Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on January 01, 2008, 04:41:57 PM

Title: Play on Windsor Park sectarianism heading to Dublin
Post by: T Fearon on January 01, 2008, 04:41:57 PM
Yes, with Paddy Kielty in the lead role Marie Jones famous play, One Night in November, based on the unparalleled scenes of unbridled sectarianism at Windsor Park in Ireland's crucial World Cup qualifier in November 1993, is being staged in Dublin in February. A chance for all of you in the 26 counties to get up to speed on the sectarian nature of the North of Ireland support and the misplaced superiority and hatred of all things Irish and Catholic, that feeds it. Go see
Title: Re: Play on Windsor Park sectarianism heading to Dublin
Post by: Rossfan on January 01, 2008, 05:12:40 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 01, 2008, 04:41:57 PM
A chance for all of you in the 26 counties to get up to speed on the sectarian nature of the North of Ireland support and the misplaced superiority and hatred of all things Irish and Catholic, that feeds it. Go see

Sure we dont need to "go see" Tony.
We can read your posts to get up to speed on those subjects. :D
Post by: town lad on January 01, 2008, 07:00:35 PM
Is Marie Jones not a "North of Ireland" supporter.
Post by: Evil Genius on January 01, 2008, 08:27:53 PM
Quote from: town lad on January 01, 2008, 07:00:35 PM
Is Marie Jones not a "North of Ireland" supporter.

Indeed, TL. Something which the bigot Fearon never mentions in his one-man crusade to publicise this play is that not only was Marie Jones not at the actual match, but she'd never previously been to a football match in her entire life - she was "inspired" to write this play on the basis of news reports the following day.

However some time later, she was persuaded to attend her first NI match by her sons (both NI fans), an experience she presumably enjoyed so much she is now a regular follower, even having been spotted at away games!

Then again, Fearon is hardly likely to want to draw attention to someone being converted to the NI cause, seeing as despite his many protestations to the contrary, many believe he himself was an NI fan for many years, before defecting to the ROI.

Still, if we're prepared to welcome back the Prodigal Marie Jones, I'm sure we could find it in our hearts even to forgive the Prod-hating Fearon back into the fold, should he flip-flop again (that's assuming the fat f**ker could get through the turnstiles, and doesn't occupy his usual two seats...)

Meanwhile, as if by coincidence, here is an account by another former ROI supporter who has recently "come home" to a warm welcome, and is thouroughly enjoying the experience!

(Posted by "Let's All Do the Bouncy" on Our Wee Country at 02.21 this morning, which explains the somewhat rambling prose, I imagine!)
I'm a bit of a different case "So Good" [another OWC poster, to whom LADTB was replying], born in Derry to a catholic family most of whom living on the falls I moved to England with my mum and brother very young, due to my mum's work. Here in England I grew up a fan a loose fan of the republic especially as I spent a lot of time in Belfast with family, and I have always considered myself Irish despite my contrary accent. However it always seemed strange to me as a youngster that Northern Ireland, where my family were born and grew up played football and yet they still supported the republic. Of course as I grew up I became to understand the troubles and the politics in OWC and could see why they supported the republic, and yet my Granny refused to support a team for political reasons and insisted on supporting OWC against the entirety of the family. When I was very young she took me and my brother to Windsor, and from then for a while I agreed to support NI and the RoI in equal measure, although too young to follow all results I would tell everyone who I supported. All that changed when at 16 I started to read about all the efforts to eliminate sectarianism in NI support, and I began to hear of the GAWA and their incredible support, this became all the more eveident to me when I watched the England game and saw the fantastic support. Until that day I had perceived another visit to Windsor as a ridiculous and unbelievable notion, as I felt my Irishness and in particular my family's would leave us in major threat. Inspired by this I began to follow much closer the games of owc, and in the end decided to go to Lichy away, and thought mountains of persuasion my mum agreed to accompany me (She'd grown up on tales of NI supporting bigots and sectarianism) And what did we find in Lichy? Simply the best few days of our lives, amazing craic with amazing people however even then my mum refused to say where in Belfast she had grown up, and I told everyone against my wish that I was born in Londonderry. It was in Lichy we met the chairman of the supporters club we are now members, the SoENISC who we owe a great debt for many incredible times, and it was here in Lichy that I met people who represented everything I loved about the country in which I was born and the country I love without exception. From then on we've both been mad fans, joining the supporters club as well as going to spain, lichy at home and myself getting involved in the Sea of Green for that game. Never before have I met such a friendly fun bunch of people, me and my mum are now proper GAWA converts and I can't stop talking about yous all, I never thought I would be accepted at any Northern Ireland game when I am a catholic and a nationalist as well as with an english accent! The response from the GAWA has been ecxeptional, in spain I proudly told everyone I was from Derry and I got no bad response, something my mum cannot believe. The GAWA's willingness and determination to eliminate sectarianism has made us committ to you, and I also plan on bringing some cousins from Belfast on our next away trip, although they are still convinced it is not safe for them...

