Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ardal on October 25, 2008, 07:19:15 PM

Title: Change those clocks
Post by: ardal on October 25, 2008, 07:19:15 PM
I realise that the hour changes at 2am tomorrow monrning, but are we moving them back an hour and those 1 hr more in the scatcher?
Title: Re: Change those clocks
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 25, 2008, 07:29:07 PM
Spring forward, Fall back so back an hour. In theory is you'll get an extra hour in the cart.
Post by: lurganblue on October 25, 2008, 08:22:37 PM
so with me being in austria will you lot then be two hours behind here instead of one? other countries dont do that clock changing craic do they?
Post by: tyrone exile on October 25, 2008, 11:01:22 PM
are you serious?
Post by: Handy on October 25, 2008, 11:02:53 PM
Quote from: tyrone exile on October 25, 2008, 11:01:22 PM
are you serious?

Totally - not every county does it - Ireland does it to copy the Brits.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2008, 11:04:50 PM
Quote from: Handy on October 25, 2008, 11:02:53 PM
are you serious?

Didn't realise there could be a time difference between lets say Laois and Kilkenny..I'll have to remember that when I go out in Kilkenny tomorrow night
Post by: Handy on October 25, 2008, 11:07:14 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2008, 11:04:50 PM
are you serious?

Didn't realise there could be a time difference between lets say Laois and Kilkenny..I'll have to remember that when I go out in Kilkenny tomorrow night

Ah missed an r.  :D You must have been letter perfect when whispering your password into granny's ear.  :-*
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2008, 11:09:43 PM
Quote from: Handy on October 25, 2008, 11:07:14 PM
are you serious?

Ah missed an r.  :D You must have been letter perfect when whispering your password into granny's ear.  :-*

Yup I told her just as she came..Nearly killed her with the excitement
Post by: Handy on October 25, 2008, 11:14:22 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2008, 11:09:43 PM
are you serious?

Sad thing is your probably hoping that was true!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2008, 11:14:51 PM
Quote from: Handy on October 25, 2008, 11:14:22 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2008, 11:09:43 PM
are you serious?

Sad thing is your probably hoping that was true!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hoping  ???
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 26, 2008, 01:25:58 AM
Lads Im kind of drunk and I'm not sure what the right time is...Is the clock on the board under the posts correct or have they not gone back the hour yet?
Post by: Puckoon on October 26, 2008, 01:55:43 AM
5.55pm here if that's any help goatboy ;)
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 26, 2008, 01:56:52 AM
Puck do we move our clocks tonight or do we wait?
Post by: Puckoon on October 26, 2008, 01:59:17 AM
 think we wait, but I'm not sure. Have one of those atomic clocks that changes itself so I'll take my cue from it.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 26, 2008, 01:00:55 AM
Grand laptop just reset itself..Its 1am now
Post by: Puckoon on October 26, 2008, 01:03:54 AM
so did the board!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 26, 2008, 01:04:25 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 26, 2008, 01:59:17 AM
think we wait, but I'm not sure. Have one of those atomic clocks that changes itself so I'll take my cue from it.

Surely! afraid of missing the county final, think the same thing happened last year for some game with the time changes!
Will my Atomic Kitten clock do the same thing :P
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 26, 2008, 01:05:20 AM
Ive one of them, it picks up a signal so you never have to set the time and it's correct to the second.
It's pretty cool. 
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 26, 2008, 01:08:02 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 26, 2008, 01:05:20 AM
Ive one of them, it picks up a signal so you never have to set the time and it's correct to the second.
It's pretty cool. 

Who or what decides this?
Post by: Puckoon on October 26, 2008, 01:10:35 AM
Carmen - you are soooo 1990s! ;)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atomic_clock (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atomic_clock)
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 26, 2008, 01:12:14 AM
mine gets some signal from london, I dont know, I assume it's the same place teletext and the talking clock get the time.
THere was a leaflet with the clock explaining but I cant remember now, have it about 3 years - never changed the battery in it either! Its rather special.
Post by: Puckoon on October 26, 2008, 01:13:06 AM
Carmen - we've another week to wait.

http://www.nist.gov/public_affairs/faqs/qdaylite.htm (http://www.nist.gov/public_affairs/faqs/qdaylite.htm)
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 26, 2008, 01:21:17 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 26, 2008, 01:10:35 AM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atomic_clock (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atomic_clock)

Well there you go :D
Gotta get myself one of them, no wonder i am late for work every day with the wee cheap clock i have, boss most have one of them atomic ones too :D

Quote from: Puckoon on October 26, 2008, 01:13:06 AM

http://www.nist.gov/public_affairs/faqs/qdaylite.htm (http://www.nist.gov/public_affairs/faqs/qdaylite.htm)

Good man so i will be four hours behind home tomorrow for the game! Right?
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 26, 2008, 01:22:36 AM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on October 26, 2008, 01:21:17 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 26, 2008, 01:10:35 AM

Well there you go :D
Gotta get myself one of them, no wonder i am late for work every day with the wee cheap clock i have, boss most have one of them atomic ones too :D

Quote from: Puckoon on October 26, 2008, 01:13:06 AM

Good man so i will be four hours behind home tomorrow for the game! Right?

yes
Post by: Puckoon on October 26, 2008, 01:23:40 AM
Glad DH answered that one, I was having a brain fart there.

Pm a link for the final if you get any joy, gutted to hear that TG4 are no longer showing games outside ireland.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 26, 2008, 01:27:45 AM
The guy at Gaalive is trying to get it streamed so hopefully!

http://gaalive.net/news.php (http://gaalive.net/news.php)
Post by: gerrykeegan on October 26, 2008, 06:40:50 AM
anyone any tips on teaching gerry junior the concept of the clocks going back. 5.45 is a little early for bear in the big blue f**king house
Post by: Smokin Joe on October 26, 2008, 09:26:18 AM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on October 26, 2008, 06:40:50 AM
anyone any tips on teaching gerry junior the concept of the clocks going back. 5.45 is a little early for bear in the big blue f**king house

I was delighted to make it to 7am (which became 6am) with our two young 'uns.  I had visions of being up at 5.30 = 4.30 as that happens occassionally.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 26, 2008, 10:18:47 AM
Wish someone could teach my body clock to change with the time  :-\