Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Lecale2 on February 22, 2008, 04:47:26 PM

Title: The price of drink
Post by: Lecale2 on February 22, 2008, 04:47:26 PM
Yesterday the British Medical Association called for an end to cheap drink - see link below. Today my local has stuck 15p on a pint!! It's now £2.75 for a pint of Guinness.

Has any other pub done this? Seems like an over reaction to the BMA report or they are using the health angle to increase profits. £2.60 was hardly cheap to begin with. No doubt it will go to £3.00 a pint with the budget in March.

I have cut back the visits to the pub to Friday evening and Monday evening and I don't think I can cut back much more.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/7254933.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/7254933.stm)
Title: Re: The price of drink
Post by: his holiness nb on February 22, 2008, 04:52:00 PM
I dont think the price of a pint would be the sort of cheap drink they are on about.
You could get 4 or 5 cans for the price of a pint.
Post by: 5 Sams on February 22, 2008, 05:17:49 PM
Its the alcopops and the Barrackbusters they are on about.

(http://www.english-shop.de/images/strongbow%206%20bottles.jpg)
Post by: The Gs Man on February 22, 2008, 05:29:45 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on February 22, 2008, 04:47:26 PM
Yesterday the British Medical Association called for an end to cheap drink - see link below. Today my local has stuck 15p on a pint!! It's now £2.75 for a pint of Guinness.

Has any other pub done this? Seems like an over reaction to the BMA report or they are using the health angle to increase profits. £2.60 was hardly cheap to begin with. No doubt it will go to £3.00 a pint with the budget in March.

I have cut back the visits to the pub to Friday evening and Monday evening and I don't think I can cut back much more.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/7254933.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/7254933.stm)

The Brewery's e.g. INBEV (Tennents, Bass) and Diageo (Guinness, harp) have recently put their prices up.  Bars have to put their prices up as a result.
Post by: Puckoon on February 22, 2008, 05:30:58 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on February 22, 2008, 05:29:45 PM

The Brewery's e.g. INBEV (Tennents, Bass) and Diageo (Guinness, harp) have recently put their prices up.  Bars have to put their prices up as a result.

Its a complete conspiracy from the Vinters associations. They are all in fecking cahoots with one another, regardless of when the brewerys put up the prices.
Post by: dec on February 22, 2008, 05:48:49 PM
The price of drink would drive you to drink so it would.
Post by: Square Ball on February 22, 2008, 06:44:38 PM

WHF
Post by: Zapatista on February 22, 2008, 07:01:54 PM
Quote from: dec on February 22, 2008, 05:48:49 PM
The price of drink would drive you to drink so it would.

So long as your not driving dec ;D
Post by: red hander on February 22, 2008, 07:56:34 PM
If offies stopped selling booze to obviously under-aged spotty sc**bag herberts in shellsuits and baseball caps in west Belfast and elsewhere we wouldn't have a problem ... and if hugh orde stopped recruiting said under-aged spotty sc**bag herberts in shellsuits and baseball caps in west Belfast to provide his thick as pig shit lesbian officers with submarine level intelligence about the local chucks, then we would have even less of a problem ???
Post by: Minder on February 22, 2008, 09:13:09 PM
Quote from: red hander on February 22, 2008, 07:56:34 PM
If offies stopped selling booze to obviously under-aged spotty sc**bag herberts in shellsuits and baseball caps in west Belfast and elsewhere we wouldn't have a problem ... and if hugh orde stopped recruiting said under-aged spotty sc**bag herberts in shellsuits and baseball caps in west Belfast to provide his thick as pig shit lesbian officers with submarine level intelligence about the local chucks, then we would have even less of a problem ???

Couldnt have out it better myself, there is an off license near me on the Falls Rd with a "You must be over 21 to be served here", i think it may be 21 months judging by some of the punters.......
Post by: Puckoon on February 22, 2008, 09:32:30 PM
Quote from: tram on February 22, 2008, 09:30:27 PM
I'm told that most publicans don't make a big profit on beer, lager etc. but more on soft drinks etc. I can well believe it when a 200ml bottle in a pub can cost around £1.20 while the equivalent sold in a shop would be a quarter of the price.

The first part is something I heard before but find it hard to believe. They make plenty.

The second part is also true. Baby bottles make a fortune. Thats why most miserable hewers wont give out dashes of lemonade and so on.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on February 23, 2008, 09:34:49 AM
Lecale your pub isn't the only place with a medical conscience, most off licences appear to only sell Buckfast to winos I assume because of its medicinal qualities
Post by: Square Ball on April 10, 2008, 01:57:01 PM
Judes on the Ormeau started a happy hour from 7 to 9 on a Friday night a while ago, pints £1.50 so i thought the others would follow, two weeks later the Parador started the same price from 5 to 7.