My mum is a more classic case of conversion, she grew up a fan of the republic and looks back on their glory days with clearer memories than espana 82 which she admits to barely remembering. However the sheer goodwill and good craic of the GAWA has her converted as well.

Sorry this is incredibly rambling its amazing what strongbow does to you! I will be able to explain better tomorrow Im sure!

Here's to the GAWA who accepted a celtic fan with an English accent, without a bat of an eyelid, god bless you all and Onwards and Upwards!

Post by: Rossfan on January 01, 2008, 08:38:07 PM
AAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH !! :'( :'( :'( :'(
Post by: Orior on January 01, 2008, 08:39:15 PM
Ah EG, that story from the prodical son has brought a tear to my eye. But one swallow dosnt make a summer.
Post by: Evil Genius on January 01, 2008, 08:47:04 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 01, 2008, 08:39:15 PM
Ah EG, that story from the prodical son has brought a tear to my eye. But one swallow dosnt make a summer.

Of course not. But it does prove that whether we are talking about one swallow or half a million, NI is quite warm enough for any that choose to return to where their parents nested (as it were). Which possibility bigots like Fearon persist in denying, even in the face of all the evidence.
Post by: stew on January 01, 2008, 09:11:49 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 01, 2008, 08:47:04 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 01, 2008, 08:39:15 PM

Of course not. But it does prove that whether we are talking about one swallow or half a million, NI is quite warm enough for any that choose to return to where their parents nested (as it were). Which possibility bigots like Fearon persist in denying, even in the face of all the evidence.

I was at the game in question and the norn iron fans were a disgrace. I had never witnessed such outright hatred and bigotry in my life and I was afraid for our lives in WP that night. Bingham acted totally out of character that night and seemed to make a bad situation worse by the way he acted. To this day I have my doubts about wether he knew what was going on in the ground but I keep coming back to the fact that he must have because the republics players certainly did. Given that I lost all respect for the man and despised the north for years after the game.

Having went to Chicago with a mate to watch them I found the and to be friendly and apart from the odd ballix they were first class and represented their team well. I am not sure how WP would be but I am going home next year and have ben invited to attend a game in the world cup qualifying and I intend to go to find out for myself because to me WP would be the proof in the pudding and I go knowing that things are far better than they used to be and also that they could not have gotten any worse. I look forward finding out just how far they have come. I hope they are as good as the like of EG and sammyg claim on here but I aim to find out sometime in the next 18 months.
Post by: Tankie on January 01, 2008, 09:40:40 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 01, 2008, 04:41:57 PM
Yes, with Paddy Kielty in the lead role Marie Jones famous play, One Night in November, based on the unparalleled scenes of unbridled sectarianism at Windsor Park in Ireland's crucial World Cup qualifier in November 1993, is being staged in Dublin in February. A chance for all of you in the 26 counties to get up to speed on the sectarian nature of the North of Ireland support and the misplaced superiority and hatred of all things Irish and Catholic, that feeds it. Go see

Who really gives a shite, aload of scumbags go to a soccer match - couldnt see many wanting to see that play!
Post by: illdecide on January 02, 2008, 09:09:18 AM
I was at that game too and i had convinced the wife to go to the the game as it was her first ever soccer game, as STEW pointed out the look on her face when the hatred and bigotry started was unbelievable and if the truth be told i was shitting myself as well as i was in the Linfield stand and witnessed 5 ROI lads getting escorted out of the ground by the RUC for their own safety.

