what is the funniest/best nickname you know for someone??
i'm sur there's a few of them about but theres a fella from a club not too far away from me who is called "bungalow" because he has nothing upstairs!!
Heard of a chap called one ball, for obvious reasons, i thought it was terrible
i know a boy called 'thrush' cause he's an irritating ****
another boy called 'KitKat' McCloskey cause he's missing a digit on one of his hands
i like the really cryptic one's, this will prob be lost on most of you but i know a fella who has a big nose, we used to call him buffy, it started off as Snout-Master-General, which is the same initials as Sarah-Michelle-Gellar, who played the vampire slaying hottie-buffy!!!
he had no idea for ages why we were calling him buffy
Quote from: Onion Bag on July 29, 2008, 03:48:48 PM
Heard of a chap called one ball, for obvious reasons, i thought it was terrible
Where'd you hear this? i've a best mate called one ball, he got the nickname in belfast as a student when he went for a checkup down below and the nurse found it difficult to find his left nut but apparently it was pushed up towards his stomach, funny as fcuk when he's called it!!
A young girl beside me answers to the name of "Fishy" - God love her.
There was a lad from Emyvale called "football head" for the obvious reason his head looked like a football.
I've a mate from Fermanagh nicknamed Bla. No-one knows why, including him.
Some great ones out our way, one of my favourites is a young lad called the coffin - his father is an undertaker :D
John Eales, the Aussie Egg Chaser was called "Nobody". Apparently he was a fussy hoor who did everything just right and left no margin for error, etc, etc,etc.....hence "Nobody's Perfect"....I thought it was quite good.
I think there's a fella who plays for St Galls and he goes by Mickey Chicken wing - due to a shortened arm.
boy from portadown called "dogbox" coz he slept in a kennel one night!!
Quote from: Puckoon on July 29, 2008, 05:02:28 PM
I think there's a fella who plays for St Galls and he goes by Mickey Chicken wing - due to a shortened arm.
Rossa, and a cracking hurler he is too.
Quote from: unforgiven on July 29, 2008, 03:51:57 PM
another boy called 'KitKat' McCloskey cause he's missing a digit on one of his hands
I can confirm this one as he lives about 2 or 3 miles from me.
Also that Fella from Belfast was called "Micky Wing" and then because he was a right decent hurler it became "Crispy Wing" instead of "Cristy Ring"
In Banagher in North Derry there is a whole selection of weird names and here are some i Know of hand.
Hardone, Bullfrog, Crowbar, Lee-Bar, Bent, And from the one family - squidgy, Anggy, Mudgy, Rambo
Used to call aidan carr motor in school! Think you came up with it kinghen, says a lot for your nickname making skills.
Knew (not well I must add) boys called boggin' and shit ??? classy
Also a ould dorty thing called finger of fudge until someone else got to upgrade it to mars bar (and it's not because she liked eating them) ::)
Fella in our school called eoin ribena rubber gub.
He had a big red/blue birth mark under his lip.
The rumour going about the college was that he spilt acid over it in chemistry and the only thing he had to wash it off with was ribena
Another fella with a range of nicknames, one 'Regi' because he blinks more than average!
Also gets cow features because he looks like a cow. Moo Moo Sylla also because of the cow thing again
Mate of mine plays football with someone called 'The Walking Spot'
He has bad acne
Also fella with bad acne in school-'Jam Sandwich face'
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 29, 2008, 05:23:46 PM
Fella in our school called eoin ribena rubber gub.
He had a big red/blue birth mark under his lip.
The rumour going about the college was that he spilt acid over it in chemistry and the only thing he had to wash it off with was ribena
ya wernt the school bully where ya our nail?!?!? :D
Know a family of follically challenged people.
There is cueball senior, cueball and cueball junior for the wee sister!
Also pep reina, collina etc etc
We called a lad in college Rambo for a while, he bedded a virgin and she had a bit of a spillage, hence her "First Blood" :D :D
My mother had a heap of them for her folk back home, one man was called "the tourist" because he was born 2 years after his "father" died.
Another one was "Dinny the Lady" because he couldnt grow a beard.
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 29, 2008, 06:00:56 PM
Know a family of follically challenged people.
There is cueball senior, cueball and cueball junior for the wee sister!
Also pep reina, collina etc etc
i never get cueball junior for bein the wee sister.. it never caught on!!
fella used to stay in our house an NEVER leave.. we call him the lodger, he even borrowed pyjama's for his own pyjama parties which he held.. :D :D
just a selection of the ones I have come across
wingnut, funny, pele, boner, gearbox, towbar, wombat, wobbles
A nickname fight could be had between the harps and tir na nog...
