A man has been arrested after he tried to attack fire officers with a sword in Dundalk, Co Louth.
The attack happened in Marion Park at around 1.50am, when fire fighters were tackling a car fire in the driveway of a house.
A man in a crowd gathered nearby ran towards the fire officers brandishing what appeared to be a samurai sword.
AdvertisementThe fire fighters had to turn their hose on the man to defend themselves, knocking him to the ground .
The man was subsequently arrested and taken to Drogheda Garda Station where he is being questioned.
probably are easier ways of getting your christmas bath.
Pretty normal for Dundalk to be fair.
I think he was refering to the fact that the Fire fighters got to the fire before it went out ;)
he must have left a 6 pack of harp and a mullens burger hi in the boot
Dundalk is getting an awful bad name, a dangerous hole
Didn't the same thing happen in Belfast during the summer? I recall something similar to this quite recently.
Quote from: thebandit on December 14, 2007, 03:13:46 PM
Dundalk is getting an awful bad name, a dangerous hole
The last night out I had there was about 13 years ago, it was a dangerous hole back then too.
Even the good folk of Ballyholland had their own samurai wielding drunk a few years back.
Quote from: 5iveTimes on December 14, 2007, 03:17:09 PM
Sadly these thing are becoming all to common, but they are not specific to Dundalk.
thats true
Dundalk is no worse than any other town in Ireland
thats not ;)
Dundalk is no worse than any other town in Ireland.
Yes it is, it's a dangerous hole
Dundalk is no worse than any other town in Ireland.
Have you been in other towns in Ireland?
Quote from: 5iveTimes on December 14, 2007, 03:32:36 PM
Is Dundalk any worse than Drogheda, Longford, Derry or Belfast ?
There have been many stabbings and thuggish attacks in Newry and Warrenpoint, even Rostrevor, but these arent considered rough areas. Thuggish behaviour is not just confined to Dundalk.
Correct 5times. Without doubt it is not just Dundalk that thuggish behaviour is confined to but you said it is
no worse than any other town in Ireland
Quote from: 5iveTimes on December 14, 2007, 03:32:36 PM
Quote from: full back on December 14, 2007, 03:27:04 PM
Is Dundalk any worse than Drogheda, Longford, Derry or Belfast ?
No its not, they are all shitholes ;)
There are towns as bad if not worse, but to say its no worse than any other town in Ireland is way off the mark.
Dundalk (or Scumdalk to give it its proper title) is like Dublin, but without absolutely any or the benefits of city living.
Jesus lads its not that bad! From outside Dundalk myself and even after a night out I wouldnt find it as dangerous as any other place. Like any town/city it has its bad areas and I suppose you have to know them if your heading out. I still think Dundalk suffers from the bad name it got during the troubles
Sure it's not called El Paso for nothing!
The crazy shit is that these Samauria Swords are freely available on sale in the Long Walk Shopping Centre Dundalk
What's the similarity between Batman and someone from Dundalk? They can't go anywhere without Robin
Newry is worse.
I work in the place and have had a good few nights out in Dundalk and can't say I've had any hassle in it. I suppose it depends where you go but there are plenty of good pubs. I've the square can be dodgy at closing time.
The place has had a very bad rep in recent years. Thank God they built the bye-pass.
anyone on here in dundalk know what the large plume of smoke out towrds armagh/newtwonhamiliton rd is comming from?
looks like a pretty big fire and we can see the smoke from the office
Wasn't Dundalk twinned with El Paso back in the 70s and 80s? ;D
Dundalk is not alone, even Cavan is getting a name for youngster forming gangs to run about causing bother. The town council had to go into the local paper week before the fleadh to reassure people that there would be extra gardai on duty in case people were afraid to attend. Youngster of their tits on drug and alcohol are causing a lot of bother in a lot of towns these days.
Jaysus Myles, you'll be getting broadband as well in Cavan next ;D
Quote from: T Fearon on September 27, 2010, 10:07:22 PM
Jaysus Myles, you'll be getting broadband as well in Cavan next ;D
Armagh being the epicenter of all things technological in this island I suppose?
STD capital of ireland :o this samuri sword thing happened last year in cox's the youngsters there are fuked up because the parents are. they know nothing else. i went out with a few girls from there many years ago they were nuts and i mean crazy :P their values were totally different very low self esteem they'd have emptied your wallet, big culture shock for a country dummy like me