Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Mickey Linden on April 01, 2008, 10:45:44 AM

Title: April Fools
Post by: Mickey Linden on April 01, 2008, 10:45:44 AM
Anyone been caught out this morning yet? Whats your best April Fools stories? Seen one in the mirror this morning saying that they were bringing dog racing to ice after the success of dancing on ice. classic! Can anyone post a few more classic april fools stories?
Title: Re: April Fools
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 01, 2008, 10:51:33 AM
I was reading somewhere that Spurs were planning to attack the top six next year.
Post by: Gnevin on April 01, 2008, 12:00:18 PM
Tony F claiming to be a GAA fan  ;D
Post by: downredblack on April 01, 2008, 12:17:26 PM
Dubs raid Aussies!!!
01 April 2008

In an amazing development, Dublin have snatched three prominent AL players from under the noses of stunned Aussie officials.

The trio - who play for Sydney Swans, Carlton and Essendon - will link up with Paul Caffrey's squad ahead of the Leinster championship.

With anger in Ireland over the number of young players heading Down Under, it is a major coup for the Sky Blues to convince professionals from the antipodean game to move in the opposite direction.

The players have been promised key coaching roles in the capital and will also help prepare Ireland teams for future International Rules series.

Dubs/Aussie Rules great Jim Stynes is believed to have brokered the deal.

In a related story, Dublin chiefs will tonight draw up plans to have an oval ball introduced on an experimental basis in next year's O'Byrne Cup.
Post by: ziggysego on April 01, 2008, 01:43:56 PM
GPA say grants does not amount to Pay-For-Play.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 01, 2008, 02:01:26 PM
Linfield fans NOT involved in assaults in Belfast on Saturday.  ::)
Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 01, 2008, 02:20:17 PM
Donegal senior team with balls ;)
Post by: feetofflames on April 01, 2008, 02:34:14 PM
Paddy Heaney
Post by: Maguire01 on April 01, 2008, 02:42:53 PM
The Irish News:

QuoteIreland is to form closer links with Britain in future

Scientists have made a startling revelation that the UK's biggest earthquake in 24 years has created a new tectonic plate which is forcing Ireland and Britain together.

Described by geologists as "the most significant seismic discovery in centuries", it is estimated that continental drift will cause Ireland to become physically part of Britain in 1,500 years.

It will be the first time since the break-up of Pangaea more than 250 million years ago, that the two have come into contact.

Tremors from February's earthquake were felt in parts of Northern Ireland.

A duty watch manager at Bangor, Co Down coastguard station said he felt the aftershock.

The quake had a 5.3 magnitude, which the British Geological Survey described as significant.

While studying the tremor's aftermath, a team of seismologists and geophysicists said they were shocked to learn that a new plate had formed around Ireland.

Already Ireland and Britain are on the Eurasian Plate, a landmass consisting of the traditional continents of Europe and Asia.

The group–based in both Northern Ireland and Canada –will share its findings today in journal Geology Tomorrow.

Team leader, Professor Clarence Boddicker, said the new discovery will be named the Hibernian Plate.

"We are entering a new phase of continental collision that will ultimately result in the formation of a super land mass," he said.

"Global climate is warming because we are leaving an ice age and adding greenhouse gases to the atmosphere.

If we continue present-day plate motions, the Atlantic will widen and we can expect the creation of a single British Isle."

He added the new Hibernian Plate would cause Ireland and Britain to come together much sooner than expected.

"Celtic fusion should be realised by 3500. While this is very much on the long finger there is an onus on both the British and Irish governments to employ the finest scientific minds to thwart this potentially devastating seismic shift," he said.

"There will be no jigsaw-like slotting together, largely due to centuries of erosion. There will instead be a collision causing compressional forces that will create a new mountain range, which will act as a natural border."

This will not be the first time that Ireland has undergone a geological change. It was split in two and divided by an ocean 600 million years ago. The north and south were also on separate continents.

