Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Canalman on June 20, 2008, 12:57:19 PM

Title: Best/Most Disappointing Places You Have Visited
Post by: Canalman on June 20, 2008, 12:57:19 PM
Carrying on the recent trend for lists here are my 5 best and most disappointing places I have visited:-

BEST

1 New York
2 Jerusalem (the place oozes history)
3 Dingle Peninsula
4 Ephesus
5 Fraser Island, Queensland

MOST DISAPPOINTING

1 Bangkok ( a kip)
2 Giants Causeway (sorry lads, but it is tiny compared to its picture in geography textbooks etc)
3 The Dead Sea (smelly,dirty with a scorching sun)
4 Madrid
5 Ayers Rock (not worth the hassle getting there)
Title: Re: BEST/MOST DISAPPOPINTING PLACES YOU HAVE VISITED
Post by: his holiness nb on June 20, 2008, 01:29:45 PM
Best
1 - India (Taj Mahal)
2- Cancun (Chitzen Itza)
3 - The Maldives - desert island paradise
4- Antigua
5- St Lucia

Ephesus was pretty cool too Canalman. Especially the hoorhouse the lads snuck into underground from the library  :D

Worst
Tunisia (shitehole of prolific proportions)
Newgrange
Sligo
Dominican Republic
Corfu
Post by: rrhf on June 20, 2008, 01:48:53 PM
Best:
The Maldives
Frazer island
North Donegal
Nimbin
Clermont L'herault

Worst
Leitrim
Greece
Gran Canaria
Scotland
Walsall
Post by: Yes I Would on June 20, 2008, 01:58:18 PM
BEST

1. Port Douglas
2. New Zealand
3. Paris
4. The Vatican
5. Buffalo Joes

WORST

1. Playa del Ingles
2. Istanbul
3. Copperface Jacks
4. Wexford
5. Kilkeel
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 20, 2008, 02:03:14 PM
Is this yet another thread for people to show how much they have travelled?!

However I never fail to be unimpressed by a visit to Larne!
Title: BEST/MOST DISAPPOPINTING PLACES YOU HAVE VISITED
Post by: 5 Sams on June 20, 2008, 02:08:10 PM
Best by a mile:

Manhattan

then:

Corca Dhuibhne
Tehran - amazing place
Crete

Worst:

Ballymena
Portadown
Post by: Minder on June 20, 2008, 02:10:46 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 20, 2008, 02:03:14 PM

It seems to be Tony, i am waiting for the monthly thread "most famous person you have met" to be regaled of tales from posters doing tequila slammers with Bill Gates.........
Post by: Rossie11 on June 20, 2008, 02:29:16 PM
Best:
Thailand (Bangkok, Chaing Mai, Phuket)
Barcelona
New York
Krakow
Edinburgh

Worst:
Gran canaria
Milan (boring)
Warsaw
Glasgow
Ballinasloe
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 20, 2008, 02:30:31 PM
Most disappointing - Times Square on New Years Eve
Post by: his holiness nb on June 20, 2008, 02:59:50 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 20, 2008, 02:10:46 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 20, 2008, 02:03:14 PM

It seems to be Tony, i am waiting for the monthly thread "most famous person you have met" to be regaled of tales from posters doing tequila slammers with Bill Gates.........

Ah get over yourselves ye grumpy auld hoors. Whats wrong with letting other people who like to travel know where you recommend and dont recommend?
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 20, 2008, 03:05:53 PM
QuoteAh get over yourselves ye grumpy auld hoors. Whats wrong with letting other people who like to travel know where you recommend and dont recommend?

Aye but there are just so many of this type of thread on the board. Maybe we just consolidate it by everyone scanning the stamps from their passport into a thread called "My passport has more stamps than yours"

Post by: corn02 on June 20, 2008, 03:06:08 PM
Best place :
Pompeii (surprisngly good)
Barcelona
Paris

Worst:
Gran Canaria
purgatory
Post by: Goats Do Shave on June 20, 2008, 03:11:27 PM
Who would have thought there would be so many well travelled hoors on thee Board!

Best
Kusadasi
Toronto

Worst
Fuerteventura
Portydown

Good shout on Epehsus!!
Post by: bingobus on June 20, 2008, 03:21:17 PM
Best:
Anfield  ;)
US Virgin Islands
Edinburgh
Sorrento (Inc Pompei which was unreal place)
Ibiza Town (old part of town)

Most disappointing:
Gran Canaria
Ibiza - San Antonio
Cork City
Co Cork
Post by: ONeill on June 20, 2008, 03:29:23 PM
Best:

Glencar Waterfall
Top of Cavehill
Leenane
Paris
Glenariff

Worst:

Bangor
Portadown
Rome

Post by: Minder on June 20, 2008, 03:58:08 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 20, 2008, 03:29:23 PM
Best:

Glencar Waterfall
Top of Cavehill
Leenane
Paris
Glenariff

Worst:

Bangor
Portadown
Rome

Couldnt agree more O Neill.......
Post by: bennydorano on June 20, 2008, 04:05:28 PM
Best
Edinburgh
Amsterdam
Cork (not the city)
Brittas Bay for the beach (Port Noo close 2nd)

Worst
Kilkee Co Clare, sh1tehole of the highest order, dont go there on hols!
Glencoumbcille
Aiya Napa
Post by: corn02 on June 20, 2008, 04:12:11 PM
Good shout on Amsterdam Benny.
Post by: ludermor on June 20, 2008, 04:14:29 PM
Best
Vang Vien - bank packerish village in Laos wher you can get 'happy' pizzas, shakes and float down the river in a tube with a bottle of whiskey costing 70cents
Viljandi - stumbled on a folk music festival in the forest fo this wee town in estonia and was absolutly brillant
Clonamny - another fluke, got there for the the august festival madness (honorary mention to the pattern in ballylanders, and the tank somewhere in the arsehole of cavan near crosskeys)

Worse
Prague - english stags, in your face sleaze, rip off locals
Budapest - see above and add local mafia
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on June 20, 2008, 04:14:36 PM
Best

Niagra Falls
Bled
Fraser Island
Paris

Worst

Santa Ponsa
Keady

Amsterdam has both good and bad memories
Post by: Yes I Would on June 20, 2008, 04:16:11 PM
& Ayia Napa!!
f**k forgot about Keady!! Hellhole
Post by: corn02 on June 20, 2008, 04:17:23 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on June 20, 2008, 04:14:36 PM

Amsterdam has both good and bad memories

Turned out to be a man huh?
Post by: The Gs Man on June 20, 2008, 04:32:56 PM
Best:

Amsterdam
Koi Samui (Thailand)

Woorst:

Playa Des Ingles
Santa Ponsa
Post by: nifan on June 20, 2008, 04:56:35 PM
Best:
Berlin
NY
Austin

Worst:
Zurich
Baltimore
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 20, 2008, 04:58:30 PM
Best:
Melbourne - Australia
Queenstown - New Zealand
Tokyo - Japan
Newcastle - England (best stag ever)
Amsterdam - Holland (2nd best stag ever)

Worst:
Lake Garda - Italy
Venice - Italy
Bundoran - Donegal
Bondi Beach - Australia
Singapore

Post by: Puckoon on June 20, 2008, 05:23:18 PM
Best.

1. Fintra strand on a nice summers day
2. Fintra strand on a grey winters day
3. Anfi Del Mar - gran canaria
4. Cancun mexico
5. Lake Tahoe, NV

Worst.

1. Finglas
2. Bakersfield California
3. Fresno California
4. Los Angeles California
5. Castlederg                                                                                                          Sir.
Post by: his holiness nb on June 20, 2008, 05:31:32 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 20, 2008, 03:05:53 PM
QuoteAh get over yourselves ye grumpy auld hoors. Whats wrong with letting other people who like to travel know where you recommend and dont recommend?

Aye but there are just so many of this type of thread on the board. Maybe we just consolidate it by everyone scanning the stamps from their passport into a thread called "My passport has more stamps than yours"

Havent see the others in fairness. re the "my passport has more stamps than yours" bit, everyones sticking to five of each at most, many of the places in Ireland, hardly showing off  ???
Post by: Diet Coke on June 20, 2008, 05:44:50 PM
Best:
       Dubai (before it got infested with brits)
       San Francisco
       Australia
       Amsterdam
       Corsica

Worst:
         Spain
         Dublin (rip off)
         Keady
        Portadown
        Randalstown

Post by: the colonel on June 20, 2008, 05:55:41 PM

Quote from: Minder on June 20, 2008, 03:58:08 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 20, 2008, 03:29:23 PM
Best:

Glencar Waterfall
Top of Cavehill
Leenane
Paris
Glenariff

Worst:

Bangor
Portadown
Rome

Couldnt agree more O Neill.......

are you boys on drugs
Post by: Minder on June 20, 2008, 07:00:20 PM
Are you put out colonel he didnt mention Cushendall in his list ?
Post by: stew on June 20, 2008, 07:08:59 PM
The Best:

Zihuatanejo -Ixtapa. beautiful region of Mexico. The  resort was out of this world as well.

