Jade Goody

Started by nrico2006, February 04, 2009, 11:25:57 AM

It's not a comment for today Pints. Another day prehaps, but not today.

Quote from: ziggysego on March 22, 2009, 10:49:07 PM
It's not a comment for today Pints. Another day prehaps, but not today.
Well there's not much point in talking bull about someone. 

I didn't say anything.

tyrone girl

Sometimes its best to say nothing

Quote from: ziggysego on March 22, 2009, 10:44:39 PM
Whatever your feelings about Jade or the comments regarding her death, I feel you were way out of line muppet. She's barely dead.

I agree with Muppets statement Ziggy. Jade became famous for being stupid and getting her jugs out. Yet the british are all upset with themselves. Meanwhile her husband Jack is still alive. Somewhere in all that is the real tragedy.

Quote from: Orior on March 22, 2009, 11:01:30 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 22, 2009, 10:44:39 PM
Whatever your feelings about Jade or the comments regarding her death, I feel you were way out of line muppet. She's barely dead.

I agree with Muppets statement Ziggy. Jade became famous for being stupid and getting her jugs out. Yet the british are all upset with themselves. Meanwhile her husband Jack is still alive. Somewhere in all that is the real tragedy.

I'm sure we all agree with muppet and what he is saying,but I agree with Ziggy,today wasn't really the day to post it imo

maggie

Regardless of her geographical knowledge and no matter whether you agree/disagree with how she conducted herself, she undoubtedly raised the profile of cervical cancer-IMO thats a good thing and hopefully the screening age limit will be lowered. Seeing her being wheeled into the ambulance last week was a stark image and next time i get a reminder letter for a check up- i wont stuff it in a drawer and say I'll do it later.

Quote from: muppet on March 22, 2009, 10:38:15 PM
A class act like Natasha Richardson dies tragically and it yields barely a comment.

But someone who thought Wales was in Scotland, who was a racist and whose husband had to be released from jail just to make their wedding gets a 6 page thread when she dies.

Welcome to modern society.
Both tragic deaths in their own right, but contrasting situations. Never had time for Jade but for someone to die so young is sad, especially leaving behind children who are now without a mother. Natasha Richardson's death was unexpected; Jade knew she was dying and used every opportunity possible to gain media exposure to raise awareness of the illness and to provide a cash fund for her kids (wise move considering the hubbie is a complete spastic). Richardson's relatives have asked for peace and privacy to grieve and for the most part the media have given them space.

Quote from: maggie on March 22, 2009, 11:06:56 PM
Regardless of her geographical knowledge and no matter whether you agree/disagree with how she conducted herself, she undoubtedly raised the profile of cervical cancer-IMO thats a good thing and hopefully the screening age limit will be lowered. Seeing her being wheeled into the ambulance last week was a stark image and next time i get a reminder letter for a check up- i wont stuff it in a drawer and say I'll do it later.

Why does it take for someone to be filmed dying before women think "maybe this old cancer lark is quite serious"? Cervical cancer is one of the most treatable cancers i believe if it is caught early enough. I have had this very conversation with my wife who went for a smear test on the back of what happened to Jade Goody............

maggie

Quote from: Minder on March 22, 2009, 11:21:03 PM
I have had this very conversation with my wife who went for a smear test on the back of what happened to Jade Goody............

Which is exactly my point-alot of friends have put it off as well, but i think we are sometimes under the illusion that it could never happen to us.

Quote from: hardstation on March 22, 2009, 11:25:50 PM
I take it you've had the aul prostate checked, minder?

People dander about thinking, "I'm grand". When something like this is in the media, it hits home that "Jaysus, maybe I need a look at".
Women are supposed to go for smear tests every so often (not sure of the frequency) and get letters telling them to make an appointment but many of them dont.

Galwaybhoy

I thought Jade handled herself very well over the last few months.  If you asked me a year ago about my feelings of Jade, I wouldn't have had many, if anything to say that would be considered a compliment, I despise Big Brother, I despise OK magazine and that sort of celebratism (is that a word?), but Jade has done so much to raise cancer awareness and at the same time she earned money for her children for when she was gone.  Its a parents worst nightmare to die and leave young children behind them, she done what she had to do.  I gained more respect for Jade in the last few months of her life than I ever had for her before that.

RIP Jade

Not much to say about her but do people really think the money that was gathered will really be put to good use. The parents, the hubby etc will all get there grubby hands on it and will go to waste. As for the children we will no doubt be hearing about them in the future.

Maiden1

Feel very sorry for Jade dying so young.  What I hate is all the Daily Star/Express/Ok .. running a different story on the front page every day 'Jade uses a colostomy bag ..'  type stuff.  You know that the editors on these newspapers couldn't give a sh*t about her (no pun intended) and are just dragging out anything they can to sell newspapers.  To me it is voyeurism at it's worst printing every detail of a person dying.  I'm half expecting them to put a webcam in the coffin so that they can drag it out a bit longer.
There are no proofs, only opinions.

SidelineKick

Quote from: Maiden1 on March 23, 2009, 12:00:00 PM
Feel very sorry for Jade dying so young.  What I hate is all the Daily Star/Express/Ok .. running a different story on the front page every day 'Jade uses a colostomy bag ..'  type stuff.  You know that the editors on these newspapers couldn't give a sh*t about her (no pun intended) and are just dragging out anything they can to sell newspapers.  To me it is voyeurism at it's worst printing every detail of a person dying.  I'm half expecting them to put a webcam in the coffin so that they can drag it out a bit longer.

All joking aside if she thought about that and thought she could charge for it to raise money for her kids I wouldn't be surprised.  There are plenty would jump at the opportunity to have the exclusive camera in the coffin.  Fair play to her for getting together as much money as possible for her children but some of the media should be absolutely ashamed of themselves, which they won't of course.  The OK special with 19?? - 2009 was in very poor taste, before the poor girl had even died.
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"