QuoteCOUNTY SENIOR: Longford demolish neighbours Leitrim
Longford demolished Leitrim by 2-10 to 0-6 in a one-sided encounter at Pearce Park. However, the hosts took their time to get into their stride as Leitrim held their opponents to a 0-2 draw with 21 minutes on the clock. That situation was short lived though as the Midlanders began to exert there influence on the match, racing into a 1-3 to 0-3 lead. Leitrim were now dead men walking as Longford devoured Dessie Dolan's footsoldiers, thriving on their carcases to run out ten-point victors. (17/02/08)
http://longfordgaa.ie/ (http://longfordgaa.ie/)
:o
Jaysus. There was no need for that, the game was already as good as won.
Save your 'devouring' for Dessie Dolan jnr and co in May.
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 17, 2008, 09:40:14 PM
Jaysus. There was no need for that, the game was already as good as won.
Hope this doesn't get into the papers... the place has a bad enough reputation as it is.
QuoteSave your 'devouring' for Dessie Dolan jnr and co in May.
Dunno what's gotten into them since this new physical trainer from Westmeath arrived...
Worst thing is that one of the Leitrim players
is was a cousin of two of ours. Cannibalism is bad enough when it's strangers, but aytin' yer own shows a lack of class...
:D :D
I spose Kiernan Mulvey will have to be dispatched to sort things out here as well. A bit more flesh on Nickey Brennan though so he'd do well to stay away from the jungles of Longford.
Still - it could have been worse for Leitrim....had Niall Sheridan and David Blessington been on the field then not even bones would have survived!
There's nothing in the rule-book against eating an opponent, so all fair I guess.
That's bound to be a way to rid the opposition of their smothering tactics.
Come to think of it, no-one has seen Mark Harte since he came on against Armagh in 2005.
How many teams are in the pot for the Longford championship?
After that performance, the Longford management were licking their lips in anticipation of the next league tie. That scoreline suggests they ravaged Leitrim with a savage hunger which bodes well as long as they don't dine out on such a sumptuous feast. More league points seem to be on the menu over the next couple of months with the Leitrim bash only a starter, an appetiser for things to come in the O'Farrell county.
QuoteO'Farrell county.
Where did you get that from? I've never heard that before, but it'd be better than the 'Slashers' which means nothing other than a club in Longford. I like the Larries though :D
I made it up on the board a few years ago. Heard the O'Farrell's came from there.
I thought they only 'did'cannibalism in CORK!
The O'Farrell moniker is long pre-O'Neill. The town/county got its name originally from the 'Longphoirt Ui Fearraghail' (spelling may be off and I am too lazy to wikipedia it).
I prefer 'The Larries' - as bestowed on us by Hardy in honour of Mullinalaghta's finest export, Larry Cunningham.
I wonder how tasty the Fermanagh boys will be - seeing as they won't have played a League game they should be nice and tender.
Well if you can find 'O'Farrell County' anywhere pre-dating this board I'll give you a euro. It is well known the O'Farrells came from there, but I'd never heard it called the 'O'Farrell county'(copyright ONeill) anywhere.
Welcome all to the world of Crayonman - take some time to examine some of his previous 'works'. Is the 'report' on the Leinster Minor Final of 2001 still available in the natural world?
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 18, 2008, 03:29:40 PM
Welcome all to the world of Crayonman - take some time to examine some of his previous 'works'. Is the 'report' on the Leinster Minor Final of 2001 still available in the natural world?
You may be accusing him in the wrong, Billy - I seem to remember that the Flake took over the "colour" writing last year when the site got re-vamped (perhaps "re-vamped" is an interesting choice of word in the current context :) ).
Well, don't they both inhabit the same distant planet, Laureleye?
Exclusive behind-the-scenes pictures from the Longford training camp of the catering staff preparing the "hang sangwidges" for the post-training session:
(http://bp0.blogger.com/_D8VwTKAphks/RyYDo3QxKBI/AAAAAAAAG9o/vkT1AtkN3PU/s400/cannibals1991.jpg)
Definitely not the type of "hang sangwidges" that get served after training down in Cork...
I believe the neighbours ate some harmless nordies too yesterday - will be some feast for the senses when we meet in May.
LOL - Yeah, they were hungry alright after their feed of humble pie in Dublin last week... :)
Sorry, best I could come up with!
Terribe game yesterday... Longford well worth their 10 point victory.
Serious questions to be answered in the Leitrim setup.
they spelt Pearse Park wrong as well. </pedantic>.
Quote from: Doire abú on February 19, 2008, 03:42:08 PM
They did and all. That's fairly bad. I wouldn't mind so much of Longford were away, but to mis-spell your home ground is a bit much :D
I propose a new nickname for the Longford lads. No more of this Slashers craic, forget the 'O'Farrells', ditch the 'Larries'. Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you the Crayola Men.
Quote from: hardstation on February 19, 2008, 03:46:39 PM
So did the match programme from Antrim v Kilkenny.
Galway 0-15 Laois 1-09 Pierce Stadium.
At least you would hope it wasn't a Galway lad writing it though. The crayon man above is from Longford.
Quote from: hardstation on February 19, 2008, 03:58:17 PM
According to the same programme, a county called Bye are sitting in 6th place in Div 4.
That crowd are hard beat.
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 19, 2008, 03:44:13 PM
Quote from: Doire abú on February 19, 2008, 03:42:08 PM
They did and all. That's fairly bad. I wouldn't mind so much of Longford were away, but to mis-spell your home ground is a bit much :D
I propose a new nickname for the Longford lads. No more of this Slashers craic, forget the 'O'Farrells', ditch the 'Larries'. Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you the Crayola Men.
A bit unfair to lump us all in with Raymond Donlon, Esq. (especially as it might not even be him)...
(http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B000002O5R.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg)
Should make an interesting musical contrast with Larry or (shudder) Declan Nerney...
Nothing will beat the launch of gaa.ie way back when in their drop down list of counties there was no 'Longford' but there was a county called 'Shannon'.
I see the match report has been cooled down - no mention now of carcasses.
QuoteYe'll ate me without salt for this
We'll remember the gratuitous incident when you pass our way next - we may even keep some Cajun seasoning for you.
Ara FFS Spectator
There was no need for that........no need at all.
Eating Leitrim lads is one thing........but highlighting Declan Nerney is 'war crime' stuff.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 20, 2008, 10:44:21 AM
Ara FFS Spectator
Eating Leitrim lads is one thing........but highlighting 'yer man' is 'war crime' stuff.
:o
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 20, 2008, 08:49:36 AM
We'll remember the gratuitous incident when you pass our way next - we may even keep some Cajun seasoning for you.
My humble apologies people of Longford - in the interests of cordial future spectator - Longford relations, i've removed that there darn link before ye doggone go an march me off to the dang boiling pot ;)
Quotei've removed that there darn link
The harm is done. Stoke up the fire Laureleye!