Cyprus.

The Worst.

Co Down.
Portydun.
Gary, Indiana. Shitehole of the lowest order.
Prague. (does anyone not smoke in that place)
Post by: heganboy on June 20, 2008, 07:27:41 PM
Lake Garda is on your worst list?
are you on drugs? what happened? did you get mugged/heart broken/raped?
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on June 20, 2008, 07:43:21 PM
Best - St Petersburg
         London (surprisingly good)
         Paris

Worst - Strabane
           Ballybunion
           Spain
Post by: ziggysego on June 20, 2008, 07:57:47 PM
Best

Edinburgh
Antwerp
Lourdes

Worst

Birmingham
Ballymena
Casement Park
Post by: Minder on June 20, 2008, 08:57:19 PM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on June 20, 2008, 03:11:27 PM
Who would have thought there would be so many well travelled hoors on thee Board!

Best
Kusadasi
Toronto

Worst
Fuerteventura
Portydown

Good shout on Epehsus!!

Going at end of July, hope it lives up to Goats high praise.
Post by: muppet on June 20, 2008, 09:38:48 PM
Go maith

San Pedro - Belize
Byron Bay - Oz
New Orleans (pre hurricane)
Cesky Krumlov - Czech Republic
Santa Monica

Go dona

Belize city
Oxford
Manila
Washington DC
Buffalo
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 20, 2008, 09:48:29 PM
Best

1) Skellig Rock - the most wondrous place on this planet.
2) Croke Park - Only on a winning Sunday in September
3) New York
4) Nagasaki - Japan
5) Cinque terra - Italy
6) Ljubljana - Slovenia

Worst
1) Turkey
2) Kiev
3) Baltimore - USA
4) Bangkok
5) Suwon - Korea
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 20, 2008, 09:56:11 PM
Best.

1. Port Douglas
2. Ballinskelligs
3. Paris
4. The Glens Pub Crawl Of Distinction
5. Sugarloaf Mountain, Maine

Worst

1. Agree with Bondi - awful let down.
2. Longford
3. Slaughneil
4. Larne
5. Birmingham
Post by: fred the red on June 20, 2008, 09:57:57 PM
Best

The Grand Canal in Venice

Stonehenge

Stockholm

Rio

Ballinasloe

Worst

Glasgow

Edinburgh

Strabane

Craigavon

Cashel
Post by: mhacadoir on June 21, 2008, 12:44:44 AM
Best:

Barcelona
Austria (Lermoos)
Kusadasi
Venice
Donegal Gaeltacht

Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 21, 2008, 12:46:01 AM
Quote from: fred the red on June 20, 2008, 09:57:57 PM
Best

The Grand Canal in Venice

Stonehenge

Stockholm

Rio

Ballinasloe

Worst

Glasgow

Edinburgh

Strabane

Craigavon

Cashel

I didn't like Venice at all,Thought it stank and the rats jumping up from the canals didn't help
Post by: Main Street on June 21, 2008, 01:12:12 AM
Not the best but a fine few quiet days were spent in Glanmore lake hostel on the Kerry side of the Healy pass.

A lovely lake for a swim and just doing nothing in particular.

(http://inlinethumb19.webshots.com/31378/2722238950049325268S600x600Q85.jpg)

Post by: J70 on June 21, 2008, 01:24:51 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on June 20, 2008, 05:23:18 PM
Best.

4. Cancun mexico
5. Lake Tahoe, NV

Worst.

1. Finglas
3. Fresno California
5. Castlederg                                                                                                          Sir.

"Fintra" as in Killybegs?
Post by: J70 on June 21, 2008, 01:38:02 AM
Haven't travelled too much...

Best spots:

Outside of Ireland

New York (city and upstate)
Sanibel, Florida
Prague

In Ireland

Iveragh peninsula
Slieve League
The Burren
Wicklow Mountains

Post by: Puckoon on June 21, 2008, 05:29:48 AM
Quote from: J70 on June 21, 2008, 01:24:51 AM
Best.

4. Cancun mexico
5. Lake Tahoe, NV

Worst.

1. Finglas
3. Fresno California

One and the same. One of the nicest places on earth.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on June 21, 2008, 09:01:54 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 20, 2008, 04:58:30 PM

I'm going back there next week for a stag.  Can't wait!!! four days of madness  ;D ;D
Post by: ludermor on June 22, 2008, 10:09:12 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 20, 2008, 09:38:48 PM
Go maith

San Pedro - Belize
Byron Bay - Oz
New Orleans (pre hurricane)
Cesky Krumlov - Czech Republic
Santa Monica

Stunning wee town alright
Post by: Goats Do Shave on June 23, 2008, 08:06:00 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on June 21, 2008, 05:29:48 AM
Best.

4. Cancun mexico
5. Lake Tahoe, NV

Worst.

1. Finglas
3. Fresno California

I'd agree, used to go there every summer as a kid, love it!

QuoteGoing at end of July, hope it lives up to Goats high praise.

You'll enjoy it! Loads to do, we stayed in the Palmin - lovely hotel!!
Post by: bennydorano on June 23, 2008, 11:03:18 AM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on June 21, 2008, 09:01:54 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 20, 2008, 04:58:30 PM

I'm going back there next week for a stag.  Can't wait!!! four days of madness  ;D ;D
Four days is mad, after two days there I was ready for St Lukes.  Cant say I was overly impressed with Newcastle, full of Squaddies - you could get a slap very quick.
Post by: stephenite on June 23, 2008, 11:14:19 AM
Best :

Achill
Cape Tribulation
Monaco
Edinburgh
Seattle

Worst :

Tuam
Dundee
Glenavon
Gosford
Carlow
Post by: thebandit on June 23, 2008, 11:36:41 AM
Best:

Dubai
New York
Puerto Banus (Chav city, but still a good laugh)
Clones on an Ulster Final day
Paris

Worst:

Playa del Ingles
Salou
Budapest
Basle
Clones any other day
Post by: screenexile on June 23, 2008, 11:43:04 AM
Best:

1. Barca
2. The Alps
3. Paris
4. Toronto

Worst

1. Jordanstown
2. Strabane
3. Newcastle (Some craic but the place is a kip, bodies everywhere after 2 oclock)
4. Wexford (Worst holiday ever BORING)
Post by: Derry Daisy on June 23, 2008, 11:54:54 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on June 20, 2008, 09:56:11 PM
Best.

1. Port Douglas
2. Ballinskelligs
3. Paris
5. Sugarloaf Mountain, Maine

Worst

2. Longford
3. Slaughneil
4. Larne
5. Birmingham

You've never been up the Carn then?? I do enjoy your hate for anything related to slaughtneil :-\
Post by: johnneycool on June 23, 2008, 11:57:02 AM
Best:

1. Queenstown (NZ)
2. Amsterdam
3. Killarney
4. Galway
5. Barcelona (except for the feckin pick pockets)

Worst

1. Tenerife (full of English arseholes trying to get you into crap bars)
2. LARNE
3. Singapore (one big shopping centre and wannabe oriental yanks, soulless place)
4. LARNE
5. LARNE
Post by: ziggysego on June 23, 2008, 11:57:28 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 23, 2008, 11:43:04 AM
1. Jordanstown
2. Strabane
3. Newcastle (Some craic but the place is a kip, bodies everywhere after 2 oclock)
4. Wexford (Worst holiday ever BORING)

I know what you mean. I went to Strabane for my birthday. Don't know why, but never again.
Post by: stevo-08 on June 23, 2008, 11:58:28 AM
Best:
Machu Pichu
Cinque Terre
Galapagos Islands
New York
Sistine Chapel
Buenos Aires

Most Disappointing:
Mchale Park, Castlebar(yesterday) :(
Post by: mouview on June 23, 2008, 12:19:46 PM
Best;

Sydney
Hvar, Croatia
Austria
Rome

Worst;
Dublin
Limerick (city)
Knock (used hate being brought there)
Claremorris (had to pass through to see above)
Post by: bombidal on June 23, 2008, 02:17:48 PM
Best

Koh Tao, Thailand
Roundstone Co. Galway
NY
Las Vegas
Cape of good hope

Post by: isourboydownyet on June 23, 2008, 02:22:23 PM
BEST
1.newyork
2.rio
3.myrtle beech (south carolina)
4.galway

WORST
1.ibiza
2.venice
3.glasgow
4.bundoran
Post by: FL/MAYO on June 23, 2008, 04:34:37 PM
Best.

