Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Hoof Hearted on October 15, 2008, 01:18:54 PM

Title: Names that sound like a Joke !
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 15, 2008, 01:18:54 PM

Some classic ones here !!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article1809679.ece

Title: Re: Names that sound like a Joke !
Post by: Rick O Shea on October 15, 2008, 01:23:23 PM
QuoteRICK O'SHEA

Married Kennington, London, 1864.

;D  :o
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 01:24:10 PM
Dickie Bowe from Athy and Log Burns from The Heath  :)
Post by: under the bar on October 15, 2008, 01:26:13 PM
Ivor Knobinmebuttox
Post by: Harold Disgracey on October 15, 2008, 01:36:40 PM
There was a biology teacher at my school called Paddy Ennis.
Post by: full back on October 15, 2008, 01:38:48 PM
Mike Hunt or Dick Rash

BTW anyone seen forkinknife lately?
Post by: ziggysego on October 15, 2008, 01:43:31 PM
Quote from: full back on October 15, 2008, 01:38:48 PM
BTW anyone seen forkinknife lately?

I heard he is looking for a school boy's costume, so that he can go undercover at ONeill's school and attack him when ONeill's least expects it.
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 15, 2008, 02:12:38 PM

QuoteBrownstown native Wayne Kerr of to Rugby League World Cup

http://www.leinsterleader.ie/sport/Brownstown-native-Wayne-Kerr-of.4594369.jp (http://www.leinsterleader.ie/sport/Brownstown-native-Wayne-Kerr-of.4594369.jp)
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 15, 2008, 02:13:45 PM
Gary Neville of Man Utds father is Neville Neville.

Dermot McDermot used to play with Monaghan. In Cavan I remember playing against a guy called Manus McManus from templeport.

Post by: ziggysego on October 15, 2008, 02:14:35 PM
Former TD, Dick Spring
Post by: Orior on October 15, 2008, 02:18:14 PM
Jon Tickle, of Big Brother fame, has a sister called Tess (apparently)

Dick Soft, was head if Fingal County Council?

Dick Long, worked for an IT company in England. Imagine the scene, you're running a workshoop with 15 people, and you open with a round the table introduce yourself "hello my name is Dick Long"... snigger... snigger... "quiet please!"

I went to college with a guy called Harper. His mother was called Pearl.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on October 15, 2008, 02:20:53 PM
My mate reliably informes me theres a girl lives beside him in Andytown called Anita Dick....
Post by: illdecide on October 15, 2008, 02:34:05 PM
DREW PEACOCK
Post by: Billys Boots on October 15, 2008, 02:39:33 PM
A friend of mine worked in an office with Breda Rabbitte and Annette Curtin.
Post by: The Gs Man on October 15, 2008, 02:53:31 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on October 15, 2008, 02:20:53 PM
My mate reliably informes me theres a girl lives beside him in Andytown called Anita Dick....

Does she have a brother Howard?
Post by: maddog on October 15, 2008, 02:56:50 PM
Through work Ive encountered a funki awanabee in Nigeria, a Kok Spillhard in Rotterdam and a lisa blows in Felixstowe (does she indeed). Our Hong Kong office is a laugh reading their names. Our company being as arrogant as they are insist that they all take english frist names so you end up with Joyce So Man Chak, Connie Yun Qing Deng, Cynthia Chun Hua Fan, Lily Li Li Fu, Yue Hu, Grace Ting Ting Huang, Maggie Mo, and Paddy Creamof sum yung guy, ok not the last one
Post by: Hardy on October 15, 2008, 03:03:58 PM
Our neighbour is called Hugh Ryan. I never thought anything of it until my kids started calling him Mr. Pee.

There was a lad from Termonfeckin, called Fechin Wrath, after the local patron saint. He got into fierce trouble with the British army when he was stopped one day. (Termonfeckin people, like most of us are not great at pronouncing their th's).

- Brit army bloke (a black man) - "What's your name?"
- "Feckin Rat".
Box in the head.

- Where are you from?
- Termonfeckin.
Another box in the head.

- You're a long way from home, Paddy.
- I don't see any f'n banana trees around here.
Four wheels taken off car and f'ed into a field.
Post by: The Iceman on October 15, 2008, 03:24:42 PM
theres a lad in my office here called ERIC DICK

one of the girls in another department is called Kim Cumashot

both can be found on the staff directory
Post by: kinghen on October 15, 2008, 03:33:35 PM
a. stoke
Post by: The Watcher Pat on October 15, 2008, 03:42:27 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on October 15, 2008, 02:53:31 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on October 15, 2008, 02:20:53 PM

Does she have a brother Howard?

