Ray Darcy - "I will leave the country if Enda Kenny becomes Taoiseach".

Started by muppet, February 13, 2010, 10:42:37 PM

Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 16, 2010, 10:42:33 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 15, 2010, 03:44:02 PM
Brendan O'Connor actually said to him "this is from a man who stays in the country with Brian Cowen as Taoiseach" To which D'Arcy just shrugged.

When Bertie quit as Taoiseach, D'Arcy did an entire day dedicated to the Glorious Leader Berite, all was good and great all day about Berte, he did an entire montage to his greatness.

Whatever about him being a Fianna Failer and defending Brian Cowan (useless but still a human being) but anyone who can defend Patrick Bartholomew "Bertie" Ahern really isn't an opinion worth listening to.

D'Arcy was also very smug about Enda's remark about "being more himself". I am actually begining to think this whole George Lee thing may be a God-send to Enda Kenny, he can now throw off his handlers, its better him acting himself and making a few stupid gaffes on TV (never did Bertie any harm, nothing to aspire to by the way) than looking stiff. For anyone who has talked to Enda on the street or in the pub they tend to a man/woman have high praise and regard for Kenny, he acts so comforatbly talking to people. For some reason he seems to act different on front of the tv camera. When Dobson interviewed him on the News after the Lee debacle he came across natural and more like a sure this is the way it is, not bothered if you like me, this is me. Far better approch than the try too hard method that seemed only present on tv.

My problem with Enda Kenny is he is false. He has the most ridiculous air brushed pictures of himself at his offices. He said he would never go into governemnt with SF but couldn't or wouldn't give a reason and effectively he just takes populist stances on everything so that he can be Taoiseach. There is no substance or principle to the man whatsoever. Doesn't take away from the fact that D'arcy is his equal.

What are you basing that on? The fact that his election posters are air-brushed? Every political poster is air-brushed, and I'd hardly call them false for that. Or is it because he said he wouldn't go into coalition with SF? I don't see how that makes him false? You mightn't like it, but that doesn't make him a false person.
Of all the people who wouldn't vote for Kenny, I think you'd find very few find him false. Incompotent, bland, boring - probably yes. False - no.

Not a Fine Gaeler by any means but from what I have seen of Enda Kenny he is not the worst. He has rejuvenated the FG vote and is media savy/ spindoctored reasonably well. Imo a herd mentallity involved in criiicizing him without justification.

However, I feel he screwed up badly last week in not giving a "put up or shut up" ultimatum to his backbenchers and preempt any possible coup by Bruton.

Bing Crosby .

Who gives a hovering f**k what this sweaty faced shortarse w**ker does if Kenny becomes Taoiseach ?  !!

On the show the other evening when that Italian chap was on speaking about food and so on , did you notice the way Darcy was throwing eyes over at that other gowl who presents the show ? Eyes as if to say , who's this f**king eejit ? He was looking down his nose at the fellow. Darcy , you are a f**king gowl , go quickly and don't be waiting around for that other genius to take office . ::)

Rossie11

Anyone hear him this morn? He had the wife back on the show after a few months off and then rang his auld lad for their yearly pancake chat. Such dung.

passedit

This word may sound familiar but do you know what it means?

INCOMPOTENT

A. Unable to procreate due to innate stupidity.
B. Situated in Ambulance Chaser's temporary offices.
C. Finding wealth an aphrodisiac
D. Shocking educational standards.

Quote from: Tubberman on February 16, 2010, 12:04:58 PM
Of all the people who wouldn't vote for Kenny, I think you'd find very few find him false. Incompotent, bland, boring - probably yes. False - no.
Don't Panic

Quote from: passedit on February 16, 2010, 02:03:20 PM

INCOMPOTENT

:)

What's a gowl?

Celt_Man

Quote from: Hardy on February 16, 2010, 02:13:18 PM

INCOMPOTENT

What's a gowl?

Ray D'arcy...
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

Quote from: Hardy on February 16, 2010, 02:13:18 PM

INCOMPOTENT

What's a gowl?

