Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: youngfella on September 24, 2008, 05:14:58 PM

Title: Hangover belly
Post by: youngfella on September 24, 2008, 05:14:58 PM
I was out on the rip there on sunday. THe craic was had by all. Three days later my stomach still aint right, I was training there last night I had to wash the feeling of sickness away with water. Im chewing these red rennies todays and there arent helping. What can i do help fix my stomach?
Title: Re: Hangover belly
Post by: Onion Bag on September 24, 2008, 05:18:52 PM
I be the same, its a bastard, and it gets worse as you get older. when i was a student in belfast 4-5 nights on the trot never phased me at all, now it takes me 2-3 days to get over a 1 day/night bender.

I also feel very f**king depressed with an aul hangover, sometimes you think is it worth it at all
Post by: youngfella on September 24, 2008, 05:20:08 PM
I'm only in my early 20s! Going to give the drink up til christmas i think for the best
Post by: reddgnhand on September 24, 2008, 05:23:04 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on September 24, 2008, 05:18:52 PM
I be the same, its a b**tard, and it gets worse as you get older. when i was a student in belfast 4-5 nights on the trot never phased me at all, now it takes me 2-3 days to get over a 1 day/night bender.

I also feel very f**king depressed with an aul hangover, sometimes you think is it worth it at all

Dito cant eat properly or sleep properly.
Post by: youngfella on September 24, 2008, 05:26:51 PM
Best to let it run its course?
Post by: the green man on September 24, 2008, 05:45:12 PM
might be this

http://www.nhsdirect.nhs.uk/articles/article.aspx?articleId=486

Post by: youngfella on September 24, 2008, 05:48:36 PM
O jesus, I was wondring there til i read this bit
    * over 50,
    * smokers
    * overweight or obese, or
    * Pregnant

Im none of these things  :)

Thanks for looknig it up green man
Post by: fred the red on September 24, 2008, 05:56:37 PM
aahh sure your only a youngfella yet
Post by: Puckoon on September 24, 2008, 06:06:53 PM
PRD.

Post Rip Depression. Its never good.
Post by: Zapatista on September 24, 2008, 07:02:24 PM
Tomato Juice is the best I have had. Not a miricle worker but it has helped before, I think.
Post by: Yes I Would on September 24, 2008, 07:41:22 PM
Could be an ulcer Young Fella. Burning sensation through the gut. **** of a thing. May need visit to Doc.
Post by: mannix on September 24, 2008, 07:45:30 PM
lots of water and stay away from greasy food for afew days.
Post by: youngfella on September 24, 2008, 08:07:14 PM
I'll go on the water an soup diet tommorow then. An ulcer hope not but jesus they run in the family
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 24, 2008, 08:36:42 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 24, 2008, 06:06:53 PM
PRD.

Post Rip Depression. Its never good.

...or as is known in our house the Drink Doom!  It can be a pisser alright.  There is only one real cure for it though, go back down the local and start all over again, you may become a wino, but you never get depressed :P
Post by: rrhf on September 25, 2008, 09:07:59 AM
wire a 150 mg zantac into you even before you go on the beer -  Only job.  Your fellow pharma students can sort you out there.   
Post by: behind the wire on September 25, 2008, 09:12:59 AM
how many students from tyrone were not in the hatfield all week?
Post by: full back on September 25, 2008, 09:24:16 AM
Never get a headache after the drink but the stomach hurts like fcuk.
Think as you get older it gets worse & lasts for longer, normally lasts around 3 days now.
On the fourth day I can eat a horse as I have been eating fcuk all for the previous 3 days.
Havent found anything that helps me yet :-\
Post by: wherefromreferee? on September 25, 2008, 09:30:23 AM
Its the depression that kills me.  It eats away at me for a few days.  I hate it.
Post by: ziggysego on September 25, 2008, 11:11:15 AM
I gotta say that the older I get, the hangovers get worst and I wouldn't even be drinking as much as I used to.

