GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: theticklemister on March 30, 2017, 10:16:41 PM

Title: Is it 's or s'?
Post by: theticklemister on March 30, 2017, 10:16:41 PM
So when writing about a club is it 's or s'?

For example, it is Padraig Pearse's GAC. When you put it in writing however, would it be.........

Padraig Pearse's Donaghy scored a point

or

Padraig Pearses' Donaghy scored a point

Let the debate commence!
Title: Re: Is it 's or s'?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2017, 10:23:48 PM
'Padraig Pearse' is a single club, so it's Padraig Pearse's.

If two clubs called 'Padraig Pearse' were associated with something or other, then it would be Padraig Pearses'.

No debate.  :P
Post by: moysider on March 30, 2017, 10:47:53 PM

The name of club is Padraig Pearses not Padraig Pearse so it would be Padraig Pearses' top scorer or whatever.

Same with Mitchels, Sarsfields, Austin Stacks, Stephenites etc. No debate!!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2017, 10:57:18 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 30, 2017, 10:47:53 PM

The name of club is Padraig Pearses not Padraig Pearse so it would be Padraig Pearses' top scorer or whatever.

No, it's fecking not, can't you read? It's Padraig Pearse's GAC, so anything else associated with that club will either be:

a) Padraig Pearse's GAC's player x, player y, etc.
or
b) Padraig Pearse's player x, player y, etc.

Unless you want to speak mangled Mayo muck!  ;)

Post by: moysider on March 30, 2017, 11:10:20 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2017, 10:57:18 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 30, 2017, 10:47:53 PM

No, it's fecking not, can't you read? It's Padraig Pearse's GAC, so anything else associated with that club will either be:

a) Padraig Pearse's GAC's player x, player y, etc.
or
b) Padraig Pearse's player x, player y, etc.

Unless you want to speak mangled Mayo muck!  ;)

You're wrong of course. The clubs are called Austin Stacks etc, not Austin Stack's GAC. Therefore the possessive of Stacks is Stacks'. Simple.

Post by: macdanger2 on March 30, 2017, 11:13:38 PM
Moysider is correct.

The club would be called Padraig Pearse GAC rather than Padraig Pearse's which would be the possessive - the club is called after PP but it doesn't belong to him
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2017, 11:14:12 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 30, 2017, 11:10:20 PM
You're wrong of course. The clubs are called Austin Stacks etc, not Austin Stack's GAC. Therefore the possessive of Stacks is Stacks'. Simple.

You can defend poor grammar all you like, but so far as I'm aware the 'Austin Stacks GAA Club' is named after only one individual, therefore you can compound their glaring grammatical error all you like. 
Post by: theticklemister on March 30, 2017, 11:16:45 PM
A debate within 30 minutes !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: AZOffaly on March 30, 2017, 11:17:20 PM
Would you say "Come on the Pearses" or "Come on the Pearse"?

As gaeilge, they are Na Piarsaigh. QED.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2017, 11:19:02 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 30, 2017, 11:13:38 PM
Moysider is correct.

The club would be called Padraig Pearse GAC rather than Padraig Pearse's which would be the possessive - the club is called after PP but it doesn't belong to him

Nonsense. The possessive doesn't only apply where someone owns something -- that would kind of rule out Wolfe Tone's grave, for example, since he can't own anything since he's dead!
Post by: theticklemister on March 30, 2017, 11:19:56 PM
" The big midfielder from Pearses caught the ball and as he raced through ,he scored a majestic point. He turned out to be Pearses' best man on the field"

Right or wrong?
Post by: macdanger2 on March 30, 2017, 11:20:40 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on March 30, 2017, 11:19:56 PM
" The big midfielder from Pearses caught the ball and as he raced through ,he scored a majestic point. He turned out to be Pearses' best man on the field"

Right or wrong?

Right
Post by: macdanger2 on March 30, 2017, 11:21:46 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2017, 11:19:02 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 30, 2017, 11:13:38 PM
Moysider is correct.

Nonsense. The possessive doesn't only apply where someone owns something -- that would kind of rule out Wolfe Tone's grave, for example, since he can't own anything since he's dead!

Sure of course the grave belongs to him, who else would it belong to
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2017, 11:23:09 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 30, 2017, 11:17:20 PM
Would you say "Come on the Pearses" or "Come on the Pearse"?
As gaeilge, they are Na Piarsaigh. QED.

Yes, but this is not about the As Gaeilge derivation, and even in Hiberno-English it won't stand -- Na Piarsaigh is ea, ní Na Padráig Piarsaigh é!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2017, 11:24:49 PM

Right or wrong?

