GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Barney on August 19, 2008, 08:34:10 AM

Title: Mayo v Kerry Minor AI Semi-Final
Post by: Barney on August 19, 2008, 08:34:10 AM
Good luck to Ray Dempsey and the lads on Sunday. Hope to travel to shout them on.

What's the story down Kerry way - how do ye rate your lads? Could we take a big beating again from ye?

Hopefully we can get a bit of revenge for the u21 semi-final defeat. It would be nice to have a bit part to play on Final day.
Title: Re: Mayo v Kerry Minor AI Semi-Final
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on August 19, 2008, 08:51:50 AM
I'll second that Barney, best of luck to the lads. Any word on the injuries, the full back and centre back had to go off the last day and O'Shea had a hamstring problem?
Post by: AbbeySider on August 19, 2008, 09:23:38 AM
Quote from: Barney on August 19, 2008, 08:34:10 AM
What's the story down Kerry way - how do ye rate your lads? Could we take a big beating again from ye?

You know the story down in Kerry Barney. (we hear some story or another every year)
Training not going well, fighting in the camp, disputes over the captaincy, injury plagued...  :P  ;)  :D
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 09:35:38 AM
Mayo beat Kerry in their last semi final meeting, if I'm not mistaken. Back in 2005 I'd say. The year Marty Clarke inspired Down to win the final against Mayo.
Post by: orangeman on August 19, 2008, 10:49:30 AM
Mayo wil need to watch Barry John Walsh - 3-3 the last day !
Post by: Onlooker on August 19, 2008, 10:54:47 AM
This Kerry team has been very highly rated from the start of the year.  However, they only beat Cork by 2 points in the Munster Semi Final and were held to a draw by Tipperary in the Munster Final.   They were much better in the replay and had a 15 points win over Offaly in the All Ireland Quarter Final.  The draw with Tipp may have been the wake up call that they needed.  They will be very hard to beat in the Semi Final and Final (if they get there).
Post by: blanketattack on August 19, 2008, 02:57:47 PM
Not a vintage Kerry minor team by any means. Cork had 80% of the possession against them for the last 15 minutes of the Munster semi-final and just hit wide after wide. Struggled against Tipp. Had a great start against Offaly but still struggled in a few key positions. Might beat Mayo and might even win it out but still, no great shakes.
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 19, 2008, 09:31:28 PM
Kerry minor team just named

1) Brian Kelly  (Legion)
2) Padraig Reidy  (Knocknagoshel ) 3) Barry Shanahan  (Austin Stacks)) 4) Fionn Fitzgerald  (Dr. Crokes)
5) Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers) 6 ) Jonathan Lyne (Legion)  7) Maurice Hickey  (Castleisland Desmonds)
8)Jamie O'Sullivan (Kilcummin) 9) Wayne Guthrie (Austin Stacks)
10) Mike Tim O'Sullivan (Tuosist)  11) Daithí Casey (Dr. Crokes) 12) Colm O'Shea  (Firies)
13) Barry John Keane (Kerins O'Rahillys)  14) Barry John Walsh (Captain ) (Kerins O'Rahilly's) (15) Cian Tobin (Spa)

Fir Ionaid: 16) Shane O'Leary  (Currow) 17) Paul Geaney  (Dingle)  18) John O'Mahony  ( Firies ) 19) Niall O'Shea (Piarsaigh Na Dromada ) 20) Colm Moriarty (Dingle)  21) Danny Wrenn  (Tarbert ) 22) Jack Sherwood  (Firies )  23) James Coffey (Beaufort)   and 24) James O'Donoghue ( Legion)

Hard to know with minors how they will play from game to game, we were excellent in parts against Offaly but as others have said we struggled to get over the Young Langers and the Tipp boys. Hopefully they will play to their best potential against Mayo.

Young Barry John Walsh seems to be a potential future star and has been targeted by the Aussies for a trial, though I'd say himself and big brother Tommy will hang around a few years in the hope of adding to the Walsh family collection of All Ireland medals.

But hopefully we can get over the challange of Mayo on Sunday and get a crack at the title, hopefully those Kerry supporters travelling will get in early to support the Kingdom minors. We have come close on a few occasions over the last few years to winning the Minors but those defeats may have fed the hunger of the Winning U21 team this year. But it would be nice if we could bridge that gap from our last AI minor title of 1994.

With any minor game its a 50-50 call.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 19, 2008, 10:16:39 PM
f**k you and your little gapeen! It's 1985 since we last won a Minor All-Ireland! :(
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 19, 2008, 10:56:53 PM
.......and 1951 since Mr Maguire last ventured west to Mayo ;)
Post by: Son_of_Sam on August 20, 2008, 05:32:27 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 19, 2008, 10:56:53 PM
.......and 1951 since Mr Maguire last ventured west to Mayo ;)

Nah the Galway lads where kind enough to bring it down and show it to us at the odd dinner every now and then.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on August 20, 2008, 06:02:35 AM
Hard to know what to expect from this year's minors (the same can be said of a lot of minor teams).

At the beginning of the year I would have said up to six or seven of these lads had serious senior aspirations but of those I'd say only Robert Hennelly, Kevin Keane, Cathal Freeman and Aidan O'Shea have looked the business from what I've heard back from those at the games (I'm in Australia so haven't seen them play in a few months).

But they seem to have this solid but not spectacular look about them that can stand Mayo teams in good stead, as can be seen from our last Under 21 All-Ireland winners in 2006 and, from what everyone seems to say, our last minor winners in 1985.

I think they've a management team who won't let them get notions about themselves and a few of these lads are good coaches too. I think they'll be able to stay competitive with Kerry and won't concede a whole pile but whether they have the scoring power to kick on in the home straight remains to be seen.

