GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: AZOffaly on August 13, 2008, 06:04:39 PM

Title: Port Lairge v Tiobraid Arainn
Post by: AZOffaly on August 13, 2008, 06:04:39 PM
Well lads, after the seismic collision of the Cats and Rebels last week, I think this semi final is just as mouth watering. Tipp had seious momentum built up, and have been going very well, but I wonder about the layoff since the Munster Final. Tipperary don't have the same depth as Kilkenny, so I doubt if their training matches would be up to the legendary intensity of the Kilkenny ones, which was a serious help to them in keeping tuned in during their lay off.

Tipperary have impressed me this year, but I am still a bit unsure about them. I really like their back line, and midfield, and Callinan has been a serious find at centre forward. Lar Corbett is hurling out of his skin and Eoin Kelly is Eoin Kelly. Reading all of that, I ask myself 'How can I have doubts?', but I do. I don't know what it is. A feeling in the pit of my stomach that maybe the Munster Championship this year was not as hotly contested as usual is, I think, my main area of doubt. Tipperary were far superior against a subdued Clare team in the final, and even at that, Clare had them on the ropes for about 10 minutes of the second half, when the deficit was down to 4 or 5 points.

Waterford started rotten, but I knew they would. Justin's approach to preparing for Munster was to risk a defeat in the first round in exchange for better fitness later on. He may well have got his result, but he isn't around to benefit from it. Waterford are improving, which is a good sign for them, assuming they can step it up again. I still think that lads like Brick Walsh and Dan Shanahan are pale shadows of themselves, but both showed signs of life against Wexford. Eoin Kelly is on a great streak, and Eoin McGrath is flying as well. Mullane was a bit quieter against Wexford, but he still really came into the game in the vital last 20 minutes of that game. Seamus Prendergast looks to be gaining fitness and all told Waterford probably have a better forward line than either Cork or Clare, Tipps two opponents so far.

Tipp also have a better backline than either Wexford or Offaly, or even Clare, and DOC O'Connor had a great time at centre back against Waterford, which is a worry for the Deise coming into this. If Conor O'Mahoney and Eamon Corcoran can get on top there, Tipp will have the ammunition to win.

Now the great quandry. Waterford's defensive setup. The half back line is unsettled for Waterford. I'm sure Davey would love Shane Sullivan, or Jack Kennedy maybe, to be the final piece in a half back line anchored by Ken McGrath at 6 and Tony Brown at 5. However, because of the Ken experiment at full back, which is probably gone past being an experiment at this stage, Tony Browne is occupying the pivotal jersey at 6, with a variety of lads being tried as starters or substitutes on the wing. Tipps half forward line is probably the line that most people have doubts over, but Callinane especially, has given them a real boost there, and Callinane will definitely have the legs for Tony Browne. I don't know if Aidan Kearney is back, but if he is, he would be a great help here, or even in the full back line if Tipp go with two in there.

The Tipp full forward line will, like all other full forward lines, live or die on the delivery. Expect Tipp to hit diagonal balls into the corners for Eoin Kelly or Lar Corbett to run on to, with Willie Ryan or the Dwyer lad dragging the other corner back out the field a bit. If Lar Corbett is on song, he will give Ken McGrath a torrid time. Ken is a fantastic hurler, but he isn't a full back. He leaves gaps behind him as he goes hunting ball (a bit like the Rock when he was getting frustrated in recent games), and that will be suicide against a fast breaking Tipp half forward line. Ken will have to shore up the area in front of the goals, and I would nearly leave the corner back to pick up Corbett when he runs away from Ken.

Eoin Kelly has been unspectacular this year, thanks to the fact that the other Tipp lads have raised their games, but I still expect him to give Dave Prendergast an awful time if he is left on him, delivery of the ball assumed to be good. Kelly is as good as anyone in the country at taking his scores, and will need to be hounded. Perhaps Kearney could be detailed to mark him, although Eoin Murphy would be a good lad here as well.

