Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on November 04, 2008, 08:55:19 AM

Title: A great injustice has occurred
Post by: T Fearon on November 04, 2008, 08:55:19 AM
I was banned from this board, stuck in cyberspace solitary confinement for two whole days, on account of posting the following words on Saturday last at 5pm approximately. "Lets all laugh at Arse-nil". As a result I was denied my basic human and civil rights of celebrating victories by Spurs and Celtic, and enjoying the build up to the Celtic Man Ure game, and interacting generally with fellow humans. Irishmen have gone willingly to their deaths to defend these rights in the past. Have I a case in the European Court of Human Rights? >:(
Title: Re: A great injustice has occurred
Post by: nifan on November 04, 2008, 09:06:22 AM
Did you post it in the appropriate spurs or arsenal thread?
Im gonna guess you opened yet anoter topic.
Post by: full back on November 04, 2008, 09:18:06 AM
Maybe the mods are gooners fans?
Bit harsh to get banned for saying that

BTW, at least you are back with the spuds bottom of the league
Post by: T Fearon on November 04, 2008, 09:18:59 AM
I wasn't aware that opening a thread attracted a ban. People here have done a hell of a lot worse and escaped any form of censure
Post by: wherefromreferee? on November 04, 2008, 09:19:13 AM
Nobody missed ye!
Post by: illdecide on November 04, 2008, 09:20:18 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 04, 2008, 08:55:19 AM
I was banned from this board, stuck in cyberspace solitary confinement for two whole days, on account of posting the following words on Saturday last at 5pm approximately. "Lets all laugh at Arse-nil". As a result I was denied my basic human and civil rights of celebrating victories by Spurs and Celtic, and enjoying the build up to the Celtic Man Ure game, and interacting generally with fellow humans. Irishmen have gone willingly to their deaths to defend these rights in the past. Have I a case in the European Court of Human Rights? >:(

are you busting our balls here T, WTF. You got banned for saying that, sure I've been banned twice for saying "i bet you're fat and bald" to a certain guy. The Mods have to be having a Giraffe with that...
Post by: Arthur_Friend on November 04, 2008, 09:21:48 AM
Why do all your threads have a  >:( beside them?!
Post by: full back on November 04, 2008, 09:21:56 AM
Quote from: illdecide on November 04, 2008, 09:20:18 AM

are you busting our balls here T, WTF. You got banned for saying that, sure I've been banned twice for saying "i bet you're fat and bald" to a certain guy. The Mods have to be having a Giraffe with that...

Feck off illdecide, you are only sticking up for Fearon in the hope that he will get you a few free pints tomorrow night ;)
Post by: illdecide on November 04, 2008, 09:31:42 AM
Quote from: full back on November 04, 2008, 09:21:56 AM
Quote from: illdecide on November 04, 2008, 09:20:18 AM

Feck off illdecide, you are only sticking up for Fearon in the hope that he will get you a few free pints tomorrow night ;)

Thanks a lot...now he'll know what i'm after >:(
Post by: full back on November 04, 2008, 09:33:01 AM
I would say the big fella has enough experience of Lurganites ;)
Post by: nifan on November 04, 2008, 09:55:20 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 04, 2008, 09:18:59 AM
I wasn't aware that opening a thread attracted a ban. People here have done a hell of a lot worse and escaped any form of censure

Funny. Id have thought youd be aware of the rule - you had been told about it before. And had your threads merged into the appropriate threads.
Post by: Gnevin on November 04, 2008, 09:59:15 AM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=6563.0

See number 5
Post by: Billys Boots on November 04, 2008, 10:00:05 AM
The only shock is it hasn't happened many times before.
Post by: T Fearon on November 04, 2008, 10:05:32 AM
I assume then that everyone who has offered personal abuse to me has been banned in the past. Perhaps the Mods could confirm this?
Post by: Donagh on November 04, 2008, 10:06:40 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 04, 2008, 10:05:32 AM
I assume then that everyone who has offered personal abuse to me has been banned in the past. Perhaps the Mods could confirm this?

I think you have to report it yourself Tone.
Post by: T Fearon on November 04, 2008, 10:20:29 AM
In that case I'd spend my whole life in communication with the mods. All the same things are getting a wee bit ridiculous. I know the site has to be monitored etc but banning someone for opening an innocuous thread?
Post by: nifan on November 04, 2008, 10:24:23 AM
The rules are there tony.
You constantly open threads on the same topic as ones you have already opened.

