Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Apple Top on June 08, 2008, 10:46:19 AM

Title: Des Bishop dies (on stage) in Armagh
Post by: Apple Top on June 08, 2008, 10:46:19 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9G_JCsiA3C4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9G_JCsiA3C4)
Title: Re: Des Bishop dies (on stage) in Armagh
Post by: Maguire01 on June 08, 2008, 11:47:29 AM
Armagh looks like the place to throw a party alright.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 08, 2008, 12:15:23 PM
I can't make out a word he's saying but he sounds like a right dick.

Imagine paying in to watch that tube.
Post by: Square Ball on June 08, 2008, 12:31:20 PM
never heard of him and hope to never see him again,
Post by: Smokin Joe on June 08, 2008, 12:35:55 PM
I couldn't hear the lyrics.  What was the song about?
Post by: Maguire01 on June 08, 2008, 12:53:42 PM
It was House of Pain's 'Jump Around', only in Irish.

Caught his show at Electric Picnic 2 years ago.  It was terrible.
Post by: Main Street on June 08, 2008, 01:04:13 PM
Cant hear the lyrics or a word he is saying?
what would you expect from a phone call, - surround sound? ::)

Des looked likes a man stuck in the wrong place at the wrong time.
That was a confraternity group having an old time C&W  60 year reunion gig with Big Tom.

In the right place with the right sort of crowd he goes down a storm.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=texAVU4a3bk&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=texAVU4a3bk&feature=related)

Post by: thejuice on June 08, 2008, 09:30:57 PM
I think Des is great, Leim Thart is deadly. what was the storey with the "cross community" aspect. What upsetted the crowd?
Post by: Maguire01 on June 08, 2008, 09:41:44 PM
Quote from: thejuice on June 08, 2008, 09:30:57 PM
I think Des is great, Leim Thart is deadly. what was the storey with the "cross community" aspect. What upsetted the crowd?
They thought he was a real bishop.  They had bought tickets for what they thought would be a good long mass.
Post by: corn02 on June 08, 2008, 10:04:38 PM
I think he is very good.
Post by: thebandit on June 09, 2008, 09:05:34 AM
I wouldn't be a massive fan of his 'comedy' but he's done more for the Irish language than many's a politician.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on June 09, 2008, 03:56:16 PM
Seen him about 7 years ago in the comedy club in belfast... I thought he was fantastic, though with all his tele appearences, i've kind of gone off him!

He sang the House of Pain tune back then.... "Sinn Fein in the membrane, SINN FEIN IN THE BRAIN!"

The rest of the lyrics were excellent!
Post by: screenexile on June 09, 2008, 04:01:05 PM
Think I was at that gig too Goats. I was taken by him then and I saw him in Dublin a few times after that as well. The Des Bishop Work Experience was very good as was his Documentary about Irish. The comedy workshops not so good.

I was actually considering going to that Gig in Armagh but thank god I didn't... a bunch of boring hoors who obviously didn't realise it was a comedy night otherwise why sit there like stone. At least try and make a decent night of it.

The man is definitely funny otherwise how can he sell out so many shows in Vicar Street every year?
Post by: his holiness nb on June 09, 2008, 04:01:31 PM
Saw him a few years back (maybe 4 or 5?) in Vicar Street.
Thought he was very good. Catered well for the GAA fans back then!
Post by: Apple Top on June 09, 2008, 05:51:24 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 09, 2008, 04:01:05 PM
Think I was at that gig too Goats. I was taken by him then and I saw him in Dublin a few times after that as well. The Des Bishop Work Experience was very good as was his Documentary about Irish. The comedy workshops not so good.

I was actually considering going to that Gig in Armagh but thank god I didn't... a bunch of boring hoors who obviously didn't realise it was a comedy night otherwise why sit there like stone. At least try and make a decent night of it.

The man is definitely funny otherwise how can he sell out so many shows in Vicar Street every year?

:D  :D I wish you'd gone, you would of been laughing your arse off.  ;)
Post by: balladmaker on June 09, 2008, 08:54:36 PM
QuoteThe man is definitely funny otherwise how can he sell out so many shows in Vicar Street every year?

That's one of the problems nowadays....people go to a show because they think it is the 'in' thing to do, whatever appears to be cool is what people will attend.  Selling out Vicar Street does not mean you are a great act, it just means that you are the 'in' thing at present.

Feck, when I read the title of the thread first at a glance, I thought he had died suddenly.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 09, 2008, 09:20:33 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on June 09, 2008, 08:54:36 PM
QuoteThe man is definitely funny otherwise how can he sell out so many shows in Vicar Street every year?