Reading back through it, I shouldn't give Waterford a prayer, but I just think maybe Tipp are not as good as they appear, while Waterford might be coming. I hope Davey Fitz has his backline organised and clear headed. If he does I give Waterford every chance in giving Tipperary an intense battle that they are not quite acclimated to this year.

f**k it. Waterford by 3 points. G'Wan the Blahs.
Title: Re: Port Lairge v Tiobraid Arainn
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 13, 2008, 06:09:45 PM
Too tired to read all your post AZ but I'm sure you have made great cases for both teams winning etc etc

Anywhoo....
Tipp by 6+ points
Post by: AZOffaly on August 13, 2008, 06:13:24 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 13, 2008, 06:09:45 PM
Too tired to read all your post AZ but I'm sure you have made great cases for both teams winning etc etc

Anywhoo....
Tipp by 6+ points

Am I that predictable? :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 13, 2008, 06:14:29 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 13, 2008, 06:13:24 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 13, 2008, 06:09:45 PM

Anywhoo....
Tipp by 6+ points

Am I that predictable? :D

If the cap fits..........
Post by: the colonel on August 13, 2008, 06:19:25 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 13, 2008, 06:04:39 PM
Well lads, after the seismic collision of the Cats and Rebels last week, I think this semi final is just as mouth watering. Tipp had seious momentum built up, and have been going very well, but I wonder about the layoff since the Munster Final. Tipperary don't have the same depth as Kilkenny, so I doubt if their training matches would be up to the legendary intensity of the Kilkenny ones, which was a serious help to them in keeping tuned in during their lay off.

Tipperary have impressed me this year, but I am still a bit unsure about them. I really like their back line, and midfield, and Callinan has been a serious find at centre forward. Lar Corbett is hurling out of his skin and Eoin Kelly is Eoin Kelly. Reading all of that, I ask myself 'How can I have doubts?', but I do. I don't know what it is. A feeling in the pit of my stomach that maybe the Munster Championship this year was not as hotly contested as usual is, I think, my main area of doubt. Tipperary were far superior against a subdued Clare team in the final, and even at that, Clare had them on the ropes for about 10 minutes of the second half, when the deficit was down to 4 or 5 points.

Waterford started rotten, but I knew they would. Justin's approach to preparing for Munster was to risk a defeat in the first round in exchange for better fitness later on. He may well have got his result, but he isn't around to benefit from it. Waterford are improving, which is a good sign for them, assuming they can step it up again. I still think that lads like Brick Walsh and Dan Shanahan are pale shadows of themselves, but both showed signs of life against Wexford. Eoin Kelly is on a great streak, and Eoin McGrath is flying as well. Mullane was a bit quieter against Wexford, but he still really came into the game in the vital last 20 minutes of that game. Seamus Prendergast looks to be gaining fitness and all told Waterford probably have a better forward line than either Cork or Clare, Tipps two opponents so far.

Tipp also have a better backline than either Wexford or Offaly, or even Clare, and DOC O'Connor had a great time at centre back against Waterford, which is a worry for the Deise coming into this. If Conor O'Mahoney and Eamon Corcoran can get on top there, Tipp will have the ammunition to win.

Now the great quandry. Waterford's defensive setup. The half back line is unsettled for Waterford. I'm sure Davey would love Shane Sullivan, or Jack Kennedy maybe, to be the final piece in a half back line anchored by Ken McGrath at 6 and Tony Brown at 5. However, because of the Ken experiment at full back, which is probably gone past being an experiment at this stage, Tony Browne is occupying the pivotal jersey at 6, with a variety of lads being tried as starters or substitutes on the wing. Tipps half forward line is probably the line that most people have doubts over, but Callinane especially, has given them a real boost there, and Callinane will definitely have the legs for Tony Browne. I don't know if Aidan Kearney is back, but if he is, he would be a great help here, or even in the full back line if Tipp go with two in there.