The latest disclosure has spawned a special interest group.

A spokesman for Combine Our Nations said the Earth would bring two countries together in a shorter time than politics could ever achieve.
Post by: ziggysego on April 01, 2008, 02:48:15 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 01, 2008, 02:42:53 PM
The Irish News:

QuoteIreland is to form closer links with Britain in future

Scientists have made a startling revelation that the UK's biggest earthquake in 24 years has created a new tectonic plate which is forcing Ireland and Britain together.

Described by geologists as "the most significant seismic discovery in centuries", it is estimated that continental drift will cause Ireland to become physically part of Britain in 1,500 years.

It will be the first time since the break-up of Pangaea more than 250 million years ago, that the two have come into contact.

Tremors from February's earthquake were felt in parts of Northern Ireland.

A duty watch manager at Bangor, Co Down coastguard station said he felt the aftershock.

The quake had a 5.3 magnitude, which the British Geological Survey described as significant.

While studying the tremor's aftermath, a team of seismologists and geophysicists said they were shocked to learn that a new plate had formed around Ireland.

Already Ireland and Britain are on the Eurasian Plate, a landmass consisting of the traditional continents of Europe and Asia.

The group–based in both Northern Ireland and Canada –will share its findings today in journal Geology Tomorrow.

Team leader, Professor Clarence Boddicker, said the new discovery will be named the Hibernian Plate.

"We are entering a new phase of continental collision that will ultimately result in the formation of a super land mass," he said.

"Global climate is warming because we are leaving an ice age and adding greenhouse gases to the atmosphere.

If we continue present-day plate motions, the Atlantic will widen and we can expect the creation of a single British Isle."

He added the new Hibernian Plate would cause Ireland and Britain to come together much sooner than expected.

"Celtic fusion should be realised by 3500. While this is very much on the long finger there is an onus on both the British and Irish governments to employ the finest scientific minds to thwart this potentially devastating seismic shift," he said.

"There will be no jigsaw-like slotting together, largely due to centuries of erosion. There will instead be a collision causing compressional forces that will create a new mountain range, which will act as a natural border."

This will not be the first time that Ireland has undergone a geological change. It was split in two and divided by an ocean 600 million years ago. The north and south were also on separate continents.

The latest disclosure has spawned a special interest group.

A spokesman for Combine Our Nations said the Earth would bring two countries together in a shorter time than politics could ever achieve.

Ah for f**k sake. How did I believe that?!?!?!  :-[
Post by: Maguire01 on April 01, 2008, 02:53:54 PM
Post by: ziggysego on April 01, 2008, 02:55:50 PM
I feel stupid now.

I always fall for these things.

I work on the Go For It > Start a Business Programme. One year my Dad got someone he works with to ring me about starting his own kitten-bagging business. You know, for those 'unwanted' pet. I fell for it hook line and sinker.  :-[
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 01, 2008, 02:58:47 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on April 01, 2008, 02:20:17 PM
Donegal senior team with balls ;)

Derry winning the Anglo-Celt this year (or any year soon).  :D ;)
Post by: Maguire01 on April 01, 2008, 03:03:29 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 01, 2008, 02:55:50 PM
I feel stupid now.

I work on the Go For It > Start a Business Programme. One year my Dad got someone he works with to ring me about starting his own kitten-bagging business. You know, for those 'unwanted' pet. I fell for it hook line and sinker.  :-[

Now that's a classic!
Post by: Mickey Linden on April 01, 2008, 03:24:55 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 01, 2008, 02:55:50 PM
I feel stupid now.

Certainly the easiest pussy you will ever get ;)
Post by: Puckoon on April 01, 2008, 03:30:51 PM
They were building a new fancy brick bus stop outside omagh academy when i was 14. Iasked my old man what it was. "A new burger king" he says.  "Its awful small" says I. "They are driving the burgers down from belfast every half hour for orders" was his reply.