Now i believe the Big House will be doing £1.30 a pint on Fridays from 6 to 9 (I think)

lock your doors!!!
Post by: stpauls on April 10, 2008, 02:01:07 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 10, 2008, 01:57:01 PM
Judes on the Ormeau started a happy hour from 7 to 9 on a Friday night a while ago, pints £1.50 so i thought the others would follow, two weeks later the Parador started the same price from 5 to 7.

Now i believe the Big House will be doing £1.30 a pint on Fridays from 6 to 9 (I think)

lock your doors!!!

man, that would make for some pub crawl on a Friday night after a long weeks working!! i wonder what the road will look like on Saturday morning!  :P
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 10, 2008, 06:01:18 PM
Cloth Ear on Waring st does BOGOF on all pints on a friday from 4-7.
Irene & Nans and Bar Bacca do BOGOF on Thurs and Fri on wine, a cocktail and bottles of coruna.

Any other places in Belfast do anything during the week.

Oh yeah SU @QUB does cheap beer on a friday as well.
Post by: stephenite on April 11, 2008, 01:01:39 AM
What is BOGOF?
Post by: tyrone86 on April 11, 2008, 01:15:57 AM
Quote from: stephenite on April 11, 2008, 01:01:39 AM
What is BOGOF?

Buy one get one free
Post by: stephenite on April 11, 2008, 01:18:08 AM
Ahhhhh - thanks you
Post by: Fishbat on April 11, 2008, 01:25:32 AM
What is BOGOF?

Think its Buy One Get One Free - for ye southerners.....should be BWGWF for the Northerners
Post by: Square Ball on April 11, 2008, 12:58:36 PM
Quote from: Fishbat on April 11, 2008, 01:25:32 AM
What is BOGOF?

Think its Buy One Get One Free - for ye southerners.....should be BWGWF for the Northerners

Nah, its those Derry wans only Fishbat
Post by: The Watcher Pat on April 11, 2008, 01:08:12 PM
My local is still £2.40 a pint. If you buy a loyalty card for a fiver every time you buy a pint you get 15p credit on your card..

A bit like a tesco club card..It's quite a good idea as people have to produce I.D before they get the card and most of the customers have one.The credit on your card comes in very handy if you let it build up. You can have 2 or 3 good days out a year all paid for by the bar.....Even better when you go out with 3-4 mates who all forgot their cards......lots and lots of points! ;D
Post by: bingobus on April 11, 2008, 02:29:45 PM
This may surprise you's but I couldn't tell you the price of a pint, vodka, coke, bottle, etc in any of my locals.

Its prob due to lack of buying them and when I do it would generally be in a round of 5/6 people or just put a note down on counter for evening and buy out of it.

A right change from about 4 years ago when I was probably working in at least 1 bar every weekend and almost bought my local with a friend.
Post by: Bensars on April 11, 2008, 02:48:42 PM

Quote from: The Watcher Pat on April 11, 2008, 01:08:12 PM
My local is still £2.40 a pint. If you buy a loyalty card for a fiver every time you buy a pint you get 15p credit on your card..

A bit like a tesco club card..It's quite a good idea as people have to produce I.D before they get the card and most of the customers have one.The credit on your card comes in very handy if you let it build up. You can have 2 or 3 good days out a year all paid for by the bar.....Even better when you go out with 3-4 mates who all forgot their cards......lots and lots of points! ;D

You buy a loyalty card for £5   then get  15p credit on your card with each pint.

The Bar owner must have seen you coming ;D

Based on the fact that you have already spent £5 on the initial card and the price of the pint being £2.40 you would have to drink 50 pints before you get one free !   

Post by: The Watcher Pat on April 11, 2008, 03:38:46 PM
Quote from: Bensars on April 11, 2008, 02:48:42 PM

You buy a loyalty card for £5   then get  15p credit on your card with each pint.

Based on the fact that you have already spent £5 on the initial card and the price of the pint being £2.40 you would have to drink 50 pints before you get one free !   

Yeh he seen me compin alright..on Boxing day when i had £60 quid credit on my card and a free day out.....oh and its only 33 pints you have to drink to break even.....
Post by: bingobus on April 11, 2008, 04:02:08 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on April 11, 2008, 03:38:46 PM
Quote from: Bensars on April 11, 2008, 02:48:42 PM

Yeh he seen me compin alright..on Boxing day when i had £60 quid credit on my card and a free day out.....oh and its only 33 pints you have to drink to break even.....

