Big banana skin for Kildare, the last time we met we really struggled to beat Wicklow and were a tad fortunate in the end. Still we should have too much and this is the team I'd like to line out on Sunday.
Full back could an issue as it looks like Kevin O'Neill is still out injured, out too are Mick Foley and Killian Brennan.
1. Corley
2. Brennan
3. McLoughlin
4. O Flaherty
5. Rainbow
6. White
7. Callaghan
8. Early
9. Flynn
10. O Flaherty
11. Conway
12. Sweeney
13. Fenin
14. Smith
15. Doyle
I'd be very surprised if Kildare don't have at least 8 points to spare over Micko's wandering sideshow. They were poor, poor, poor in the league, and I think Kildare will have too much for them.
This is KIldare, favourites tag does not sit well and we never perform well against the so-called Minnows and rumours are emanating from Wicklow that they are flying in training....
I'm just not confident although coversely win this one I'd be confident of beating Laois....
In the battle of the big wallets I just hope the standard of football justifies the outlay on coaching staff!
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 13, 2008, 05:15:00 PM
In the battle of the big wallets I just hope the standard of football justifies the outlay on coaching staff!
Good comment there Magpie Seanie.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 13, 2008, 03:20:24 PM
This is KIldare, favourites tag does not sit well and we never perform well against the so-called Minnows and rumours are emanating from Wicklow that they are flying in training....
I'm just not confident although coversely win this one I'd be confident of beating Laois....
Aye we haven't a hope this year..Especially with Kildare flying so high above us in the league this year they would be massive favourites ::)
And sure in fairness just like our other neighbours Biffoland it has been a long time since ye beat us in the Championship ye must be due a win against us soon ;)
wicklow are a doged team highly fit and competitive it took us (louth) three games last year to shake them off in the first round
game could be there for the taking with fifteen minutes remaining kildare should pull away SHOULD!
QuoteAye we haven't a hope this year..Especially with Kildare flying so high above us in the league this year they would be massive favourites
Aye good old Laois the perennial chokers of Leinster football. Not even looking beyond the goat suckers to be honest.
From Hoganstand:
Kildare manager Kieran McGeeney is sweating on the fitness of star forward John Doyle ahead of Sunday's Leinster SFC opener against Wicklow at Croke Park. :o
The Allenwood sharpshooter hasn't been able to take a full part in training since suffering a rib injury in a challenge match against Cork the weekend before last and is a major doubt for the showdown with Mick O'Dwyer's charges.
Brian Flanagan is definitely out after suffering a broken jaw in Kildare's final NFL game against Laois, but on the plus side, defender Kevin O'Neill, midfielder Killian Brennan and attacker Padraig O'Neill have all recovered from recent injuries.
Gary White, who was an inspirational figure in the Lilywhites' march to this year's All-Ireland under 21 final, has also recovered from a shoulder problem and is certain to make his senior championship debut.
White is joined on the senior panel by fellow under 21s Alan Smith, Declan Brennan, Tom Byrne and Eoghan O'Flaherty.
Kildare selector Niall Carew admits that the under 21 side's exploits in recent weeks have ensured a low-key championship build-up for the seniors.
He said: "It was nice although to be honest, I don't think the under 21s got enough credit for getting where they did.
"I am looking forward to the game now and by Sunday we'll have as much done as a management team as we can. Once the boys cross the white line, it'll be up to them. They have all the hard work done."
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 14, 2008, 11:30:24 AM
QuoteAye we haven't a hope this year..Especially with Kildare flying so high above us in the league this year they would be massive favourites
Aye good old Laois the perennial chokers of Leinster football. Not even looking beyond the goat suckers to be honest.
That's as much of a Pot,Kettle,Black statement as i have ever heard
QuoteThat's as much of a Pot,Kettle,Black statement as i have ever heard
This is men's football we're talking about not boys or girls but Laois have lost the last three finals they've been in, 2007, 2005 and 2004. ???
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 14, 2008, 05:30:24 PM
QuoteThat's as much of a Pot,Kettle,Black statement as i have ever heard
This is men's football we're talking about not boys or girls but Laois have lost the last three finals they've been in, 2007, 2005 and 2004. ???
