Well lads,
Seeing as there seems to be a lot of northern contributors here I was wondering if anyone could give me advice on a decent hotel to stay in Belfast. I'm bringing herself to the Kings of Leon concert in the Odyessy the weekend before Christmas so I'm planning on staying the friday and saturday nights. I've never been in Belfast before so any help would be much appreciated!!
Thanks.
premier inn is handy, and is £95 for a double i think.
Renshaws!!
Wellington Park Hotel - used to be quite cheap, although not sure anymore!
And its right beside the best pub in Belfast - The BOT
Jury's Inn on Great Victoria Street is very handy, central, not far from the venue/city centre etc, also decent enough standard for a reasonable price.
The Hilton - you can walk to the venue - about 4/5 minutes away on foot.
Great stuff lads. Any suggestions also for things to do friday night and staurday? As I said, I've never been up before so looking forward to it.
Quote from: clareman on August 14, 2008, 12:53:43 PM
Great stuff lads. Any suggestions also for things to do friday night and staurday? As I said, I've never been up before so looking forward to it.
I'm sure you can use your own imagination ! ;) ;) ;)
Things to do in Belfast - there is only 1 thing drink!
Queen size bed and room service it is so!!!
Go explore the bars and restaurants around the Cathedral quarter!
Things to do during the day - the boat tours etc, like every city
Thew big wheel is meant to be good. Not a lot else - you can go spide-watching on the ormeau road.
Quote from: corn02 on August 14, 2008, 02:28:24 PM
Thew big wheel is meant to be good. Not a lot else - you can go spide-watching on the ormeau road.
Get a nice fry in helen's home bakery
The big wheel is meant to be crap corn, nothing much to see.
I know a fella who brought a girl to the wheel on a first date... Shit idea I thought but think it did the trick!
The big wheel is ok - its one of those things you just have to do! Although i think its nicer at night
Quote from: Lazer on August 14, 2008, 02:57:12 PM
The big wheel is ok - its one of those things you just have to do! Although i think its nicer at night
But then all you would see is lights!!
Just before Christmas you have the Continental Market at the front of City Hall beside the wheel, very good.
Pubs and clubs in town will all be packed christmas parties and all. Book your hotel soon.
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 14, 2008, 03:04:19 PM
Just before Christmas you have the Continental Market at the front of City Hall beside the wheel, very good.
Pubs and clubs in town will all be packed christmas parties and all. Book your hotel soon.
That continental market is brilliant! Kanaroo/Crocodile/Ostrich burgers etc all class, plus the free meat samples ae brilliant... Pity the drink is so dear in those wee bars though. That would be a good time for the wheel.
Never seen the crocodile anytime ive been - do they sell them in the packed stuff to take home?
They also never seem to have springbok even though its on the board.
No I think its there on the hot plate... Did ya ever think though that they were just giving you a randowm burger? Justa pile ofr cooked ones sitting all looking exactly the same, you tell them what one and they just lift the nearest! Or am i just being paranoid!
Yeah, they do sell them in packets to take home
Not the cheapest mind you, but it is a bit of a novelty
(You could be right about the burger they give you Nail)
Wondered that too:) last time they had a buffalo burger as well that was bigger though.
Yeah its hardly as if we can turn round and say hold on this isn't ostrich!! The are tasty burgers though, even if expensive! I never bought any of the take home stuff though, was always going down when I was a student and I got the feeling they wouldnt be as nice made on a crusty George Foreman grill!!
But you don't get anything cheap really down at that wee market, still good though. Always look forward to it.
I stayed in Madisons hotel the last time we were stopping over - rooms are great but try to get the 2nd or third floor
residents bar opens late and theres plenty of craic
close to bars and good for walking down town
Hog in a roll or something like that was always a huge seller
Quote from: orangeman on August 14, 2008, 12:50:25 PM
The Hilton - you can walk to the venue - about 4/5 minutes away on foot.
We have a corporate deal with the Hilton through work - let me know if you're interesed and I'll see how much it comes in at
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on August 14, 2008, 02:39:38 PM
Quote from: corn02 on August 14, 2008, 02:28:24 PM
Get a nice fry in helen's home bakery
and probably asked did you ride the girl your with!!
ridicuously overpriced and over -rated are belfast hotels ,one could stay in a 5 star hotel anywhere across europe cheaper than belfast.