I bought it - told everyone I knew. :-\

He is an awful hewer for that kind of thing. Recently told my brother (law student) that asda was closing down and becomming a snooker ball factory...feckin eejit bought that as well. I wont be answering the phone to him today.

My favourite april fools was in the sun - neil ruddocks "predator" headband - for more powerful, swervier headers!
Post by: Square Ball on April 01, 2008, 04:41:32 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/player/nol/newsid_7320000/newsid_7324100/7324112.stm?bw=bb&mp=wm&asb=1&news=1&bbcws=1 (http://news.bbc.co.uk/player/nol/newsid_7320000/newsid_7324100/7324112.stm?bw=bb&mp=wm&asb=1&news=1&bbcws=1)

thought this was brilliant

Post by: Leo on April 01, 2008, 05:01:26 PM
Fell for this one myself so posted it earlier but everyone has had more sense, although I heard one county officer was going ballistic he hadn't been consulted!

"Army Bands for Esler Park

The agreement entered into between Down GAA and Newry & Mourne Council for the use of Esler Park for concerts and other events will result in the massed bands of the British army participating in a multi-cultural concert at the venue in July.

Sponsored by Ford, and themed "The Anglo-Celtic Experience", the ambitious project will see an all-day outdoor concert featuring the very best of Irish, Scottish, Welsh & Breton folk artistes alongside the Pipes & Drums of the Scottish Highland, Queens Own Fusiliers and Green Jacket regiments.

Promoter Pol O'Frial, on behalf of Celtic Showcase Management who are hosting the event, said: "The current political climate makes it possible to bring together in harmony these diverse cultures, some with a political dimension, for the first time. We chose Newry because of its strategic frontier location and the incentives received from the local authority and governments, north & south."

More information, including the preliminary line-up of acts, and advance tickets can be accessed on www.ford1.demon.co.uk."
Post by: The Gs Man on April 01, 2008, 05:07:45 PM
Seen the Irish Star today said that Maradona was going to be training with Tyrone.   ::)

Suppose he was fond of diving as well, maybe he could pick some tricks up from the Tryone lads.
Post by: gallsman on April 01, 2008, 05:19:25 PM
QuotePol O'Frial

Christ, that's so bad it can barely be classified as an anagram!
Post by: heganboy on April 01, 2008, 06:24:32 PM
google- as good as ever:
http://www.google.com/virgle/index.html
Post by: The Gs Man on April 01, 2008, 06:27:18 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 01, 2008, 05:13:19 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on April 01, 2008, 05:07:45 PM
Seen the Irish Star today said that Maradona was going to be training with Tyrone.   ::)

Suppose he was fond of diving as well, maybe he could pick some tricks up from the Tryone lads.
And there was me expecting to read a post about Captain Kennedy being let back into Deis Roc because the band that hammered the shite out of them in the last round were disqualified for miming.
Ah well....

:D Or disqualified for bein shite!!!  (just kidding)
Post by: dodo on April 01, 2008, 07:47:52 PM
This one was class

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=aaSLNBOphpE

Not sure it was april fools though.
Post by: Apple Top on April 01, 2008, 08:00:34 PM
Today FM had as a main news item all morning that Roy Keane had a bust up with Nial Quinn and resigned!
Post by: SammyG on April 01, 2008, 09:12:58 PM
Thought Mr Fearon would enjoy this one.