4. Cancun mexico
5. Lake Tahoe, NV

Worst.

1. Finglas
3. Fresno California

Played a lot of football at Fintra and trained on that beach during the summer, it is a lovely spot alright. A few miles further out the coast road into Kilcar is one of my favourite spots.

Big disappointment was the Giants Causeway, as someone already mentioned it was smaller than I imagined.
Thought Vegas was a dump once you left the strip.
Best places that I have seen are Cape Town and the surrounding area and the Grand Canyon as it was just bigger than I imagined.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 23, 2008, 04:38:28 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on June 23, 2008, 02:22:23 PM

WORST
1.ibiza
2.venice
3.glasgow
4.bundoran

I had Bundoran and Venice in my worst too...Thought Bundoran was a shithole and I thought Venice was a dirty smelly rat infested expensive hole..
Post by: isourboydownyet on June 23, 2008, 04:46:05 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 23, 2008, 04:38:28 PM

WORST
1.ibiza
2.venice
3.glasgow
4.bundoran

I had Bundoran and Venice in my worst too...Thought Bundoran was a shithole and I thought Venice was a dirty smelly rat infested expensive hole..

good to hear someone with the same opinion as myself,i just thought it was a toy town with as you say smelly canals
Post by: ziggysego on June 23, 2008, 04:47:28 PM
Meat Loaf is playing in Bundoran at the end of the month...
Post by: isourboydownyet on June 23, 2008, 04:48:26 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 23, 2008, 04:47:28 PM

2 big dumps
Post by: fred the red on June 23, 2008, 04:48:42 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 23, 2008, 04:47:28 PM

are you going zig? im sure if ur pal tony wins tickets he will offer to bring ya ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 23, 2008, 04:49:57 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on June 23, 2008, 04:46:05 PM

WORST
1.ibiza
2.venice
3.glasgow
4.bundoran

good to hear someone with the same opinion as myself,i just thought it was a toy town with as you say smelly canals

By any chance did you happen to go to Verona while in Italy? Thats a beautiful city,like a mini Rome with a coliseum and all,Only had a day there but would definatly go back for a weekend,Probably had the nicest Lasagne i've ever had in a little resturant there,it would be worth going back just for the lasagne!
Post by: ziggysego on June 23, 2008, 04:50:46 PM
I'd love to go, but he's the warm up act for Shayne Ward.
Post by: isourboydownyet on June 23, 2008, 04:58:12 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 23, 2008, 04:49:57 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on June 23, 2008, 04:46:05 PM

WORST
1.ibiza
2.venice
3.glasgow
4.bundoran

By any chance did you happen to go to Verona while in Italy? Thats a beautiful city,like a mini Rome with a coliseum and all,Only had a day there but would definatly go back for a weekend,Probably had the nicest Lasagne i've ever had in a little resturant there,it would be worth going back just for the lasagne!

naw,was spending the week in lido and took a day trip to venice,have heard verona is a nice spot.i like italy as a whole as there are some beautful places but venice doesnt even feel like italy
Post by: Puckoon on June 23, 2008, 04:59:29 PM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on June 23, 2008, 08:06:00 AM
Best.

4. Cancun mexico
5. Lake Tahoe, NV

Worst.

1. Finglas
3. Fresno California

I'd agree, used to go there every summer as a kid, love it!

QuoteGoing at end of July, hope it lives up to Goats high praise.

You'll enjoy it! Loads to do, we stayed in the Palmin - lovely hotel!!

You must have belonged to the other family that went there then. :)
Post by: flog the lot on June 24, 2008, 11:28:11 AM
best
new zealands south island
melbourne
phi phi (thailand)
whitsunday islands (aus)
kilkenny

worst
bangkok
phuket

Post by: saffron sam2 on June 24, 2008, 01:36:27 PM
Quote from: Derry Daisy on June 23, 2008, 11:54:54 AM
Best.

1. Port Douglas
2. Ballinskelligs
3. Paris
5. Chamonix

Worst

2. Longford
3. Slaughneil
4. Larne
5. Birmingham

You've never been up the Carn then?? I do enjoy your hate for anything related to slaughtneil :-\

I'm assuming I haven't no, but I have no idea what being up the Carn means. I was in Slaughneil recently though for a funeral. The church was at Granahan.

I certainly don't hate everything related to Slaughneil, just have a mild dislike for young Billy. I work with one of your number - a former inter-county hurler.

And I would still put Slaughneil above Larne.

And I want to change Sugarloaf to Chamonix as well.
Post by: Harps 21 on June 24, 2008, 06:38:18 PM
Best:

Isola Bella, Italy (postcards dont do it justice)
Knockalla, Donegal (on a good day!)
Lourdes  (The grotto at nighttime is something else)
Roma
Bruges

Worst:

Antwerp (f*** all to it!)
Larne (self-explanatory)
Katowice (concrete jungle)
Liverpool (too many Scousers)
Stockholm  (found the Swedes pretty cold and distant)
Post by: ExiledGael on June 24, 2008, 06:49:46 PM
Have to agree about Knockalla, pity about the friggin wind just.
Best
Atlanta, Georgia
Ephesus, Turkey
Croke Park
Knockalla, Donegal
Old Hersonossis, Crete

Worst
Hersonossis, Crete
Tyrone
Playa del Ingles
Carrickfergus
England
Post by: deiseach on June 24, 2008, 08:03:53 PM
Quote from: Harps 21 on June 24, 2008, 06:38:18 PM
Liverpool (too many Scousers)

Why would anyone go to Liverpool and be disappointed to find the place filled with Scousers? What were you expecting, Mancs?
Post by: red hander on June 24, 2008, 08:40:23 PM
Best:
1. New York (though Statue of Liberty was a disappointment from Staten Island ferry).
2. Bangkok
3. Hong Kong
4. San Francisco
5. Madrid

Worst:
1. Portadown
2. Granard
3. Roscommon town
4. Lisburn
5. Derry city (full of spides)
Post by: Armaghtothebone on June 24, 2008, 08:52:27 PM
Anyone else ever been to Jerusalem with high hopes only to have them well and truely shattered.

Went on a daytrip from Cyprus and found the whole place to be criminally commercialised. Not a very religious person at the best of times but there would make an atheist out of anyone.
Post by: glens73 on June 24, 2008, 08:57:11 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on June 24, 2008, 01:36:27 PM
Quote from: Derry Daisy on June 23, 2008, 11:54:54 AM
Best.

1. Port Douglas
2. Ballinskelligs
3. Paris
5. Chamonix

Worst

2. Longford
3. Slaughneil
4. Larne
5. Birmingham

I'm assuming I haven't no, but I have no idea what being up the Carn means. I was in Slaughneil recently though for a funeral. The church was at Granahan.

I certainly don't hate everything related to Slaughneil, just have a mild dislike for young Billy. I work with one of your number - a former inter-county hurler.

And I would still put Slaughneil above Larne.

And I want to change Sugarloaf to Chamonix as well.

That's in Swatragh, not Slaughtneil
Post by: tyssam5 on June 24, 2008, 09:12:04 PM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on June 24, 2008, 08:52:27 PM
Anyone else ever been to Jerusalem with high hopes only to have them well and truely shattered.

Went on a daytrip from Cyprus and found the whole place to be criminally commercialised. Not a very religious person at the best of times but there would make an atheist out of anyone.

I thought Jerusalem was great, especially the Arab quarter.
Post by: Armaghtothebone on June 24, 2008, 09:39:48 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on June 24, 2008, 09:12:04 PM

Maybe my expectations were too high and thats why I came away disappointed. The Church of the Nativity broke my heart....Greedy Greek orthodox prists at the door with a collection basket. Put in Cypriot change and they blocked us. Tour guide explained they wanted notes only. Could'nt help but think of Jesus and the moneychangers in the Temple.
Post by: Solomon Kane on June 24, 2008, 10:03:52 PM
Best- Rome
        Edinburgh
        Amsterdam
        Jersey
        Vienna

Worst - Bundoran (by a country mile)
           Glasgow
           Falaraki
           Dungannon/Cookstown
           Anywhere in England

I don't know how anyone could describe Larne as disappointing. That implies you didn't think it was a shit-hole in the first place. It is indeed a shit-hole but it is still a lot nicer than Bundoran.     
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 24, 2008, 10:28:18 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on June 24, 2008, 10:03:52 PM
Best- Rome
        Edinburgh
        Amsterdam
        Jersey
        Vienna

Glasgow
           Falaraki
           Dungannon/Cookstown
           Anywhere in England

I don't know how anyone could describe Larne as disappointing. That implies you didn't think it was a shit-hole in the first place. It is indeed a shit-hole but it is still a lot nicer than Bundoran.     