It's correct if you want to speak mangled english, but it isn't proper english language. The club is the Padraig Pearse's GAC. Simples.
Post by: theticklemister on March 30, 2017, 11:25:11 PM
What about:

A)Padriag Pearses' GAC

B) Padraig Pearse's GAC

???????????????
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2017, 11:26:39 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on March 30, 2017, 11:25:11 PM
What about:

A)Padriag Pearses' GAC

B) Padraig Pearse's GAC

???????????????

How many Padráig Pearses is the club named after? I only know of one  :P , so it can only be B!
Post by: AZOffaly on March 30, 2017, 11:27:30 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/818916569552224256/N-HrUkgq.jpg)

You are raving.
Post by: moysider on March 30, 2017, 11:28:40 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2017, 11:14:12 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 30, 2017, 11:10:20 PM

You can defend poor grammar all you like, but so far as I'm aware the 'Austin Stacks GAA Club' is named after only one individual, therefore you can compound their glaring grammatical error all you like.

Lookit. They might have a glaring grammatical error but at this stage it is habitual/colloquial. The club is called Austin Stacks.
However if St. Colman's College's  best player was described as St. Colmans' man of the match, that would be incorrect. I hope this clears it up!! 
Post by: moysider on March 30, 2017, 11:30:34 PM

Right or wrong?

Right of course.
Post by: thebuzz on March 30, 2017, 11:33:19 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 30, 2017, 11:27:30 PM

You are raving.

The crest could be wrong too. The man's name was Padraig Pearse. The man's name was Austin Stack. I'd be inclined to go with Fear ón Srath Bán in this case. If there's an s it has to be 's or else there shouldn't be an s.
Post by: moysider on March 30, 2017, 11:33:32 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on March 30, 2017, 11:25:11 PM
What about:

A)Padriag Pearses' GAC

B) Padraig Pearse's GAC

???????????????

In that scenario it is B of course.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 30, 2017, 11:34:27 PM
If you want to be grammatical about it, I suppose it should just be Padraig Pearse GAC. Since it is just one club, and neither does it belong to him.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2017, 11:36:41 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 30, 2017, 11:34:27 PM
If you want to be grammatical about it, I suppose it should just be Padraig Pearse GAC. Since it is just one club, and neither does it belong to him.

It belongs to his memory, so the apostrophe is quite correct. But a bit like Wolfe Tone and his grave, he's not likely to come looking for it!  :P
Post by: theticklemister on March 30, 2017, 11:36:56 PM
I didn't think this would cause as much hassle. I write match reports for different outlets and just wondered what the best GAA people in the world (this forum) thought. Obviously, you all can't decide.
Post by: armaghniac on March 30, 2017, 11:37:13 PM

Maybe it commemorates all Padraig Pearses?
Post by: AZOffaly on March 30, 2017, 11:37:19 PM
Quote from: thebuzz on March 30, 2017, 11:33:19 PM

You are raving.

The crest could be wrong too. The man's name was Padraig Pearse. The man's name was Austin Stack. I'd be inclined to go with Fear ón Srath Bán in this case. If there's an s it has to be 's or else there shouldn't be an s.

That's not the question though. The question was what IS it, not what should it be. It is clearly the Pearses and the Stacks, referred to in the plural. Now if you want to tell the, they are misnamed , work away, but they are named as such, and therefore the possessive is s'
Post by: AZOffaly on March 30, 2017, 11:39:40 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 30, 2017, 11:37:13 PM

Maybe. Or maybe that's every member's name. Like the No Homers club in reverse.
Post by: theticklemister on March 30, 2017, 11:40:23 PM
I believe it should be .............................

"Here we go again, another run from Padraig Pearses' ticklemister through the heart of the defence stretches the lead further. By God he is some operator."
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2017, 11:41:27 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 30, 2017, 11:37:19 PM
That's not the question though. The question was what IS it, not what should it be. It is clearly the Pearses and the Stacks, referred to in the plural. Now if you want to tell the, they are misnamed , work away, but they are named as such, and therefore the possessive is s'

Yes, that was the question: about Padráig Pearse's GAC in County Derry.

If other language manglers elsewhere in the country are brought into it we'll be here all feckin' night.  :)
Post by: AZOffaly on March 30, 2017, 11:42:19 PM
If the club calls themselves Padraig Pearses GAC then yes, you are right. The midfielder belongs to the Pearses.