You can check the harps nicknames on their thread, some portadown ones-dogbox, slasher, big mcdoo, wee mcdoo
Charlie Stubbs on here gets wally, due to his uncanny resemblence with the notorious hide and seeker
Cowhead - head as big as a cows.
Lefty - missing his left hand.
Zero - zero chnce of every scoring with a woman.
Boxcar - like a train running down the field.
Toad - shape and looks of a toad.
Princess - more worried about his looks than anything.
Skin Head - highest forhead ever seen on a human face.
Skinny - guy who's waist you could run a marathon around.
All above are good friends.
O'Neill families (as well as many others) have a hoor of a habit of having set family nicknames. Not going to disclose my 'clan' but it can be disconcerting when you're in some foreign land and some homebird comes up who vaguely recognises you and asks, 'is it Shane _ _ _ _ _ _?' Took the wife 14 years to get used to it.
Mr T which stands for Mr Testicle. Same guy is also know as Tommy Twisted Testicle or 3T.
Fella in question (Tommy) when younger walked across the top bar of a gate in his shitty wellies and naturally slipped and went straight down on the top rung of the gate. (Most men cross their legs at this point of the story and wince) When his father found him an hour or so later lying unconcious in a pool of liquid cow sh1t with a couple of curious cow sniffing and dribbling on his head, his ball sack had swollen to 3 times its normal size and was a purple/black colour. The doctor in the hospital had to slice part of his sack to releave the pressure and when his balls finally returned to there normal size one of them was pointing upwards (like a rugby ball standing on end) rather then the normal way. Hence ever since he has been know as Tommy twisted testicle or Mr T!!
Few others include Billy Me (dude likes talking about himself),
Fathead (has a pumpkin sized head),
The Tit (cos he is a tit),
Comeoffeh (like to say "come off it" in Brummie accent sounds like comeoffeh),
Skaramanga (after midget character in James Bond Golden eye film)
Boon (after the old tv series)
Cueball (bald since he was 17)
The bitch (cos he is a moody hormonal fecker)
Bones (skinnist fella you ever met)
Hiace (he is from Moyvane in Kerry pronounced My Van)
Convict (had a few run ins with John Law!)
Chewey (can take off Chubaca from star wars perfectly, looks like him too)
I know a fella called ting ting. he was named that as a young lad after he got knocked off his bike by an ambulance. The ting ting bit comes from the sound of the bell on his bike when he got knocked down. :D :D
heard of a boy down the garvaghy road called 'woody da' - his oul boy is called 'woody da's da'
Draperstown is shocking for family nicknames... here's a few
Kelly - Dan, Dargin, Heamy, Neilly, Bull
McWilliams - Silky, Peter
McCloskey - Firdubh, Dick
Kennedy - Tam, Farmer
Quite funny actually, there are lods more too like the Paden's, the Peter O's.. .one of them's name is actually Jim Joe so he's caled Jim Joe Peter O... very strange!
A fella I know had brittle bones and would break different bones all the time when he was younger, he's been known as "Fragile" since, quite a harsh but inventive nickname for 11/12 yr olds to dish out!
The best family nickname round Ballerin has to be Mule (got given for being stubborn apparently)
QuoteAlso fella with bad acne in school-'Jam Sandwich face'
Poor cub at our school got "beans on toast" for the same reason :-X
Heard of another lad that was called #14 cause they figured he was twice as stupid
as the mule in thon o'l T.V show called #7 :D
I work with a guy like this. He is called the clock. His mate is the afterbirth because he is good for nothing
QuoteQuote from: gallsman on July 29, 2008, 05:05:32 PM
Rossa, and a cracking hurler he is too.
Dungannon, I think.
Yep. Plus, Dungannon is a while place for nicknames - know a few such as trendy, glowsticks or lockjaw.
I'm sure everybody knows a few lads called 'spud', and its usually to do with the size of their head. A fella I know was called Dildo for years, I mean away before you were old enough to know what one was - he was just a big massive lad. I know a lad called Scone aswell and I don't think anybody realises why he is called that.
Quote from: The Blegard on July 30, 2008, 11:45:51 AM
I work with a guy like this. He is called the clock. His mate is the afterbirth because he is good for nothing
Mickey Wing I think it is now. I think his hand is sort of at his elbow or something. Not sure if he's from St. Gall's though he is from a Belfast Club. He was a noted hurler back in the day and I even played football against him out in Canada. He is currently the Derry Senior Hurling trainer!