(http://www.puredarren.com/photos/albums/userpics/10001/OWC-April-fools.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on April 01, 2008, 09:19:16 PM
hehe
Post by: gerry on April 01, 2008, 09:22:05 PM
only a matter of time
Post by: heganboy on April 01, 2008, 11:28:26 PM
that was funny- Come to Glasgow and we'll set about ye
Post by: heganboy on April 01, 2008, 11:31:18 PM
and from the guardian:
http://www.guardian.co.uk/theguardian/2008/apr/01/7
Post by: Overthebar! on April 01, 2010, 09:37:59 AM
anyone caught out the day? my ma near got me with one about how a letter arrived for penalty points. had heard on the wireless two seconds before that it was april fools but still nearly fell for it!
Post by: supersub on April 01, 2010, 10:06:29 AM
slippy one your ma!
Post by: 5 Sams on April 01, 2010, 10:23:17 AM
Easy one to spot on the google home page.

www.google.co.uk/
Post by: Overthebar! on April 01, 2010, 10:25:25 AM
New!  Break the language barrier between species with Google Animal Translate!??????
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 01, 2010, 10:31:00 AM
The Irish electorate ?
Post by: 5 Sams on April 01, 2010, 10:39:40 AM
Weak effort by RTE

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0401/aprilfools.html
Post by: Hardy on April 01, 2010, 10:55:47 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on April 01, 2010, 10:23:17 AM
Easy one to spot on the google home page.

www.google.co.uk/

Funny it's not on Google Ireland.
Post by: ziggysego on April 01, 2010, 11:15:12 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on April 01, 2010, 10:39:40 AM
Weak effort by RTE

You would at least thing they'd get a believeable URL if nothing else!  :D

I see the Ulster Herald have said Disney are opening a theme park near Omagh. Scheduled for opening 1st April 2015. ;)
Post by: omagh_gael on April 01, 2010, 11:26:06 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 01, 2010, 11:15:12 AM
Weak effort by RTE

You would at least thing they'd get a believeable URL if nothing else!  :D

I see the Ulster Herald have said Disney are opening a theme park near Omagh. Scheduled for opening 1st April 2015. ;)

Do you remember the herald a few years ago when the front page was an april fool about a new boat service running from town centre to the edge of the town?

I'm ashamed to say that got me  >:(
Post by: BennyHarp on April 01, 2010, 11:46:35 AM
I got an email from Swinton insurance this morning saying that I should think about insuring against an alien attack or something like that!

Every year, thousands of people claim to have close encounters with life-forms from a different galaxy. These experiences range from UFO sightings to the most serious type of alien encounter: intergalactic extraterrestrial abduction. The question is - if they are out there... how can you make sure you're protected?

In February, the Ministry of Defence released files detailing hundreds of UFO sightings across the UK. In response, Swinton have created Extra Terrestrial Encounters Protection.

This could give you the peace-of-mind of knowing you're covered for close encounters of any kind - from getting jelly legs when you spot a flying saucer to providing for your family in the event of alien abduction. 
Post by: ziggysego on April 01, 2010, 11:58:03 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 01, 2010, 11:26:06 AM
Do you remember the herald a few years ago when the front page was an april fool about a new boat service running from town centre to the edge of the town?

I'm ashamed to say that got me  >:(

I'm glad you feel shame for that one.  :D
Post by: heganboy on April 01, 2010, 02:26:51 PM
saw a good one today where a friend- bit of a goalkeeping legend - updated his status that pending a FIFA certification he would be taking up a post as one of Aston Villa's goalkeeping coaches
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 01, 2010, 02:33:52 PM
Quote from: heganboy on April 01, 2010, 02:26:51 PM
saw a good one today where a friend- bit of a goalkeeping legend - updated his status that pending a FIFA certification he would be taking up a post as one of Aston Villa's goalkeeping coaches

Saw that too heganboy, I wouldn't mind if he had been a good keeper but... ;D
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on April 01, 2010, 03:18:59 PM
Scotland deducted points for cheating in the Six Nations...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/8598679.stm
Post by: leenie on April 01, 2010, 03:30:58 PM
if it hadn't been for pints in the mcgeeney walks out on kildare thread i would have been fooled... completely forgot!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 01, 2010, 04:59:24 PM
I told the girlfriend that the hotel we are having our wedding reception in rang me today to say our date had been double booked and we would have to put our wedding off for a few months until the next available date...
She freaked out!!  :D
Post by: stew on April 01, 2010, 06:25:26 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 01, 2010, 04:59:24 PM
I told the girlfriend that the hotel we are having our wedding reception in rang me today to say our date had been double booked and we would have to put our wedding off for a few months until the next available date...
She freaked out!!  :D

