All Ireland senior football final 2012 Donegal v Mayo

Started by rrhf, August 26, 2012, 08:10:16 PM

Quote from: stibhan on September 23, 2012, 08:45:55 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on September 23, 2012, 08:43:12 PM
Quote from: stibhan on September 23, 2012, 08:38:04 PM
Donegal were well worth their win for being more economical with their chances. Goes without saying that a crazy opening to the game killed it for Mayo, but they looked the better footballing team for long spells after that. Donegal's famed third quarter never materialised, and it was actually the last 10 minutes that won the game for them in the end. If Mayo had have had Andy Moran on the field there really could have been an upset - a team can't find an all-Ireland without their star player.

McGuinness' tactics, commitment and inspiration throughout the season were absolutely fantastic, but his stunt at the end was outrageous there. Every journalist in the room should have followed Declan Bogue out.

What happened mucker??

Kicked Declan Bogue out of the post-match presser. Awful behaviour.

is it but? mcguinness is adamant bogue made stuff up to sell copy. as manager he has a responsibility to protect his players. journalists have a responsibility also, cant have it both ways. take your oil

Any opinions on MOTM, personally I would give it to Neil mc Gee in full back, thought he was immense

squire_in_navy_slacks

saffronandblue

Congratulations to Donegal and hard luck to our boys.  Awful hard to take when this was a game that was there for us, if we got it right on the day.

The loss of Andy Moran was too much for us to take and while we got ample ball into the forwards, much of it was spilled and this is where Andy would have been vital.  The loss of Mortimer for other reasons meant that we missed some crucial scoreable frees from the right hand side.  Mayo need to have a look at Evan Regan, Aiden Kilcoyne and the full forward line in general for next year.  The potential is there and with a bit more fine tuning we might well get over the winning line.  I still see McLoughlin as our Full Forward for the future.  Possibly the only Mayo forward with all of the attributes to make a superb Full Forward.

With a fitter Aiden O'Shea and Barry Moran next year, we should be there or there abouts........and let's get Keith Higgins up the bloody field!!!!!!!!!! Here's hoping.

That went pretty much to plan I guess. Donegal won without playing too well but Mayo tackled like dogs and never stopped.

Donegals forwards are better and that was key I think. Also Lacey didn't give Dillon a kick and imposed himself on the game and that stopped Mayo to a certain degree.

Well done Donegal! I'm looking forward to seeing how you go about bringing Sammy back again!

Quote from: screenexile on September 23, 2012, 10:27:57 PM
That went pretty much to plan I guess. Donegal won without playing too well but Mayo tackled like dogs and never stopped.

Donegals forwards are better and that was key I think. Also Lacey didn't give Dillon a kick and imposed himself on the game and that stopped Mayo to a certain degree.

Well done Donegal! I'm looking forward to seeing how you go about bringing Sammy back again!

you remember what happened the last year they tried to retain it ! Keep tomorrow night year free, i will see you in Maghera !

Quote from: J OGorman on September 23, 2012, 09:54:08 PM
Donegal were well worth their win for being more economical with their chances. Goes without saying that a crazy opening to the game killed it for Mayo, but they looked the better footballing team for long spells after that. Donegal's famed third quarter never materialised, and it was actually the last 10 minutes that won the game for them in the end. If Mayo had have had Andy Moran on the field there really could have been an upset - a team can't find an all-Ireland without their star player.

McGuinness' tactics, commitment and inspiration throughout the season were absolutely fantastic, but his stunt at the end was outrageous there. Every journalist in the room should have followed Declan Bogue out.

What happened mucker??

is it but? mcguinness is adamant bogue made stuff up to sell copy. as manager he has a responsibility to protect his players. journalists have a responsibility also, cant have it both ways. take your oil

He didn't though. And why kick Cassidy out?

Quote from: ONeill on September 23, 2012, 10:38:09 PM

What happened mucker??

Cassidy must be feeling sore today. His crime was breaking Jim's omerta. None of the details were particularly groundbreaking or insightful.

Sportacus

I enjoyed seeing that clip of wee Martin at the final whistle.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 23, 2012, 10:41:08 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 23, 2012, 10:38:09 PM

What happened mucker??

Cassidy must be feeling sore today. His crime was breaking Jim's omerta. None of the details were particularly groundbreaking or insightful.