Post by: Tony Baloney on March 30, 2017, 11:44:12 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on March 30, 2017, 11:40:23 PM

"Here we go again, another run from Padraig Pearses' ticklemister through the heart of the defence stretches the lead further. By God he is some operator."
Yes otherwise Padraig Pearse himself owns you.
Post by: theticklemister on March 30, 2017, 11:44:43 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 30, 2017, 11:44:12 PM

PMSL !!!LOL
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2017, 11:45:13 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 30, 2017, 11:44:12 PM

Simple-minded fool!  ;)
Post by: moysider on March 30, 2017, 11:47:14 PM

Of course that is the way it should be. But likes of Ballina Stephenites, Castlebar Mitchels, Charlestown Sarsfields, etc. are stuck with this grammatical anomaly. How this happened is the real ?.
Possibly a bit of messing about from Irish to English. There is a shop I know that thought it would be wise to put their name in Irish over their door - and then added an 's! So they ended up with MacÉil's (not the real name). Most people don't even notice how messed up that is.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 30, 2017, 11:50:00 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2017, 11:41:27 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 30, 2017, 11:37:19 PM

Yes, that was the question: about Padráig Pearse's GAC in County Derry.

If other language manglers elsewhere in the country are brought into it we'll be here all feckin' night.  :)

I the case of this specific club, then, I agree with you. It is the only club like this that I've ever seen called as Padraig pearse's GAC.

The possessive should be based on the name of the club, so all the other Pearses are Pearses' midfielder. This one belongs to Padraig himself
Post by: moysider on March 30, 2017, 11:52:25 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 30, 2017, 11:39:40 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 30, 2017, 11:37:13 PM

Maybe. Or maybe that's every member's name. Like the No Homers club in reverse.

That's good AZ. The members are the Pearses. A collective noun.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2017, 11:53:58 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 30, 2017, 11:50:00 PM
The possessive should be based on the name of the club, so all the other Pearses are Pearses' midfielder. This one belongs to Padraig himself

The possessive apostrophe is possessive yes, but it does not have to be a tangible, ie, the memory or honour of whoever is sufficient for the possessive apostrophe. So forget this 'belong' nonsense.
Post by: theticklemister on March 30, 2017, 11:54:22 PM
So ye think it would be John Mitchel's GAC....................John Mitchels' number 8 caught the ball.???
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on March 30, 2017, 11:54:42 PM
3 pages already, this really is the most important issue in the GAA at the moment.
Post by: theticklemister on March 30, 2017, 11:57:13 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on March 30, 2017, 11:54:42 PM
3 pages already, this really is the most important issue in the GAA at the moment.

f**k everything else, this is where the craic is happening. 
Post by: moysider on March 31, 2017, 12:10:00 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on March 30, 2017, 11:54:22 PM
So ye think it would be John Mitchel's GAC....................John Mitchels' number 8 caught the ball.???

If the name of the club is John Mitchel's GAC then John Mitchels' number 8 would be wrong. If the club is just called John Mitchels then John Mitchels' number 8 is correct.

Chicago Bulls is a team name, right? It is not Chicago Bull's Basketball Team.

Therefore it is Chicago Bulls' owner. Not Chicago Bull's owner. The club does not belong to a bull. The team/players are called bulls. In Ireland we call them Pearses or Mitchels instead of Bears, Reds and Bulls. Surely this should put it to bed. The original Myles would not have messed up like that.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2017, 12:23:45 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 31, 2017, 12:10:00 AM

Therefore it is Chicago Bulls' owner. Not Chicago Bull's owner. The club does not belong to a bull. The team/players are called bulls. In Ireland we call them Pearses or Mitchels instead of Bears, Reds and Bulls. Surely this should put it to bed. The original Myles would not have messed up like that.

For fcuk's sake, I give up!  :-\
Post by: theticklemister on March 31, 2017, 12:28:21 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2017, 12:23:45 AM

does the 'f**k' own the sake??
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 31, 2017, 12:31:18 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on March 30, 2017, 10:16:41 PM

For example, it is Padraig Pearse's GAC. When you put it in writing however, would it be.........

or

Let the debate commence!

You could avoid controversy by trying different forms:

Or if you don't want to use the possessive:

This is a bit unique to the GAA. We name clubs after people, but use the possessive in writing, then speak as if it's the plural, and then incorrectly spell the names of some clubs.  Spelling it as a plural (no apostrophe) is like the inverse of the grocer's apostrophe problem.
Post by: moysider on March 31, 2017, 12:34:03 AM

You should! Everybody's got to admit defeat sometime's.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2017, 12:37:47 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 31, 2017, 12:34:03 AM

I'll just break this to you though: Chicago Bull wasn't a real person, d'oh!  :P
Post by: moysider on March 31, 2017, 12:42:18 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 31, 2017, 12:31:18 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on March 30, 2017, 10:16:41 PM

or

Let the debate commence!

