Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Feckitt on March 18, 2008, 04:25:10 PM

Title: Ballinascreen/Draperstown
Post by: Feckitt on March 18, 2008, 04:25:10 PM
Just heard this one over the weekend, that Catholics call the town Ballinascreen and Protestants call it Draperstown, basicly the same as the Derry/Londonderry thing.  And that this is quite common in Derry, Tyrone, Donegal and Fermanagh.  Any truth in this?, and are there any other examples
Title: Re: Ballinascreen/Draperstown
Post by: 5 Sams on March 18, 2008, 04:26:38 PM
Toome/Toomebridge
Post by: Hoof Hearted on March 18, 2008, 04:26:51 PM
i think toome/toomebridge is another example
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 18, 2008, 04:37:42 PM
ballymena/shithole
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 18, 2008, 04:40:28 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on March 18, 2008, 04:26:51 PM
i think toome/toomebridge is another example

Who calls which which?
Post by: take_yer_points on March 18, 2008, 05:00:18 PM
Magheralin/Maralin (near Lurgan).

Pronounced the same way I think but its spelt a different way by both sides.
Post by: passedit on March 18, 2008, 05:09:01 PM
Lawrencetown (P)/Laurencetown(C)

County Down (Tullylish)
Post by: imtommygunn on March 18, 2008, 05:09:36 PM
would there be such a thing as a protestant in toome/toomebridge?
Post by: tyrone86 on March 18, 2008, 05:12:57 PM
Dunamanagh / Donemana
Title: Ballinascreen/Draperstown
Post by: 5 Sams on March 18, 2008, 05:28:03 PM
Cullaville (6 Counties)
Culloville (Free State)
Post by: Bogball XV on March 18, 2008, 08:28:04 PM
I gotta confess, I never knew this.  I always thought that the town itself was known as Draperstown, but the pitch and club were Ballinascreen (although really in Straw of course) - you know like Glen and Maghera. 
You learn something new every day lads....
Post by: Estimator on March 18, 2008, 08:57:27 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on March 18, 2008, 04:25:10 PM
Just heard this one over the weekend, that Catholics call the town Ballinascreen and Protestants call it Draperstown, basicly the same as the Derry/Londonderry thing.  And that this is quite common in Derry, Tyrone, Donegal and Fermanagh.  Any truth in this?, and are there any other examples

I wouldn't say that this was 100% correct.  Otherwise the soccer team in the town would be Ballinascreen Celtic! If I was asked where I live, I would probably reply Ballinascreen, but that would be in reference to the entire parish not the town.

IMO people who are affiliated with the GAA club would say that they live in Ballinascreen, people who are not would say Draperstown!

Screenexile, Screenmachine & tbrick18 may have differing thoughts.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on March 18, 2008, 10:20:45 PM
Ya I wuld have said the same as Estimator, if referring the the town is was Draperstown, but when referring to parish you say Ballinascreen. It is definintely not exlcusive C/P view on what to call it. While with Maghera is the town and Glen is just an area of the parish.
Post by: southderryman on March 18, 2008, 11:11:14 PM
aye its the town/parish thing. dont think there was much need til start a thread over this, seems some people need to relate everything to religion/politics. if ye wanna go on like that then ye could name loads of places like that.

lavey/gulladuff, banagher/feeney, glen/maghera, etc, etc.
Post by: Orior on March 18, 2008, 11:17:10 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on March 18, 2008, 05:28:03 PM
Cullaville (6 Counties)
Culloville (Free State)

That's two different villages mucker. They just happen to be side by side.
Post by: Pangurban on March 18, 2008, 11:47:18 PM
Anyone recall the battle of Ballinascreen when Down and Derry participated in one of the most foul ridden ,violent games ever.
Post by: muppet on March 19, 2008, 12:13:48 AM
Quote from: Pangurban on March 18, 2008, 11:47:18 PM
Anyone recall the battle of Ballinascreen when Down and Derry participated in one of the most foul ridden ,violent games ever.

Drici would remember. :'( :'(
Post by: Goats Do Shave on March 19, 2008, 08:47:11 AM
Moira / Maire
Post by: Hardy on March 19, 2008, 08:56:51 AM
Garvaghy/Garvacky
Post by: wherefromreferee? on March 19, 2008, 09:01:58 AM

What year?  I have some memory of Lavey (Gulladuff!) and some team from Cork (could be wrong?) hammering absolute lumps out of eachother in the early 90's though in Ballinascreen/Straw/St Colms/Draperstown.
Post by: nrico2006 on March 19, 2008, 09:13:47 AM
QuoteMagheralin/Maralin (near Lurgan).