Here's hoping though, Maigh Eo abu
Post by: westmayo on August 20, 2008, 09:49:55 AM
Could be a struggle for Mayo on Sunday with both Keane (full back) and Reilly (centre-half) are looking like major doubts for the game since getting injured in the quarter final.  Both Freeman and Nally have been in great form at 5 and 7 and they will need to keep up that form come Sunday. Midfield is a serious question mark, I haven't been impressed with Corduff and Cafferty to much at midfield and they will seriously need to up their game. While  Aidan O'Shea who has more than held his own at senior club level in the county for the last two years (for a lad who just turned 18 a couple of weeks ago) hasn't been as prominent, as I would have hoped.

Hope your enjoying the sunshine in Oz Red and Green Sniper,
Post by: Davitt Man on August 20, 2008, 12:58:52 PM
Quote from: westmayo on August 20, 2008, 09:49:55 AM
Could be a struggle for Mayo on Sunday with both Keane (full back) and Reilly (centre-half) are looking like major doubts for the game since getting injured in the quarter final.  Both Freeman and Nally have been in great form at 5 and 7 and they will need to keep up that form come Sunday. Midfield is a serious question mark, I haven't been impressed with Corduff and Cafferty to much at midfield and they will seriously need to up their game. While  Aidan O'Shea who has more than held his own at senior club level in the county for the last two years (for a lad who just turned 18 a couple of weeks ago) hasn't been as prominent, as I would have hoped.

I have seen alot of Corduff down the years and he is not very mobile at all, he ended up corner forward for a while in the Conn Final, Croke Park is not the place to be playing midfield if you cant cover the ground, id imagine he be at 11 with O'Shea at midfield
Post by: dodo on August 20, 2008, 09:14:00 PM
Quote from: Davitt Man on August 20, 2008, 12:58:52 PM

I have seen alot of Corduff down the years and he is not very mobile at all, he ended up corner forward for a while in the Conn Final, Croke Park is not the place to be playing midfield if you cant cover the ground, id imagine he be at 11 with O'Shea at midfield

Good call there, maybe even in at full forward. Have seen Cafferty a few times this year and thougt that he did very well. Maybe not the most physical but has loads of football, perhaps this is why they had Corduff alongside him. Keane would be a big loss at full back.
Post by: moysider on August 20, 2008, 09:58:22 PM
Apart from those mentioned by Sniper above I ve been impressed be Cafferkey. Now he might never be a senior midfielder but he could make it in another position. One fault I have with him at the moment is going for the clean catch every time on kickouts even when he s behind bigger men. But thats easy to sort. I ve also liked the cut of Aiden Walsh. He has the class anyway. Young O Hara is small but a terrific player. Nally and Dolan are also solid looking backs. Unfortunately Corduff finds it hard to cover the ground. Its at least partly a fitness thing and is something he can sort if he s interested enough. He s a big man though and minor again next year so a bit of patience might be required with him.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on August 21, 2008, 01:20:09 AM
Quote from: westmayo on August 20, 2008, 09:49:55 AM

I'm certainly enjoying the Oz winter more than I would the excuse for an Irish summer I hear ye're getting this year  8)
Quote from: dodo on August 20, 2008, 09:14:00 PM
Quote from: Davitt Man on August 20, 2008, 12:58:52 PM

Good call there, maybe even in at full forward. Have seen Cafferty a few times this year and thougt that he did very well. Maybe not the most physical but has loads of football, perhaps this is why they had Corduff alongside him. Keane would be a big loss at full back.

I'm very surprised Castlebar's Ger McDonagh didn't start against Monaghan. He struggled with injury early in the year and would probably be only as mobile as Corduff but he has bucket loads more football ability in him. He'd also be more adept at full-forward - we can't just put someone in full-forward because they are big, they have to have the necessary ball skills for the job too.

If Mayo could cope without him out the field, then Aidan O'Shea would be the perfect man for full-forward but it would appear that even when he's centre-half forward, they need to bring him out to shore up midfield.

I agree with Moysider regarding Cafferty, he has a great attitude from when I ever saw him play
Post by: GAA_Punter on August 24, 2008, 12:34:49 PM
I see that both Keane and reily have been named on the starting line up for mayo , does anyone know if they will start today .

Kerry -3 at evens could be a huge price if mayo are missing there Full Back and Center back.
Post by: Tubberman on August 24, 2008, 02:09:03 PM
Mayo 1-03 0-5 Kerry after 24 mins

Mayo have the majority of possesion - winning all the breaks. Really should have a few more scores on the board. Some poor shooting but playing very well overall.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 24, 2008, 02:58:54 PM
This go to a replay? I don't speak as gaeilge
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 24, 2008, 03:01:41 PM
What were ya waiting on?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 24, 2008, 03:06:38 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 24, 2008, 03:02:25 PM
Had Kerry Kerry double.

I hate draws.

Was gonna stick a good bit on that double myself but chickened out in the end thank f**k. Someone was going on in the odds thread about an enhanced price some bookies were going, thats why!
Post by: Tubberman on August 24, 2008, 03:14:07 PM
Mayo really should have won that game by a few points and in the end they could actually have lost it. Hope they don't think their chance is gone because they were definitely the stronger team. BJ Walsh was talked up an awful lot before the match but there wasn't much to rave about today - still a minor I suppose, so can blow hot and cold.
Mayo had some excellent performances, particularly from Keane, Cafferty and O'Shea and Aidan Walsh
Post by: INDIANA on August 24, 2008, 03:19:11 PM
the winner is coming from the other side. tyrone and meath wiould account for both those sides, dire second half.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 24, 2008, 04:08:14 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 24, 2008, 03:19:11 PM
the winner is coming from the other side. tyrone and meath wiould account for both those sides, dire second half.

Heard the same from Dublin supporters et al after the Mayo/Tyrone Senior QF.