You have balls of steel to say that to a woman.
Post by: Celt_Man on April 01, 2010, 07:13:27 PM
Weak effort by RTE

I wouldn;t mind giving the Leprechauns a go at running the place - let's face it could they do a worse job than the crowd that's there?
Post by: ross4life on April 01, 2010, 07:17:51 PM
didn't the roman Catholics change the Date of new years day from April 1st & if anyone spoke of it again would be a fool?
Post by: Celt_Man on April 01, 2010, 07:51:01 PM
http://www.facebook.com/rugbydump?v=feed&story_fbid=114079335274156

:D :D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 01, 2010, 08:23:29 PM
The RTE 6 one News did a report on the AA using jetpacks to reach traffic broken down in traffic jams or in areas difficult to reach.  :D
Post by: muppet on April 01, 2010, 10:32:46 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 01, 2010, 08:23:29 PM
The RTE 6 one News did a report on the AA using jetpacks to reach traffic broken down in traffic jams or in areas difficult to reach.  :D

That was a joke. Flip......and I've just sent off a CV to them cause it looked like great craic.
Post by: Puckoon on April 01, 2010, 10:50:00 PM
They just tried to get me here in work. :D

Feckin amateurs. I played along for long enough - but not how they wanted me to play along- the next thing they were panicing among themselves.
Post by: ziggysego on April 01, 2010, 11:44:53 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 01, 2010, 10:50:00 PM
They just tried to get me here in work. :D

Feckin amateurs. I played along for long enough - but not how they wanted me to play along- the next thing they were panicing among themselves.

How?
Post by: Puckoon on April 02, 2010, 12:15:35 AM
They had the lab tech tell me that she had accidentally dropped and broken 208 blood slides that had taken me half the day to prepare.

She was telling me over instant message that she was very sorry and that she would help me re-do them tomorrow as much as she could, but that she was going to be pretty busy so I might have to do most of them...

I replied and told her that I was just in the middle of sending out an email to inform the group that I was taking tomorrow and monday off to celebrate easter and go to disneyland, and so that while I would have totally helped her if I was there, she was going to have to do all 208 by herself.

Post by: ziggysego on April 02, 2010, 12:20:28 AM
:D good one Puck.
Post by: Eoghan Mag on April 02, 2010, 05:16:32 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 02, 2010, 12:15:35 AM
They had the lab tech tell me that she had accidentally dropped and broken 208 blood slides that had taken me half the day to prepare.

She was telling me over instant message that she was very sorry and that she would help me re-do them tomorrow as much as she could, but that she was going to be pretty busy so I might have to do most of them...

I replied and told her that I was just in the middle of sending out an email to inform the group that I was taking tomorrow and monday off to celebrate easter and go to disneyland, and so that while I would have totally helped her if I was there, she was going to have to do all 208 by herself.

Ah it was a bloody good attempt!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 02, 2010, 07:19:08 PM
was caught yesterday by my wife and kids, my phone has been experiencing poor signal lately and after work yesterday myself and the bosses were heading off for a pint or six, lift arranged home and all sorted. as i was leaving i got a call from my wife telling me a slate had crashed into the front windowscreen of the car!!!

now I'd been up on the roof fixing something the other day so i thought I'd loosened a slate. as she just got the story out my signal was lost so i could answer the phone or call. i raced home only to find that the kids and my wife were fine and the window screen was still in place!!

never got my pint >:(
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 02, 2010, 07:30:01 PM
Hope you slapped her around a bit after for denying you a few pints
Post by: orangeman on March 30, 2011, 12:56:13 PM
This prank is a bit early but nonetheless a good one  - a lot of the media fell for it hook, line and sinker :

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-12899356
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 30, 2011, 01:01:23 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 30, 2011, 12:56:13 PM
This prank is a bit early but nonetheless a good one  - a lot of the media fell for it hook, line and sinker :

It's not april fools so obviously it's just someone lying?
Post by: Hardy on March 30, 2011, 01:02:52 PM
April Fool and hoaxing generally have to be the most moronic form of humour in existence.
Post by: deiseach on March 30, 2011, 01:04:05 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 30, 2011, 01:02:52 PM
April Fool and hoaxing generally have to be the most moronic form of humour in existence.