Pronounced the same way I think but its spelt a different way by both sides.

I thought it was called Magheralin and pronounced more like Maralin until I saw a van with the name 'maralin' on it the other day, and then I thought that it was put on the van incorrectly by some plonker.

As for Ballinascreen, I always thought that was the parish and Draperstown was the town just. 

Donemana/Dunamanagh - still pronounced the same way, unless someone wants to start a thread on places which have several ways of being spelt.
Post by: unforgiven on March 19, 2008, 09:41:09 AM
lets not get started on moneyneenagh
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 19, 2008, 09:52:43 AM
Quote from: southderryman on March 18, 2008, 11:11:14 PM
aye its the town/parish thing. dont think there was much need til start a thread over this, seems some people need to relate everything to religion/politics. if ye wanna go on like that then ye could name loads of places like that.

banagher/feeney have no political argument or connoctations
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on March 19, 2008, 09:58:41 AM
Would you not say moneyneeny or moneyneena!!
Post by: Bogball XV on March 19, 2008, 10:12:12 AM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on March 19, 2008, 09:01:58 AM

What year?  I have some memory of Lavey (Gulladuff!) and some team from Cork (could be wrong?) hammering absolute lumps out of eachother in the early 90's though in Ballinascreen/Straw/St Colms/Draperstown.
Skibereen I think - Lavey were losing, so adopted their age old tactic of getting a big row going!!  They'd done it in their previous game against Tirconnail Gaels of London too.
I always thought the battle of Ballinascreen was Derry v Tyrone in '85, when the ref was attacked by the tyronies!!
Post by: Estimator on March 19, 2008, 10:29:41 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on March 19, 2008, 10:12:12 AM

Skibereen I think - Lavey were losing, so adopted their age old tactic of getting a big row going!!  They'd done it in their previous game against Tirconnail Gaels of London too.
I always thought the battle of Ballinascreen was Derry v Tyrone in '85, when the ref was attacked by the tyronies!!

It was O'Donovan Rossa Skibbereen.To the best of my knowledge, they hammered Lavey in the fight and on the scoreboard.

Quote from: youbetterbelieveit on March 19, 2008, 09:58:41 AM
Would you not say moneyneeny or moneyneena!!

The road signs and maps say moneyneeny, everyone pronounces moneyneena
Post by: nifan on March 19, 2008, 10:52:27 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 19, 2008, 09:52:43 AM
Quote from: southderryman on March 18, 2008, 11:11:14 PM

banagher/feeney have no political argument or connoctations

Agreed - my ma is from feeney
Post by: screenexile on March 19, 2008, 11:11:46 AM
Yeah as far as I would care I would say I'm from Ballinascreen and then would have to clarify that with most people and say I'm from Draperstown. I know Catholics who call it Draperstown and Protestants who say they're from the Screen but really they're interchangeable for most.

Technically Draperstown is the town while Ballinascreen incorporates Draperstown, the Sixtowns, Straw and Moneyneenagh.

Best one I saw though was a flyer through the letterbox from the Church of Ireland representing the 'Parish of Ballynascreen'! I dunno!

As for Moneyneena/neenagh/neaney/nyeena... who cares? They're only a crowd of munchies anyway! :D :D :D :D
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 19, 2008, 11:14:30 AM
Quote from: Estimator on March 19, 2008, 10:29:41 AM

It was O'Donovan Rossa Skibbereen.To the best of my knowledge, they hammered Lavey in the fight and on the scoreboard.

The clue is in the emboldened bit from Pangurban's original question. The original Battle of Ballinascreen took place in 1968 between Down and Derry. My next door neighbour's father played in it for Down.

All other battles mentioned above were mere skirmishes.
Post by: johnneycool on March 19, 2008, 12:47:49 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on March 19, 2008, 11:14:30 AM
Quote from: Estimator on March 19, 2008, 10:29:41 AM

The clue is in the emboldened bit from Pangurban's original question. The original Battle of Ballinascreen took place in 1968 between Down and Derry. My next door neighbour's father played in it for Down.

All other battles mentioned above were mere skirmishes.

I was once at a wedding where a lad from the Ards married a girl from Ballinascreen. Her uncle welcomed the Down contigent for tea/sandwhiches in the club house and mentioned the 'battle of Ballinscreen' which he says he took part in. I must say that was the first I heard of it but me da who's of an older vintage had heard of it
Post by: Drumanee 1 on March 19, 2008, 01:02:53 PM
maghera/mackaraa
Post by: the green man on March 19, 2008, 01:10:40 PM
Quote from: Drumanee 1 on March 19, 2008, 01:02:53 PM
maghera/mackaraa

Any thing with a 'gh' in it seems to confuse the other boys.