Also no one is going on about the wides Kerry have had into the Hill, would be a different story if it were lads with Red and Green doing that!
Post by: Fenway on August 24, 2008, 04:21:38 PM
A bad day at the office for mayo shooting 13 wides- some of them from very good positions - hopefully this will be worked on during the week. No reason why we cant be as dominant in midfield again so good luck next week lads.
On the Very Very Very Brightside - Do we have a fullback coming through or what ?
 ;D ;D ;D
Post by: INDIANA on August 24, 2008, 04:47:33 PM
entitled to you view bunker but the winner wasn't on view today.
Post by: Tubberman on August 24, 2008, 04:58:34 PM
Quoteentitled to you view bunker but the winner wasn't on view today.

Ridiculous statement. Not alone for declaring you already know who's going to lose the final (you must make a fortune in the bookies with your future-seeing super powers), but you're talking about minors here - hardly predictable stuff.
Mayo were given little chance today by many, but should have won the game. Were you going around before the 2006 minor final saying Roscommon would not win the minor final?
Had you also declared that Tyrone could not beat Dublin last weekend??
Post by: INDIANA on August 24, 2008, 05:09:36 PM
Its my opinion that the winner will come from the other side. Deal with it and stop acting like a big kid.You don;t have monopoly of opiniion on this site. Or do I have to put up the definition  of a forum in neon lights? Maybe the Oxford Dictionary isn't available in someparts of the country.But that was one brutal game of football played between 2 average teams. and what dublin and tyrone has to do with it is beyond me. but its typical of the sort of chilidish comments that are put out there.
Post by: Tubberman on August 24, 2008, 05:19:08 PM
I couldn't care less if your opinion is that the winner will come from the other semi - that's fair enough.
But you're declaring it as if it's a fact that the winner from Mayo v Kerry cannot win the final - that's what I was posting about. No need for the arrogant condescending talk.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 24, 2008, 05:24:29 PM
Didn't think it was a great match quality wise today. Both sides were guilty of some awful wides and there was a huge amount of misplaced passes. That said this is minors we are talking about and a team that looks quite ordinary one day can be brilliant the next and vice versa. I don't think the Galway minors were considered favourites in either the semi-final or final last year but ended up winning it.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on August 24, 2008, 06:37:38 PM
Where Mayo & Kerry that bad, did not see as I am in Oz, but minors that draw to fight another day can not be judged like Seniors as minors are alway very different every time they play. They not fully experienced outfits on the national stage.
Post by: gorm agus bui on August 24, 2008, 07:23:27 PM
yer man playing soccer for Mayo in the last min or so cost them dearly. Should have had the balls to pick the bloody thing up and run at the kerry backline
Post by: Rossfan on August 24, 2008, 08:06:09 PM
The Mayo forwards in general cost them dearly.
They should have won that game handy.
And  to think we blew the Connacht final against them  :(
Nothing sadder than thinking of what might have been. :-\
Post by: Jinxy on August 24, 2008, 10:42:19 PM
Quote from: gorm agus bui on August 24, 2008, 07:23:27 PM
yer man playing soccer for Mayo in the last min or so cost them dearly. Should have had the balls to pick the bloody thing up and run at the kerry backline

I learned something from that incident. Shouting "Bend your back FFS!" through a gob full of sponge cake does not go down well with my mother. Or the elderly relatives visiting from America.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on August 25, 2008, 04:35:30 AM
Saw the game on Setanta Australia.

Mayo were definitely the better team and I was pleasantly surprised by their ability if not their finishing.

Cafferty chipped in with three good points. Aidan Walsh was always a threat even if he did miss a kickable free to win it. What a pass for the goal though.
Daniel O'Hara was unlucky, just wasn't getting the run of the ball. He'll be better the next day. So too will Aidan O'Shea who was probably guilty of trying to do too much at times.
The same applies for Cathal Freeman.
Defensively Mayo were awesome. Very impressed with Dolan and Nally. Kevin Keane's ability has been highlighted by me before but he was superb yesterday against the most talked about Minor player in the country.

It was frustrating to not win the game but in terms of options coming through to make the senior grade, we can be very hopeful. If Mayo play with the same purpose and drive in the replay I think they'll win. Credit to Dempsey and Co - he has the players playing for him.
Post by: T Toatler on August 25, 2008, 08:45:04 AM
Kerry are no great shakes and I didnt spot anyone to step up to the mark immediately for 2009. Mayo were wasteful near end. Didnt see Tyrone yet but they only beat Roscommon by 7 I think. I saw Meath in Leinster earlier and they were terrible so they must have improved no end. Its hard to judge minor football at the best of times though but I will take a chance with Tyrone
Post by: Barney on August 25, 2008, 08:48:27 AM
Disappointing not to see the job through but we're still there fighting when nobody gave us a chance.

This is a hardworking team with some quite limited players. Their defensive stability is a big plus for the future.

Thought the ref made some hard calls against us but sure that's the way it goes. Don't think we'll be getting another day out in Croker for the replay but wouldn't rule us out being there in September.
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on August 25, 2008, 09:29:50 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on August 24, 2008, 05:19:08 PM
But you're declaring it as if it's a fact that the winner from Mayo v Kerry cannot win the final - that's what I was posting about.

Agreed, nothing wrong with opinions but spouting off like it's a fact is a bit childish Indiana. From what I've heard this years Tyrone team are unreal and will take some serious stopping, and going on yesterdays game they should be favourites for the final. How about if you tried an approach like that Indiana? Maybe we could give you a lesson in diplomacy in return for your kind offer of Oxford Dictionary tutoring?  ;D
Post by: Jinxy on August 25, 2008, 10:02:18 AM
Very impressed with the Mayo FB. Very assured under the high ball and looks to have all the attributes necessary for senior football.
Post by: ludermor on August 25, 2008, 10:04:49 AM
Keane and Cafferky were superb yesterday, if only these 2 alone would come through it would be a huge positive
Post by: westmayo on August 25, 2008, 12:06:05 PM
Replay in Ennis on Saturday at 3.30pm according to GAA.ie

Cork-Kerry replay set for Sunday

Aug 25, 2008
photo Monday, 23 August

The GAA has confirmed that the replay of Sunday's drawn All-Ireland SFC semi-final between Cork and Kerry will take place as part of a triple header at Croke Park on Sunday next, July 31.

