RTÉ has learned that Kildare County Board are to seek a postponement of their All-Ireland Football quarter-final against Cork. The reason for this is that that have played matches on the previous three weekends and their county board feels like they should not have to play on a fourth consecative.
Driving home tonight and i heard this on the radio, personally i dont think that they have a chnace in hell.....and i know lots of counties who would not grumble having to play a match in croker at this time of the year
Kildare havent a snowballs chance in Hell......unless they agree to go to Páirc Ui Chaoimh ::)
They're taking the piss !!!! What a joke ! Do they think they're going to beat Cork ?? ;) :D ;D
Why won't they??? Why should Cork get precedence and why can't they be treated like Tyrone who are getting an extra week and there can be no saying that they have to play on the dates laid down!!
Could they swap with Dublin?
Where and when do Kildare propose that this match should be played?. There is no possibility of this game being postponed and I don't know why they are looking for any postponement.
QuoteWhy won't they??? Why should Cork get precedence and why can't they be treated like Tyrone who are getting an extra week and there can be no saying that they have to play on the dates laid down!!
You can't compare the two situations given the difference between the semi final dates. With q/finals going straight to replays, you need at least a fortnight between the q/final date and the semi final. Dublin & Tyrone will have that, a refixed Cork Kildare match wouldn't. Don't think Kildare have any chance, its the consequence of losing in Leinster (although the schedule was set as it is to aid club football rather than punish provincial losers).
They are just stirring the nest ....
Waste of time.
Sorry cannot agree I hope they do not suceed ,The schedule is tight so the GAA has to hold the line .
McGeeney probably knew it'd be refused before asking and only asked so to try and implement a bit of siege mentality into the players, i.e its us against the world. a la Pillar Caffrey.
Quote from: johnpower on August 04, 2008, 11:22:36 PM
Sorry cannot agree I hope they do not suceed ,The schedule is tight so the GAA has to hold the line .
Is that so? Then how come they put back one match already????
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 04, 2008, 11:57:12 PM
Is that so? Then how come they put back one match already????
To satisfy the demand of the Dublin faithful, Oh and to fill their coffers!!
if only the took the same view when they screwed Dublin over we would be fine!
screwed them over? Dry your fuckin eyes.
they were to play on the 9th and they have been planning for that and because two counties kick up Dublin have to move their game!
Quote from: Tankie on August 05, 2008, 12:19:52 AM
they were to play on the 9th and they have been planning for that and because two counties kick up Dublin have to move their game!
Dublin complain when they only get 15,000 tickets, now they complain when they get a stand-alone game. There really is no pleasing some.
FFS, what do ye want?
You cant have it every way.
If you had to play a doubleheader you would still be yapping as well
Typical f**king jackeens
Does anyone believe playing 4 championship games in a row is fair and is keeping with player welfare? Answer honestly and forget the circumstances. All teams are equal no?
Anyway, I believe we should play it on Sunday as we would be much sharper and consider how slowly we start it might actually be to our advantage.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 05, 2008, 08:36:31 AM
Does anyone believe playing 4 championship games in a row is fair and is keeping with player welfare? Answer honestly and forget the circumstances. All teams are equal no?
Dinny, no point in crying over it now
If you were so worried about the schedule you would have won your Province & had a nice long break
Bet Fermanagh would love to have that problem....
Quote from: full back on August 05, 2008, 08:39:38 AM
Dinny, no point in crying over it now
If you were so worried about the schedule you would have won your Province & had a nice long break
Bet Fermanagh would love to have that problem....
Who's crying?
Thanks for not answering the question, it's not whether Kildare should be grateful it's whether it's fair regardless of the circumstances.
Yes, its fair
This is the way it is succesful teams ;)
Quote from: full back on August 05, 2008, 09:27:09 AM
Yes, its fair
This is the way it is succesful teams ;)
Fair enough but Kildare went 10 weeks without a game and now have to play 4 in a row, mental planning.