The Tipp full forward line will, like all other full forward lines, live or die on the delivery. Expect Tipp to hit diagonal balls into the corners for Eoin Kelly or Lar Corbett to run on to, with Willie Ryan or the Dwyer lad dragging the other corner back out the field a bit. If Lar Corbett is on song, he will give Ken McGrath a torrid time. Ken is a fantastic hurler, but he isn't a full back. He leaves gaps behind him as he goes hunting ball (a bit like the Rock when he was getting frustrated in recent games), and that will be suicide against a fast breaking Tipp half forward line. Ken will have to shore up the area in front of the goals, and I would nearly leave the corner back to pick up Corbett when he runs away from Ken.

Eoin Kelly has been unspectacular this year, thanks to the fact that the other Tipp lads have raised their games, but I still expect him to give Dave Prendergast an awful time if he is left on him, delivery of the ball assumed to be good. Kelly is as good as anyone in the country at taking his scores, and will need to be hounded. Perhaps Kearney could be detailed to mark him, although Eoin Murphy would be a good lad here as well.
Reading back through it, I shouldn't give Waterford a prayer, but I just think maybe Tipp are not as good as they appear, while Waterford might be coming. I hope Davey Fitz has his backline organised and clear headed. If he does I give Waterford every chance in giving Tipperary an intense battle that they are not quite acclimated to this year.

some of eoin kellys scores have been more than spectacular, its just because its him its expected of him. and because the rest of the team is playing better he isnt getting a fraction of the ball he used to get. you cant expect a man to knock over 11 points if he only gets 2 or 3 balls!

have to say i think tipp will win by 2 or 3. wouldnt be overly surprised if waterford won though.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 13, 2008, 06:22:25 PM
Quote from: the colonel on August 13, 2008, 06:19:25 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 13, 2008, 06:04:39 PM

some of eoin kellys scores have been more than spectacular, its just because its him its expected of him. and because the rest of the team is playing better he isnt getting a fraction of the ball he used to get. you cant expect a man to knock over 11 points if he only gets 2 or 3 balls!

have to say i think tipp will win by 2 or 3. wouldnt be overly surprised if waterford won though.

That's the point I was making colonel. He hasn't been spectacular (by his standards I should have added) because he hasn't needed to be. The worry I would have for Tipp is that Kelly may score 11 points this Sunday, because the others don't perform, and Tipp get beaten.

Anyway, I'm not slagging off Kelly at all.
Post by: the colonel on August 13, 2008, 06:29:26 PM
i never said you did AZ. but its better for the tipp team mentally to think that if things are not going kellys way then there is fellas like cullinane, corbett et al to think that they have got far this yr (league and all) as a much improved team
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 14, 2008, 05:15:12 PM
Where have home of hurling, colombia et al gone? I for one used to enjoy reading their valuable hurling contributions.
Post by: orangeman on August 15, 2008, 12:30:43 AM
I hope Tipp win - I couldn't stand it if Waterford made the AI final after what they did to Justin !
Post by: johnneycool on August 15, 2008, 10:31:22 AM
WATERFORD team to play Tipperary in the All-Ireland hurling semi-final in Croke Park on Sunday 17 August:
C Hennessy; E Murphy, K McGrath, D Prendergast; A Kearney, T Browne, K Moran; M Walsh, J Nagle, D Shanahan, S Prendergast, S Molumphy; E McGrath, E Kelly, J Mullane

Would wee Davy leave Declan Prendergast in on Eoin Kelly especially with Kearney out in the half back line?
but if Kearney moves into the corner where to then for Prendergast? Maybe we'll see wholesale changes in the defence with Prendergast on the edge of the square and Ken in at 6, I'd of thought that'd be unlikely at this late stage.

Waterford need Molumpy, Dan and Seamus prendergast back in the form they were in last year and they are beginning to show signs of it against Wexford.
Tipp have been out of action and have had lulls in their last few games which should of been punished heavier by Clare in particular. Waterford will need to make hay if Tipp are as generous again and they do have the better forwards to take advantage.

