well lads the Ulster Championship starts off with the two sleeping giants of Ulster Football(would be more apt to say we are both in a coma, but still)
Would be optimistic enough about this game,Seemingly Antrim have went off the rails abit since their loss against Antrim,turnouts of 14 in training etc,Antrim really are their own worst enemy at times.
Homer said Darren Rabbitte picked up yet another injury,which is a blow as we all had him pencillied into full back.
Any other team news or opinions?
What's the history between these two?
Antrim won against Cavan in 2003, drew in Breffni in??(2006 or so I think?) and Cavan won the replay - isn't that right?
Could be a tight enough game. Not sure either team is going great guns.
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 12, 2008, 03:05:49 PM
What's the history between these two?
Antrim won against Cavan in 2003, drew in Breffni in??(2006 or so I think?) and Cavan won the replay - isn't that right?
Could be a tight enough game. Not sure either team is going great guns.
weve played Antrim a good bit, with the exception of 1995, they have always been relatively close.
beat them in 95 in Breffini and 96 in Casement, lost in 2003 inCasement and Drew in Breffini in McElkennons first championship match in charge and (we were dead lucky to come out of it with a draw) in 2006 and we won the replay in Casement.
Yep now I recall I thought we had you in 2005. Missed the replay so can't recall the outcome.
Hard to know what to make of this game. It's one I think Antrim can win. I hope they've their homework done on Johnston though as he looks like he's a potential match winner.
Hopefully McGourty will be starting for Antrim as he could peg a few points.
Antrim are not going well but their saving grace in this one is that neither are Cavan. Cavan have some able footballers though - suppose it depends which Cavan turns up.
Antrim by 2...
Fancy Antrim to shade it but only just.
Think if Cunningham and Mcgourty get the right supply and support Cavan could be in bother.
Dont know that either side will trouble Armagh as both are very poor but then again Armagh are no great shakes either. If Cavan could get past Anrrim they are probably better equipped to deal with Armagh and it has to be remembered in 2003 a pretty crap Monaghan team beat an Armagh team that was alot better than the present offering and they would be entering the QF cold.
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 12, 2008, 03:17:20 PM
Yep now I recall I thought we had you in 2005. Missed the replay so can't recall the outcome.
Hard to know what to make of this game. It's one I think Antrim can win. I hope they've their homework done on Johnston though as he looks like he's a potential match winner.
Hopefully McGourty will be starting for Antrim as he could peg a few points.
Antrim are not going well but their saving grace in this one is that neither are Cavan. Cavan have some able footballers though - suppose it depends which Cavan turns up.
Antrim by 2...
Yeh the game after the cork one when Johnston ran riot, Westmeath completely shut him down, Result was Cavan scoring a meagre 6 points they held Johnston to 2 from frees., who would Antrim put on him,Justin Crozier, or Sean Kelly??? or someone else. Wouldnt be that worried about our backline, Michael Hannon for me is one of the best man marking backs in Ulster would say he will probably take McGourty, with Maybe Podge(Pauric Reily) or Keith Fannin on Cunningham.
27 euro into the stand and 25 euro into uncovered bit! Given the interest in this game and the fact that it is on tv could mean a low attendence at casement on sunday!
It's looking like Cavan could possibly start 4 or 5 lads who were only introduced to the panel in the last couple of weeks. Deja vu anybody? :-\
I wouldn't be surprised if Cavan start young Rory Dunne at full-back in the likely absence of Darren Rabbitte
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on May 12, 2008, 03:00:23 PM
Seemingly Antrim have went off the rails abit since their loss against Antrim
Jaysus! as bad as we have it in Cavan at least we don't have any schizophrenia to worry about. :P
arent you a funny f**ker? >:( :D
Rory Dunne is a good player,but he doesnt have the burst of speed for Full back in my opinion,Rabbitte despite being a big man was very mobile when he was fit.
would rather see Podge at Full with Michael Hannon and Keith Fannin in the corners, and Dermot Sheridan, Forde and John McCutcheon in Half back line.
Quote from: hardstation on May 12, 2008, 03:25:18 PM
(http://antrim.gaa.ie/images/antrim-cavan.jpg)
Thats nice... make the OAP's stand in the terrace. Most OAP's need a seat to watch two championship match's on a hot day.
The saint John's ambulance men might be the busiest men in casement next sunday - stretchering OAP's out of the terrace!
Quote from: CavanCola on May 12, 2008, 03:46:06 PM
Thats nice... make the OAP's stand in the terrace. Most OAP's need a seat to watch two championship match's on a hot day.
The saint John's ambulance men might be the busiest men in casement next sunday - stretchering OAP's out of the terrace!
Not to mention people fainting with boredom! ;) ;) :D
Quote from: billy the kid on May 12, 2008, 03:48:13 PM
Quote from: CavanCola on May 12, 2008, 03:46:06 PM
Not to mention people fainting with boredom! ;) ;) :D
I hope there is room on the stretcher for management career's. It might be needed at 4:50pm.
Is the game on TV?
I would have went for Antrim only I hear they are as big a joke as we are. If Antrim play a sweeper they will win as our manager hasn't figured out in two years how to deal with that. I expect it will be a poor game between two teams with low morale. Draw might be a good bet.
i cant see the picture, is it any good?
Bring back 'Deadly Darren' to sort out Cavan
Antrim v Cavan? A preliminary skirmish the equivalent of two bald men fighting over a hairbursh. ::)
My guess is that both sides will be so shite as to be unable to beat the other, hence a draw is a good bet here. The TV cameras will be there to capture it all, there will be no hiding our failings.
Oh for shame!
Why would he not hardstation? Maybe has exams on but im sure he would still play.
heard Cunningham got 2 yellows in the club game so will be eligable to play, what will antrims starting line up be?
also heard in passing that Quinn and Doherty are both very doubtful, any one in the know?
Prediction: Antrim by 3, up the saffrons!
I heard Doherty (Paul) was definitely out. However not too sure about Quinn.
Line -up should be similar in most positions to usual. Questions would be who will play FF, will Scullion be WHB or corner back, will Crozier be centre or wing, will McCann play CHF or midfield, can McGourty and Cunningham both play.
A bit pricey for two teams that are unlikely to go much futher than this game. Would be tempted to pop along as a neutral (well, i'd give Antrim a shout if i'm honest!), but the prices are a bit steep - especially with so many games on the TV. I know that's not the attitude to take, and i would go regardless if it was my own county, but it may come down to the weather as to whether i leave the house or not.
