GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: irunthev on February 20, 2008, 12:30:47 PM

Title: Sean Og
Post by: irunthev on February 20, 2008, 12:30:47 PM
Great player or not, is this guy the greatest whinger and martyr of all time or what.

He keeps going on about the fact that he works. Well newsflash Sean Og, so do the rest of us.

From Hoganstand

Sean Og O hAilpin has conceded that the player strike saga in Cork could well have brought down the curtain on his career.

The legendary wing back admits that if he'd remained out of action for the entire season then his days in the Cork jersey could have whimpered out ingloriously:

"I would have preferred to be four or five nights a week training rather than four or five nights a week meeting in hotel rooms and trying to get our case forward.

"The fact that we are working as well, we had to work around that. It has been stressful, let's put it that way.

"I think players were probably resigned to the fact that if this thing wasn't resolved that the year would be a write-off. For guys like myself, we would be looking at our careers gone at that stage."
Title: Re: Sean Og
Post by: cornafean on February 20, 2008, 12:35:53 PM
The poor soul. Its obvious that he hasn't a clue how the rest of us can manage to combine regular GAA committee meetings with holding down a job at the same time.
Post by: Tatler Jack on February 20, 2008, 02:32:29 PM
QuoteHe keeps going on about the fact that he works.

Maybe Dessie will give him that job that was advertised recently to reduce his stress. The job seemed to be handy enough and would levae him time both to train and go to meetings.

Come to think of it he could have avoided the recent meetings - maybe he likes the stress!!!
Post by: ziggysego on February 20, 2008, 02:38:45 PM
I hear Trapattoni has hired him for the Irish soccer team to take charge of the strikers.
Post by: Billys Boots on February 20, 2008, 02:42:51 PM
QuoteHe keeps going on about the fact that he works.

He doesn't, he has a job in the bank.
Post by: orangeman on February 20, 2008, 02:44:28 PM
he has a job in the bank.

I think you mean that he gets paid by the bank - not that he works for the bank !
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on February 20, 2008, 02:46:14 PM
Theres only one Sean Og worth talkin of........DePaor. Great footballer, not a headline hungry hoor and on Laochra Gael tomorrow night
Post by: his holiness nb on February 20, 2008, 02:52:05 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 20, 2008, 02:44:28 PM
he has a job in the bank.

I think you mean that he gets paid by the bank - not that he works for the bank !

Thats what he said  ;)
Post by: feetofflames on February 20, 2008, 02:59:05 PM
Sean Og ya Cork bollix, welcome to the real world some might say -  I would not neccessarrily agree with that point of view. 
I would imagine its a little like wife swapping or having an affair.  These guys think they can sample the illicict fruits of the other side for a couple of weeks and after the initial buzz weras off then they realise that grass is not always greener on this side and that its equally tough and even less attractive to what they normally get up to with maybe less reward ie free dinners etc. 
Post by: Billys Boots on February 20, 2008, 03:42:21 PM
As the Dali Lama said, I know what I mean.
Post by: Declan on February 20, 2008, 03:42:52 PM
Jaysus you're a right shower of bitter little little people
Post by: J70 on February 20, 2008, 03:51:34 PM
Quote from: irunthev on February 20, 2008, 12:30:47 PM
Great player or not, is this guy the greatest whinger and martyr of all time or what.

He keeps going on about the fact that he works. Well newsflash Sean Og, so do the rest of us.

From Hoganstand

Sean Og O hAilpin has conceded that the player strike saga in Cork could well have brought down the curtain on his career.

The legendary wing back admits that if he'd remained out of action for the entire season then his days in the Cork jersey could have whimpered out ingloriously:

"I would have preferred to be four or five nights a week training rather than four or five nights a week meeting in hotel rooms and trying to get our case forward.

"The fact that we are working as well, we had to work around that. It has been stressful, let's put it that way.

"I think players were probably resigned to the fact that if this thing wasn't resolved that the year would be a write-off. For guys like myself, we would be looking at our careers gone at that stage."

What is so controversial about those statements? Is he saying that no one else has to work?