Needless to say it wasn't a bad thing as she never asked nor wanted to attend another soccer game again ;D
Post by: his holiness nb on January 02, 2008, 09:29:21 AM
The play does sound interesting and the posts of stew and illdecide seem to indicate that while techically a work of fiction, a lot of whats in the play actually did take place. Would this is a correct assumption Stew, Illdecide?
Post by: nifan on January 02, 2008, 09:34:20 AM
QuoteI am not sure how WP would be but I am going home next year and have ben invited to attend a game in the world cup qualifying and I intend to go to find out for myself because to me WP would be the proof in the pudding

Good stuff stew.
Give us a shout before the game your going to!
Post by: thejuice on January 02, 2008, 10:22:51 AM
read a few reviews of this play, and it was given a thumbs down by all, saying Keilty just isnt cut out for a one man show and that the script doesnt give him much of a help either. Also it was billed as a comedy but that the jokes were scarce, others found it a bit one-sided and smug but the unanimous verdict is that its a bit shit.
Post by: illdecide on January 02, 2008, 10:40:52 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 02, 2008, 09:29:21 AM
The play does sound interesting and the posts of stew and illdecide seem to indicate that while techically a work of fiction, a lot of whats in the play actually did take place. Would this is a correct assumption Stew, Illdecide?

I'm not sure about the play and it's contents but that game in Windsor Park that cold night was unbelievable, seriously it was scary shit. I'll never forget the chants of "f**k the ceasefire" and "shoot the Fenian Bastards" and when Ireland scored the 4th goal this big fat **** got up of his seat and said to me as we got up of our seats to let him out "how can you sit there and watch that shite" of course i was trying to hide my grin saying "I know its crop this".

As i stated earlier when the ROI fans were escorted from the stands by the RUC there were 20-30 Norn Iron fans left to go after them even though the cops had them. If I'd have had a camcorder that night to record those incidents it would have hit CNN although i doubt UTV and BBC would have shown it they would rather show someone shoving an opponent on a GAA field
Post by: Chrisowc on January 02, 2008, 10:44:12 AM
Quote from: illdecide on January 02, 2008, 10:40:52 AM

I'm not sure about the play and it's contents but that game in Windsor Park that cold night was unbelievable, seriously it was scary shit. I'll never forget the chants of "f**k the ceasefire" and "shoot the Fenian Bastards" and when Ireland scored the 4th goal this big fat **** got up of his seat and said to me as we got up of our seats to let him out "how can you sit there and watch that shite" of course i was trying to hide my grin saying "I know its crop this".

As i stated earlier when the ROI fans were escorted from the stands by the RUC there were 20-30 Norn Iron fans left to go after them even though the cops had them. If I'd have had a camcorder that night to record those incidents it would have hit CNN although i doubt UTV and BBC would have shown it they would rather show someone shoving an opponent on a GAA field

you were there right enough! ::)
Post by: thejuice on January 02, 2008, 10:51:43 AM
Quote.....and when Ireland scored the 4th goal.......

wasnt it 1-1??? or am I thinking of a different game
Post by: Chrisowc on January 02, 2008, 10:59:07 AM
Quote from: thejuice on January 02, 2008, 10:51:43 AM

Yes it was 1-1.  It was 0-4 a year later for Euro 96 qualifier.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 02, 2008, 11:02:51 AM
Quote from: Chrisowc on January 02, 2008, 10:44:12 AM
Quote from: illdecide on January 02, 2008, 10:40:52 AM

you were there right enough! ::)

There have been several eye witness accounts over the years to suggest this sort of thing did take place that night.
I have no idea as I wasnt there, nor have I ever been to windsor park.
Are the OWC boys denying this sort of thing happened that night?