Dont do it and there is no problem
Post by: Bensars on November 04, 2008, 10:25:36 AM
I think your reputation preceded you. With the most on the board knowing what you are like and your willingness to start countless trivial threads i think the mods were  just waiting to cut you off at the knees.  A victim of your own success lets say
Post by: T Fearon on November 04, 2008, 10:42:03 AM
Its OK! I'm not the first Irishman to suffer grieviously or be martyred for his proclamations! ;D
Post by: EC Unique on November 04, 2008, 11:01:34 AM
You are up there with the best of them Tony. There will be Pitches named after you and many a song in your name :D :D
Post by: full back on November 04, 2008, 11:06:21 AM
I hear they are looking to name the field in Poyntzpass after the big fellow
Just waiting on copyright to come through
Post by: Bensars on November 04, 2008, 11:09:42 AM
I hope theres no statue being erected. Bronze is in short supply
Post by: lurganblue on November 04, 2008, 11:10:34 AM

ffs tony you need to get out more  ;)
Post by: Orior on November 04, 2008, 12:41:28 PM
Quote from: full back on November 04, 2008, 11:06:21 AM
I hear they are looking to name the field in Poyntzpass after the big fellow
Just waiting on copyright to come through

Its already called An Pairc.
Post by: nifan on November 04, 2008, 01:17:06 PM
Surely the worry now is that in his free time he penned yet another collection of letters to all and sundry.
Post by: his holiness nb on November 04, 2008, 01:41:05 PM
In fairness, its a feeble reason to ban people. Harshest ban yet. Normally mods are spot on with who and why they ban people, but not this time.

Post by: Gnevin on November 04, 2008, 01:44:21 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 04, 2008, 01:41:05 PM
In fairness, its a feeble reason to ban people. Harshest ban yet. Normally mods are spot on with who and why they ban people, but not this time.

Its their in black and white , he can have no reason for complaints . He is the only one who feels the need to have a thread every time a spurs player farts .
Post by: his holiness nb on November 04, 2008, 01:47:03 PM
Gnevin, would you give over, it was a harsh ban regardless of how much you personally hate tony.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 04, 2008, 01:48:30 PM
Tony has 1800 odd posts

He has started 225 threads  :o :o :o :o
Post by: Over the Bar on November 04, 2008, 01:48:39 PM
Another pointless topic.  MODS can you ban the originator?  
Post by: Gnevin on November 04, 2008, 01:49:16 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 04, 2008, 01:47:03 PM
Gnevin, would you give over, it was a harsh ban regardless of how much you personally hate tony.
I don't hate him and he's had numerous chances 
Post by: magpie seanie on November 04, 2008, 01:49:47 PM
Tony, some idiot with nothing better to do probably reported it to the mods who then felt they had to act or we'd get somemore ridiculous thread like free Gnevin etc (nothing personal Gnevin).

QuoteI assume then that everyone who has offered personal abuse to me has been banned in the past.

That's a good point. Of course you're a big boy and don't go crying to the mods unlike several here.
Post by: Minder on November 04, 2008, 01:54:11 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 04, 2008, 01:49:47 PM
Tony, some idiot with nothing better to do probably reported it to the mods who then felt they had to act or we'd get somemore ridiculous thread like free Gnevin etc (nothing personal Gnevin).

QuoteI assume then that everyone who has offered personal abuse to me has been banned in the past.

That's a good point. Of course you're a big boy and don't go crying to the mods unlike several here.

Personal abuse
Post by: T Fearon on November 04, 2008, 01:57:23 PM
Its the indignity that gets me. If a legendary fugure of 11 years standing on this Board can be banned, then none of you are safe, not one of you.

I actually went on hunger strike but gave up after three and a half minutes ;D
Post by: full back on November 04, 2008, 01:59:34 PM
You could have lasted a lot longer Tone
By my reckoning with your reserves the spread betting would be 95-105 days  ;) ;)
Post by: ziggysego on November 04, 2008, 02:00:03 PM
Well of all the things that Tony could have gotten a ban for, this was the weakest.
Post by: lurganblue on November 04, 2008, 02:00:50 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 04, 2008, 01:57:23 PM
Its the indignity that gets me. If a legendary fugure of 11 years standing on this Board can be banned, then none of you are safe, not one of you.

a bit like billy wright so
Post by: T Fearon on November 04, 2008, 02:01:38 PM
I couldn't believe it. Tried to log on after the Spurs Liverpool game at 7.30pm and the ban message came up :o
Post by: nifan on November 04, 2008, 02:06:08 PM
Lets hope you learn your lesson and dont start threads after every spurs win, arsenal defeat etc etc
Post by: Minder on November 04, 2008, 02:07:30 PM
Experience is a hard master
Post by: ziggysego on November 04, 2008, 02:17:33 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 04, 2008, 02:01:38 PM
I couldn't believe it. Tried to log on after the Spurs Liverpool game at 7.30pm and the ban message came up :o

I did wonder why you weren't on crowing about it.
Post by: Orior on November 04, 2008, 02:24:38 PM
It seems like everyone gets personal abuse on here except me :( 