The game [throw-in 2.00pm] will be sandwiched in between the minor football semi-final contest of Meath and Tyrone [12.15] and the second senior semi-final, which also involves Tyrone as Mickey Harte's men clash with Wexford [4.00].

Meanwhile, the replay of the minor semi-final between Mayo and Kerry will take place at Cusack Park, Ennis, on Saturday August 30 at 3.30 pm.

Cork hit two late goals on Sunday to earn the replay, Conor Counihan's men finishing with 3-7 to the Kingdom's 1-13, but Pat O'Shea's side will be cursing the Rebels' late fightback as the defending All-Ireland champions led by eight points with 66 minutes played.

Cork have already beaten Kerry this season in the Munster final when they rallied from another eight point deficit, turning it into a five point win in the second half.

Sunday's replay will mark the sides' tenth Championship meeting in just four seasons.

The full Croke Park line up for Sunday is:

12.15 pm -ESB GAA Football All Ireland Minor championship semi final    Tyrone v Meath

2.00 pm - GAA Football All Ireland Senior Champioship semi final replay Cork v Kerry

4.00 pm - GAA Football All Ireland Senior Champioship semi final            Wexford v Tyrone

Post by: Farrandeelin on August 25, 2008, 12:24:55 PM
I will probably end up going next Saturday now that the club games are off. I couldn't make it yesterday as I had other commitments. Ennis, the place where we won the u-21 All-Ireland against Cork. We also beat Tipp there a few years ago. So here's for 3 wins over Munster sides in Ennis. And if the Rossies could beat them there there's no reason why we shouldn't be able to! :D
Post by: REDCOL on August 25, 2008, 07:41:08 PM
Just a few thoughts on team yesterday

Robert Hennelly (Breaffy) - Kickouts, very good apart from last one

John Broderick (Claremorris) - Pretty good, bar a couple of minor mistakes
Kevin Keane (Westport) - MOM, Totally blotted out Walsh
David Dolan (Garry) - Another gutsy display, very tenacious

Shane Mc Hale - Best game of year, very good apart from well taken goal
Eoghan O'Reilly (Mitchels) - Steady if not spectacular does job quietly
Shane Nally (Garry - captain) - Loose Marker, but wins a huge amount of possession. Some great catches

Gerard Mc Donagh- Not as effective as Cafferty, kept at it
James Cafferty (Cross) - Brilliant First Half, 3 Great Points, Faded in Second Half

Cathal Freeman (Aghamore) - On the ball very often, needs better shot selection
Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy) - Won a lot of ball in 1st half, tried too much in second
Ray Geraghty (Ballintubber) - Good First half faded in second

Daniel O'Hara (Ballina) - Never got going, outmuscled could have been replaced earlier
Aidan Walsh (Mitchels) - Another Mixed bag, wins a lot of ball
Alex Corduff (Ballina) - Not a Corner Forward, if not Midfielder then dont play him

Hope we did not kick it away yesterday, defensively brilliant, so much possession in 1st half. Forwards again our achillees heel. Two corner forwards were poor yesterday, Next Saturday another day, would be worried about O Donoghue who came on late yesterday, looks like a class act.
Post by: StoneWall on August 26, 2008, 10:40:44 PM
A friend of mine in Ennis texted me to say this game is moved to Limerick on Saturday. RTE seem to confirm this...

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/238-02.html
Post by: moysider on August 26, 2008, 11:20:49 PM

Thats handy. The Mayos in Diblin will be able to get a train down. Anybody got a sea weather forecast cause the rest of us would be quicker by sea than driving down. Claregalway + Oranmore+ Gort take half hour each at least on a Saturday in my experience.
Post by: m@yoman on August 26, 2008, 11:22:35 PM
yeah, it's been moved to limerick alright........how that is halfway between kerry and mayo I'll never know...

>:(

hope the minors do it on saturday.....they hit some bad wides on sunday in croker, but they were by far the better team!
Post by: Barney on August 27, 2008, 08:37:57 AM
At least Ennis is by-passed now.

Wonder why it has been changed. Must have been a request from the Kerrys.

Not many of the Mayo lads will have played there.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on August 27, 2008, 03:11:06 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 26, 2008, 11:20:49 PM

Thats handy. The Mayos in Diblin will be able to get a train down. Anybody got a sea weather forecast cause the rest of us would be quicker by sea than driving down. Claregalway + Oranmore+ Gort take half hour each at least on a Saturday in my experience.
No need to go through Oranmore village Moysider, take the auld bypass and you'll save yourself about 25mins  ;)

Best on luck to ye on Saturday.
Post by: Fenway on August 27, 2008, 08:24:12 PM
Limerick isnt 30 min from Kerry and its at least 2 hrs from Mayo  - God knows what it is from places like Crossmolina !
I'd love to know who in Mayo agreed to this daft idea ! >:(
Post by: Rossfan on August 27, 2008, 08:38:50 PM
Quote from: T Toatler on August 25, 2008, 08:45:04 AM
Tyrone .... only beat Roscommon by 7 ....
What sort of a ********** stupid comment is that ?? >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(
We were playing football in Roscommon before they even grew feet in Tyrone ;)
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 27, 2008, 09:58:03 PM
QuoteLimerick isnt 30 min from Kerry

Yes but from some of the darkest spots of South Kerry its can be the guts of 3 hours to Limerick at times, Abbyfeale can be a hole to get through most times and Newcastlewest has had alot of traffic restrictions recently with the flooding.

