Well done to Portumna on a very convincing victory in todays all ireland final. After a poor start they slowly started to take control and a scoring blitz either side of half time basically won them the game. Damian and Kevin Hayes were excellent and big Joe is deadly from placed balls. Two all irelands in three years is some going, who fancies stopping them going for a third?
They are a serious outfit alright,they have pace and mobility all over the pitch. 3-19 is some scoring in a final. Hopefully big Joe will go to Galway seniors this year to we see him in Casement in june
Hope Joe gets on the Galway team, he's an awesome player. Wonder will Ollie do the same. Great win, pity about Brian Whelahan getting sent off.
What did Brian Whelehan do?
Very good Portuma side - Hayes and Canning would be too much for most intercounty defenses never mind a club one. Ollie Canning superb too.
Masterful Portumna are club hurling champions
17 March 2008
Portumna claimed the All-Ireland club hurling championship with a stunning 3-19 to 3-9 victory over Birr in the decider at Croke Park.
Despite conceding two goals inside the first ten minutes, the winners eventually got into their stride to lead by 1-11 to 2-4 at the break.
Simon Whelehan opened the scoring from a first-minute free after he had been fouled himself and Birr's dream start continued when Stephen Browne tapped the ball to an empty net after a high delivery deceived Portumna goalkeeper Ivan Canning
Joe Canning steadied the Galway champions with a fifth-minute free and there were no more scores until centre forward Kevin Hayes doubled Portumna's tally with a fine strike from play.
In the tenth minute Simon Whelehan got Birr's second goal when he flicked brother Barry's dangerous delivery to the net. Damien Hayes replied immediately with a Portumna point and the Connacht club were unfortunate when Niall Hayes' first-time strike rolled inches outside the post.
Midfielder Leo Smith got Portumna's fourth point after Joe Canning had uncharacteristically fumbled possession. Andrew Smith then improvised superbly to grab Portumna's opening goal to level the score at 1-4 to 2-1.
The wing forward appeared to have lost his chance after his original attempt was hooked but he remained calm and kicked the loose sliothar past advancing goalkeeper Brian Mullins to the net from an acute angle.
Rory Hanniffy pointed for Birr and Simon Whelehan added another score after persisting to gather possession from Brian Whelehan's pass. Andrew Smith halved the gap with a nice point on 17 minutes and they were level again when Joe Canning landed a whopping free from inside his own half.
Portumna were awarded a soft penalty when Damien Hayes went to ground and Joe Canning took it on the stroke of the 20th minute. His shot was blocked on the line and Brian Whelehan was on hand to clear the ball.
Mullins spilled the ball out for a cheap 65 and Joe Canning measured his shot superbly to put Portumna ahead for the first time, 1-7 to 2-3.
Simon Whelehan (free) and Damien Hayes traded points before Kevin Hayes blasted one over after good work by Damien Hayes and Joe Canning. Portumna full back Eugene McEntee got up and played on after being knocked unconscious by a blow to the head - I'd like to see a Premiership star doing that some day!
From the resultant free, Joe Canning stretched the gap with a monster free from all of 40 yards inside his own half.
Andrew Smith swivelled to drop a nice shot over the Birr crossbar and Joe Canning was bemused when his effort was ruled wide in the second minute of added time. The shot appeared to have dissected the posts but it didn't count and the margin was four at the break.
Portumna were playing into the breeze in the second half but Damien Hayes didn't seem to mind as he floated the ball between the posts after mere seconds. Andrew Smith then danced through the Birr rearguard and rounded the 'keeper to tap the ball to an empty net.
Suddenly, there was clear daylight between the teams: 2-12 to 2-4.
At the other end, Birr were having little luck. Brian Whelehan saw his shot come back off a post and Gary Hanniffy kicked a low shot inches wide into the sidenetting.
When Joe Canning popped over a free, there were nine points in it and no way back for the rattled Offaly and Leinster champions. Simon Whelehan sent a free wide before Brian Whelehan finally opened Birr's second-half account with a lovely point off his left side seven minutes in.
Joe Canning struck an exquisite point after gathering possession from brother Ivan, but Simon Whelehan knocked over a Birr free to keep the gap at eight. Birr were almost in for a third three-pointer when Brian Whelehan's centre rolled across the face of goal but Kevin Hayes floated over a great 60-metre point into the Hill end to make it 2-15 to 2-6.
