Two games away from glory for either team.
As I said earlier - Meath is a very tough one - it took a replay to sort them out in the league final earlier in the year.
Tyrone to win it again.
where is this game being played?
They'll be sick of the site of each other. Although Tyrone were understrength for the Ulster Minor League final, Meath will be a stern test again.
Quote from: ONeill on August 10, 2008, 08:58:47 PM
They'll be sick of the site of each other. Although Tyrone were understrength for the Ulster Minor League final, Meath will be a stern test again.
Who was missing that day O'Neill ?
I think the st pats dungannon lads were all unavailable, should be a good game, be great seeing minors an seniors on the same day in croker! It's a pity Tyrone will be losing coney this year, looked like he had a bright future!!
Quote from: Lucius Fox on August 10, 2008, 08:57:19 PM
where is this game being played?
being played before the Tyrone v wexford game on the 31st Aug in croker
Not much one can say except that Meath have not been setting the world on fire by all accounts. The only game I was at was the Leinster final and it was great to see them beat a very game and able Offaly side.
Meath have some very good players in theor side but I am not if any are heading to be"greats" at this stage anyway. The centre spine of the defence is highly rated but struggled against Offaly.
Here's to a great game.
I hear Tyrone have a few injury worries going into this game - Mc Nabb isn't going well and there's a couple of others who are struggling to be fit.
Could be going Meath's way.
No way Meath haven't a hope, it's Tyrones to lose!
Quote from: Jinxy on August 21, 2008, 11:45:04 AM
Tyrone have significant injury concerns and I wouldn't be surprised if Tyrone lose this one - Didn't it take a replay the last day to sort the league final out ? How can you say that you've no chance ?
I think Ive heard the same stuff Orangeman. Its very disconcerting when you get to Croke Park and you cant name anywher near your best team.
Lads. What time is the minor match at on 31st?
Probably 1.30 or 1.45
Quote from: orangeman on August 21, 2008, 12:23:48 PM
Probably 1.30 or 1.45
According to Ticketmaster, the time on the tickets for the main game is 2pm, which would mean the minor throw-in would be wild early ... can anyone confirm the throw-in for the senior game?
Quote from: red hander on August 21, 2008, 12:43:18 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 21, 2008, 12:23:48 PM
Probably 1.30 or 1.45
According to Ticketmaster, the time on the tickets for the main game is 2pm, which would mean the minor throw-in would be wild early ... can anyone confirm the throw-in for the senior game?
2pm ?? Why 2pm ?????? It's never been that time before.
Sunday August 24th --
ESB GAA Football All Ireland Minor Championship Semi Final
Páirc an Chrócaigh 1.45pm Ciarraí v Maigh Eo Live RTE1
Referee: Martin Higgins (Fear Manach)
GAA Football All Ireland Senior Championship Semi Final
Páirc an Chrócaigh 3.30pm Ciarraí v Corcaigh Live RTE1
Referee: Joe McQuillan (An Cabhán
Quote from: orangeman on August 21, 2008, 12:12:36 PM
Tyrone have significant injury concerns and I wouldn't be surprised if Tyrone lose this one - Didn't it take a replay the last day to sort the league final out ? How can you say that you've no chance ?
The same way a good few of you Tyrone posters could say it before the Dublin game. I'm lying!
Quote from: Jinxy on August 21, 2008, 04:14:11 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 21, 2008, 12:12:36 PM
The same way a good few of you Tyrone posters could say it before the Dublin game. I'm lying!
At least you're an honest liar !
Our boys will give you nordies a good seeing to. Bring plenty of bandages!
Ah now Jinxy, dont be like that.
We have a good team alright but we havent blown anyone away. But we've got this far and we ran Tyrone close already in the league so who knows what can happen. Tyrone are generally regarded as the strongest minor team in the country at the minute so it'll be a hard task.