You could avoid controversy by trying different forms:

• Padraig Pearse's man Donaghy scored a point

• Donaghy of Padraig Pearse's scored a point

• Donaghy scored a point for Padraig Pearse's

Or if you don't want to use the possessive:

• Padraig Pearse man Donaghy scored a point

• Donaghy of Padraig Pearse scored a point

• Donaghy scored a point for Padraig Pearse

This is a bit unique to the GAA. We name clubs after people, but use the possessive in writing, then speak as if it's the plural, and then incorrectly spell the names of some clubs.  Spelling it as a plural (no apostrophe) is like the inverse of the grocer's apostrophe problem.

I think AZ nailed it. The players/members are all Pearses and Mitchels like other teams are Bears, Pumas, Kiwis and Springboks. Not Bear's, Puma's, Kiwi's and Springbok's.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 31, 2017, 12:48:30 AM

If the name of the club is John Mitchel's GAC then John Mitchels' number 8 would be wrong. If the club is just called John Mitchels then John Mitchels' number 8 is correct.

The "Bull" in "Chicago Bulls" is not the name of a dead guy. It's a type of animal. In any case we're not talking about US professional sports and the weird naming convention they have.
Post by: moysider on March 31, 2017, 12:51:22 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2017, 12:37:47 AM

I'll just break this to you though: Chicago Bull wasn't a real person, d'oh!  :P

Those real person's did not possess a football club either. The bull has as much claim to the team as Pearse or James Stephens do. The Pearses = The Bulls. No difference how they are treated grammatically.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2017, 12:52:16 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 31, 2017, 12:51:22 AM
Those real person's did not possess a football club either. The bull has as much claim to the team as Pearse or James Stephens do. The Pearses = The Bulls. No difference how they are treated grammatically.

You don't really get this (possessive) apostrophe thing in the english language, do you?
Post by: moysider on March 31, 2017, 12:57:12 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 31, 2017, 12:48:30 AM

The "Bull" in "Chicago Bulls" is not the name of a dead guy. It's a type of animal. In any case we're not talking about US professional sports and the weird naming convention they have.

I've addressed this already. Grammatically it doesn't matter if it a dead bull or a dead guy. The club does not belong to Stack, Pearse, etc. The members call themselves Pearses, etc. It could be Smiths or Browns. 
Post by: Hardy on March 31, 2017, 01:01:43 AM
I despair.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2017, 01:02:09 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 31, 2017, 12:57:12 AM
I've addressed this already. Grammatically it doesn't matter if it a dead bull or a dead guy. The club does not belong to Stack, Pearse, etc. The members call themselves Pearses, etc. It could be Smiths or Browns.

Yep, you just don't get the possessive apostrophe -- since when did a dog, or a cat, or any other animal 'own' anything? Yet, it's the dog's kennel, the cat's litter, etc. It's the same with the memory, or honour, etc., of a human.
Post by: moysider on March 31, 2017, 01:05:04 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2017, 12:52:16 AM

You don't really get this (possessive) apostrophe thing in the english language, do you?

On the contrary. You don't get the thing that the club does not belong to a Pearse or whoever. Just the members call themselves Pearses. Like they might call themselves Browns, Molloys, Burkes or the O Briens! Even though they are not all Pearses or O Briens or whatever. Chicago Bull players are not really bulls.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2017, 01:06:40 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 31, 2017, 01:05:04 AM
On the contrary. You don't get the thing that the club does not belong to a Pearse or whoever. Just the members call themselves Pearses. Like they might call themselves Browns, Molloys, Burkes or the O Briens! Even though they are not all Pearses or O Briens or whatever. Chicago Bull players are not really bulls.

No, you actually don't, but sure keep digging.  ::)
Post by: moysider on March 31, 2017, 01:09:48 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2017, 01:02:09 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 31, 2017, 12:57:12 AM

Yep, you just don't get the possessive apostrophe -- since when did a dog, or a cat, or any other animal 'own' anything? Yet, it's the dog's kennel, the cat's litter, etc. It's the same with the memory, or honour, etc., of a human.

Since when did Pearse own a football club? The club members are the Pearses. The club is not Pearse's. It's not that difficult to get. It doesn't matter that Pearse was a person and a bulls is not. Grammatically they behave the same. 
Post by: moysider on March 31, 2017, 01:14:17 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2017, 01:06:40 AM

Not digging at all. 100% correct. Bulls and Pearses are both labels. Both treated the same in a sentence. The possessive case for bulls no different for a person. No distinction.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2017, 01:16:22 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 31, 2017, 01:14:17 AM

Not digging at all. 100% correct. Bulls and Pearses are both labels. Both treated the same in a sentence. The possessive case for bulls no different for a person. No distinction.

