You know what really grinds my gears?

Started by corn02, June 02, 2007, 03:41:22 PM

isourboydownyet

the coors light ads with van damm,whats that all about?

Quote from: Canalman on August 12, 2011, 12:49:39 PM
The way the English pronounce the surname Moran. Or for that case the way McDermott is pronounced over there.

Sorry for that whinge!
YES!
I know someone called "Mo-ran" as he calls himself. 

Drives me mad!  I keep telling him he's pronouncing his own name wrong....

Olly

England people get a lot of words wrong. We all know that the 'g' at the end of a verb is silent as in calling (callin), running (runnin) etc. The English prounounce that last G. It's amazing. I worked for a boy in Luton and answered his phones for him and he'd say 'who was rinGinG?' It was like Ring - ging - ga.
Access to this webpage has been denied . This website has been categorised as "Sexual Material".

Quote from: Olly on August 12, 2011, 06:28:43 PM
England people get a lot of words wrong. We all know that the 'g' at the end of a verb is silent as in calling (callin), running (runnin) etc. The English prounounce that last G. It's amazing. I worked for a boy in Luton and answered his phones for him and he'd say 'who was rinGinG?' It was like Ring - ging - ga.

Some people in the north pronounce the final G as well. So do Americans. It's called having a different accent.

maggie

Fella I used to know in England, pronounced his surname as Sym-the. Even though it was Smith. Always reminded me of Hyacinth Bucket.   

Quote from: maggie on August 12, 2011, 08:00:44 PM
Fella I used to know in England, pronounced his surname as Sym-the. Even though it was Smith. Always reminded me of Hyacinth Bucket.
Symthe?

Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 12, 2011, 09:02:30 PM
Quote from: maggie on August 12, 2011, 08:00:44 PM
Symthe?

I know a family whose surname is Lemon. The mother of the clan thinks she is a bit above everyone and calls herself Mrs Le Mon.

maggie

Is it Smy-the then?  Its been a long nite.

randomtask

Olly

Milk. They definitely have changed the taste of it in recent years.
Access to this webpage has been denied . This website has been categorised as "Sexual Material".

king of leon

When you go into a petrol station and go up to the counter and the the 1st thing they ask you is " are u paying for any fuel".. If Im paying for fuel il fecking tell ye!

Olly

To be fair to the cashier, I've not paid for my petrol hundreds of times.

EagleLord

Literally just experienced that, and had a think about it, was guna put it on, but yas beat me to it!