I know the play is based on fiction, but I am talking about eye witness accounts here.
Also it seem Illdecide mixed up his games, which to me suggests this wasnt the only game in which this sort of carry on took place.
A great shame but given all we have heard about the IFAs efforts since I'm sure this wouldnt happen if the teams met now. Or would they?
Post by: nifan on January 02, 2008, 11:16:56 AM
QuoteAre the OWC boys denying this sort of thing happened that night?

No.

I wasnt there that night but i had heard enough about it to know it wasnt a good atmosphere. Many NI fans were not happy with the atmosphere either.

I would hope there would not be a similar incident today, but unfortunately some element would certainly be involved in some of that carry on. Additionally there would be plenty willing to come along to a game simply to indulge in this shite.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 02, 2008, 11:20:37 AM
Quote from: nifan on January 02, 2008, 11:16:56 AM
Additionally there would be plenty willing to come along to a game simply to indulge in this shite.

From my personal experience of some Eircom League fans, I'd have to agree.
I'd like to think I am wrong here.
Post by: Chrisowc on January 02, 2008, 11:23:08 AM
I haven't seen any Northern Ireland fans deny what happened on this forum.

There have been several 'eye witness' accounts that should be taken at face value until evidence appears to the contrary.  Like getting the score wrong for example.  I have also read an eye witness account from a southern Republic fan, who has said the atmosphere has been exaggerated somewhat.  I have personally met this guy and know he is a genuine football fan.

Northern Ireland is a very different place to what it was in November 1993 and what went on that night should be put in some context.  In no way am I condoning anyone's behaviour but tensions were extremely high at that time.  Couple that with the fact that a win for Northern Ireland would prevent their nearest neighbours/rivals a place in the World Cup finals then the atmosphere was always going to be that more charged.

The game that illdecide refers happened a year later (again I was there) and the atmosphere was better.  Maybe the game being over by half-time had something to do with that?

The two teams have met twice since then.  Both times in Dublin.  Not being at either of those games I wouldn't comment on the atmosphere.

As for now?  I'm not sure what would happen.  To be honest I'm glad they won't be meeting in the foreseeable future as there will always be idiot supporters of both teams with their own agenda.

As far as I know there hasn't been any major bother in the Setanta cup.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 02, 2008, 11:42:25 AM
I was pleasantly surprised to hear of feck all trouble in the setanta cup I must say.

Back to the play though, dissapointed to hear of the poor reviews as I would genuinely have been interested in seeing this should it be very good.

Then again its probably for the best, cant imagine having much luck dragging the pregnant missus to a show about soccer.
Post by: illdecide on January 02, 2008, 11:45:45 AM
Quote from: Chrisowc on January 02, 2008, 10:59:07 AM
Quote from: thejuice on January 02, 2008, 10:51:43 AM

Yes it was 1-1.  It was 0-4 a year later for Euro 96 qualifier.

Well sorry about that ::)

It was the 4-0 game at Windsor i was rambling about and not the 1-1 game so sorry if i got my wires crossed on the specific game.

BTW are you sure the 4-0 game was not first and then the 1-1 game??? not sure, just asking. Fecking long time ago ;)
Post by: nifan on January 02, 2008, 11:52:09 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Euro_1996_qualifying

The 4-0 game was for euro 96.

Very gutting to get hammered at home in such tight group.
Post by: Chrisowc on January 02, 2008, 11:53:38 AM
The 4-0 was definately for Euro 96.

Something has just occurred to me illdecide.  If the atmosphere in the 1-1 was so bad would it not have put you off going a year later?
Post by: Chrisowc on January 02, 2008, 11:59:03 AM
Quote from: nifan on January 02, 2008, 11:52:09 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Euro_1996_qualifying

Very gutting to get hammered at home in such tight group.

Indeed!  The 2-1 home defeat to Latvia pains me most.
Post by: stew on January 02, 2008, 01:00:30 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on January 02, 2008, 11:23:08 AM
I haven't seen any Northern Ireland fans deny what happened on this forum.