Simon Whelehan popped over a brace of frees and, in between, Birr were unfortunate when the ball ricocheted off Ollie Canning's stick inches outside the post for a 65. Joe Canning magically clipped a trademark sideline cut straight between the posts to increase the gap to eight points again, with eleven minutes left.
In the 50th minute, Damien Hayes sprinted around his man and slammed a brilliant shot into the top corner of the net from an acute angle. Joe Canning added a majestic point and it was now embarrassing for Birr: 3-17 to 2-8.
Nine minutes from the end, Simon Whelehan's low free somehow crept past a statuesque forest of Portumna defenders to the back of the net to bring the differential back to nine, but there was no way back.
Joe Canning knocked over a couple of frees and Simon Whelehan closed the scoring with an injury-time free. Brian Whelehan was sent off for an off-the-ball offence in the dying moments before Ollie Canning had the honour of lifting the Tommy Moore Cup
Scorers:
Birr: Simon Whelahan 1-07 (1-06f), Stephen Browne, Sean Ryan 1-00 each, Rory Hanniffy, Brian Whelahan 0-01 each
Portumna: Joe Canning 0-10 (0-07f, 0-01 sl), Andy Smith 2-02, Damien Hayes 1-03, Kevin Hayes 0-03, Leo Smith 0-01
Heard Ollie Canning interviewed by your woman Madigan after the game. When pushed on the phone ringing in the Canning house for the next few days he said he expects it will and "I'd say Joe will be answering the call this year aright", about himself he just said "I'm going to enjoy tonight and I'll have a think about it later in the week".
What age is Ollie?
Quote from: ExiledGael on March 17, 2008, 06:09:55 PM
Heard Ollie Canning interviewed by your woman Madigan after the game. When pushed on the phone ringing in the Canning house for the next few days he said he expects it will and "I'd say Joe will be answering the call this year aright", about himself he just said "I'm going to enjoy tonight and I'll have a think about it later in the week".
What age is Ollie?
Ollie is either 30 or 31 I think.
Looking like Joe will be playing for Galway this Summer then. Would be great to have Ollie back too. His stance seems to have softened a lot in recent months when asked about coming back. Last year he was adamant that he was finished.
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 17, 2008, 06:12:49 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on March 17, 2008, 06:09:55 PM
What age is Ollie?
Ollie is either 30 or 31 I think.
Looking like Joe will be playing for Galway this Summer then. Would be great to have Ollie back too. His stance seems to have softened a lot in recent months when asked about coming back. Last year he was adamant that he was finished.
And I would suggest he is badly needed back too GBB. Need him and Fergal Moore manning the two coner back positions this year to cover for our lack of quality in the 3 jersey.
Well done Portumna - A well deserved victory in what was a very open and enjoyable game. They just had too much pace for Birr and it was a pity to see Whelehan finish like that -As soon as he struck the Portumna lad you could see his regret. Whatever about Joe Canning taking his place on the county panel his older brother and captain was magnificent yesterday and Loughnane should do all in his power to get him back for the summer. Damien Hayes and Smith were excellent as well and Joe Cannings striking of the ball is as good as I've seen. That free from his own 45 was still traveling when it cleared the blackspot and a sublime sideline cut from the Hogan stand.
Must say great value yesterday €20 and a fiver for the kids for an afternoon's entertainment - Great stuff
What did Brian Whelehan do ? The gane was over at that stage - should he have been sent off ?
Fair play to Portumna, they showed admirable composure in the face of a good Birr start, and their pace running with the ball was too much for Birr. 3-9 would have you in a lot of games, but 3-19 is a great score and would win 99% of finals, especially at Club level. Portumna are a very formidable team and totally deserved the win.
Congrats to Birr on getting this far, and winning what they've, we are all proud of them in Offaly, but it's up to the other clubs in the county now to try and really get competitive with them. It's no coincidence in my view that Birr's dominance in Offaly has coincided with a poor period for the county team. Not because it's bad that Birr are good, but because the likes of Coolderry, Rynaghs, Kinnitty and Clareen have gone back, and are not really providing tried and tested players for the county.
On a sour note, how disappointing to see Brian Whelehan lose his composure in the last minute and get himself sent off. I was hoping the ref would show leniency, given the circumstances, but Sid now joins Zinedine Zidane as great, great players who's final act on the big stage was to do something really stupid. Brian was gracious afterwards, and refused to blame the referee for his own error, and it was nice to see the Portumna players forgiving him and shaking hands at the end.
Indeed many congratulations to Portumna, a terrific team performance and a blistering attack.