Was never in Larne but i doubt anywhere could be as bad as Bundoran
Post by: MW on June 24, 2008, 10:58:29 PM
Quote from: Canalman on June 20, 2008, 12:57:19 PM
Carrying on the recent trend for lists here are my 5 best and most disappointing places I have visited:-

BEST

1 New York
2 Jerusalem (the place oozes history)

Funny enough when I saw the thread title I was going to say this, even without reading your post!

I thought it was amazing, just being in the Old City, actually walking its streets, going to the Western Wall, going up on the Temple Mount and thinking how much history is connected with it (and lets face it, how many millions of people would kill or die over that tiny piece of Earth) - and the Dome of the Rock, the most beautiful building I've ever seen
Post by: MW on June 24, 2008, 11:20:07 PM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on June 24, 2008, 09:39:48 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on June 24, 2008, 09:12:04 PM

Maybe my expectations were too high and thats why I came away disappointed. The Church of the Nativity broke my heart....Greedy Greek orthodox prists at the door with a collection basket. Put in Cypriot change and they blocked us. Tour guide explained they wanted notes only. Could'nt help but think of Jesus and the moneychangers in the Temple.

The Church of the Nativity is in Bethlehem - do you mean the Church of the Holy Sepulchre? ???

OK I can sort of see where you're coming from with the Church of the Holy Sepulchre - though firstly as an agnostic I wasn't going for 'religious' reasons (but with a keen interest in the world's great religions, plus a religious-ish upbrining that meant I'd had mental maps of these places from my infancy)and also I knew beforehand that the Holy Sepulchre is a very 'unholy' feeling holy place. The competing denominations (no brotherhood among Christians there :o) and the tourism see to that. But I tried to both look past and embrace it - to stand at Golgotha and think is is probably where Jesus of Nazareth the historical man actually died is pretty amazing - equally I found it fascinating (especially since we think in this part of the world that the much more recent divisions between Western Christianities are the be all and end all) to see the Latin, Greek Orthodox, Armenian, Coptic, Syriac Orthodox and Ethiopian Orthodox priests all uneasily occupying their own areas.

Thousands of years of history collide in the Old City - all those Biblical stories about Jerusalem too place here, you can see the remains of the 'City of David' from the very beginning of the Israelite presence, this is the city the Crusaders came all the way from Europe massacrinhg thousands on their way to hol, right through to the fact that as you enter the Old City by the Jaffa Gate, you've actually crossed the Green Line and under international law left Israel and entered occupied territory - something which of course Israel would hotly dispute.

You've got the holiest site in Judaism, the Western Wall, and right beside it the third holiest site in Islam - on the site of the Jewish Temple of Biblical fame. On the other side of the Temple Mount you've got the Mount of Olives - from where Jesus entered the city, from where the Arab conquerors first sighted the city, from where the Crusaders looked down before taking the city, and the Israelis did the same only 41 years ago. The same hill Jews, Muslims and Christians believe the 'Righteous' will be gathered on before the Last Judgement.

Sure there's commercialisation, lots of it, and eventually you get tired of yet another church were Jesus, Mary or a disciple is supposed to have done this or that - but I think it's an amazing place. And one you don't have to be religious to be impressed by - hey, maybe it helps not to be religious.
Post by: MW on June 24, 2008, 11:22:44 PM
Quote from: stevo-08 on June 23, 2008, 11:58:28 AM
Best:
Machu Pichu
Cinque Terre
Galapagos Islands
New York
Sistine Chapel
Buenos Aires

Most Disappointing:
Mchale Park, Castlebar(yesterday) :(

You weren't at these last year by any chance were you?
Post by: Solomon Kane on June 24, 2008, 11:23:56 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 24, 2008, 10:28:18 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on June 24, 2008, 10:03:52 PM
Best- Rome
        Edinburgh
        Amsterdam
        Jersey
        Vienna

Glasgow
           Falaraki
           Dungannon/Cookstown
           Anywhere in England

Was never in Larne but i doubt anywhere could be as bad as Bundoran

Larne at least has a purpose for being on the planet - it has a ferry terminal. There is no reason at all for Bundoran to exist.
Post by: Gold on June 24, 2008, 11:53:26 PM
me and 3 mates are looking to book somewhere for 1 week in August. Somewhere where theres guarenteed sun, a beach and plenty to do day and night

Where do you's recommend?

Kusadasi seems to be gettin good press here although we had thought about Ibiza but people are writing it off here(we arnt into the disco biscuits so maybe Ibiza is not for us)
Post by: the green man on June 24, 2008, 11:59:27 PM
Best

New York
Prague
Brno
Rome
North Donegal

Worst

Coleraine
Blyth
Glasgow
Vienna
Post by: Yes I Would on June 25, 2008, 12:05:44 AM
Ayia Napa gold, you should get all on your wish list!!!
Post by: the green man on June 25, 2008, 12:12:30 AM
I forgot to add that Prague was a top one before all the cheap flights, and loud mouth limeys got their. It has went down hill since then. Was good 10 year ago mind.
Post by: the green man on June 25, 2008, 12:16:59 AM
In fact most places are sound, until the English find out about them
Post by: rosnarun on June 25, 2008, 12:42:11 AM
best
coolooo Moylough
Tourmakeady
mullranny
keel
Keem

worst
Donegal town
co donegal
ballyshannon
Kinlough
Castlerea(best part of my life wasted there wrongly too)
Post by: turf123 on June 25, 2008, 12:52:35 AM
Best
Connemara
New York
Italy

Worst
Port laoise-most unfriendly place i have ever visited...bad memories there for various reasons. drove the whole way down to see derry play them last year and we managed to see the last 5 minutes of the game!!
Post by: downgirl on June 25, 2008, 12:59:05 AM
Quote from: Yes I Would on June 20, 2008, 01:58:18 PM

WORST

1. Playa del Ingles
2. Istanbul
3. Copperface Jacks
4. Wexford
5. Kilkeel

haha Yes I Would...Kilkeel...brilliant  :D 
Post by: Yes I Would on June 25, 2008, 01:01:29 AM
It has to be right up there, and for anyone who has never been, well dont bother!!
Post by: downgirl on June 25, 2008, 01:05:46 AM
lol i hope you didn't go there specially for the day did you??!!
Post by: Yes I Would on June 25, 2008, 01:12:16 AM
Passed through it a few times. Cant remember exactly why cause its really on the road to nowhere
Just maybe a bit too colourful for my liking!!
Post by: downgirl on June 25, 2008, 01:14:38 AM
colourful??
Post by: Yes I Would on June 25, 2008, 01:16:26 AM
Red white blue together wouldnt be my favourite combination!!
Post by: downgirl on June 25, 2008, 01:19:40 AM
ah rite ok get ya now lol apologies its late the brain isnt working right!
Post by: Rossie11 on June 25, 2008, 11:10:56 AM
QuoteCastlerea(best part of my life wasted there wrongly too)
locked up??
Post by: donalmac99 on June 25, 2008, 11:39:53 AM
best

vienna
new york
amsterdam
tampa
girona
edinburgh

worst
playa de ingles
paris
prague
letterkenny
all of australia
Post by: The Subbie on June 27, 2008, 04:18:25 PM
Best:
1 Oaxahca Mexico
2 Caye Caulker Belize
3 Bay Islands Honduras
4 Chaing MAi Thailand
5 Pai Thailand

Worst
1 Vientiane Laos
2 Guatemala city
3 Larne
4 Bangor
5 Enniskillen.
Post by: Puckoon on June 27, 2008, 05:27:51 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on June 27, 2008, 04:18:25 PM
Best:
1 Oaxahca Mexico
2 Caye Caulker Belize
3 Bay Islands Honduras
4 Chaing MAi Thailand
5 Pai Thailand

Worst
1 Vientiane Laos
2 Guatemala city
3 Larne
4 Bangor
5 Enniskillen.

I heard on the wireless the other day that skin town now has a sushi resturaunt. It should at least be above bangor.
Post by: bingobus on June 27, 2008, 05:33:00 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on June 27, 2008, 05:27:51 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on June 27, 2008, 04:18:25 PM
Best:
1 Oaxahca Mexico
2 Caye Caulker Belize
3 Bay Islands Honduras
4 Chaing MAi Thailand
5 Pai Thailand

Worst
1 Vientiane Laos
2 Guatemala city
3 Larne
4 Bangor
5 Enniskillen.

I heard on the wireless the other day that skin town now has a sushi resturaunt. It should at least be above bangor.