Ackado-eh for example. Or the name Donaghey becomes Donacky
Title: Mullavilly/ Laurelvale
Post by: heganboy on March 19, 2008, 01:43:57 PM
In Armagh- Laurelvale/ Mullavilly. The first version has a cricket club and the second has a chapel and a parish hall and is part of the same parish as Ballyhegan yet they both seem to be in the same place on the map?
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 19, 2008, 02:00:07 PM
Blackwatertown / An Port Mor
Post by: Orior on March 19, 2008, 04:15:40 PM
Mullaghbawn/Mullabawn
Post by: ziggysego on March 19, 2008, 07:15:33 PM
Never knew about Ballinscreen and Draperstown. Always knew about Toome and Toomebridge though. Mind you, that lot can't even decide on the name of their new bridge.
Post by: Fishbat on March 20, 2008, 02:38:15 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on March 19, 2008, 02:00:07 PM
Blackwatertown / An Port Mor

sure is that place not part of the Moy anyway?
Post by: Goats Do Shave on March 20, 2008, 08:05:23 AM
Quote from: screenexile on March 19, 2008, 11:11:46 AM
As for Moneyneena/neenagh/neaney/nyeena... who cares? They're only a crowd of munchies anyway! :D :D :D :D

Draperstown his hardly metropolis central now!!  ;)
Post by: unforgiven on March 20, 2008, 09:31:27 AM
Ballinascreen and Draperstown are two separate entities.  Draperstown is a village incorporated in the parish of Ballinascreen.  Draperstown is not a British name for Ballinascreen.  Draperstown was formerly known as Baile na Croise prior to the plantatition.

All the above named places are only accessible if you have a twin cam or subaru.  Suped up 306's allowed with authorised passes.
Post by: Feckitt on March 20, 2008, 09:50:45 AM
Quote from: Feckitt on March 18, 2008, 04:25:10 PM

Ok lads, since I started the thread it seems that I was wrong about the Screen/Draperstown thing.  It's not the same as Delhi/Londondelhi.  Also it is obvious that the majority of other examples thrown up here are just differences in spelling, and not necessarily a RC/Prod divide in names.
Post by: DickyRock on March 20, 2008, 11:03:34 AM
Hate driving through Draperstown and Straw now. So many fecking speed bumps. Feckin Twin Cams
Post by: unforgiven on March 20, 2008, 11:11:57 AM
you should try going over those speedbumps with a trailor load of sheep attached to your ball hitch
Post by: ziggysego on March 20, 2008, 11:13:08 AM
Quote from: DickyRock on March 20, 2008, 11:03:34 AM
Hate driving through Draperstown and Straw now. So many fecking speed bumps. Feckin Twin Cams

I wish they'd get them in Greencastle.
Post by: unforgiven on March 20, 2008, 11:19:03 AM
one speedbump would probably suffice in Greencastle.
how about using this guy as the speedbump
Post by: tbrick18 on March 20, 2008, 11:21:51 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on March 18, 2008, 08:28:04 PM
I gotta confess, I never knew this.  I always thought that the town itself was known as Draperstown, but the pitch and club were Ballinascreen (although really in Straw of course) - you know like Glen and Maghera. 
You learn something new every day lads....

You and me both Bog....I was born and reared there and thats the way I always referred to the place. The town in draperstown and the club/parish is ballinascreen.
Post by: ziggysego on March 20, 2008, 11:23:21 AM
Quote from: unforgiven on March 20, 2008, 11:19:03 AM
one speedbump would probably suffice in Greencastle.
how about using this guy as the speedbump

That's unforgiveable......

Title: Re: Mullavilly/ Laurelvale
Post by: Goats Do Shave on March 20, 2008, 11:26:39 AM
Quote from: heganboy on March 19, 2008, 01:43:57 PM
In Armagh- Laurelvale/ Mullavilly. The first version has a cricket club and the second has a chapel and a parish hall and is part of the same parish as Ballyhegan yet they both seem to be in the same place on the map?

I thought these were seperated by the Portydown road?
Post by: ziggysego on March 20, 2008, 01:06:11 PM
Quote from: tram on March 20, 2008, 01:02:01 PM
They've been laying speed bumps here recently, and they're painting them today!  :o

So that's what they were at this morning. What's with the electricians though?