A serious club team - if they have the hunger they could add a few more All Ireland medals - Fair play to them
Add my voice to the chorus of congratulations for Portumna. They join a growing group of Galway teams that have won 2 AI's. Odds on them to join Athenry on 3? I think. And short enough odds on them to join Birr on 4 I would say. If they can keep the hunger, barring injuries etc., etc.
Now on to the good stuff.. Andy and Leo Smith, Damien Hayes, Eoin Lynch, Ollie Canning to come back and the Joe show to arrive at the intercounty door at last...
Brace yourselves cats!! You might have some competition this year at last..
PS..
Can someone post up the match analysis from the Irish Times please..
Thanks in advance.
GY Joe
Irish News 18th March 2008
"Birr are shite, what a waste of time watching that game"
QuoteCan someone post up the match analysis from the Irish Times please..
Peerless Portumna produce an exhibition
IAN O'RIORDAN at Croke Park
Portumna 3-19 Birr 3-9: THIS WAS no mismatch, no easy ride, no anti-climax. This was simply the best club hurling team in the country, slowly but surely killing the team that once held that acclaim. This was simply Portumna's day.
With this their second AIB All-Ireland club title in three years they're fast building a enviable reputation of their own, and based on this performance, it should endure a while yet. The only match they've lost in that period was the 2006 Galway final, controversially - and that defeat was among the many driving forces coming into this game.
The 10-point winning margin is exceptional and considering Portumna were down five points after the opening 10 minutes, this ranks among the most accomplished of displays ever witnessed in a club final. Birr came out fighting, tough as nails, and in the end were still left battered and shaken by the pure ferocity of Portumna, particularly their running game.
That ferocity came from all directions. Joe Canning, the 19-year-old genius of hurling, was typically instrumental, hitting 0-10, all but two from the placed ball (and still missing a penalty). All around him were players of equally dazzling quality, like Damien Hayes (1-3), Kevin Hayes (0-2) and the previously unheralded Andrew Smith (2-2).
Ollie Canning gave another masterclass in defence, brilliantly assisted by Eugene McEntee, and midfielders Leo Smith and Eoin Lynch helped ensure Birr hardly won a single puck-out. Portumna's only fault was it took them a while to get going. For Birr, that was the one blessing of the day.
Despite hitting 2-1 in the opening 10 minutes, with relatively simple goals for Stephen Brown and Paul O'Meara, Birr were soon running into brick walls, if running anywhere at all. They got just one score from play in the second half from the master veteran Brian Whelahan, but his day still ended on the sourest note when he was red-carded for a "stupid" strike on Leo Smith.
Once Portumna drew level on 15 minutes with the first of Andrew Smith's two goals the game went into inevitable mode. Birr briefly rallied with points from Rory Hanniffy and Simon Whelahan, but dominant Portumna outscored them 0-7 to 0-1 in the run-up to half-time. Suddenly they were unstoppable - starting with Andrew Smith's second goal, and culminating with a blistering 49th-minute strike from Damien Hayes which rattled the Birr net. It was a glorious score and left it 3-17 to 2-8. Game over.
Afterwards, Hayes dedicated the win to his mother Noreen: "She's in hospital in Galway, very sick. She's a problem with her kidney, and is on dialysis. She's brought us to every match. We promised her over the phone last night that we'd bring her back the cup, so we're delighted. So we're dedicating this to her, and remembering Keith (their late brother) as well."
Joe Canning was modest about his role and though he missed a penalty, his pointed sideline on 48 minutes was sublime: "These occasions don't come around very often. I was lucky enough to win two years ago, and lucky to win a second today. We'd a poor enough start, and they came right at us. But then we didn't expect anything else. They're four-time champions, but for us, we were getting a lot of slack in Galway, that we were only one-hit wonders. So we had a point to prove today, that it wasn't a fluke first time."
The expectation now is the younger Canning and older brother Ollie will join the Galway panel: "Well I'll celebrate tonight, first," said Joe. "We'll just have to see in the future if I'm with Galway or not. A senior All-Ireland with Galway, obviously, is every player's dream.
"But it's even sweeter with the club, because you're with everyone you grew up with. Looking up out there, I knew nearly everyone in the stand. The club really is a special achievement."
Manager Jimmy Heverin, who incredibly has lost just a single game during his three years in charge, is now stepping aside.
"I've been here three years now, and there's only so much you can do. I mean players stop listening to you after three years. But this team is all about the skill of those players, certainly not about me.