There have been several 'eye witness' accounts that should be taken at face value until evidence appears to the contrary.  Like getting the score wrong for example.  I have also read an eye witness account from a southern Republic fan, who has said the atmosphere has been exaggerated somewhat.  I have personally met this guy and know he is a genuine football fan.

Northern Ireland is a very different place to what it was in November 1993 and what went on that night should be put in some context.  In no way am I condoning anyone's behaviour but tensions were extremely high at that time.  Couple that with the fact that a win for Northern Ireland would prevent their nearest neighbours/rivals a place in the World Cup finals then the atmosphere was always going to be that more charged.

The game that illdecide refers happened a year later (again I was there) and the atmosphere was better.  Maybe the game being over by half-time had something to do with that?

The two teams have met twice since then.  Both times in Dublin.  Not being at either of those games I wouldn't comment on the atmosphere.

As for now?  I'm not sure what would happen.  To be honest I'm glad they won't be meeting in the foreseeable future as there will always be idiot supporters of both teams with their own agenda.

As far as I know there hasn't been any major bother in the Setanta cup.

The man was at a diferent game. I was referring to the game that ended up a draw, the republic got the draw they needed to go to the world cup. Illdecides games was a euro qualifier which i was not at. It is scary to think that he and his wife seemed to think that the atmosphere at that game was the worst, i cannot see how that is possible given what i experienced.
I met up with two norn iron heads after the game, before we said anything they apologized up and down and were absolutely ashamed of what happened and I was angry, angry and full of resentment as one of the lads is a close mate and he had assured us everything would be fine, it was far from fine. I was badly rattled and had nothing but hate in my heart for norn iron for years.

Chicago changed that insofar as I saw that there were good people following them as well and so to me all this talk back and forth on here comes down to this. A visit to WP should let me know how far things have progressed and I look forward to finding out for myself. I hope that it is a good experience and i take heart from the fact that no matter how bad it could be it wont touch the game against the republic in what became Binghams last stand.
Post by: Chrisowc on January 02, 2008, 01:06:49 PM
I hope it is a good experience for you too Stew and I look forward to hearing how you get on. ;)
Post by: illdecide on January 02, 2008, 03:23:59 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on January 02, 2008, 11:53:38 AM
The 4-0 was definately for Euro 96.

Something has just occurred to me illdecide.  If the atmosphere in the 1-1 was so bad would it not have put you off going a year later?

It might have if i'd been at it. I was only at the 4-0 game because the chairman of Glenavon offered me 2 tickets for the game and i had never seen ROI in action b4 so decided to take him up on his offer.
Post by: stew on January 02, 2008, 07:01:49 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on January 02, 2008, 01:06:49 PM
I hope it is a good experience for you too Stew and I look forward to hearing how you get on. ;)

I am sure that if the experience is a good one, if not I am equally sure I will be labelled all sorts of nasty things Chris.  :-\
Post by: T Fearon on January 02, 2008, 07:42:11 PM
Stew, read O'Neill's comments after his recent visit to Windsor Park. He said he wouldn't be back due to the monocultural support the cries of No Surrender and the fact that the crowd with flags and emblems, resembled the gathering at a 12th of July Field. Do not waste your cash. Go see the real Ireland team versus Brazil which will attract th biggest crowd ever for a soccer game on this island ;)
Post by: take_yer_points on January 02, 2008, 08:41:45 PM
I went to see the play when it was on in the opera house in Belfast - I have to say I thought it was very good. I'd consider going down to Dublin to see it again. The bit where the republic fan takes the other fella up to his house on the falls was hilarious!!
Post by: nifan on January 03, 2008, 09:19:08 AM
Selective reading of ONeills comments there tony - he said some positive things also which you seem to dismiss out of hand. Wouldnt be like you ::)
Post by: MW on January 03, 2008, 10:34:07 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 02, 2008, 07:42:11 PM
Stew, read O'Neill's comments after his recent visit to Windsor Park. He said he wouldn't be back due to the monocultural support the cries of No Surrender and the fact that the crowd with flags and emblems, resembled the gathering at a 12th of July Field.

