GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: macdanger2 on March 23, 2015, 10:56:50 AM

Title: Corcaigh v Maigh Eo, Páirc Uí Rinn, 29ú Marta @ 1400
Post by: macdanger2 on March 23, 2015, 10:56:50 AM
Tough game for Mayo after getting tanked by the Dubs. Cork are going reasonably well and a win here will guarantee them a SF spot.

I honestly find it hard to see us getting anything out of this one but a spirited performance is the least we'd expect

I presume COC will be back for this? I'd probably start with something like this:

Clarke
Cafferkey    Keane       Higgins
Durcan    Cunniffe    Coen/Hall
SOS      B Moran
DO'C   COC      Vaughan
Doc      AOS      Dillon

With COC providing good balls into AOS instead of the muck he got against Dublin. And the two of them swapping during the game as needed.

Obviously McLoughlin, Boyle & Keegan are all pretty much guaranteed starters but no harm in resting them so they'll be fresh for the game against Donegal the following week where we might need a point to stay up depending on results.
Title: Re: Corcaigh v Maigh Eo, Páirc Uí Rinn, 29ú Marta @ 1500
Post by: larryin89 on March 23, 2015, 11:06:32 AM
Cillian s out for at least another fortnight .

Cork have set the league as target for momentum , they are training hard and it's difficult to see us trouble them in our current form.
Post by: macdanger2 on March 23, 2015, 11:20:12 AM
Anyone know how many of the U21 panel are playing with the seniors now? DO'C, Hall & Coen?

I thought Kirby did well the last day so if COC is still out, I'd probably go with:

DO'C   AOS      Vaughan
Doc      Kirby      Dillon

Although I'd be concerned about who's going to play in proper ball to Kirby & Co.

What's the story with Andy / Parsons / Gibbons?
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 23, 2015, 01:29:41 PM
I'm pretty worried about this one...
I won't rest easy until Farr comes on and tells us we'll get an even worse pasting than the Dubs gave us. Anything less and we're doomed, I tell ye, doomed. :D
Post by: larryin89 on March 23, 2015, 01:41:52 PM
How time flys , remember cillians two sideline points one from the left and the other from the right side , two years ago , jeez it really doesn't seem like that long ago.
Post by: rosnarun on March 23, 2015, 01:58:45 PM
big Challange for the management  to see how they react to The dublin game.
do they treat it as a one off or throw the baby out with the bathwater.
this is with they will earn their no money
Post by: larryin89 on March 23, 2015, 02:19:52 PM
Early throw in likely with hurlers having a home tie
Post by: sans pessimism on March 23, 2015, 02:25:17 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 23, 2015, 11:06:32 AM

Cork have set the league as target for momentum , they are training hard and it's difficult to see us trouble them in our current form.
cillian will be out for 6-8 weeks.
Post by: larryin89 on March 23, 2015, 02:30:51 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on March 23, 2015, 02:25:17 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 23, 2015, 11:06:32 AM

cillian will be out for 6-8 weeks.

New development so ! Pateen said last week it was a matter of three weeks rest, a tendon issue under his kneecap.
Post by: macdanger2 on March 23, 2015, 02:34:58 PM
That's since the Derry game on 08th March so you're looking at the start of May if it's 6-8 weeks.
Post by: larryin89 on March 23, 2015, 02:37:24 PM
If true it's a major fuc king blow when you take into consideration sure it's only 12 weeks till salthill.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 23, 2015, 04:07:13 PM
Massive game performance wise at least. If the towel is thrown in early, this season won't make for comfortable viewing imo. If we compete and lose I'd take it to be honest.
Post by: Mayo Club 51 on March 23, 2015, 04:15:23 PM
2 o'clock throw in for us on Sunday. Cork hurlers are on after us at 4.
Post by: moysider on March 23, 2015, 04:44:43 PM
Hate to see us having to take anything out of the Donegal game because they will be scrapping for survival as well. A win here would probably good enough for a semi and another game to bring us on a bit.
I d be in favour of playing Aidan and Seamie in the middle for this. We don t want to be annihilated there again like against the Dubs. If we are we ll get destroyed again. Unless Parsons or Gibbons back I d play Aido in the middle. We can put him back inside when we get midfield settled. We can play Kirby inside if we want the long high ball option in this one.
Time McLoughlin, Keeegan and Boyle were playing themselves into form so I d go with most of the old guard, although McLoughlin looked a bit weary at times lately.
It ll be interesting to see how management react. They have been more defensive and they have got product from Aido inside but other things are puzzling. It s as if they don t believe in support play and running off the shoulder and the influence of Boyle and Keegan has been shelved. Will this continue and what replaces it. Even the most defensive teams counterattack with runners supporting the players in possession and others taking a chance and breaking forward. So three things I d like to see us do are;
Try and establish dominance in midfield with The Bears with 5-12 + doc being more clued in to breaking ball this time.
Funnell 11- 13 players back when/if we re in trouble and clog it up. O Neill and Hurley will kill us if they get space and if the passers out the field can pick them out with nice ball.
Counter attack with speed and numbers like we used to.

Something like Clarke, Cunniffe, Keane, Higgins, Hall,  Boyle, Keegan, Vaughan, Bear 1, McLoughlin, Bear2 , D OC, Ronaldson, Kirby, Doc (playing sweeper)
Post by: larryin89 on March 23, 2015, 05:01:56 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 23, 2015, 04:44:43 PM
Hate to see us having to take anything out of the Donegal game because they will be scrapping for survival as well. A win here would probably good enough for a semi and another game to bring us on a bit.
I d be in favour of playing Aidan and Seamie in the middle for this. We don t want to be annihilated there again like against the Dubs. If we are we ll get destroyed again. Unless Parsons or Gibbons back I d play Aido in the middle. We can put him back inside when we get midfield settled. We can play Kirby inside if we want the long high ball option in this one.
Time McLoughlin, Keeegan and Boyle were playing themselves into form so I d go with most of the old guard, although McLoughlin looked a bit weary at times lately.
It ll be interesting to see how management react. They have been more defensive and they have got product from Aido inside but other things are puzzling. It s as if they don t believe in support play and running off the shoulder and the influence of Boyle and Keegan has been shelved. Will this continue and what replaces it. Even the most defensive teams counterattack with runners supporting the players in possession and others taking a chance and breaking forward. So three things I d like to see us do are;
Try and establish dominance in midfield with The Bears with 5-12 + doc being more clued in to breaking ball this time.
Funnell 11- 13 players back when/if we re in trouble and clog it up. O Neill and Hurley will kill us if they get space and if the passers out the field can pick them out with nice ball.
Counter attack with speed and numbers like we used to.