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on August 14, 2008, 02:53:03 PM
I know a fella who brought a girl to the wheel on a first date... Shit idea I thought but think it did the trick!
Think it did the trick? what was he looking from the first date nail??
Quote from: Minus15 on August 14, 2008, 06:58:08 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on August 14, 2008, 02:53:03 PM
Think it did the trick? what was he looking from the first date nail??
Same as any fella, the lot!! :D
Dirty wee bitch!
Quote from: Minus15 on August 14, 2008, 07:48:08 PM
Dirty wee bitch!
DWB?? Sounds familiar! Do I know you!
no no you dont know me. You and your people probably think yous invented everything that was ever funny in the holylands but yas didn't lol
Quote from: Minus15 on August 14, 2008, 08:20:00 PM
no no you dont know me. You and your people probably think yous invented everything that was ever funny in the holylands but yas didn't lol
I will have you know that we did, plus who are my people! Do you know me then?!
lol i am only winding I would just know of a few of your comrades jim or charlie perhaps!
Over in Belfast for a wedding during the summer. Was wondering about hotels, I'm not really sure about safe locations in the city. I was looking at the days hotels, it's quite cheap. Also the park inn not so cheap but looks really nice, its at the top end of my budget. Any other central recommendations for a weekend
Premier Inn sometimes have good deals. You might get a room for £29.
Quote from: pullhard on March 26, 2013, 05:08:39 PM
Over in Belfast for a wedding during the summer. Was wondering about hotels, I'm not really sure about safe locations in the city. I was looking at the days hotels, it's quite cheap. Also the park inn not so cheap but looks really nice, its at the top end of my budget. Any other central recommendations for a weekend
Days and the park inn are stones throw distance (maybe this is a bad comparison) from thebus station. Park Innis lovely with a great bar and great food. Days is not bad either ye know.
Not saying it is dangerous, but with Days Inn you could be fairly sure of multiple union jacks hanging off the lamp posts outside. Actually the kerbstones have recently been refreshed with red, white and blue paint.
Park Inn is in a dark wee corner just off Bedford St, about 100m from my office, but I'd prefer it. Bar is pretty good for lunches and shows sports on tv. Rooms are grand. At least not at a protest flashpoint like Days Inn.
Stay away from Jury's Inn an absolute rip off.
Days Inn is Sandy Row,do not go there!
Heard good reports about the Park Inn.Doesn't Ten Square offer accommodation?
Quote from: T Fearon on March 26, 2013, 08:47:50 PM
Aye you'll get your balls rolled up there? Have you stayed in it Tony? Park Inn is the New Lodge, any Prods looking to stay there, do not go there!!
Premier Inn would be the best bet, no one in there will know if you are a taig
Go onto alpharooms and get a room in the hilton. The other half and me stayed there when the continental market was in full swing. Got a room with breakfast for £65.
Stayed in Benedicts a couple of times, found it fairly decent
Hardstation will put yer up for €5 ; breakfast included.
Nothing wrong with the Days hotel lads.
Nothing wrong with Days Hotel,but everything wrong with the area it's in.
Come to think of it,I've only ever spent a couple of overnights in Belfast,the Hilton and that was on a training course!
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on March 26, 2013, 05:36:41 PM
Agreed. The premier inn across the road from the Spaniard (Waring St??) is a grand spot. Get in early enough and you'll get a great deal.
Wop de do, it is at the edge of a loyalist area.
Im sure if ye dont sing rebel songs coming home pissed youll be grand.
Stayed in the Radisson Blu in January. Was decent.
To be fair - apologies in advance - belfast is a shithole, not far off Calcutta standard.
Stayed in Hilton when brand new - ok, fitzwiliam - fine but way overpriced and 10 square (behind the fort protest city hall)- reasonable but a tad shabby.
The pubs and booze are dreadful.
The food is poor ( I've esten at their 'top' few restaurants - wife got food poisoning of some description , twice)
Their bestest flagship shopping centre ' Victoria square' is equivalent to 'the square' in tallaght.