You misunderstood, it said a chipper was caught serving raw fish. Not sushi but a very bad Fish and chip supper  ;D
Post by: ExiledGael on June 27, 2008, 08:22:22 PM
You going home sick from skin town had nothing to do with that raw fish Bingobus
Post by: dodgy umpire on June 27, 2008, 10:49:38 PM
Best:
boston
amsterdam
achill island

Worst:
Musgrave Police station
Post by: 5 Sams on June 28, 2008, 09:19:20 PM
Just wanted to add one to my best list. I'm ashamed to say that I saw the Sliabh Liag cliffs above Teilinn today for the first time this morning....awesome....scary drive or what!! Especially with a gallon of porter in you the night before :o :o

(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:p-LTX-zVpyg-QM:http://www.taliesin.co.uk/glen_2000/sliabh_liag_896.jpg)

Post by: the milkman on June 30, 2008, 05:20:20 PM

Best;

Whitsunday Islands
Melbourne
Rome
Land Between the Lake's (Tennessee)
Great Smokey Mountains
London

Worrrrrrst;

St.Louis
Larne
Portadown
Five mile town

Post by: Aerlik on July 01, 2008, 09:45:44 AM
Best:
1) Tomiyama village - the smallest in Japan, on the Aichi/Shizuoka/Nagano Prefectures' border.  Picture perfect and absolutely beautiful.
2) Vinh Moc tunnels, Vietnam
3) Karajini National Park, Western Australia.  Fly over it often and just love the place.
4) Malin Head, Donegal
5) Movanagher Forest, Kilrea (on a summer evening)

Worst:
1) Hong Kong, smelly effin cesspit
2) Ho Chi Minh City, not far behind HK
3) Coleraine/Larne/Ballymena
4) London
5) Glasgow...even worse than Blackpool!
Post by: Truth hurts on September 30, 2022, 02:09:23 PM
Worst-Lourdes, what a rip off
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 30, 2022, 02:18:57 PM
Worst-Giants Causeway
Post by: SamFever on September 30, 2022, 02:21:26 PM
Quote from: Truth hurts on September 30, 2022, 02:09:23 PM
Worst-Lourdes, what a rip off

Restarting a thread that hasn't been posted on since July 2008. :o :o Gobsmacked.
   Lourdes obviously didn't work it's magic on you going by the amount of drivel you
spouted over the past while on the Down Board.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 30, 2022, 02:28:41 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 30, 2022, 02:18:57 PM
Worst-Giants Causeway

Giants causeway looks a lot bigger in pictures and disappointing at first up close. It's still a cool bit of geological formations.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 30, 2022, 02:30:30 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 30, 2022, 02:18:57 PM
Worst-Giants Causeway

Found it very underwhelming myself.

Best: Las Vegas.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 30, 2022, 02:50:38 PM
Seeing 5 Sams in a thread brings me back to a bad place. Hard to believe it's 5 years since we lost him....
Post by: seafoid on September 30, 2022, 02:58:17 PM
Best :
Kyoto, Japan
Beirut, Lebanon
Gougane Barra

Worst :
Portadown
Strabane
Delhi, India
Post by: markl121 on September 30, 2022, 03:04:50 PM
Best: Madeira
         Glencoe
         Liverpool
         North Donegal
         Edinburgh
        Glendalough

Worst: Paris (total kip)
          Amsterdam (overrated)
          Glasgow (shite)
          Giants Causeway (meh)
Post by: RedHand88 on September 30, 2022, 03:47:24 PM
Best: Florida, Tennessee, Boston, Berlin, Budapest, Brisbane

Worst: Los Angeles (kip), Bratislava, Leeds.

seafoid... That's not fair to Delhi

EDIT: Bruges is class and everyone should go to it once.
Post by: Truth hurts on September 30, 2022, 03:59:46 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 30, 2022, 02:58:17 PM
Best :
Kyoto, Japan
Beirut, Lebanon
Gougane Barra

Worst :
Portadown
Strabane
Delhi, India

I'll see your Portadown and raise you Kilkeel
Post by: johnnycool on September 30, 2022, 04:11:57 PM
Quote from: Truth hurts on September 30, 2022, 03:59:46 PM
Best :
Kyoto, Japan
Beirut, Lebanon
Gougane Barra

Worst :
Portadown
Strabane
Delhi, India

Who goes out of their way to visit Portadown or Kilkeel?

That's like me saying to the wife, "lets take the kids to Larne for the day"....

Post by: AustinPowers on September 30, 2022, 04:17:54 PM
Best - Dingle Peninsula, Aran islands, Achill

Worst - can't say  I've been really disappointed anywhere on holiday  although  giants causeway is very underwhelming
Post by: Taylor on September 30, 2022, 04:39:21 PM
Best - LA, Vegas, Florida, Newcastle (geordies), Dallas, Adeje

Worst - Dublin, Belfast, Boston, San Fran, Strangford Aquarium, Dundalk
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2022, 04:50:27 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 30, 2022, 04:11:57 PM
Best :
Kyoto, Japan
Beirut, Lebanon
Gougane Barra

Worst :
Portadown
Strabane
Delhi, India

That's like me saying to the wife, "lets take the kids to Larne for the day"....
You are missing out on Carnfunnock.
Post by: tbrick18 on September 30, 2022, 05:04:55 PM
Best - Brussels, Copenhagen, Prague, Vegas, Chicago, Achill, Galway (though havent been in years), Lisbon, Derry

Worst - Westport, Donegal (I just dont get it), Portadown, Moygashel, Paris, Hamburg, Salou, Giant's Causeway
Post by: seafoid on September 30, 2022, 05:21:56 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 30, 2022, 04:11:57 PM
Best :
Kyoto, Japan
Beirut, Lebanon
Gougane Barra

Worst :
Portadown
Strabane
Delhi, India

I wanted to see the Garvaghy Road. It was late 90s.
Post by: thewobbler on September 30, 2022, 05:24:42 PM
For golf trips:

Best: Downings, Sligo town, Quinta Do Lago.

Worst: em, no. Maybe Druids Glen as the hotel is in the middle of nowhere and it's v expensive for booze. But it's still better than being at home! Maybe Ayr as it's a shithole but the courses are good.
Post by: J70 on September 30, 2022, 05:30:06 PM
Best: Canadian Rockies (Banff, Yoho etc. - most spectacular scenery I've ever seen), Liverpool, Glacier National Park, Kauai, Adirondacks, Hudson Valley, Columbia River Gorge

Worst: Blarney (what a waste of time!), town of Lake George NY (like a MAGA version of Bundoran), Ellis Island (years ago, but I just found the whole lay out and presentation underwhelming).
Post by: gawa316 on September 30, 2022, 05:49:49 PM
Best - Achill, Rossnowlagh, Morro Bay, San Diego, Kauai

Worst - LA on the whole isn't a great place but lots great stuff still to do. Went to a USC Notre Dame game which was unbelievable. Brought the kids to Universal in July and had a great day. San Fran I would say the same..lots of great things to like the zoo and the academy of science but so much homelessness and activities that go with that, puts you off bringing the kids
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 30, 2022, 06:16:23 PM
Best:
Paris. Could not get enough of the place.
Manhattan
Vancouver
Chicago
Santa Cruz, California
Capitola, California (we go there regularly with the children. Very handy little beach with everything you need close at hand)
St Petersburg (it was called Leningrad then)
Moscow

Worst:
Orlando, Florida
Rural Texas

Underwhelming:
Glencar Waterfall. A short walk from the road and there it is, a miniature waterfall. I though, "is that it?!"
Post by: AustinPowers on September 30, 2022, 06:22:06 PM
@Eamonnca1

Glencar is a  great wee spot.  Always make a point of  stopping there  when down that way  .  Good cafe and good spot to stretch the legs

There's another taller  waterfall nearby too , but haven't been to it yet . Will do that next  time we stop
Post by: gawa316 on September 30, 2022, 06:31:26 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on September 30, 2022, 06:16:23 PM
Best:
Manhattan
Vancouver
Chicago
Santa Cruz, California
Capitola, California (we go there regularly with the children. Very handy little beach with everything you need close at hand)
Moscow

Worst:
Orlando, Florida
Rural Texas

Underwhelming:
Glencar Waterfall. A short walk from the road and there it is, a miniature waterfall. I though, "is that it?!"