Something like Clarke, Cunniffe, Keane, Higgins, Hall,  Boyle, Keegan, Vaughan, Bear 1, McLoughlin, Bear2 , D OC, Ronaldson, Kirby, Doc (playing sweeper)

I'd go with most of what you said there especially about our half back line making the counter dash, we have been lethal at this the last few years, I know a lot of people say it leaves our fb line exposed if overturned and where there might be some truth in that , we can't just put a ban on it which seems to be the case since new management came in.
Post by: Nihilist on March 23, 2015, 05:22:14 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 23, 2015, 05:01:56 PM
I'd go with most of what you said there especially about our half back line making the counter dash, we have been lethal at this the last few years, I know a lot of people say it leaves our fb line exposed if overturned and where there might be some truth in that , we can't just put a ban on it which seems to be the case since new management came in.

It's clear this year teams have shown more savvy in playing and beating Mayo by the use of blanket defences.  In other words teams have come to expect that usual open attacking wing back performance from Mayo that they have come to expect from the past 4 years under the Horan era.

Now I have no problem with that style but only if it is limited and not as open at the back as was there for past few seasons. I would prefer Mayo are more defensive overall and worked on a strategy of kicking in deep to 1/2 fw and FF line. And getting runners then to support from these lines. At least they might have a better chance of having a shot then before a mass defence descends upon them as will be the case when its being ran from deep.
Title: Re: Corcaigh v Maigh Eo, Páirc Uí Rinn, 29ú Marta @ 1400
Post by: moysider on March 23, 2015, 05:27:59 PM
The trick is to have up to 4 forwards working back as well so that there is always somebody to cover for likes of Keegan when he takes a chance and goes. The trouble with Horans system was we played a 3 man ff line and sometimes 2 out of 3 half backs went + the two midfielders. When that broke down it was trouble for the back 3. The surprising thing was how good were were at the back. The fact we dominated possession against most teams helped of course.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 23, 2015, 05:38:13 PM
The thing is that I can easily see Cork being a bit complacent going into this one.

They know they are safe from relegation and are pretty much assured a place in the semis. Their last game is away to a Derry side who are in miserable form and are good odds to be already relegated.

So while Cork are in decent form, it's very hard to see them giving a 100%.

Compared to that Mayo will be desperate to banish the memory of the Dublin game - the break since the last game will have felt like an age to the players and they will surely be ravenous for action.
Post by: larryin89 on March 23, 2015, 06:29:47 PM
Quote from: Nihilist on March 23, 2015, 05:22:14 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 23, 2015, 05:01:56 PM

It's clear this year teams have shown more savvy in playing and beating Mayo by the use of blanket defences.  In other words teams have come to expect that usual open attacking wing back performance from Mayo that they have come to expect from the past 4 years under the Horan era.

Now I have no problem with that style but only if it is limited and not as open at the back as was there for past few seasons. I would prefer Mayo are more defensive overall and worked on a strategy of kicking in deep to 1/2 fw and FF line. And getting runners then to support from these lines. At least they might have a better chance of having a shot then before a mass defence descends upon them as will be the case when its being ran from deep.
More defensive , yes but we also need a gameplan . Horan got some stuff wrong but everyone 1-15 knew what was going on. There have been times since new management came in that we have looked clueless and aimless. So taking away completely the most dynamic aspect of this teams play would be a bad move but I'd tend to agree with you limit it somewhat .

The problem with kicking ball from deep into ff line is you need good kickers we don't seem to have them till Andy and Dillon come on like in the Hyde last year for example.
Post by: moysider on March 23, 2015, 06:53:30 PM

The trouble with kicking a lot of ball from deep is that many teams will have extra defenders already in place by conceding kickouts and dropping off. Kicking the ball is just giving it back to them and other counties will run it back and are good at it. Donegal and Tyrone being good examples. I think we need to have a good defensive shape and then play the opportunities in front of us. If the opposition clog up the middle with bodies there should be the option to go long to a big man or a dinky one into a corner. The players need to be clever enough to see where the spaces are and play what s in front of them. But I think our running game should be something we will get the opportunities to to use as well.
Post by: mayoman dan on March 23, 2015, 07:49:16 PM
The runners coming attacking from deep should be our main game.This just needed some twaeking from the Horan era where we were a little  too gung ho and teams had figured us out.Having the midfielders or 2  or even 3 half forwards dropping back to fill the gaps isnt rocket science.If the move breaks down we still have a solid defensive shape.Anyways for Cork i would like to see something like this assuming Andy Barrett Regan Gibbons and Feeney are still unavailable.

Clarke
                  Cafferkey                              Keane                   Higgins
                   Keegan                                Cunniffe                Boyle
                                                     Seamus       Parsons
                  Mc Loughlin                         AOS                Vaughan
                    Ronaldson                         Kirby                Doherty         
Post by: moysider on March 23, 2015, 08:30:58 PM

Do we know for sure Parsons is available for this?
Post by: Nihilist on March 23, 2015, 10:01:32 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 23, 2015, 06:53:30 PM

The trouble with kicking a lot of ball from deep is that many teams will have extra defenders already in place by conceding kickouts and dropping off. Kicking the ball is just giving it back to them and other counties will run it back and are good at it. Donegal and Tyrone being good examples. I think we need to have a good defensive shape and then play the opportunities in front of us. If the opposition clog up the middle with bodies there should be the option to go long to a big man or a dinky one into a corner. The players need to be clever enough to see where the spaces are and play what s in front of them. But I think our running game should be something we will get the opportunities to to use as well.

All teams now are looking to dominate that middle third as that is where the majority of games are won and lost. It is only very exceptional teams that can afford not to win this area, but they can only do against teams who are not top 4 . The top 4 teams will be squaring off 50/50 in this area (i.e. an arm wrestle to dominate in and around the middle). Whoever comes out on top has a massive advantage.

Kerry have the like of Moran, Buckley, Maher, Donaghy, Walsh to scrap and win ball in this area. Cork have Cadogen who will take no prisoners. Dublin have MDMA, Flynn, O'Sullivan, McCarty, Bastick etc who will be eager to dominate and Tyrone have the Cavanaghs, Peter Harte and others to complete this.

The big problem for Mayo is that they have kinda dominated this area in 2012 & 2013 against the rest of the country but they didn't have the inside line then to seal the deal. Unfortunately the rest has now caught up with the midfield of Mayo so new tactics are needed.

