Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 26, 2007, 07:45:26 PM

Title: The pintsofguinness / Snowed Under argument thread
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 26, 2007, 07:45:26 PM
Keep it all in here lads

:D :D
Title: Re: The pintsofguinness / Snowed Under argument thread
Post by: ziggysego on November 26, 2007, 07:51:35 PM
Is it possible when they enter the thread, to lock them in it?  :D
Post by: Puckoon on November 26, 2007, 08:48:03 PM
Classic Ziggy.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 26, 2007, 08:52:29 PM
 :(
Post by: Puckoon on November 26, 2007, 08:53:37 PM
Pints, theres no denying that ziggy was on form with that one. However, ill settle for just locking snowed under up. It wouldnt be the same without steptoe! ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 26, 2007, 08:57:44 PM
Never argued with anyone in my life  :(

At least I don't have to be afraid of snowed under hitting me, he'd just put me on a naughty step to think about what I done.
Post by: ziggysego on November 26, 2007, 09:02:42 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 26, 2007, 08:57:44 PM
At least I don't have to be afraid of snowed under hitting me, he'd just put me on a naughty step to think about what I done.

Well he won't be hitting on you anyway.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 26, 2007, 09:07:53 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 26, 2007, 09:02:42 PM

I don't know about that, I'm quite a catch.
Post by: Orior on November 26, 2007, 09:11:24 PM
Which thread are we talking about here? If you need a scapegoat for both you to hit on then I'm your man.
Post by: ziggysego on November 26, 2007, 09:12:02 PM
Quote from: Orior on November 26, 2007, 09:11:24 PM
Which thread are we talking about here? If you need a scapegoat for both you to hit on then I'm your man.

I thought you were a woman.
Post by: Puckoon on November 26, 2007, 09:12:42 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 26, 2007, 09:07:53 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 26, 2007, 09:02:42 PM

I don't know about that, I'm quite a catch.

If you are regularly eating baguettes with 5 sausages on it - I dont doubt it would take quite a catch! :D
Post by: ziggysego on November 26, 2007, 09:14:31 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 26, 2007, 09:12:42 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 26, 2007, 09:07:53 PM
If you are regularly eating baguettes with 5 sausages on it - I dont doubt it would take quite a catch! :D

Says Mr. 5 Sausage Rolls. ;)

Post by: his holiness nb on November 26, 2007, 09:51:31 PM
Are you still fighting with Snowed Under?

Jaysus, he is some man  ;)
Post by: Orior on November 26, 2007, 11:36:39 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 26, 2007, 09:12:02 PM

That's Friday nights.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 26, 2007, 11:39:15 PM
Quote from: Orior on November 26, 2007, 11:36:39 PM

That's Friday nights.

Puckoon must be Saturday Nights
Dashing through the snoooooooow, on a one horse open sleiiiigh

:-\
Post by: Louth Exile on November 27, 2007, 12:02:51 AM
 :D  Good call Gab

On reading the latest spat on the Gear Grinder thread, the thought occurred to me, just how many pages of this thread are devoted to a certain type of parking space?? I'm sure hardstation will know the answer, no doubt.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 12:04:24 AM
Quote from: Louth Exile on November 27, 2007, 12:02:51 AM
:D  Good call Gab

On reading the latest spat on the Gear Grinder thread, the thought occurred to me, just how many pages of this thread are devoted to a certain type of parking space?? I'm sure hardstation will know the answer, no doubt.

What? Selfish Parents parking space?
Post by: Puckoon on November 27, 2007, 01:30:54 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 26, 2007, 11:39:15 PM
Quote from: Orior on November 26, 2007, 11:36:39 PM

That's Friday nights.

Puckoon must be Saturday Nights
Dashing through the snoooooooow, on a one horse open sleiiiigh

:-\

Cant I get in the festive spirit without being accused of cross dressing/transsexualism?  :o

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HWCSKUvYMOE&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HWCSKUvYMOE&feature=related)
Post by: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 07:24:39 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 26, 2007, 09:51:31 PM
Are you still fighting with Snowed Under

???

Anyways if you mean accepting all allocated parking spaces, including disabled - suppose I am - just thinking, how can I post this - did you not get me banned!  ::)
Post by: his holiness nb on November 27, 2007, 09:12:02 AM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 07:24:39 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 26, 2007, 09:51:31 PM
Are you still fighting with Snowed Under?

???

Anyways if you mean accepting all allocated parking spaces, including disabled - suppose I am - just thinking, how can I post this - did you not get me banned!  ::)

Eh, no.

Re parking spaces, let that little obsession go, its not like its the only thing you have called people names over.  ;)

To the naughty step with you!

Post by: his holiness nb on November 27, 2007, 09:18:57 AM
Jesus christ, just had a look on that thread and he is still whingeing about a comment I have explained several times.
"it's only his holiness gives out about too many disabled spaces"

On more time, I THINK DISABLED SPACES ARE A GOOD IDEA, ARE MUCH NEEDED, AND THERE SHOULD ALWAYS BE AMPLE SPACES AVAILABLE, MY ONLY GRIPE IS THAT ONE PLACE IN PARTICULAR SEEMS TO HAVE WAY MORE THAT WILL EVER BE NEEDED AT ONE PARTICULAR TIME.