It's a shame the Ulster Council aren't a bit more realistic about what they're charging for such games - especially since they may well lose the takings on the way home anyway!
Quote from: Mickey Linden on May 12, 2008, 03:34:20 PM
27 euro into the stand and 25 euro into uncovered bit! Given the interest in this game and the fact that it is on tv could mean a low attendence at casement on sunday!
This game is not live on tv.
Sundays games on RTE are Wicklow v Kildare at 2 & Galway v Roscommon after.
The Cavan v Antrim and Carlow v Meath games are live on rte.ie but not on tv.
Quote from: stevecw on May 12, 2008, 08:01:29 PM
Wrong, it is live on BBC Northern Ireland.......
What's most annoying is that Antrim have the potential for a great team, but there are way too many soccer feckers about.
Quote from: Minder on May 12, 2008, 09:34:04 PM
Quote from: stevecw on May 12, 2008, 08:01:29 PM
Wrong, it is live on BBC Northern Ireland.......
Indeed it is - as are all the Ulster Championship games. Bloody BBC - makes me sick! :P
Quote from: Orior on May 12, 2008, 09:53:26 PM
What's most annoying is that Antrim have the potential for a great team, but there are way too many soccer feckers about.
how so?
Cause they devote themselves to soccer instead of gaelic. Therefore Antrim have a much smaller pool of players to choose from.
Longford-Westmeath yesterday was €20 for the stand and €15 for the terrace and, poor though yesterday's match was, I can't really imagine this one serving up better-quality football.
Though perhaps this is a cunning plan to put the Cavan fans from travelling ;)
I won't be travelling LaurelEye but it's not the cost that's keeping me away!
Quote from: cavanmaniac on May 13, 2008, 12:58:12 AM
I feel your pain... :)
BBC website reporting that Joe Quinn will not play due to ligament damage...expect Benny Hasson to take his place, Paul Doherty definitely out. Micheal McCann and CJ both fit to play. As hardstation said earlier big Joe has been a stalwart for the Saffs for over a decade and has plugged away without much success (save for a golden 20 mins against Derry in 2000!!). I haven't seen too much of Hasson though he does look like a decent footballer. If we can get decent ball into CJ and Cunningham then they can get some scores. But I'd worry about our full back line that has been a problem over the past few seasons. If we get good weather and with home advantage we could hold on for a draw!!
Antrim 1-9
Cavan 0-12
BTW Darren Rabbitte out for Cavan.
Quote from: cavanmaniac on May 13, 2008, 12:58:12 AM
I won't be travelling either, the thought of spending 10 minutes or so stuck on that Westlink getting across Belfast is putting me right off.
Anyone see the betting for this match? i would fancy Cavan to win in a scrappy affair. I think Antrim + the handicap might be a good bet!
Antrim Team Named:
S McGreevy, K O'Boyle, A McClean, J Loughrey, T Scullion, J Crozier, S Kelly, A Gallagher, M McCann, P Close, K Niblock, T McCann, P Cunningham, CJ McGourty, C Close.
3 left footers in the f-fwd line!
who will start off on the frees?
Cunningham?
will be an interesting debate/ arguement as to who gets the free, both lefties mcgourty and cunningham and both mad for that mention in the irish news scoring charts regardless of outcome!
Quote from: NAG on May 14, 2008, 02:16:15 PM
will be an interesting debate/ arguement as to who gets the free, both lefties mcgourty and cunningham and both mad for that mention in the irish news scoring charts regardless of outcome!
It will go something like this NAG.....
(http://www.nancarrow-webdesk.com/warehouse/storage2/2008-w16/img.200294_t.jpg)
How did you know thats what I was thinking about.
In all seriousness what is the plan 'b' if the quick ball isnt happening?
who is there on the panel to act as a target man if we have to resort to long and early?
I know there is a lot of talk about quick ball into the FF line but neither Mc Gourty or Cunningham have much pace by inter county standards.
Cunningham will hit the frees, he's deadly accurate from a dead ball. You'r right neither of the 2 have great pace, but they're two of the best finishers about if they get given chances. I'd be surprised by anything other than a Cavan win after the way Antrim collapsed towards the end of the league.
id agree with rav on that one paddy cunningham one of the best left footed free takers in ulster. the winning in the game could be how many frees cavan limit antrim to and how antrim contain johnston. could be an open enough game i feel as both full back lines suspect
Not sure if this is 100%
1. J Reilly
2. M Hannon
3. R Dunne
4. M Brides
5. M Cahill
6. A Forde
7. D Sheridan
8. D McCabe
9 M McDonald
10 M Reilly
11 R Flanagan
12 B Watters
13 C Mackey
14 S Johnston
15 J O'Reilly
No podge is biggest shock of all .
Thought I saw an article somewhere about Padraic Reilly being captain in McKeevers absence!??
Quote from: North Longford on May 15, 2008, 08:57:36 AM
Thought I saw an article somewhere about Padraic Reilly being captain in McKeevers absence!??
That's was said. One of the players told me that team so id expect it to be near enough but he was wrong before.
Quote from: cavan4ever on May 15, 2008, 08:42:43 AM
Not sure if this is 100%
1. J Reilly
2. M Hannon
3. R Dunne
4. M Brides
5. M Cahill
6. A Forde
7. D Sheridan
8. D McCabe
9 M McDonald
10 M Reilly
11 R Flanagan
12 B Watters
13 C Mackey
14 S Johnston
15 J O'Reilly
Where did you get that from? If it is right then I am very suprised to see no Podge, no Gunner Brady. Half forward line is tiny. Cian Mackey?? Dunne at FB - is he ready for that?
Quote from: mylestheslasher on May 15, 2008, 09:17:10 AM
Not sure if this is 100%
1. J Reilly
2. M Hannon
3. R Dunne
4. M Brides
5. M Cahill
6. A Forde
7. D Sheridan
8. D McCabe
9 M McDonald
10 M Reilly
11 R Flanagan
12 B Watters
13 C Mackey
14 S Johnston
15 J O'Reilly
Where did you get that from? If it is right then I am very suprised to see no Podge, no Gunner Brady. Half forward line is tiny. Cian Mackey?? Dunne at FB - is he ready for that?
Are u suprised nothing would suprise me with Cavan anymore. It may not be right but Team was named last night and thats what i was told by a player.
From today's Irish News
QuoteCAVAN manager Donal Keogan has included four Championship debutants for Sunday's Ulster Senior Football Championship preliminary round clash with Antrim at Casement Park.