I am not in love with Derry city either, but it has some charm to it- even if it is a poor relation of the south.
...and that's it really - down south we have upped our game somewhat with improved standards of food, drink, behavior, hotels, shops, shopping centres etc etc.
Belfast (and the north) seems to be competing with Preston , Bolton, blackpool towns and high streets.
Until the north ups its game it will always be like going on holidays to Rwanda.
The past 40 years war has had an impact and it will take time to improve things, but not while wasting time and money on white elephants like the titanic quarter etc.
Sort out proper accommodation, food, shopping and address the issues of enabling these progress blockers eg the fleg protestors ,oo klu klux fcukwits etc.
A few on the nationalist side need to be de-Neanderthaled also.
I see my visits to Belfast ( mainly casement pk) as missions of mercy to boost the local economy and poor impoverished of greater belfast!
LB I would be of the opposite opinion.Belfast has improved immensely whereas Dublin is vastly overpriced.Up to about ten years ago I wouldnt have gone near Belfast,but it certainly has improved beyond all recognition
Quote from: hardstation on March 26, 2013, 10:06:42 PM
Yeah we never really bought into that Celtic Tiger thing yis have down there. A real pity!
Ha!
Yep - neither did I!
A good few did and unfortunately were caught out badly - generally the people who actually couldn't afford it in the first place.
Funnily enough a humongous amount of six county folk did buy into it.
Firstly it game them employment in Ireland so they didn't have to emigrate to foreign soils like England, Australia, USA etc
Secondly it changed the mindset of the unionist/loyalist people who prev refused to cross the border - rustle up a few jobs and hey presto , instant deluge of left footers working alongside them horrible Irish...!!!
Still more than a few working and living down here now still...
For the majority of educated Irish employees, the Celtic tiger lives on in their chosen industries and commensurate salaries.
I know ours in the IT industry does..
Quote from: T Fearon on March 26, 2013, 10:22:01 PM
LB I would be of the opposite opinion.Belfast has improved immensely whereas Dublin is vastly overpriced.Up to about ten years ago I wouldnt have gone near Belfast,but it certainly has improved beyond all recognition
I just don't see it Tone
Belfast has hugely disappointed me on all fronts each time I visit.
I can understand why you say that about Dublin.
If anything in the recent past the problem was with the attitudes and the lack of the cead mile failte.
However the downturn gave the kick in the hole that was required and the attitude is now def improving back to where it used to be.( it wasn't confined to Dublin either)
Quote from: hardstation on March 26, 2013, 09:11:20 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 26, 2013, 09:00:05 PM
Aye you'll get your balls rolled up there? Have you stayed in it Tony? Park Inn is the New Lodge, any Prods looking to stay there, do not go there!!
Wouldn't stay in Days myself tbf.
You have stayed before?
I would concede customer service isn't all it could be,but you can eat out and get reasonable food at reasonable prices (I never go to "top" restaurants anywhere as they are complete rip offs),varied entertainment options with theatres and two major concert venues within walking distance of city centre, and Victoria Square is considerably more upmarket than The Square.Other benefits include free on street city centre parking on Sundays etc.
The Christmas continental markets is a must visit as is the Titanic Building (once at least)and as I said Belfast as a city is improving with a increasingly varied retail and leisure offering
I was up in Jan Tone . It may have improved but it still has very little choice and poor on quality IMO.
My comparison is that the square has as much variety as Victoria square.
Dublin is expensive , as is most of Ireland by comparison to the north for clothes etc.
Sure I know well after that €10 pint of Guinness I bought you!
That leads me to - apart from Guinness , what can you drink and not bike in the north.
The poor fayre made harp lager taste good!!
Give me a shout next time yer down!
The culchies on this board are getting their eyes wide opened.
The big cities are not as craiced up as they may seem my country bumpkins. Youll be severly disappointed; the glitz and glamour of the local village pub and mass on a sunday are tehe main ingredients of a good time.
Look Belfast is flat out at the weekend, hotels are generally full all weekend, there is a better range of pubs, eateries and nightlife than there was 20 years ago, I can remember when Belfast was on lock down after 10pm with barricades all over the place.
