Ulster Championship 2025

Started by Goals_Will_Come, March 25, 2025, 10:16:10 AM

Lamh Dhearg Alba

Quote from: tyrone08 on May 12, 2025, 08:04:42 PMBe interesting to see what action if any is taken. Armagh can could themselves lucky that Burns is in charge.

Plenty to say about Gallagher nothing to say about Nugent or rows involving Armagh.

I can't believe the amount of people saying this on social media too. It's very simple, Burns cannot comment publicly on a live court case.

As for the end of the game on Saturday I found it all a bit dispiriting. Whatever the Donegal man said or didn't say, he was out of order goading the Armagh bench. Management and or a senior player like Murphy should sit down with him and explain it isn't acceptable and not how he should be conducting himself.

However, there is still no justification at all for people running towards him and attacking him. I despair of this kind of thing in the GAA, this idea that people deserve to be struck or that it can be justified. It can't. It's been good to see players being punished under the new rules for on field nonsense. I've been happy to see some repeat Tyrone offenders being dealt with this season and I'm sure it will reduce stupid behaviour on the field. In this case we need long bans for those involved in those scenes at the end of the game on Saturday, a real statement that violence is totally unacceptable.

It was also very disappointing in the context of the game which had been a terrific contest.

greatpoint

Quote from: Armagh18 on May 12, 2025, 05:37:11 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on May 12, 2025, 04:34:02 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 12, 2025, 04:15:52 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on May 12, 2025, 04:02:18 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 12, 2025, 03:42:38 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on May 12, 2025, 03:40:31 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 12, 2025, 03:16:13 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 12, 2025, 02:59:32 PMWhat the difference on McFerry acting the p***k to McQuillan on the goalkeeper?  No need for it in the game. As far as I can see, 2 Armagh men striking plus 1 rugby tackling u man to the ground. This craic has never went out of Armagh going bck to Kierans tenure at the start, with the Cavan parade.leading on to Tyrone league game, Galway couple yrs ago and sats game. Where the overall team Displince at?
Say theres a difference in a player in the middle of the game trying to get into a keepers head and put him under pressure and a tr**p calling fellow Irish men Brits. Couldn't bate him hard enough.

So your argument boils down to if someone believes the words are mean enough then assault is a justified response? No surprise we saw that on Saturday if that's the mentality held by some. Puzzling.
Yep. Big problem in the world is that a lot of people seem to think they can say and do what they like with no repercussions. Sometimes a belt in the jaw is not only justified but badly needed.

Jim McGuinness would have been justified in belting Aidan Forker in the jaw then?

Forker was up roaring in his face at the end of the game, looked like something nasty was being said.
Honestly didn't see that and don't know. But knowing Aidan he wasn't asking Jim round for tea. Highly doubt he was calling him a Brit or anything like that though.

It's on the TV coverage at the end of the game, very clear footage.

You said a couple of comments ago if someone has interpreted the words as nasty enough then they are justified in responding with violence. You don't know what McFadden Ferry said and you don't know what Forker said, yet you think violence is an appropriate response in only one of the two scenarios?

Maybe I'm wasting my time appealing to logic here.
Won't be watching that back for a while anyway, maybe if we win an Ulster I will! May leave it at that. 

You could have just said from the start that there was no rhyme or reason to what you were saying, only emotion. Would have saved us time.

Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on May 13, 2025, 12:09:57 AM
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 12, 2025, 08:04:42 PMBe interesting to see what action if any is taken. Armagh can could themselves lucky that Burns is in charge.

Plenty to say about Gallagher nothing to say about Nugent or rows involving Armagh.

I can't believe the amount of people saying this on social media too. It's very simple, Burns cannot comment publicly on a live court case.

As for the end of the game on Saturday I found it all a bit dispiriting. Whatever the Donegal man said or didn't say, he was out of order goading the Armagh bench. Management and or a senior player like Murphy should sit down with him and explain it isn't acceptable and not how he should be conducting himself.

However, there is still no justification at all for people running towards him and attacking him. I despair of this kind of thing in the GAA, this idea that people deserve to be struck or that it can be justified. It can't. It's been good to see players being punished under the new rules for on field nonsense. I've been happy to see some repeat Tyrone offenders being dealt with this season and I'm sure it will reduce stupid behaviour on the field. In this case we need long bans for those involved in those scenes at the end of the game on Saturday, a real statement that violence is totally unacceptable.

It was also very disappointing in the context of the game which had been a terrific contest.

cant argue with any of that

tyrone08

Do you think he will say anything after the court case? RG wasnt found guilty of anything but Burns still took action.

Cant have it both ways.

Quote from: tyrone08 on May 13, 2025, 08:04:46 AM

Do you think he will say anything after the court case? RG wasnt found guilty of anything but Burns still took action.

Cant have it both ways.

Perhaps. But surely it is also possible to learn a lesson, without being portrayed as a hypocrite.

He will make comment after all has gone through the courts I'm sure.

There's a serious amount of Arsène Wengerism going on in your posts Armagh18
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

We're in danger of hijacking this thread - but on Jarlath Burns there is, imo, clear wrongdoing on his part in the RG case. He'd earn some respect back if he held his hands up and said he got that one wrong. However, if he believes he was entirely in the right, then he should be doubling down now and re-iterating the GAA's stance on domestic violence and violence against women. He can do that without directly commenting on any live case. Why hasn't he done that?