Two of the newcomers, Rory Dunne and Barry Watters, were part of the Cavan minor team last year and have impressed immensely during the League campaign. Dunne takes over the full-back slot, while Watters will line out on the half-forward line.
The other two making their Championship debut are Mullahoran's Dermot Sheridan and Michael McDonald from the Drumgoon club. Sheridan will start at right half-back, while McDonald will partner Dermot McCabe in the middle of the park.
Captain Mark McKeever will miss the clash through suspension and the team will be led by the vastly-experienced McCabe. As expected, Darren Rabbitt will miss the clash with a knee cartilage injury picked up in a recent challenge match against Meath.
Anthony Forde has recovered from a hamstring injury to take the number six jersey, but Nicholas Walsh has not been included despite recovering from a similar injury.
TEAM
Cavan (USFC v Antrim): James O'Reilly; M Hannon, R Dunne, M Brides; D Sheridan, A Forde, M Cahill; M McDonald, D McCabe; M. Reilly, R Flanagan, B Watters; C Mackey, S Johnston, Jason O'Reilly
I will give my considered opinion on the occasion anon.
Very Strange indeed. Seems your contact was 100%. Just to clarify for the Irish News, Dermot Shierdan is not a championship debutant, he played FB last yr against Mayo. I would be worried about that half forward line big time, it is very inexperience and very small. In fact, the whole team is very small. Seems to me only McCabe, McDonald and Dunne would be over 6 foot.
10 M Reilly
11 R Flanagan
12 B Watters
13 C Mackey
14 S Johnston
15 J O'Reilly
If you've got a problem, and nobody else can help. Then it's time to call in...
The Oompah Loompahs. ???
Seriously, we've got six lightweight midgets fleshing out our forward line. And where the f**k is Podge?
What's the betting on first panic substitutiuon by DK? Smart money is on Jayo or McDonald for me, but in reality, you could take your pick it's just depends on what notion he takes.
I'm actually considering going along now, but I might leave after the minors match...
Well against W'meath he brought Mackey out to the middle to win ball so you never know what the man would do. From my limited knowledge of this antrim team they don't seem to have the big players that would really cause us problems. Imagine if Cavan got through and put that team out against Armagh - it would be a bloodbath. I think the winning will be around the middle of the field. If Antrim have any sense they will crowd this area and bounce out small lads out of the way and win the majority of ball. As I see it whoever wins most ball there will win the match. I think we will need McCabe and McDonald to win clean ball (to basically lord midfield) or a supreme defensive performance to win. I am going up to watch the minors anyhow (who thankfully have had a very low key build up to the match - not a mention of winning the all ireland!) and god knows I'll stay to see the senior too but I just don't know what to make of this team.
Quote from: mylestheslasher on May 15, 2008, 12:03:05 PM
Well against W'meath he brought Mackey out to the middle to win ball so you never know what the man would do.
I was talking to a fella who knows a lad whose young fella knows another chap who was on the panel, and he tells me that for major in-game decisions, Donal steals away into the tunnel and consults a magic 8-ball to solve any conundrums that arise during a match.
Not saying it's true now, it's just what I heard.
As far as I know it's on BBC 2.
I'm heading anyhow.
Ok hands up to the fellow Cavan posters on this thread. I've given them some stick in the past for sometimes appearing, in my opinion, to lay all the many problems of Cavan football at the door of one Donal Keogan. Now, if this is seriously the team that takes the field on Sunday (and I'm still willing to give him the benefit of the doubt that a different team may have been conveyed to players) well the man is, perhaps, nearly as big a fool as some have made him out to be. If Pauric Reilly goes from vice captain to Captain two days ago to on the bench on Sunday then I really have had it. Perhaps Mick O Dwyer could have got away with that crack at the Height of kerry's powers but our fella. To be replaced by?????// take your pick between a 19 year old intermediate clube footballer making his championship debut and a moderate enough county footballer who, we were told last year, would never be near the panel as long as the current man was in charge.
Now I think last year John Kiely, the manager of that power that is Waterford, referred to us as the smallest county team in Ireland. I think DK is trying to go yet smaller in the championship. The crying shame is that there are one or two options there to mix a bit of force/power with some football-i.e. Podge in full back line, Crowe/McCutcheon(remember him) in half back line instead of the fouler or the Yank; two of Mad Eddie/Pierson/Sean Brady in the forward line.
I still refuse to believe the stupididy of the Podge omission and am willing to believe he will line out on Sunday. If not Chicago will be a very attractive destination for more then three blokes this summer.
First substitution????????? McDonald replaced after 10 by Mulvey.
Quote from: saffron sam2 on May 16, 2008, 09:09:32 AM
Firstly, I shall not be attending. There is no way in the world that the GAA can justify an entry fee of up to twenty quid for this match. I'll make do with the TV coverage.
Secondly, I have never felt as disinterested or disheartened before an Antrim championship match. Ever. We may beat Cavan, we mostly likely will not, but Armagh will eat and shit either team. Then off to the Tommy Murphy Cup or the states. A shambles of a position to be in. Who's to blame - the county board? the players? the manager? saffron sam2? schools? all of the above?
By all accounts Cavan are a shambles too, but they have more quality in depth. Whilst they complain about the size of their forward line, these six will dwarf both the Antrim defence and forward line. Cavan rightly highlight the need to win midfield and they will do so comfortably. We simply don't have a midfield. Nor do we have the players to play the style of game that Master Gormley wants us to play. He identified the half forward line as being particularly important and played basically the same line throughout the league. Now he goes into the Championship with two new wing-forwards (one a corner forward, one whose last start was as a corner back). The full forward line has plenty of potential but will be totally isolated. The defence and keeper are reasonably sound, but there is a lack of cover if anyone (particularly the injury prone McClean) gets injured.
I genuinely did feel we would beat Cavan in 2003, but that optimism and belief has long since evaporated. Cavan by as much as they want. 5-6 points at least.
Having said that if the saffrons do win, I'll happily buy a ticket for the saffron sweep.
And youse Cavan feckers, that big road with four or five lanes going in the same direction is called a motorway. You can't park there. It blocks the rest of the traffic and your car will most likely be towed away. Leave home a wee bit earlier or exit the motorway at Lisburn and follow the A1 into Andersonstown.
By the looks of things we'll be able to park right outside the gate as no one seems to be going to the match. I don't see how our forwards could Dwarf your backs unless they are midgets. I reckon Jason Reilly is our biggest forward and he is only 5-10. Flanagan at Ctr Forward is only 5-8 I'd guess. Mackey and Johnstone something similar. Apart from height they are not strong by inter county standards.