Whats the ??? for i didn't argue with what you said about Laois i just think its funny coming from someone from Kildare who haven't even got to a fecking Final since 2003 ye choke way before that stage
Eh you can't choke before a final, it's in the final that a team chokes and that's where Laois choke best. Anyway no point having this discussion until after the Wicklow game, so save your envy till then.
Have Wicklow signed anyone good since last season?
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 14, 2008, 05:49:41 PM
Eh you can't choke before a final, it's in the final that a team chokes and that's where Laois choke best. Anyway no point having this discussion until after the Wicklow game, so save your envy till then.
Eh what a load of bollix..Of course you can choke before a final look at Dublin for ffs..
Are you telling me you can't choke in a semi-final or even a 1/4 final..
QuoteEh what a load of bollix.
Tut! Tut! Choking is essence all about anxiety, the further you go in a competition the greater the anxiety, if for example you are Laois and your target is to win Leinster, once you reach the final your anxiety increases as you are that much closer to your goal. It is this anxiety that causes teams to choke. One of the reasons Dublin have been so dominate in Leinster the last 3 years is because their target is an All-Ireland and not a Leinster so they are relaxed and playing within comfortable anxiety levels however the further they get in the All-Ireland series the greater the anxiety and their tendency to choke.
Kildare and Mayo would also be good examples (Kildare I think have won only 13 out of nearly 40 Leinster finals), Arsenal to a lesser extent but NZ rugby is probably the best example of all. This why I believe teams like Fermanagh and Sligo etc do so well in the qualifiers, they have no expectation therefore they have no anxiety and they can relax and enjoy the game. Now this is purely pop psychology and not based on scientific fact.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 14, 2008, 08:55:22 PM
QuoteEh what a load of bollix.
Tut! Tut! Choking is essence all about anxiety, the further you go in a competition the greater the anxiety, if for example you are Laois and your target is to win Leinster, once you reach the final your anxiety increases as you are that much closer to your goal. It is this anxiety that causes teams to choke. One of the reasons Dublin have been so dominate in Leinster the last 3 years is because their target is an All-Ireland and not a Leinster so they are relaxed and playing within comfortable anxiety levels however the further they get in the All-Ireland series the greater the anxiety and their tendency to choke.
Kildare and Mayo would also be good examples (Kildare I think have won only 13 out of nearly 40 Leinster finals), Arsenal to a lesser extent but NZ rugby is probably the best example of all. This why I believe teams like Fermanagh and Sligo etc do so well in the qualifiers, they have no expectation therefore they have no anxiety and they can relax and enjoy the game. Now this is purely pop psychology and not based on scientific fact.
So really behind that long rigmarole you do agree with me that you can choke in any game regardless of whether its a final or not thus proving your original statement of you can only choke in a final false
Thanks for clearing that up,Enjoy your game at the weekend I'll leave ye to discuss that game now.
The Kildare team for sunday apparently
Thomas Corley
Morgan O'Flaherty
Kevin O'Neill
Emmet Bolton
Anthony Rainbow
Aindriú Mac Lochlainn
Gary White
Killian Brennan
Dermot Earley
John Doyle
Daryl Flynn
Ronan Sweeney
Michael Conway
Pádraig O'Neill
Alan Smith
Strong Team anyway, Im abit wary of Emmet Bolton Corner back though not the best of backs in my opinion.
Anyway Really looking forward to this game which in no way will be easy, especially when micko is over the opposing team. It makes me suspect he's got something up his sleeve.
Cill Dara Abú
Team with clubs for those interested...
