Is gaaboard on the way out?

Started by Old yeller, January 10, 2014, 11:23:40 PM

Do you think Gaaboard is dying a slow death?

Yes
No
Hasnt changed

No need to spend money advertising anything. Pick a thread that's interesting, share it on FB.  Done.

Quote from: laoislad on January 10, 2014, 11:43:30 PM
This board has been ruined by Nordies.

Without a doubt. Sure that shower up there wont even let their college players play for their colleges. So much for the ethos of the GAA. Mickey Harte, wolf in sheeps clothing  8)

Quote from: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 07:16:45 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on January 11, 2014, 11:31:30 AM
Quote from: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 10:43:39 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on January 11, 2014, 09:12:00 AM
The Cavan thread has definitely quietened down which is strange given that our lot has improved significantly. Maybe it is that Irish thing where we are never happy unless we are complaining! Some of the posters who were always here like Ballyhaiseman and Boojangles are hardly ever posting for whatever reason these days and we have had many posters come and go over the years. I suppose at the moment if we have 10 active posters thats probably the height of it.

Old Yeller, I am intrigued that as a member since December you can say that people have stopped posting due to assholes in the Cavan thread. To the best of my knowledge there hasnt been any major arguments over there in a long time so I am guessing you are talking about stuff further back. I assume you are the reincarnation of a previous poster? We had Homer once from Ballinagh, is that you?

No Myles, ive followed the Cavan thread for the last 5 years or so but never signed up because I was living abroad and never got to any of the games and didnt really have much to add

Well fair enough but why do you think people left due to assholes posting? I have my own theory and I think a few lads might have backed down due to people figuring out who they are, which does make it difficult to come on and give an honest appraisal on certain topics. When the cavan thread was flying was normally due to a controversy of some sort such as SJ affair or the Donal Keoghan lock ins or Ballyhaiseman starting a "manager out" thread. When things are going a bit better and lads are in general agreement that the manager and players are doing a great job, well there is less to talk about really. One thing that is a pity is that there is very little commentary on club matches, really only Rodney and Westside and maybe Packiedevlin mention them now.
Yeah, its hard to get info up about the club matches alright. I think the whole SJ saga turned a lot of lads off to be honest. Some of the arguements were childish in the extreme and it was impossible for anyone to make a point about it without being ridiculed! Boojangles is a big loss to the Cavan thread, always had plenty of info

The SJ debacle was heated but sure what would you expect for such an act. I don't know if its me you had a problem with but when I look back I had that fella and what he was doing summed up pretty bang on. I don't take back a word that I said.

Old yeller

Quote from: mylestheslasher on January 11, 2014, 08:28:47 PM
Quote from: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 07:16:45 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on January 11, 2014, 11:31:30 AM
Quote from: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 10:43:39 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on January 11, 2014, 09:12:00 AM
The Cavan thread has definitely quietened down which is strange given that our lot has improved significantly. Maybe it is that Irish thing where we are never happy unless we are complaining! Some of the posters who were always here like Ballyhaiseman and Boojangles are hardly ever posting for whatever reason these days and we have had many posters come and go over the years. I suppose at the moment if we have 10 active posters thats probably the height of it.

Old Yeller, I am intrigued that as a member since December you can say that people have stopped posting due to assholes in the Cavan thread. To the best of my knowledge there hasnt been any major arguments over there in a long time so I am guessing you are talking about stuff further back. I assume you are the reincarnation of a previous poster? We had Homer once from Ballinagh, is that you?

No Myles, ive followed the Cavan thread for the last 5 years or so but never signed up because I was living abroad and never got to any of the games and didnt really have much to add

Well fair enough but why do you think people left due to assholes posting? I have my own theory and I think a few lads might have backed down due to people figuring out who they are, which does make it difficult to come on and give an honest appraisal on certain topics. When the cavan thread was flying was normally due to a controversy of some sort such as SJ affair or the Donal Keoghan lock ins or Ballyhaiseman starting a "manager out" thread. When things are going a bit better and lads are in general agreement that the manager and players are doing a great job, well there is less to talk about really. One thing that is a pity is that there is very little commentary on club matches, really only Rodney and Westside and maybe Packiedevlin mention them now.
Yeah, its hard to get info up about the club matches alright. I think the whole SJ saga turned a lot of lads off to be honest. Some of the arguements were childish in the extreme and it was impossible for anyone to make a point about it without being ridiculed! Boojangles is a big loss to the Cavan thread, always had plenty of info

The SJ debacle was heated but sure what would you expect for such an act. I don't know if its me you had a problem with but when I look back I had that fella and what he was doing summed up pretty bang on. I don't take back a word that I said.

No it wasn't you, I actually totally agreed with ya Myles

anglocelt39

Jaysus yeller you have the Cavan lads fierce worried altogether.
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

Jesus lads, this board has been hit by the recession just like all others.

There's a downturn globally and not confined to the  Gaaboard.

The board is showing signs of green shots.  :)

The Worker

The boards been going down hill ever since our Niall loney and corn got the road.

I know I'm not as prolific as I once was as I'm working more hours in my day job and freelancing on top of that. I havent time to keep up with things.

Work firewalls could also be an issue

When GAABoard started internet connections were slower and not suitable for porn live entertainment, more so for text discussion.

Quote from: armaghniac on January 12, 2014, 02:48:59 PM
When GAABoard started internet connections were slower and not suitable for porn live entertainment, more so for text discussion.

Will we get a gaa.board the movie organised?

Kemit the frog could star as Tony Fearon.

Mayoffs

Hello there, decided to join after years of following.
Enjoyed a lot of the banter and find the boards very informative at times also, wouldn't like to see it fade away.
Hoping to contribute when I can (family life permitting), hopefully a few more lurking GAA fans out there will join also. I know a few of them at work in Galway who are fair craic.
we're on the verge of insanity (the verge just got narrower)

Relax,I have Been on this board (through it's various incarnations) continually since 1997.That's more than 17 years (it existed before I joined) and it's still going strong.Through there aren't as many characters about as before,but I can't see the Board ever dying,quite simply because GAA is so popular and will always have an online forum

Someone should write the history of the Board! What a story,from a poster using the N I Tourist Board's website to encourage support for a county,not his own against another ulster county,to the Board 's role in the sacking of a prominent broadcaster!