That's the thing. It was quite mundane. Cross Jimmy and you're going down and anyone belonging to you.

saffronandblue

Am I the only one who is getting fed up to listening about Jimmy The Messiah.  Fair play to him on bringing Donegal to the title but let's face it, they were no fitter than Mayo, he had some class players to work with..........Durkan, McGlynn, Lacey, McFadden, Gallagher, Murphy etc.  Even I might have managed these boys to an All Ireland :D :D :D :D 

For those that are wondering Murphy got the Sunday game man of the match and Lacey got player of the year.

QuoteAm I the only one who is getting fed up to listening about Jimmy The Messiah.  Fair play to him on bringing Donegal to the title but let's face it, they were no fitter than Mayo, he had some class players to work with..........Durkan, McGlynn, Lacey, McFadden, Gallagher, Murphy etc.  Even I might have managed these boys to an All Ireland

Bollix. You only have to read the thread on the 2010 Armagh Donegal game
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16513.165

I took out a few quotes

"Donegal are balls."
"Donegal are woeful. I don't think I can remember there being such a small Donegal support at a championship game."
"Fine win there but Donegal are basically a disgrace, no balls whatsoever. "
"I suppose any praise has to be tempered with the Donegal showing in mind. They looked gutless and had little fight after the two early goals. Felt very sorry for the Donegal people that gave up their Saturday to watch such in insipid display. It'll be a long spin home."
"very disappointed with that display apart from 2 or 3 players the team didnt seem up for the challenge at all major changes needed and jj has to step down very poor manager"
"Donegal were horrible."

From an Armagh perspective, our MOTM was Nippy Swift. In what way was he developed since then as the Donegal players were?
It would be great to think that Hyde Park plays a similar role for Armagh.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

saffronandblue

Quote from: armaghniac on September 23, 2012, 11:19:09 PM
QuoteAm I the only one who is getting fed up to listening about Jimmy The Messiah.  Fair play to him on bringing Donegal to the title but let's face it, they were no fitter than Mayo, he had some class players to work with..........Durkan, McGlynn, Lacey, McFadden, Gallagher, Murphy etc.  Even I might have managed these boys to an All Ireland

Bollix. You only have to read the thread on the 2010 Armagh Donegal game
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16513.165

I took out a few quotes

"Donegal are balls."
"Donegal are woeful. I don't think I can remember there being such a small Donegal support at a championship game."
"Fine win there but Donegal are basically a disgrace, no balls whatsoever. "
"I suppose any praise has to be tempered with the Donegal showing in mind. They looked gutless and had little fight after the two early goals. Felt very sorry for the Donegal people that gave up their Saturday to watch such in insipid display. It'll be a long spin home."
"very disappointed with that display apart from 2 or 3 players the team didnt seem up for the challenge at all major changes needed and jj has to step down very poor manager"
"Donegal were horrible."

From an Armagh perspective, our MOTM was Nippy Swift. In what way was he developed since then as the Donegal players were?
It would be great to think that Hyde Park plays a similar role for Armagh.

My comment was somewhat in jest Armaghniac.  I know he has done a fantastic job and has brought out the best in the players at his disposal, but as they say, "you can only dance with the girls in the hall".  What Mayo could do with a McFadden and Murphy or Donaghy and Gooch etc.  Players at the end of the day win matches. 

Well done Donegal. Just shows what can be done with a bit of a plan, a strong Manager and belief.

Well what of Mayo? Ah there will be the usual Croker Choker stuff. And to a degree, this is correct for the nightmare start. T. Andy was a big loss today and Aidan Osea and Barry Moran are still not fit or strong enough for 70 minutes. Feeney should have came on earlier, as should Seamus Osea. Because of a Kind draw we probably got a stage too far this year. This was no hammering so the effects should not be of the 04 or 06 magnitude.

Sure supporters are disappointed, but sure they would not be supporters if they were not disappointed at losing a final. So the dream continues. Have to say not sure if its the recession or plain sick of losing, there were allot of die hard (Mayo) supporters that i'd know who gave this Final a miss this year. The cost is mental if you go into multiples. Donegal were more than well represented, i suppose this being a first final in 20 years and the team being over whelming favourites, meant there was going to be greater interest.