Or someone who can deliver up front.
Post by: giveballaghback on March 23, 2015, 10:11:43 PM
Its only the league lads, its not the end of the world or maybe it could be.
Post by: moysider on March 23, 2015, 10:32:03 PM

Go get yer fuckin' shinebox  ;)
Post by: twohands!!! on March 23, 2015, 10:49:46 PM
Quote from: Nihilist on March 23, 2015, 10:01:32 PM

All teams now are looking to dominate that middle third as that is where the majority of games are won and lost. It is only very exceptional teams that can afford not to win this area, but they can only do against teams who are not top 4 . The top 4 teams will be squaring off 50/50 in this area (i.e. an arm wrestle to dominate in and around the middle). Whoever comes out on top has a massive advantage.

Kerry have the like of Moran, Buckley, Maher, Donaghy, Walsh to scrap and win ball in this area. Cork have Cadogen who will take no prisoners. Dublin have MDMA, Flynn, O'Sullivan, McCarty, Bastick etc who will be eager to dominate and Tyrone have the Cavanaghs, Peter Harte and others to complete this.

The big problem for Mayo is that they have kinda dominated this area in 2012 & 2013 against the rest of the country but they didn't have the inside line then to seal the deal. Unfortunately the rest has now caught up with the midfield of Mayo so new tactics are needed.

Surely Mayo will dominate around the middle eight against Cork? I think the options for Cork look very weak in the middle of the park, especially if Maguire is still out especially when you look at their options in terms of keepers. If you restrict the supply of ball to O'Neill and Hurley (like Donegal did) Cork become a whole lot less dangerous. However give them time and space like Kerry did and they are pretty much guaranteed to do wreck.

Actually just thinking about it I wonder if Cork might rest one of Hurley or O'Neill at the weekend especially given how much both have featured in the league so far- maybe give a start to O'Connor or Donal Og Hodnett - given they are pretty much assured a semi-final place. I presume that the Cork U21s will be considered for the Mayo game and then rested for the Derry game ; a long trip up to Derry 3 days ahead of the Munster final against Tipp the following Wednesday is hardly likely.
Post by: moysider on March 23, 2015, 11:13:10 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 23, 2015, 10:49:46 PM
Quote from: Nihilist on March 23, 2015, 10:01:32 PM

Surely Mayo will dominate around the middle eight against Cork? I think the options for Cork look very weak in the middle of the park, especially if Maguire is still out especially when you look at their options in terms of keepers. If you restrict the supply of ball to O'Neill and Hurley (like Donegal did) Cork become a whole lot less dangerous. However give them time and space like Kerry did and they are pretty much guaranteed to do wreck.

Actually just thinking about it I wonder if Cork might rest one of Hurley or O'Neill at the weekend especially given how much both have featured in the league so far- maybe give a start to O'Connor or Donal Og Hodnett - given they are pretty much assured a semi-final place. I presume that the Cork U21s will be considered for the Mayo game and then rested for the Derry game ; a long trip up to Derry 3 days ahead of the Munster final against Tipp the following Wednesday is hardly likely.

We need to dominate there and that is why I want to see Aidan mostly in middle for this one. After the wipe out in middle the last day it s time to batten the hatches and consolidate. We know Aidan can do a job inside but we can t afford to have him inside if we re getting beat up in the middle. If Gibbons or Parsons were match fit we would have more option.
I m a bit concerned about Vaughan. Full back in FBD and midfield in league. I see lads picking him on the wing in forwards. Don t get what that's about. O Connor and Doherty are better options as half forwards because they are technically better. It s going to be difficult to leave Hall out of this team too. Vaughan s future may well have to be where he came from - 6 - but in a more conservative role.
Post by: maigheo on March 24, 2015, 01:20:24 AM
I see Seamus OShea, Tom Cunniffe and Patrick Durcan are unavailable but  Tom Parsons and Jason Gibbons are back in the mix.Would really like to see Parsons above all else get a run of games as for me he is a much better option than Vaughan.I am expecting a close game with Corks superior forwards to edge the contest,thus leaving Mayo needing to get something from the Donegal game to possibly avoid relegation
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 24, 2015, 07:24:59 AM
Moysider, maybe Vaughan's time has come to warm the bench? He might be better coming on if others are weary? It would give him a break too. I'm not convinced about him at 6 either.
Post by: Tubberman on March 24, 2015, 08:30:50 AM
Quote from: maigheo on March 24, 2015, 01:20:24 AM
I see Seamus OShea, Tom Cunniffe and Patrick Durcan are unavailable but  Tom Parsons and Jason Gibbons are back in the mix.Would really like to see Parsons above all else get a run of games as for me he is a much better option than Vaughan.I am expecting a close game with Corks superior forwards to edge the contest,thus leaving Mayo needing to get something from the Donegal game to possibly avoid relegation

What's wrong with that trio - all injured? Durcan got sent off for U21s actually didn't he, so that's keeping him out I presume.
A tall order down in Cork getting taller. Parsons and especially Gibbons have very little football played this year, but they have to get it sometime I suppose.
This bunch of players have looked like relegation candidates under Horan as well only to end up in the semis, so I hope that tough streak has carried through and they will be hurting after the capitulation against the Dubs. 
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 24, 2015, 04:39:52 PM
Dunno what to expect from Mayo so I won't make an effort to guess the team selection or tactics (or lack of same.)
I was fairly happy with the first half display against Kerry and the speed at which Noel and Pateen moved to make changes when Kerry appeared to have fought their way back into the reckoning.
Definitely grounds for reasonable optimism there, or so I thought.
I wasn't so upbeat after the Tyrone game as the display Mayo gave was truly awful..
Dammit, even I knew how Mickey's men were going to play but our lads kept running around and getting nowhere like headless chickens.Granted, the team performed well against Monaghan but it was as much a case of Monaghan losing their discipline as of Mayo playing well.The Dublin game frightened the hell outa me as neither management nor players seemed to have the slightest desire to win the bleddy game.
So it's all down to Sunday next.
A display like the last day and all them pesky rosquitoes will start buzzing around on Mayo threads once more.
I can't lay the blame on any individual or sector for the awful display against Dublin as everyone was affected by the malaise so it's hard to pinpoint specific areas that need improvement.
ON the assumption that Mayo would be too good for Cork if they played to the standard they are capable of and also that team and management have worked out their collective problems in the interval between games,I'll go for a narrow Mayo win but I'll wager no more than a tenner on the outcome.
Post by: mayoman dan on March 24, 2015, 06:46:59 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 24, 2015, 07:24:59 AM
Moysider, maybe Vaughan's time has come to warm the bench? He might be better coming on if others are weary? It would give him a break too. I'm not convinced about him at 6 either.