"They all live for hurling. It's a huge part of their lives, and I think that's what sets them apart from other clubs. We'll have a league match in Galway in two or three weeks, and all these lads will want to be there. And all want to win.
"When they pull on the Portumna jersey it means everything. They would die for it. Their attitude is unreal, and that's what brings us through," he said
Birr never gave up the chase, nor would they dare, but Simon Whelahan's goal with 10 minutes left was too late to alter the game's trend. Instead their defeat was made compete by the sending-off of Brian Whelahan, who in no way deserved to go out like this: "Stupid," he admitted. "Stupid at this stage of my life. I meant to give him a dig, but it wasn't to be where it was. That's the way it is, that's life. I know the effort we put in, and the red card, especially, makes it very disappointing.
"But the best team won, not a shadow of doubt about that. We got a great start, that we didn't expect, but we stood off our men a little bit, and you can't do that with the game Portumna play. You've got to stay close, and once they got any sort of possession they were able to inflict their running game on us. We just couldn't come to grips with it. But they had a job to do, and did it in style."
Quote from: heineken_on_tap on March 18, 2008, 10:24:57 AM
A serious club team - if they have the hunger they could add a few more All Ireland medals - Fair play to them
I'd say they are the best club hurling side I've ever seen, outstanding.
Quote from: optimus euhregab on March 18, 2008, 11:25:40 AM
Irish News 18th March 2008
"Birr are shite, what a waste of time watching that game"
Bollox pal, Birr are a good side but no one is up to Portumna.
Birr are a good side but no one is up to Portumna
That's a bit of an overstatement ! If they are THAT good ( and don't get me wrong but they are a very good side ) how did they get beat in Galway last year ???????
I'd say that a few other trams in Galway will welcome your post ( for motivational purposes if nothing else ) !
Well they got beat last year, by all accounts, with several cases of attempted GBH !!
with several cases of attempted GBH
Was there no referee that day or what ???
Not sure if you remember the coverage about Portumna's defeat last year orangeman.
There was some pretty vicious stuff dished out against them, none more so that a stamp on Joe Cannings face as he was lying on the ground.
That's the reason there was a reluctance from the Cannings to get involved in the county set up as they felt let down by the county board who actually (and though I never saw the game to know if this was right) handed out more suspensions to Portumna than the other time, who escape me at the minute.
Loughrea, were the Galway SHC winners last year.
It'll be interesting next year to see how the like of Ballyhale fare when they have Shefflin and Cha back.
If Portumna got more suspensions than Loughrea, is it safe or unsafe to assume that it was Portumna who were the more aggressive on the day ? I do remember that picture of Joe Canning alright - it was horrible and should be condemned. Obviously Galway club hurling is very competitive - anyone got a roll of honour for Galway hurling ?
Portumna got blackguarded that day. Loughrea decided to stop them hurling, and it worked for them. Portumna obviously started retaliating, and that's why they got more suspensions. I get the feeling Portumna learned a hard lesson that day.
Assuming Shefflin and Cha get back properly, and there's no reason to suggest they won't, I'd expect Portumna and Ballyhale to be there or thereabouts every year for the next 2 or three anyway, with interchangeable Munster teams and Dunloy trying to get into the mix.
What about that team from Tipp ? They looked good but were beaten - Loughmore Castleiney - will they be back ??
Like inter county, Munster is a bit of a minefield, and Loughmore will have it tough enough to come out of it. The Waterford, Cork, Limerick, Clare and Tipp champions all aspire to that when they win their county championship. Even within Tipp Loughmore are not miles ahead of everybody, and Sarsfields, Toomevara, Drom & Inch etc etc would all be hunting their crown.
Plus they were better beaten than the scoreline suggested against Port, they got 2 goals in the last few minutes.
What about Newtownshandrum - will they make a comeback ?
The other reason Portumna and Ballyhale will be about is because of the provinces they play in, if you win Galway you are basically in an All Ireland Semi, its not quite as straightforward in Leinster but if Birr are on a downward turn now the passage out of Leinster for a Kilkenny team is more straightforward.
Who else is there in Galway - is anybody else ?
athenry, sarsfields
What about that Loughrea side - where did they go to ?
they were good enough to beat Cushendall on a crap day, big team and your man took all the frees and didn't miss. they also had some cracking defenders. don't think they'll win Galway in a hurry though
Will Dunloy come back again ?