You are right - the planning is sh1te
But if a team has been beaten early in the championship they can have no complaints about their schedule IMHO
On a general point Dinny i don't believe its in any way a hinderence to player welfare. quite the opposite in fact. we regard a championship match as some sort of gladiatorial battle in our sport when in reality its no tougher (arguably less so) than your average celtic league, aussie rules or nfl game. now obviously those other sports are professional but during these high intensity periods our players are treated close to professional levels (in every way bar payment obviously) to maximise recovery. proper nutrition, hydration, massage, cryotherapy, compression skins, days off work, etc are all par for the course for inter county players with games week after week. with that in mind, i believe the teams playing every week are at a distinct advantage, for a variety of reasons but especially menatally during tougher periods of games.
players love playing and i'd say thay'd prefer playing every week rather than training for a month between championship matches. i could develop that on to how i feel the championship should actually be set out but thats for another day!
remember how the Meath and Dublin teams were unhappy and complained about the successive games each week in the 1991 saga!
no I dont eather !
I would agree that this is poor planning, but thats the system right now, it helped beat Waterford last year,and maybe had a bit to do with why Fermanagh were so rubbish - though they cant shoot which I think is a bigger problem.
Kildare are v unlucky here but thats the luck of the draw.
I cant see how or why Dublin can complain about the extra week.
Apart from being eager to win and giving tyrone an additional week to recuperate, it allows the Dubs to prepare longer for the team in hand.
The GAA are just being greedy as a Dub v Tyr game will be a sell out and a double header would destroy the atmosphere which should be fantastic. The cork game could have been held in semple.
Cant see anything other than a dublin win by at least 6 points though
LB/Uladh,
I agree with you both, I don't believe it should be postponed as it's in our favour I believe but I can understand why especially if we have injury concerns although we are good on that front and Ken Donnelly should be available for selection. Personally I think it's a smokescreen, divert from the players, annoy Cork and let Kildare go quietly about their business. Have to say since the Wicklow debacle McGeeney and Co haven't put a foot wrong, very impressed with their management.
Still mental planning, no-one can argue with that, same every year mind.
is the u21 centre bcak who as sent off against wicklow available again dinny?
Quoteis the u21 centre bcak who as sent off against wicklow available again dinny?
Gary "Chalky" White came on as a sub against Limerick, scored a fine point, was named as full-forward in a late change for Donnelly on Sunday. Had a good game, played almost as a third mid-fielder, he might be moved back to the half-back line on Sunday but won't displace Foley in the centre probably Scanlon, Foley is a very good player riddled by injuries the last 2 seasons, The Sunday Tribune are always hyping him up as a future all-star for some reason.
The request for a postponement has been turned down.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 05, 2008, 11:34:25 AM
The request for a postponement has been turned down.
what a surprise.
where did white play on sunday and what number was he?
Quotewhere did white play on sunday and what number was he?
Named at full-forward, number 28, primarily played between the 2 45s.
Quote from: Real1995 on August 04, 2008, 09:33:22 PM
RTÉ has learned that Kildare County Board are to seek a postponement of their All-Ireland Football quarter-final against Cork. The reason for this is that that have played matches on the previous three weekends and their county board feels like they should not have to play on a fourth consecative.
Driving home tonight and i heard this on the radio, personally i dont think that they have a chnace in hell.....and i know lots of counties who would not grumble having to play a match in croker at this time of the year
McGeeney and Grimley are at their "Mind Games" with this request.
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 05, 2008, 07:37:58 AM
Dublin complain when they only get 15,000 tickets, now they complain when they get a stand-alone game. There really is no pleasing some.
Dublin said they would rather play a double header if it meant that they got to play on the 9th but the money hungry GAA were having no of that just to please two counties and their RIGHT to play in Croke Park!