Go back to the OP's original question, then maybe stop comparing apples and flying toaster ovens.
Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2017, 01:16:51 AM
No one ever remembers Willie!
Ballybay got it right ---  The Pearse Brothers.

or the Pearse Bro's

Post by: blanketattack on March 31, 2017, 01:20:22 AM
GAA clubs are like businesses or brands and they have now become acceptable to drop the apostrophe e.g. Dunnes Stores, Currys, Barclays bank, Jurys. Same has occurred for streets e.g. Jones Road
Post by: moysider on March 31, 2017, 01:31:14 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2017, 01:16:22 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 31, 2017, 01:14:17 AM

Go back to the OP's original question, then maybe stop comparing apples and flying toaster ovens.

I already dealt with that. If a club is called Padraig Pearse's GAC then it's Pearse's mom etc. If its Austin Stacks best player then it is Stacks' mom. Take Charlestown Sarsfields. It will be Sarsfields' top scorer - not Sarsfield's top scorer.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2017, 01:33:41 AM
The Chigago Bulls eh (pre-pluralised)?

How about something a little closer to home like Manchester United, or Liverpool, etc -- since when were reports of their players pluralised? It'll be Manchester United's this and Liverpool's fecking that, none of your oul s apostrophes there.  :P
Post by: moysider on March 31, 2017, 01:54:42 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2017, 01:33:41 AM
The Chigago Bulls eh (pre-pluralised)?

How about something a little closer to home like Manchester United, or Liverpool, etc -- since when were reports of their players pluralised? It'll be Manchester United's this and Liverpool's fecking that, none of your oul s apostrophes there.  :P

The teams are  called Liverpool and Manchester United. Not Liverpools and Manchester Uniteds. Our teams are called Austin Stacks, Castlebar Mitchels, etc. looks like ours are 'pre-pluralised' as well as The Bulls. That is the label those clubs have.
Post by: ONeill on March 31, 2017, 05:50:12 AM
Jesus Christ. Holy fook.

FoSB, you'll never get it through to them.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 08:15:38 AM
Can we agree that the club in Derry, Padraig Pearse's GAC, would be Pearse's Midfielder, while the club in Galway, Padraig Pearses GAA Club, would be Pearses' midfielder?

Post by: armaghniac on March 31, 2017, 09:01:10 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 08:15:38 AM
Can we agree that the club in Derry, Padraig Pearse's GAC, would be Pearse's Midfielder, while the club in Galway, Padraig Pearses GAA Club, would be Pearses' midfielder?

Of course, who would ever write it differently?
Post by: Hardy on March 31, 2017, 09:07:32 AM
Thomas Davis.
Post by: Minus15 on March 31, 2017, 09:08:43 AM
I am consistently annoyed at the amount of people that misuse the apostrophe every single day
Post by: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 09:15:03 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 31, 2017, 09:01:10 AM

Of course, who would ever write it differently?

I don't know. But I think this whole thread has been lads arguing at crossed purposes :) My whole point was that the apostrophe, in the way it is written in match reports etc, would be determined by the name of the club, rather than whether the club was named correctly in  grammatical terms. I didn't realise that these balubas in Derry were actually named Padraig Pearse's GAC, because I didn't bother my arse reading the first post properly!

Hardy, good one. That goes back to my point that the proper way to actually name the clubs is probably the person's name + GAA Club or whatever. Thomas Davis GAA, Padraig Pearse GAA, Sarsfield GAA, etc etc.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 09:19:55 AM
Quote from: Minus15 on March 31, 2017, 09:08:43 AM
I am consistently annoyed at the amount of people that misuse the apostrophe every single day

This one wouldn't annoy me too much. What annoys me is the use of Their, There, They're.

One I always have to think about when writing it, is 'it's/its'.

It's a lovely day
Its colour.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 31, 2017, 09:50:29 AM
http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2016/03/07/worlds-first-grammar-nazi-parade-takes-place-in-berlin/
Post by: Esmarelda on March 31, 2017, 09:53:14 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 09:19:55 AM

This one wouldn't annoy me too much. What annoys me is the use of Their, There, They're.

It's a lovely day
Its colour.
Well it annoys me no end, almost as much as having missed this debate up until this point.
I think you're all right. I was with FOSB but I think Moysider makes a good point too. The problem is that the club made a balls of naming themselves.

I'm delighted to see so many posters having a very good grasp of the almost discarded apostrophe.
Post by: Billys Boots on March 31, 2017, 11:15:05 AM
Quote from: Hardy on March 31, 2017, 09:07:32 AM
Thomas Davis.

Wow, two laughs generated by GAABoard in one week for me.  We're on the way back!!
Post by: Minus15 on March 31, 2017, 11:35:42 AM
Quote from: Esmarelda on March 31, 2017, 09:53:14 AM

It's a lovely day
Its colour.
Well it annoys me no end, almost as much as having missed this debate up until this point.
I think you're all right. I was with FOSB but I think Moysider makes a good point too. The problem is that the club made a balls of naming themselves.

