Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on January 16, 2008, 04:29:26 PM

Title: King Kev is Back
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 16, 2008, 04:29:26 PM
He's the new Manager of Newcastle  :o

(http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2007/09_01/keeganDM0609_468x766.jpg)
Title: Re: King Kev is Back
Post by: illdecide on January 16, 2008, 04:50:10 PM
Fair play to Keegan i always liked him a a manager and he said what he thought and didn't hold back.

Maybe Newcastle will have a bit of flair about them as Kegan is from the school "if you score 3 we'll score 4" :D
Post by: Lecale2 on January 16, 2008, 04:52:19 PM
They'd be better off with Ant and Dec.

Keegan is yesterday's man and will never bring them back to where they were in the 90s. What exactly has Keegan ever won as a manager? Very poor decision IMO but time will tell.
Post by: No1 on January 16, 2008, 04:54:52 PM
As a Boro fan I have to say I'm delighted.

:D  :D  :D

Geordie clowns!
Post by: nifan on January 16, 2008, 04:55:45 PM
itll certainly be more exciting than it was under allerdyce
Title: King Kev is Back
Post by: 5 Sams on January 16, 2008, 04:58:44 PM
Quote from: No1 on January 16, 2008, 04:54:52 PM
As a Boro fan I have to say I'm delighted.

I've heard it all now :D :D...Down, Kilclief and Middlesborough...you must have really pissed somebody off in a previous life ;)
Post by: ziggysego on January 16, 2008, 05:00:44 PM
I can't wait until he has another go at Ferguson on the telly again  :D
Post by: bingobus on January 16, 2008, 05:08:10 PM
Newcastle have to come to Anfield, get on 4-3 now before the odds are shot to pieces.
Post by: Lecale2 on January 16, 2008, 05:08:42 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 16, 2008, 05:00:44 PM
I can't wait until he has another go at Ferguson on the telly again  :D

He wouldn't have had much to say last Saturday!  :D Newcastle challenged for the league in the 90s but they are way off the pace now. Keegan will keep his month shut if he has any sense. Then again if he had any sense he wouldn't be going back!
Post by: red hander on January 16, 2008, 05:13:22 PM
It'll all end in tears, I tells Ya!
Post by: thebandit on January 16, 2008, 05:42:23 PM
He's a silly man
Post by: Sky Blue on January 16, 2008, 06:12:26 PM
The man's an idiot. You should never go back to a job where you were successful. He can't handle pressure and will walk away a failure before the end of the season.
Post by: whyarerefssobad on January 16, 2008, 06:45:11 PM
newcastle fans have short memories this is a man that has walked out on them once before and i bet it happens again
Post by: Square Ball on January 16, 2008, 06:51:52 PM
I am sure the rest of the premership is trembleing, I dont see how a team like Newcastle demand success, OK they are well supported but that doesnt come with a recepie for success, i think thay are too full of themselves and are in for another big fall.
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on January 16, 2008, 07:02:17 PM
Square Ball - I think you should consider changing that cartoon beside your user name. It is potentially offensive and may even be illegal.
Post by: Orior on January 16, 2008, 07:17:56 PM
Thats 3 mad things this week

1) Liverpool and Klinsman
2) Ireland and Sanchez
3) Newcastle and Keegan

I can clearly see the future now:
Day 1,
1pm - great motivational speech in the Newcastle dressing room
3pm - Newcastle run around full steam like headless chickens with absolutely no tactics, and certainly no idea how to defend
5pm - Newcastle loose 4-2

Day 7
the same

Day 14
the same

Day 21
the same
Keegan cant stand the pressure, and runs away.
Post by: ONeill on January 16, 2008, 07:36:23 PM
Good luck to Keegan. An achievement would be to get the Geordies up around 5th-7th regularly.

Don't like Kipling though. Did you know he was anti-Home Rule? Bastard was friends with Carson.
Post by: Minder on January 16, 2008, 09:27:44 PM
kevin keegan has resigned from newcastle united after blowing his top when it started raining during tonights match against stoke, topless overweight grown men were seen wailing outside st james park, keegan would only say " the met office have fucked it up again,i didnt bring an umbrella on their say so " more to follow
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 16, 2008, 09:44:06 PM
He's not hard-nosed enough for the modern game. Wearing his heart on his sleeve has made him look foolish before so he'd need to be able to take hard decisions or the new owner will have him up the road again.