Did he indeed?
Post by: his holiness nb on January 03, 2008, 10:52:59 AM
Quote from: MW on January 03, 2008, 10:34:07 AM
Stew, read O'Neill's comments after his recent visit to Windsor Park. He said he wouldn't be back due to the monocultural support the cries of No Surrender and the fact that the crowd with flags and emblems, resembled the gathering at a 12th of July Field.

Did he indeed?

Mysterious post MW, are you saying he didnt say that or that O'Neill made it up?
Post by: MW on January 03, 2008, 11:09:30 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 03, 2008, 10:52:59 AM
Quote from: MW on January 03, 2008, 10:34:07 AM

Did he indeed?

Mysterious post MW, are you saying he didnt say that or that O'Neill made it up?

I'm saying he didn't say that.

My recollection of O'Neill's post was him praising the work done against sectarianism but saying that he didn't identify with the team etc.

The 'resembling the gathering at a 12 of July Field' is a Fearonism which he's adopted from piece of hate-filled bile, lacking in any justification, from Robin Livingstone (who referred to an 'Eleventh Night bonfire' rather than a 12th of July Field).

As usual, Fearon's selecting the part of the truth he does want to hear, discarding the rest, adding his own prejudices, and inserting false 'information' he's picked up from a different source to beef it up.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 03, 2008, 11:12:12 AM
Thanks for clarification, wasnt sure if it was Tony or ONeills comments you were disputing.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on January 03, 2008, 01:27:13 PM
was in WP once, a pre-season friendly linfield v liverpool. was scary enough alright, enough to put me off.
having said that, a mate of mine, who is big NI fan, home and away, got a hiding after the danish game recently, and was told to "f**k off back to his country" so there are still bigots, Cath and prod, who cant or wont change
Post by: nifan on January 03, 2008, 02:42:57 PM
HHN - you can read oneills comments here:

http://p098.ezboard.com/fgaadiscussionboardfrm10.showMessageRange?topicID=3266.topic&start=81&stop=100 (http://p098.ezboard.com/fgaadiscussionboardfrm10.showMessageRange?topicID=3266.topic&start=81&stop=100)

under his comment "its just like watching brazil".
Then consider what tony took from his post,
Post by: MW on January 03, 2008, 03:27:17 PM
Methinks Tony was baking on that not being find-able.

Had a look at that thread...Tony never did answer my question :D
Post by: his holiness nb on January 03, 2008, 06:58:03 PM
Quote from: MW on January 03, 2008, 03:27:17 PM
Methinks Tony was baking on that not being find-able.

Tried to look for myself and couldnt find it funny enough, didnt know it was on the old board. Mostly complimentary imo.
Post by: T Fearon on January 03, 2008, 07:21:02 PM
How is this complimentary? The bald one clearly intimates that he was intimidated and won't be back
Post by: Chrisowc on January 03, 2008, 08:10:36 PM
I'm assuming you mean O'Neill.  If not then apologies to O'Neill. (re the bald bit!!)

Taken from the link by Nifan.

"I didn't feel intimidated, but I also didn't feel as if this was 'my team' and I never will. But that's just my opinion and despite my feelings on that, I hope they do well and the fans continue to represent themselves in such a positive manner."

Anyway Tony.  Shouldn't you be out builiding yourself a snow man?

Post by: saffron sam2 on January 03, 2008, 08:37:59 PM
I remember ONeill's piece and my understanding of it is exactly the same as everyone else's, bar Anthony.  I would expect that if I was to return to another NI game, that my feelings would be similar (to Shane's). In the main, that the majority of fans would simply be there for the football, but that I would not feel that the team represented me.

However, that's an aside to what I really wanted to post.  I thought it wasn't possible for him to outdo himself, but he has. I also hoped that 2008 would bring a change in tact, but it obvoiusly hasn't. Looks like it will another long year whilst Evil Genius remains on the scene.

Quote from: Evil Genius on January 01, 2008, 08:27:53 PM
Still, if we're prepared to welcome back the Prodigal Marie Jones, I'm sure we could find it in our hearts even to forgive the Prod-hating Fearon back into the fold, should he flip-flop again (that's assuming the fat f**ker could get through the turnstiles, and doesn't occupy his usual two seats...)