Dont know...I'll ask!
Post by: tbrick18 on October 15, 2008, 03:50:14 PM
Did any1 see the second Charlies Angels film.?
Drew Barrymores real name in it was Helen Zaas.

Or what about meet the Fochers? There was Harry Focher, Pamela Martha Focher, Gay Focher, Dom Focher....cant remember the rest but there were loads.
Post by: nrico2006 on October 15, 2008, 03:54:12 PM
I met a Pete Burns who actually was badly disfigured due to a fire.

Also ran into a Teresa Green in Supermacs in Galway before.

See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gag_name (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gag_name)
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 15, 2008, 04:08:24 PM
Quote from: illdecide on October 15, 2008, 02:34:05 PM
DREW PEACOCK
I once worked with a Randy Peacock.
Post by: Hank Everlast on October 15, 2008, 04:21:13 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 15, 2008, 02:18:14 PM
Jon Tickle, of Big Brother fame, has a sister called Tess (apparently)

Dick Soft, was head if Fingal County Council?

Dick Long, worked for an IT company in England. Imagine the scene, you're running a workshoop with 15 people, and you open with a round the table introduce yourself "hello my name is Dick Long"... snigger... snigger... "quiet please!"

not forgetting dick spring...

there was a foreign girl in my class at uni called Mia wyoh.... 'think cats'
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on October 15, 2008, 04:31:17 PM
There used to be a man that worked upstairs in this building called 'willie seaman'
Title: Names that sound like a Joke !
Post by: 5 Sams on October 15, 2008, 04:42:43 PM
What in the nayma jaysus was Gary Neville's grandmother and grandda thinking of?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neville_Neville

Post by: Puckoon on October 15, 2008, 04:43:40 PM
Former principal of Gillygooley primary school

Ivor Rabbitte
Post by: Candyman on October 15, 2008, 05:00:53 PM
There's a Pete Burns in Armagh, lives in Tin-Town. He's disfigured from a fire years and years ago at the back of the house...
Post by: Canalman on October 15, 2008, 05:10:35 PM
Brother's mate's father is a Don Gannon.

Worked in Australia with a Mike Tyson and wait for it , a lad from England (ie a Pom) called Robin Hood.

Not really joke names I know .
Post by: Puckoon on October 15, 2008, 05:11:57 PM
I work with a lady called Bernie Mack
Post by: billy the kid on October 15, 2008, 05:13:15 PM
Boy from here called Cormack Mc Cormack and a girl in my office called Fanny Anderson, Have no Idea if its short for something or not as I cant have a conversation with her without smirking, Understandably she calls herself Miss Anderson or takes her second name which is Hazel.
Post by: Puckoon on October 15, 2008, 05:16:57 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on October 15, 2008, 05:13:15 PM
Boy from here called Cormack Mc Cormack and a girl in my office called Fanny Anderson, Have no Idea if its short for something or not as I cant have a conversation with her without smirking, Understandably she calls herself Miss Anderson or takes her second name which is Hazel.

Eh - is he from omagh or did he go to the CBS?
Post by: imtommygunn on October 15, 2008, 05:28:51 PM
Joe Kerr
Post by: Lar Naparka on October 15, 2008, 05:38:26 PM
Any Mayophiles on this thread?
We useda have a tidy half back years ago named Ollie Dolly.
An old C of I dearie who lived up the road from me glorified in the name, Fanny Wright.
Post by: Square Ball on October 15, 2008, 06:38:22 PM
Roger Mee is the greatest name ever
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 07:25:11 PM
Quote from: Canalman on October 15, 2008, 05:10:35 PM

Worked in Australia with a Mike Tyson and wait for it , a lad from England (ie a Pom) called Robin Hood.

In the last six months I've done work for two different Muhammad Alis.  :o
Post by: Diet Coke on October 15, 2008, 08:28:39 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 07:25:11 PM
Quote from: Canalman on October 15, 2008, 05:10:35 PM

