Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: magickingdom on October 30, 2008, 08:04:03 PM

Title: what happened the maggie thatcher thread?
Post by: magickingdom on October 30, 2008, 08:04:03 PM
was someone bold?
Title: Re: what happened the maggie thatcher thread?
Post by: Bud Wiser on October 30, 2008, 08:10:50 PM
The thread I can't wait for is "what happened to Maggie Thatcher"
Post by: ziggysego on October 30, 2008, 08:12:53 PM
I can't wait for the thread many years in the future "Who was Maggie Thatcher?"
Post by: thebandit on October 30, 2008, 11:27:50 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 30, 2008, 08:12:53 PM
I can't wait for the thread many years in the future "Who was Maggie Thatcher?"

More like what was Maggie Thatcher
Post by: magickingdom on October 30, 2008, 11:37:13 PM
anyone know why was it deleted?
Post by: thebandit on October 31, 2008, 01:19:26 AM
To be fair it probably went a bit far..... I was by no means innocent, but she does provoke hatred among many....
Post by: give her dixie on October 31, 2008, 11:04:18 AM
I think we should all wait for the oul bag to croak it for real and then we will have some thread going.......
Post by: youngfella on October 31, 2008, 11:15:04 AM
Shouldnt be too long, Mite have to find a different site or the Mods wont be happy.
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 31, 2008, 11:36:51 AM
I heard that one of her friendly dictators dissappeared the thread.
Post by: youngfella on October 31, 2008, 01:28:28 PM
didnt think ziggy swung that way
Post by: ziggysego on November 01, 2008, 12:03:14 AM
What way?
Post by: MW on November 01, 2008, 12:15:58 AM
I was going to start a thread on this, since there was a defamatory statement about me on that thread, attributing sectarian views to me. I took this very seriously and told the moderators this (didn't threaten legal action or anything like that, BTW, I just reported two posts).

I reported the posts in question to the moderators, and heard nothing back. Over 24 hours after my first message sent through the 'report to moderator' facility, I PM-ed the moderator. I still heard nothing back.

And the thread disappeared (with wierd irony, given part of the discussion was on the "disappeared" of Argentina's Geurra Suica.)

I would like to moderators to at least respond to me.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 01, 2008, 12:18:52 AM
Who was making defamatory statements?
Post by: MW on November 01, 2008, 12:20:52 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 01, 2008, 12:18:52 AM

That would be you.
Post by: youngfella on November 01, 2008, 12:22:53 AM
Quote from: MW on November 01, 2008, 12:20:52 AM

What is a defamatorty statement?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 01, 2008, 12:25:13 AM

That would be you.
:o
Are you going to sue me for express an opinion on you?
Post by: MW on November 01, 2008, 12:25:43 AM
Quote from: youngfella on November 01, 2008, 12:22:53 AM

What is a defamatorty statement?

I know wikipedia isn't an authoritative source on anything, but it does give a pretty decent working definition of defamation:

"In law, defamation (also called calumny, libel, slander, and vilification) is the communication of a statement that makes a false claim, expressly stated or implied to be factual, that may give an individual, business, product, group, government or nation a negative image."
Post by: MW on November 01, 2008, 12:28:05 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 01, 2008, 12:25:13 AM

That would be you.

No, I'm not going to sue you. I want you to retract your statement, or the moderators to take action. (and I don't regard "disappearing" the thread, if that is what happened, as appropriate 'action').

You didn't express an opinion - you claimed I hold a sectarian opinion that I do not hold.
Post by: ziggysego on November 01, 2008, 12:29:25 AM
Please don't start that "quoting the whole thread" thing again guys.

If you must continue this debate, only quote the relevant bits.
Post by: MW on November 01, 2008, 12:31:25 AM
Fair enough and I don't really want to continue the debate here.

I'd just like the moderators to actually get back to me with a response.