Yerra ye Mayo lads dont get out much so it will good for ye to see a bit of the country  ;)

Kerry minor team named this evening

Kerry Minor team to play Mayo in ESB All Ireland Semi-Final Replay on Saturday 30th August 08 2008 is as follows:
1) Brian Kelly  (Legion)  2)  Padraig Reidy (Knocknagoshel)   3) Barry Shanahan  (Austin Stacks)  4) Fionn Fitzgerald  (Dr. Crokes)   5) Jonathan Lyne (Legion) 6) Jamie O'Sullivan  (Kilcummin) 7)  Maurice Hickey  (Castleisland Desmonds) 8) Colm Moriarty  (Dingle) CAPTAIN  9) Wayne Guthrie  (Austin Stacks)   10) Mike Tim O'Sullivan  (Tuosist) 11) Daithí Casey  (Dr. Crokes) 12) Colm O'Shea  (Firies) 13) James O'Donoghue (Legion)  14)  Barry John Walsh (Kerins O'Rahilly's)  15)  Cian Tobin (Spa)   

Fir Ionaid:  16) Shane O'Leary  (Currow)  17) Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)  18) Paul Geaney   (Dingle)   19) Barry John Keane  (Kerins O'Rahilly's 20) John O'Mahony  (Firies)   21) Jack Sherwood  (Firies)   22) Niall O'Shea  (Piarsaigh Na Dromada) 23) Danny Wren (Tarbert)   24)  James Coffey  (Beaufort)
Manager: John Kennedy (Asdee) Selectors: Sean O'Leary (Currow) Liam Ó Rocháin (An Ghaeltacht) Paddy Creagh (Austin Stacks) and Brendan Donnelly (Waterville)
Post by: ríochtciarraí on August 27, 2008, 10:02:27 PM
Hopefully we'll get through the next day I can't see us being as bad again surely. Its a good team Mayo have too I was very impressed with their full back he was outstanding the last day. Hopefully BJ Walsh will have his measure now for the next day though. We need to improve in almost every position on the field from the last day though but I have n.o doubt they can do it as they are an extremely talented group of young lads. Best of luck and heres hoping
Post by: moysider on August 28, 2008, 12:54:55 AM
Only got a chance to watch a recording of the match tonight as I was away. Saw all the Connacht matches earlier and as readers of my thoughts on this team over the last few months know I like the cut of this lot. I ve also been looking at a lot of them for years and  know there is quality there. Regardless of whether they beat Kerry the next day or win an AI there are 6 or 7 potential seniors there. And thats what counts imo. But it would be nice to win.

I m delighted for Dempsey. Sure there are flaws but the lads try. I think he has them set up well, makes changes when things are nt going well for a fella and its noticable that some of the players have lost annoying bits in the last few months. Well done.

The next day is very much 50/50 with our fellas being probably better but we would find it difficult to concede a goal and win. Kerry did nt score a goal the last day but the usual flippant Mayo turnover presented them with at least 4 great opportunities to create one. I would be worried about that the next day.

I think Aodhan O Sé is way better than some of the hyped up individuals we hear from other counties and I ve not seen a better minor so far this year. Maybe Tyrone or Meath have one.

Unfortunately I dont know of anybody going to the replay yet. Apathy is endemic among us it seems. Its a work day as well and my attempts to get a car load together has come to naught so far. But you cant get a counties support to switch on and off.

We were a rabid football county. We were told to calm down. Too much hype and expectation. Now were being encouraged to get out and support our minors, and yes, they deserve every voice they can get because they re as honest and as worthy as any team we ve ever produced. Unfortunately that is not the way support goes. Its not on tap.
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on August 28, 2008, 09:10:19 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 27, 2008, 09:58:03 PM

Yes but from some of the darkest spots of South Kerry its can be the guts of 3 hours to Limerick at times, Abbyfeale can be a hole to get through most times and Newcastlewest has had alot of traffic restrictions recently with the flooding.

Get out of that Mike, for a start Mayo is bigger than Kerry so try driving from the top of the Erris region even down to south Mayo and you have a good 2 hour drive, never mind having to go through Galway and Clare aswell. At least we have good roads in Mayo though so they probably took that into account when considering your dirt tracks and thought they would give ye some chance to get there! ;D
crazy decision though and is only being played in Limerick to try and help justify that white elephant of a stadium. As has been pointed out they are an extremely honest group of players with no lack of talent and deserve the support of anyone that is free to head down to the county neighbouring kerry on Saturday.

Post by: Son_of_Sam on August 28, 2008, 11:30:08 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 27, 2008, 09:58:03 PM

Yerra ye Mayo lads dont get out much so it will good for ye to see a bit of the country  ;)
Ya but we don't like crossing the Shannon all that much, much nicer this side.     ;)

Kerry minor team named this evening

Kerry Minor team to play Mayo in ESB All Ireland Semi-Final Replay on Saturday 30th August 08 2008 is as follows:
1) Brian Kelly  (Legion)  2)  Padraig Reidy (Knocknagoshel)   3) Barry Shanahan  (Austin Stacks)  4) Fionn Fitzgerald  (Dr. Crokes)   5) Jonathan Lyne (Legion) 6) Jamie O'Sullivan  (Kilcummin) 7)  Maurice Hickey  (Castleisland Desmonds) 8) Colm Moriarty  (Dingle) CAPTAIN  9) Wayne Guthrie  (Austin Stacks)   10) Mike Tim O'Sullivan  (Tuosist) 11) Daithí Casey  (Dr. Crokes) 12) Colm O'Shea  (Firies) 13) James O'Donoghue (Legion)  14)  Barry John Walsh (Kerins O'Rahilly's)  15)  Cian Tobin (Spa)   