+1. I've set a reminder on my phone to ward against this bullshit
Post by: gallsman on March 30, 2011, 01:05:08 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 30, 2011, 01:01:23 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 30, 2011, 12:56:13 PM

It's not april fools so obviously it's just someone lying?

That report describes it as an "elaborate hoax".

Posting something on a social network for all to see is elaborate??
Post by: Orior on March 30, 2011, 04:13:17 PM

I regularly hoax hairdressers. The strange thing is that I do this for no apparant advantage or benefit to anyone.

Next time you go to a fancy hair dressing salon, tell them to give it their best shot, because you are participating in a fashion show tonight. For added intrigue, tell them the theme of the show is for the not-so-good-looking-man, or single man with big salary.
Post by: muppet on March 30, 2011, 04:17:07 PM
Quote from: Orior on March 30, 2011, 04:13:17 PM

I regularly hoax hairdressers.

I'd say you are a bit of an Oscar Wilde at heart?

Post by: Over The Last on March 31, 2011, 11:29:13 AM
Think The Sun newspaper did one a few years back, "chocolate flavoured" page in the paper.
Clearly not but im sure there were some eejit's giving it a lick regardless!

right eejit's in the first instance for buying The Sun IMO  :D
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 31, 2011, 01:10:37 PM
I felt for the left handed hammer when i was a kid, i went to nearly every neighbour looking for a left handed hammer for my uncle and cousins,  :-[
Post by: Hilltresk on March 31, 2011, 02:00:29 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on March 31, 2011, 01:10:37 PM
I felt for the left handed hammer when i was a kid, i went to nearly every neighbour looking for a left handed hammer for my uncle and cousins,  :-[

Did you get it?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 31, 2011, 02:14:42 PM
Quote from: Hilltresk on March 31, 2011, 02:00:29 PM

Did you get it?
Ya but it works in the right hand aswell :D
Post by: muppet on March 31, 2011, 02:17:13 PM

This explains everything, they were from Mayo weren't they?
Post by: Cold tea on March 31, 2011, 02:19:48 PM
Quote from: Hilltresk on March 31, 2011, 02:00:29 PM

Did you get it?

Did you.  ;)

Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 31, 2011, 03:02:28 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 31, 2011, 02:17:13 PM

This explains everything, they were from Mayo weren't they?
Yes, yes they were :'(. It all links back to this...why did they do this to me :'( why....

All joking aside at that age, i used to eat mayo for breakfast ;)
Post by: winsamsoon on March 31, 2011, 03:08:15 PM
I've a left handed hammer at home if you need it  ;)
Post by: BennyHarp on April 01, 2011, 08:25:21 AM
http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/international/portugal-sells-ronaldo-to-spain-in-8364160m-deal-on-national-debt-2258903.html
Post by: amallon on April 01, 2011, 10:12:35 AM
From Edenderry GAA Clubs Website.  Have to admit I fell for it until free bar was mentioned!

Cash Windfall for the GAA
01 April 2011

BREAKING NEWS

In an amazing turn of good fortune the Club is delighted to announce that an unnamed generous benefactor has bequeathed a large cash sum to Edenderry GAA in their last Will and Testament.