The Newcastle fans seem to think this is their ticket back to the good old days - they must mean fifty years ago when Jackie Milburn was playing for them! Expect Shearer to end up in the boot room in the next 12 months and Keegan to leave within 2 years leaving Shearer to take the reins.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 16, 2008, 09:48:02 PM
Hopefully if he brings attacking football back to newcastle it might prompt damien duff to get the finger out and start playing like he used to!

Doubt he'll be fit to teach steve carr how to defend though...
Post by: Rav67 on January 16, 2008, 10:33:27 PM
Its good for the whole league for bringing a bit of romanticism back to the game.  It's purely because he's an emotional man that he's got the criticism that he has from the media.  Apart from his disaster at England (when they had considerably worse players than they have now) I think he's done a very good job everywhere he's been, and I include Man City in that.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 16, 2008, 10:38:07 PM
Come lads and be fair,He done well when he was with Newcastle the last time bringing them from almost been relegated to Div 3 to within a whisker of winning the Premiership..At least give the guy a chance before ye all start writing him off
I for one hope he does well,I have been to several Newcastle matches in St James Park as one of my mates is from there and i would love it if they became a side capable of competing against the big teams..
Im not saying Keegan is the man to do it for them but at least give him a chance 
Post by: gerry on January 16, 2008, 10:44:47 PM
good man kev.  i wonder how long will he get before he gets the road to.

he will put his heart into the club but newcastle change their managers more often than i change my socks.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 16, 2008, 10:45:58 PM
Quote from: gerry on January 16, 2008, 10:44:47 PM
good man kev.  i wonder how long will he get before he gets the road to.

he will put his heart into the club but newcastle change their managers more often than i change my socks.

You only change your socks once a year  :o You smelly f****  :)
Post by: qub la la la on January 16, 2008, 11:20:55 PM
they'll get a few results against shite teams then when it comes to the crunch keegan will crack AGAIN and walk away. Newcastle arent a big club, they came close to the premiership only once and keegan cracked up at the end of the season. sure they have a big fan base, but i would say thats largely down to it being a one club city. imagine only one club in manchester or liverpool, of course you'd get a full house every week! even if you were playing that crap at st jame's week in week out!
Post by: Rav67 on January 16, 2008, 11:29:13 PM
Quote from: qub la la la on January 16, 2008, 11:20:55 PM
they'll get a few results against shite teams then when it comes to the crunch keegan will crack AGAIN and walk away. Newcastle arent a big club, they came close to the premiership only once and keegan cracked up at the end of the season. sure they have a big fan base, but i would say thats largely down to it being a one club city. imagine only one club in manchester or liverpool, of course you'd get a full house every week! even if you were playing that crap at st jame's week in week out!

Yes but Manchester and Liverpool are bigger cities.  There's about 1/4 million people in Newcastle which is less than Belfast, so to draw 50,000 mainly from the city and surrounding areas every second week is some going.

Keegan does have a tendency to walk away because he's the sort of manager who needs to be loved by the fans, if he feels like he's losing that he can't seem to hack it.  I hope he does well though, have always liked him and he'll get Newcastle playing entertaining football since they have a few exciting players there already.
Post by: Kerry Mike on January 16, 2008, 11:33:48 PM
QuoteOK they are well supported but that doesnt come with a recepie for success, i think thay are too full of themselves and are in for another big fall.

I thought this was about the Dublin or Cork footballers until I realised it was in the non Gaa section.
Post by: Minder on January 17, 2008, 08:25:38 AM
Quote from: Rav67 on January 16, 2008, 11:29:13 PM
Quote from: qub la la la on January 16, 2008, 11:20:55 PM

Yes but Manchester and Liverpool are bigger cities.  There's about 1/4 million people in Newcastle which is less than Belfast, so to draw 50,000 mainly from the city and surrounding areas every second week is some going.

Keegan does have a tendency to walk away because he's the sort of manager who needs to be loved by the fans, if he feels like he's losing that he can't seem to hack it.  I hope he does well though, have always liked him and he'll get Newcastle playing entertaining football since they have a few exciting players there already.

It will all end in tears for the emotional Geordies, the Newcastle fans once again congregated outside St James Park to hail King Kevin, will they ever learn? Shearer will probably come in as a number two, results will go badly, the especially fickle Toon Army will call for Keegans head, he will be undermined by Shearer & will walk away leaving the way clear for big Al........
Post by: Great Leap Forward on January 17, 2008, 08:46:26 AM
Newcastle are a club run on sentiment and reckless abandon so this is the perfect appointment. It is so crazy it might actually work. Not in the sense of being successful, but the club and the city will be reborn.