This is really shaping up to be the battle of the midgets, I have rarely had so little appetite for an Antrim game of any description.
I think the fact is that it doesnt matter if we beat cavan because there has been no progression in years for this squad we have been at best treading water. I personally think this is down to some of the players and some management calls.
So maybe an early exit and some straight talking within the county is what is needed to allow some of the more talented footballers to show their potential.
Sad news in Cavan earlier this week with the unexpected death of Veronica Sharkey, aunt of both Paul Brady and team manager Donal Keogan. May she rest in peace.
what a shambles of a f**king team that is >:(
il go up and the only reason we might win is because Antrim will be in a worse state than us.
No Pauric Reily
No Sean Brady
No Keith Fannin
No Gerard Pierson
No Eddie Reily
the man hasnt a clue,we will get hockeyed by Armagh IF we manage to progress on Sunday
He wants to have them fresh for the Armagh game
are we trying to set a record for the smallest team in Inter County GAA history aswell,
4 men over 6ft the two midfielders, Full back and goalkeeper.
Antrim in the past have had giants of men in their team but according to NAG they are much the same as us this year.
lads we should just cancel this game and our two counties join up and battle Armagh. :P
Quote from: hardstation on May 16, 2008, 02:34:15 PM
I will pay the £19 (no student concession - the bastards!).
I still think we can win this. Every year, I say we're doomed but as the game approaches, I get more confidence. I know I shouldn't, it just makes it worse.
If we do win on Sunday, I know I'll be thinking that we can beat Armagh.
It's shit being from Antrim, it really is.
to be fair Hardy
i dont think either of us would beat any other Ulster team bar each other at this moment in time,
this really is a wooden spoon clash :D
:-[
Such is the life of a fan from outside of the top counties hardstation
Antrim have always had that effect on us.
Anyway what the hell they might be small and not overly good but lets get behind them and give them a roar.
And if not there is always the social club to drown the sorrows and look forward to the Tommy Murphy!
Was really optimistic about backing Cavan -2 points at even money this weekend but after reading through this thread I am so depressed I dunno if I even wanna watch the match!!
Cheers up lads!! Least use don't play Tyrone!!!
My sarcasm lost on you then!
Q. If Antrim beat Cavan, does that enable us to go into the qualifiers, given this is the preliminary round, or would we have to beat Armagh in the first round proper??
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on May 16, 2008, 03:48:03 PM
Q. If Antrim beat Cavan, does that enable us to go into the qualifiers, given this is the preliminary round, or would we have to beat Armagh in the first round proper??
We will be in the Tommy Murphy Cup unless we get to an Ulster Final.......So Tommy Murphy it is.
Apologises if this has been mentioned previous but how can the Ulster Council justify charging £20/27euro for a stand ticket or £13/18euro for the terrace while its 25euro stand or 15euro for the seated Hill for the double header in Croke Park!
they cant justify it - they are just chancing their f**king arm
for everyone that turns up, they will smile, take their money and think thats another mug
Its a complete f**king joke. I dont think they do a student rate either. I would happily pay £30 or what ever it is to go to a dublin header in Croke Park - one of the finest stadiums in Europe. Anyone who pays £19 to sit on a slab of concrete in Casement parkfor 2 hours is a mug.
Quote from: Whitehair on May 17, 2008, 09:39:56 PM
Apologises if this has been mentioned previous but how can the Ulster Council justify charging £20/27euro for a stand ticket or £13/18euro for the terrace while its 25euro stand or 15euro for the seated Hill for the double header in Croke Park!
Isn't good to see the rugby and soccer money coming into play to reduce ticket prices! A complete disgrace in my opinion. Long gone are the days when a man can take his family to a match. Scandalous.
i have been sayin for ages now, (although it will never happen), people should boycott these matches, starting tomorrrow
once they end up with irish league type attendances, they will revert to sensible prices
as i said before, chancing their arm, everything is going up, fuel,food etc..etc.. so why cant we get a cut
Good luck to Antrim minors. Just the minors, mind you.
Ulster council are also doing well on the euro rates 27 eurofor stand = 20 sterling leaves the euro at just over 74pence sterling , while on the terrace 18 euros = 13 sterling =72.22 pence sterling , certainly cheaper to pay in sterling , most euros are currently costing 80p at the bank , more at post offices. crowd will not be big in Belfast this afternoon.
Is this the day young McGourty confirms the massive talent he has?
If he's close to full fitness, he could surprise the wicked Cavan defence.
Would expect a lot from him and Cunningham, would love to see Antrim beat them just to cheer some of yous ones up!
Quote from: hardstation on May 18, 2008, 12:07:03 PM
A fair few Cavanites about already.
They always turn up early to start spending their money!
Antrim to nick it by two lads.
Don't be silly corn!!
Cavan by 5...
1-12 to 0-10
wont even see the game, will be in having something to eat and the bar wont be showing it.
Antrim by 1 point
Very poor crowd. Looks like not too many of the 'boys in blue' travelled
Austin O'Callaghan looks like he hasn't had a good sunday dinner in years. There's not much meat on him.
Good bright start from Cavan, no atmosphere at the game alright.
1 06 to 0 09. Antrim right back in it 4 scores on the trot
Such a low attendance at this game.
I firmly believe that there are now too many games been shown on tv now and that an admission price of about €20 would be a lot fairer.
Anyone else think this is really borin? The standard of football is pretty poor and f**k enda gormly is hard to listen to.
What's score?
HOw long gone?
50mins
Antrim 1-10 Cavan 1-11
1 11 to 1 10 to cavan. 50 mins played
QuoteAnyone else think this is really borin? The standard of football is pretty poor and f**k enda gormly is hard to listen to
Its a bit of an anti climax alright, as Jarlath Burns said in the GL this week its a poor match to start the championship with
Gormley's a bit of a boring hoor alright
1.12 1.10 now to Cavan
ta lads.
Gormley's voice would make you throw up a rope!
Good stuff from Cavan here, Seanie Johnston is some player
1.15 to 1.11 now Magill just stroked one over for Antrim, T O Neill on for Antrim
1 17 to 1 11 to cavan now. Yeah Johnson is deadly. And not selfish either, always lays the ball off to someone in a better position when its not on for him
State of your fella O Reilly coming on there!! Looks like Rory McGrath from they think its all over!!
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on May 18, 2008, 05:05:37 PM
State of your fella O Reilly coming on there!! Looks like Rory McGrath from they think its all over!!
