GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: nutsy--1 on October 07, 2008, 10:25:38 PM

Title: who's the best irish international rules player???
Post by: nutsy--1 on October 07, 2008, 10:25:38 PM
who's the best irish international rules player, who stood out to be one of the best, in my opinion Mc Geeney and kennelly would come to mind.
Title: Re: who's the best irish international rules player???
Post by: screenexile on October 07, 2008, 10:26:43 PM
Tohill and Sean Marty Lockhart were very good in their time!
Post by: nutsy--1 on October 07, 2008, 10:28:27 PM
sean marty was very good. what is job this year is a coach or what??
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 07, 2008, 10:31:55 PM
Coulter has always proved to be very effective in this code
Post by: Yes I Would on October 07, 2008, 10:40:25 PM
Sean Marty, Joyce, John Mc D and Coulter and Clarke in recent times are the names that spring to mind.
Post by: mournerambler on October 07, 2008, 11:05:02 PM
The two names that stand out for me are Dermot McNicholl & Greg Blaney.
Post by: Real1995 on October 07, 2008, 11:20:32 PM
always was impressed by Tom kelly...
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 07, 2008, 11:25:49 PM
Stevie McDonnell, Benny Coulter and Padraig Joyce would be the three I'd think of.
Post by: INDIANA on October 08, 2008, 12:06:20 AM
pat o byrne from wicklow, the aussies simply didn't want to know when he was around. we could do with 25 of him now.
Post by: guevara on October 08, 2008, 12:13:15 AM
Benny Coulter has probably been Irelands most consistent performer at this level in my opinion
Post by: Goats Do Shave on October 08, 2008, 08:04:56 AM
I'd go for Ronan O'Gara - he can kick ball & take a hit!
Post by: Onion Bag on October 08, 2008, 09:27:20 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 07, 2008, 11:25:49 PM
Stevie McDonnell, Benny Coulter and Padraig Joyce would be the three I'd think of.

The only thing wrong with Joyce is that he doesnt like the rought stuff, he would be a bit yellow
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 08, 2008, 09:32:21 AM
has to be Sean Marty, Hardest hoor about.

fair mention for Benny Coulter who has been quite consistent as has Graham Canty.
Post by: Jinxy on October 08, 2008, 10:50:06 AM
Quote from: Onion Bag on October 08, 2008, 09:27:20 AM

The only thing wrong with Joyce is that he doesnt like the rought stuff, he would be a bit yellow

I personally prefer the term "windy".
Post by: Onion Bag on October 08, 2008, 11:02:20 AM
Windy, Yellow, whatever you want to call it, another term you could use would be Cold
Post by: the green man on October 08, 2008, 11:07:11 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on October 08, 2008, 12:06:20 AM
pat o byrne from wicklow, the aussies simply didn't want to know when he was around. we could do with 25 of him now.

That'll be this debate closed.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on October 08, 2008, 11:15:12 AM
Coulter or Geezer myself... Thats going by the most recent series'
Post by: Onion Bag on October 08, 2008, 11:25:10 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on October 08, 2008, 11:15:12 AM
Coulter or Geezer myself... Thats going by the most recent series'

Agree 100% the 2 boys got stuck in and took no shit, and also played well over the 2 tests
Post by: blanketattack on October 08, 2008, 11:30:19 AM
The best of all time was Jack O'Shea. He won or was nominated for best and fairest 3 or 4 times.
Post by: orangeman on October 08, 2008, 11:34:21 AM
Mick Lyons
Post by: Minder on October 08, 2008, 11:37:47 AM
Quote from: the green man on October 08, 2008, 11:07:11 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on October 08, 2008, 12:06:20 AM

That'll be this debate closed.

I remember Joe Brolly saying he was an absolute beast and the Aussies didnt know what to make of him.
Post by: 118cmal on October 08, 2008, 12:32:47 PM
Quote from: Real1995 on October 07, 2008, 11:20:32 PM
always was impressed by Tom kelly...

agreed. 

Thought Joyce always faded in and out of games.

Who do we think can stand out for ireland this year??

Meehan perhaps???
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 08, 2008, 01:10:55 PM

Post by: MaroonAndWhite on October 08, 2008, 01:19:03 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on October 08, 2008, 10:50:06 AM

Jesus, tis little ye boys know if the terms windy & yellow are being bandied about about PJ...........Wouldnt mind an example of this windiness/yellow streak if ye have any handy lads??? Good luck finding it...........
Post by: Leo on October 08, 2008, 01:31:52 PM
My Aussie Rules pal says the current crop have nothing on Blaney and Jack O'Shea who are both still regarded as stand-out players in those parts.
Post by: full back on October 08, 2008, 01:41:31 PM
Geezer, closely followed by Coulter in recent years
PTG wasnt bad either
O Shea always stood out when I was watching it as a gassan, although it was more about scudding for a lot of players back then
Post by: peterquaife on October 08, 2008, 02:27:53 PM
Geezer...an ox of a man, when a cafuffle started, and the camera panned in, you were near happy it was McGeeney there and not some other poor hooer who couldnt take the heat

118CMAL, thats one hell of a homo pic

PQ

Post by: Onion Bag on October 08, 2008, 02:48:00 PM
Quote from: MaroonAndWhite on October 08, 2008, 01:19:03 PM

Jesus, tis little ye boys know if the terms windy & yellow are being bandied about about PJ...........Wouldnt mind an example of this windiness/yellow streak if ye have any handy lads??? Good luck finding it...........