Quote from: screenexile on July 30, 2008, 11:56:12 AM
Quote from: The Blegard on July 30, 2008, 11:45:51 AM
Mickey Wing I think it is now. I think his hand is sort of at his elbow or something. Not sure if he's from St. Gall's though he is from a Belfast Club. He was a noted hurler back in the day and I even played football against him out in Canada. He is currently the Derry Senior Hurling trainer!
Mickey was a Rossa man when up in Belfast. Decent hurler he was and a trecherous wee hoor as well when he wanted to be.
Mother and daughter both quite rotund.
Mummy boobs & baby boobs.
Not sure where he is from but a boy who was adopted is called Rent-A-Cub - -how the f**k do people think of them !
QuoteMickey was a Rossa man when up in Belfast. Decent hurler he was and a trecherous wee hoor as well when he wanted to be.
Aye, he played with Rossa but I think he might have originally been from another club in the City. He was on the Tyrone panle last year as he is the Tyrone Hurling Officer and is living in Dungannon or Cookstown and plays with Eoghan Ruadh.
Local chip shop called Brown's, where there are 2 particular 'beauties' working there known as Brown's cows
Quote from: Chrisowc on July 30, 2008, 04:12:03 PM
Local chip shop called Brown's, where there are 2 particular 'beauties' working there known as Brown's cows
Dromore?
I used to work with a fella from Scotland called Calum Murray, here in Oz. Of course the Oz pronunciation turned it into "Calam Marray" so he got "squid".
A mate is "manners" his real name is Brad Manning and he was a bit of a larakin so he became Bad Manners.
Another is Kelpie as he used to be the one everyone sent on errands and do the crap jobs in the hangar.
And a mate's surname is Found, so the boss called him Lostin which became Losty. Quite appropriate for a now Qantas pilot.
Used to be a fella with a hole in his heart in my class in school.....He got Polo......Pretty rough but we were only teens then!
Quote from: fred the red on July 30, 2008, 05:50:42 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on July 30, 2008, 04:12:03 PM
Dromore?
You just reminded me pat of a fella in our school had a scar running through his hair, thus leaving a bald swivelly line. He got called tennis ball head!
ANother fella from round my way at home with a brown birth mark on his face got coffee stain.
One of my best friends from home simply goes by nigger. Has done all his life. Terrible name and has gotten me into some trouble in the US.
Quote from: Puckoon on July 31, 2008, 06:40:08 PM
One of my best friends from home simply goes by nigger. Has done all his life. Terrible name and has gotten me into some trouble in the US.
There's a fella lives near me called nigger! He also bets and plays the machines in the bookies where i work, I don't like saying his name too loud when I'm talking to him! He's not even a bit tanned!
Hahaha. He is a good golf too. I don't think Tiger would take it aswell as he does :D. Did you see the latest member too :D
You know him zap? Feckin terrible clown. I suppose he would have spent a bit of time around Dromore. Great soccer player as well.
The funny thing about Nigger is that theres two of them. Nigger @@@@@ and Nigger Mc####. Its so bad that when the two boys are in the same bar - they actually get called by their full names e.g. Nigger @@@@@!
There have been a couple of interesting situations when he used to work in the golf club, and former captain (pakistani Dr,,Honary Sheriff of Tyrone) would be up there and you'd walk in and greet Nigger.
Knew him years ago Puckoon. I wouldn't know him by his second name. Nice lad. Think he used to play for Tummery.
Use to play soccer in Kilkenny with a fella and his nickname was nigger...
Like yourself it got a lot of people into bother when the called him that and there were people around who didn't know the story
Quote from: Aerlik on July 31, 2008, 11:27:45 AM
I used to work with a fella from Scotland called Calum Murray, here in Oz. Of course the Oz pronunciation turned it into "Calam Marray" so he got "squid".
A mate is "manners" his real name is Brad Manning and he was a bit of a larakin so he became Bad Manners.
Another is Kelpie as he used to be the one everyone sent on errands and do the crap jobs in the hangar.
And a mate's surname is Found, so the boss called him Lostin which became Losty. Quite appropriate for a now Qantas pilot.
think this might be my favourite so far, very witty play on words plus it makes ya want to say his name in an ozzie accent!!!
just rememberin a fella who wnt to our school who had very big lips and his surname was savage so he got "savo milosivlips" in referrence to the ex astonvilla striker savo milosevic
The older bus prefect used to get callled yellow balls, in a very effeminate voice, I was never sure why but always joined in!