Some people just can't wait to be offended.
Post by: theskull1 on February 20, 2008, 03:55:37 PM
I don't think bitter is a strong enough word to use for my own feelings of every Cork player who took the nuclear option from day one.
Post by: Gnevin on February 20, 2008, 04:07:52 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on February 20, 2008, 03:55:37 PM
I don't think bitter is a strong enough word to use for my own feelings of every Cork player who took the nuclear option from day one.

It was hardly day one was it now? The manager was appointed  2 weeks + before the strike and discussions between the players and manager that same week came to nothing .  The players also  gave plenty of notice of their intention to strike.
Post by: irunthev on February 20, 2008, 04:29:39 PM
It's just that when Sean Og is playing and training he is crying because he has to work and the two boys in Oz don't have to and then when he isn't training and playing and striking instead, he is crying about work too. If it bothers him that much, give up work, or better still, give up the GAA and give us all a break from his whining.
Post by: thejuice on February 20, 2008, 04:45:44 PM
Think some of you are being a bit harsh to be fair. It is hard for everyone, I had to miss training last night due to work, but I think missing training for him would have a bit more of an impact on him than it would for me. And Im not sure what grounds you are using to completely dismiss his worth as an employee. I think thats going to far.
Post by: irunthev on February 20, 2008, 04:55:12 PM
There are 33 counties in each of the men's National Leagues, each with a panel of 30 players. That's a total of 1980 players. 1979 are all doing the same as Sean Og and not crying about it every time someone sticks a mike under his nose. And that's not even starting to talk about the girls playing in the Nat Leagues, and they have the added stress of having to shave their legs and to look pretty as well.  Where do they get the time for all that? Sean's should count himself lucky he's not a girl, he'd never get to work or to training. The guys a great hurler, wonderful athlete and probably a heck of a nice bloke too, but why doesn't he just go out and hurl and stop crying.
Post by: quidnunc on February 20, 2008, 05:04:38 PM
Quotethe girls playing in the Nat Leagues, and they have the added stress of having to shave their legs and to look pretty as well.

:D :D Love this!

If the men can argue for govt grants to cover internet access, fresh car tyres and "hydration costs", could the girls make a case for the Ladyshave coming under the "costs associated with enhancing performance"?
Post by: theskull1 on February 20, 2008, 05:46:35 PM
Oh, we should expect our Journalists to pander to players no matter what they do? Interesting reading......not!!!
Post by: irunthev on February 20, 2008, 05:48:01 PM
Was a journo but not any more. Moved on from that. However, I never asked the likes of him for a word. I know my place and I wasn't the sort of journo who goes around licking arse to get a quote and then stabs someone in the back. That's Dunphesque and that's not me. All I'm saying, and quite a few have agreed with me, is that he cries a lot about his work. I think you will find I havent questioned his ability as either a player or an employee, his commitment to work or sport or his personality or integrity, merely that he keeps on about the fact that he has to work. Nothing too damaging there I wouldn't think. Sean's life isn't much different to the rest of the guys who play the sport at an elite level and I have been lucky enough to do it myself for almost ten years, so I don't know why he keeps bringing it up. No cheap shots, just an observation. You on the other hand, without knowing anything about me, appear to think I'm a back stabbing bastard, something that I take great offence from. Now I'm going to go away and sulk.
Post by: irunthev on February 20, 2008, 06:13:13 PM
We'll call a truce, but you must remember that while a journo does rely on players for stuff, players and managers are quick to hunt down journos as well. It's not all the one-way traffic some people think it is and I can assure you that for every player that feels he has been shafted by a journo, there is a journo who has been well-shafted by a player. Only last week I saw an exclusive article about a player who had announced his retirement from inter-county football because of family commitments only to come off the bench at the weekend and score 1-1 in a Nat League match. How do you think that journo felt when he was sitting there covering the game. It's funny in a way and it's the way the world goes around. Unfortunately journos can't always write the fluffy puppy stories about our heroes that we would all like to read. As I say though, I didn't insult Sean as a palyer, as an employee or as a person, I'm not that sort of guy. I merely commented on a recurring theme. I would hope that Sean would be thick skinned enough not to take offeice at that.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 20, 2008, 06:24:49 PM
Quote from: irunthev on February 20, 2008, 04:29:39 PM
It's just that when Sean Og is playing and training he is crying because he has to work and the two boys in Oz don't have to and then when he isn't training and playing and striking instead, he is crying about work too. If it bothers him that much, give up work, or better still, give up the GAA and give us all a break from his whining.

