AISF Aug 23rd Tyrone v Cork

Started by cadhlancian, August 02, 2009, 07:11:38 PM

kickingmule

Quote from: rebel true on August 10, 2009, 07:39:23 PM
This will be the game of the decade, 2 teams who play the same type of football, but if tyrone don`t bring there A game cork will run through ye like butter. Who will stop miskella, canty o neil murphy o connor sheilds from breaking through
don'nt kid yourself rebel ... these guys will end up running into cul de sac's ... remember limerick? ....only 20 times worse ..... mark my words!!!

QuoteCork shall dominate football for the next 6 or 7 years. Tyrone have 2 or 3 good subs that they can bring on that could make a difference. Cork have at least 8 that they can spring form the bench. I fancy Cork to win by 5 or 6 points. and then on to take Kerry apart in the final

Jaysus  - and we're accused of being arrogant  ::)

Quote from: rebel true on August 10, 2009, 07:22:22 PM
Tyrone have 2 or 3 good subs that they can bring on that could make a difference. Cork have at least 8 that they can spring form the bench.

Like...

comethekingdom

Dont ask that type of question please. Them Cork boys dont want to show their hand just yet!

Thought it was only Kerry that could spring 8 from the bench!  ;)

Cork would be better to stick to 5 I would say.

comethekingdom

Quote from: tyssam5 on August 10, 2009, 10:21:09 PM

9 Actually! ;)

kickingmule

Quote from: comethekingdom on August 10, 2009, 10:23:18 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on August 10, 2009, 10:21:09 PM

9 Actually! ;)
fecking hell .... was that just a minor blip? ;)

Lamh Dhearg Alba

I don`t know were all ye Tyrone people think ye are going to walk all over Cork. If ye start like ye did against Kildare, Cork will have ye out the gate by half time. Don`t take me wrong Tyrone are a great tream, but this Cork team has been building over the last few years, and with the U21 wins and junior football wins in the last few years it shows our strength in depth. Cork shall dominate football for the next 6 or 7 years. Tyrone have 2 or 3 good subs that they can bring on that could make a difference. Cork have at least 8 that they can spring form the bench. I fancy Cork to win by 5 or 6 points. and then on to take Kerry apart in the final

Dont know if Ill bother even watching the match now, Tyrone have no chance against this lot.

020304 Tir Eoghain

This will be the game of the decade, 2 teams who play the same type of football, but if tyrone don`t bring there A game cork will run through ye like butter. Who will stop miskella, canty o neil murphy o connor sheilds from breaking through

Or like a knife through butter....anyway, we know what you mean ::)
Tír Éoghain '03, '05, '08.

Who will stop miskella, canty o neil murphy o connor sheilds from breaking through

You've rumbled us. How did you know that our half-forwards, midfield and entire defence had booked holidays for 15:30 on the 23rd of August?

020304 Tir Eoghain

I don`t know were all ye Tyrone people think ye are going to walk all over Cork. If ye start like ye did against Kildare, Cork will have ye out the gate by half time. Don`t take me wrong Tyrone are a great tream, but this Cork team has been building over the last few years, and with the U21 wins and junior football wins in the last few years it shows our strength in depth. Cork shall dominate football for the next 6 or 7 years. Tyrone have 2 or 3 good subs that they can bring on that could make a difference. Cork have at least 8 that they can spring form the bench. I fancy Cork to win by 5 or 6 points. and then on to take Kerry apart in the final

well that's that then :o
Tír Éoghain '03, '05, '08.

Been off-line for a week, but it's been some craic catching up on this thread. Tyrone being accused of displaying too much confidence, only for the Cork ones to turn around and say they'll dominate football for the next 6-7 years  :D

cornafean

Boycott Hadron. Support your local particle collider.

The one thing I don't understand about this Cork team is that people think they will dominate football for years to come - this isn't exactly a young Cork side, alot of the players are in their late twenties and have been around for a while. 

Its a pity this game isn't the final as it would be very interesting as the two teams really don't know each other that well and both seem to have a lot of similarities.

A lot of people fancy Cork mainly because of their physicality & athletism but lets not forget Tyrone had to deal with Armagh for years and yes they may be taller and can expoit some of our midfieders and backs for clean catches but the game tends to be played on the ground and not in the air.

I thought Kildare exposed weaknesses in our half back line the last day that we haven't saw for years but at least that will give Harte time to try to remedy this for Cork.
I'm not sure do Cork have the same adaptability that Tyrone have. Can they change smoothly from Plan A to plan B & C.
How will they deal with such intensity and man marking in their forward line?
Will they be able to keep their composure & discipline if stretched?
Have they been behind this year in many games and can they keep their heads if things go wrong or will they panic.
In fairness they showed last year several times that they can give Kerry a bit head start and then score goals to come back. Not sure though will goals be so easy to come by against Tyrone.
A few people have said to me Cork haven't the stomach for a war of attrition like Tyrone have and I suppose they haven't really been tested enough to show that they have. When Kerry put it up to them in previous years they crumbled so lets see have they changed much.

Lots of questions to be answered and lots of possible tactics to evolve in this game. I hope Tyrone are not as wayward with their shooting this time around as I'd say Cork might be thinking sure we can just stop them playing by systematic fouling and they won't score their far out frees.

Rebels against Red hands. Could be one hell of a battle. I hope they don't bring their hurls or SIPTU placards.