Limerick Slang. I've heard various supposed definitions, but most of them heavily feature female genitalia.

I must have moved in more refined circles in my time in Limerick AZ!

Quote from: Canalman on February 16, 2010, 12:35:32 PM
Not a Fine Gaeler by any means but from what I have seen of Enda Kenny he is not the worst. He has rejuvenated the FG vote and is media savy/ spindoctored reasonably well. Imo a herd mentallity involved in criiicizing him without justification.

However, I feel he screwed up badly last week in not giving a "put up or shut up" ultimatum to his backbenchers and preempt any possible coup by Bruton.
I don't agree with this whole 'he rejuvenated FG' that's pedalled constantly by Kenny's supporters.  FG's vote at the last election was pretty much where it almost aways has been, he just managed to get back some of the vote that pointless independents had taken in the 02 election.  I think he's a liability for FG at present, because regardless of what he's actually like the public perceive him to be limp, weak and ineffective.  Also, hopefully the era of spin is on its way out, yet he seems to be embracing it more than ever (was there ever a worse election campaign than the last one FG ran).

No-one uses the term "fanny" anymore - very popular where I grew up. Gowl is used in some of the rougher parts of Galway. It's generally used in a sense that is unflattering to the woman in question.

Quote from: Bogball XV on February 16, 2010, 04:53:36 PM
I don't agree with this whole 'he rejuvenated FG' that's pedalled constantly by Kenny's supporters.  FG's vote at the last election was pretty much where it almost aways has been, he just managed to get back some of the vote that pointless independents had taken in the 02 election.  I think he's a liability for FG at present, because regardless of what he's actually like the public perceive him to be limp, weak and ineffective.  Also, hopefully the era of spin is on its way out, yet he seems to be embracing it more than ever (was there ever a worse election campaign than the last one FG ran).

???
They gained 20 seats in the 07 general election and 43 in the locals making them the biggest party in local government. That was all under Kenny's leadership.

I think they gained back what they used to have in the General election more or less. They imploded under Noonan, and Kenny definitely helped them back, but has he actually made them more popular than they were under Fitzgerald/Bruton/Dukes?

I'd say their percentage vote is around the same it always was, apart from the Noonan fiasco.

Fine Gael Election Percentage Vote since 1961 election. (With seats won)

1961    17th    47    32.0
1965    18th    47    33.9
1969    19th    50    33.3
1973    20th    54    35.1
1977    21st    43    30.6
1981    22nd    65    39.2
1982 (Feb)    23rd    63    37.3
1982 (Nov)    24th    70    39.2
1987    25th    50    27.1
1989    26th    55    29.3
1992    27th    45    24.5
1997    28th    54    27.9
2002    29th    31    22.5
2007    30th    51    27.3

Quote from: AZOffaly on February 16, 2010, 06:54:03 PM
I think they gained back what they used to have in the General election more or less. They imploded under Noonan, and Kenny definitely helped them back, but has he actually made them more popular than they were under Fitzgerald/Bruton/Dukes?

I'd say their percentage vote is around the same it always was, apart from the Noonan fiasco.

There is a pattern here.

Fianna Fail's election strategy is simply to demonise/ridicule the FG leader. I noticed this when it occurred to me I don't like John Bruton and Michael Noonan. I then asked myself why do I dislike these two more than I dislike any other politician. The answer simply is that FF & the media told me to. If Richard Bruton is appointed leader of FG I guarantee then the media and FF will have most of the country hating him too within 6 months.

I suspect Kenny will step aside shortly before the next election and hand over to Bruton. There won't be enough time to do a proper character/personality assassination on him.

Maybe Fine Gael just elect unlikeable leaders? :D

I think Duke and Fitzgerald are more or less liked, or at least respected. Even allowing for the anecdote about Fitzgerald mixing up Cork flags for support for Lech Walensa's Solidarity movement in Poland.

Michael Noonan wasn't liked by his own party, and it was only Bruton's seal like laugh that annoyed me about him.

I wouldn't mind Richard Bruton, but I think he'd be better at Finance.