No sorry Farr i cant agree with this.Donie is big strong aggressive and has a rolls royce engine in him.Sure he has some weaknesses but his strengths far outweigh these and he simply has to included in the team.It hasnt really worked out for him in mf but i think it was worth a go.Personally i think wing back may be the best place for him but its not like were short on quality here.Id like to see Donie named in the forwards with instruction to get back and defend but also go with the counter attacks.He certainly has the skill set for this.
Post by: giveballaghback on March 24, 2015, 07:29:39 PM
Jays lads yere gettin yere knickers in a knot, cool down there lads its not good for the owl tickers, did I hear Parsons and Gibbons back? so sorry lads now I understand, dont do anything rash
Post by: moysider on March 24, 2015, 08:44:21 PM
Quote from: mayoman dan on March 24, 2015, 06:46:59 PM

No sorry Farr i cant agree with this.Donie is big strong aggressive and has a rolls royce engine in him.Sure he has some weaknesses but his strengths far outweigh these and he simply has to included in the team.It hasnt really worked out for him in mf but i think it was worth a go.Personally i think wing back may be the best place for him but its not like were short on quality here.Id like to see Donie named in the forwards with instruction to get back and defend but also go with the counter attacks.He certainly has the skill set for this.
Apart from his shooting maybe dan?
Look I m not shouting for anybody but if younger players are putting their hands up they shouldn't be held up. The reality is though the old guard will make up maybe 1 or 2 positions again. From what I see Hall, Durkan and O Connor the ones that seem most capable of pressing on. Unfortunately for Hall and Durkan they re trying to break into the strongest line of the team.
Post by: Nihilist on March 24, 2015, 10:49:13 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 24, 2015, 08:44:21 PM
Look I m not shouting for anybody but if younger players are putting their hands up they shouldn't be held up. The reality is though the old guard will make up maybe 1 or 2 positions again. From what I see Hall, Durkan and O Connor the ones that seem most capable of pressing on. Unfortunately for Hall and Durkan they re trying to break into the strongest line of the team.

When it comes to the panel of 32 there is a lot of talent there (provided they stay injury free etc.) But even if one of 2 go down there are pretty good backups plus several players can play in multiple positions e.g. Cunniffe, Hggins can both play in Fb or HB line. AOS can play MF or 1/2 FW or FF line. Mcloughlin, Doherty can play FF line. Andy Moran can play in 1/2 FW line.

Choose from the following to even try and get your championship 32. I have chosen mine but there's a lot of room for debate...

Goalie   Hennelly   O'Malley                                                        2      
FB      Keane      Cafferkey           Cunniffe          Higgins   C Barrett                  5      
HB      Keegan      Vaughan      Boyle      Coen   Durcan                  5      
MF      SOS         B Moran      J Gibbons     T Parsons                     4      
HFW      KMcl              AOS         J Doherty    D O'Connor   Dillon               5      
FF      Conroy      Cillian      Freeman      A Moran      Sweeney   Ronaldson      6      
                                                                                                                      =27      

Others   R Feeney           S McHale           M Hall      C O'Shea           D Kirby      D Drake      6      
      M Forde      D Clarke           B Harrisson   E Regan      C Carolan                    5

Post by: Farrandeelin on March 25, 2015, 07:39:59 AM
Quote from: giveballaghback on March 24, 2015, 07:29:39 PM
Jays lads yere gettin yere knickers in a knot, cool down there lads its not good for the owl tickers, did I hear Parsons and Gibbons back? so sorry lads now I understand, dont do anything rash
What? The?
Post by: giveballaghback on March 25, 2015, 06:25:20 PM
Farrendeen. The word you are looking for begins with F   
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 25, 2015, 09:02:11 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on March 25, 2015, 06:25:20 PM
Farrendeen. The word you are looking for begins with F   
Must be Frenchpark so.
Post by: giveballaghback on March 25, 2015, 09:06:02 PM
Nice one ;D
Post by: mayoman dan on March 25, 2015, 11:13:11 PM

His kicking in general is very poor but he has the power to break the tackle and he has the legs for getting up and down the pitch.Would you leave him out Moysider?
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 25, 2015, 11:23:03 PM
Quote from: mayoman dan on March 25, 2015, 11:13:11 PM

His kicking in general is very poor but he has the power to break the tackle and he has the legs for getting up and down the pitch.Would you leave him out Moysider?
No matter what other changes may be made, I'd keep Donie at 6 with Boyle and Keegan on either side-business as usual for the best hb line in the land.
Post by: mayoman dan on March 25, 2015, 11:27:17 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 25, 2015, 11:23:03 PM
Quote from: mayoman dan on March 25, 2015, 11:13:11 PM

No matter what other changes may be made, I'd keep Donie at 6 with Boyle and Keegan on either side-business as usual for the best hb line in the land.

If we could coach 1 or 2 to drop back and defend when they go bombing up the field this would be fine.Also most other teams have figured out how to beat us when we play this way
Post by: Nihilist on March 26, 2015, 09:03:59 PM
Mayo Team:
Clarke,
Cafferkey, Keane, Higgins,
Keegan, Boyle, Vaughan,
Moran, Parsons,
McLoughlin, AO'Shea, Doherty,
Ronaldson, Kirby, Dillon
Post by: Tubberman on March 26, 2015, 09:08:35 PM
Strong Mayo team, best so far this year I think. We might get a performance yet
Post by: Nihilist on March 26, 2015, 09:08:55 PM
Quote from: Nihilist on March 26, 2015, 09:03:59 PM
Mayo Team:
Clarke,
Cafferkey, Keane, Higgins,
Keegan, Boyle, Vaughan,
Moran, Parsons,
McLoughlin, AO'Shea, Doherty,
Ronaldson, Kirby, Dillon
Cork Team:

1. Ken O'Halloran (Bishopstown)
2. Noel Galvin (Ballincollig)
3. Michael Shields (St. Finbarr's)
4. James Loughrey (Mallow)
5. Brian O'Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
6. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)
7. Tomás Clancy (Fermoy)
8. Fintan Goold (Macroom)
9. Jamie O'Sullivan (Bishopstown)
10. Kevin O'Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
11. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
12. Colm O'Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
13. Colm O'Neill (Ballyclough)
14. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
15. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)
Subs:
16. Paddy O'Shea (St. Vincent's)
17. Stephen O'Donoghue (Ballincollig)
18. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
19. Sean White (Clonakilty)
20. Donncha O'Connor (Ballydesmond)
21. Patrick Kelly (Ballincollig)
22. John O'Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
23. Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg)
24. Barry O'Driscoll (Nemo Rangers)
25. John Hayes (Carbery Rangers)
26. Donal Óg Hodnett (O'Donovan Rossa)
Post by: twohands!!! on March 26, 2015, 09:45:53 PM
A new keeper on the subs bench, with Martin gone after starting the last day? #puzzling

No Cadogan for Cork a big plus for Mayo
Post by: macdanger2 on March 26, 2015, 10:11:14 PM
Decent team alright, good to see Caff back in. Not sure about Boyle at 6 though.