No hangovers this weekend amazingly.
Post by: cavan4ever on September 25, 2008, 12:01:07 PM
Was out friday night and all day saturday and last nite was the first good nights sleep that i have had since.  Don't get bad hangovers just feel relly tired all the time have no motivation to do anything.  Appetites  just back yesterday evening aswell going to lay off the drink for a few weeks now.
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 25, 2008, 12:17:00 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on September 25, 2008, 12:01:07 PM
Was out friday night and all day saturday and last nite was the first good nights sleep that i have had since.  Don't get bad hangovers just feel relly tired all the time have no motivation to do anything.  Appetites  just back yesterday evening aswell going to lay off the drink for a few weeks now.
Jaysus, what were you celebrating. Couldn't be anything relating to Cavan football anyhow :D
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on September 25, 2008, 12:33:34 PM

I'd be a bit similar, don't really get the sore stomachs or headaches but the tiredness is unreal.  I find now that there's no way i could go into work the day after even a half day drinkin cuz i'd be likely to fall asleep at the desk. 

I had my sisters wedding a few weeks ago and the next day I drank 4 pints of cordial in the space of half and hour and found that i was fine the rest of the day. 

usually I'd just lie up on the couch with a load of bags of crisps, chocolate, lollies and then get a chinese that evening.
Post by: aontroim on September 25, 2008, 12:37:01 PM
Easy solution is to start drinking the next day again, but drink one less than what you had the day before, repeat the next few days (or weeks) until you reach 0 drinks - you should be grand after that  ;D
Post by: Hardy on September 25, 2008, 12:43:13 PM
Poisoning the system to the extent of severe tissue dehydration will indeed cause pain, disorientation, lethargy, nausea and sometimes depression. Other poisons produce different effects. Why the surprise?
Post by: Yes I Would on September 25, 2008, 01:09:17 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 25, 2008, 12:43:13 PM
Poisoning the system to the extent of severe tissue dehydration will indeed cause pain, disorientation, lethargy, nausea and sometimes depression. Other poisons produce different effects. Why the surprise?

Would you quit romantacising it Hardy.

Its drinking to oblivion that does me. Where did i end up last night? Who was i with?? How did i get home?? How much did i spend?? Who did i insult?? 

After a day or two when i realise everyone is still talking to me then the guilt dies down and am ready to do it all again.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on September 25, 2008, 01:42:04 PM
Get a bananna down ye!  ;)
Post by: bennydorano on September 25, 2008, 02:09:23 PM
Ask your Doc about a Helicobacter test!  I found out a few weeks back (after a few years of bad heartburn/stomach ache) that I had a parasite/bacteria causing the trouble!  They reckon 1 in 20 people have it!
Post by: cavan4ever on September 25, 2008, 02:13:08 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 25, 2008, 12:17:00 PM
Jaysus, what were you celebrating. Couldn't be anything relating to Cavan football anyhow :D

I intended going for just a few on friday night but ended up at party and got home at 7 in morning.  Woke up at 12 and the girlfriend was away for day so decided to go for the cure(big mistake although it was great craic at the time).  It had nothing to do with the club getting to the Junior Final either nobody gives a shit about that.
Post by: el Chino on September 25, 2008, 02:36:26 PM
i swore the other day i had an ulcer

but i just took a lock of milk of magnesia and i was grand
Post by: Great Leap Forward on September 25, 2008, 03:22:15 PM
Letting it runs it's course always worked for me. The guts could be real bad after a weekend bender but once the appetite came back I could eat for Ireland. Drink plenty of water.

Unfortunately the depression is par for the course, particularly when the memory is a bit sketchy. Try and keep your brain activated for a few days to stop your mind working overtime wondering what you did.

If you can't sleep with the depression, you are in the dark room, the lonliest place in the world. I hate when that happens. One minute you are warm, the next you are freezing and the only start sleeping about half an hour the alarms goes of.
Post by: screenmachine on September 25, 2008, 03:26:56 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on September 25, 2008, 02:09:23 PM
Ask your Doc about a Helicobacter test!  I found out a few weeks back (after a few years of bad heartburn/stomach ache) that I had a parasite/bacteria causing the trouble!  They reckon 1 in 20 people have it!