well said!
Post by: Zulu on February 20, 2008, 06:50:17 PM
IC players can bring out the very worst in some of you lads. I can't say I constantly hear Sean Og complaining about work, all he said was having to work and give up your evenings can be tough, which it can. Sean Og is one of the most high profile players in the country and as such he is more sought after and has more opportunity to speak with the press. I'm sure what he said in that article would be echoed by most IC lads. To say he is crying about it is childish in the extreme.
Post by: Minder on February 20, 2008, 09:41:42 PM
i remember that programme last year "talk dark and o 'hailpin",he did some whining about having to work in "da benk" and the brothers were out sunning themselves in oz, sean its called the real world
Post by: the colonel on February 20, 2008, 09:53:34 PM
i think you are all being very harsh on him. these meetings that they have been attending reguarly are maybe lasting 4 hours each compared to the training which would prob be max of 2. the man was just stating the obvious not whinging. when else have you heard him complain. jesus he's not kevin mcgourty. the man makes unreal sacrifices,treats his body as a temple and just wants the proper procedures in place to match his commitment. ( and i am not saying i think it was ok for cork to strike).

i think some of you all dont enjoy gaa yourselves and just love whining! and to any of you who do attend commitee meetings, would you rather be training yourself? course you would so again he was just stating the obvious.
Post by: Minder on February 20, 2008, 10:01:10 PM
"when else have you heard him complaining ?" see my previous post colonel
Post by: Zulu on February 20, 2008, 10:23:43 PM
Quote"when else have you heard him complaining ?" see my previous post colonel

He was on a show about himself and his two brothers, both of whom were pro-sportsmen in Australia. It's hardly whining to express some envy that they can earn a living playing sport when he too dedicates himself to sporting excellence and might have had the same opportunity if he were younger. Jesus some of ye wouldn't be happy unless he came out and declared 'pro sport in Australia has nuttin on a cold, wet ould january night in Mallow, money can't bye dat for ye boy'
Post by: J70 on February 20, 2008, 11:54:01 PM
A lot of this type of antipathy is rooted in anti-GPA agenda type of feeling if you ask me. Its basically "stop your feckin' whining and get down to training - sure the boys playing for our junior C team put in as much effort and make as many sacrifices for the game as you do!"

You can't be admitting that you're envious of your brothers Sean, not at the very moment when the rest of us are wondering what to do about stopping our other young players from joining up with them! The brothers are gone - forget about them! The next time a journalist asks about them, pretend you don't know anything about what they're up to!
Post by: Uladh on February 21, 2008, 10:02:49 AM

I don't know Sean og at all so coudn't add anything of any worth to this debate. i also suspect that there are very few others posting here that know him either
Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on February 21, 2008, 10:43:45 AM
Agree with Uladh on this one, yet another thread dominated by the anti GPA malcontents! The way some people talk on this website u'd swear they were the only people who made any contribution to the GAA.

Reality is that there are plenty of people who put a lot of effort into the GAA in terms of admin and coaching who don't begrudge the players anything, the sacrifices they make are massive to play at the highest level and let's not forget that its these players, their skills and the entertainment they provide that inspire young players to follow in their footsteps and come down to their local GAA pitch.

I am totally against pay for play as I don't think our organisation could afford it but I think it is a bit rich for people to attack players for expressing their views when the GAA is playing so many officials throughout Ireland for very little return in many cases.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 21, 2008, 10:53:57 AM
One question. How come the best hurlers in the country are Trappist Monk like in their silence on these types of issues? Where's Henry Shefflin or Ken McGrath or Eoin Kelly or Tommy Walsh? Why are they not constantly bemoaning their lot.

My fatigue at Sean Óg's bleating is nothing to do with the GPA. We know the dedication that county players put in to play, and we know it's hard to balance a successful career and a successful inter-county career. It's also hard to balance a family life and other things.

But, if it is too hard to do, then just stop. Finish it. Play for your club, and accept that it's too difficult on you to give any more commitment. No one could really have a go at you, except maybe other players who are continuing to do it.