As for staying in hotels in Belfast I wouldn't judge it on where it's on the fringes of, plenty of people stay in Dublin on the north side and it's a bad spot (apparently). Restaurants in Belfast are grand and you'd be unlucky to touch for a bad meal
Enjoyed my trip to Derry though, but price wise, it was the same I thought.
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 26, 2013, 10:50:30 PM
You have stayed before?
I have...and I thought it was an absolute dive...stayed on a 'lively' Saturday night when some nightclub was blasting out on the ground floor...scally's from Sandy Row hanging out the front of it while myself and the gf pardoned our way past. No security on front door either, or in the entrance doors to the lift to ensure the general public weren't able to seek shelter. Wouldnt dream of going back or recommending it.
Stayed in the Premier Inn (Waring St) and would highly recommend it.
Have also stayed in:
- Jury's inn - wasnt impressed;
- Ramada (Shaws Bridge) - highly impressed;
- Hotel Ibis - Decent and always best-priced for a last-minute trip.
Quote from: wildrover on March 27, 2013, 10:17:37 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 26, 2013, 10:50:30 PM
You have stayed before?
I have...and I thought it was an absolute dive...stayed on a 'lively' Saturday night when some nightclub was blasting out on the ground floor...scally's from Sandy Row hanging out the front of it while myself and the gf pardoned our way past. No security on front door either, or in the entrance doors to the lift to ensure the general public weren't able to seek shelter. Wouldnt dream of going back or recommending it.
Stay frequently in the Premier Inn (Waring St) and would highly recommend it.
Have also stayed in:
- Jury's inn - wasnt impressed;
- Ramada (Shaws Bridge) - highly impressed;
- Hotel Ibis - Decent and always best-priced for a last-minute trip.
Due to stay in Ten Square over Easter too.
That's a better opinion, cause the other posters opinions seemed to based purely on where is situated
Stayed in Ramada Encore recently during the week for £46.75 for a room.
Went to the Potted Hen then for a bite to eat (serious feed and a reasonable price - just paid £18 for a Burger for lunch in a Pub in London) and then on to the Duke of York for a pint and then Alleycats where there was a great band playing, I think Belfast is a great spot.
Having went to College in Belfast 2000 - 2003 the City has seriously upped their game. In terms of atmosphere, culture and quality of Pubs and restaurants around, the place is nearly unrecognisable from where I went to Uni and I enjoy heading to it.
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 27, 2013, 10:31:37 AM
That's a better opinion, cause the other posters opinions seemed to based purely on where is situated
Ah I have no doubt you're right but that doesn't diminish the importance of location - I drive past Days hotel every morning on the way to work. This morning the BF counted 17 Union Jacks when we were waiting at the traffic lights just beside the hotel. I park in the Europa car park every day and when the flag protests were on, I was blocked from going home due to protests at Sandy Row.
If the person who posted the original question is going to a wedding in the summer, my advice would be to try to avoid that area just in case - none of us know what the summer will hold in the aftermath of the flag protests.
Quote from: Rois on March 27, 2013, 10:55:51 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 27, 2013, 10:31:37 AM
Ah I have no doubt you're right but that doesn't diminish the importance of location - I drive past Days hotel every morning on the way to work. This morning the BF counted 17 Union Jacks when we were waiting at the traffic lights just beside the hotel. I park in the Europa car park every day and when the flag protests were on, I was blocked from going home due to protests at Sandy Row.
If the person who posted the original question is going to a wedding in the summer, my advice would be to try to avoid that area just in case - none of us know what the summer will hold in the aftermath of the flag protests.
I understand if you are some way annoyed at the sight of a flag, I would avoid staying in London and going anywhere near the Palace during the the queens birthday if I were you ;), the amount of union jacks won't really stop tourist going to Belfast, it may stop them going back if there is trouble but I'd imagine the Days hotel is pretty busy over the weekends, the Europa is a stones throw away from the Day's hotel and there are loads of flags at the entrance of it ffs!!
We are too worked up about a fleg, I worked in the shipyard and the place was covered in them, not once did the fleg beat me up or stop me from going to work, nor did it intimidate me either.