Quote from: Tankie on August 05, 2008, 01:59:02 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 05, 2008, 07:37:58 AM
Dublin said they would rather play a double header if it meant that they got to play on the 9th but the money hungry GAA were having no of that just to please two counties and their RIGHT to play in Croke Park!
I dont see the problem ?
A week will give a tyrone side to recover from inj, but they wont be able to compete with dublin anyhow.
A single game in HQ will benefit Dublin fans, as more will get to see it and there will be far more dubs fans there to lift their team.
So you're objecting to the GAA granting the joint request of two of the provincial champions over the contrary request of one?
why do you think Dublin should have more influence on fixtures than two other provincial champions put together?
Dublin only pretended they'd prefer a double bill on the 9th compared to single game on the 16th.
We chanced our arm for a while in the hope of getting a single game on the 9th, but when it came down to it there was no way we would have chosen a double bill over a single bill. It is an inconvenience, but no more than that. And certainly worth it to guarantee a full house with 75% Dubs.
Quote from: Uladh on August 05, 2008, 02:32:21 PM
So you're objecting to the GAA granting the joint request of two of the provincial champions over the contrary request of one?
why do you think Dublin should have more influence on fixtures than two other provincial champions put together?
the master fixture list to which Dublin have been training to has Dublin playing on the weekend 9th and 10th and that has been changed to suit to other counties but it does not suit Dublin. Whats the point in publishing a master fixture list if it can be changed that easy?
Quote from: Tankie on August 05, 2008, 02:40:16 PM
the master fixture list to which Dublin have been training to has Dublin playing on the weekend 9th and 10th and that has been changed to suit to other counties but it does not suit Dublin. Whats the point in publishing a master fixture list if it can be changed that easy?
Jeez man, I think that yer being offended rather easily. imo and the opinion in the post above, this single game suits Dublin more and any inconvenience is outweighed by the tailored prep Dubs can do for tyrone in the meantime.
well if thats the case they should have played tyrone and dublin in navan this saturday. would that be ok?
Yous Dubs are some crowd of whingers. master fixture lists blah blah blah. If tyrone V Mayo had have been a draw last week you would have had to change your plans anyway, so all this BS about boys booking days off etc is a smokescreen.
I never heard so much talk of a master fixture list in all my life. Get on with it and quit your whinging.
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 05, 2008, 02:45:30 PM
Jeez man, I think that yer being offended rather easily. imo and the opinion in the post above, this single game suits Dublin more and any inconvenience is outweighed by the tailored prep Dubs can do for tyrone in the meantime.
well to me this year is about one thing for Dublin and that is winning an All Ireland and if only 15k got tickets for a date that suits the team better well that is fine with me (also i am pissed off as I will be away with work on the 16th so I will miss the game which is another reason to be pissed off when you plan these trips with the q/f in mind!)
Quote from: Uladh on August 05, 2008, 02:47:53 PM
well if thats the case they should have played tyrone and dublin in navan this saturday. would that be ok?
I wouldnt think that Micky 'Play every game in Croke Park' Harte would be too happy with that move!
but the dubs would be happy enough?
Quotethe master fixture list to which Dublin have been training to has Dublin playing on the weekend 9th and 10th and that has been changed to suit to other counties but it does not suit Dublin. Whats the point in publishing a master fixture list if it can be changed that easy?
What exactly would you have done if you were organising the fixtures?
Quote from: Hound on August 05, 2008, 02:35:59 PM
Dublin only pretended they'd prefer a double bill on the 9th compared to single game on the 16th.
We chanced our arm for a while in the hope of getting a single game on the 9th, but when it came down to it there was no way we would have chosen a double bill over a single bill. It is an inconvenience, but no more than that. And certainly worth it to guarantee a full house with 75% Dubs.