Sean Óg has done damn well out of the GAA, financially and fame-wise. His has understanding employers in the bank, eager to capitalise on his fame, no doubt. But I think Sean Óg's real problem is that his brothers are getting paid to be sportsmen, and he isn't.

I would count myself very much in favour of player welfare, but not financial gain. That's my one and only bugbear with the GPA, because I just don't trust them when they say they are not about money or pay for play. I think the public ideals they were set up with are noble and worthy.

Post by: his holiness nb on February 21, 2008, 10:56:34 AM
In fairness to Sean óg, and I am opposed to the players stance in all this, I think peoples views on the players strike are clouding their views on his comment.

He mentioned it was tough squeezing work in with training etc. Nothing wrong with that.

If I was interviewed (not likely  :o  ) and I was asked about work and training, and I was being honest, I'd say sometimes it is tough to rush straight from work to training, then get home after 10pm, then straight to bed for work in the morning.

I know thousands of guys around the country do the same, doesnt mean its any easier for him personally. He didnt say it was tougher for him than for anyone else, just thats its tough.

I honestly dont see his comments as a whinge.
Post by: Minder on February 21, 2008, 10:58:52 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 21, 2008, 10:53:57 AM
One question. How come the best hurlers in the country are Trappist Monk like in their silence on these types of issues? Where's Henry Shefflin or Ken McGrath or Eoin Kelly or Tommy Walsh? Why are they not constantly bemoaning their lot.

My fatigue at Sean Óg's bleating is nothing to do with the GPA. We know the dedication that county players put in to play, and we know it's hard to balance a successful career and a successful inter-county career. It's also hard to balance a family life and other things.

But, if it is too hard to do, then just stop. Finish it. Play for your club, and accept that it's too difficult on you to give any more commitment. No one could really have a go at you, except maybe other players who are continuing to do it.

Sean Óg has done damn well out of the GAA, financially and fame-wise. His has understanding employers in the bank, eager to capitalise on his fame, no doubt. But I think Sean Óg's real problem is that his brothers are getting paid to be sportsmen, and he isn't.
I would count myself very much in favour of player welfare, but not financial gain. That's my one and only bugbear with the GPA, because I just don't trust them when they say they are not about money or pay for play. I think the public ideals they were set up with are noble and worthy.

I think that is it in a nutshell AZ.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 21, 2008, 11:01:04 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on February 21, 2008, 10:56:34 AM
In fairness to Sean óg, and I am opposed to the players stance in all this, I think peoples views on the players strike are clouding their views on his comment.

He mentioned it was tough squeezing work in with training etc. Nothing wrong with that.

If I was interviewed (not likely  :o  ) and I was asked about work and training, and I was being honest, I'd say sometimes it is tough to rush straight from work to training, then get home after 10pm, then straight to bed for work in the morning.

I know thousands of guys around the country do the same, doesnt mean its any easier for him personally. He didnt say it was tougher for him than for anyone else, just thats its tough.

I honestly dont see his comments as a whinge.

These comments in isolation are not unusual, nor in themselves constitute much of a whinge. But during the strike he was on about 'dedication' as well, and that wasn't the first time either. This is not the first time he is implying that the public don't know how hard IC players have it. I don't want to get into anything personal about Seán Óg, because I do appreciate the effort the lads put in, but what I would say is that if he cannot do it, then don't do it. I'm not trying to be harsh, or smart arsed about it, I'm genuine.

Re. The GPA again, I meant to add that I don't actually know, or care, if Seán Óg is a member of the GPA. I suspect he is, but if he weren't, I'd be saying the same thing to him about this issue.
Post by: irunthev on February 21, 2008, 11:01:44 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 21, 2008, 10:53:57 AM

I couldn't have put it better if I had spent the next month trying to compose a reply. My initial post wasn't anti Sean or anti GPA, it was merely an observation that on a number of occasions in the past he has taken the opportunity to mention the difficulties that working life presents to his GAA activity and pursuit of excellence and success. It's the same for every other guy in the GAA, even at club level, just get on with it. Nice guy, great hurler, brilliant athlete, kind to his mammy and daddy, does a lot of good work for charity, great bank official, potential TD maybe, nothing bad to say about the guy at all, apart from his issue with mentioning that he has to work.
Post by: irunthev on February 21, 2008, 11:04:59 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 21, 2008, 11:01:04 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on February 21, 2008, 10:56:34 AM