This was the team that lined out in the quarter finals:
1 Padraig Curran, St Peters, Dunboyne
2 Stephen O'Brien, Ratoath
3 Ciaran Lenehan, Skryne
4 Sean Curran, Donaghamore/Ashbourne
5 Enda Nulty, Round Towers
6 Tommy Johnson (Capt), St Martins
7 Donnacha Tobin, Blackhall Gaels
8 Jamie Owens, Nobber
9 Damian Carroll, Ballinabrackey
10 Darragh Smyth, Bective
11 Michael Newman, Round Towers
12 Mark Collins, Duleek/Bellewstown
13 Jake Regan, O'Mahonys
14 Andrew Tormey, Donaghamore/Ashbourne
15 Mark Battersby, St Vincents/Curraha
Quote from: orangeman on August 21, 2008, 12:46:56 PM
Sunday August 24th --
I know this is in the wrong thread but the Kerry and Mayo players are going to have some craic with yourman there as referee.
Isnt he the ****** that got Jonny Dunning sent off v Donegal. >:(
A Donegal man pulled JD's leg and JD tried to free himself from the grip. Along comes ***** and tells Bannon( who only loves sticking it into us the ****) that JD kicked the Donegal fouler and out with the red.
Quote from: thejuice on August 21, 2008, 05:49:47 PM
Ah now Jinxy, dont be like that.
We have a good team alright but we havent blown anyone away. But we've got this far and we ran Tyrone close already in the league so who knows what can happen. Tyrone are generally regarded as the strongest minor team in the country at the minute so it'll be a hard task.
This was the team that lined out in the quarter finals:
1 Padraig Curran, St Peters, Dunboyne
2 Stephen O'Brien, Ratoath
3 Ciaran Lenehan, Skryne
4 Sean Curran, Donaghamore/Ashbourne
5 Enda Nulty, Round Towers
6 Tommy Johnson (Capt), St Martins
7 Donnacha Tobin, Blackhall Gaels
8 Jamie Owens, Nobber
9 Damian Carroll, Ballinabrackey
10 Darragh Smyth, Bective
11 Michael Newman, Round Towers
12 Mark Collins, Duleek/Bellewstown
13 Jake Regan, O'Mahonys
14 Andrew Tormey, Donaghamore/Ashbourne
15 Mark Battersby, St Vincents/Curraha
Even that team had a few players missing, for example Silke
Thats another thing in Meaths favour. We have a player who leads a double life as a secret agent. The name is Silke. Harrison Silke.
Quote from: hardstation on August 24, 2008, 09:30:38 AM
Quote from: FermGael on August 22, 2008, 10:07:29 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 21, 2008, 12:46:56 PM
Sunday August 24th --
I know this is in the wrong thread but the Kerry and Mayo players are going to have some craic with yourman there as referee.
Ah ffs. Thon's the clown that reffed Antrim - Offaly in the league. Brutal. I have money on this game too.
You're doing some gambling!
http://www.gamcare.org.uk/
Quote from: hardstation on August 24, 2008, 01:51:10 PM
The day I put £20 on a dog, I will visit that site.
£20 is nothing! If only you knew my bigger bets (losses)!!
Meath and Tyrone won't be shaking in their boots at what they saw today -
There'll be some crowd in Croker next week for the minor game - it will be some experience for the minors to play on front of such a crowd.
Tyrone minor boss Raymond Munroe is sweating on the fitness of two of his key players ahead of this Sunday's ESB All-Ireland MFC semi-final against Meath at Croke Park.
Team captain Ronan McNabb and goalkeeper Tim Harney are both understood to be doubtful for the last four clash against the Royals, with Harney the more likely to miss out.
The Red Hands net-minder is currently on crutches after sustaining ligament damage in a recent club game and is a serious concern for the Tyrone management for this weekend.
McNabb recovered from a groin injury that had been troubling him throughout the year to come in the quarter-final win over Roscommon but damaged his hamstring in the closing stages and is still doubtful for Sunday.
Munroe said : "Ronan tweaked a hamstring which hasn't really cleared up for him yet.
"Tim Harney is looking very doubtful. He tore ligaments in a league match with his club, and he's still on crutches.
"If both men are fit to play a part, we'll certainly be using them."
Tyrone's meeting with Meath is now set to be part of a triple-header at Croke Park on Sunday, August 31, with the All-Ireland SFC semi-finals between Cork and Kerry (replay) and Tyrone and Wexford set to follow the minor clash.
