky to get hurt. If it had been any other player it wouldn't be making the national media but after last years theatrics and last weeks incident with Brendan Rodgers there seems to be people happy to see this. Play was restarted with Cavan having possession.

I have no problem with the tackle whatsoever, but its an obvious attempt by the paper to have a go at McCann again, and completely unnecessary IMO.
Post by: cavan4sam on February 03, 2016, 10:28:39 AM
I don't the media having a go at any GAA player. In fairness to McCann he is a great player and no doubt he will have the last laugh.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 03, 2016, 10:38:54 AM
Not sure will he have the last laugh Cavan4Sam as you can see there is already a bias out there against him and even though there shouldn't be you can understand why some will think its fair enough with what he did last year. Some take the law into their own hands and it will be understandable in games if refs no longer give him the benefit of doubt.

Yeah of course Tyrone were defensive too as that's our style of play but at least we break at speed up the pitch and attack as a team as well and not just 1 or 2 players.

Did anyone see the punch into the stomach of Colm Cavanagh late on. I couldn't help but think that if the exact same incident was on live TV and the Sunday game had of highlighted it then a suspension would incur.
This Div 2 is set up to be a nightmare for injuries and suspensions. With so many Ulster teams fighting for the top 2 places or even just to stay up then I can see a lot more games like Sunday where its real dogged Ulster football. Compare this to the Dublin v Kerry game or Mayo v Cork where some very soft tackles were made.
I'm not whinging, I'm just saying we'll do well to get to April with no major injuries or suspensions.
Post by: cavan4sam on February 03, 2016, 10:48:48 AM
I saw the incident with Colm Cavanagh at the end. It was actually Seanie Johnston that done it and he got booked for the incident after the ref had consulted his linesman. I didn't think it was any worse than a yellow card. Maybe that's me looking at it with Cavan glasses but not many of the Tyrone people around me thought there was much in it.
Post by: Blue in hope on February 03, 2016, 03:38:12 PM
Did you see the punches that Colm Cavanagh threw after Givney got the yellow card. He connected the ref saw should have at least booked him and thrown up the ball but did neither. He was also in Keatings face each time he kicked the three wides in the second half.
Post by: tiempo on February 03, 2016, 04:29:39 PM
Quote from: Blue in hope on February 03, 2016, 03:38:12 PM
Did you see the punches that Colm Cavanagh threw after Givney got the yellow card. He connected the ref saw should have at least booked him and thrown up the ball but did neither. He was also in Keatings face each time he kicked the three wides in the second half.

Shouldn't of kicked them wide then should he
Post by: cavanmaniac on February 04, 2016, 10:45:03 AM
Quote from: tiempo on February 03, 2016, 04:29:39 PM
Shouldn't of kicked them wide then should he

You're right. In this day and age, it's almost anachronistic to expect anything remotely sportsmanlike, or a player to plain old not be a p***k. And I mean from all counties, including my own.

Things will be so much better if the players are paid though - heaven help us all if that happens.