:D :D :D
Here, leave gormley alone. Borin b@st@ard or not, he's our borin b@st@ard
Final score 1.19 to 1.14
Stroll for Cavan
Well done nail. Not a great start to the championship from BBC, the camara work was all over the place, i would beat my way through the tv to get hittin thomas kane and as for all the 'gremlins' in the system... very poor all round.
Bit amateurish alright, but not knockin it. Just glad that every game in the ulster championship is guaranteed coverage. Changed days indeed.
Very shoddy alright! Wouldn't have got this on Jerome's watch?
Bingo! Could we start a bullying campaigne towards thomas kane?
Quote from: hardstation on May 18, 2008, 05:47:33 PM
Shite.
Condolences Hardstation. Have to be honest, I was hopin for my neighbours to prevail, but cavan were undisputeably better.
Cavan a lot better than expected. Antrim had their chance tho, took wrong decisions every time.
BBC coverage pissing me off more than usual, ok its on tv which is good, but surely they can make improvements - gag mark sidebottom (they call him..., 1:10 plays 1:8, its as we were, and its as you were - what does this even mean??) and shoot kane (he looks like hes in drag or sumthin').
I see from the BBC profiles, sidebottom claims to play hurling for bredagh, but from the exchanges between him and gormley i'm guessing this is a lie in an attempt to gain credibility - anyone know?
Sidebottom was a decent hurler in his day with Glenariffe and Queens, however nowadays he keeps goals for Bredagh as, I assume, his pace is long gone, unlike me who never had any pace to loose.
It was just that he made reference to bredagh being jody gormleys club, and also endas, yet didnt say anything about it being his own. Then when enda said about it being tir na nog, he said that he should mebbe go to it. Enda replied 'sure you already play hurling for them', laughing. Mebbe hes just got a bad memory...
Quote from: hardstation on May 18, 2008, 06:31:23 PM
Cavan send the ball into their forward line, Cavan forward wins it, turns and sticks it over.
Antrim send the ball into their forward line, Antrim forward wins it, gives it to someone else, he then gives it to someone else, he then gives it to someone else, he attempts to give it to someone else, ball intercepted, attack breaks down.
Christ hardstation, didn't see the game but that sounds like Mayo forward line mid-90s... :-\
Quote from: hardstation on May 18, 2008, 06:31:23 PM
Cavan send the ball into their forward line, Cavan forward wins it, turns and sticks it over.
Antrim send the ball into their forward line, Antrim forward wins it, gives it to someone else, he then gives it to someone else, he then gives it to someone else, he attempts to give it to someone else, ball intercepted, attack breaks down.
Also, I'd never seen any corner forward pass a ball from the 13 to the 70 until Paddy Cunningham did it today.
Doesn't help when the ball going in is shit. And just how many scores did Scullion miss?
McGourty hit 1-3 from play and Tomas McCann had some good spells, McCann in the middle too for a while, but they hadn't a leader on the field and some look like they couldn't wait to throw in the towel.
How can Gormley justify putting anyone one on one with Johnston. Any time Cavan have won a game in the last two years almost it's him who does the real winning of it. After he destroyed Cork Westmeath put a man on him and a man in front in the League and totally negated him and Cavan inevitably lost. Loughrey actually started well on him but I felt sorry for the lad near the end, can't expose him to that consistent punishment, though he did change it late on. But Keogan made a decent call with McCabe in there helping to feed Johnston and give the defence two very different types of threat to worry about.
Maybe Gormley was stung by the criticism over his negative approach to Derry last year, but they had more than one danger man up front, Cavan don't.
In saying all that Johnston is one of the most dangerous forwards in the game, seen him against Dublin, Cork and now Antrim and nobody seems to be able to handle him at all. Doesn't take too much out of it, never really looks to beat his man, just turn and kick it over, off either foot. He didn't hit a wide today, think you could count the Cavan wides on one hand. Antrim hit double figures second half alone.
Typical mean Cavan b*stards. Hope they give Armagh a rattle.
Will be very interesting to see what they do on Johnston, Andy Mallon on him like glue probably with another sweeping in front.
Reasonable game compared to the connaught quarter final, young mccann made some brilliant runs and looks a real prospect. Johnson is as dangerous a forward as there is in the game today, totally different from all the other star names, but no less effective for that.
Gormley said after 40 mins that he felt Antrim would go on an win and I thought the same, but Cavan turned the game around totally, Antrim had plenty of the ball, but their decision making was appalling, there were numerous second half wides that were just ridiculous.
All in all, Antrim shouldn't be too discouraged, it's unfortunate that they're not in the qualifiers now, as I do think they could actually take a scalp (well, a Kildare sized one anyway). They do need Kevin McGourty back all the same if they are to make any progress in Ulster, but apart from that they have some great potential from midfield up.
For Cavan, as somebody said Armagh will probably ensure that Johnson isn't as effective and I am sure they'll have enough for Cavan, they'll go into the qualifiers and again they could spring an upset, but it would be an upset.
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 18, 2008, 07:07:46 PM
They do need Kevin McGourty back all the same if they are to make any progress in Ulster, but apart from that they have some great potential from midfield up.
Judging by the Gaelic Life back page he'll not be back in a hurry.
At 1-11 to 1-10 behind, Antrim had the game by the scruff. They proceeded to hit a plethora of wides and when Cavan inevitably attacked, they scored. There wasn't an awful pile between the sides and for a period in each half Antrim dominated. Thought Burns was harsh on McGourty. Some of the early ball in was atrocious and in the second it wasn't really coming in at all, yet he still scored 1-2 or 1-3 from play.
Antrim just didn't have enough men who could score from play outside of the 30 and it cost them dearly. Scullion's wide was chronic. Cavan, on the other hand were economical and had simply better footballers in more areas than Antrim.
Johnston is some talent and Loughrey did an excellent job on him for 30 mins. Also thought Antrim's fitness levels were suspect as the game wore on. Also again - why did Jody bring on a sub at 1:45 in 2 mins of injury time?
Francie will test Seanie's gums in 2 mins.
Hardstation's analysis sums it up, a lot of arseing about in front of the posts cost us again. I didn't think there was a lot of difference between the ability of the players it was about decision making and boys being prepared to take responsibility to kick it over the bar rather than fanny about with hand passing. 1-14 scored plus 13 wides shows we created plenty of chances. Not the worst performance I've seen over the last 30 years!! We'll win the Tommy Murphy!! It's a pity we can't play Roscommon or Carlow first day out!!