Tipp are rightly favourites but I fancy Waterford to get over their semi-final jinx by the narrowest of margins
Post by: EddieMerx on August 15, 2008, 11:56:10 AM
My head says Tipp by around 4 points but my heart says Waterford will raise their game and blow Tipp away in the last 10 minutes...
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on August 15, 2008, 02:02:06 PM
I think this game could be a better game than last sunday's, Just have that feeling that Waterford are going to peak at the right time, and that the six week wait Tipp have had to endure is going to go against them and any momentum has evaporated.
Post by: maxpower on August 15, 2008, 02:51:25 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 14, 2008, 05:15:12 PM
Where have home of hurling, colombia et al gone? I for one used to enjoy reading their valuable hurling contributions.

Agreed, loved their previews of matches

Looking forward to this match because it has a real air of unpredictability, while i love watching the games and the intensity of the game last week was to be marvelled, it was another typical KK performance and given the slight decline in Corks powers went exactly how most expected (as most KK games)

This game is the form team against out of sorts, stability against instability, where Tipp gav overcome adversity in games (Cork esp) Waterford hae created it and done little to dispel it...Yet.

I expect one last sting in the tale from this waterford team and a narrow victory for them
Post by: Lecale2 on August 15, 2008, 03:16:04 PM
Bookies have Tipp strong favorites but I have a suspicion that Waterford will win it by a point.

Why is Davy Fitz persisting with Ken McGrath at No 3?
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 15, 2008, 07:45:39 PM
While I'd love to see the Blah-boys win the game, I just think Tipp will be too slick, fast and too good for them.
Tipp have impressed me (not hard to do with my limited hurling knowledge) this season and seemed to match the cats for the first time control , slick play and efficiency - while all others except kilkenny seem to labour too much and too long to control,pass and get the ball up the field and indeed score !

Tipp seem to have a lot of as yet not household names that are putting in good performances each game - and thats league and championship this year.
Have to really lay a lot of kudos on the manager and his team.

imo Tipp are the only team that have a chance of beating kilkenny if both play the way they have done so far this season.

Stil lhope that Waterford can do their usual and pull it out of the fire.

McGrath can be deployed elsewhere, but Browne is an exp man to play at CHB so not so bad for the Deise !
Post by: blasmere on August 17, 2008, 04:18:31 PM
Tipp will be the happier of the two teams at h-t especially after Waterford's blistering start.

That was some thump on Eoin Murphy by Lar Corbett.
Post by: blasmere on August 17, 2008, 04:40:01 PM
Great game, Tipp look to have that little bit more about them
Post by: Minder on August 17, 2008, 04:47:21 PM
Will Waterford defenders never learn?
Post by: seafoid on August 17, 2008, 05:08:03 PM
1-18 Tiobraid Arainn
1-20 na Deise

Unbelievable. If there was one match that could capture the last 10 years of huffing and puffing versus the last 10 years of smooth achievement it would be KK versus Waherford.   

Very much a final to look forward to.
Post by: dodo on August 17, 2008, 05:10:47 PM
Fair play to the Déise, had that bit of luck today that they haven't always got. Tipp had 5 bad wides in the last 10 minutes.
Hope the blaas go on now to win the big one. If thats the way they celebrate a semifinal win I'd love to see them celebrating an All-Ireland.
Post by: seafoid on August 17, 2008, 05:14:29 PM
They are only 70 minutes away from nirvana. The romance of it all is killing me.

Post by: magickingdom on August 17, 2008, 05:21:46 PM
some game that, feel sorry for tipp but also for justin mccarthy who has done so much for waterford hurling.. great day for waterford and i hope they beat killkenny
Post by: agorm on August 17, 2008, 05:22:21 PM
Fantastic win, I was almost as nervous in the last 10 minutes as in a Meath AIF.

Just one thing, if they give up those goal chances to the Kilkenny forwards they will be roasted. At least they are now in the final and the semi final hoodoo is broken. Kilkenny have been awesome but it hasnt really been put up to them this year probably because of their own class.

Waterford will have to hold Kilkenny to at most 1 or 2 goals to have any chance. AGree sentiments about Justin but hopefully they can get the Liam McCarthly now after all the turmoil.