The fans just want to get back to the days when they were everyones second favourite team because they played attcking football. Keegan can probably deliver that but they will never challenge for the title under him. They will struggle to break into the top 6 never mind the top 4.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 17, 2008, 10:17:50 AM
One good thing from Ireland's perspective in all this is that if there is any manager who will encourage Damien Duff to get back to taking defenders on, it will be Keegan. Hopefully Duff can get back to that, although I have a feeling he's a busted flush at this stage.

Also, Shay Given will have loads of practice :D
Post by: his holiness nb on January 17, 2008, 10:37:14 AM
Quote from: Aristotle Flynn on January 16, 2008, 07:02:17 PM
Square Ball - I think you should consider changing that cartoon beside your user name. It is potentially offensive and may even be illegal.

Are you serious?  :o
Post by: ONeill on January 17, 2008, 10:41:33 AM
I didn't realise Owen and Keegan had a history (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/n/newcastle_united/7193326.stm)
Post by: Minder on January 17, 2008, 10:44:14 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 17, 2008, 10:41:33 AM
I didn't realise Owen and Keegan had a history (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/n/newcastle_united/7193326.stm)

The "boy wonder" could not give two sh*ts about playing for Newcastle, he sees them merely as somewhere for keeping him fit to play for England.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 17, 2008, 10:45:26 AM
Yeah, Owen had a falling out with Keegan when he was with England. It's another reason why footballers should wait until their career is nearly over before writing autobiographies, especially if they are being critical of someone. Burning bridges comes to mind.
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 17, 2008, 08:49:28 PM
A work colleague originally from the Portglenone direction claims that Keegan's grandfather was from a place called Inishrush (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inishrush) (no, I'd never heard of it either) and therefore Keegan qualified for NI (and by extension the free state). However he wasn't considered because of the IFA's "gentleman's agreement" with the FA, SFA and FAW. Is my mate telling the truth or talking out of his arse?
Post by: Square Ball on January 18, 2008, 09:26:26 PM
Was listening to Keegans interview, does he honestly believe that they can finish in the top four and win a cup within his three and a half year reign :(

I know it was for the Toons but does anyone think tat he can do it? It woukd take a massive amount of money and or the demise of one of the top four, also what about Everton, Man Shitty Portsmouth, IMHO they have no chance of acheiving any of his objectives
Post by: Minder on January 18, 2008, 09:29:20 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on January 18, 2008, 09:26:26 PM
Was listening to Keegans interview, does he honestly believe that they can finish in the top four and win a cup within his three and a half year reign :(

I know it was for the Toons but does anyone think tat he can do it? It woukd take a massive amount of money and or the demise of one of the top four, also what about Everton, Man Shitty Portsmouth, IMHO they have no chance of acheiving any of his objectives

Well the Geordies have always had a probem in dealing with reality, nobody seems to have told Keegan the premiership has changed greatly since he was last at Newcastle, he seems to think he will just follow on from his last stint there......
Post by: Square Ball on January 19, 2008, 07:28:33 PM
So King Kev made a massive difference, I realise that they were missing a few players, but you usually get the new manager thing and this diddnt happen, the first half was pathetic and I diddnt watch the rest, diddnt miss anything by all accounts
Post by: Norf Tyrone on January 27, 2008, 11:33:25 PM
I have heard rumours- very watery nonetheless- that Kev's reign may be very short!
Players reckon is out of touch with the current methods!
Post by: AZOffaly on January 28, 2008, 10:03:42 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on January 27, 2008, 11:33:25 PM
I have heard rumours- very watery nonetheless- that Kev's reign may be very short!
Players reckon is out of touch with the current methods!

Bit rich for the Newcastle players to be complaining about anybody. Premiership soccer players are so detached from reality it's crazy.
Post by: Minder on January 28, 2008, 10:11:31 AM
You could argue that the Newcastle players are out of touch with current methods........
Post by: Square Ball on March 01, 2008, 08:06:00 PM
when will reality dawn on the Toons? Keegan is not a good manager, nor a lucky one. another defeat and closer to the mire, does he have the bottle to stick with it, or will the toys go followed by him?
Post by: Minder on March 01, 2008, 08:28:49 PM
in fairness to keegan he has really tightened things up at the back for newcastle,they are a lot harder to score against
Post by: stew on March 01, 2008, 09:19:08 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 01, 2008, 08:28:49 PM
in fairness to keegan he has really tightened things up at the back for newcastle,they are a lot harder to score against
[/qu

Aye, dead on, United hammered five past them last week and they didnt have it in them to hang on today. They are a joke at the back, in the middle and up front!