Harney does seem to be a massive influence on this side and has had a major impact on their run to the semis.
Quote from: ONeill on August 25, 2008, 11:21:40 PM
Harney does seem to be a massive influence on this side and has had a major impact on their run to the semis.
Hopefully he will be fit tp play.
Is that where he is from TYP?
I was wondering as Harney is far from a Plumbridge name!
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on August 26, 2008, 10:56:21 PM
Is that where he is from TYP?
I was wondering as Harney is far from a Plumbridge name!
Aye that's right, but aren't there a lot of Horny's up there ? ;) ;D
Young Harney strarting, young Mc Nabb on the bench:
Tyrone Minor Team v Meath
GAA All Ireland Minor Football Semi Final
1 Tim Harney Gleann Eallaigh
2 Finbar McQuaid Eochar
3 Gavin Teague Árd Bó
4 Ryan Pickering An Chorra Chríochach
5 Stephen MacRory Aireagal Chiaráin
6 Peter Harte Aireagal Chiaráin
7 Kevin Mossey An Goirtín
8 Niall McKenna Domhnach Mór
9 Martin Rogers An Bearach
10 Ciaran Gervin Doire Locháin
11 Dairmaid McNulty An Goirtín
12 Matthew Donnelly Trí Leac
13 Kyle Coney Árd Bó
14 Paddy McNeice Oilean a'Ghuail
15 Conor O'Neill An Droim Mór
16 Ronan McAnenly Aireagal Chiaráin
17 Ronan Tierney Aireagal Chiaráin
18 Ronan McNabb An Droim Mór
19 Sean Warnock An Caisleán Glas
20 Brian McGarvey An Goirtín
21 Ruiari Keenan An Goirtín
22 Michael Slane An Charraig Mhór
23 Brian Kelly An Chorra Chríochach
24 Aidan Connolly Achadh Ui Aráin
One change only - good to see goalie is ok.
Meath (MFC v Tyrone) -
Padraig Curran, St Peter's, Dunboyne;
Stephen O'Brien, Ratoath;
Ciaran Lenehan, Skryne;
Sean Curran, Donaghamore/Ashbourne;
Enda Nulty, Round Towers;
Tommy Johnson, St Martin's;
Donnacha Tobin, Blackhall Gaels;
Jamie Owens, Nobber;
Damian Carroll, Ballinabrackey;
Darragh Smyth, Bective;
Michael Newman, Round Towers;
Mark Collins, Duleek/Bellewstown;
Jake Regan, O'Mahony's;
Andrew Tormey, Donaghamore/Ashbourne;
Mark Battersby, St Vincent's/Curraha
Quote from: thejuice on August 29, 2008, 09:26:06 AM
Meath (MFC v Tyrone) -
Padraig Curran, St Peter's, Dunboyne;
Stephen O'Brien, Ratoath;
Ciaran Lenehan, Skryne;
Sean Curran, Donaghamore/Ashbourne;
Enda Mc Nulty, Round Towers;
Tommy Johnson, St Martin's;
Donnacha Tobin, Blackhall Gaels;
Jamie Owens, Nobber;
Damian Carroll, Ballinabrackey;
Darragh Smyth, Bective;
Michael Newman, Round Towers;
Mark Collins, Duleek/Bellewstown;
Jake Regan, O'Mahony's;
Andrew Tormey, Donaghamore/Ashbourne;
Mark Battersby, St Vincent's/Curraha
FAO Dominic Mc Caughey - please be advise that I suspect this man to be overage ! ;)
games times hope we can win this one, we could do with an Meath Mayo All-Ireland final!!!!
Páirc an Chrócaigh 12.15pm An Mhí v Tír Eoghain
Referee: Michael Meade (Luimneach)
GAA Football All Ireland Senior Championship Semi Final - Replay
Páirc an Chrócaigh 2.00pm Ciarraí v Corcaigh
Referee: Jimmy White (Dún na nGall)
(E.T. if Necessary)
GAA Football All Ireland Senior Championship Semi Final
Páirc an Chrócaigh 4.00pm Tír Eoghain v Loch Garman
Referee: Pat McEnaney (Muineachán)
Beating Tyrone AND Mayo in the one year would be pretty sweet alright. Stoke up the bitterness a bit more. ;)
doesnt look like this is being televised? Sunday game broadcast starts at 1.30 it seems.