I cant get my hands on anything there, but i remember watching the game and it was as obvious as hell, everyone round me was saying it, including people in Galway tops rows breaking out and PJ standing watching, lads runinng past him to get stuck in, I suppose hes  afraid of getting that nice hair of his wrecked
Post by: Jinxy on October 08, 2008, 03:09:43 PM

Joyce is one of the greats of our game but like Onion Bag says it was obvious he didn't fancy putting his body on the line against the aussies. One game in Croke Park stands out in my mind. I got quite frustrated with him as did plenty of others around me. Pure class as a gaelic footballer though. No problem there.
Post by: fred the red on October 08, 2008, 03:14:59 PM
Would the full test series of the international rules be available for previous years?

it would be leathal if they brought out a DVD like the lions tour.
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on October 08, 2008, 03:20:16 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on October 08, 2008, 02:48:00 PM

I cant get my hands on anything there, but i remember watching the game and it was as obvious as hell, everyone round me was saying it, including people in Galway tops rows breaking out and PJ standing watching, lads runinng past him to get stuck in, I suppose hes  afraid of getting that nice hair of his wrecked

I agree.......he has a fine, well maintain mane :D I still don't think the arguments you have put forward are grounds for calling anyone yellow/windy is it? Yellow/windy lads dont generally tip over ten points in All Ireland Finals. My definition of yellow is pulling out of a 50/50 ball (or worse odds), or clipping a fella and leaving others to deal with the resulting scrap..........not refusing to get involved in thuggery that the majority of people on this board (and elsewhere) have criticised so much. Matter of opinion perhaps.......... Plus, maybe it was a Mayo lad that was getting flaked, why would he jump in there  ;)
Post by: cavanmaniac on October 08, 2008, 03:25:19 PM
Since the whole thing was revived, Canavan was the best pound for pound. He took all sorts of abuse, dished out as much as he could in return and always got the scores. There's a reason why he was targeted. Canavan rules the roost for me.

Sean Marty was a hell of a rules player too and worth an honourable mention is Darren Fay, who I recall playing an absolute stormer at full back in Croker on an total giant Aussie called Leppitsch I think, who had destroyed us in previous tests. Fay put him in his pocket and brought him home, an awesome display.

Not sure about the shouts for Joyce and Coulter here, both have had their moments alright but like so many players nowadays they generally tend to clam up and stop contributing once the heat comes on from the Aussies, even to the point of missing frees they'd normally nail.
Post by: Onion Bag on October 08, 2008, 03:26:05 PM
I agree with what you are saying to a certain extent, he is an excellent player with sublime skill and a joy to watch, but when your 'team mates' are getting mauled you have to give them a pull out, he was either afraid to go in which i and many others round thought was the case, or he just didnt want to get his nice hair wrecked, so i guess we will just have to call it a day on this one
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on October 08, 2008, 03:33:30 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on October 08, 2008, 03:26:05 PM
I agree with what you are saying to a certain extent, he is an excellent player with sublime skill and a joy to watch, but when your 'team mates' are getting mauled you have to give them a pull out, he was either afraid to go in which i and many others round thought was the case, or he just didnt want to get his nice hair wrecked, so i guess we will just have to call it a day on this one

Agree to disagree in that case as I don't feel I need to defend the man......I think that anyone who has played against him or with him (club and county) would disagree with your sentiments but an opinion is an opinion. His record as a footballer speaks for itself.
Post by: Estimator on October 08, 2008, 03:42:11 PM
Sean Marty is up there with the best at the IR. Is he still the most capped Irish Player??
Always like this clip below. About 90secs in a row breaks out, Barry Hall really wants to get involved, but Lockhart won't let him.

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=6HhYYp9y1OA
Post by: Jinxy on October 08, 2008, 03:43:06 PM
I'm not talking about Joyce not getting involved in fights. I'm talking about him pulling out instead of going for the ball. He had the wing mirrors on in the game I referred to in Croke Park.
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on October 08, 2008, 03:57:21 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on October 08, 2008, 03:43:06 PM
I'm not talking about Joyce not getting involved in fights. I'm talking about him pulling out instead of going for the ball. He had the wing mirrors on in the game I referred to in Croke Park.