Will be interesting to see how Dillon gets on in the corner alongside Kirby.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 26, 2015, 10:30:32 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 26, 2015, 10:11:14 PM
Decent team alright, good to see Caff back in. Not sure about Boyle at 6 though.

I'd say the inside line would suit Dillon better anymore. He still has the cuteness. No harm to give Stephen Coen a break. Interesting though no mention of R Feeney on any injured list. Is he dropped?
Post by: sans pessimism on March 26, 2015, 10:33:04 PM
Diarmuid o Connor injured as well I believe
Post by: macdanger2 on March 26, 2015, 10:52:16 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 26, 2015, 10:30:32 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 26, 2015, 10:11:14 PM

I'd say the inside line would suit Dillon better anymore. He still has the cuteness. No harm to give Stephen Coen a break. Interesting though no mention of R Feeney on any injured list. Is he dropped?

He played there v Galway in 2012 I think and was v good, then got injured and hasn't played much there since which I always thought odd considering our lack of inside men. Maybe it's because of his lack of speed, Horan thought he'd get more room out the field
Post by: twohands!!! on March 26, 2015, 11:13:28 PM
http://www.mayogaa.com/news/356086/Mayo_Senior_Football_Team_V_s_Cork

QuoteMissing through injury are Cillian O'Connor, Chris Barrett, Evan Regan, Seamus O'Shea, Tom Cunniffe

QuotePatrick Durcan (unavailable through suspension as a result of red card picked up in U-21 match last week)

QuoteUnavailable due to injury, Ian Maguire, Ruairi Deane, Eoin Cadogan, Tom Clancy and Kevin Crowley.

http://gaacork.ie/news/355997/Cork_Senior_Football_Team_v_Mayo_Named

So who would folks say are more affected by injury?

Cillian O'Connor is obviously a key player out for Mayo but the fact that Cadogan is out for Cork, especially when he has been covering midfield along with Maguire and Deane, means they look seriously weak at midfield.
Post by: maigheo on March 26, 2015, 11:38:31 PM
Alan Dillion played corner forward against both Cork and Kerry in last years championship and I think he will be there in Salthill in june
Post by: moysider on March 26, 2015, 11:41:26 PM
Interesting team and a lot might depend on form and match fitness of Moran and Parsons.

Looks like we re going with a 3 man ff line and it will be interesting how we go about it defensively in that case. Our defenders might have to deal one on one with Hurley and O Neill. That could be tricky. To have any chance we ll have to dominate possession I reckon.
Post by: Chimley on March 27, 2015, 03:07:06 PM
Good to see Parsons back in action. He was the best of our midfielders in my opinion against Kerry in Limerick so he deserves a decent chance this year.
Also Kirby at FF will be interesting. Others have had plenty of chances at this stage and he brings something different to the table.
Post by: mayoman dan on March 27, 2015, 05:12:30 PM
As has already been said its great to see Parsons back in and hopefully he can nail down a mf spot beside Seamus.Cafferkey in the corner is interesting and something i think may well work.Its also good to see Kirby been given a go at full forward and hopefully he will do well here.     
Im not sure about Boyle at 6 it may well be alright for this game but i think come championship Tom Cunniffe will be manning this position.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 28, 2015, 11:27:17 AM
It's all good and well being happy with teams been named wtc, but until we see a coherent game plan, which tbh we haven't yet this year, then we will be let down again.
Post by: Syferus on March 28, 2015, 01:33:27 PM
Is young Tom still travelling back and forth from Cardiff?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 28, 2015, 04:25:49 PM
Anyone else down for this?
Mutton lane tonite for a few scoops
Post by: macdanger2 on March 29, 2015, 02:17:00 PM
1-2 to 0-3 to Cork

Cork started very well but Mayo coming into it a bit by the sounds of it
Post by: macdanger2 on March 29, 2015, 02:18:58 PM
1-2 to 0-4, 2nd point for Parsons who sounds like he's playing well
Post by: macdanger2 on March 29, 2015, 02:21:17 PM
Level now having been 5 down
Post by: Tubberman on March 29, 2015, 02:21:55 PM
5 without reply for Mayo. Mayo with wind though I think, have come back well from a terrible start.
Post by: Tubberman on March 29, 2015, 02:24:42 PM
5 points in a row followed by 3 wides in a row. Still level..
Post by: maigheo on March 29, 2015, 02:26:20 PM
1.02 to 0.06   ronaldson with the point
Post by: macdanger2 on March 29, 2015, 02:32:08 PM
According to Mad West, Vaughan's point there was the first by a Mayo back in this years league
Post by: macdanger2 on March 29, 2015, 02:35:48 PM
0-7 to 1-3 now

Edit: half time now. Cork with the wind in the 2nd half
Post by: maigheo on March 29, 2015, 02:56:55 PM
Aiden O Shea with first point of 2ind half,0.08 to 1.03
Post by: macdanger2 on March 29, 2015, 02:58:08 PM
FFS, doc misses a 13yd free  >:(
Post by: macdanger2 on March 29, 2015, 02:59:32 PM
AOS playing v well by the sounds of it.