I thought there was some agreement that the Minor semis had to be televised...and as gaelige at that?
he game is being televised, coverage starts at 12 on RTE 2
I am totally amazed that the detractors trying to push Shane O'Neill into the panel have not been on yet lambasting the management!
Quote from: tieroan on August 29, 2008, 11:48:33 AM
I am totally amazed that the detractors trying to push Shane O'Neill into the panel have not been on yet lambasting the management!
They're waiting on Sunday's outcome ! ;) :D
Good to see Rodgers eventually get the start that he deserves, and thankfully Harney starts as well as him, Coney and Pete Harte have proven to be invaluable to this team. As regards the lack of Shane O'Neill I've given up the ghost on that one, it's obvious his talent isn't appreciated on this particular squad and he'll probably be lost to Omagh United after the All-Ireland unless TJ and the Poly freshers management do their damnest to keep him involved. How McNulty, in particular after a couple of poor performances against Monaghan and Roscommon, still starts at 11 rather than his natural position in the corner is somewhat perplexing.
It'll take a big effort to beat Meath, the winners will be hot favourites in the final, so best of the luck to the lads and Munroe.
Quote from: tyrone86 on August 29, 2008, 02:46:45 PM
Good to see Rodgers eventually get the start that he deserves, and thankfully Harney starts as well as him, Coney and Pete Harte have proven to be invaluable to this team. As regards the lack of Shane O'Neill I've given up the ghost on that one, it's obvious his talent isn't appreciated on this particular squad and he'll probably be lost to Omagh United after the All-Ireland unless TJ and the Poly freshers management do their damnest to keep him involved. How McNulty, in particular after a couple of poor performances against Monaghan and Roscommon, still starts at 11 rather than his natural position in the corner is somewhat perplexing.
It'll take a big effort to beat Meath, the winners will be hot favourites in the final, so best of the luck to the lads and Munroe.
He has been poor alright - but hopefully from will return on Sunday -
Best of luck to the Meath lads.
Judging by reports from the other semi replay the winners will have their work cut out in the final - sounds like a strong Mayo team.
Best of luck to the young Royals tomorrow. I'll be there to cheer them on. Hope I'm in the middle of the Tyrone crowd!
Quote from: Jinxy on August 30, 2008, 07:32:58 PM
Best of luck to the young Royals tomorrow. I'll be there to cheer them on. Hope I'm in the middle of the Tyrone crowd!
You're hoping!? ;)
I'll be watching the match with my good pals Martin O'Connell and John McDermott. :o
Don't forget the bandages. Best of luck to the young lads tomorrow. Looking forward to seeing a Vincent's man in green and gold for the first time in a long time.
'96 was the last time we were walked all over (literally) in Croke Park, get used to it Meathies!
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 30, 2008, 09:10:02 PM
'96 was the last time we were walked all over (literally) in Croke Park, get used to it Meathies!
Surely that was the 2004 Quarter Final ;)
Quote from: Jinxy on August 29, 2008, 10:26:31 AM
Beating Tyrone AND Mayo in the one year would be pretty sweet alright. Stoke up the bitterness a bit more. ;)
Beating Kerry and Meath in the one year would be pretty sweet alright. Stoke up the sympathy Mayo feel for Meath, a once great county fallen so far ;)
Highly entertaining minor match so far. The skill levels of the youngsters are great and speak highly of the standard of coaching the kids are getting these days. And no diving, feigning, mouthing, etc. Great stuff. Sadly, only the standard of refereeing reminds one of the senior game.
Those Tyrone boys are surely following in the footsteps of the older generation :)
Teamwork is vastly superior to the Meath lads as well as some brilliant accurate kicking for points
Back from the dead?
Tyrone 1-14 to Meath 2-06
Meath comeback to be thwarted (swarmed) by Tyrone steel
Any score there lads? my setanta won't connect >:(
Tyrone by a landslide, 1.21 to 2.07 or something like that, a joy to watch this Tyrone team.