Great spot...ever go to the Shadowbrook restaurant?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 30, 2022, 08:33:20 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on September 30, 2022, 06:31:26 PM
Best:
Manhattan
Vancouver
Chicago
Santa Cruz, California
Moscow

Worst:
Orlando, Florida
Rural Texas

Underwhelming:

No but it looks good. Must try it out, thanks for the tip. We tend to get fish n chips at the Britannia Arms which is right there at the beach, or tacos from one of the Mexican eating houses nearby.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 30, 2022, 08:35:14 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on September 30, 2022, 05:49:49 PM
Best - Achill, Rossnowlagh, Morro Bay, San Diego, Kauai

Worst - LA on the whole isn't a great place but lots great stuff still to do. Went to a USC Notre Dame game which was unbelievable. Brought the kids to Universal in July and had a great day. San Fran I would say the same..lots of great things to like the zoo and the academy of science but so much homelessness and activities that go with that, puts you off bringing the kids

Ever go to Long Beach? I quite liked it. The Queen Mary is worth visiting if you're into old art deco and history stuff. Santa Monica's another nice spot, I quite liked that.
Post by: Substandard on September 30, 2022, 08:38:12 PM
Best: Paris, Munich- loads to see and do, beautiful architecture and so much history.  The school tours are great that way- left to my own devices, I wouldn't either find or be organised enough to see a fraction of the itinerary.  Honorable mention to Salzburg- a beautiful city with a statue of a Laois man outside the cathedral as one of the founders.
Worst: the Mona Lisa.  Was expecting something the size of the gable of the house, instead an A4 page with about 10 million Japanese tourists in front of me.
Such a letdown!!!
Title: Re: Best/Most Disappointing Places You Have Visited
Post by: imtommygunn on September 30, 2022, 09:18:21 PM
I thought LA was a letdown too.

Best in terms of expectations I ever visited was a place called kotor in Montenegro. No expectations but as beautiful a place as you'd see. Spectacular. I know it's hyped but Rome is phenomenal to visit.
Post by: TwoUpTwoDown on September 30, 2022, 09:28:57 PM
Best:
Vietnam - in particular Hanoi and Phong Nha.
Holy Land - Jerusalem, Bethlehem and Masada etc

Worst:
Manchester and Madrid
Post by: Gold on September 30, 2022, 10:59:42 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 30, 2022, 09:18:21 PM
I thought LA was a letdown too.

Best in terms of expectations I ever visited was a place called kotor in Montenegro. No expectations but as beautiful a place as you'd see. Spectacular. I know it's hyped but Rome is phenomenal to visit.

The wee Chapel on the wee island in the middle of the Bay of Kotor at Perest is heavenly
Post by: bennydorano on September 30, 2022, 11:04:27 PM
Liverpool is some spot. Unreal nightlife and I'd the most spiritual hour of my life in the Metropolitan Cathedral, inspiring building, inside & out.
Post by: mrdeeds on September 30, 2022, 11:05:17 PM
Best- New Zealand both islands by a mile.
Fiji, Halong Bay Vietnam, PhiPhi Thailand, Las Vegas honourable mentions.

Worst- Downtown LA, Tunisia, Vienna
Post by: Olly on September 30, 2022, 11:14:25 PM
LOVEEEEED: FALLS RD BOWLING CLUB. KEADY CHIP SJJI+--------OP. ROME
HATEE+D: BRU OFFICE, BROS CONV+CERT, SION MILLS
Post by: gawa316 on October 01, 2022, 12:36:56 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on September 30, 2022, 08:33:20 PM
Best:
Manhattan
Vancouver
Chicago
Santa Cruz, California
Moscow

Worst:
Orlando, Florida
Rural Texas

Underwhelming:

No but it looks good. Must try it out, thanks for the tip. We tend to get fish n chips at the Britannia Arms which is right there at the beach, or tacos from one of the Mexican eating houses nearby.

Definitely more of a 'bring the missus' spot and leave the kids at home.

Yes been to Long Beach...anywhere along the coast is class IMO. LA is so fricking big it's actually hard to just say it's good or bad...maybe the 405 memories put a negative swing on it for me. The wife's uncle lives in Encino in a house you would see on cribs...I definitely do not mind going there and getting fed and watered with the infinity pool to dip the toe
Post by: PMG1 on October 01, 2022, 01:53:32 AM
Best: Porto (beautiful city, people and food)
Tokyo
Tomakomai
Zell Am See in Austria (in summertime)
Beziers
Prague
Brisbane / Gold Coast
Bratislava

Worst:
Giants Causeway (brought a Japanese supplier there and was embarrassed)
Paris
Leeds
Portrush
Rome (beautiful but no nightlife)
Venice
Post by: theskull1 on October 01, 2022, 11:47:49 AM
Not disagreeing with the negative sentiment regarding the Giants Causeway itself....but if you like walking, you will not be disappointed doing the the Causeway Way walk from Ballintoy (or from Dunseverick Castle for a short stroll) to the Giants Causeway.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 01, 2022, 02:32:33 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 01, 2022, 11:47:49 AM
Not disagreeing with the negative sentiment regarding the Giants Causeway itself....but if you like walking, you will not be disappointed doing the the Causeway Way walk from Ballintoy (or from Dunseverick Castle for a short stroll) to the Giants Causeway.

Post by: Silver hill on October 01, 2022, 02:36:36 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on October 01, 2022, 02:32:33 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 01, 2022, 11:47:49 AM

It's not bad but completely overhyped. Underwhelmed would be the emotion that I would use. Same with the dark hedges.....what a load of oul bollocks.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on October 01, 2022, 03:51:37 PM
I live beside the Giants Causeway. There was an old saying "worth seeing but not worth going to see".

Agree with skull the cliff path is incredible for scenery haven't seen anything anywhere better including the grand canyon.

Worst place I was ever in was the east side of Chicago.
Post by: trailer on October 03, 2022, 01:17:25 PM
Cannot believe I missed this thread.

Best places?
London. Love it. Brilliant city. Lots to do restaurants, night life all fantastic.
New York. Again loads to do.
San Francisco. More laid back but great city

Worst?

Donegal top of that list. From Bundoran to Downings they have completely ruined a nice county with some of the most appalling planning decisions ever made. The CC has never heard of footpaths. 80% of all houses built remain unfinished. Card payment technology hasn't reached them yet and it f**king rains a lot. Completely overrated.

Philadelphia. A real shit hole. It does have footpaths but like Donegal - Avoid!

Post by: Targetman on October 03, 2022, 01:26:29 PM
Just back from 5 nights in Vegas, loved it with the highlight being the helicopter ride to the Grand Canyon, worst place is a no brainier Kilkeel!!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 03, 2022, 01:44:14 PM
Best places:
As mentioned above New York, so much to do and see
London is an amazing city like New York but on your doorstep, enjoyed Liverpool recently (oh that feels dirty) heading over end of month for the day again
South of France, beautiful place with great family holidays as memories
Locally for me with the dogs, the Mournes and Donegal (sorry Trailer lol) but where I go with friends its always been a great spot for walks banter and good food..

Worst places: Not overly fussed on Paris, might give it another go and plan things better than last time
Florida, been 3 times and bar the fun the kids had at Disney I wasn't a big fan, parks are grand though.
Tayto park
Post by: lurganblue on October 03, 2022, 02:29:44 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on September 30, 2022, 11:05:17 PM

Surely not? What a city. Culture, Art, Music, Food and wine. Stunning buildings etc. What experience made it one of the worst places for you?
Post by: J70 on October 03, 2022, 02:56:46 PM
Quote from: trailer on October 03, 2022, 01:17:25 PM
Cannot believe I missed this thread.

Best places?
London. Love it. Brilliant city. Lots to do restaurants, night life all fantastic.
New York. Again loads to do.
San Francisco. More laid back but great city

Worst?

Donegal top of that list. From Bundoran to Downings they have completely ruined a nice county with some of the most appalling planning decisions ever made. The CC has never heard of footpaths. 80% of all houses built remain unfinished. Card payment technology hasn't reached them yet and it f**king rains a lot. Completely overrated.

Philadelphia. A real shit hole. It does have footpaths but like Donegal - Avoid!

It's been a few years since I've been home, but the place must have gone seriously downhill since National Geographic labeled us "coolest place in the world" in 2017.

Maybe the CC should have diverted some of the NG money to finishing off those footpaths and houses! :D
Post by: screenexile on October 03, 2022, 03:03:45 PM
I never used to be a fan of Donegal but having spent a lot of time up in Inishowen the last year or so it's absolutely fantastic. Scenery/People/Food/Things to do ... It has definitely converted me!!
Post by: Armamike on October 03, 2022, 03:36:10 PM
Not an exhaustive list.

Best:

Grand Canyon
Savannah (pretty unique)
New York
Berlin
Barcelona
San Francisco
Prague
Amalfi coast
Antrim Glens
Galway
Ring of Kerry

Worst:

Phoenix
Paris
Strabane
Dungannon
Keady  :)

Post by: red hander on October 03, 2022, 03:42:36 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on October 03, 2022, 02:29:44 PM

Surely not? What a city. Culture, Art, Music, Food and wine. Stunning buildings etc. What experience made it one of the worst places for you?