Club Chairman Colm Cummins confirmed that the club received a letter from the Irish Probates Office in Dublin on Tuesday 15th March (see below) outling how a recently deceased person in the USA left Edenderry GAA a large cash sum. Acting on instructions from the US Embassy in Dublin, the Probates Office letter made it clear that the person in question wished to remain completely anonymous however they were at liberty to say that it was a male originally born in Edenderry many years ago but had been a resident of the USA for many years and was the successful owner of two large businesses on the East Coast.

The club are still in shock with the news and only a small number of club insiders were aware of developments. "We could barely contain our excitement" explained Colm Cummins, "I immediately brought the Letter to our Solicitor and he confirmed that the total sum of $1.34 million US Dollars was left to the Club. This is worth €944,224 Euro and we now know that the money can be drawn down from the 30th of June 2011 with no conditions attached". Club Treasurer's Ellie Mooney and Garreth Reilly outlined how a small group of committee members struggled to keep the good news a secret, "We, were told by Colm last Friday and have struggled to keep it a secret until today, it was hard to keep a straight face".

There were a number of legal formalities to be ironed out before the Club was in a position to confirm it could accepted the money, so we were advised to keep it secret until all was in order, however we got word late last night that everything had fallen into place. Due to these circumstances we had planned to break the news to the membership via the Club website today as it is believed to be the quickest way for the news to get out, however letters are being prepared for each member of the Club and will be posted later today. We are all relieved to be able to break the news after days of secrecy.

In the meantime the Club has engaged a financial advisor to help plan for the management of the money on the 30th of June. It is hoped to hold at EGM in the coming weeks to decide what the money should be spent on, however in the meantime the club is accepting proposals from members via the club email or on the message board.

Club Chairman Colm Cummins said "it couldn't have come at a better time, we are two years into our Strategic Plan and have just completed some major infrastructural projects this year. This new money will allow us advance with our plans at a much faster pace that expected", he added "I would hope to buy additional land somewhere".

It is planed to open the Club bar next Saturday 9th April for a FREE BAR night of celebration for all fully paid up members.

More details to follow soon.

Post by: isourboydownyet on April 01, 2011, 10:45:26 AM
anyone spot the irish news attempt of a april fool?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on April 01, 2011, 11:03:56 AM
This can't be real!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1372031/Fulham-ordered-perform-Michael-Jackson-Moonwalk-goal-celebration-statue-unveiled.html (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1372031/Fulham-ordered-perform-Michael-Jackson-Moonwalk-goal-celebration-statue-unveiled.html)
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 01, 2011, 11:49:34 AM
Nearly got me

Healy-Rae considers bid for Presidency
Friday, April 01, 2011 - 10:40 AM

Jackie Healy-Rae has said he is considering running for President.

The retired TD for Kerry South said he is confident he could get the support for a nomination, but he has said he has not made a final decision yet.

Mr Healy-Rae stepped down before the last General Election, his son Michael Healy-Rae won his vacant seat.

Read more: http://www.examiner.ie/breakingnews/ireland/healy-rae-considers-bid-for-presidency-499510.html#ixzz1IGdgT2va
Post by: bcarrier on April 01, 2011, 11:51:09 AM
http://paddypowerblog.wordpress.com/2011/04/01/the-%E2%80%9Cpower%E2%80%9D-of-love-top-bookie-launches-online-dating/
Post by: Kerry Mike on April 01, 2011, 11:54:56 AM
Google Motion

http://mail.google.com/mail/help/motion.html (http://mail.google.com/mail/help/motion.html)
Post by: Cold tea on April 01, 2011, 12:11:26 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on April 01, 2011, 11:54:56 AM
Google Motion

http://mail.google.com/mail/help/motion.html (http://mail.google.com/mail/help/motion.html)

That is brilliant.
Post by: Kerry Mike on April 01, 2011, 03:51:21 PM
Mary Byrne has gone straight in at No 1 in the Albums chart 
Post by: Groucho on April 01, 2011, 04:46:33 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on April 01, 2011, 03:51:21 PM
Mary Byrne has gone straight in at No 1 in the Albums chart