Over to you, mods.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 01, 2008, 12:34:29 AM
MW, I use to have a teacher and she use to tell us "it's none of your business what anyone else thinks of you".  I use to think she was crazy but you know what, she was right!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 01, 2008, 12:39:38 AM
Quote from: MW on November 01, 2008, 12:28:05 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 01, 2008, 12:25:13 AM

That would be you.

No, I'm not going to sue you. I want you to retract your statement, or the moderators to take action. (and I don't regard "disappearing" the thread, if that is what happened, as appropriate 'action').

You didn't express an opinion - you claimed I hold a sectarian opinion that I do not hold.

MW looking reasons to get posters on here banned, you don't seem to post very frequently, you pick and choose your times, is this the new OWC strategy, send them in under a falsey and then try and get a chosen one banned!  :o Or was the "Bard" just to stupid to work to plan? (yet iintelligent enough to get elected by the "fair" people of Ballymena!).
Post by: MW on November 01, 2008, 12:41:08 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 01, 2008, 12:34:29 AM
MW, I use to have a teacher and she use to tell us "it's none of your business what anyone else thinks of you".  I use to think she was crazy but you know what, she was right!

Look, you can think what you want about me, you can even say that you believe it, whether it be that I had a hand in the assassination of JFK or that I lapdance for beer money, but I won't let you away with attributing to me, as if it were fact, sectarian opinions and views such as the one you did.
Post by: MW on November 01, 2008, 12:45:26 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 01, 2008, 12:39:38 AM
MW looking reasons to get posters on here banned, you don't seem to post very frequently, you pick and choose your times, is this the new OWC strategy, send them in under a falsey and then try and get a chosen one banned!  :o Or was the "Bard" just to stupid to work to plan? (yet iintelligent enough to get elected by the "fair" people of Ballymena!).

Erm, yes of course I pick and choose my times to post. As does each and every other poster on this board :-\

I'm not trying to get pog banned, far from it, I just wanted the offending posts retracted by pog, or the moderators to give me a decision on whether they would remove those posts.

If I was here to try to get anyone banned, I'd be doing a pretty poor job, since I've been posting on here for something like 4 years and this is the first time I've reported anything to a moderator. Maybe I'm a one-man sleeper cell, eh ::)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 01, 2008, 12:50:23 AM
Quote from: MW on November 01, 2008, 12:41:08 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 01, 2008, 12:34:29 AM

Look, you can think what you want about me, you can even say that you believe it, whether it be that I had a hand in the assassination of JFK or that I lapdance for beer money, but I won't let you away with attributing to me, as if it were fact, sectarian opinions and views such as the one you did.
Well you say you're not trying to get me banned and you're not going to sue us so what are you going to do about it?
You owc boys are a great laugh, it was donagh yous were trying to get banned and now me.
I'm pretty sure you have labeled me a bigot in the past also.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 01, 2008, 12:50:53 AM
Quote from: MW on November 01, 2008, 12:45:26 AM

Erm, yes of course I pick and choose my times to post. As does each and every other poster on this board :-\

I'm not trying to get pog banned, far from it, I just wanted the offending posts retracted by pog, or the moderators to give me a decision on whether they would remove those posts.

If I was here to try to get anyone banned, I'd be doing a pretty poor job, since I've been posting on here for something like 4 years and this is the first time I've reported anything to a moderator. Maybe I'm a one-man sleeper cell, eh ::)

Hmmmmmmmm..................   OWC sleeper cells, this gets more interesting by the minute! And your smiley eyes don't fool me.
Post by: MW on November 01, 2008, 12:55:39 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 01, 2008, 12:50:53 AM

Hmmmmmmmm..................   OWC sleeper cells, this gets more interesting by the minute! And your smiley eyes don't fool me.

I'm also involved in a cunning plot to have Peter Robinson installed as Supreme Ruler of the Universe.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on November 01, 2008, 01:00:49 AM
Good God, PEOPLE!