If the hotel is crap because of the room, service and food I wouldn't recommend it, if it's a cheap hotel you are looking then thats what you get. I'm sure there are a right few on here who have stayed in Gardiners street Dublin, now every B&B hostel and Hotel there would be the worst I've stayed in, ever, not a great area to leave your car parked and late at night it's dodgy enough walking back. Doesn't stop them being bunged every week by Nordies
Ach stop being contrary, to drown a place in flags over here is something different to the UK and in the current context, is designed to mark out territory. The potential for flash loyalist protests is higher at the particular location of that hotel, and if it were me booking forward to the summer, I'd avoid it for the sake of a £20 difference.
Quote from: Rois on March 27, 2013, 11:27:22 AM
Ach stop being contrary, to drown a place in flags over here is something different to the UK and in the current context, is designed to mark out territory. The potential for flash loyalist protests is higher at the particular location of that hotel, and if it were me booking forward to the summer, I'd avoid it for the sake of a £20 difference.
Yes for the sake of £20 quid I wouldn't go anywhere near it also, based on the it being crap. But a bunch of stag do's or Hen's parties from the Britain will see that it's smack bang in the middle of Belfast and cheap as chips.
A potenial flast point is further on down the road at Sandy Row crossroads in fairness, a lot quieter there (at Day's) than say outside the Royal Bar. It's not really an interface area also so no gathering of mobs looking a fight.
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 27, 2013, 01:14:23 PM
Yes for the sake of £20 quid I wouldn't go anywhere near it also, based on the it being crap. But a bunch of stag do's or Hen's parties from the Britain will see that it's smack bang in the middle of Belfast and cheap as chips.
A potenial flast point is further on down the road at Sandy Row crossroads in fairness, a lot quieter there (at Day's) than say outside the Royal Bar. It's not really an interface area also so no gathering of mobs looking a fight.
If you are going to get a shoeing in Belfast it is as likely to happen outside a chip-van or taxi rank at 2am as outside the Days Hotel on Sandy Row.
Having stayed in it one night I can say that it is no worse than any Premier Inn or Hotel Ibis you will find about the city. The problem is indeed location.
Quote from: Franko on March 27, 2013, 01:53:39 PM
Having stayed in it one night I can say that it is no worse than any Premier Inn or Hotel Ibis you will find about the city. The problem is indeed location.
But if you were a Prod or someone from Germany for instance (a German Prod) would it be fine? ;)
Nope - too close to the scumbags. Unless said German Prod was over here to join the scumbags in some sort of protest for instance. Then it would be fine.
thats a great shout!! what are the locations like? are their any central hotels, that would be a bit quieter? I imagine the Premier inn would be full of stag and hens do's, happy to be corrected.
Quote from: pullhard on March 27, 2013, 05:35:18 PM
thats a great shout!! what are the locations like? are their any central hotels, that would be a bit quieter? I imagine the Premier inn would be full of stag and hens do's, happy to be corrected.
Not a bad problem to have :P
Newish Premier Inn in the Titanic Quarter,very handy for Odyssey Arena,well serviced by buses and not too far a walk from City Centre even,if you're not under the influence of large amounts of alcohol.
Is there a hotel at the bottom of the Falls/Divis street? Is it facing the alcoholic place? That would be cheap as chips and very friendly round Castle street ;D
And close to all bars
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 27, 2013, 09:16:53 PM
Is there a hotel at the bottom of the Falls/Divis street? Is it facing the alcoholic place? That would be cheap as chips and very friendly round Castle street ;D
And close to all bars
I have found a penthouse for some of the lads not wanting to look at prods
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/a/a4/Artillery_Flats%2C_Belfast%2C_July_2010_%2802%29.JPG)
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 27, 2013, 09:33:25 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 27, 2013, 09:16:53 PM
And close to all bars
I have found a penthouse for some of the lads not wanting to look at prods
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/a/a4/Artillery_Flats%2C_Belfast%2C_July_2010_%2802%29.JPG)
Can you not see Tiger's Bay from up there?
That's the tricolour that waves at it's mate,the union jack,each time the union jack goes up at City Hall.
Quote from: T Fearon on March 27, 2013, 10:17:38 PM
That's the tricolour that waves at it's mate,the union jack,each time the union jack goes up at City Hall.
Is it only up 14/15 days a year?