Well as they say at Tesco....every little helps ;)
Post by: Bingo on April 01, 2011, 05:29:04 PM
A few of the lads had one of their mates driving round the back roads round town last night at 2am looking for them as they had been leaving some old fella home from the pub and broke down.  ;D No better fella than the lad they choose, got him outa bed and all.
Post by: laoislad on April 01, 2011, 05:36:41 PM
Quote from: Bingo on April 01, 2011, 05:29:04 PM
A few of the lads had one of their mates driving round the back roads round town last night at 2am looking for them as they had been leaving some old fella home from the pub and broke down.  ;D No better fella than the lad they choose, got him outa bed and all.

I don't see the funny side of that
Post by: muppet on April 01, 2011, 05:38:54 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 01, 2011, 05:36:41 PM
Quote from: Bingo on April 01, 2011, 05:29:04 PM

I don't see the funny side of that

Still looking?
Post by: Tyrones own on April 01, 2011, 05:51:10 PM
On twitter this morning they had McDowell and Poulter dropped from the masters for tweeting photo's of the locker room and surrounding areas at Augusta... it caught a good few by all accounts.
Post by: ross4life on April 01, 2011, 08:34:18 PM
Not sure has it been posted already? from shannonside.com

Ireland West Airport Knock to welcome future King and Princess of England

Ireland West Airport Knock is to welcome the future King and Princess of England to the West of Ireland this May.

The Mayo based airport has announced that Prince William and the future Princess Kate Middleton are to land at the facility on May 1st  to begin their honeymoon in the Aran Islands.

A team of MI5 officers visited the airport this morning to engage in a series of security checks in advance of the couple's visit next month.

It's understood access to the islands will be closed off for some days as the couple seek out the calmness and tranquillity of the West of Ireland.

Speaking to Shannonside News, Liam Scollan of Ireland West Airport Knock says it could signify the beginnig of many more royal visits to come.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 01, 2011, 09:29:00 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on April 01, 2011, 11:49:34 AM
Nearly got me

Healy-Rae considers bid for Presidency
Friday, April 01, 2011 - 10:40 AM

Jackie Healy-Rae has said he is considering running for President.

The retired TD for Kerry South said he is confident he could get the support for a nomination, but he has said he has not made a final decision yet.

Mr Healy-Rae stepped down before the last General Election, his son Michael Healy-Rae won his vacant seat.

Read more: http://www.examiner.ie/breakingnews/ireland/healy-rae-considers-bid-for-presidency-499510.html#ixzz1IGdgT2va
It did get me. And now i'm not so sure again.
http://www.thejournal.ie/healy-rae-for-president-story-is-no-joke-radio-kerry-says-114334-May2011/
Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on April 01, 2011, 09:56:27 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on April 01, 2011, 10:45:26 AM
anyone spot the irish news attempt of a april fool?
Let's be honest-picking up the Irish News any day of the week and you might be forgiven for thinking it's April Fool's Day
Post by: Orior on April 01, 2013, 07:50:06 PM
The Irish News reported this morning that ancient Ulster Scots writing was found in a salt mine near Carrickfergus in County Antrim. The writings were over 10,000 years old.
Post by: Main Street on April 01, 2013, 08:27:10 PM
Quote from: Orior on April 01, 2013, 07:50:06 PM
The Irish News reported this morning that ancient Ulster Scots writing was found in a salt mine near Carrickfergus in County Antrim. The writings were over 10,000 years old.
Before God created the world?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 01, 2013, 10:28:04 PM
Anyone remember the Irish News report years ago about the solution that had been agreed to the Garvaghy Rd dispute? There was going to be a tunnel under the road that Orangemen could march through with miner's lamps attached to their bowler hats.

There was one a few years before that reporting that Mikhail Gorbachev had made an unannounced visit to Armagh and addressed a crowd including Seamus Mallon and others.  That one actually got me.