0-08 to 1-4
Post by: maigheo on March 29, 2015, 03:06:04 PM
Michael Conroy black carded. Level at 1.05 to 0.08
Post by: macdanger2 on March 29, 2015, 03:06:44 PM
Cork by 1 now, 1-6 to 8
Post by: macdanger2 on March 29, 2015, 03:08:05 PM
Another from Parsons to level it
Post by: macdanger2 on March 29, 2015, 03:17:51 PM
1-7 to 10 with 10 to play
Post by: maigheo on March 29, 2015, 03:21:28 PM
Mayo ahead 1.07 to 0.11
Post by: Tubberman on March 29, 2015, 03:24:45 PM
Some terrible free taking from both sides, Cork the bigger sinners though
Post by: ballinaman on March 29, 2015, 03:25:54 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on March 29, 2015, 03:24:45 PM
Some terrible free taking from both sides, Cork the bigger sinners though
Was it Goulding who scored every free in the All Ireland Vs Down?
Post by: maigheo on March 29, 2015, 03:28:11 PM
goal for cork .2.07 to 0.12
Post by: ballinaman on March 29, 2015, 03:28:48 PM
Close the game down. FFS.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 29, 2015, 03:29:32 PM
Quote from: maigheo on March 29, 2015, 03:28:11 PM
goal for cork .2.07 to 0.12
What's left?
Post by: macdanger2 on March 29, 2015, 03:29:58 PM
All over, Cork by 1  >:(
Post by: Tubberman on March 29, 2015, 03:30:08 PM
Sickener to condede a goal in injury time... Seemed a bit shaky at back all through really.
But the performance was there, so there'll be a lot of positives.
Post by: maigheo on March 29, 2015, 03:30:48 PM
all over 2.07 to 0.12.Fu-k it
Post by: mayoman dan on March 29, 2015, 03:32:41 PM
Pathetic. Will we ever f**king learn taking quick free kicks when were trying to see out a game.All that effort for nothing its time the players took some responsibilty stupid stupid decision making
Post by: mayoman dan on March 29, 2015, 03:35:35 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on March 29, 2015, 03:28:48 PM

A foreign concept to a Mayo team.But dont worry lessons will be learned from today >:(
Post by: macdanger2 on March 29, 2015, 03:36:44 PM
Sounded like there were a few positives to take from the game though, Parsons very good apparently and Kirby good when the ball went into him.

Overall, massively improved from the sh*te we saw against the dubs. Likely to need something against Donegal next weekend
Post by: ballinaman on March 29, 2015, 03:45:13 PM
Systemic at this stage not being able to close out a game, either hang on by skin of teeth or get beaten.... >:(
Post by: Nihilist on March 29, 2015, 03:45:35 PM
12 point is a poor return from forwards.

Donegal hammering Tyrone at moment.
Kerry beating Monaghan easily enough as well.

Table projection as follows (not counting points difference yet)
1   CORK             10
2   KERRY               8
3   DUBLIN               7
4      MAYO               6
5   MONAGHAN       6
6   DONEGAL               6
7   TYRONE               4
8   DERRY                1
Post by: moysider on March 29, 2015, 03:49:32 PM
Quote from: mayoman dan on March 29, 2015, 03:35:35 PM

A foreign concept to a Mayo team.But dont worry lessons will be learned from today >:(

I take it you re being sarcastic.
Sounds like a much improved response but a choke is a choke. Tom Parson's return to form is massive for us and sounds like Kirby was decent. If our scoring return matched the effort we would have won with a bit to spare. Doc's miss unforgivable in the circumstances.

Next weekend is for Div 1 lives.
Post by: Put Up That Flag on March 29, 2015, 03:53:50 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 28, 2015, 01:33:27 PM
Is young Tom still travelling back and forth from Cardiff?

Hard luck again,  all on the next game against Donegal for ye
Post by: maigheo on March 29, 2015, 03:56:47 PM
Good to see Parsons playing well.He finished 2ind to Donal Vaughan in fitness tests last weekend which is a fair achievement with all the football he has missed due to injury
Post by: mayoman dan on March 29, 2015, 04:12:48 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 29, 2015, 03:49:32 PM
Quote from: mayoman dan on March 29, 2015, 03:35:35 PM

I take it you re being sarcastic.
Sounds like a much improved response but a choke is a choke. Tom Parson's return to form is massive for us and sounds like Kirby was decent. If our scoring return matched the effort we would have won with a bit to spare. Doc's miss unforgivable in the circumstances.

Next weekend is for Div 1 lives.

Ya im being sarcastic moy because thats the shite were going to have to listen to now for the next week.Its that bit of cuteness thats costing us time and time again.Taking quick free kicks when were holding on to a lead is the height of stupidity yet we persist with it over and over again
Post by: larryin89 on March 29, 2015, 04:20:14 PM
At the coach station n Cork and mixed feelings, disappointed we didn't close it out but a much improved performance . Conditions play a massive part in these league games , funny aul wind to deal with in the second half and cork had the same problem in the first obviously.

Parsons showed if he stays injury free he will be part of this team for sure.

I went towards the dug out with 10 to go for the quick exit, there is a lack of coridination with the four bucks, Andy should of been on before the goal , we needed to play the clock, we needed to foul before they got near a goal chance , all this should of came from the line, they really need to buck up their ideas and get used of the top level.

Onwards and upwards though , what a game that's in store for Castlebar next week.
Post by: maigheo on March 29, 2015, 04:37:24 PM
with Monaghan beating Kerry it looks like we will stay up even if we lose to Donegal next week but with Michael Murphy suspended I think we will beat them
Post by: Nihilist on March 29, 2015, 04:49:37 PM
Quote from: maigheo on March 29, 2015, 04:37:24 PM
with Monaghan beating Kerry it looks like we will stay up even if we lose to Donegal next week but with Michael Murphy suspended I think we will beat them

Ya - we're sound after Kerry losing. It's down now between themselves and Tyrone next weekend to see who gets relegated. Tyrone have to beat Kerry by at least 4 points or more though or else hope for a draw between us and Donegal plus a 1 point win.

Winner takes all for the fourth spot in the League between ourselves and Donegal. Although draw will do them after today's impressive scoring.
Post by: moysider on March 29, 2015, 04:50:30 PM
Yes. Looks like we re safe. I make it we re safe.
If we lose and Tyrone win it will be Kerry going down as a result of the head to head rule. If kerry win or draw Tyrone are gone.
However if we win we should make the semi-finals.
Post by: larryin89 on March 29, 2015, 04:55:28 PM
Is semi final line ups predetermined ie First v fourth, second v third ?
Post by: maigheo on March 29, 2015, 04:56:44 PM
Tyrone must beat Kerry and hope Mayo and Donegal draw then they will stay up on head to head v kerry.
Post by: moysider on March 29, 2015, 05:02:52 PM

Mission accomplished so. A semi would be a bonus but do we really want to be playing the Dubs again so soon :'( :-\ :-[ :-[ :-[

Getting Cillian fit and keeping Parsons fit for championship would be nice.
Post by: macdanger2 on March 29, 2015, 05:04:59 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 29, 2015, 04:55:28 PM
Is semi final line ups predetermined ie First v fourth, second v third ?