Fir Ionaid:  16) Shane O'Leary  (Currow)  17) Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)  18) Paul Geaney   (Dingle)   19) Barry John Keane  (Kerins O'Rahilly's 20) John O'Mahony  (Firies)   21) Jack Sherwood  (Firies)   22) Niall O'Shea  (Piarsaigh Na Dromada) 23) Danny Wren (Tarbert)   24)  James Coffey  (Beaufort)
Manager: John Kennedy (Asdee) Selectors: Sean O'Leary (Currow) Liam Ó Rocháin (An Ghaeltacht) Paddy Creagh (Austin Stacks) and Brendan Donnelly (Waterville)
Post by: m@yoman on August 30, 2008, 11:18:03 AM
best of luck to the lads today!

hopefully they can do the business!
Post by: furboot on August 30, 2008, 12:48:10 PM
don't often see any much analysis of the minor championship in itself but i see on http://www.clubmayo.ie/201.php (http://www.clubmayo.ie/201.php) that both Kerry and Mayo have plenty to play for in todays match.
Both have proud traditions at minor level but Kerry (ranked no. 1 in minor titles) haven't won a title since 1994 and Mayo haven't won since 1985. Like their seniors Mayo have made it to a few finals but no silverware to show - hope the current crop can make amends and bridge that gap. interesting read......even has a look at how minor success is mapped to senior success....70%
Post by: AbbeySider on August 30, 2008, 04:00:57 PM
Its an eight point game. Near end of 1st half.
1-2 to 2-7.
Sounds like a great performance by Mayo so far and a great crowd have travelled down.
Im preying we can keep it up.
Post by: muppet on August 30, 2008, 04:34:22 PM
Mayo 7 up.
Post by: muppet on August 30, 2008, 04:36:37 PM
Mentors fighting on the sideline.  ::)

Post by: muppet on August 30, 2008, 04:37:34 PM
7 up with 7 mins left.
Post by: Main Street on August 30, 2008, 04:37:54 PM
Pity it isn't on tv, sounds great the bit of commentary that was on the radio.

Mental mentors ;D

Post by: muppet on August 30, 2008, 04:39:20 PM
Goal for Mayo! Kerry down to 14 men.
Post by: FL/MAYO on August 30, 2008, 04:44:46 PM
The Kerry radio lads are gas altogether.
Post by: muppet on August 30, 2008, 04:46:45 PM
All over Mayo 3-13 Kerry 1-9.

Great performance.
Post by: AbbeySider on August 30, 2008, 04:47:51 PM
What a performance. Delighted for all the minor team. Well done lads.
Its even sweeter that Kerry are at the end of a hammering for a change.

Mayo 3-13 - Kerry 1-9
Sweet sweet victory
Post by: Fenway on August 30, 2008, 04:51:33 PM
Well Done to the team and Dempsey! Made my day for sure.
Best of luck to ye in the Final .
Post by: blast05 on August 30, 2008, 04:51:55 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on August 30, 2008, 04:44:46 PM

What were they saying ?
Post by: dodo on August 30, 2008, 04:56:23 PM
Quote from: blast05 on August 30, 2008, 04:51:55 PM

What were they saying ?

"Yerra Mayo lost their chance the first day", "yerra we should win it by a few points anyway", "yerra Mayo are starting well", "yerra we'll take them in the second half", "yerra f&*k it".
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 30, 2008, 05:03:16 PM
Quote from: dodo on August 30, 2008, 04:56:23 PM
"Yerra Mayo lost their chance the first day", "yerra we should win it by a few points anyway", "yerra Mayo are starting well", "yerra we'll take them in the second half", "yerra f&*k it".

Good win for the Mayo Minors,  well done.
Post by: FL/MAYO on August 30, 2008, 05:14:48 PM
Quote from: blast05 on August 30, 2008, 04:51:55 PM

What were they saying ?

They were funny when the mentors were fighting.
In the end they said Mayo were just to strong all over the field, they also wished they could have the O'Shea lad and his brother back in Kerry. They felt Mayo were just physically stronger.
Great to see a Mayo team give Kerry a good beaten for a change.
Post by: Tatler Jack on August 30, 2008, 06:21:56 PM
Well done to our neigbours. Third year in a row that the Kingdom have failed to beat the Connacht champions at minor.

PS Just watched the RTE news - not even a mention of the game. Plenty on every other sport of course!
Post by: m@yoman on August 30, 2008, 06:51:45 PM
yeah i thought they might at least have had a camera at the match?? don't get me wrong I love my horse-racing but there was more about a race in Sandown today than the Mayo minors..... ???

great win for the lads! well done to ray dempsey and his team...
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 30, 2008, 07:24:00 PM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on August 30, 2008, 06:21:56 PM
PS Just watched the RTE news - not even a mention of the game. Plenty on every other sport of course!

It was mentiioned on Six-One, just about.
Post by: Jinxy on August 30, 2008, 07:31:10 PM
Well done Mayo. No fluke. They should have won by that much the first day.
Post by: StoneWall on August 30, 2008, 08:27:13 PM
Aiden O'Shea was outstanding today, really lived up to his potential. Mayo backs were also very good again today not giving Kerry any easy scores except for the goal.

Barry John Walsh was very ordinary again today and looked like he had the weight of the world on his shoulders. I think he was hyped up too much. I was surprised the size of the crowd at it.