In other words, they are ket!
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 01, 2008, 09:58:32 PM
Newcastle 9-2 on paddypower to be relegated, surely worth a few pound?
Post by: Minder on March 01, 2008, 10:22:00 PM
Quote from: stew on March 01, 2008, 09:19:08 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 01, 2008, 08:28:49 PM
[/qu

Aye, dead on, United hammered five past them last week and they didnt have it in them to hang on today. They are a joke at the back, in the middle and up front!

In other words, they are ket!
i was taking the piss just a small bit
Post by: Minder on March 01, 2008, 10:26:30 PM
Newcastle are too big a club to go down
Post by: Square Ball on March 02, 2008, 09:16:04 AM
And United as well
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on March 02, 2008, 09:17:37 AM
but I don't think United will go down squareball
Post by: Square Ball on March 02, 2008, 09:27:48 AM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on March 02, 2008, 09:17:37 AM
but I don't think United will go down squareball
:D :D

neither do I, think they may be safe this year
Post by: FermGael on March 02, 2008, 09:28:57 AM
If you look at Newcastle's next few games, it is quite hard.
Saturday, 08 March 2008
Barclays Premier League
Liverpool v Newcastle, 15:00

Monday, 17 March 2008
Barclays Premier League
Birmingham v Newcastle, 20:00

Saturday, 22 March 2008
Barclays Premier League
Newcastle v Fulham, 15:00

Sunday, 30 March 2008
Barclays Premier League
Tottenham v Newcastle, 15:00

Saturday, 05 April 2008
Barclays Premier League
Newcastle v Reading, 15:00

Saturday, 12 April 2008
Barclays Premier League
Portsmouth v Newcastle, 15:00

With the exception of Fulham at home, They have no easy games.
Other sides around them are picking up points(Reading, Birmingham, Sunderland) and
Newcastle are in a terrible run of form.  Relegation is a real possibility.9/2 is a good price which will shorten.
Post by: qub la la la on March 04, 2008, 08:50:39 PM
king kev got the dreaded vote of confidence too. William Hill are giving 7/2 that he will leave before the end of the season. they are also down to 7/1 to not win a game under keegan this season from 33s
Post by: Maximus Marillius on September 05, 2008, 12:55:22 PM
King Kev is gone

(http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2007/09_01/keeganDM0609_468x766.jpg)
Post by: orangeman on October 02, 2009, 03:28:59 PM
King Kev is back again !! This time to lift a nice cheque.   ;) ;)

Former Newcastle manager Kevin Keegan has been awarded £2m damages plus interest after winning his case against the club for constructive dismissal.

The panel agreed that in signing Uruguayan midfielder Ignacio Gonzalez, against Keegan's wishes, the club were in breach of a term in his contract.

It was also agreed that Keegan would receive no further damages.

Keegan parted company with the club, owned by businessman Mike Ashley, in September 2008.

A relieved Keegan said in a statement: "I am delighted that the Premier League manager's arbitration tribunal has today formally announced that it has upheld my claim for wrongful dismissal against Newcastle United.

"The tribunal has found the conduct of the club in forcing a player on me against my wishes represented a fundamental breach of my contract of employment.

I also want to confirm that a central purpose of my claim has always been to clear my name and restore my reputation

Former Newcastle boss Kevin Keegan
"I do not believe that there is any manager in football who could have remained at the club in the light of their conduct.

"I also want to confirm that a central purpose of my claim has always been to clear my name and restore my reputation.

"I consider it of vital importance that I was able to let people know about the full circumstances of my resignation and the way in which I had been treated by the club. I hope that this purpose has now been achieved."

Newcastle refused to comment on the case, merely reporting the panel's decision and publishing the official report.

The transfer of Gonzalez features heavily in the report, as does the relationship between Dennis Wise, Tony Jimenez and Ashley with Keegan.

In particular, the report concludes that the deal to bring Gonzalez to the club, on a loan basis, was "in the commercial interests of the Club."