Awesome performance of skill, teamwork, workrate and point scoring.
An absolute exhibition by Tyrone of all the skills and tactics of the game. The huge difference between the teams was Tyrone's drilling in tactics, game plan, team play and the execution of all of the above. Meath had none of the above. But i was very impressed with the skill levels of both sets of lads, which is all I'm really interested in at this level. How sad that the years of effort and dedication that have gone into taking these lads to this level of excellence will, for the best of them at least, go to the benefit of a parasitic Australian commercial operation.
Colm O Rourke looks rightly pissed off on the Sunday Game.
No worries of Bitterness in Mayo or Tyrone when we see how average Meath have become over the last 7 years.
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 31, 2008, 04:05:26 PM
No worries of Bitterness in Mayo or Tyrone when we see how average Meath have become over the last 7 years.
If only that were true! The bitterness bit I mean. ;)
I'm flattered to hear we've been upgraded to average.
I seen Tyrone beating Dublin in a challenge in Corduff (Monaghan) earlier in the year and they were winning 2-8 to 0-0 after 20 minutes. Seriously talented team and its an awful pity that Coney is leaving.
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 31, 2008, 04:05:26 PM
I think I recall Meath beating a certain Tyrone team in last years AI QF. And, yes, the bitterness was still there. Try as I might, after, all the bitterness and talk of bandages and such bullshit I could not support Tyrone in the All Ireland final even though Dara O' Shea should not be playing if there were any consistency in rules applied overb the year. Meath players must be seriously pissed over the suspensions and the games missed from the Parnell Park row.
On the topic in question, great performance from Tyrone minors and best of luck to them in the final.
What I liked about Tyrones performance was how similar it was to thier seniors in terms of work rate and tactics so those good enough can move seamlessly into the senior squad when the time comes. The problem for us was we werent able to match the work rate of Tyrone and we didnt have enough players capable of finding the posts. We had a fair amount of possesion but our use of the ball wasnt as smart or purposeful as our opponents. Best of luck to Tyrone in both finals.
We have some good players for the future, hopefully they'll make the transition to senior. Considering Colm O'Rourkes thoughts on the colleges system its interesting. Anyone in Tyrone agree with him?
O'Rourkes comments need to be taken lightly ... maybe a Meath person can correct me but for all his noise and an 'footballing academy' ... I think relatively few Pats footballers ever make it to senior level for the county if I'm right, whereas in other northern counties it's quite a bit higher.
You seem to have an axe to grind with O'Rourke for some reason. Plenty of Pats players have made it to senior county level. It most certainly is a footballing academy.
No axe ... I was just told differently that's all - are there many on the current team?
Just back from Croker. Well done to Raymond Munroe, his management team and the Tyrone minor squad on a terrific performance. It was a credit to all the work they have put in. Hope they bring the Tom Markham cup back to Ulster.
They're a great team to watch play, some remarkable talent - Mayo will be a good test too
This is a fantastic minor team - probably bot as good as the 98 team but then there weren't too many teams in Ireland that would have compared favourably to the 98 team.
Tyrone were simply outstanding yesterday with Kyle Coney putting on a materclass at HQ.
The Tyrone production line keeps on churning them out. Real pity we won't see Coney in the Senior Jersy any time soon, but you never know, he could return in several years to lead the charge for our 5th Sam! ;)
Absolutely superb performance. After spluttering through Ulster and a decent improvement against Roscommon, Croke Park brought out the best in this team. Whilst you shouldn't single lads out after such a good team performance, I'd have to say Petey, McKenna, Rodgers - all outstanding - but Coney was majestic.
are there many on the current team?
the sheridans, his son, alan nestor to name a few and there are a lot more. meath have a lot to thank pats for, its something the likes of dublin don't have and are paying the price for.
Quote from: INDIANA on September 02, 2008, 08:00:53 AM
are there many on the current team?
the sheridans, his son, alan nestor
Yup, that's all I was told too
Add Kevin Reilly, Seamus Kenny, Stephen Bray & Cian Ward to that.