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on May 18, 2008, 07:21:23 PM
Hardstation's analysis sums it up, a lot of arseing about in front of the posts cost us again. I didn't think there was a lot of difference between the ability of the players it was about decision making and boys being prepared to take responsibility to kick it over the bar rather than fanny about with hand passing. 1-14 scored plus 13 wides shows we created plenty of chances. Not the worst performance I've seen over the last 30 years!! We'll win the Tommy Murphy!! It's a pity we can't play Roscommon or Carlow first day out!!
Roscommon have had two wins in the last 18 odd months in league and Championship, both against Cavan.
Quote from: ExiledGael on May 18, 2008, 07:25:58 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on May 18, 2008, 07:21:23 PM
Roscommon have had two wins in the last 18 odd months in league and Championship, both against Cavan.
Cavan aren't a bad team ;) Just finished watching the Galway/Rossies game...Kilkenny would have beaten them.
I think from a Cavan point of view the fact the Antrim scored 1-14 and seem to be able to run through at will from the half back line is a bit worring.
You could imagine Aaron Kernan in the same situation with Clarke, McDonnell and McConville waiting for the pass inside.
Antrim bossed the midfield for the most of the game and threw it away. I know that if Fermanagh score 1-14 next weekend and we get beat I will be gutted.
Fermanagh score 1-14??
Culchies are funny!
It was very much a game which Antrim could have won but to be honest the better team won in the end.
To be honest I was disappointed with Antrim's appetite for the game. I felt they were devoid of movement and hunger at times. To be honest I was very disappointed in Paddy Cunningham - he did absolutely nothing frees aside.
Performances of note - young McCann, I thought Kelly had one of his better games, Scullion can run and caused problems but man his feet are poor!, Magill when on and Loughrey battled very well. One on one shouldn't be happening with Johnston who is quality though.
I felt Lorcan Mulvey changed the course of the game. Antrim had no one of that size to put against him. Had Joe Quinn been there could have been different.
If Antrim had taken their scores in their dominant period at the beginning of the second half they could have maybe sneaked it but not to be.
Saw another Rossa legend on the box, a Russian goalkeeper.
Paddy Cunningham offered nothing from general play, good free taker, thats about the height of it. You cant have that full forward line, none of Cunningham, Mc Gourty or Close can win their own ball. Scullion can run like a greyhound but he seems to have the sense of one too.
At least it was £13 in and not £18.
Its something.
Best game I have seen in the championship ,Antrim manager seems pissed with his lads .Seanie J some player . I often wonder how players like him would fit in a starting 15 for one of the top counties .
Cunningham was poor--the free he came out to take 50yards out at the start of the 2nd half ruined our momentum--he was never gonna kick it over and it slowed everything down--it should have been taken short or banged in low to the FF Line--instead we had to wait 90 seconds while he came out before slicing it well off to the left--offers nothing from play--shud not be on.
Loughrey did rightly against Johnson, forced him to overcarry and beat him to balls but when the ball is goin in time and again Johnson will score, as was said before, Johnson doesnt even need to go by a player to score, just needs half a yard. Loughrey is a great man marker but i feel may be better suited to wing half back as hes a flyer and unlike Scullion is not headless
It was a joke the amount Scullion kicked away and th eone at start of 2nd half shud have been fisted over, it was embarrasing.
Niblock battled well and Tomas McCann did make some great runs--he is a flyer.
Scouse was no good and Aidso didnt look up for it at all.
3 small left footers in the FF Line was never going to work--Magill shud have been in there
Mulvey made some difference--Antrim, Bar big Joe Quinn, just never seem to have men of that size.
Anyone else burnt and have sunstroke or is it just me??
Quote from: johnpower on May 18, 2008, 10:28:41 PM
Best game I have seen in the championship ,Antrim manager seems pissed with his lads .Seanie J some player . I often wonder how players like him would fit in a starting 15 for one of the top counties .
Some of his point taking reminded me of Canavan. Two steps and bang. Great awareness and speed of thought too.
Needs to shave.
Quote from: hardstation on May 18, 2008, 11:51:25 PM
Hands used the hands well for the goal. Reminded me of Oisin McConville's goal when they won the All Ireland. He used the hands well again when he set up Conor John (what's his confirmation name) McGourty up for a point. He was quiet but to say he shouldn't have been on is a bit much. The Cavan posters had confidence in their man marking full back line. Still can't get over his pass back to midfield though.
Yes it was unusual but was probably the best option given the amount of ball they lost through lack of movement/crowding out. Antrim badly needed someone to swing one over from 30-40 to give the Cavan defence something else to think about.
1-14 would win most championship games. We'll find out how good Cavan's defence are against the Apple-Chompers/Street-Urinators.
Well at least we've avoided the Ulster wooden spoon this year.
Can't be too hard on ourselves, after all I was fairly sure we'd draw this at best, so to win fairly comfortably was a bonus.
That said, Antrim's defence was even more porous than ours and save for the few times they went on charges up the field through the alarming gaps Cavan left sometimes, their attacking was ponderous and wayward to say the least. Yer man kicking the ball 50 yards backwards summed it up.
It was a terribly 'nice' game of football, either side barely put a hand on the other all game and yet the referee saw fit to award a string of frees, and was seemingly more benevolent towards Antrim especially in the first half.
Mulvey's introduction swung the game our way at a time when Antrim looked well positioned. McDonald came well into the game at this stage as well. Overall, a win is a win but Armagh will throw that Cavan side around like rag dolls and we won't have the time and space to covert as many scores from play as today.
Seanie will take some holding in this form - hats off to the lad - but he won't beat Armagh on his own. McKeever's return will be a big plus, and maybe if Sean Brady and Walsh are a bit fitter we can keep it respectable against Armagh's big hitters.
Biggest plus of the day for me? Our minors won a tight game when the fat was in the fire, that means more than the senior victory to me.
QuoteIt was a terribly 'nice' game of football, either side barely put a hand on the other all game
Yes, that was something else that came across. Badly needed an uppercut.
E O'Reilly who came on for Cavan is a total legend, what a throughother lookin hoor he hasn't shaved in about 2 weeks or cut that ridiculous mop in a few months you'd think if he was gonna get on the telly he'd get a championship haircut ffs!
Thought Niblock done well for Antrim in terms of winning possession, apart from that T McCann was strong in running with the ball and CJ finished things off well when handed chances. As I expected Cavan won at a canter. Jody Gormley does not appear to have taken the Saffrons on one iota unfortunately.