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 31, 2008, 08:57:49 PM
Use to play soccer in Kilkenny with a fella and his nickname was nigger...
Like yourself it got a lot of people into bother when the called him that and there were people around who didn't know the story
Ricey got his name from being small, thin, and dark
like an Ethiopian during the 80s. That was linked to rice and became Ricey which helped avoid any precieved rasicim when shouting it from the sidelines.
Woman locally called 1690
looks 16 from behind and 90 from the front
" She was old but she was beau..."
Mate of mine seems to think he has a way with the ladies so he gets 'slimesy' when his real name is simey
just thought i would bump this thread, was a good laugh at the time!!
girl used to always sprint down the bus when getting off was called the road runner,
another fella on the bus was called flea, always thought that was pretty harsh!
then there was skittery and tea-pot, tea-pot looked exactly like that person in the simpsons on the show "people that look like things"
There was a teacher in school whos nickname was Iron Balls, He was at hurling training one day and the sliother wacked him in the balls, never flinched, so Iron Balls was invented
was looking for the pic from the simpsons with people that look like things, mind someone saying about a fella called pumpkin head???
(http://www.geocities.com/SoHo/Workshop/3255/pwllt_pumpkin.gif)
this is what the girl on my bus "tea-pot" looked like: (only she was a girl)
(http://www.geocities.com/SoHo/Workshop/3255/pwllt_pitcher.gif)
know a lad called "budgie"
he once tried to jump over a moving car when he was drunk and got seriously injured - he ended up having to wear one of those head and neck cages to support his head and broken neck - like a budgie cage
Quote from: Onion Bag on September 23, 2008, 04:45:42 PM
There was a teacher in school whos nickname was Iron Balls, He was at hurling training one day and the sliother wacked him in the balls, never flinched, so Iron Balls was invented
Caretaker in my School used to gangle his big bunch of keys in his pocket....Hence the name brass balls!
I know a lad called Hiddy, short for Hideous.
Boy I went to school with was called 'Arse F**ker" - owns a hairdressers now. Can't see why?
We call our friend Mint, because his surname's Murray.
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on September 23, 2008, 06:46:01 PM
Caretaker in my School used to gangle his big bunch of keys in his pocket....Hence the name brass balls!
Did the same man not become 'Golden Balls' after a lottery win?
Quote from: Ulick on May 16, 2011, 10:32:44 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on September 23, 2008, 06:46:01 PM
Did the same man not become 'Golden Balls' after a lottery win?
Was that Brass balls Billy (McConville)
I can yell you a handful from around Lurgan.
Shep - After John Noakes' old shaggy dog because of his appearance.
John the Baptist - Similar sort of reason. Long hair and beard, not the cleanest.
Big D and Wee D - both are called Damien. One of them called our house one night and left a message for one of our ones, said it was Damien. Took us a while to figure out it was one of the Ds since they were never called by their real names most of the time.
Big Ted and Wee Ted - Two brothers - when they were younger there was a big difference in size between them. Not anymore there isn't, Wee Ted is probably taller, but the names have stuck.
Moon - Dunno how he got that name, but his brother ended up with the name Sun.
The Red - His second name is Devlin so it goes well with that and because of his reddish complexion and red hair.
You could probably start a separate thread for the nicknames for teachers.
Boaker - As in "he who boaks/vomits" - he tells sick jokes
JJ and AJ - A husband and wife pair of teachers at the same school, that was their initials. JJ was also known as Toad because of his stout appearance and big glasses.
Grasshopper - He was tall and lanky
Noddy - An old name for a fella that used to drive a wee blue and yellow motor. Fell out of use once people got too old to remember that childrens' TV show.
Fat C0ck - He was fat so it was assumed his member was the same
Scratcher - He couldn't stop scratching himself
Beefer - His brother owned a butcher's shop in the town
Jack Russell - That was is real surname and his voice sounded a bit like the bark of a small yappy dog
Butley - Damned if I know where that came from. He was a headmaster and had been around since the school was opened, so the origin of the name is probably forgotten
Squeaky - A young trainee teacher with a high pitched voice
James Bond / The Equalizer - A fella who was in love with himself and loved strutting around like he was a suave secret agent
The Saint - The terrifying nun headmistress and had eyes that could freeze the blood in your veins
The Mad Monk - Another nun. The name says it all. She was bonkers.