AZ you are fast becoming my new best friend.  :D
Post by: theskull1 on February 21, 2008, 11:22:26 AM
Yes ....good post AZ

Regarding the difficulty of working and training (never mind the task of digesting the three course meals after training), the question needs to asked why the GPA are not bleating about the commitments being too much and that Croke Park need to limit the ammount of training sessions to allow amatuer sports people to have a life outside of the GAA?

Add to this the specific moaning of IC players about the difficulty in balancing work, family, sporting commitments without balancing their comments in some way (i.e. It's tough, but I wouldn't give it up for anything, or I can be tough, but in life you have to work hard to achieve youre goals so I'm happy to do it) tells me that the GPA want the training to become more and more professional in terms of approach and required commitment until it gets to a stage where they can stand up and say..."we're training like professionals here so pay us like professionals". All part of a very subtle long term startegy IMO

Post by: Zulu on February 21, 2008, 11:31:01 AM
Iruntev this is what you posted in your opening post

QuoteGreat player or not, is this guy the greatest whinger and martyr of all time or what.

Now you're trying to say that you weren't having a go at him, I don't know too many lads that wouldn't be a bit insulted if they read that about themselves. Like I've already pointed out Sean Og gets more opportunities than most to speak to the press/TV, so his views on issues are going to be repeated more than most.
             However all the man said was it can be tough training most nights a week and holding down a full time job, which is true. Do any of you ever complain about your jobs, girlfriends/wives, training, the price of drink or the weather here in Ireland? I'll take an educated guess and say you've all have and more than once I'd bet. Well you'd better all follow your own advice then and either change job, dump the better half, quit sport, give up the drink and leave Ireland or shut up complaining.
Post by: quidnunc on February 21, 2008, 11:44:28 AM
I've met the man a few times and I always thought him to be one of the greatest living Irishmen - no exaggeration - except when it came to appraising the whole amateur/professional argument and now Frank Murphy/Cork administration.

Sean Og is the sort of guy who trains compulsively out of habit, not because he has to. Isn't it well documented that he went to the gym the morning after Cork won their last All-Ireland hurling title? No-one was forcing him to do it. His dedication is admirable, but it is based on choices he makes himself.

TheSkull1 is spot on with regard to the GPA's attitude to training. The leading personalities in the GPA are all "more training is good" disciples. Which is okay if they want to live their lives that way. But then they try to force the whole of the GAA to change to suit their choice of lifestyle.

We don't even begrudge the free cars Cork county players get. We raise our eyebrows about their appearance fees, but we don't shout about it. They should know that we appreciate their commitment, and our acceptance of these freebies they get reflects this fact.

It's not true to say that the comments on this thread are simply anti-GPA, although a few have definitely gone too far with the sarcasm about a man I still think has many attributed of greatness.

What the comments really reflect is the fact that in proportion to the amount of power and money they accrue, players lose ordinary members' goodwill.

Certain players don't seem to realise that their lives will only be worse if they get grants - for the small amount of money that is in them, they will have a lot more work/training stress and less goodwill.
Post by: Uladh on February 21, 2008, 12:07:21 PM
Quote from: quidnunc on February 21, 2008, 11:44:28 AM
What the comments really reflect is the fact that in proportion to the amount of power and money they accrue, players lose ordinary members' goodwill.

Certain players don't seem to realise that their lives will only be worse if they get grants - for the small amount of money that is in them, they will have a lot more work/training stress and less goodwill.

Without touchin on the rest of your post, the above is absolute nonsense.

and by the way, i object to your inference that intercounty players are better than the rest of us. although croke park would have you believe different, i believe they are ordinary members too.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on February 21, 2008, 12:15:19 PM
Jaysus, if he is so hard done by, let him give it up.  Moaning whinger that he is.
Post by: quidnunc on February 21, 2008, 12:22:04 PM
Quoteand by the way, i object to your inference that intercounty players are better than the rest of us.