Meanwhile, as if by coincidence, here is an account by another former ROI supporter who has recently "come home" to a warm welcome, and is thouroughly enjoying the experience!

(Posted by "Let's All Do the Bouncy" on Our Wee Country at 02.21 this morning, which explains the somewhat rambling prose, I imagine!)
I'm a bit of a different case "So Good" [another OWC poster, to whom LADTB was replying], born in Derry to a catholic family most of whom living on the falls I moved to England with my mum and brother very young, due to my mum's work. Here in England I grew up a fan a loose fan of the republic especially as I spent a lot of time in Belfast with family, and I have always considered myself Irish despite my contrary accent. However it always seemed strange to me as a youngster that Northern Ireland, where my family were born and grew up played football and yet they still supported the republic. Of course as I grew up I became to understand the troubles and the politics in OWC and could see why they supported the republic, and yet my Granny refused to support a team for political reasons and insisted on supporting OWC against the entirety of the family. When I was very young she took me and my brother to Windsor, and from then for a while I agreed to support NI and the RoI in equal measure, although too young to follow all results I would tell everyone who I supported. All that changed when at 16 I started to read about all the efforts to eliminate sectarianism in NI support, and I began to hear of the GAWA and their incredible support, this became all the more eveident to me when I watched the England game and saw the fantastic support. Until that day I had perceived another visit to Windsor as a ridiculous and unbelievable notion, as I felt my Irishness and in particular my family's would leave us in major threat. Inspired by this I began to follow much closer the games of owc, and in the end decided to go to Lichy away, and thought mountains of persuasion my mum agreed to accompany me (She'd grown up on tales of NI supporting bigots and sectarianism) And what did we find in Lichy? Simply the best few days of our lives, amazing craic with amazing people however even then my mum refused to say where in Belfast she had grown up, and I told everyone against my wish that I was born in Londonderry. It was in Lichy we met the chairman of the supporters club we are now members, the SoENISC who we owe a great debt for many incredible times, and it was here in Lichy that I met people who represented everything I loved about the country in which I was born and the country I love without exception. From then on we've both been mad fans, joining the supporters club as well as going to spain, lichy at home and myself getting involved in the Sea of Green for that game. Never before have I met such a friendly fun bunch of people, me and my mum are now proper GAWA converts and I can't stop talking about yous all, I never thought I would be accepted at any Northern Ireland game when I am a catholic and a nationalist as well as with an english accent! The response from the GAWA has been ecxeptional, in spain I proudly told everyone I was from Derry and I got no bad response, something my mum cannot believe. The GAWA's willingness and determination to eliminate sectarianism has made us committ to you, and I also plan on bringing some cousins from Belfast on our next away trip, although they are still convinced it is not safe for them...

My mum is a more classic case of conversion, she grew up a fan of the republic and looks back on their glory days with clearer memories than espana 82 which she admits to barely remembering. However the sheer goodwill and good craic of the GAWA has her converted as well.

Sorry this is incredibly rambling its amazing what strongbow does to you! I will be able to explain better tomorrow Im sure!

Here's to the GAWA who accepted a celtic fan with an English accent, without a bat of an eyelid, god bless you all and Onwards and Upwards!

Here is an incedible post, attempted intellectual debate that includes crass insults (classy that EG) and attempts to introduce as his 'expert witness' an internet persona.  He claims that ONIN is a work of fiction (which it is, albeit one based on actual events), yet to counteract that he produces a post from an Internet chatroom. Absolutely incredible to think that a man of such genius can only use such a post in his defence.  A couple of things about the poster (if he exists):

1. Anyone with any knowledge of football would know that the bouncy is associated in the main with the supporters of two teams, NI and Rangers. How anyone, who describes himself as a Celtic supporter, can then go on to call himself Let's All Do The Bouncy is beyond me. Unless of course, he is a piss take (a la wesaysanchez) or a seriously mixed up kid. I am happy to go with the latter, given the obvious lack of a suitable male role model in his life.