Jaysus...
Post by: ziggysego on November 01, 2008, 01:01:55 AM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on November 01, 2008, 01:00:49 AM
Good God, PEOPLE!

Jaysus...

Couldn't have said it better ardmhachaabu
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 01, 2008, 01:04:13 AM
Quote from: MW on November 01, 2008, 12:55:39 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 01, 2008, 12:50:53 AM

I'm also involved in a cunning plot to have Peter Robinson installed as Supreme Ruler of the Universe.

Wouldn't surprise me sir - you boys can't be trusted!

Oops sorry thats what "they" say about Catholics!  ;)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 01, 2008, 01:05:41 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 01, 2008, 01:01:55 AM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on November 01, 2008, 01:00:49 AM
Good God, PEOPLE!

Jaysus...

Couldn't have said it better ardmhachaabu

Ah ffs Ziggy, your arse must be raw!  ;)
Post by: MW on November 01, 2008, 01:07:36 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 01, 2008, 01:04:13 AM
Wouldn't surprise me sir - you boys can't be trusted!

Oops sorry thats what "they" say about Catholics!  ;)

You needn't worry, there aren't any of those any more, my old mate 'Joey Ratzi' in the Roman cell has been activated now the plan is out. He's converted his church into the Temple of Peter.
Post by: ziggysego on November 01, 2008, 01:08:34 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 01, 2008, 01:05:41 AM

Yeah, the potato pudding was heavy going.
Post by: MW on November 01, 2008, 01:09:51 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 01, 2008, 01:08:34 AM

I think those are best consumed through the other orifice, to be honest :)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 01, 2008, 01:12:43 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 01, 2008, 01:08:34 AM

Do we really need to hear about your sexual exploits this evening!  :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 01, 2008, 01:45:07 AM
Hey MW, does this sound familiar?
QuoteYou really are a nastly little sectarian headcase, aren't you.
You said that to another poster on here.

In looking throuhg some of your previous postings (and I apologise it wasnt you who called me sectarian a couple of months ago, it was evil genius) I counted at least 4 other board members who called you sectarian in the last couple of years.  If you are so insulted by what I said why didn't you kick up a fuss when anyone else called you sectarian? 
Post by: ziggysego on November 01, 2008, 04:22:14 PM
That was the funniest thing in the thread  :D
Post by: MW on November 02, 2008, 09:02:02 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 01, 2008, 01:45:07 AM
Hey MW, does this sound familiar?
QuoteYou really are a nastly little sectarian headcase, aren't you.
You said that to another poster on here.

Probably to lynchbhoy, in response to one of his regular "you brainwashed Protestants and your typical oo/dup/loyalist menality" diatribes? I think it's a pretty accurate response.

In looking throuhg some of your previous postings (and I apologise it wasnt you who called me sectarian a couple of months ago, it was evil genius) I counted at least 4 other board members who called you sectarian in the last couple of years.  If you are so insulted by what I said why didn't you kick up a fuss when anyone else called you sectarian? 

I don't actually remember those. It's more a case of ascribing a specific prejudiced opinion to me (especially in this case as I could write for pages on end about various actors' responsibility over the Troubles), and in doing that inputting a sectarian term I wouldn't dream of using, that I find objectionable.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 09:04:38 PM
So it's alright for you to say something like that to lynchbhoy yet when I say something (not as strong) to you you get up on a high horse.
Post by: MW on November 02, 2008, 09:11:30 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 09:04:38 PM
So it's alright for you to say something like that to lynchbhoy yet when I say something (not as strong) to you you get up on a high horse.

It's all to do with the truth of the matter.

For example, it's alright in my book to call Nick Griffin a racist, but to say that "David Cameron thinks social tenions in Bradford etc are all the fault of the P*k*s" would be false and defamatory.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 09:14:58 PM
Well what I said was true.
Post by: MW on November 02, 2008, 09:20:32 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 09:14:58 PM
Well what I said was true.