Post by: Minder on August 17, 2008, 06:01:13 PM
Great to see but for them to have any chance they will need Shanahan to get his finger out as they wont be able to rely on Eoin Kelly to post such a high tally in the final. Tickets will be a bit harder got now!
Post by: seafoid on August 17, 2008, 06:06:53 PM
After 9 years in a row of the old firm winning all-Irelands , nearly all of them involving 2 old firm teams in the final, it's about time the rest of the hurling world got a look in and things went against the natural order . When is the last time the hurling AIF was a surprise ?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on August 17, 2008, 06:19:36 PM
I had heart palpitations at the end of this. Marvellous entertainment. Ken McGrath is some man for one man.

I went to the local then after to see the 2nd half of ManU v Newcastle and left after 20 mins cos it was unwatchable after the fare from Croker.

All of Ireland (bar Kilkenny, natch) will be cheering for Waterford on AIF day. However, I cannot see romance win the day.

Good stuff Waterford and give it a daycent feckin lash next month.
Post by: Lecale2 on August 17, 2008, 06:42:25 PM
Great game of hurling and Davy Fitz has to take credit for altering his team in light of the evidence from earlier games. Waterford peaked in August just as Justin had planned.

Great start from Waterford but by half time Tipp had things under control. Tipp responded brilliantly to Kelly's goal but it should have been a free out IMO before he hit the net.  Kennedy had a great game when he came on and must be pushing for a place in the first 15. Tipp had the chances to win it but some poor shooting let them down in the end. Browne & McGrath were unbelievable for men of their age.

As Shamrock Shore says, every neutral will be behind Waterford.  There will be auld lads coming back from New York, London and Sydney for this final and tickets will be like gold dust.
Post by: cill_dara on August 17, 2008, 07:31:00 PM
It is unbelievable the anti climax a game of soccer is after a game like that. And this from a man yoooo fan. Them 70 mins flew by. Davy Fitz must take credit is right. The shots of him and mullane having a love in at the end were priceless and the sight of grown men in tears. Near sent me the same way. Hopefully it wasnt the Deises All Ireland and they put it up to Kilkenny and pip the feckers.

It would be some tonic
Post by: orangeman on August 17, 2008, 07:51:48 PM
I thought the referee absoultely rode Tipperary today - maybe we'll see it later on the Sunday game.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 17, 2008, 08:12:28 PM
Delighted Waterford won this one. And it seems that I wasn't the only one nervous in the last few minutes either! Christ, twas some entertainment though. Hope Waterford go on to win the bloody thing now. It'd be great for hurling if they did. Tipp probably won't know how they lost the game though - being firm favourites and all, but I really am delighted.
Post by: orangeman on August 17, 2008, 08:14:06 PM
It was exciting stuff - very tense - should make for a decent final !
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 17, 2008, 08:25:36 PM
Didn't think Waterford had it in them..Fair play to them
Great game too
Post by: Rossfan on August 17, 2008, 08:52:14 PM
Fantastic excitement and anyone's game but Waterford probably were more desperate for an All Ireland appearance and scraped home.
Wonderful entertainment and dont even think of comparing a game like this to a bunch of posing billionaires strutting around a soccer pitch.
The last sentence specially for the Laois gasún. :)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 17, 2008, 08:56:39 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 17, 2008, 08:52:14 PM
Fantastic excitement and anyone's game but Waterford probably were more desperate for an All Ireland appearance and scraped home.
Wonderful entertainment and dont even think of comparing a game like this to a bunch of posing billionaires strutting around a soccer pitch.

It was far better than any Gaelic Football match too
Post by: ziggysego on August 17, 2008, 08:58:33 PM
Excellent game this afternoon. Congratulations to Waterford and good luck in the final against the mighty Kilkenny.
Post by: Rossfan on August 17, 2008, 10:54:39 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 17, 2008, 08:56:39 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 17, 2008, 08:52:14 PM

It was far better than any Gaelic Football match too
With the obvious exception of the 2006 Minor Finals, not forgetting the 1943,1944 and 2005 Senior finals
Post by: zoyler on August 18, 2008, 12:14:09 AM
Don't know where Orangeman got that notion.  Throughout I thought that Tipp got their frees much easier and on several occasions Waterford had vey clear frees not given - e,g, Eoin Kelly under the corner ofthe Hogan and Canal eend late on.  Also the tics and yellow cards were given out much quicker and freely to the Decies.  How many times was Mullane held and not a tic or card to be seen.  THank God for the right result anyway
Post by: thejuice on August 18, 2008, 10:13:16 AM
What a game. Full blooded but not many dirty strokes. It was tit for tat right up till the last 3 minutes after Waterfords strong start. Tipp will get their day in the sun yet, It was Waterfords time, this team deserves an All-Ireland final appearance at the least.