Over for Ireland game few years back, got steamboats on hot rum punch outside the big cathedral and pile of pints (Austrian beer is as good and as strong as German, and I thought big steak would help absorb it), ended up headbutting the pavement and requiring ambulance attention. They chased me for a €550 bill for years despite my European medical card until they finally gave up. Still love the place, been about four times.
Post by: mrdeeds on October 03, 2022, 03:49:55 PM

I've seen a good chunk of world and never been as bored as I was in Vienna.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 03, 2022, 04:01:46 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on October 03, 2022, 03:49:55 PM

It means nothing to you!?

I've seen a good chunk of world and never been as bored as I was in Vienna.
Post by: An Watcher on October 03, 2022, 04:04:50 PM
Obviously a number of people on here have never been in the Farmers Home in Strabane.  A tremendous establishment
Post by: Rudi on October 03, 2022, 04:06:43 PM
Quote from: Armamike on October 03, 2022, 03:36:10 PM
Not an exhaustive list.

Best:

Grand Canyon
Savannah (pretty unique)
New York
Berlin
Barcelona
San Francisco
Prague
Amalfi coast
Antrim Glens
Galway
Ring of Kerry

Worst:

Phoenix
Paris
Strabane
Dungannon

Was in Phoenix one April. Beautiful weather & thought place was great. Was work related & stayed in a fancy enough spot. Thought downtown was great, had a great night in Alice Coopers place. Even got the face painted, stopped some cyclist half cut at 1.00 in the morning, took off on his bike for a 3k spin around the city. He was glad to see me ;D come back.  ;D
Post by: Rudi on October 03, 2022, 04:15:55 PM
best

Rural Norway
London City Centre
San Fran (2005)
Colorado springs - actually all of Colorado, front & back ranges.
Amalfi Coast
Sicily - glorious
La Pineda - Tarragona
Lakes in Michigan
Erri PA
Phoenix
Linz Austria
Rural Germany around the Black Forest, great spot what a surprise
Smokie mountains

worst
Portimao - Prai de Rocha
Wisconsin
Detroit
Flint Michigan
Dublin inner city
Majorca - Santa Ponza
New Orleans, strange spot maybe too much tourists.

How could I have forgotten Glasgow,  biggest sectarian shithole on the planet. Newcastle another mess

Post by: screenexile on October 03, 2022, 05:05:50 PM
Best:

Barcelona
Toronto
Bruges
Krakow
Dubrovnik
Reykjavik
Prague
Lake Garda

Worst
Edinburgh (Just I had a poor NYE night there not sure it was Ediburgh's fault)
Newcastle (County down and NE England)
Donegal Town (Meh)
Bundoran (Meh)
Valencia (Probably OK for a city break but went there on a stag do... it's not the place for a stag)
Eindhoven - (Pretty boring place with most people stoned in it)
Valletta - Malta (Other than the weather not sure what else it has really)
Stoke (Jesus!)
Anywhere in Tyrone (Self explanatory)
Post by: tonto1888 on October 03, 2022, 05:28:27 PM
Best

Chicago
Durban
Paris
Edinburgh

Worst

London
Post by: JoG2 on October 03, 2022, 05:49:28 PM
Anyone with either London or Donegal on their worst / disappointing list is the problem, not the destinations
Post by: Cunny Funt on October 03, 2022, 05:55:53 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 03, 2022, 03:03:45 PM
I never used to be a fan of Donegal but having spent a lot of time up in Inishowen the last year or so it's absolutely fantastic. Scenery/People/Food/Things to do ... It has definitely converted me!!

Lovely spot, spent many summers in my youth there. Due a trip back there as last visit near 20 years ago.
Post by: seafoid on October 03, 2022, 06:44:56 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on October 03, 2022, 05:49:28 PM
Anyone with either London or Donegal on their worst / disappointing list is the problem, not the destinations
London has plenty of kips. Loads of homeless. Turbo inequality. It also has fabulous nightlife and great restaurants.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 03, 2022, 07:46:04 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 03, 2022, 06:44:56 PM
London has plenty of kips. Loads of homeless. Turbo inequality. It also has fabulous nightlife and great restaurants.

If you are going on a city break to London you'll hardly end up in the kips unless you did so on purpose..

Plenty homeless Galway, around about 300 odds this month
Post by: seafoid on October 03, 2022, 07:53:13 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 03, 2022, 07:46:04 PM

If you are going on a city break to London you'll hardly end up in the kips unless you did so on purpose..

You can see some of them on the way in from Heathrow.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 03, 2022, 09:16:43 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 03, 2022, 07:53:13 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 03, 2022, 07:46:04 PM

You can see some of them on the way in from Heathrow.

Heathrow county Galway?
Post by: Sportacus on October 03, 2022, 09:53:22 PM
Belfast city centre - dirty hole.
London city centre - shining.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on October 03, 2022, 10:01:54 PM
 Donegal town worst place ;D wtf unless you got into a fight with a drunk at kicking out time then I can't see what the problem is.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 03, 2022, 10:06:49 PM
Quote from: Sportacus on October 03, 2022, 09:53:22 PM
Belfast city centre - dirty hole.
London city centre - shining.

Yeah Belfast has went to the dogs in main shopping area.
Post by: Orior on October 03, 2022, 10:08:36 PM
Most disappointing place visited - the Armagh page on the Local GAA Board.
Post by: HiMucker on October 03, 2022, 10:14:36 PM
Best
Morzine
Malaga
Yucatan

Worst/Dissapointing
Manchester
Portrush
Miami

Post by: whitey on October 03, 2022, 11:06:24 PM
Worst

Nottingham. I didn't see one middle (or upper) class person in the whole city. Nothing but scumbags

Best

Chicago
NYC (pre pandemic)
Arizona
Post by: screenexile on October 04, 2022, 12:45:39 AM
Quote from: whitey on October 03, 2022, 11:06:24 PM
Worst

Nottingham. I didn't see one middle (or upper) class person in the whole city. Nothing but scumbags

Best

Chicago
NYC (pre pandemic)
Arizona

Well that's an interesting take. . .
Post by: whitey on October 04, 2022, 01:09:19 AM
Quote from: screenexile on October 04, 2022, 12:45:39 AM
Worst

Best

Chicago
NYC (pre pandemic)
Arizona

I was fearful of even stepping foot inside most of the establishments in the City Center - given who was hanging around outside (and I'm well able to take care of myself)
Post by: red hander on October 04, 2022, 03:45:36 AM
How can you tell someone is middle class of upper class by looking at them from the hotel door? Jesus. I think this is the weirdest shit I've ever read in my life. Grow a set of balls and explore. Step outside your comfort zone. I've wondered round the streets of Belgrade, Chisinau, Stockholm, Copenhagen, Paris, Lisbon, Amsterdam, Larnaca, Madrid, Barcelona, Toulouse, New York, Chicago, San Francisco etc etc etc pissed outta my skull and never had any shit. f**king LIVE. Give it a try.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 04, 2022, 07:42:56 AM
Quote from: whitey on October 04, 2022, 01:09:19 AM
Quote from: screenexile on October 04, 2022, 12:45:39 AM
Worst

Best

Chicago
NYC (pre pandemic)
Arizona

I was fearful of even stepping foot inside most of the establishments in the City Center - given who was hanging around outside (and I'm well able to take care of myself)

Used to go there regularly and frequent pubs. I always found it a nice place.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on October 04, 2022, 08:11:41 AM
Worst

Best

Chicago
NYC (pre pandemic)
Arizona
No working class people about Nottingham  either ?
Post by: trailer on October 04, 2022, 08:54:20 AM
Didn't like Galway last time I was in it. Lots of crusties. Not a family friendly place at all.
Post by: seafoid on October 04, 2022, 09:24:31 AM
I really enjoyed this place

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tullyhogue_Fort
Post by: Snapchap on October 04, 2022, 10:20:11 AM
A couple of brief observations:

1. If you think anyone who isn't middle or upper class is a "sc**bag", then you are the very definition of the word yourself.
2. Absolutely bizarre enough to think anyone might as much as dislike Donegal, but to say it's among the worst places you've ever been? That must be an attempt at attention seeking? If not then what sort of joyless wonders are there in this world? If Donegal doesn't blow you away, then as someone else suggested, it's maybe you that's the problem.
Post by: Ash Smoker on October 04, 2022, 10:57:43 AM
A lot of people disappointed with Santa Ponsa and the Canary Islands. What were they expecting when they booked there?
Post by: trailer on October 04, 2022, 11:42:43 AM
Quote from: Armamike on October 03, 2022, 03:36:10 PM
Not an exhaustive list.