That's one of the problems nowadays....people go to a show because they think it is the 'in' thing to do, whatever appears to be cool is what people will attend.  Selling out Vicar Street does not mean you are a great act, it just means that you are the 'in' thing at present.

Not that i'm saying this is necessarily the case here, but there's a saying that the simple are easily amused.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 09, 2008, 09:22:07 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 09, 2008, 09:20:33 PM

Not that i'm saying this is necessarily the case here, but there's a saying that the simple are easily amused.

Very true and it's regularly demonstrated on this board.
Post by: Apple Top on June 09, 2008, 09:24:51 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 09, 2008, 09:22:07 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 09, 2008, 09:20:33 PM

Very true and it's regularly demonstrated on this board.

For once I can agree.  ;)
Post by: mhacadoir on June 09, 2008, 10:39:25 PM
des bishop got a girl up on stage to video him doin that song, so that it could be put up on youtube. he was speaking about the irish language beforehand and how he wasnt sure whether to sing that song with a good amount of protestants there. he told the audience to look shocked and not to react, just to see what people online would say. lo and behold..........

when he left the stage after this he got a standing ovation. my brother was working at it and he was telling me about it on saturday night.
Post by: Leo on June 10, 2008, 09:46:03 AM

Feck, when I read the title of the thread first at a glance, I thought he had died suddenly.

Agree. The lack of genuine talent comedy in Ireland means that tools like Jason Byrne (unfunniest man ever to walk on stage outside of a DUP rally), Neil Delamere, etc. get over-hyped for (mainly Dublin) gigs and local promoters think they must be good and book them to venues where they always die. Bishop is only slightly better than some of them but most are sh**te and I wouldnt take a free ticket for any of them But hey look, that's only me and these people are on TV so they must be good!
Post by: screenexile on June 10, 2008, 10:08:24 AM
Whatever lads comedy is probably the most subjective thing in the world. You just have to look at Roy Chubby Brown. To me he's the most unfunny, racist and vulgar character on the planet yet he is able to sellout plenty of places.

I agree with Jason Byrne as in I don't find him funny at all either "Ah I'm mad I might call you a name there down in the front row because I'm so mad". I find Neil Delamere and Andrew Maxwell extremely funny though.

To each his own I guess.
Post by: Star Spangler on June 10, 2008, 10:35:11 AM
Maxwell and Bishop are out there on their own with a big gap back to the rest imo. 

Jason Byrne is a comedian??  I often wondered about that.
Post by: screenexile on June 10, 2008, 10:43:43 AM
I would have them ordered like this...

Tiernan
Moran
Bishop
O'Briain
Maxwell
Delamere
Murphy
O'Kane (Jake not Deirdre... a funny woman? Not too many about!)

These would be the comedians I would watch. If I got offered to see anyone else it would be a no! (Ed Byrne's a smug wee yellow teethed git which is why he's not in there)
Post by: Candyman on June 10, 2008, 10:44:09 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 10, 2008, 10:08:24 AM
Whatever lads comedy is probably the most subjective thing in the world. You just have to look at Roy Chubby Brown. To me he's the most unfunny, racist and vulgar character on the planet yet he is able to sellout plenty of places.

I agree with Jason Byrne as in I don't find him funny at all either "Ah I'm mad I might call you a name there down in the front row because I'm so mad". I find Neil Delamere and Andrew Maxwell extremely funny though.
To each his own I guess.

Totally agree....
Post by: Donagh on June 10, 2008, 10:45:07 AM
Maxwell and Bishop aren't bad but not as funny as Neil Delamere and Colin Murphy. Jason Byrne is almost as funny as Tommy Tiernan, which is not a lot at all. For comedians them two take themselves way to seriously.
Post by: dodo on June 10, 2008, 11:19:09 AM
For me Delamere is good, Maxwell is hit and miss, Tommy Tiernan can be great at times. Not gone on either of the Byrnes ( Jason and Ed). Biggest pain of the lot is that Colin Murphy, not funny and arrogant to boot.
Post by: Main Street on June 10, 2008, 11:54:29 AM
One man's comic is another mans fake.

Bishop looks more himself, I don't know if he is a good comic, a smart lad or even a likable lad but he looks "normal"  whereas most other comics are trying their best to be somebody else with varying degrees of funnyness.
Post by: his holiness nb on June 10, 2008, 01:11:33 PM
I dont find Tommy Tiernan the slightest bit funny.

there, I've said it.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 10, 2008, 02:07:16 PM
I saw your man Maxwell doing a show the other week called Conflict Revolution or something like that where he did a gig on the Shankhill and Falls Rds on the same night. It was about as funny as cancer.