Ulster Championship 2025

Started by Goals_Will_Come, March 25, 2025, 10:16:10 AM

Quote from: Harold Disgracey on May 10, 2025, 10:48:29 PMAm over in Edinburgh at the moment, was watching the game in a bar. A Donegal supporter roared and shouted in my wife's face after the game. He was very apologetic after I had a word with him.

The wife sounds like a piece of work though too.

Harold Disgracey

Quote from: ONeill on May 10, 2025, 10:54:56 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on May 10, 2025, 10:48:29 PMAm over in Edinburgh at the moment, was watching the game in a bar. A Donegal supporter roared and shouted in my wife's face after the game. He was very apologetic after I had a word with him.

The wife sounds like a piece of work though too.
Keady woman, what do you expect lol

AustinPowers

A strange thing that. Surely your first instinct  is to  celebrate a win. Be that clenched fists, hug fellow fans , jump up and down,  dance  like  an eejit.

But goading opponents or  opposition fans , as your first instinct . I  just don't get it.

It's bizarre really

No matter if the Donegal player was goading, Armagh should be displinced not to run onto the pitch like that. There be def suspensions as 2 men hit him and another rugby tacked him to the ground. And what the f**k was Forker at with McGuiness, he's one of Armaghs most undisplinced players.still think Galway stronger than either team.

tyrone08

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 10, 2025, 11:01:54 PMNo matter if the Donegal player was goading, Armagh should be displinced not to run onto the pitch like that. There be def suspensions as 2 men hit him and another rugby tacked him to the ground. And what the f**k was Forker at with McGuiness, he's one of Armaghs most undisplinced players.still think Galway stronger than either team.

Forker has head butted Murphy and went after McGuinness in the last 3 months. Seriously needs to look at himself and the example he sets as a principal.

Truthsayer

Quote from: tyrone08 on May 10, 2025, 11:19:50 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 10, 2025, 11:01:54 PMNo matter if the Donegal player was goading, Armagh should be displinced not to run onto the pitch like that. There be def suspensions as 2 men hit him and another rugby tacked him to the ground. And what the f**k was Forker at with McGuiness, he's one of Armaghs most undisplinced players.still think Galway stronger than either team.

Forker has head butted Murphy and went after McGuinness in the last 3 months. Seriously needs to look at himself and the example he sets as a principal.
Bit snowflake there lad. Couldn't meet a nicer lad than Aidan Forker and the parents and kids think the world of him. The headbutt was moment of madness but in the heat of Clones that was nothing today.

Whilst today was exciting I didn't really think it was a great match. Bar Thompsons excellent 2 pointers and Soupys first score I thought most of the other scores were pretty average.

The new rules definitely tilt the game heavily towards a running game. Basically they suit a guy like Conaty down to the ground. He's a very fine footballer but essentially your top 12 players should all be guys whose game is centred around using size and sped to round your marker or come off the shoulder and sweep it over the bar. There's not really much point in starting skilful corner forwards like McBearty, Duffy or Turbitt given that the ball is pretty much never kicked into the inside line. The status quo is now break fast and try to run in a score quickly and if that fails then recycle recycle recycle until you can manufacture a spare man or pick out a lazy defender.

It's no coincidence that the game is now being dominated by teams that mirror Galway's running game. Maher, McHugh, Kelly, Tierney, Conroy, McGrath, McDaid are all basically runners who pick good lines and are accurate from 30 yards.

It's weird that in a game were Donegal scored 2-23 or whatever I don't remember a single score coming directly from a ball being kicked into their full forward line. Murphy's mark is the obvious exception but it's a sad reflection on football when a long kick pass caught by a full forward stands out as something truly exceptional.

[quote author=tyrone08 link=msg=2339297 date=1746915590

Whereas firing insults about players' personal lives on an internet forum is perfectly acceptable. That's some holier than thou shite you're coming out with.....

Quote from: trileacman on May 10, 2025, 11:26:06 PMWhilst today was exciting I didn't really think it was a great match. Bar Thompsons excellent 2 pointers and Soupys first score I thought most of the other scores were pretty average.

The new rules definitely tilt the game heavily towards a running game. Basically they suit a guy like Conaty down to the ground. He's a very fine footballer but essentially your top 12 players should all be guys whose game is centred around using size and sped to round your marker or come off the shoulder and sweep it over the bar. There's not really much point in starting skilful corner forwards like McBearty, Duffy or Turbitt given that the ball is pretty much never kicked into the inside line. The status quo is now break fast and try to run in a score quickly and if that fails then recycle recycle recycle until you can manufacture a spare man or pick out a lazy defender.

It's no coincidence that the game is now being dominated by teams that mirror Galway's running game. Maher, McHugh, Kelly, Tierney, Conroy, McGrath, McDaid are all basically runners who pick good lines and are accurate from 30 yards.

It's weird that in a game were Donegal scored 2-23 or whatever I don't remember a single score coming directly from a ball being kicked into their full forward line. Murphy's mark is the obvious exception but it's a sad reflection on football when a long kick pass caught by a full forward stands out as something truly exceptional.

That's a very good summation.

I've yet to see exciting forward play bar Clifford but he's who he is.

Teams are told not to hit the 3 on 3 as it's a 50/50 and those odds aren't good.

Truthsayer

Quote from: trileacman on May 10, 2025, 11:26:06 PMWhilst today was exciting I didn't really think it was a great match. Bar Thompsons excellent 2 pointers and Soupys first score I thought most of the other scores were pretty average.

You're not a happy bunny  :D

Grace Murphy

Wild celebrations from.donegal but I can't help but think it doesn't matter. Like winning the charity shield these days.... Armagh turned it on when it counted last year.

Quote from: Truthsayer on May 10, 2025, 11:25:49 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on May 10, 2025, 11:19:50 PM

Bit snowflake there lad. Couldn't meet a nicer lad than Aidan Forker and the parents and kids think the world of him. The headbutt was moment of madness but in the heat of Clones that was nothing today.

That poster is best ignored

Quote from: Truthsayer on May 10, 2025, 11:38:12 PM

I watched the highlight reel back there on YouTube. Of the 15ish scores they showed only one involved a kick from pass immediately prior to the score. More than 80% involved no kicking at all in the build-up if you exclude kickouts.

Last year's final was a better game with more quality scores, but that doesn't suit the new rules narrative.

Did they turn it on? Last years All-Ireland was poor, all I remember about it is a great point by Grimley. I thought Galway kicked themselves out of it rather than Armagh turning it on. I think Donegal is Ulster best bet for An All-Ireland this year. But still fancy Galway.