Yes
Post by: cuconnacht on March 29, 2015, 05:15:24 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 29, 2015, 05:02:52 PM

Mission accomplished so. A semi would be a bonus but do we really want to be playing the Dubs again so soon :'( :-\ :-[ :-[ :-[

playing im nearly sure keeps ya fit :)
Post by: larryin89 on March 29, 2015, 05:20:03 PM

Ummm I'm not sure tbh, it's 11 weeks I think till Salthill though so might be no harm in gettin another game under our belts , we need to remain on an upward cuve now if we are serious about another lash at it. Some mighty signs today imo, we looked sharper . Kirby had his man beat three times in first 20 mins but slipped  in possession , seem to be a fair bit of slippin goin on. Ronaldson proving me wrong and could be a right threat on a good dry day. Parsons was brilliant and great composure for his scores too.

So you could be looking at Seamie and parsons in the middle , freeing up AOS for  CHF / third midfielder depending on opposition with the option of putting him on the square ( kirby option too) . Cillian to come back in too. Not bad for a team in free fall.
Post by: macdanger2 on March 29, 2015, 05:21:49 PM
Any word on Regan? Presume he's still a bit away from fitness?
Post by: Nihilist on March 29, 2015, 05:27:51 PM

Dubs have 7 points. It's possible (and not highly unlikely) that Monaghan beat them above in Clones. If Kerry and ourselves or Donegal win then Dubs are outta League semis.

Bizzare thing is that one of all four of ourselves, Donegal, Kerry and Tyrone can also get relegated depending on results and scores.

So still  lots of permutations for the last day.
Post by: moysider on March 29, 2015, 05:33:26 PM
Quote from: Nihilist on March 29, 2015, 05:27:51 PM

Dubs have 7 points. It's possible (and not highly unlikely) that Monaghan beat them above in Clones. If Kerry and ourselves or Donegal win then Dubs are outta League semis.

Bizzare thing is that one of all four of ourselves, Donegal, Kerry and Tyrone can also get relegated depending on results and scores.

So still  lots of permutations for the last day.

Don t think we can go down?
Post by: maigheo on March 29, 2015, 05:35:54 PM
we could still go down if donegal beat us by about 11 or 12 points and tyrone beat kerry
Post by: moysider on March 29, 2015, 05:59:28 PM

We have a 14 point better point diff than Kerry I make it and 17 better than Tyrone.
Post by: mayoman dan on March 29, 2015, 11:09:46 PM

Getting Regan fit and firing will improve us too.A bit of coaching abut how to hold onto a lead would do us no harm either.
Post by: moysider on March 29, 2015, 11:33:49 PM
Quote from: mayoman dan on March 29, 2015, 11:09:46 PM

Getting Regan fit and firing will improve us too.A bit of coaching abut how to hold onto a lead would do us no harm either.

Regan! You re having a laugh right?? The Kaiser Sose of Mayo football. Most Mayo fans don t even know he exists. He s up against it now.

Correct about holding onto a lead. Both goals were bad but the winning one was criminal. If you re a coach you tell lads not to cross the ball because it is nearly invariably a waste of time. Except if you re playing Mayo. Yeah, Hurley was hungry and attacked it and fair play but there was a Mayo defender (name with editor) there who was on his heels. 9/10 that s a backs ball and the 1/10 times this shit happens is against us. Ah well.
Post by: mayoman dan on March 29, 2015, 11:40:13 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 29, 2015, 11:33:49 PM

Regan! You re having a laugh right?? The Kaiser Sose of Mayo football. Most Mayo fans don t even know he exists. He s up against it now.

Correct about holding onto a lead. Both goals were bad but the winning one was criminal. If you re a coach you tell lads not to cross the ball because it is nearly invariably a waste of time. Except if you re playing Mayo. Yeah, Hurley was hungry and attacked it and fair play but there was a Mayo defender (name with editor) there who was on his heels. 9/10 that s a backs ball and the 1/10 times this shit happens is against us. Ah well.

I still think theres a spot up for grabs in the forwards Moy granted it will tough for Regan but i still think he will get a go.If kicking it toward a big man at ff is the plan then we need accurate fellas playing off him and i believe Cillian and Regan are our 2 most accurate forwards.Great to see Parsons doing well today i could not make the game but it sounded like we went with 12 men behind the ball.Did our half backs do any attacking today?
Post by: moysider on March 30, 2015, 12:01:18 AM

Wasn t there either Dan and listening to a match on MidWest is a bit like playing X-box blindfolded. Not a clue what is going on.

Vaughan scored from play but you don t know how things were if you re not there. Parsons scored 0-3 and did a lot more besides which is some boost. Getting a fit parsons back is like signing a top midfielder and a leader to boot.

We were getting men behind the ball v Dublin as well but may have been as well cardboard-cut-outs. Not being there today I would suspect that we did 200% better winning possession. Barry and TP did well but Cork are not the world leaders in midfield so we were expecting to do well there. That is why losing today is a wretch. We should be in the semis already. And in fairness to MW they did acknowledge the amount of Cork ball we turned over as well.

Best of luck to Reagan but things have not gone in his favour.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 30, 2015, 09:49:33 AM
I was down there and I saw a few things differently that what I'm reading here. Going through the team

Clarke - excellent kick outs, came out well against Hurley (?) I think in the second half and stopped a score. Hard to tell for the second goal

Keane - worrys me, worrys the bejaysus out of me. Was dragged out the field and doesnt seem to have ball playing skills

Caff - Colm O'Neill was taken off scoreless, enough said

HB line - finally got back to running the ball and attacking, where the f**k has that been all year? That's what we do, it's how we play, these lads run at speed. Rusty, probably because they haven't done it in the first 5 games

B Moran - poor, very poor.
Parsons - MOTM, excellent direct running.
I wonder at the decisions though why was Moran picking up Goulding? Their forward playing midfield, surely that should have been parsons?

DOC/K McL - both got through a site of ball and won a lot of breaks
AOS - there was almost a riot when the announcer called him ashore after 10 mins of the second half

Dillon - I thought played well, wouldn't have been the first Man id have taken off
Ronaldson - doesn't make enough runs for me
Kirby - did ok in the first half and was kinda isolated. I was amazed when he was taken off with 2 mins left, I thought he hasn't come out for the second half, honestly

Conroy - gets fouled and a black to boot, an absolute joke
CoS - a bit green and probably the one to blame for not taking the cork lad down which should have happened all day everyday. But it was him so Id give it a pass. Showed good effort and Id like to see more

Sweeney - would have him before Ronny
Coen - didn't stand out, which Id generally take as a good thing for a midfielder

I wasn't too upset by yesterday, a huge improvement from Dublin. The first 20 mins was like a continuation of the dublin game and then we woke up, 5 points down. Meant we only went in a point up and there was a huge swirling breeze, we did well to stick with them. Slightly less pessimistic about the summer
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 30, 2015, 10:19:04 AM
And before I forget, how is Kerrigan such a fat f**k? The hole on him
Post by: larryin89 on March 30, 2015, 10:37:22 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 30, 2015, 10:19:04 AM

Haha, he has a fair turn of pace though in fairness.
Post by: ballinaman on March 30, 2015, 10:38:12 AM
Say that's where he generates the speed from to be fair...tis all in the glutes over a short distance...wouldn't fancy him over 350 metres though!