I'm delighted to see so many posters having a very good grasp of the almost discarded apostrophe.

Mixing up Your and You're unforgivable. Seeing businesses make mistakes with the apostrophe in advertisements and the like and people adding an apostrophe before the s just for the craic in a professional setting are pretty bad.

Financial Director in my last place started every email with 'Guy's'

In the end I pulled her on it. Couldn't take it any more.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 31, 2017, 12:10:20 PM
What a thread. 5 pages from 10.15pm to 1.54am all about spelling and grammar.
Yisin's' are wile craick Hi, so yis are, aye!

Poor O'Neill's, up at 5.50 must have got a wile gunk!

Doesn't say much for the interest in the national leagues though.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 31, 2017, 12:22:12 PM
Also "could've went" drives me bananas.

I've seen more "I seen" written down as well.
Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2017, 12:45:40 PM

A club is singular, a team is plural.
Club is named Padraig Pearse,  the team is also named Padraig Pearse
It is a nice club and they're a good team

Pearse's away dressing room stinks of vomit.
Pearses' goalkeeper is a giant.

Regarding "Padraig Pearses"  I wouldn't have agreed to that name, not a good name.

This thread has lost the run of itself.

Post by: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 12:53:37 PM
The clubs I am talking about are not named Padraig Pearse though. They are explicitly and clearly named Padraig Pearses.

They might be wrong, as I mentioned before, but that's the way they are named.
Post by: PW Nally on March 31, 2017, 01:02:20 PM
In our own little way we are all Padraig Pearses.
Post by: Hardy on March 31, 2017, 01:27:12 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 31, 2017, 12:45:40 PM
A club is singular, a team is plural.

What?
Post by: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 01:41:30 PM
Leave it so. Just leave it so.
Post by: weareros on March 31, 2017, 01:50:17 PM
Might be better solved by taking Saint Patrick as an example.
There's lots of "Saint Patrick's cathedrals" which is the equivalent of lots of "Padraic Pearse's GAA clubs", correctly spelled St. Patrick's and Padraic Pearse's - one too has to be careful with the use of a word and the mention of a word, thus the quotes.
Saint Patrick was a man
Padraic Pearse was a man
They had churches and GAA clubs named after them.
Their followers were often religious and passionate people but fairly poor at grammar.
Post by: Esmarelda on March 31, 2017, 01:57:08 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 31, 2017, 12:22:12 PM

What's wrong with it?
Post by: Hardy on March 31, 2017, 01:59:09 PM

I'm waiting for "could of went". It won't be long.
Post by: ONeill on March 31, 2017, 01:59:28 PM
What needs to be done is a renaming of everything.
Post by: Hardy on March 31, 2017, 02:01:05 PM
OK. I'm gonna a be Johann Sebastian Shakespeare.
Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2017, 02:04:14 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 12:53:37 PM
The clubs I am talking about are not named Padraig Pearse though. They are explicitly and clearly named Padraig Pearses.
They might be wrong, as I mentioned before, but that's the way they are named.
Got you.
The Derry club's official name is the one that's on the club constitution, in gaelic. 
2.  The official Name of the Club shall be
AN CUMANN LÚTHCHLEAS GAEL
___________ the English version of which shall be
____________G.A.A. Club.

I assumed the club, CLG Pádraig Mhic Piarais Cill Ria  was called Patrick Pearse in english  and the full official english version being Patrick Pearse's  GAA club Kilrea.  The club is singular.

Post by: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 02:06:22 PM
The one in Derry is called, in English, Padraig Pearse's GAC.

The one in Roscommon, Galway and every other example I looked at, is called Padraig Pearses GAA Club.

The Limerick club is called Na Piarsaigh.
Post by: joemamas on March 31, 2017, 02:24:27 PM
Quote from: Minus15 on March 31, 2017, 11:35:42 AM

It's a lovely day
Its colour.

Mixing up Your and You're unforgivable. Seeing businesses make mistakes with the apostrophe in advertisements and the like and people adding an apostrophe before the s just for the craic in a professional setting are pretty bad.

In the past, when I was sending emails to multiple parties, I was not sure how to begin salutation, if it was two I would go with "Dear Jack and Jill, if it was three I would use a ,
more than that I would go with "Hi everyone" or "To all", which sounded a bit too formal/bossy for my liking.
Post by: Tubberman on March 31, 2017, 02:30:21 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on March 31, 2017, 01:57:08 PM

What's wrong with it?

Could have GONE, not WENT.
You should of known that, otherwise their was something wrong with you're education...
Post by: Esmarelda on March 31, 2017, 02:34:43 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on March 31, 2017, 02:30:21 PM

What's wrong with it?