606: DEBATE
Also, I think KK is justified in claiming damages for the stigma attached to his name

Hughie_Gallagher
The report continued: "The 'commercial interests', according to the club, were that the signing of the player on loan would be a 'favour' to two influential South American agents who would look favourably on the club in the future.

"The loan deal cost the club nearly £1m in wages for a player who was not expected to play for the first team but no payment was made by the club to the agents in respect of the deal."

It was Ashley who brought Keegan back to Newcastle for his second spell in charge at St James' Park in January 2008, following the termination of Sam Allardyce's contract.

The report states that Keegan was offered a deal which was worth an initial £3m per annum for three-and-a-half years, a figure which was the basis behind his initial damages claim in the region of £8.5m for his agreed spell in charge, and a reported figure in the region of £25m for the length of his career in football before retirement at the presumed age of 65.

Ashley's decision proved a popular one with supporters, who recalled the former England boss's initial spell in charge on Tyneside and the cavalier football his sides played during a four year stay at the club in the 1990s.

Having retained the club's Premier League status that season, Keegan and chairman Mike Ashley appeared to have a strong relationship, but this strained when Dennis Wise was appointed as an executive director of football.

Keegan began the 2008-09 Premier League season in charge, leading the club to two wins, a draw and a defeat in four league and cup matches before leaving on the Thursday, 4 September 2008.

Gonzalez's signing was made on deadline day of Sunday, 31 August 2008, an act which prompted Keegan to tender his resignation.

Wise left the club in April 2009, former vice-president (player recruitment) Tony Jimenez left in October 2008, while owner Mike Ashley remains at the club despite a long-running bid to sell it.

Post by: Hound on October 02, 2009, 04:57:40 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 02, 2009, 03:28:59 PM
The panel agreed that in signing Uruguayan midfielder Ignacio Gonzalez, against Keegan's wishes, the club were in breach of a term in his contract.
Jaysus, never heard of that chap. Did he ever even play I wonder?
Post by: Minder on October 02, 2009, 05:17:27 PM
It is reckoned Keegan will be disappointed with this ad he was expecting £8.5m and a further £16m as he reckoned he wouldn't get another managerial job due to Newcastle sacking him.
Post by: stew on October 02, 2009, 05:21:52 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 02, 2009, 05:17:27 PM
It is reckoned Keegan will be disappointed with this ad he was expecting £8.5m and a further £16m as he reckoned he wouldn't get another managerial job due to Newcastle sacking him.

Feck him, he is already a multi millionaire, he was shit and they have to give him another two million.
Post by: orangeman on October 02, 2009, 05:24:47 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 02, 2009, 05:17:27 PM

According to King Kev, the money wasn't important - he was only out to clear his name and uphold his reputation !  ;) ;)
Post by: orangeman on October 21, 2009, 05:28:47 PM
More good news for Kev !  ;)

Newcastle must pay Keegan's costs 

Keegan left Newcastle United in September 2008
Newcastle United have been ordered to pay all of Kevin Keegan's costs in his successful claim for constructive dismissal, which could reach £1.5m.

Keegan left the club last September after the Uruguayan player Ignacio Gonzalez was signed against his wishes.

Earlier this month an arbitration tribunal awarded him £2m, finding the club was in breach of contract.

In a statement, the tribunal panel said the club had made "entirely unfounded allegations" against Keegan.

Up-for-sale Newcastle have yet to comment on the decision.

The tribunal said it rejected Newcastle's claims that they should not be liable for costs because they had offered to settle the case before the hearing earlier this month.

'Without merit'

A statement said: "We direct that the club should pay all of Mr Keegan's costs.

"Moreover, we reject the club's attempt to rely on the various offers which it made both prior to and during the hearing to settle the claim, since none of them involved the club's acceptance that he had been constructively dismissed and all of them involved a condition of secrecy or confidentiality.

"We direct that the club should pay Mr Keegan's costs on an indemnity basis given the manner in which it conducted this litigation.

"Its defence on the primary liability issue was, in our view, wholly without merit and it chose to make entirely unfounded allegations against Mr Keegan."

The tribunal said if the parties could not agree on costs then it would decide the figure.

It has already been agreed that Keegan will not receive any further damages.

Keegan parted company with the club, owned by businessman Mike Ashley, in September 2008.

It was Ashley who brought Keegan back to Newcastle for his second spell in charge at St James' Park in January 2008, following the termination of Sam Allardyce's contract.