You saw what you saw and you formed an opinion on that as is your right....all im saying is that I have never seen him do that and Im watching him for the last fifteen years for our club and county. Your own county man selected him as a selector last time out so he must hold him in higher regard than yourself.  I must admit, I dont give a shite for International Rules anyway......
Post by: Jinxy on October 08, 2008, 04:04:04 PM
Yeah, but we aren't talking about gaelic football.
Post by: JMohan on October 08, 2008, 04:06:48 PM
you're certainly right about that game ... yellow
Post by: timmyot501 on October 08, 2008, 04:13:49 PM
Going back to the original series in the 80's I'd agree with those who suggested Jack O'Shea and Greg Blayney.  But also in that time Ciaran Murray was very consistent and I remember John O'Driscoll from Cork playing a blinder in at least one series.  He could lep some height for a ball and finished off a couple of six pointers.  

In recent times Benny Coulter and Sean Marty have been to the fore in most series. McGeeney was always up for the challenge too.  
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on October 08, 2008, 04:24:55 PM
Darren Fay
Kieran McGeeney
Sean Marty
John McDermott
Anthony Tohill
Peter Canavan

Notebale contributors for me.
Of course i am only going from 98 on when it was revised,
Too young to remember the ones before.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 08, 2008, 05:04:39 PM
Quote from: JMohan on October 08, 2008, 04:06:48 PM
you're certainly right about that game ... yellow

It's fine informed educated opinions like this which makes the GAA board great. The internet eqivalent of the pub bore telling everyone how he would have done it.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 08, 2008, 05:05:54 PM
Tom Kelly of Laois is/was the best
Post by: glenullinabu on October 08, 2008, 08:58:49 PM
Dermot McNicholls performances in 1984 when still a schoolboy, along with those in oz were the best ive seen and ive watched them all
jacko was certainly one of the most effective too
Post by: time ticking away on October 08, 2008, 09:08:03 PM
I remember Micheal Donnellan being brilliant in Oz a few years ago
Post by: rrhf on October 08, 2008, 09:37:20 PM
John Grimley ate several australians
Pick for me was
Mc Geeney turning the lad over and beating him on pure strength, or Canavan breaking the wee Ozzie thugs nose right in front of me- great sport.
another memorable moment from the International thuggery series   was seeing big Finbar Mc connell going out to start a row in midfield in Croke Park and a canny wee Australian pulling the green Coco Cola tshirt over his head and beating him blindly
Post by: Our Nail Loney on October 08, 2008, 09:39:15 PM
Quote from: rrhf on October 08, 2008, 09:37:20 PM
John Grimley ate several australians
Pick for me was
Mc Geeney turning the lad over and beating him on pure strength, or Canavan breaking the wee Ozzie thugs nose right in front of me- great sport.
another memorable moment from the International thuggery series   was seeing big Finbar Mc connell going out to start a row in midfield in Croke Park and a canny wee Australian pulling the green Coco Cola tshirt over his head and beating him blindly

Am a Down fan but thought this was class myself... f**king brilliant.
Post by: Fenway on October 08, 2008, 09:40:59 PM
Re Mick Lyons nomination - I remember sitting in the old Hogan at a 3rd test when Mick came on late in the game - There was a bit of a shamozzle up the canal end and Mick must have been dying for a bit of action cos he promptly laid out the Aussie standing next to him while all officaldom was focussed on the action at the other end. I dont believe he even got a card for it!    ::)

I would go for Jacko and John McDermott myself
Post by: fearglasmor on October 08, 2008, 09:51:16 PM
Jacko, McNicholl, O'Driscoll were all class acts way back when.
Anyone remember Noel Roche from Clare.

Finbarr Cullen always showed skill and intelligence matched with bravery could be as effective as brawn.
Post by: carribbear on October 09, 2008, 02:03:50 AM
Theres been some brilliant performers over the years, Jack O'Shea was definitely the standout I remember from the schooldays giving the aussies a tanking.
In more recent years Ciaran McManus, Canavan, Cullen, Canty, Tom Kelly, Geraghty, Rainbow, McGeeney, Fay and the late Cormac McAnallen have all performed well. Even still my favourites have to be Anthony Tohill, no aussie tried to feck with him and then there is still only one Sean Marty Lockhart. Stuck the head on an aussie last time around and wasn't intimidated one little bit...even seen where Barry Hall didn't even try to fight him.

Hope for a good hard fair set of games this time around, none of that thuggery like 2006.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on October 09, 2008, 08:10:31 AM
I have to admit, a bit of the thuggery is good.

It's only bad when you side is at the end of it for the whole match, like last time out!

If Ireland picked their biggest & strongest team, we wouldn't have to fear that being the case!
Post by: Bisbee on October 09, 2008, 08:23:56 AM

Pick for me was

I remember during the first test in 2006, towards the end of the fourth quarter,  McGeeney flattened some Aussie with a bone crunching tackle.  The Aussie was running at full pelt and McGeeney timed his hit perfectly. I think Ireland gathered the loose ball and got a critical score.
Also remember Dermott McNicholl when he got on the ball during the 1980's leaving Brad Hardie for dead. In desperation Hardie (who was a very highly regarded defender in the AFL) tried to grab the back of McNicholl's jersey but did not get even close.