But I just dont know if they can live with killkenny. but I'll be cheering them all the way.
Post by: orangeman on August 18, 2008, 11:02:34 AM
What do you all make of this jumping around and putting the hurl up to the crowd ?? Eoin Mc Grath did it yesterday as well.

By the way, I thought Eoin Mc Grath was a disgrace yesterday, feigning injury and lying down. He bought frees early on yesterday.

I really hope that Eoin stops this auld shite of lying down. One time in particular he lay down and you'd have thought he was shot - the referee went over to hom and told him to get up - without even the aid of a sponge, he jumped up and ran on !! The referee must have had healing hands !!  ;D ;D ;D

The Waterford corner back after being hit by Crobett, you can see on the replays, had a look round to see what the reaction was - somebody obviously told him to lie down and he seemed to pass out !!!  ;D ;D ;D

Davy Fitz runs in and shows the referee that his man is nearly dead and is appealing for a red card !!! This is one part of Waterford's play yesterday that I was very surprised at - even more surprised that it came from Davy Fitz !
Post by: AZOffaly on August 18, 2008, 11:08:45 AM
QuoteThe Waterford corner back after being hit by Crobett, you can see on the replays, had a look round to see what the reaction was - somebody obviously told him to lie down and he seemed to pass out !!!  Grin Grin Grin

That's harsh on Murphy orangeman. I think he look around to see what the f**k happened. And then he lay down because he was cut open. Corbett was lucky to stay on for that. I actually thought Eoin Murphy looked a bit groggy after that for about 10 minutes. He lost a couple of easy balls straight away, but he settled down again.

Great game to watch though, and I'm happy for Waterford. Justin McCarthy must be very conflicted because I think Davey is taking Justin's plan to fruition. If Davey had his way, he'd have been bursting in Munster, and then probably running out of steam against Tipp or Cork in a semi final or quarter final.

I think Justin planned the qualifier route all along, but he didn't sell the idea too well, obviously.
Post by: orangeman on August 18, 2008, 11:14:12 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 18, 2008, 11:08:45 AM
QuoteThe Waterford corner back after being hit by Crobett, you can see on the replays, had a look round to see what the reaction was - somebody obviously told him to lie down and he seemed to pass out !!!  Grin Grin Grin

That's harsh on Murphy orangeman. I think he look around to see what the f**k happened. And then he lay down because he was cut open. Corbett was lucky to stay on for that. I actually thought Eoin Murphy looked a bit groggy after that for about 10 minutes. He lost a couple of easy balls straight away, but he settled down again.

Great game to watch though, and I'm happy for Waterford. Justin McCarthy must be very conflicted because I think Davey is taking Justin's plan to fruition. If Davey had his way, he'd have been bursting in Munster, and then probably running out of steam against Tipp or Cork in a semi final or quarter final.

I think Justin planned the qualifier route all along, but he didn't sell the idea too well, obviously.

Maybe so - you could well be right - but it looked suspicious to me -

What did you make of Mullane's breaking the stick over the corner back's knee ???

Should Mullane have been sent off ?
Post by: Minder on August 18, 2008, 11:17:07 AM
Agree AZ, they were castigated after their performance against Clare, and rightly so but a lot of people thought if they got a handy enough qualifier draw they could go deep into the summer. Waterford have peaked too many times in July and obviously the gamble has paid off, not for Mc Carthy though........
Post by: AZOffaly on August 18, 2008, 11:17:20 AM
Mullane was lucky enough too. Very wild and reckless. The only mitigating point is that the ball was breaking around, and I'd say he got a blood rush to the head. A quick pull there would have been a goal, and I think Mullane was seeing the twines in his head..
Post by: orangeman on August 18, 2008, 12:11:03 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 18, 2008, 11:17:20 AM
Mullane was lucky enough too. Very wild and reckless. The only mitigating point is that the ball was breaking around, and I'd say he got a blood rush to the head. A quick pull there would have been a goal, and I think Mullane was seeing the twines in his head..