1. Thomas Corley (Moorefield)
2. Morgan O'Flaherty (Carbury)
3. Kevin O'Neill (Moorefield)
4. Emmet Bolton (Eadestown)
5. Anthony Rainbow (Suncroft)
6. Aindriú Mac Lochlainn (Ellistown)
7. Gary White (Sarsfields)
8. Killian Brennan (Suncroft)
9. Demot Earley(Sarsfields)
10. John Doyle (Allenwood)
11. Daryl Flynn (Moorefield)
12. Ronan Sweeney (Moorefield)
13. Michael Conway (Nurney)
14. Pádraig O'Neill (St. Laurences)
15. Alan Smith (Sarsfields)
Looks like a strong team on paper. You'd be worried how fit Pádraig O'Neill, Killian Brennan & Kevin O'Neill would be coming back from injury. I don't like Bolton in the corner either. Would rather see Eamon Callaghan in the there (maybe he's injured). Hope Johnny Doyle is fit to start but hopefully Conway and Smith can offer a scoring threat.
Fair play to Anthony Rainbow. I played against him a couple of times back around 92/93/94 and he is still going strong. He was a bit older than me then as well I think. Some committment when you think about it.
On paper that is closest to our strongest team but agree about the questions over the two O'Neills, Doyles and Brennans fitness and also I'd see Bolton as a half-back. On paper we should win but games aren't won on paper so will be very nervous on Sunday..
Fair play to Anthony Rainbow. I played against him a couple of times back around 92/93/94 and he is still going strong. He was a bit older than me then as well I think. Some committment when you think about it.
Jaysus AZ I always thought you were older than 36 :o I'll ask Anthony what does he remember about ya....
He'll remember very little about me. Maybe he'll remember the heels of my boots, that's all he saw :D (That's why he's still playing 15 years later and I'm writing on internet forums :D)
I'm 35 this August.
QuoteMaybe he'll remember the heels of my boots,
as you were been subbed off :D
Where is Willie Heffernan?
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 16, 2008, 04:10:11 PM
QuoteMaybe he'll remember the heels of my boots,
as you were been subbed off :D
Hence why he's where he is, and I'm where I am :D
(I wasn't subbed though :D)
Does John Doyle still hit the frees and do most of the scoring for Kildare and is he playing on sunday?
How do yous think yous will do and what do yous think about McGeeney so far?
QuoteWhere is Willie Heffernan?
Willie is still about, lots of injuries, poor work-rate and poor distribution means he's never delivered on his talent. Playing junior football with Nurney probably doesn't help.
QuoteHow do yous think yous will do and what do yous think about McGeeney so far?
I think we'll win but I can see it been very tight and only in the last 15 will Kildare pull away, big test for McGeeney on Sunday so we'll see, too early yet and it won't be till next year that we'll get a true picture of what he's trying to achieve.
All square at halftime, Wicklow winning a lot of possesion from kick outs.
Wicklow miss a gilt edge chance of a goal. :-[ Cant afforrd to waste these chances.
Smashing spell for Wicklow at them moment Hannon playing a blinder four points without reply so far ths half.
Kildare look to be in trouble 11 points to 6. Come on Wicklow!!
An extra man now, playing like we should see it out.
Kildare look a poor side today. A shadow of their former selves.
Fair play to Wicklow!! Thoroughly deserving of their win.
Jaysis that was great..I suppose you could say Kildare choked ;)
Be great now for Wicklow to play one of the bigger teams of Leinster in the next round :D
Great result for Wicklow. WIll have to fancy their chances of causing another upset, although Laois will be much more on their guard from the start next day out.
Brolly & O'Rourke certainly didn't spare McGeeney anyway and to be fair I think their analysis was spot on.
Love it when mercenaries like him get a pasting
Well done Wicklow
Dont think it was a case of Kildare not being on their guard. Wicklow were just better. They put some great passages of play together and if it weren't for some poor shot selection, they shuda been a lot further ahead with 30 minutes played.
kildare are absolutely crap, let's get real here. devoid of a game plan, tactics or spirit . the armagh way that grimley and mc geeney have tried to install hasn't worked. but you'd have to counter that with that they won;t have much to work with. young smith looks a good player but to be so comphrehensively outplayed by a div 4 team is a shocking endigtment of the players and management. where kildare football goes after today is anyone's guess.
fair play to wicklow , should have won by 10 such was their dominance.
First championship win in Croke Park for Wickla and fair fecks to them.
