Started by T Fearon, April 22, 2008, 09:21:51 AM

Quote from: tyssam5 on September 23, 2010, 08:36:51 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on September 23, 2010, 08:22:10 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 23, 2010, 10:14:20 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on September 22, 2010, 05:12:17 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 22, 2010, 10:44:46 AM
my problem is that on any saturday evening I can see the results on the news and even a wee snippet of Lisnagarvey playing Banbridge with one man and his dog watching, yet on the sunday evening i won't have a fuckin clue about any club championship games going on all over the north, hurling and football with thousands at them.

I might get a bit of coverage on a monday night if the Derry lads are pucking the heads off each other the previous day, but not too much if all was quiet on the melee front.
Who supplies the soccer coverage? I don't think the BBC have cameras at all of those local games.

Not all Irish league games are covered, i didn't say they were, just the big ones, and I'd bet they're BBC camera's
So you're clearly guessing. How much would you bet? Or maybe you should ask them.

Well if they see fit to send camera's to a sporting event attended by 50 to 250 people then yes surely a club championship game with multiples more in attendance is equally merited
The BBC isn't in the business of covering things on the basis of popularity; that's not their remit. They have an obligation to cover minority interests and local soccer would fit that bill.
Having said that, there is plenty of GAA coverage on BBC - I don't think we need TV coverage of the games at every level. Some coverage at club level from county finals onwards is more than enough if you ask me. And I don't think the BBC needs to be the only media outlet expected to cover every last bit of GAA.

All I want is a results program on a sunday evening giving a run down of club and or National League results for the day like we get on the saturday for soccer, rugby and hockey.

Is that too much to ask?
Personally I couldn't be bothered with that. If I can see the results on my laptop or on my phone i'm not going to turn on the TV for them.

You could say the same about any TV program. Also while you and I can do that, there are plenty of people in the older generation who do not rely on more modern devices. Some proper coverage of senior county championships is not unreasonable.
Like the wireless?

Oh, and you couldn't say that about any TV programme. I'm not going to watch a programme on my phone like i'd check results.

All I want is a results program on a sunday evening giving a run down of club and or National League results for the day like we get on the saturday for soccer, rugby and hockey.

Radio 1 has a run down of all the results on a Sunday night before the 11 o'clock news with Seán Óg Ó Ceallacháin.

Why the need for the Beeb to provide a service RTÉ already provide?

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 23, 2010, 08:45:13 PM

Radio 1 has a run down of all the results on a Sunday night before the 11 o'clock news with Seán Óg Ó Ceallacháin.

Why the need for the Beeb to provide a service RTÉ already provide?
Because if it isn't used to cover GAA, "themmuns" will get it!

if coverage of gaelic games is not covered on the beeb why should we pay them? thats the point! you can put utv in front of all your points and theyre just the same. you can say sure i dont watch it, thats your choice, but even if you never watch the evil bbc theyre still gonna want £145/year on the premise that they provide fair and impartial public broadcasting when clearly they dont.eg these tossers further embarassed themselves on irl final day in the canalcourt in newry and in a cinema in downpatrick when they went to record there both places had rte on :D :D says it all >:(

met jerome today hes getting on ok and in good form. nice guy. if you need any stuff filmed like a match or something your clubs doing give him a turn ;)

Any craic

Quote from: lawnseed on September 24, 2010, 12:14:59 AM
if coverage of gaelic games is not covered on the beeb why should we pay them? thats the point! you can put utv in front of all your points and theyre just the same. you can say sure i dont watch it, thats your choice, but even if you never watch the evil bbc theyre still gonna want £145/year on the premise that they provide fair and impartial public broadcasting when clearly they dont.eg these t**sers further embarassed themselves on irl final day in the canalcourt in newry and in a cinema in downpatrick when they went to record there both places had rte on :D :D says it all >:(

met jerome today hes getting on ok and in good form. nice guy. if you need any stuff filmed like a match or something your clubs doing give him a turn ;)

I'm confused. What all does it say?