Hopefully we can finish the job no more than the seniors we are over due one having lost the last four final we've been in at minor...1991, 1999, 2000, 2005
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 30, 2008, 10:18:53 PM
It's great we're back in the final at Minor level again. I hope to God we finish it off this time. It'd be great if we could - they're a big team and hopefully they will play the same aggressive way they did today. I wasn't at it but Mike Finnerty on the radio seemed very impressed with the way they played. I wonder was Dempsey involved in the biteen of a scuffle on the sideline? :D I'm happy he's gotten the team to the final, he might be lucky, but if it was JOM we'd be making up a song about him at this stage. Pity Kerry got the goal, it'd be a right hiding for them then. Was it only 3 points Mayo scored from frees today? Once again, well done to them. ;D
Post by: moysider on August 31, 2008, 02:36:58 AM

It would be nice to win it. The important thing is regardless of the final result there are several serious players on this team and some of us have pinpointed this since May before a ball was kicked in anger. We could have done so earlier anyway but the point is there are senior potential players on this team. There will be expectations about the final but regardless of the result that resource of ability/ class  /ambition wont go away. I was annoyed by some people I encountered this  who dissed some of these players based on seeing them for the first time on TV v Kerry the first day. Delighted they rammed that uninformed opinion down the throat of these guys. We ve been cursed too long by opinion that has been based on peoples presence at a couple of games a year or worse again by telly observers. 
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on August 31, 2008, 06:58:19 AM
Absolutely thrilled with the result. I was relying on text updates to keep me informed out here in Oz and the way the texts were coming through it seemed like one helluva controlled performance. Happy for Ray Dempsey too. He can be stubborn but he knows his football, follows his instinct and has justified the faith of the county board in giving him an extra year after a very bad year last year.

Quote from: moysider on August 31, 2008, 02:36:58 AM

I was annoyed by some people I encountered this  who dissed some of these players based on seeing them for the first time on TV v Kerry the first day. Delighted they rammed that uninformed opinion down the throat of these guys. We ve been cursed too long by opinion that has been based on peoples presence at a couple of games a year or worse again by telly observers. 

I encountered a few of these hurlers on the ditch too Moysider, dishing lads because of hairstyles, boots, stuff like that on the basis of only seeing the drawn Kerry game. We've too many of these people in Mayo. The same people who think Conor Mortimer isn't any use. They exist in every county but we seem to have received more than our fair share!

There's serious potential in a lot of these lads but the important thing for them is that getting to and hopefully winning an All-Ireland will do two vital things. Firstly it will give them a thirst for what they can do in GAA and keep them interested and involved. Secondly it'll foster a collective confidence that those that are good enough to play senior will bring into the senior squad. Its not fair to single out too many of them ahead of a final as senior prospects but there are four or five of them, possibly more. Add in lads from the Under 21's of 2006 like Higgins, Howley, Chris Barrett, Cunniffe, Ger Cafferkey, Barry Moran, Seamus O'Shea, Campbell, Kilcoyne, Ronaldson and then the likes of the two Morts, Dillon, McGarrity, Pat Harte, David Clarke and we have a serious outfit in a couple of years time. Oh and Tom Parsons too. That's the big picture.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on August 31, 2008, 11:25:26 AM
Fantastic to hear the lads won, Dad was raving about them on the phone & a few of the lads back home sent texts about the game, sounded like a impressive performance by the lads, we might not be buried yet, but first things first, best of luck to the lads in the Final, is the Tyrone V Meath game before the two senior games?
Post by: StoneWall on August 31, 2008, 04:25:03 PM
Tyrone 1-21 Meath 2-7. Tyrone looked impressive today.

Did anyone hear that Kerry have lodged an objection in relation to an illegal Mayo player? Don't know what it's all about.

Mike Finnerity mentioned something in his commentary last Sunday about Ray Geraghty being from Cortoon but playing for Ballintubber or was I hearing things?
Post by: Barney on August 31, 2008, 07:16:56 PM
Wonderful result, and a great boost. Congrats to Ray and the lads.

i though O'Shea, Freeman and Geraghty were especially good in a team of heroes. Great support for the lads as well, which was fully deserved despite the obstacle of a long trek to Limerick.

Now we have to go out and grasp this final by the goolies, finish the job.

The positives of 3 years of quality u21 teams, and this years minor team will hopefully come to fruition in years to come. We have beaten Kerry at minor, and gone toe-to-toe with them in the u21 so the future is not all doom and gloom as we sometimes think!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on September 01, 2008, 03:52:52 AM
Anyone care to post up a few player ratings from the game for the benefit of those who couldn't make it? Cheers
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on September 01, 2008, 09:39:26 AM
Well lads good weekend for the Green and Red and a much needed boost when it looked like we were going to have little to cheer about this summer. These boys were class the last day and it was one of the most intelligent, powerful displays of football I have seen from any Mayo team in a while. If they can deliver a performance like this the next day they won't be far off Tyrone.
Tyrone have been talked up all year and will go into the final as favourites but if our lads knuckle down now and show Tyrone the same respect they showed Kerry , i.e. a bit but not too much, then they have a great chance. The important thing to remember is that nothing is won yet.
I agree with Moysider that there are a serious number on this team that are potential seniors, I won't go into names as that would be unfair but there are alot of players who have the intelligence and physique to make it. The only thing I would say is that I think it is very important for the psychy of the county that we go on and win it now. Yes we have players for the future but we could do with another underage victory to back up the U-21s and we could do with one in Croker. If the lads keep the heads down and keep working from now until the final, they have enough about them to do it.

A quick summary of how I saw the players performances.