Single most depressing day watching Kildare football ever. Hard to argue with any comments here and agree with most, every the idiotic ones who just want to stick the knife into Kildare football.
Anyway Kildare's performance should not take away from Wicklow, who are an honest bunch of footballers and have some talent, no one in Kildare under-estimated them and I can see them giving Laois a genuine rattle. Best of luck to you.
i'm not sticking any knife in dinny, but if that was dublin who produced a display like that, i simply wouldn't go to watch them again for a long time. if no kildare fans go to their next game they can't have any complaints. There was no passion in their play at all, you don't have to be a good player to have a bit of guts and determination. kildare lost every 50/50 ball today. and aside from young smith and the keeper they should ask themselves why they're playing their game. if you go down fighting that's one thing, but some of them didn't shake a leg. It wasn't the fact wicklow were better which they were, it was the fact kildare didn't even put it up to them.
You'd have to look at the managment too.
Quote from: theskull1 on May 18, 2008, 03:42:19 PM
Brolly & O'Rourke certainly didn't spare McGeeney anyway and to be fair I think their analysis was spot on.
As opposed to Micko....
Quotei'm not sticking any knife in dinny, but if that was dublin who produced a display like that, i simply wouldn't go to watch them again for a long time.
Regardless of how poor they were I'm not just going to stop supporting them. Players don't go out and deliberately play like that yes we can talk about the lack of spirit and passion but these players are sadly the best Kildare have got, I'll still go to the qualifier game not expecting much but just hoping we can turn it around, that game for those players is no longer about playing football for Kildare but showing a bit of passion and belief in themselves and their team mates. Trust me the knives will be out for the older players and the management but I said all along it will take a minimum of two years and possibly three before McGeeney can do anything in Kildare. You learn a lot more in defeat than you will ever in victory, now is the time for McGeeney to earn his stripes, I'm sure he is hurting as much as any player or supporter.
Anyway, we shouldn't be taking from Wicklow's performance which was more than worthy of winning that game by 7 or 8 points.
I think even the Samaritans have stopped taking calls from Kildare... :-[
Quote from: Uladh on May 18, 2008, 07:12:23 PM
As opposed to Micko....
Nice one Uladh! ;D
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on May 18, 2008, 08:04:38 PM
Quote from: Uladh on May 18, 2008, 07:12:23 PM
As opposed to Micko....
Nice one Uladh! ;D
2 mercenaries yes.......was quite aware of that
One got an absolute pasting though and I was happy to see him get it.....and the joke is? (Bit worried I have McGeeney's sense of humor :))
Rope will be sold on prescription only for a few weeks in Kildare :)
(http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2046/2259871527_82647564dc.jpg?v=0)
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 18, 2008, 06:43:20 PM
Single most depressing day watching Kildare football ever. Hard to argue with any comments here and agree with most, every the idiotic ones who just want to stick the knife into Kildare football.
Anyway Kildare's performance should not take away from Wicklow, who are an honest bunch of footballers and have some talent, no one in Kildare under-estimated them and I can see them giving Laois a genuine rattle. Best of luck to you.
Dinny do not despair Kildare real challenge is now ,Great day for Wicklow .well done Micko
Mayoman .Poor Poor taste
I think thats in poor taste Mayoman. Take it down.
Was thee today and to be honest Wicklow should have won by 10 as Indiana stated. Not taking anything away from Wicklow but Kildare were simply atrocious. I was shocked at how bad they were. A shambles really. Contrast that with Wicklow who were committed, organised and executed their game plan consistenly and under pressure didn't deviate from it. Not Micko's biggest fan but he's done a decent job with these lads and the enthusiasm of the Wicklow support can somewat be put down to the Micko factor. Never thought I'd hear them comfortably out shouting Kildare. Well done Wicklow.
QuoteBrolly & O'Rourke certainly didn't spare McGeeney anyway and to be fair I think their analysis was spot on.
Geezer's hardly a mercenary. He made it quite clear that he'd prefer to have been involved in the management set up of his own county. When the Armagh County board deided not to go for him, he choose the other avenue open to him to start his management career. Wouldn't describe it as mercenary.