Some people will probably be able to guess what schools I was at if you can recognise any of them names.
The favourite one i've heard around my club is Slimer - as in the ghost from ghostbuster!!! It really caught on to the lad!
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on May 16, 2011, 11:20:46 PM
I can yell you a handful from around Lurgan.
Shep - After John Noakes' old shaggy dog because of his appearance.
John the Baptist - Similar sort of reason. Long hair and beard, not the cleanest.
Big D and Wee D - both are called Damien. One of them called our house one night and left a message for one of our ones, said it was Damien. Took us a while to figure out it was one of the Ds since they were never called by their real names most of the time.
Big Ted and Wee Ted - Two brothers - when they were younger there was a big difference in size between them. Not anymore there isn't, Wee Ted is probably taller, but the names have stuck.
Moon - Dunno how he got that name, but his brother ended up with the name Sun.
The Red - His second name is Devlin so it goes well with that and because of his reddish complexion and red hair.
You could probably start a separate thread for the nicknames for teachers.
Boaker - As in "he who boaks/vomits" - he tells sick jokes
JJ and AJ - A husband and wife pair of teachers at the same school, that was their initials. JJ was also known as Toad because of his stout appearance and big glasses.
Grasshopper - He was tall and lanky
Noddy - An old name for a fella that used to drive a wee blue and yellow motor. Fell out of use once people got too old to remember that childrens' TV show.
Fat C0ck - He was fat so it was assumed his member was the same
Scratcher - He couldn't stop scratching himself
Beefer - His brother owned a butcher's shop in the town
Jack Russell - That was is real surname and his voice sounded a bit like the bark of a small yappy dog
Butley - Damned if I know where that came from. He was a headmaster and had been around since the school was opened, so the origin of the name is probably forgotten
Squeaky - A young trainee teacher with a high pitched voice
James Bond / The Equalizer - A fella who was in love with himself and loved strutting around like he was a suave secret agent
The Saint - The terrifying nun headmistress and had eyes that could freeze the blood in your veins
The Mad Monk - Another nun. The name says it all. She was bonkers.
Some people will probably be able to guess what schools I was at if you can recognise any of them names.
St Paul's ;)
Can you not remember Hitler = Mr Simpson, he was a bad bastid
Yellow Balls = Catney, Damian the Down man Catney actually had a yellow mark that ran down his back to his sack
Ding Dong = Mrs Bell
Action Man = McAnallen
Bendy = Maguire, think he was bent
Claypole = Scullion, looked like Claypole from rentaghost
Baldy benny = Thornberry, just a baldy bastid
Pat the Bear = flanaghan, this fella was built like a bear and as cross as one too
Judge = McMorrow, he'd tight curly grey hair like a Judge
Perfume Wagon = Mrs Gallagher, never got her myself but the name says it all
Billy brass Balls = Billy McConville the caretaker
Concorde = Can't even remember his name but he'd a nose like Concorde
Australian rugby captain John Eales was called Nobody as in "nobody's perfect".
A fella I used to work with went to school with two brothers who were farmers and often had a bit of a smell coming off them. They simply called them 'Stink One' and 'Stink Two'.
The town slut used to be called Willy Box :D
Some my favourite ones from our football team:
Chocolate - Cause if he was made of chocolate he would eat himself
Grafter - Real hard trainer
Saucepans - he's a goalie - as in saucepan hands
Two polish men working for a well known construction outfit, turned up to work first day, so whats your name "AZZIFFZK" and " KizoAJSfsK", they were known from then on as North Pole and South Pole.
A list of knicknames from the one village in Antrim with a population of about 1000.
Doda
Stumpy
Wingnut
Onion
Shitty/Jesus
Mucksy
Major
Ballbag
Farmer
2Can
Jazz
Farmer Joe
Kerry Tam
Town mouse
Sleepy
Slidy
Sniper
Tiptoes
Snoutman
The Cousin
The Sister (mans gf looks like his sister, no relation)
St Tropez Man
There are actually loads more, brains just not working today
Some of the cricket nicknames are class
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_nicknames_used_in_cricket
Kumar Shri Duleepsinhji — Mr Smith
Harbhajan Singh —The Turbanator
Bert Ironmonger — Dainty
Lasith Malinga — Malinga The Slinga
Lloyd Mash — Bangers
Mpumelelo Mbangwa — Pommie
Mfuneko Ngam — Chew
Jeetan Patel — Dave