RG was also disbarred (or is it debarred) from the GAA until they carried out their own investigations - I actually have no issue with that if its an investigation over something that happened within the GAA (in other words something they have the right and power to investigate), but in the RG case it wasn't and so the disbarring order was lifted. Once again, either Burns admits they got it wrong, or he doubles down and takes the same action here until they do their own investigation or at least pending the outcome of the legal case.

The precedent has been set in the RG case and now he needs to maintain that level of scrutiny over all members who commit crime of any sort - especially crimes against women given how that was his argument. OR be seen as a hypocrite. The Armagh slant to it now does him no favours and smells like protecting your own.

would say given its a live criminal matter the GAA lawyers would be telling him to keep well away from the matter until after the trial has concluded for fear of undue influence.
as a counter balance my view ( altho not my mrs view) is that he shouldn`t have gotten so publicly involved in rg.

Quote from: naka on May 13, 2025, 10:16:18 AMwould say given its a live criminal matter the GAA lawyers would be telling him to keep well away from the matter until after the trial has concluded for fear of undue influence.
as a counter balance my view ( altho not my mrs view) is that he shouldn`t have gotten so publicly involved in rg.
Was he not thrown under the bus by the club in question? He sent an email to the club chairman which became public from their side? I don't believe he wanted to go public but rather wanted to keep it in-house? I'd say, in any case, if he had it all to do again he would have done it differently as it has left him open to accusations of hypocrisy.

AustinPowers

I wonder will the RG  issue be Jarlath's lasting legacy as GAA President.

It's a shame if it is,  as he is a  great  GAA man. A great orator and promoter of  our games.

Other presidents will be remembered for  the  development of Croke Park, removing rule 42, opening CP to other sports etc, but  this could well be his.

Quote from: AustinPowers on May 13, 2025, 10:31:57 AMI wonder will the RG  issue be Jarlath's lasting legacy as GAA President.

It's a shame if it is,  as he is a  great  GAA man. A great orator and promoter of  our games.

Other presidents will be remembered for  the  development of Croke Park, removing rule 42, opening CP to other sports etc, but  this could well be his.
Well he did get the ball rolling on the FRC, so I'm sure he'll be remembered and get blame/credit for all these rule changes. 

I was at the match, disappointing result, Armagh did not get the rub of the green, that said the second Donegal goal, failure to push up on Donegal sickouts in the first 20 and their own dire sickouts in that same period put them on the back foot. Some harsh calls from the ref undoubtedly but I'm not sure that it took the game out of Armagh's hands, I'm not neutral so difficult to assess. The row at the end was all down to the Donegal player goading. In Rugby the ref will cite the player causing the fracas. I'm not condoning in anyway what the Armagh bench did, but I imagine it was hard to take. Not much between the two but both need to improve to go further. What concerned me more than the players going at it was the number of Donegal fans on the pitch surrounding the majority of Armagh players who weren't involved it could have been nasty if one ejit hits a player. I love Donegal as a county and as a team, I was a big fan of McGuiness as a player it is disappointing to see this rancour.

93-DY-SAM

Quote from: Applesisapples on May 13, 2025, 11:06:38 AMI was at the match, disappointing result, Armagh did not get the rub of the green, that said the second Donegal goal, failure to push up on Donegal sickouts in the first 20 and their own dire sickouts in that same period put them on the back foot. Some harsh calls from the ref undoubtedly but I'm not sure that it took the game out of Armagh's hands, I'm not neutral so difficult to assess. The row at the end was all down to the Donegal player goading. In Rugby the ref will cite the player causing the fracas. I'm not condoning in anyway what the Armagh bench did, but I imagine it was hard to take. Not much between the two but both need to improve to go further. What concerned me more than the players going at it was the number of Donegal fans on the pitch surrounding the majority of Armagh players who weren't involved it could have been nasty if one ejit hits a player. I love Donegal as a county and as a team, I was a big fan of McGuiness as a player it is disappointing to see this rancour.

Two wrongs don't make a right. Are the Armagh lads that sensitive that they couldn't have enough restraint at the end of the game, not to go flying in all guns blazing? It comes across as poorly on them as it does on the Donegal lad who should have had more cop on. Disappointing in the context of it being a good game.

tyrone08

Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on May 13, 2025, 11:17:41 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on May 13, 2025, 11:06:38 AMI was at the match, disappointing result, Armagh did not get the rub of the green, that said the second Donegal goal, failure to push up on Donegal sickouts in the first 20 and their own dire sickouts in that same period put them on the back foot. Some harsh calls from the ref undoubtedly but I'm not sure that it took the game out of Armagh's hands, I'm not neutral so difficult to assess. The row at the end was all down to the Donegal player goading. In Rugby the ref will cite the player causing the fracas. I'm not condoning in anyway what the Armagh bench did, but I imagine it was hard to take. Not much between the two but both need to improve to go further. What concerned me more than the players going at it was the number of Donegal fans on the pitch surrounding the majority of Armagh players who weren't involved it could have been nasty if one ejit hits a player. I love Donegal as a county and as a team, I was a big fan of McGuiness as a player it is disappointing to see this rancour.

Two wrongs don't make a right. Are the Armagh lads that sensitive that they couldn't have enough restraint at the end of the game, not to go flying in all guns blazing? It comes across as poorly on them as it does on the Donegal lad who should have had more cop on. Disappointing in the context of it being a good game.

I am not a fan of the goading or screaming at opposition however Armagh does plenty of this at every tight game. For me its case of if you can give it you can take it. When Armagh does it the opposition does not start a mass brawl. Armagh have been at it now with Galway, Tyrone, Donegal. Its almost as if they are trying to show how hard they are. I have said it for a number of years that this hard man attitude has held Armagh back.