Exactly boy
Can't disagree with that
Mercenaries!
I watched this game with more than a slight interest to see how things went for Kieran and Paul. To be fair to them I think they have taken on a very difficult task and will find it hard to change the pysche of a group of players who simply are not used to playing anything but football. I was listening to Eugene Magee and he stated that if given time Geezer will turn it round. I think the next game will show more about him and Grimley and their ability to manage than yesterday.
Let's face it O'Dwyer is the master motivator and out thought McGeeney. Wicklow could not have had it better poised, new manager trying new things with a team who had never played his way before, they are on a crest from last year(even though the league didn't go as well as they would have hoped), the big day out for the Wicklow players in Croke Park and the motivating factor of being the first wicklow team to win there in the championship. Also Micko is such an infectious man with real enthusiasm that he brings people with him. And if he played the old card, give me one last lash lads before I quit, h could get the extra bit out of them.
The game against Laois will be a more realistic guiding post to where Wicklow football currently. If Micko can ground them pretty quickly, (which I believe he can), I think they have a more than decent chance of beating Laois. They are solid at the back, they have two excellent midfielders who will compete with any pairing in Ireland and in Furlong and your man at n0 10( I cant think of his name) they have two forwards of genuine class. Also the no 12 who played a roaming role won a world of ball.
I do not think at this stage this result vindicates the Armagh county boards decision not to appoint Grimley, but it does cast some serious doubts over the ability of the two of them to manage a team at the highest level. Once you cut thorugh the bullshit, they were beaten by a 4th division team. Not only were they beaten but they were beaten out through the gate and never looked like winning. Brolly and O'Rourke were right in that the team reflected the persona of the manager, they were tight, dour, afraid to lose, whereas Wicklow expressed themselves and seemed to enjoy the game and played with a freedo, in the second half in particular, which belied their experience and status in the status quo of the game.
Well done Wicklow.
I like Keiran McGeaney and it was sad to hear him questioning himself when interviewed but I have to say Kildare were really, really awful. It reminded me of their teams pre-Micko. I dont think this attack on both Mick O'Dwyer and Kieran for being merchenaries is justified or fair. Why the hell should Wicklow or any county be forced to appoint managers from within if better is available from elsewhere.
I think it's all been covered already, and I'm not going to stick the knife into a wounded animal this morning. God knows we could end up playing Kildare later on in the summer :D
I'd agree with most of what was said above, but one thing above all else struck me when I was watching it. Kildare seemed to wait for somebody else to do the job for them, instead of having leaders to go and do it themselves. It was very strange. They seemed to be coasting along, almost as if they expected to win the game without trying to win it, if you know what I mean.
On 3 or 4 occasions Kildare had a free or a kick out, and were down by 4 or 5 points. This is late enough into the second half. At the very least you'd expect a bit of urgency, but it was surreal. Lads strolling around. Placing the ball, wiping their hands, looking around, pacing back etc etc. Absolutely no urgency or 'go' about them at all, until the last 4 or 5 minutes, and they were a beaten docket at that stage.
I'm not going to patronise Kildare, a proud county, by saying I felt sorry for them and their fans, but I was very surprised at their mental approach, and I wouldn't like to have been a Kildare man yesterday.
QuoteI wouldn't like to have been a Kildare man yesterday.
It's not much better today..
As for the urgency, couldn't agree more. at one stage I was screaming at Conway that he could have kicked 10 fees by the time he kicked one, wouldn't mind he still kicked it bloody wide...
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 19, 2008, 07:49:50 AM
I watched this game with more than a slight interest to see how things went for Kieran and Paul. To be fair to them I think they have taken on a very difficult task and will find it hard to change the pysche of a group of players who simply are not used to playing anything but football. I was listening to Eugene Magee and he stated that if given time Geezer will turn it round. I think the next game will show more about him and Grimley and their ability to manage than yesterday.