When was the last time you were offered a free car because of your GAA profile?

(Do you know how much a car costs, and if so, do you think ordinary members get offered the equivalent because of their GAA profile or earn the equivalent amount while county players are training?

And yes, I know not every county player has a car, but we are talking about Sean Og and his comments here.
Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on February 21, 2008, 12:41:21 PM
Quidnunc, Sean Og actually get's a car from Ulster Bank with whom he is employed and yes there is no doubt that his terms fo employment are "flexible" due to who he is and the type of role that Ulster Bank want him to perform but let's not forget that back in the 70's and 80's when unemployment was rife in Ireland very few intercounty players on the top teams were unemployed as they were all in jobs due to their profile so this isn't a new fad it is just more structured and in the public eye more.

I would raise an eyebrow about your comments regarding appearance fees when you mention the Cork players, do you want to eleborate on this with some specific examples rather than hear say and are you also suggesting that Cork are the only county whose players are in sponsored cars or indeed alledgedly getting paid for appearances.

As someone who has had the priviege of having a number of the Cork hurlers at his club on 4 occasions I can state that they never asked for a penny and when offered money as an appreciation of the time they had taken to travel etc they refused.

Happy to be proved wrong if you can back up your assumptions with facts but it certainly hasn't been my experience.
Post by: quidnunc on February 21, 2008, 12:56:12 PM
PHHNR, I agree county players have always done relatively done well 70s, 80s, whenever. I never disagreed with that. Though Uladh appears to beg to differ.

It is widely known that certain Cork players charge appearance fees. Figures have been quoted on another website recently, and specific sums keep getting mentioned in various quarters. Players' agents are involved. As I said, ordinary members tolerate this. Maybe we shouldn't, but we don't have chips on our shoulders about county players. Most of us despise the GPA, but that is a different matter.

Your challenge for me to quote specific figures here is futile and I think you know it. Firstly, I don't think it would be appropriate legally to be naming figures for certain players. And even if I could legally, it would seem that I was out to get certain players - which I am not - so I won't be quoting any figures.

I also know that it is regular practice for players in many counties to claim travelling expenses they are not entitled to, but I have no interest in a name and shame game.
Post by: quidnunc on February 21, 2008, 01:07:28 PM
QuoteMy opinion is that there are posters who don't have the first notion what the man is like, staining sean og's charachter.

I thought I had made this clear:

I've met the man a few times and I always thought him to be one of the greatest living Irishmen - no exaggeration - except when it came to appraising the whole amateur/professional argument and now Frank Murphy/Cork administration.

Is it a stain on his character to say he is "one of the greatest living Irishmen"?
Post by: Uladh on February 21, 2008, 01:11:03 PM
Quote from: quidnunc on February 21, 2008, 12:56:12 PM
PHHNR, I agree county players have always done relatively done well 70s, 80s, whenever. I never disagreed with that. Though Uladh appears to beg to differ.

It's lazy stuff like this that has made debate on this site on the GPA (for that is what we are debating) a waste of time,

Firstly i never mentioned how IC players "do" or "don't", i simply contended that they are ordiary members of the assocition like you or I. they have one vote in their club, as have you... if you're a member of the association...

There will always be those that benefit in kind from excelling at something the community holds dear. My local councillor never puts his hand in his pocket.
This has been said many times but there are far more IC players who do not see this leg up. this very day my uncle has been appoached about work for two starting armagh seniors who have not had a days work in 5 months. i'm sure they agree with you.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 21, 2008, 01:13:08 PM
QuoteMy opinion is that there are posters who don't have the first notion what the man is like, staining sean og's charachter. as far as i can gather the only three reasons for these attacks can be 1) a misguided attempt to attack the gpa, of which sean is a member, 2) a misguided attempt to attack the cork hurlers and footballs, who sean was elected a spokesman for, or 3) jealousy.

I presume this is not aimed at me, as I have not mentioned Seán Óg's character at all in this.

As for your reasons, I'd suggest a 4th, which is my motivation for my post, although I don't think it is an 'attack'.