You should of known that, otherwise their was something wrong with you're education...
Ahhhhhhh. It is one that I must admit I'm not on top of. Must try harder.
Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2017, 02:39:43 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 02:06:22 PM

The one in Roscommon, Galway and every other example I looked at, is called Padraig Pearses GAA Club.

The should only be the 'One Pearse to rule them all'.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 02:46:20 PM
This is why I like simple club names. Like 'Ferbane's corner forward made an absolutely pathetic attempt at goal.' or 'Newport's coach hasn't a clue about hurling OR football'.
Post by: LeoMc on March 31, 2017, 03:05:39 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on March 31, 2017, 02:30:21 PM

What's wrong with it?

:)
Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2017, 04:27:32 PM
Quote from: PW Nally on March 31, 2017, 01:02:20 PM
In our own little way we are all Padraig Pearses.
I'm reminded of the popular ditty,
'We all dream of a team of Padraig Pearses'.
Post by: Billys Boots on March 31, 2017, 04:29:58 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 01:41:30 PM
Leave it so. Just leave it so.

Ah, lookit!
Post by: Billys Boots on March 31, 2017, 04:30:35 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 31, 2017, 02:01:05 PM
OK. I'm gonna a be Johann Sebastian Shakespeare.

Don't come Bach!
Post by: Billys Boots on March 31, 2017, 04:32:03 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 02:46:20 PM
This is why I like simple club names. Like 'Ferbane's corner forward made an absolutely pathetic attempt at goal.' or 'Newport's coach hasn't a clue about hurling OR football'.

Both straight from your press folder?
Post by: moysider on March 31, 2017, 04:38:36 PM

So the Limerick one translates as Pearses not Pearse?  Use of the plural in Irish too. Why I wonder?
Post by: rosnarun on March 31, 2017, 04:44:10 PM
I think the OP was looking for a general rule about accepted Grammar rather that a pissing contest  between people who are so insecure they feel the need to constantly correct other people's grammar and too thick to back down when proven wrong about a poorly translated Club Name. Perhaps?
Post by: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 04:45:34 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 31, 2017, 04:32:03 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 02:46:20 PM

Both straight from your press folder?

No, from my wife.
Post by: Hardy on March 31, 2017, 04:55:18 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 31, 2017, 04:38:36 PM

So the Limerick one translates as Pearses not Pearse?  Use of the plural in Irish too. Why I wonder?

Geraldines, Rovers, Rangers, Pearses.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 31, 2017, 05:06:03 PM
Quote from: joemamas on March 31, 2017, 02:24:27 PM

It's a lovely day
Its colour.

In the past, when I was sending emails to multiple parties, I was not sure how to begin salutation, if it was two I would go with "Dear Jack and Jill, if it was three I would use a ,
more than that I would go with "Hi everyone" or "To all", which sounded a bit too formal/bossy for my liking.

Anytime an email starts with "Guys," I straight away delete it. And I've never had a follow up request as to why I didn't reply or act on whatever was said. It's a great junk filter.
Post by: supersub on March 31, 2017, 05:15:30 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on March 31, 2017, 05:06:03 PM

It's a lovely day
Its colour.

Anytime an email starts with "Guys," I straight away delete it. And I've never had a follow up request as to why I didn't reply or act on whatever was said. It's a great junk filter.

Waow your cut throat.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 05:19:20 PM

It's a lovely day
Its colour.

You're probably missing out on loads of offers and deals from Leinster Rugby.
Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2017, 07:01:50 PM

There are two Pearses.

Post by: Ball Hopper on March 31, 2017, 07:11:33 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 31, 2017, 07:01:50 PM

There are two Pearses.

From Kerry:  Pearse Bros.Churchill Gaa Club
Post by: theticklemister on March 31, 2017, 08:33:48 PM
Huddersfield's Brothers Pearse
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on March 31, 2017, 10:51:55 PM
Sort of related..

Not one of the starting forwards has ever scored a point from play

Or

Not one of the starting forwards have ever scored a point from play

My P4 child's homework
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 31, 2017, 11:02:23 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on March 31, 2017, 10:51:55 PM
Sort of related..

Or

My P4 child's homework

First one. The singular "one of" the forwards is the subject of the sentence.
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 31, 2017, 11:09:59 PM
Sort of related..

Or

My P4 child's homework
It has to be the first one.
Not one of the starting forwards have ever scored a point from play.
It refers each forward on an individual basis not a collective one.
Compare it with the following and you'll see what I mean. "All of the forward have never scored a point from play."
Same meaning but the later refers to all the forwards as a group and not each one on a one by one basis.
Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2017, 11:10:16 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 31, 2017, 11:02:23 PM
Sort of related..