Quote from: hardstation on May 19, 2008, 12:19:31 AM
Anyone who kicks the ball 50 yards the wrong way needs to be tied to the back of a car and dragged up the Monagh bypass. Especially when his team mates busted their balls to get it up to him. A forward in possession is there to make things happen on the scoring front. Keep it, draw a foul or work it towards a scoring position. Certainly not, "I know you did well to get it to me but could you fire it in again?".
Fair enough but I don't agree. I've never seen him do it before so I still believe that he had no option available. Did a point come from it?
What about McHugh's sort-of-revelation afterwards that some of the players had booked flights to Amerikay, or that this rumour had been doing the rounds?
I'd heard it last year but no word this.
Quote from: Rav67 on May 19, 2008, 12:51:27 AM
E O'Reilly who came on for Cavan is a total legend, what a throughother lookin hoor he hasn't shaved in about 2 weeks or cut that ridiculous mop in a few months you'd think if he was gonna get on the telly he'd get a championship haircut ffs!
I don't suppose you've heard the story about someone dressing up as him in Virginia for Halloween one year?! True story, the beard, the mop, the Cavan kit and all! ;D
I know people are saying 1-14 would win a lot of championship games but that game had been decided half way through the second half and Antrim had quite a few "garbage time" scores, when the match was in the balance Antrim reverted to type and lay down.
Well a win is a win and well done to both seniors and minors. This game was closer than most are giving credit for. The difference in the end was that Cavan took nearly every chance while Antrim kicked 11 wides in the 2nd half. The turning point in the game was the introduction of Mulvey who won 4 clean catches in the space of 5 minutes. His introduction seemed to spur on McDonald too who landed 2 very nice points from the middle. Johnstone turned the screw on his man in the 2nd half and was unstoppable. McCabe on the square gave the Antrim defendce something to think about although I think he was playing on one leg as he was injured and thats why he wasn't in midfield. On the negative side I think our full back line was very very loose. Even Hannon had a poor game by his standards. Even podge was terrible when he came on. Play like that against Armagh and we'll be hammered. Mackey had a good first half, although he mixed in some poor loses of possesion, it is still the best I seen him play for Cavan. He was subbed in 2nd half as he tired, plus he was on a yellow and a tick. Half back line was very porous. Young waters is good going forward but loose in defence. Ford stuck tight but for me he needs to be at wing back and McKeever at ctr back next day. Dermot Sheridan is not a man for the middle. Why he started there only Mr keoghan can answer. Martin Reilly was very good. Works very hard and is very economical with the ball. I think he got 3 points. Flanagan was ok. I though Jason was quite poor and didn't show much movement for us either. I have to say credit to Keoghan for introducing Mulvey, it is the 1st time he has made a sub that influenced the game positively for Cavan.
The minors was a tight affair. I thought Cavan were the best team but made hard work of it. There were two big turning points. The switching of Dara Tighe onto Antrims No 11 and the introduction of gaels man McClarey. I thougt Cavan FF looked slow and lazy but jasus he turned his man inside out more times and I reckon he scored 1-4 or somthing like that. Cavan minors looked nervous, probably due to past failure, so that win will do them wonders.
1.SEAN MC GREEVEY, did well was unlucky with the goal
2.KEVIN O BOYLE, was rubbish he was doing the waving in the face of his man the whole game, don't think he touched ball
3.ANDREW MC CLEAN, won the first ball and competed with McCabe most of the game, out of position for the goal but played well for most part
4.JAMES LOUGHERY, his man scored 9 points, says it all this is were we lost the game you can't play on his shoulder there should have been a man in front low ball went into him every time, Cavans game plan seemed to be hit Johnston and it worked
5.TONY SCULLION, that lad has serious speed but every run came to a disastrous pass or mistake or a wide
6.JUSTIN CROZIER, played well was quiet, has had more impact in other games I've seen him, think his man scored three points
7.SEAN KELLY, played well enough looked small compared to the Cavan players
8.AODHAN GALLAGHER, lost in midfield did not win too much ball
9.MICHAEL MC CANN, played well, but would have better used on the half forward line
10.TOMAS MC CANN, good player had good game
11.KEVIN NIBLOCK, Kevin had a good game kicked a nice point but should have scored a couple more, a lot of players were off loading the ball when the shot was on
12.PAUL CLOSE, not in the game, battled hard but had no real input
13.PADDY CUNNINGHAM, took the frees and led off the ball for CJ's goal not much else though
14.CONNOR JOHN MC GOURTY, did well when in possession scored a great point and managed one off his right boot, more ball in and he'd have scored more
15.KIERAN CLOSE, scored a great point but not much else
19.MICHAEL MAGILL, played well when he came on, should have started but I believe he was hurling training that morning for the count team
Over all I think Cavan had more in their locker, we had to work real hard for our scores in the second half and Cavan managed to just go straight up the field after we scored to score themselves.
Also why was Malachy playing in front of the 30 supporters at the stand side instead of the 7000 supporters on the cheap seats?
Overall was Happy enough with yesterday
Delighted with
Michael McDonald's debut at Centre Field
a much lighter Lorcan Mulvey making an impact when he came on
Jelly's continued brilliance,
Cian Mackeys playmaking and passing ability
Martin Reilys style and finishing
Martin Cahills support play and workrate
Ronan Flanagans finishing and all round play
Gunner got on alot of ball when he came on and linked up well
disappointed with
how slow and sluggish the full back line was. Michael Brides wasnt fit to walk, and was taken off
Rory Dunne was poor to start with and improved as the game went on.
Michael Hannon looked a bit sluggish which is uncharacteristic for him.
Dermot Sheridan had a poor game,hes no midfielder,and Michael McCann definetely won his battle with him.
Forde was decent, but Niblock got on alot of ball.
McCabe scored 1-1 and caused a few problems with his size but the man wasnt fit to walk yesterday, he was behind his man whenever the ball came in low,all he was yesterday was a distraction and a battering ram, to stand a chance against Armagh he needs to be fit.
Jason offered little yesterday ecept his point,i think he touched the ball about twice in the second half.
on Antrim
dont think ive ever witnessed speed like Antrims number 5 Scullion had,
The man left Cian Mackey who is a speed merchant himself in his dust throughout, if only he had a final product and good feet we would have been in trouble.
Number 10,Tomas McCann is a class looking player was very impressed with him,great speed and skill,one to watch for in future.
Niblock got on alot of ball and gave Forde his fill of it,
Cunningham and McGourty were always out in front and had too much speed and movement for their markers,but they missed some chances that IC players should be scoring which would have left it alot closer,
CJ is going to be a star.