It wasn't.

Why on earth do you continue to insist it is?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 09:21:36 PM
So prove me wrong, who's fault were the troubles?
Post by: MW on November 02, 2008, 09:32:05 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 09:21:36 PM
So prove me wrong, who's fault were the troubles?

As I've said before, I am not going to jump through hoops for you on this - you've made a disgraceful sectarian allegation against me and you should retract it, because it's completely unfounded.

And if the moderators actually get round to finding to common courtesy to respond, and they really feel the need to look into whether there's any truth in what you've claimed - well firstly, they could look at what I've posted on here, which would be ample demonstration that there is not. Otherwise I'll even send them copies of essays I've written covering the various responaibilities and contributions of politicians (unionist and nationalist), paramilitaries (republican and loyalist), governments (UK, NI and RoI), security forces, etc.

Talking of moderators...

Mods - are you ever going to get back to me? Even a "f**k off MW, we've binned your complaint" would be something.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 09:38:35 PM
MW
QuoteOtherwise I'll even send them copies of essays I've written covering the various responaibilities and contributions of politicians (unionist and nationalist), paramilitaries (republican and loyalist), governments (UK, NI and RoI), security forces, etc.
These two lines back up my opinion of you.
Post by: MW on November 02, 2008, 09:40:10 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 09:38:35 PM
MW
QuoteOtherwise I'll even send them copies of essays I've written covering the various responaibilities and contributions of politicians (unionist and nationalist), paramilitaries (republican and loyalist), governments (UK, NI and RoI), security forces, etc.
These two lines back up my opinion of you.

How on earth???

This is beginning to feel like Alice Through the Looknig Glass or something.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 09:41:12 PM
Because if you think the start of the troubles were down to anything other than Unionist discrimination and the security forces you are a bigot in my eyes.
Post by: MW on November 02, 2008, 09:51:57 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 09:41:12 PM
Because if you think the start of the troubles were down to anything other than Unionist discrimination and the security forces you are a bigot in my eyes.

A few points to make on this

1 - There's a difference between the start of the Troubles and the fact they were sustained for 25 years
2 - If you think that alongside the major repsonsibility borne by the NI government and the security forces for the spiralling events of 1968-70, placing any degree whatsoever of responsibility, for the start of the Troubles on republican and loyalist paramilitaries who used guns and bombs (plus PD militants, Paisleyite protestors, etc) makes you a "bigot" - well that's twisted and pathetic, and patently wrong.
3 - What you said was that I thought "it was all the taig's (sic) fault". Nothing I have said remotely resembles this allegation.
Post by: MW on November 02, 2008, 09:57:29 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 02, 2008, 09:56:48 PM
Quote from: MW on November 02, 2008, 09:51:57 PM
1 - There's a difference between the start of the Troubles and the fact they were sustained for 25 years
Lay on, MacDuff........

What you you want, an essay on the Troubles ???
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 09:59:46 PM
I'm not talking about 30 years, the troubles began because of unionist discrimination and the security forces/unionist government's response to people asking for their rights was extreme and violent.  If you think anyone else was responsible, in my eyes, you're just another bigot who's not willing to face up to reality.
Post by: MW on November 02, 2008, 10:01:41 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 09:59:46 PM
I'm not talking about 30 years, the troubles began because of unionist discrimination and the security forces/unionist government's response to people asking for their rights was extreme and violent.  If you think anyone else was responsible, in my eyes, you're just another bigot who's not willing to face up to reality.

You alleged that I think "it was all the taig's fault".

Back up that allegation or withdraw it.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 10:02:34 PM
Quote from: MW on November 02, 2008, 10:01:41 PM

Im not withdrawing anything, you've backed up my point.
Post by: MW on November 02, 2008, 10:03:06 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 02, 2008, 10:00:57 PM
You f**king edited that too.