Or

My P4 child's homework

I don't know what level a child's P4 is at (primary 4th class?), but I suspect that kind of question in a homework will eventually lead to a raft of corrective GAA club name changes in the future  ;D
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on March 31, 2017, 11:51:06 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 31, 2017, 11:10:16 PM
Sort of related..

Or

My P4 child's homework

I don't know what level a child's P4 is at (primary 4th class?), but I suspect that kind of question in a homework will eventually lead to a raft of corrective GAA club name changes in the future  ;D

She's eight.

Not one and none are the the same?

Not one has scored vs none has scored?

Not one have scored vs none have scored?
Post by: Main Street on April 01, 2017, 12:24:59 AM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on March 31, 2017, 11:51:06 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 31, 2017, 11:10:16 PM
Sort of related..

Or

My P4 child's homework

She's eight.

Not one and none are the the same?

Not one has scored vs none has scored?

Not one have scored vs none have scored?
At age 8,  for certain I wouldn't have had a clue.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 01, 2017, 12:35:56 AM

Yes, moysider had some valid points, yet he comes out with apostrophe howlers as in exhibit a & b above. Case not even worth the dismissal! :)

Then he regurgitates about Na Piarsaigh, etc... Yawn!

And anyone who talks about the apostrophe meaning the 'belonging' or 'ownership' of anything just don't get this english language thing (though I wish we didn't have to!) ;)

Post by: Main Street on April 01, 2017, 11:54:56 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 01, 2017, 12:35:56 AM

Yes, moysider had some valid points, yet he comes out with apostrophe howlers as in exhibit a & b above. Case not even worth the dismissal! :)

Then he regurgitates about Na Piarsaigh, etc... Yawn!

And anyone who talks about the apostrophe meaning the 'belonging' or 'ownership' of anything just don't get this english language thing (though I wish we didn't have to!) ;)
Methinks they were deliberate apostrophe howlers
but i'm burdened by an occasional sense of humour.
Post by: vallankumous on April 01, 2017, 12:10:55 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2017, 10:23:48 PM
'Padraig Pearse' is a single club, so it's Padraig Pearse's.

If two clubs called 'Padraig Pearse' were associated with something or other, then it would be Padraig Pearses'.

No debate.  :P

Yip.
The debate was over with the second post.
Post by: vallankumous on April 01, 2017, 12:18:36 PM

You are raving.
This Club is named after more than one Padraig Pearse or one person called Padriag Prarses or it's an original name.
Post by: ONeill on April 02, 2017, 11:23:51 AM
Sort of related..

Or

My P4 child's homework

She must go to a school in Derry.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 06, 2017, 09:41:09 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 05:19:20 PM

It's a lovely day
Its colour.

You're probably missing out on loads of offers and deals from Leinster Rugby.

Ah no. I read the ones that begin with "Goys".
Post by: rosnarun on April 06, 2017, 12:25:31 PM
how is this in the main thread . surely we can have a pedant and peadophile corner, if the peados don't mind sharing
Post by: armaghniac on April 09, 2017, 02:47:39 AM
Pedants have their uses, but why such fury over apostrophes?

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2017/apr/08/pedants-have-their-uses-why-such-fury-over-apostrophes
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 12, 2017, 09:25:49 AM
Quote from: AQMP on April 12, 2017, 09:18:01 AM
I somehow missed this thread but glad to see Hardy and a couple of others keeping the good grammar flag flying high.  I hate to muddy the waters but can I introduce North Belfast's finest:

http://pearses.weebly.com/

Patrick Pearses GAC

with the Irish version (Irish/English mash up??)

"Cumann An Phiarsaigh GAC"

CLG An Phiarsach maybe? Hardstation could say for sure.

Or maybe it is Cumann na Piarsaigh under the genetive case.
Post by: LaurelEye on April 13, 2017, 02:41:36 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 12, 2017, 09:25:49 AM
Quote from: AQMP on April 12, 2017, 09:18:01 AM
I somehow missed this thread but glad to see Hardy and a couple of others keeping the good grammar flag flying high.  I hate to muddy the waters but can I introduce North Belfast's finest:

http://pearses.weebly.com/

Patrick Pearses GAC

with the Irish version (Irish/English mash up??)

"Cumann An Phiarsaigh GAC"

CLG An Phiarsach maybe? Hardstation could say for sure.

Or maybe it is Cumann na Piarsaigh under the genetive case.

An chéad díoclaonadh:

An Piarsach = Pearse
An Phiarsaigh = Pearse's (singular genitive)
Na Piarsaigh = Pearses (plural)
Na bPiarsach = Pearses' (plural genitive)