He was lucky enough alright - he'd have been unfortunate to have missed the final.
Post by: thejuice on August 18, 2008, 05:41:29 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/images/2008/0818/1218868020348_1.html

I usually only get oul lads clapping me on the back after games  ???

Was funny seeing the young lad on the field, hurl was bigger than he was. Apparently the party in Waterford went on till this morning according to a friend of mine and not many going to work today.
Post by: orangeman on August 18, 2008, 05:46:06 PM
She has no shoes on !!!!!
Post by: seafoid on August 18, 2008, 05:55:30 PM
An amazing picture. It'll be one of the photos of the year.
I love the contrast between the clasp and the young fella wandering off with the hurl.   
Post by: cicfada on August 18, 2008, 10:49:11 PM
Great win for waterford and it takes so much pressure off them for the final now! They have the monkey off their back at  last and they can hurl with abandon now! But............ the cats are the consummate "professional "team and the tag  of favouritism sits easily with them!! Wateford would want at least 4 of their forwards playing well and  so far, really only Mullane, Kelly and Mc Grath have played well. They will give it holly though!! Judging by the reaction of the crowd  in the  train station  when Waterford returned, the hype will be only massive in that county!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X7831qFMt-4
Post by: dodo on August 18, 2008, 11:12:55 PM
That woman at the end has some timing with that brolly !

All I can hear is blaa blaa blaa  ;D
Post by: agorm on August 18, 2008, 11:41:58 PM
In my opinion the country needs a bit of a lift at the moment between the bad weather and the economy etc and a Waterford win will give many neutrals a lift as well as obviously the Waterford folk.

The reaction they have received could be deemed to be too early in that the focus needs to be on the final but the reaction could also galvanise them into making a monumental effort in the final as they know that nothing less will suffice.
Post by: orangeman on August 19, 2008, 10:54:57 AM
Would love to be in Croke Park changing rooms for Davy's speech going out on AI final day.

Post by: neilthemac on August 19, 2008, 11:52:14 AM
i'd say he's calm enough as a manager

knows his hurling - keeps it simple.
Post by: orangeman on August 19, 2008, 11:55:04 AM
Quote from: neilthemac on August 19, 2008, 11:52:14 AM
i'd say he's calm enough as a manager

knows his hurling - keeps it simple.

An oasis of clam - always was !  ;)
Post by: orangeman on August 19, 2008, 01:30:31 PM
Quote from: tram on August 19, 2008, 12:54:28 PM
Quote from: thejuice on August 18, 2008, 05:41:29 PM

Was funny seeing the young lad on the field, hurl was bigger than he was. Apparently the party in Waterford went on till this morning according to a friend of mine and not many going to work today.
I wonder what will happen if Waterford beat Kilkenny in the final? ;)

Bronze statue of Davy on the quays !  ;) :D
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2008, 01:43:59 PM
Quote from: tram on August 19, 2008, 12:54:28 PM
Quote from: thejuice on August 18, 2008, 05:41:29 PM

I wonder what will happen if Waterford beat Kilkenny in the final? ;)

If Waterford win the All Ireland, I think all mutlinational companies with bases in Blah City will have a strange spike in Absenteeism for the rest of the month of September :D
Post by: orangeman on August 20, 2008, 09:48:17 AM
Quote from: tram on August 19, 2008, 02:05:44 PM
Er, I was thinking more from what was going on in the photograph linked (I would say that Eoin Kelly would'nt be able to climb the steps of the Hogan Stand thanks to exhaustion) but Orangeman and AZ, I'd say you'd be both right too!

He's fast but is he that fast ?  ;) :D