2. I have never heard anyone, from that area say they are from the Falls. Any local (or relative of a local) is more likely to use the name of their locality along the Falls (e.g. Gerard from Clonard) than the name of the road. Again, this is someone who doesn't really know what they are talking about.

We'll give LADTB the benefit of the doubt and assume he is genuine, but his drunken ramblings (however heart-felt and genuine) are unlikely to be taken as gospel. Nor should they.  He doesn't express how GSTQ and the Ulster banner and Ulsterisation make him feel.  He doesn't tell us how Gary McAllister (Press Officer - ANISC) reacted when LADTB told him that so enjoyable were the experiences at games that LADTB was going to buy an apartment up beside him.

The only sense that was in his post was from his granny. She could see beyond the politics, so follow her advice.  Drop the political baggage, the anthen and flag etc. and see what happens. Take the moral high ground.
Post by: red hander on January 03, 2008, 08:56:14 PM
'Onwards and Upwards!'

This is my boss's 'motto' and he is the biggest f****** idiot that ever drew breath.  The 'post' is obviously from his twin brother, the second biggest f****** idiot that ever dre breath

Post by: Main Street on January 03, 2008, 10:34:50 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 03, 2008, 08:37:59 PM
Absolutely incredible to think that a man of such genius can only use such a post in his defence.  A couple of things about the poster (if he exists):
That letter is about as real as a "consumers" product endorsement letter.
It's so corny, to accept it, one would have to totally suspend disbelief.

I´d imagine that if nationalists were inclined to feel something about the NI soccer team, attend and support, then they would demand changes to the flag and the feckin God Save the Queen. Then again i´d imagine that they are not too pushed about being a Northern Irelander or a 6 county Ulster person so they don´t involve themselves.

Post by: TFearon on January 04, 2008, 04:33:01 PM
Two points here. The Bald one went to the event with an open mind (in addition to a slap head ;D) open to the idea of supporting this team yet firmly at the end of he experience declared he wouldn't be back. Is FFA or the claim that everyone is welcome at Windsor Park not therefore myths?

Also be wary of "Celtic supporters, Parish Priests, Cardinals,or Benedict himself posting of their conversions to OWC on OWC Website. Be sure that this is some dyed in the (blue) wool OWCer taking the piss. A few weeks ago in the Telegraph after a particularly scathing attack on OWC in the letters column (not by me). The very next day "Seamus from Ardoyne" texted in to rubbish the letter and explain that him and all his Ardoyne mates were North of Ireland fans who never miss a game etc. How authentic do you think this might be? No me neither
Post by: nifan on January 04, 2008, 06:38:06 PM
"the bald one" went to the game with an open mind as to what he might find, im pretty sure he never claimed that he would come out of the experience a full fledged NI fan.

As you have been told before FFA is allowing those who want to come to NI games to come enjoy the experience. Oneil was not intimidated, enjoyed the experience and would happily be back to windsor, though he was not and is not a NI fan so he isnt going to be back to specifically support us.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on January 04, 2008, 06:49:50 PM
A few of my friends from work go to all the N.I games and they are dead on decent fella's. Not that i have ever been to Windsor park...On T.V there seems to be a good "party" atmosphere in the ground but...watching a match on TV 2-3 mths ago when "god save the queen" was being played you could clearly hear "No Surrender" being chanted during a break in the music....Now I don't know if that was just a few people shouting that were close to the microphone or it was a large section of the crowd but personally I would not want to put myself in the position to find out..So enjoy your matches lads and i do genuinely hope that it will change...but for me I will continue to follow the boy's in Green and cant wait until the match in Dublin and we BEAT Brazil.....
Post by: MW on January 06, 2008, 05:30:23 PM
Vintage Tony here...

Quote from: T Fearon on January 03, 2008, 07:21:02 PM
The bald one clearly intimates that he was intimidated and won't be back

When O'Neill actually said...

QuoteI didn't feel intimidated

Classic stuff, Tony, keep 'em coming :D