In the last six months I've done work for two different Muhammad Alis.  :o

Is Birmingham still a shite hole then? :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 08:31:03 PM
I'm not in Birmingham, wish I was - there's a couple of bars there that have heard of the gaa!  :(
Post by: Diet Coke on October 15, 2008, 08:35:07 PM
Wher are you then?
Post by: Diet Coke on October 15, 2008, 08:37:26 PM
Worked in a bank and one of the female customers was called P. Ridout......I kid you not! :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2008, 08:39:43 PM
Quote from: Diet Coke on October 15, 2008, 08:35:07 PM
Wher are you then?
A nice place with nice people but no gaa  :'(
Post by: The Forfeit Point on October 16, 2008, 01:06:11 PM
i was at a mass in new york a few years ago celebrated by a Fr.Devine, very appropriate! :D

richie power might also be known as Dick Power!
Post by: screenmachine on October 16, 2008, 01:26:42 PM
Barry Gillis who is on the Derry County panel, his mother is called Phyllis Gillis.
Post by: Mentalman on October 16, 2008, 01:33:03 PM
Both genuine folks I've met:
Leana Wall
Dik Kok
Weng Wong
Post by: amallon on October 16, 2008, 04:55:23 PM
I know a guy called Conor O'Connor!
Post by: illdecide on October 16, 2008, 04:56:56 PM
Rip Torn
Post by: Orior on October 16, 2008, 05:09:08 PM
There's a guy at my golf club called Nasty McNasty.

I'm too afraid to ask him if its his real name or a nickname. I'll just assume its his nickname.
Post by: Mentalman on October 16, 2008, 05:15:06 PM
Quote from: amallon on October 16, 2008, 04:55:23 PM
I know a guy called Conor O'Connor!

Cormac McCormac would be another
Post by: rosnarun on October 16, 2008, 08:04:48 PM
wored with both one home bred on foreign guess which

Joe king
Osama al Talibani (and he wasn't even an Arab)
Post by: Diet Coke on October 16, 2008, 08:22:39 PM
Another lad called Edward Ache :D
Post by: Hardy on October 16, 2008, 09:52:30 PM
Oscar Arce played soccer for Argentina and Aston Villa in the fifties.

A lad I knew from Birmingham swore that Arce played Centre forward for Villa, with Jimmy Brown on his right and Barrie Hole on his left, so the team sheet made delightful reading for schoolboys. Another version has John Large playing outside right, but that was probably apocryphal. Or was he the Greek goalkeeper?
Post by: Orior on October 16, 2008, 09:57:51 PM
Quote from: Candyman on October 15, 2008, 05:00:53 PM
There's a Pete Burns in Armagh, lives in Tin-Town. He's disfigured from a fire years and years ago at the back of the house...

Remind me of where Tin-Town is?
Post by: Aerlik on October 17, 2008, 07:48:27 AM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on October 15, 2008, 01:36:40 PM
There was a biology teacher at my school called Paddy Ennis.

My God, not theee one and only P.Ennis who taught me first year science at St.Pat's Maghera? Left in 1979 I think, but don't know where he went to.

Also, screenexile there was a Cormac McCormick from Draperstown at school with me.

One of the funniest I have ever seen is the dentist in Port Hedland called Dr Choo and his wife is Dr Yoo Choo.  Straight up.

Quote from: The Forfeit Point on October 16, 2008, 01:06:11 PM
i was at a mass in new york a few years ago celebrated by a Fr.Devine, very appropriate! :D

That wasn't the one and only Fr.Robert Devine ex-principal of St.Pat's Maghera, was it?  Now there was a boyo.

One of my pax the other day was called Claire Czichy (pronounced Chicky) and she is just that with Babe at the end of her name.  Drool, drool.

Post by: BennyHarp on October 17, 2008, 08:08:14 AM
I teach in England and i once had a girl in one of my classes called Rosie Beever
Post by: The Corporal on October 17, 2008, 08:15:32 AM
What about the Down senior footballer called Luke Howard
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 17, 2008, 10:03:38 PM
William Williams, I swear I know a man called that name.

I.P. Freeley is a kind of a joke name I heard on the Simpsons the other night!
Post by: the green man on October 17, 2008, 10:04:33 PM
Willie Dripps
Post by: Square Ball on October 17, 2008, 10:13:10 PM
Angela De'ath, and just remembered my all time favourite.... Heidi Whole, I kid you not
Post by: Mentalman on October 17, 2008, 11:46:31 PM
Careers advisor Ray Dunne - known as redundo.
Post by: Lar Naparka on October 18, 2008, 03:25:32 PM
My good friend, Tommy Spratt,  is in charge of buying fish for the Superquinn chain.
Post by: Midman on October 18, 2008, 04:36:41 PM
One of the head men in a company I used to work for is called Dick Stump
Post by: Lecale2 on October 18, 2008, 04:51:26 PM
There's an Eileen Forward lives in Lisburn.

I also knew a woman called Isabella Knocker.