That reason is being sick to death of hearing how difficult IC players have it. I know it's tough, I know it takes real dedication and commitment, I know they also have to earn a living with a real job. All I'm saying is that if it is too tough, they should simply give up. For their own good as much as anything else. Constantly repeating how dedicated they all are, and how much they sacrifice is just preaching to the choir, unless it is a preamble to demands for remuneration to recognise that commitment. Which I hope this is not.

I also agree with the poster who said the GPA should be pushing for more in the way of limits to what these amateur sportsmen are being asked to do.

Post by: Uladh on February 21, 2008, 01:14:23 PM
You came back with that after being challenged for leading a new topic with

Quote from: irunthev on February 20, 2008, 12:30:47 PM

Meeting him once or twice in your guise as a journo (reading your posts here i'm not surprised you didn't last) doesn't for one second mean you know any fraction of the man
Post by: AZOffaly on February 21, 2008, 01:14:48 PM
Quotet's lazy stuff like this that has made debate on this site on the GPA (for that is what we are debating) a waste of time,

No we, or at least I, am not debating about the GPA. They are incidental to this topic in my opinion, apart from a couple of tangential remarks.
Post by: Uladh on February 21, 2008, 01:18:16 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 21, 2008, 01:13:08 PM
That reason is being sick to death of hearing how difficult IC players have it. I know it's tough, I know it takes real dedication and commitment, I know they also have to earn a living with a real job. All I'm saying is that if it is too tough, they should simply give up.

AZ - as has been said many times, that is way too simplistic an outlook. the world is not black and white.

anyway, i've work to do! i'll leave you girls to your keyboard kombat
Post by: AZOffaly on February 21, 2008, 01:24:10 PM
How much more complicated can it be? Obviously they really love the games, and the pride of pullng on the jersey, but at the same time they have lives to lead, children to be a father to, jobs to work at, etc etc.

If the demands of one simply become too much to allow you to do the other, which is the really important stuff, then you have to give it up, or else you will just make yourself sick.

Again, I'm not trying to be a smartarse about it, or to say 'ara just feck off so', I'm simply trying to be realistic. What is Seán Óg trying to accomplish with these statements? I would never, ever be in favour of pay for play, so the only thing I can think of in terms of easing the burden is either a) getting the demands on them reduced via a GPA campaign, which I would favour, or b) Players retiring when they cannot fit those demands into day to day life.

It's not ideal, it is a huge commitment, but we all know that.

By the way

Quoteanyway, i've work to do! i'll leave you girls to your keyboard kombat

Ouch!
Post by: irunthev on February 21, 2008, 01:47:41 PM

Quoteanyway, i've work to do! i'll leave you girls to your keyboard kombat

Not bad coming from someone with nearly 1500 posts
Post by: theskull1 on February 21, 2008, 03:19:55 PM
Quote from: Uladh on February 21, 2008, 01:18:16 PM
anyway, i've work to do! i'll leave you girls to your keyboard kombat

Taxi for Juan Kerr
Post by: mouview on February 21, 2008, 03:22:14 PM
Don't mind O'Hailpin making pronouncements re: the strike etc. but how anyone can confuse him with being a great hurler is beyond me - great athlete yes - very moderate hurler, least accomplished of the Cork HB line by far.
Post by: TBT on February 21, 2008, 03:26:22 PM
never read such  an amount of vacuous sewerage in my life. The keyboard coward is alive and well >:(
Post by: theskull1 on February 21, 2008, 03:34:31 PM
Quote from: TBT on February 21, 2008, 03:26:22 PM
never read such  an amount of vacuous sewerage in my life. The keyboard coward is alive and well >:(

Not as vacusous as your response TBT. We have no idea what you disagree with and if their might be anything in this thread that you do agree with. If everybody dismissed to oppositions debate in such an out of hand way then there wouldn't be much point in debating anything.

And BTW, I would have no problems debating with Sean óg on any of the points/concerns that I have commented on, in fact I would love to have the opertunity to do so.
Post by: his holiness nb on February 21, 2008, 03:49:51 PM
Quote from: TBT on February 21, 2008, 03:26:22 PM

Keyboard coward? Says the man behind a keyboard calling people cowards!!  ;)

I've not slagged Sean óg, but are you suggesting people on here with an opinion on someone should keep it to themselves or confront the person himself with these statements?