Hennelly - Top class, great save at the end. God a bit muddled with a Mayo back for the Kerry goal but other than that was solid under the high ball and kick outs were good.
Dolan - sometimes looked like he was in bother but always got a hand in and nicked the ball away at the vital time, real sticky performance.
Keane - Not as dazzling as the last day but still saw off BJ Walsh who had to go out to CHF to get some ball. Dominated his area all day.
Broderick - Another sticky display, looks like a real tailor-made corner back, won balls he had no right to win and kept at it until the final whistle.
Mchale - Fielded some great ball and covered plenty of ground, didn't give his man much space, very good on the ball.
Reilly - Very smart game, always plugging gaps that needed filliing, talked the other backs through the game and helped keep everything cool and composed when Kerry came back at us. Goes about his job quietly and without fuss but is vital to the team.
Nally - Led the team well again, his distribution is very good and he's another man who is good under a high ball, very classy performance.
Cafferty - no 3 points today but won a site of ball on the ground and his athleticism really stood out, the most mobile midfielder on show.
McDonagh - offered alot of power around the middle and got through alot of the much needed dirty work.

Freeman - pure class this game, 2 feet, great balance and his man couldn't live with him
O'Shea - The lad is a monster and delivered another good performance, Kerry just couldn't live with him. I actually think he has had better days but he gets through so much work, and because of his size and ability maybe I expect too much from him sometimes, but I think he can raise it a level for the final.
Geraghty - big improvement on the last day, kicked some great scores and covered alot of ground.
Carney - played very deep and got through alot of work helping out the backs. Not a glamourous job but he was effective at it until he tired badly in the second half.
Walsh - Classy display from the Mitchells man, scored 1-4 I think. Skinned his man a few times, was deadly accurate from placed balls and he also won alot of hard fought 50/50 balls, once again much better than the last day and hopefully a sign of things to come for the final.
Corduff - Much more effective on Saturday. He had his man in all sorts of bother due to his size and he was a good outlet when the ball needed to be let in. He anticipated the breaking ball from Geraghty's shot off the post very well when poaching for his goal.

All in all it was a big improvement from the drawn game, basically the backs and midfield were more or less at the same level, but the forwards seriously upped the ante and 3-13 compared to 1-7 the last day speaks for itself.
Hopefully now they can go on and finish the job and make it 3 Connacht champions in a row at this grade.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on September 01, 2008, 09:48:50 AM
A top class effort by all involved. Well done to Mayo, its good to be heading to Croker with a team involved on Final day. Also what a venue Limerick is, its a shame there aren't moer games played there.
Post by: mannix on September 01, 2008, 10:27:12 AM
Well done lads. I will save the praise until they actually win something though. Mayo have a name for blowing finals, can these youngsters break the tradition and become winners?

AS I said, well done but nobody will remember second place.
Post by: kevmy on September 01, 2008, 11:37:00 AM
Was at the match and I have to say I think it was the most complete performance I've ever seen from any Mayo team. The win against Dublin in that semi was the most exciting and the wins against Tyrone in 06 and Kerry in 96 were probably better performances than the Dublin game. I'd also add in the U21 Connacht final of last year when Pierce Hanley roasted Ros on his own. However for overall performance of every man knowing his job and doing it, no one having a bad game, the tackling, the pressure, the passing, the point (and goal) taking and the quick thinking I thought Saturday was the best.

Specifically I was impressed with the size of the Mayo team Keane, Cafferty, McDonagh, O'Sé, Walsh and Corduff all big men not afraid to put themselves around and they have football too. Also the pressure the Mayo lads put on the Kerry team was almost Tyrone like from the forwards back. We got two points directly out of harrying their corner back in his corner in the second half when the game was probably won which I thought was great and something we have been missing in this county.

I'd have to pick out Aidan Walsh in FF he took his goal very well, tapped over a few nice points from play and scored a couple of monster frees I couldn't imagine any of the seniors taking.

For all that their is no prizes for second place in football and it will be difficult to produce a performance of that level again. Tyrone are a good team from looking at them yesterday but I don't see our backs giving them as much room as Meath did the last day. It will be a tough game I just hope the lads give it their all and leave everything on the field on the 3rd Sunday. If the shooting is as good as it was on Saturday we have a good chance but if we miss as much as we did the first day against Kerry we'll be in trouble
Post by: Mayo4Sam on September 01, 2008, 10:54:46 PM
A classic from mid west after a misplaced kerry pass....."he telegraphed that, he sent an email about that pass"....cracked me up
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 02, 2008, 12:31:47 PM
Have been a way for a few weeks so haven't had time to congratulate mayo on their fine win over kerry , delighted for the boys they seem to have got better with each game hopefully they can win the minors for the 1st time since 1985 long overdue its going to be tough against an excellent tyrone team but i'm sure the boys won't be found wantiing. On another note maybe the under age structures here aren't that bad after all 
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on September 02, 2008, 12:41:49 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 02, 2008, 12:31:47 PM
On another note maybe the under age structures here aren't that bad after all 

I think we could see a lot of revionist thinking after this and I'm never entirely sure what to think - is it the underage structures; the management; or just a good group of lads coming along at once thats responsible for underage success??

I know there'll certainly be mention about the big men involved with the Mayo side but most of these would have been on the side anyway, regardless of any 'pick big lads policy'.

I think stuff like that can be overstated. Mayo have had small teams in the past because they were the best available to them. Last year Dempsey picked some lads just because they were big and it backfired. I think this year we've big lads who, crucially, can play as well. I know of one lad who didn't make the minors last year because he was considered too small. He was on the under 21 panel this year. Explain that one . . .

Still think there's a lot of work that can be done with the underage structures. This minor team is probably going to paper over a lot of cracks in my opinion. Priority number one has to be setting up an A and B Ted Webb sides. As it is at the minute the north/east and south/west sides aren't working. Haven't won a Ted Webb since 1998 I think?? The more lads are successful the more they will stay involved. Winning the Ted Webb would be a big boost to a 15 or 16 year old. Not making the A team would give a lad something to aim for and prove people wrong etc. I know people might say that at under 16 level lads are a long way from being fully developed and a lot can change by the time they are minor but picking A and B teams should be easier if the work at U-14 and U-15 is done properly and lads can be identified more readily.