Quote from: milltown row on March 19, 2008, 10:26:30 AM
athenry, sarsfields
Clarinbridge wouldn't be a million miles away either, although I think they've gone back a bit. Kiltormer and Gort would also be dangerous enough.
Quote from: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 10:44:05 AM
Will Dunloy come back again ?
I would really doubt it, i would think Cushendall will come out of Antrim and probably Ulster next year and even at that they wouldnt match up too well with the prospective winners in the other provinces.
How are Lougheil Shamrocks going?
Quote from: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 09:46:58 AM
If Portumna got more suspensions than Loughrea, is it safe or unsafe to assume that it was Portumna who were the more aggressive on the day ? I do remember that picture of Joe Canning alright - it was horrible and should be condemned. Obviously Galway club hurling is very competitive - anyone got a roll of honour for Galway hurling ?
Just found the club roll of honour in Wiki: As follows:
Now a 3 way tie at the top for Club Honours
By county
M, L, C, U refer to Munster/Leinster/Connacht/Ulster championships won by teams from the county.
# County All-Irelands M L C U Last All-Ireland/provincial winners
1= Kilkenny clubs 9 15 Ballyhale Shamrocks, 2006-07
1= Cork clubs 9 14 Newtownshandrum, 2003-04
1= Galway clubs 9 34 Portumna, 2007-08
4 Offaly clubs 4 10 Birr, 2002-03
5 Tipperary clubs 3 8 Borris-Ileigh, 1986-87
6 Clare clubs 2 7 St. Joseph's Doora-Barefield, 1999-2000
7= Wexford clubs 1 9 Buffers Alley, 1985-86
7= Antrim clubs 1 27 Loughgiel Shamrocks, 1982-83
9= Limerick clubs 0 5 Kilmallock, 1994-95
9= Waterford clubs 0 3 Mount Sion, 2002-03
9= Laois clubs 0 2 Camross, 1996-97
9= Dublin clubs 0 1 Crumlin, 1979-80
9= Down clubs 0 8 Ballygalget, 2005-06
9= Roscommon clubs 0 3 Four Roads, 1988-89
Didn't realise it was 21 years since a Tipp club won the All Ireland. That's poor enough.
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 10:49:57 AM
How are Lougheil Shamrocks going?
Well they have been in the last five Antrim finals and lost them all, they are over reliant on Liam Watson and until they get someone to share the scoring burden they wont win it. The fact that they have been in five finals says as much about the other teams weaknesses in Antrim as it does about that dubious achievement.
Ballyhale with Sefflin and Cha back should come out of Leinster ?
At this point, I would say Ballyhale are probably about 6/4 to come out of Kilkenny and Leinster. If they win Kilkenny they'll probably go to even money or 10/11.
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 11:12:36 AM
At this point, I would say Ballyhale are probably about 6/4 to come out of Kilkenny and Leinster. If they win Kilkenny they'll probably go to even money or 10/11.
Quote me for a Ballyhale V Portumna Final.. Would they meet in the Final or Semi F next year if it happens?
Quote from: GY Joe on March 19, 2008, 11:16:32 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 11:12:36 AM
Quote me for a Ballyhale V Portumna Final.. Would they meet in the Final or Semi F next year if it happens?
They would meet in a semi as it was Connacht v Ulster in '06 & Connacht v Munster in '07
That was my guess GY Joe, I know nothing about odds setting, other than when I win they are too short :D
I'd imagine Portumna will be a short price, maybe 11/10 to come out of Galway, and wouldn't be any bigger to get to the final.
even money about Portumna winning Galway sounds big ???
Not too sure that Ballyhale will get it all their own way in Kilkenny ?
Possibly big, but there are a few bananaskins in Galway, although none would be as big as Portumna.
Is Birr finished as a force nationally - will Brian retire - what about the Hanniffys - what age are they ?? Could Brian play on another year ? Will he want to ? He has been some servant to Birr and Offaly.
Brian Whelehan owes nothing to anybody, and will rightly go down as one of, if not the, greatest hurlers of his generation when he was in his prime. His reading of the game, his wristiness and his vision were a joy to behold, and as an Offaly fan I owe him a huge, huge debt of gratitude. Having said that, he is getting a bit frustrated in the autumn years of his playing career, and he has lost the cool a few times in Offaly championship games, so maybe it's time for him to accept that the legs can no longer do what the mind tells them. If he does go, he will take the best wishes of all genuine hurling fans with him.