Let's face it O'Dwyer is the master motivator and out thought McGeeney. Wicklow could not have had it better poised, new manager trying new things with a team who had never played his way before, they are on a crest from last year(even though the league didn't go as well as they would have hoped), the big day out for the Wicklow players in Croke Park and the motivating factor of being the first wicklow team to win there in the championship. Also Micko is such an infectious man with real enthusiasm that he brings people with him. And if he played the old card, give me one last lash lads before I quit, h could get the extra bit out of them.
The game against Laois will be a more realistic guiding post to where Wicklow football currently. If Micko can ground them pretty quickly, (which I believe he can), I think they have a more than decent chance of beating Laois. They are solid at the back, they have two excellent midfielders who will compete with any pairing in Ireland and in Furlong and your man at n0 10( I cant think of his name) they have two forwards of genuine class. Also the no 12 who played a roaming role won a world of ball.
I do not think at this stage this result vindicates the Armagh county boards decision not to appoint Grimley, but it does cast some serious doubts over the ability of the two of them to manage a team at the highest level. Once you cut thorugh the bullshit, they were beaten by a 4th division team. Not only were they beaten but they were beaten out through the gate and never looked like winning. Brolly and O'Rourke were right in that the team reflected the persona of the manager, they were tight, dour, afraid to lose, whereas Wicklow expressed themselves and seemed to enjoy the game and played with a freedo, in the second half in particular, which belied their experience and status in the status quo of the game.Well done Wicklow.
Spot on Crossbar - Kildare played division 1 football this year - drew with Tyrone in Omagh - how can you then be beaten by a 4th divison side ?
Kildare seemed to be shit scared of losing and didn't play at all. Micko has done a fantastic job with Wicklow and if they never win another game this year, they can point to this one which came after trying for 120 years !!
How many games have Wicklow played in Croker? This thing of playing early round matches is relatively recent enough, and quite a lot of Wicklow's games would have been in Aughrim/Carlow/Portlaoise/Tullamore etc etc etc. Not taking anything away from them, but this eulogising of Micko is very hard to listen to. Kildare were woeful yesterday. Wicklow played well, at times, although they made an inordinate amount of errors in handpassing etc, especially in the first half, and any other team, or Kildare on any other day, would have beaten them on that alone.
Geezers expression while standing on the touch-line much reminded me of his expression in the closing minutes of the 2005 semi-final!
Brolly poking fun at the players long sour faces reflecting the personality of the manager was a bit below the belt!
Quote from: under the bar on May 19, 2008, 10:34:55 AM
Geezers expression while standing on the touch-line much reminded me of his expression in the closing minutes of the 2005 semi-final!
Brolly poking fun at the players long sour faces reflecting the personality of the manager was a bit below the belt!
Anything to do with the anti GPAs V the GPA.
i think a major problem for mc geeney will be training players that don't have the manic zeal for training he had. it's very difficult for top class players to train players who weren't as good as them initially. may have been better advised to start at club level, but who knows he could turn it around given 2-3 years. I don't think wicklow will beat laois though. Shoot me down if you want but laois may highlight how bad kildare really were yesterday next day out. Laois are better than people think they are and have bundles of pace all over the pitch. laois by about 5 points for me.
I agree Indiana. If Wicklow are as sloppy with the ball as they were yesterday, Laois will punish them.
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 18, 2008, 11:08:52 PM
[
Geezer's hardly a mercenary. He made it quite clear that he'd prefer to have been involved in the management set up of his own county. When the Armagh County board deided not to go for him, he choose the other avenue open to him to start his management career. Wouldn't describe it as mercenary.
Why didnt he start with a club team like most people do?
Maybe thoul' expenses are better at County level :D
If McGeeney isn't up to it then so be it. He is one player I have a lot respect for and a type I would want to succeed in management.
I think Dinny feared something would happen in this game but nothing could have prepared him for that spectacle.
McGeeney refused Mayo a challenge game earlier in the year - said that he wanted Kildare playing tougher teams - a fact Johnno was quick to bring up with him when we pasted them in Newbridge in the league ;D
QuoteMcGeeney refused Mayo a challenge game earlier in the year
Not only that, Kildare didn't play an challenge games for three weeks prior to the Wicklow game fior fear of injury :-\