Best:

Grand Canyon
Savannah (pretty unique)
New York
Berlin
Barcelona
San Francisco
Prague
Amalfi coast
Antrim Glens
Galway
Ring of Kerry

Worst:

Phoenix
Paris
Strabane
Dungannon

Why would you "visit" these places? Dungannon doesn't even have a hotel!
Post by: trailer on October 04, 2022, 11:43:08 AM
Quote from: Snapchap on October 04, 2022, 10:20:11 AM
A couple of brief observations:

1. If you think anyone who isn't middle or upper class is a "sc**bag", then you are the very definition of the word yourself.
2. Absolutely bizarre enough to think anyone might as much as dislike Donegal, but to say it's among the worst places you've ever been? That must be an attempt at attention seeking? If not then what sort of joyless wonders are there in this world? If Donegal doesn't blow you away, then as someone else suggested, it's maybe you that's the problem.

Donegal? Not for me Bill.
Post by: thewobbler on October 04, 2022, 11:47:37 AM
Quote from: Ash Smoker on October 04, 2022, 10:57:43 AM
A lot of people disappointed with Santa Ponsa and the Canary Islands. What were they expecting when they booked there?

I'm always amused by this too. If you've got 5-star tastes (and the means to pay) then why go to 3-star parts of the world and expect it to be something else?

Probably the most disappointing city I've been to was Toronto, but in context. The context being that is just spent 4 days in a balmy busy New York, which was absolutely electric. Similarly, Orlando's nightlife after a spring break in Daytona Beach, was very pedestrian, but context is everything.
Post by: rrhf on October 04, 2022, 12:17:22 PM
I find Leitrim up there...
Post by: imtommygunn on October 04, 2022, 12:56:57 PM
I stayed in a great place in Leitrim recently. An air b and b up the side of a mountain that was in a farmers yard lol.
Post by: rosskarr on October 04, 2022, 01:33:50 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 04, 2022, 12:56:57 PM
I stayed in a great place in Leitrim recently. An air b and b up the side of a mountain that was in a farmers yard lol.
Is that Co Leitrim or our own Liatroim?
Post by: imtommygunn on October 04, 2022, 02:09:22 PM
Mine is the county. Not sure on rrhf...
Post by: Armamike on October 04, 2022, 02:29:24 PM
Would add Boston to best places visited.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on October 04, 2022, 03:36:51 PM
Quote from: Armamike on October 04, 2022, 02:29:24 PM
Would add Boston to best places visited.
Definitely agree on Boston, would add  New York, Budapest, Malaga & Berlin to my list. Brussels,  Malta and Amsterdam would be places I wouldn't go back to 
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on October 04, 2022, 03:41:41 PM
I'm glad I saw Italy (Rome, Florence, sorrento) but I wouldn't care if I never went back to Italy. Other countries in Europe are cleaner, more hospitable and cheaper IMO. Their transport is absolutely awful apart from their high speed trains which are excellent.
Not the friendliest hosts either.

The amalfi coast has some stunning views but has to be one of the most overrated places ever. Very glad I stayed in sorrento and not positano / amalfi/ ravello, very small places full of influencers / posers and not a whole pile to do
Post by: tyrone08 on October 04, 2022, 03:59:37 PM
Quote from: BrotherMore6592 on October 04, 2022, 03:41:41 PM
I'm glad I saw Italy (Rome, Florence, sorrento) but I wouldn't care if I never went back to Italy. Other countries in Europe are cleaner, more hospitable and cheaper IMO. Their transport is absolutely awful apart from their high speed trains which are excellent.
Not the friendliest hosts either.

The amalfi coast has some stunning views but has to be one of the most overrated places ever. Very glad I stayed in sorrento and not positano / amalfi/ ravello, very small places full of influencers / posers and not a whole pile to do

What was sorrento like. Heading there next year
Post by: imtommygunn on October 04, 2022, 04:03:18 PM
It's fantastic but you have never seen driving like it. Vesuvius, Pompeii, Sorento itself and places like Amalfi and Positano then you have capri where you can go on a boat.

I did the bus trip part of the way to Amalfi and like half the bus we got off at the first stop (Positano which is really nice) as the driving was horrendous and near the whole bus was going to be sick.

Still worth the bus trip to experience it.

Luigi's Irish bar is a great spot too ;D Or there's a scottish bar run by his son. I was there the weekend of an AI hurling final and had all these people asking me what this crazy game was.
Post by: tyrone08 on October 04, 2022, 04:13:35 PM
Cheers. I have have heard the driving is mental. Was toying either the idea of hiring a car but think I will give it a miss lol
Post by: johnnycool on October 04, 2022, 04:49:30 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on October 04, 2022, 04:13:35 PM
Cheers. I have have heard the driving is mental. Was toying either the idea of hiring a car but think I will give it a miss lol

Drove from Rome up their A1 towards Florence at night, was an experience I never want to repeat and will never do it again.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 04, 2022, 04:55:51 PM
Quote from: Substandard on September 30, 2022, 08:38:12 PM
Best: Paris, Munich- loads to see and do, beautiful architecture and so much history.  The school tours are great that way- left to my own devices, I wouldn't either find or be organised enough to see a fraction of the itinerary.  Honorable mention to Salzburg- a beautiful city with a statue of a Laois man outside the cathedral as one of the founders.
Worst: the Mona Lisa.  Was expecting something the size of the gable of the house, instead an A4 page with about 10 million Japanese tourists in front of me.
Such a letdown!!!

We didn't even attempt to go inside the Louvre. Went to the Musee D'Orsay instead. Plenty there to keep you going for an afternoon and not as crowded.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 04, 2022, 05:00:59 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on October 01, 2022, 12:36:56 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on September 30, 2022, 08:33:20 PM
Best:
Manhattan
Vancouver
Chicago
Santa Cruz, California
Moscow

Worst:
Orlando, Florida
Rural Texas

Underwhelming:

Definitely more of a 'bring the missus' spot and leave the kids at home.

Yes been to Long Beach...anywhere along the coast is class IMO. LA is so fricking big it's actually hard to just say it's good or bad...maybe the 405 memories put a negative swing on it for me. The wife's uncle lives in Encino in a house you would see on cribs...I definitely do not mind going there and getting fed and watered with the infinity pool to dip the toe
Yeah, there's plenty of good and bad in LA. You're going to get that in a 100-mile-wide city.

The Getty Museum is well worth a visit, for example. Rodeo Drive and the Hollywood walk of fame? Not so much. Rodeo Drive is just a stuck-up row of pretentious shops with Ferraris parked outside. Walk of Fame is just a strip of businesses with tourists milling about. Although it's quite clever when you think about it, how they hyped up an ordinary street by putting famous people's names on polished flagstones and made it seem like a big deal.
Post by: armaghniac on October 04, 2022, 05:45:49 PM

Italian driving in Naples is pure mental, in the north it is fairly regular. Even in Sorrento people stop at pedestrian crossings.
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on October 04, 2022, 11:49:11 PM
Why anybody goes to the likes of Sorrento or anywhere in Italy in general and their first thought is they want to rent a car needs their hard drive checked the absolute freaks
Post by: imtommygunn on October 05, 2022, 07:55:38 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 04, 2022, 05:45:49 PM

Italian driving in Naples is pure mental, in the north it is fairly regular. Even in Sorrento people stop at pedestrian crossings.

I would still be double and triple checking before going near a pedestrian crossing!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 05, 2022, 08:37:16 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 05, 2022, 07:55:38 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 04, 2022, 05:45:49 PM

I would still be double and triple checking before going near a pedestrian crossing!

Had a hire car for two weeks in Italy never had any issues, though it was short enough trips from the campsite we were staying at
Post by: ONeill on October 05, 2022, 10:49:43 PM
People slag Larne but I was there for an MOT two years ago and enjoyed the experience. There was a grey musk in the air that just reeked of nostalgia and pride. I sort of felt jealous of that, as well as the water lapping against its coast and their friendly MOT men. The town itself was tidy although closed mostly but that just makes it more of a gem to explore.
Post by: screenexile on October 05, 2022, 11:12:42 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 05, 2022, 10:49:43 PM
People slag Larne but I was there for an MOT two years ago and enjoyed the experience. There was a grey musk in the air that just reeked of nostalgia and pride. I sort of felt jealous of that, as well as the water lapping against its coast and their friendly MOT men. The town itself was tidy although closed mostly but that just makes it more of a gem to explore.

Called in to the local cinema after my MOT there and while the cinema was clean there were youths vaping outside the venue which made me feel uncomfortable... I couldn't be sure but there didn't seem to be any middle or upper class people outwardly visible either which only heightened the unease!!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 06, 2022, 05:08:06 AM
I'll say one good thing about Larne. The accent is fascinating to listen to. It's near-as-dammit Scottish.
Post by: seafoid on October 06, 2022, 09:17:35 AM
I was only ever in Larne once. I was expecting to see Rangers jerseys. Instead I met a Gaeilgeoir by chance and ehad a great chat.