You drank/bought 400 pints!! Ring the AA, the man is broken down  ;D  ;)
Post by: Rois on August 06, 2009, 08:07:08 AM
I walk past Bar Bacca on the way to and from work - never a sinner about the place.

Irene & Nans turned awful spidey in the last year or so.

Bid a fond farewell to the Beach Club and the Advocate too, in their current form at least.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on August 06, 2009, 08:49:29 AM
frequented Irene & Nans alot of fridays after work, used to get a huge crowd for promo between 5-7 what with workers all packed in but nowadays its nowhere near as busy on a friday afternoon. Nice spot for friday pint though, hope it survives in some shape or form.
Post by: take_yer_points on August 06, 2009, 08:55:08 AM
I heard the Potthouse is involved in this as well? Anyone know if there's any truth in that?
Post by: kinghen on August 06, 2009, 09:11:45 AM
Quote from: take_yer_points on August 06, 2009, 08:55:08 AM
I heard the Potthouse is involved in this as well? Anyone know if there's any truth in that?

yea its owned by the same group, think its maybe the potthouse bar and grill that is closing tho, not sure about the nightclub end.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on August 06, 2009, 11:42:31 AM
Jobs threat as PBR faces administration

By Gary McDonald Business Editor
06/08/09
Scores of jobs at a clutch of Belfast's best-known bars and night-spots could be under threat after their parent company called in the administrators yesterday.

Premium Bars and Restaurants (PBR), burdened by £40 million of debt, moved immediately to shut three of its 48 British and Irish outlets, including the Advocate Bar in Chichester Street, which employed three full-time staff.

And while its other Belfast establishments – including the Pothouse in the Cathedral Quarter, Bambu Beach Club at the Odyssey, Irene & Nan's and Bar Bacca – will continue to trade as going concerns, there were fears last night that some staff there could also be axed.

In February The Irish News revealed the depth of the problem at the chain after shares were suspended when the company failed to file audited results.

In less than 18 months PBR's value has plummeted from £75 million to below £1 million.

It had sought to source fresh capital from investors and banks and had been in protracted talks with Royal Bank of Scotland to renew its banking facilities, but they broke down.

Premium, headquartered in Cheshire, employs 1,800 staff across its operations, which includes the Living Room chain in Manchester, a popular haunt for the city's millionaire footballers.

In a statement administrator BDO Stoy Hayward said it was shutting three PBR outlets with the loss of 77 jobs.

As well as the Advocate in Belfast (formerly known as Rumpoles) losing three staff, 51 jobs are going at Sea in Glasgow and another 23 at Rewind in Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

Administrators say they will seek to trade all of the remaining outlets while they work to secure a sale of the business. All retained staff will be paid any arrears of wages due to them.

"All the names in the Premium Bars and Restaurants portfolio are well-known and continue to attract loyalty from customers," Dermot Power, business restructuring partner at BDO Stoy Hayward, said.

"But the sharp economic downturn has impacted on the usually high disposable income of the group's target market.

"We are currently in discussions with several interested parties and are confident of securing a sale of the business."
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on August 06, 2009, 11:58:25 AM
price of drink can be ridiculous.

was away in london 2 weeks ago for work. it was a free bar as a man was putting the whole thing on his tab. i then decided just to be curtious to buy him and couple other people a drink. give the man a break. went to the bar to order a pint of some kroenberg for me (spelt wrong german shit, poor selection of beers), 2 vodka and cokes and just 2 cokes to make up a round. although this was a very swanky hotel i was thinkin 15 or 20 quid would well cover it.

the man asked me for £26 and some change. i near fainted. thought it was unreal step. but apparently someone in the group said they only serve doubles as their shots are only 25ml. well it was freakin steep any road!
Post by: 5 Sams on August 06, 2009, 12:04:15 PM
I was in The Temple Bar the weekend of the U2 concert. €6-60 for a pint of (poor) Guinness and roughly the same for a bottle of Heineken. Went to Meaghers in Ballybough before the concert and paid about half of that for a gorgeous pint.........robbin bastards in Temple Bar :o
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 06, 2009, 12:16:56 PM
Advocate had been closed there for a few months but had re-opened. Could be closing again soon now. Never seemed to be much a crowd about it.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on August 06, 2009, 01:47:52 PM
I think I seen The Advocate open earlier this week. Walked past it today and it was closed.
Post by: Mario on August 06, 2009, 04:51:29 PM
Going for cheap pints tonight in Diceys €3 a pint, you couldn't get moving in it. Its still cheaper at home though at £2.50
Post by: Nailed On on August 06, 2009, 08:15:17 PM
I have heard that Renshaws is re-opening at some point in the coming year, great news for the fans of cheap drink and mucksaviii (normally go hand in hand)
Post by: fred the red on August 06, 2009, 10:26:08 PM
Quote from: Nailed On on August 06, 2009, 08:15:17 PM
I have heard that Renshaws is re-opening at some point in the coming year, great news for the fans of cheap drink and mucksaviii (normally go hand in hand)