Gary Hanniffy is pushing 30 at least I think, while Rory is a bit younger at about 26. I wouldn't write Birr off to give Leinster a lash again next year, they are very experienced, and only 3 of their players were over 30. They've been around a while though, and the hunger might be their biggest problem, especially against a great team like Portumna.
Put it like this, I doubt you will forget the name Birr over the next couple of years, but whether they will be good enough to win an All Ireland is another matter.
Will Pat Joe stay on ? How long has he been in charge ? What really happened with Limerick and him ?
Padjoe is a bit eccentric, and he would find it hard to deal with 'outsiders' I would say. He didn't pull up any trees with Offaly, and was manager in '89 when Antrim famously did us up in the AI semi final. I think in Limerick he struggled to get his message across, and he lost the players fairly quickly. The dual player issue was a real nuisance for him back then as well.
I think he is finishing up this year with Birr, but if he does he'll probably be back in a year or two's time, and Aaron Whelehan, Brian's son, will probably be leading them to another Offaly title by then.
How good is Aaron ? Too early to say yet ? 18 ?
I think he's 17 now, maybe just gone. It's too early to say, and it's a horrible situation in one way. Everyone will be judging him against his grandfather (who was very good himself back in the bad old days), his uncles Simon and Barry, and of course most pertinently his father, the millenium man.
He is promising, but it'd be very unfair to expect him to even make the county team at this stage, lets see how he goes.
Is there any one to challenge Birr in Offaly A-Z ? Maybe you're a Birr man ?
Nope, I'm a Ferbane man, Belmont is our club in hurling. Birr will be challenged, and had a few dodgy games against Clareen (Sier Keiran) and Coolderry over the last couple of years. Kilcormac and Rynaghs also look to be gathering a bit of pace, but it is really catchup. And none of those teams would have the 'ring craft' to go to Kilkenny, for example, and get a win like Birr have.
Coolderry took them to a replay a couple of years ago didn't they ? You're a senior club in both football and hurling ? Any big names or up and coming big names to look out for ?
Ferbane is the senior football club, Belmont is the senior hurling club. Alan Egan and David Kenny are hurling with Offaly, and David, especially seems to have a chance. Alan is good and fast, but very light.
In football, Colin Egan was a county minor who also has a chance to be a good young lad, although he is a midfielder, so may not come through, while Gerry Grehan is a very good back, who was playing wing forward with the U21s in Carlow. He's a great prospect, and as genuine as they come.
Have you any prospects of winning a championship in either code ? Why is there two different names ? Is it a combined parish team ?
Ferbane would have been one of the stronger football clubs in Offaly, but are going through a lean enough spell at the moment. We won 5 in a row county titles in the late 80s and a Leinster Club in 1986. We then won a couple more in the 90s, but nothing since, as Rhode and Tullamore, especially Rhode, took over a little, but I hope/expect that roundabout to come around again.
In the hurling, we would be a good bit off being serious contenders, although we do seem to be relatively comfortable at Senior. There's probably 3 or 4 worse teams than us.
The reason why it is two teams is that it's one parish, and the Belmont end of the parish would have been the traditional hurling end, whereas we would have been football. Belmont lads used to play intermediate/junior football, and senior hurling, while we played vice versa. Also in the late 80s the Belmont lads were allowed to play with us in the senior football, and vice versa for the hurling.
Then the minor clubs amalgamated to make Ferbane/Belmont, and we won a rake of underage titles in both codes, including an All Ireland Minor Football Club up in Belfast in 1991.
After that, there were moves to amalgamate the senior clubs, and eventually Belmont football ended, and they all played with us at all levels, called Ferbane, while the hurlers all played under the Belmont name. We even have different coloured jerseys, Green for Ferbane, Green and Gold hoops for Belmont.
There's probably 3 or 4 worse teams than us.
That's a good way of putting it ! ;D ;D
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 11:36:46 AM
Brian Whelehan owes nothing to anybody, and will rightly go down as one of, if not the, greatest hurlers of his generation when he was in his prime. His reading of the game, his wristiness and his vision were a joy to behold, and as an Offaly fan I owe him a huge, huge debt of gratitude. Having said that, he is getting a bit frustrated in the autumn years of his playing career, and he has lost the cool a few times in Offaly championship games, so maybe it's time for him to accept that the legs can no longer do what the mind tells them. If he does go, he will take the best wishes of all genuine hurling fans with him.
Spot on, AZ. I've always rated him the greatest of his generation because *he was always a factor / intinsic / vital to the team he played in*. (Read carefully.) Hopefully the next JC will emulate Whelehan's achievements.