I seriously can't see how getting your helicopter license would do an awful lot for a hangover...On a more positive note your doctor must be doing quite well fror himself... ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 25, 2008, 03:56:15 PM
Don't drink so much when you go out! It's a very simple solution. The only thing you can do for a hangover is suffer it and it'll pass. Everyone is different, some people eat it out of them whereas I'm firmly in the camp that cannot eat a thing until about 9pm the next night!
Post by: youngfella on September 25, 2008, 05:23:02 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on September 25, 2008, 01:09:17 PM

Its drinking to oblivion that does me. Where did i end up last night? Who was i with?? How did i get home?? How much did i spend?? Who did i insult?? 

After a day or two when i realise everyone is still talking to me then the guilt dies down and am ready to do it all again.

Jaysus i hate that feelin, has to be one of the worse feeling in the world.
Post by: reddgnhand on September 25, 2008, 06:32:44 PM
Quote from: youngfella on September 25, 2008, 05:23:02 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on September 25, 2008, 01:09:17 PM

Jaysus i hate that feelin, has to be one of the worse feeling in the world.

Its certainly reassuring to know you are not alone. The best way to look at it is if you havent been charged with anything and nobody died its ok ;)
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on September 25, 2008, 06:38:22 PM

That heartburn is a bastid benny, I got that test a few years ago had that oul Hpylori your on about.  I blame life as a student.  I take lanzoparazol now for it and haven't had a touch of heart burn now in about 3 years, even after a 3 day rip.  It's great stuff
Post by: Onion Bag on September 25, 2008, 06:46:33 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on September 25, 2008, 06:38:22 PM

That heartburn is a bastid benny, I got that test a few years ago had that oul Hpylori your on about.  I blame life as a student.  I take lanzoparazol now for it and haven't had a touch of heart burn now in about 3 years, even after a 3 day rip.  It's great stuff

Elcuervo, i remember you getting ready for a nights out, doing the check before you left, Phone, Wallet, Keys, and a box of Rennie  ;)
Post by: ziggysego on September 25, 2008, 07:23:57 PM

Yeah, I had that once. Wasn't pleasant. Sever stomach pains and crapping blood. Had to send a camera down my throat to see what the craic was. Was that frickin' bacteria, which give me an ulcer. Ended up on a course of 8 pills to be taken 3 times a day for 3 weeks. A torture it was.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on September 25, 2008, 07:39:21 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on September 25, 2008, 06:46:33 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on September 25, 2008, 06:38:22 PM

Elcuervo, i remember you getting ready for a nights out, doing the check before you left, Phone, Wallet, Keys, and a box of Rennie  ;)

:D  those Rennies are now replaced by a packet of pogos.  Sure i remember having to carry a packet of rennie in my socks for football training.    :D   those were in the dark days
Post by: Our Nail Loney on September 26, 2008, 02:08:01 PM
Was down in blefast there celebrating the new intake of students for the last two nights

f**k I am in a bad way now, its sore enough even drinking water and I just boked up my centra roll!

Ya just have to stick it out

Was in ayia napa there end of august f**k it was despressing the hangovers, and when I got home it was even worse!
Post by: DownFanatic on September 26, 2008, 05:09:33 PM
I get ultra depression and a feeling of impending doom. A new part of my hangover has also emerged. Shortlessness of breath and a feeling that im going to faint. Anybody ever get this?
Post by: The Watcher Pat on September 26, 2008, 06:00:40 PM
Quote from: el Chino on September 25, 2008, 02:36:26 PM

but dont take too much milk of magnesia or you'll end up with the trots!!

A big bacon sandwich and a glass of milk usually does the trick for me....
Post by: stiffler on September 26, 2008, 06:01:44 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on September 26, 2008, 06:00:40 PM

Got the barkbuster and bottle of your finest ready for tonite pat? :D
Post by: The Watcher Pat on September 26, 2008, 06:09:34 PM
Quote from: stiffler on September 26, 2008, 06:01:44 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on September 26, 2008, 06:00:40 PM

Got the barkbuster and bottle of your finest ready for tonite pat? :D

Not yet but it will be purchased soon!