Sound for the analysis, hard to know what's going on from Midwest...
Post by: joemamas on March 30, 2015, 01:55:13 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 30, 2015, 09:49:33 AM
I was down there and I saw a few things differently that what I'm reading here. Going through the team

Clarke - excellent kick outs, came out well against Hurley (?) I think in the second half and stopped a score. Hard to tell for the second goal

Keane - worrys me, worrys the bejaysus out of me. Was dragged out the field and doesnt seem to have ball playing skills

HB line - finally got back to running the ball and attacking, where the f**k has that been all year? That's what we do, it's how we play, these lads run at speed. Rusty, probably because they haven't done it in the first 5 games

I wonder at the decisions though why was Moran picking up Goulding? Their forward playing midfield, surely that should have been parsons?

AOS - there was almost a riot when the announcer called him ashore after 10 mins of the second half

Dillon - I thought played well, wouldn't have been the first Man id have taken off
Kirby - did ok in the first half and was kinda isolated. I was amazed when he was taken off with 2 mins left, I thought he hasn't come out for the second half, honestly

CoS - a bit green and probably the one to blame for not taking the cork lad down which should have happened all day everyday. But it was him so Id give it a pass. Showed good effort and Id like to see more

Coen - didn't stand out, which Id generally take as a good thing for a midfielder

I wasn't too upset by yesterday, a huge improvement from Dublin. The first 20 mins was like a continuation of the dublin game and then we woke up, 5 points down. Meant we only went in a point up and there was a huge swirling breeze, we did well to stick with them. Slightly less pessimistic about the summer

Thank you for taking the time to do this.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 30, 2015, 02:18:50 PM
Coens bit should have read back and not mid
Post by: From the Bunker on March 30, 2015, 09:04:38 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 30, 2015, 10:37:22 AM

Haha, he has a fair turn of pace though in fairness.

Same build as his father Jimmy!
Post by: moysider on March 30, 2015, 09:25:37 PM
Quote from: joemamas on March 30, 2015, 01:55:13 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 30, 2015, 09:49:33 AM

Thank you for taking the time to do this.

Barry's poor form is a concern but not a surprise. He looks to have lost a yard but early days yet. Good to hear Caff. is getting some form and confidence back. He looked dreadful a couple of months ago. We could do with Keane making the step up though because Caff. always likely to be in trouble against the real big men.
Post by: mayoman dan on March 30, 2015, 11:28:43 PM

Barry's poor form is a concern but not a surprise. He looks to have lost a yard but early days yet. Good to hear Caff. is getting some form and confidence back. He looked dreadful a couple of months ago. We could do with Keane making the step up though because Caff. always likely to be in trouble against the real big men.

I believe Caff was carrying an injury for most of last year.Might explain his poor season because he is a quality defender.

Post by: Chimley on March 30, 2015, 11:53:37 PM
We're still vulnerable at the back, I think, to the high ball and people running at us. Keane is not the quickest and Dublin and Cork exploited that very well. The problem is that this lack of pace is more evident at cb so it's full back or nothing for him in my view. I read somewhere that he was pulled out the field yesterday and that he struggled a bit. He needs to pick up the man nearest to goals.
Cafferkey will come good again I think and he has the experience to deal with most forwards.
Delighted for Parsons. I said before the game that he was the best of our midfielders against Kerry last year, so to get a full summers run at it could be huge for us.
I'd like to see how our tactics develop from here. 12 men behind the ball is fine unless you leave the remaining men up the field isolated through lack of support. This is an alien concept for Mayo, so there will be teething problems if we persist with the tactic. I'd hope that it would have a better effect on our goal concession rate than we saw yesterday or else what's the point.

Post by: mayoman dan on March 31, 2015, 02:02:02 AM
Quote from: Chimley on March 30, 2015, 11:53:37 PM
We're still vulnerable at the back, I think, to the high ball and people running at us. Keane is not the quickest and Dublin and Cork exploited that very well. The problem is that this lack of pace is more evident at cb so it's full back or nothing for him in my view. I read somewhere that he was pulled out the field yesterday and that he struggled a bit. He needs to pick up the man nearest to goals.
Cafferkey will come good again I think and he has the experience to deal with most forwards.
Delighted for Parsons. I said before the game that he was the best of our midfielders against Kerry last year, so to get a full summers run at it could be huge for us.
I'd like to see how our tactics develop from here. 12 men behind the ball is fine unless you leave the remaining men up the field isolated through lack of support. This is an alien concept for Mayo, so there will be teething problems if we persist with the tactic. I'd hope that it would have a better effect on our goal concession rate than we saw yesterday or else what's the point.

If were getting a lot of men back behind the ball we need it to be a low scoring game because we are taking away a huge amount from our attack.Were still conceding big scores so as chimley said whats the point?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 31, 2015, 10:15:19 AM
McConville made an interesting point yesterday about teams getting men behind the ball trying to emulate Donegal. Donegal don't just get 14 men behind the ball, they have a plan, some guys are man markers and others are double markers and others are tracking runners. And they have it down to a tee. Dublin on Saturday Nite tried it but without a plan which meant guys just coming back without a job and it was easily bi passed.

So while I don't think we should be as naive as we have been just having people back there for the sake of it isn't right either. It's not the Mayo game and I don't want to see a wholesale change to the way we play but a little more defensive or even smarter defence is what we need
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 31, 2015, 10:51:21 AM

C'mon moy, your're going all- cryptic again.
What's the story with young Regan?
I thought he was just out injured but you seem to be saying that there is something other than this preventing his return.
Mind telling us what's up?
Post by: moysider on March 31, 2015, 03:30:18 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 31, 2015, 10:51:21 AM

C'mon moy, your're going all- cryptic again.
What's the story with young Regan?
I thought he was just out injured but you seem to be saying that there is something other than this preventing his return.
Mind telling us what's up?

Nothing sinister Lar. Supposed to be back in full contact this week.