75%? Going on current form in Tyrone I'd envision it will be closer to 90%
Quote from: tyrone86 on August 05, 2008, 04:12:08 PM
Quote from: Hound on August 05, 2008, 02:35:59 PM
75%? Going on current form in Tyrone I'd envision it will be closer to 90%
agree, should be near full house, would have thought this game would attract alot of neutrals aswell
Anyway, I believe we should play it on Sunday as we would be much sharper and consider how slowly we start it might actually be to our advantage.
I think that it is no coincidence that almost all the round 3 games were of a poorer standard than earlier games played this season.
Both Fermanagh and Kildare played 3 weeks in a row and it showed. They looked both physically and mentally drained, especially in the first half.
Down also were playing their 3rd week in a row, and 6th game in 8 weeks.
Tyrone just about squeezed past Mayo in their 3rd week.
Only Monaghan looked that they still had some energy left.
Quote from: western exile on August 05, 2008, 10:28:38 PM
I think that it is no coincidence that almost all the round 3 games were of a poorer standard than earlier games played this season.
Both Fermanagh and Kildare played 3 weeks in a row and it showed. They looked both physically and mentally drained, especially in the first half.
monaghan looked fecked in the last 15 mins of the game.
They could no longer find the energy required for their high intensity gameplan.
The qualifier route should posess no advantage to these teams, and while this is hard to take - I think its a decent system.
Most teams are delighted to get the second chance. Its great for us spectators too, plus the GAA can pull in a few quid as well.
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 06, 2008, 11:21:36 AM
Quote from: western exile on August 05, 2008, 10:28:38 PM
monaghan looked fecked in the last 15 mins of the game.
They could no longer find the energy required for their high intensity gameplan.
The qualifier route should posess no advantage to these teams, and while this is hard to take - I think its a decent system.
Most teams are delighted to get the second chance. Its great for us spectators too, plus the GAA can pull in a few quid as well.
I wasn't enjoying it too much at the weekend lynchbhoy I have to say. I think if you're going to give teams a second chance they need a decent stab at it. We're now in a scenario where there are 3 rounds of games to be played in 2 months where as was highlighted Kildare will have played 4 weeks in a row. This I don't think gives them much of a chance to be mentally and physically ready for a game of this magnitude this weekend (Not that I thought they would ever win but they've battled well so at least give them a fighting chance)
Didnt all this come about because Congress in a knee jerk reaction to complaints from Clubs(justified) about lack of games decided to compress the Inter Co scene.
The idea was to give Counties a chance to progress Club Championships while waiting for the Qualifiers.
Of course Counties only know they are in the Qualifiers when they get knocked out of the Provincials so they cant plan ahead as they dont know when that will happen.
Then Counties are supposed to have a fixture plan drawn up early in the year so most only plan Club Championship from August.
You cant have a fixture list saying "Club Championships first round either 25 May or maybe 15 June or it could be 6 July or then again we maight have to wait till 4 August" and" God knows what we might have to do if we ever got to the All Ireland Final" ::)
Monday's Irish Times....
Kildare complaints strike HQ as 'strange'
THE GAA have expressed surprise at statements from Kildare county board taking issue with having to play their All-Ireland quarter-final next Sunday. Complaints the county would have to play four weekends in succession were aired yesterday, but according to the CCCC, no representations were received by the end of the Sunday evening meeting that finalised fixtures for the quarter-finals.
"We met at about 6.15," said a CCCC source, "and broke up at 7.30 without receiving any communication from Kildare. There were letters read out from three counties making points about the quarter-finals but nothing from Kildare. Any objection they raised must have been on Sunday night, which is strange seeing as everyone knew we were going to be meeting in Croke Park as soon as the draw was made."
The three counties were Dublin - who took issue with the postponing of their match with Tyrone to next Saturday week - and Galway and Armagh, who were looking to ensure their fixtures would be played in Croke Park.
The CCCC was unable to accede to Dublin's request to play their quarter-final next weekend as scheduled but the other two counties' concerns were met.
When the details were completed they were emailed to the counties and media.
The same CCCC source was also adamant no further discussion had taken place on the matter yesterday.