I seen a sign up on it said it was opening November It seems to be owned by the Ibis hotel chain, so im not sure if its gonna be a mucksavii pit or not.
Post by: MadMayo on August 06, 2009, 11:00:08 PM
€6 for a bottle of heinehen in Dakota, South William Street, Dublin
€6.70 for a pint bottle of bulmers, Oliver St. John Gogartys Temple bar
Dublin prices are a joke.....
And these guys are buying in bulk for €1 a bottle max!
Post by: dillinger on August 07, 2009, 12:35:08 AM
I live in Bangor, £3-00 pretty much stantard price here. Cheaper to drink at home, go to bar rarely, just too dear.
Post by: rolloutking on August 07, 2009, 10:19:53 AM
QuoteI have heard that Renshaws is re-opening at some point in the coming year, great news for the fans of cheap drink and mucksaviii (normally go hand in hand)

Spoke to one of the ex barman who now works in the hat. Said the owner closed it because he got too much hassle from with students making noise, wrecking about outside etc. It's opening as a proper hotel and not the student watering hole it used to be unfortunately, although I don't know if a hotel in such close proximity to the nerve centre of the holylands could attract proper staying over guests
Post by: Nailed On on August 07, 2009, 10:08:04 PM
Quote from: rolloutking on August 07, 2009, 10:19:53 AM
QuoteI have heard that Renshaws is re-opening at some point in the coming year, great news for the fans of cheap drink and mucksaviii (normally go hand in hand)

Spoke to one of the ex barman who now works in the hat. Said the owner closed it because he got too much hassle from with students making noise, wrecking about outside etc. It's opening as a proper hotel and not the student watering hole it used to be unfortunately, although I don't know if a hotel in such close proximity to the nerve centre of the holylands could attract proper staying over guests

The owner didn't really make much of an effort to clean the place up what with the drinks promotions etc, also it was one of the hardest places in Belfast to get chucked out of. Used to let you away with anything.
Post by: Quagmire on August 07, 2009, 10:33:53 PM
The owner turned his eye to other things when he got involved with the Holiday Inn down the road and bought into that franchise with Days on the Sandy Row and the Ramada out at Shaws Bridge.  He had to maintain standards in those hotels in line with what was laid down, Renshaws was his first hotel and his own, so when the others took off he didn't really focus on it so much. When Renshaws was making money, he was happy but when the profits went down with the 3 for 5er he just llet it run itself into the ground. God knows how this new place will fair but there was a surprisingly high occupany level in the hotel side of the Shaws!

Unfortunately it will never return to it's former term time 'glory'!! The mucksavii may be content with the Hat for now, unless they invade the Menagerie, I think it might be opening again, saw life round it last week! That was some spot!!
Post by: Nailed On on August 07, 2009, 10:45:40 PM
Quote from: Quagmire on August 07, 2009, 10:33:53 PM
The owner turned his eye to other things when he got involved with the Holiday Inn down the road and bought into that franchise with Days on the Sandy Row and the Ramada out at Shaws Bridge.  He had to maintain standards in those hotels in line with what was laid down, Renshaws was his first hotel and his own, so when the others took off he didn't really focus on it so much. When Renshaws was making money, he was happy but when the profits went down with the 3 for 5er he just llet it run itself into the ground. God knows how this new place will fair but there was a surprisingly high occupany level in the hotel side of the Shaws!

Unfortunately it will never return to it's former term time 'glory'!! The mucksavii may be content with the Hat for now, unless they invade the Menagerie, I think it might be opening again, saw life round it last week! That was some spot!!

When 3 for 5 was in full swing Shaws used to be heaving. The period in between when there were no promotions it was empty most of the time. Then at the end when they brougt 3 for 5 back it started to boom again.

They should never have got rid of Fat Jim's karaoke.
Post by: Quagmire on August 07, 2009, 10:50:06 PM
Big Jim threw the head up cos he was looking more money, the hoor was already getting a fortune! He also wasn't pleased when he made the schoolboy error of giving out a pile of his props for a conga line out the back door of the shaws, round half of Fitzroy and back in the front door and getting very little of them back!!  :D