I feel like i'm missing out.
Post by: ziggysego on November 04, 2008, 02:28:30 PM
You're a twat Orior
Post by: ONeill on November 04, 2008, 02:38:25 PM
Don't worry Fat Tone, it worked wonders for Big Ian in 1969.
Post by: passedit on November 04, 2008, 02:50:27 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 04, 2008, 02:28:30 PM
You're a t**t Orior

Can I report Ziggy or does Orior have to do it?
Post by: T Fearon on November 04, 2008, 03:27:24 PM
Thanks Bald Shane, If I do half as well as the big man I'll be ok ;D
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 04, 2008, 03:52:50 PM
certainly a bit harsh for banning Tone here..

rule 5 or no rule 5

I'd have thought the mods could have simply merged the 'offending' thread - fer fecks sake !

as for Gnevin - we want him on here, his posts are superb... they are a bt like les dawsons old attempts at playing the piano(for any of you older guys that can rem that kind of thing!)
Post by: T Fearon on November 04, 2008, 04:07:20 PM
Remember it well Lynchboy, also his sidekick who went on to play Alec Baldwin in Coronaton Street ;)
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 04, 2008, 04:17:48 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 04, 2008, 04:07:20 PM
Remember it well Lynchboy, also his sidekick who went on to play Alec Baldwin in Coronaton Street ;)
Alec Gilroy Tone

forgot he was Les's sidekick

Post by: T Fearon on November 04, 2008, 04:40:59 PM
Gilroy indeed. Geeting him mixed up with Mike and the other Alec Baldwin ;)
Post by: EC Unique on November 04, 2008, 04:58:09 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 04, 2008, 01:57:23 PM

As long as you don't start a dirty protest :-X That would be some mess :o
Post by: Gnevin on November 04, 2008, 05:18:41 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 04, 2008, 03:52:50 PM
certainly a bit harsh for banning Tone here..

rule 5 or no rule 5

I'd have thought the mods could have simply merged the 'offending' thread - fer fecks sake !

as for Gnevin - we want him on here, his posts are superb... they are a bt like les dawsons old attempts at playing the piano(for any of you older guys that can rem that kind of thing!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9nNGlaiVypU

Personal abuse ! Reported.  ;)
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 04, 2008, 05:24:37 PM
LOL

what personal abuse

Les had to be HIGHLY TALENTED to be so bad at the piano

just like you must be PHD standard in english and literature.....
;) :D
Post by: Main Street on November 04, 2008, 07:24:20 PM
How many warnings had Tony received previous for starting completely useless threads about Spurs?
Any Mod with a bit of real gumption would have done him for 7 days.

2 days is just a shít and shave, hardly the stuff of martyrs. We didn't even notice.
Hadn't even time to start a 'Ban Tony Forever' thread.

Post by: pintsofguinness on November 04, 2008, 07:26:40 PM
ach tony you have to stop starting threads every time you have a thought!
Post by: his holiness nb on November 04, 2008, 08:12:23 PM
I wonder did anyone with a mind to see Tony banned report him ??
Post by: nifan on November 04, 2008, 08:21:38 PM
maybe, or maybe the mods just decided they had merged his many repeated topics before and warned him.
I dont think it is necessary for someone to report him for a mod to take action.
Post by: his holiness nb on November 04, 2008, 08:27:03 PM
Quote from: nifan on November 04, 2008, 08:21:38 PM
maybe, or maybe the mods just decided they had merged his many repeated topics before and warned him.
I dont think it is necessary for someone to report him for a mod to take action.

Its not necessary at all Nifan, just a general wondering.
I doubt its true myself, just a faint possibility given the attention Tony draws on himself.
Post by: nifan on November 04, 2008, 08:38:42 PM
Id say any number of OWC, arsenal, tyrone or liverpool fans are probably having a chuckle at tony being banned for a couple of days so it is certainly a possibility.
Post by: Stalin on November 04, 2008, 09:37:05 PM
How has a thread about Gerrard's penalty got to so many pages already!
Post by: ziggysego on November 04, 2008, 11:31:33 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 04, 2008, 08:27:03 PM
Quote from: nifan on November 04, 2008, 08:21:38 PM

Its not necessary at all Nifan, just a general wondering.
I doubt its true myself, just a faint possibility given the attention Tony draws on himself.

Good point.

Own up who reported him. Or.. mod, did you really ban him?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 04, 2008, 11:40:16 PM
In fairness Tony, I havta admit it does my head in when you start new threads for no particular reason when there's already a perfectly usuable thread on the topic.

Every Celtic or Spurs match doesn't need a thread of its own.
Post by: Main Street on November 04, 2008, 11:45:00 PM
There's the motive spilled out in front of us.  You're the nr. 1 suspect now TAM.

You wouldn't have lasted long in Castlereagh.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 04, 2008, 11:47:15 PM
I'm not the tout!
Post by: Chrisowc on November 05, 2008, 10:13:43 AM
Touts will be shoot!