That people in both Newry and Downpatrick get good rte reception ;D

Or that people just like a good moan. Moan that the BBC don't cover GAA but watch it on RTÉ when they do.

I'm really at a loss here. The coverage of GAA on BBC has multiplied hugely in recent times and now surely surpasses soccer and rugby. I do not see any cause whatsoever for complaint. Sure they don't have any Miceal O'Muircheartaighs, or calibre of analysts like Spillane, O'Rourke etc, but there is no reasonable cause for complaint imho.

Quote from: Take Your Points on September 25, 2010, 11:51:11 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 25, 2010, 11:11:58 AM
I'm really at a loss here. The coverage of GAA on BBC has multiplied hugely in recent times and now surely surpasses soccer and rugby. I do not see any cause whatsoever for complaint. Sure they don't have any Miceal O'Muircheartaighs, or calibre of analysts like Spillane, O'Rourke etc, but there is no reasonable cause for complaint imho.

It's the quality of the presentation that is the problem.

Axe to grind?

The quality of the broadcasting is the standard of local NI broadcasting - no better and no worse so I don't think we have anything to complain about here.

I believe they should be covering the ulster club - and they have started to - however they shouldn't be doing in-county club games. There was a year there where they didn't cover this and on here there was outrage and rightly so. Coverage has improved now.

Also it does sometimes seem like they're very keen to show the fights but on the whole coverage isn't that bad.

Jerome hasn't fared too well out of this- to be honest he's made himself look like a bit of an eejit. He still deserves some respect for greatly increasing the coverage of the GAA.

I think self delusions like self proclaiming yourself "the voice/face of the GAA" indicate a hugely self inflated ego. GAA coverage like coverage of all sports in all media everywhere, has evolved with the BBC, and no one person deserves any special credit.

If anything the BBC could have taken umbrage with Ulster GAA, as after having got the ball rolling with meaningful television coverage back in 1990, they were shafted by the Ulster Council who sold the rights in the mid 90s to UTV for more money.

I well remember back in the 70s when RTE wasn't accessible in the North and all you got all year was 30 minutes of highlights of the Ulster Final late on a Sunday night in July on tv, and perhaps a live screening of the Ulster team in the All Ireland semi final (and of course the 1977 All Ireland Final thanks to Armagh ;D). There is no comparison these days, and instead of whingeing people should be grateful

Quote from: T Fearon on September 25, 2010, 01:27:10 PM
I think self delusions like self proclaiming yourself "the voice/face of the GAA" indicate a hugely self inflated ego. GAA coverage like coverage of all sports in all media everywhere, has evolved with the BBC, and no one person deserves any special credit.

If anything the BBC could have taken umbrage with Ulster GAA, as after having got the ball rolling with meaningful television coverage back in 1990, they were shafted by the Ulster Council who sold the rights in the mid 90s to UTV for more money.

I well remember back in the 70s when RTE wasn't accessible in the North and all you got all year was 30 minutes of highlights of the Ulster Final late on a Sunday night in July on tv, and perhaps a live screening of the Ulster team in the All Ireland semi final (and of course the 1977 All Ireland Final thanks to Armagh ;D). There is no comparison these days, and instead of whingeing people should be grateful

We all need a nice cup of Tony Fearon's Modesty tea. With full fat milk of course and a wee spoon of sugar to hide that bitterness.

Whatever about Tony's newfound love of the BBC it does not fairly reflect the popularity of the GAA within the region to which it broadcasts, the reality is it shows all sorts of roundups and goals from the Irish League it carries commentary on Ulster Rugby matches and even shows the "NationalTeam's" matches on BBC2. Hardly a balanced reflection of where we are. The fact is more people will watch a Club football match in all but the lower divisions in most Ulster Counties than would attend an Irish Premier League Match, where is the roundup of Gaelic Games where will the coverage of the Ulster Club be an easy excuse to claim TG4 has the rights they could reach a mutual arrangement. Truth is BBC and UTV for that matter only carry GGA when there is a row at a match.... then we get lots of airtime.