Yes I did, that's what "« Last Edit: Today at 10:00:27 PM by MW » " means ::)

Didn't realise editing a post was wrong now ::)
Post by: MW on November 02, 2008, 10:03:50 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 02, 2008, 10:00:31 PM
Quote from: MW on November 02, 2008, 09:57:29 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 02, 2008, 09:56:48 PM
Quote from: MW on November 02, 2008, 09:51:57 PM
Lay on, MacDuff........

What you you want, an essay on the Troubles ???
I'm interested....begin.

You're out of luck, you're not getting one.
Post by: MW on November 02, 2008, 10:06:25 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 10:02:34 PM
Quote from: MW on November 02, 2008, 10:01:41 PM

Im not withdrawing anything, you've backed up my point.

I have done precisely the opposite.

This is ridiculous.

Moderators, can you please have the common courtesy to give me a response to my complaints and my PM. As you can see I have tried to use reason with pog to withdraw his slur.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 10:08:50 PM
Mw, you havent tried to reason with me, I've given you several chances to answer the question and prove me wrong but you've ran away from it. 
Post by: MW on November 02, 2008, 10:10:55 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 10:08:50 PM
Mw, you havent tried to reason with me, I've given you several chances to answer the question and prove me wrong but you've ran away from it. 

You alleged I think "it was all the taig's (sic) fault".

This is patently untrue, and you know it.

I will not tolerate having such lies told about me.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 10:12:02 PM
You've said nothing to convince me otherwise.

Tell you what, lets just leave it to the mods.
Post by: MW on November 02, 2008, 10:19:57 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 10:12:02 PM
You've said nothing to convince me otherwise.

In your world, if I don't think the start of the Troubles were completely totally 100% the fault of unionists and the security forces, then I think the entire Troubles were "all the taig's (sic) fault".

Warped and disturbing.

Tell you what, lets just leave it to the mods.

Indeed. Mods, any chance of dropping your Marcel Marceau impression?
Post by: ziggysego on November 02, 2008, 10:24:34 PM
(http://www.captainsquartersblog.com/mt/pubfiles/fighting101s.jpg)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 10:25:26 PM
QuoteIn your world, if I don't think the start of the Troubles were completely totally 100% the fault of unionists and the security forces, then I think the entire Troubles were "all the taig's (sic) fault".
Basically, yeah.

mod3 is normally quick to answer, why don't you pm him one of your essays and let him/her decide.
Post by: MW on November 02, 2008, 10:28:15 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 10:25:26 PM
QuoteIn your world, if I don't think the start of the Troubles were completely totally 100% the fault of unionists and the security forces, then I think the entire Troubles were "all the taig's (sic) fault".
Basically, yeah.

Perverse and actually pretty sick.

mod3 is normally quick to answer, why don't you pm him one of your essays and let him/her decide.

I PM'ed mod3 last week, having sent three messages through the 'report' function. Not a word of reply.
Post by: Main Street on November 02, 2008, 10:30:21 PM
I thought Mod 3 was Hardstation.
Then it would take at least 6 days.

Usually these spats break out after the thread has been deleted and before any fecker manages to do a Ctrl - C on the content in question.

Post by: fred the red on November 02, 2008, 10:32:50 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 02, 2008, 10:31:48 PM
Quote from: MW on November 02, 2008, 10:28:15 PM
Basically, yeah.

I PM'ed mod3 last week, having sent three messages through the 'report' function. Not a word of reply.
I'm not one to back up the mods but perhaps, like most, he doesn't give a f**k.

I thought it came out last week that you were a mod  :-\
Post by: MW on November 02, 2008, 10:34:11 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 02, 2008, 10:31:48 PM
Quote from: MW on November 02, 2008, 10:28:15 PM
Basically, yeah.

I'm not one to back up the mods but perhaps, like most, he doesn't give a f**k.

Probably wouldn't be the best person to moderate a discussion board, if that were the case :-\
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 10:45:00 PM
I think MW wants to rule my opinions.