Michael Magill made a difference and used his strength to win a few frees, i think hed have acted as a good foil for the two small lads in the full forward line if he had started.
Is Jody Gormley blind? Why did he leave Loughrey on Johnson when johnson was having the game of his life, running round kissing his wrist and punching into the air. Cant wait to see him against Armagh he will be suffocated and will be more concerned about who is coming behind him other than looking round at the crowd applauding himself, ARD MHACA ABU
Quote from: Onion Bag on May 19, 2008, 09:53:43 AM
Is Jody Gormley blind? Why did he leave Loughrey on Johnson when johnson was having the game of his life, running round kissing his wrist and punching into the air. Cant wait to see him against Armagh he will be suffocated and will be more concerned about who is coming behind him other than looking round at the crowd applauding himself, ARD MHACA ABU
Aye cos you wouldnt get Mc Donnell applauding himself after a score.......
why is bellew going to come out and break his jaw like he did against Mickey Linden in the Ulster Club?
Typical Armagh mentality right there.
Fair play to Donal Keogan and Cavan yesterday. The first time in three attempts over 5 years that we have managed to beat Antrim in the opening game of the Championship.
anyway Best of luck to Antrim in the Tommy Murphy, hope ye take it seriously and go on and win it.
PS what the f**k was that burning in the hills to the right of the stand?????
Quote from: Minder on May 19, 2008, 09:55:55 AM
Aye cos you wouldnt get Mc Donnell applauding himself after a score.......
Absolutely, Mc donnell, clarke and co will come out and maybe applaud their team mates for a good pass in or whatever, but he johnson was actually applauding himself
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on May 19, 2008, 09:59:42 AM
anyway Best of luck to Antrim in the Tommy Murphy, hope ye take it seriously and go on and win it.
jody gormelys wallet >:(
Did anyone else think Zed from Police Academy had a stormer yesterday? He'll take some watching!!
(http://i141.photobucket.com/albums/r63/loopyglock/SeanieJ2.jpg)
(http://i141.photobucket.com/albums/r63/loopyglock/SeanieJ.jpg)
Last time Cavan played Armagh you'll find that Gerard Pierson ran rings around Francie. I also remember that day Francie lying on the ground faking injury when Pierce McKenna threw a punch at him and missed after 30s. McKenna got the line and the rest is history. Anyway, I'd love to see Johnson left on his own against Francie but I doubt Armagh would be that stupid.
Quote from: mylestheslasher on May 19, 2008, 10:20:17 AM
Last time Cavan played Armagh you'll find that Gerard Pierson ran rings around Francie. I also remember that day Francie lying on the ground faking injury when Pierce McKenna threw a punch at him and missed after 30s. McKenna got the line and the rest is history. Anyway, I'd love to see Johnson left on his own against Francie but I doubt Armagh would be that stupid.
Absolutely, Johnson is a good footballer and Armagh can not afford to give him half the room he had yesterday,
The quality of ball coming to johnson against armagh will be majorly different.
Antrim stood up out the pitch and let the cavan men pick the perfect pass which killed the inside defenders.
The reality is that antrim have made no progress what so ever in the last couple of years and if anything are now further behind the rest of the pack than we were say ten years ago.
Major review needed as to what the football panel are doing and if this is the kind of performance/ result we get froma full winters training then there is something badly lacking. Maybe a return to club football and a more competitive system is what is required.
Antrim
Loughery won the first two balls, then got mauled. He should have been moved off him before half time, never mind last the full game. He is a class act with great hands and stamina, but Johnston was in a different league yesterday.
Thought CJ did pretty well, 1-4 from play considering the shocking service the FF line was getting was something to be proud of. Why on earth they persisted with high ball after high ball is beyond me. Cunningham hit a couple of frees and that was about it. Mick McCann played well but faded terribly in the second half.
Tony Scullion should be locked up for some of the balls he played yesterday. Phenomenal pace, left his marker for dead every time, but it's not much use when you run up a blind alley and kick the thing wide.
Think Crozier might need to bulk up a bit before being ready to play CHB. Ronan Flanagan is only 20 as well but looked considerably stronger.
Aidso didn't figure much either but tried hard, as did Niblock, who played the best game I've seen him play in a long time. Won and offloaded the ball, he was strong in the tackle and chipped in with a nice point.
Andy looked good, burst out a couple of times, but was badly outfought for the goal. In saying that, it takes an awful lot to hold your own against a man of McCabe's stature.
Magill played well when he came on, was just what they needed. In hindsight he probably should have started.
Jody
Should be forced after this. A completely and utterly gutless management display. Leaving Loughery on Johnston was obviously the biggest crime, but when it was time to change things, he didn't, leaving it until Cavan had the match won. Introducing a sub with 15 seconds to go is more insulting than complimentary.
It would be hard to criticise any player who decides to go to America this summer. Jody has taken this team as far as he can (if anywhere at all) and it will be very hard to entice anyone into staying with the prospect of the Tommy Murphy.
From Cavan's point of view, they can consider themselves lucky enough. Without Johnston they'd have lost. Flanagan and Martin Cahill looked good and Mulvey played well when he came on. Mackey looked good at times, at others ran around like a headless chicken and was probably taken off at the right time.
Quote from: NAG on May 19, 2008, 10:48:04 AM
The quality of ball coming to johnson against armagh will be majorly different.
Antrim stood up out the pitch and let the cavan men pick the perfect pass which killed the inside defenders.
Correct and right. Johnston could well be living off scraps as even with a weak enough midfield, Antrim won plenty of possession round the middle, so you'd expect Armagh to be even better than that again. The return of McKeever and possibly Walsh might muscle things up a bit there for Cavan though, I wouldn't start Mulvey as he still looks like he'd be huffing and puffing by half time.
If McCabe is fit enough for the midfield the next day, he'll be moved back out and mad Eddie might get a run to give the Armagh backs something to think about - as long as he wouldn't lose the head.
This Mad Eddie shit pisses me off, I don't know anyone who calls him that
Quote from: Hollow Man on May 19, 2008, 03:09:22 PM
This Mad Eddie shit pisses me off, I don't know anyone who calls him that
Ah come on Hollowman, its used in a fond sort of way. Anyway, I could tell you some stories about him that would easily qualify as mad
HollowMan is Eddie Reily
way to go outing yourself HM :P
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on May 19, 2008, 09:59:42 AM
would love antrim to have a bit of balls and win the TM Cup
the burning was a bbq a few of the nice chaps in Ballymurphy were having