Would it help if I suggested they put mother toddler spaces there instead?
Incidentally be careful going to them supermarkers, they are full of plastic bags!!  ;)
Post by: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 09:55:44 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 27, 2007, 09:18:57 AM
Jesus christ, just had a look on that thread and he is still whingeing about a comment I have explained several times.
"it's only his holiness gives out about too many disabled spaces"

On more time, I THINK DISABLED SPACES ARE A GOOD IDEA, ARE MUCH NEEDED, AND THERE SHOULD ALWAYS BE AMPLE SPACES AVAILABLE, MY ONLY GRIPE IS THAT ONE PLACE IN PARTICULAR SEEMS TO HAVE WAY MORE THAT WILL EVER BE NEEDED AT ONE PARTICULAR TIME.

Would it help if I suggested they put mother toddler spaces there instead?
Incidentally be careful going to them supermarkers, they are full of plastic bags!!  ;)

So should be ample so long as it's not where you park!
Post by: his holiness nb on November 27, 2007, 10:06:08 AM
If I parked there I would hardly be complaining about it would I?  ::)

Good lord  ;D
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 06:07:13 PM
If snowedunder is so worried about disabled parking why doesnt he, as a parent, go to his local supermarket and suggest the spaces at the door being kept for selfish lazy parents should be Disabled spaces?
Post by: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 06:32:21 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 06:07:13 PM
If snowedunder is so worried about disabled parking why doesnt he, as a parent, go to his local supermarket and suggest the spaces at the door being kept for selfish lazy parents should be Disabled spaces?

Pathetic! I love the way you keep this selfish lazy parent thing - surely by choosing NOT to have children you are more selfish and lazy than any parent, having no responsibility except for yourself, go where you want, do what you want, able to park in allocated spaces without a care and promote slapping toddlers because they annoyed you on a plane!  As I said before the mother toddler spaces are beside the disabled spaces - no parent would have an issue with a disabled person parking in them but the issue arises when over weight selfish lazy individuals take the spaces so they can run in and top up their sugar count.  By the way I like the way you constantly ignore that mother toddler spaces do have a purpose i.e. safety of the toddlers in what usually is a very busy environment, you're some act!
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 06:41:18 PM
Pathetic! I love the way you keep this selfish lazy parent thing - surely by choosing NOT to have children you are more selfish and lazy than any parent, having no responsibility except for yourself, go where you want, do what you want, able to park in allocated spaces without a care and promote slapping toddlers because they annoyed you on a plane!

Is there something wrong with choosing not to have children?
I like doing what I want and going where I want that's why I don't want children, there's a lot of people like me who think they can have children and do what they want/go where they want at the same time - those are the selfish ones.

By the way I like the way you constantly ignore that mother toddler spaces do have a purpose i.e. safety of the toddlers in what usually is a very busy environment, you're some act!
If that was the case I don't see how parking in the busiest area of the car park i.e. around the doors, helps to ensure a child's safety.
Post by: MasterShake on November 27, 2007, 06:56:46 PM
Ye know, the way Pints and Snowed Under stalk each other from thread to thread is just getting plain scary, and has a bit of Fight Club about it. I'm startin to think they're actually two personalities trapped inside the same person! - "Punder" or something. I picture him sitting at his keyboard beatin the shite outta himself!
Post by: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 06:58:48 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 06:41:18 PM
Pathetic! I love the way you keep this selfish lazy parent thing - surely by choosing NOT to have children you are more selfish and lazy than any parent, having no responsibility except for yourself, go where you want, do what you want, able to park in allocated spaces without a care and promote slapping toddlers because they annoyed you on a plane!

Is there something wrong with choosing not to have children?
I like doing what I want and going where I want that's why I don't want children, there's a lot of people like me who think they can have children and do what they want/go where they want at the same time - those are the selfish ones.

By the way I like the way you constantly ignore that mother toddler spaces do have a purpose i.e. safety of the toddlers in what usually is a very busy environment, you're some act!
If that was the case I don't see how parking in the busiest area of the car park i.e. around the doors, helps to ensure a child's safety.

There is nothing wrong with choosing not to have children especially if you're going to bully the shit out of them.  You make your references constantly opened to interpret that you have an issue with all parents, and I honestly believe you have, hiding behind this constant selfish lazy parent thing when you too are completely selfish as outlined on numerous occasions is pathetic.

Let's see walk out door with 2 toddlers shit load of shopping leave shopping at door put toddlers in car, load car with shopping - yeah it's a nightmare at the door.  ::)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 07:06:05 PM
QuoteThere is nothing wrong with choosing not to have children especially if you're going to bully the shit out of them.  You make your references constantly opened to interpret that you have an issue with all parents, and I honestly believe you have, hiding behind this constant selfish lazy parent thing when you too are completely selfish as outlined on numerous occasions is pathetic.
What issue would I have with parents?

QuoteLet's see walk out door with 2 toddlers shit load of shopping leave shopping at door put toddlers in car, load car with shopping - yeah it's a nightmare at the door.  Roll Eyes
I've done it!  And I always found that at a quiet end of the car park it was a lot easier.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 27, 2007, 07:13:43 PM
Someone should tel Ger Cavlan and the Farmer's Boys about this thread. Its much more bloodthirsty than any dog fighting
Post by: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 07:17:06 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 07:06:05 PM
QuoteThere is nothing wrong with choosing not to have children especially if you're going to bully the shit out of them.  You make your references constantly opened to interpret that you have an issue with all parents, and I honestly believe you have, hiding behind this constant selfish lazy parent thing when you too are completely selfish as outlined on numerous occasions is pathetic.
What issue would I have with parents?

QuoteLet's see walk out door with 2 toddlers shit load of shopping leave shopping at door put toddlers in car, load car with shopping - yeah it's a nightmare at the door.  Roll Eyes
I've done it!  And I always found that at a quiet end of the car park it was a lot easier.

I think your mood was totally encapsulated when you tried to belittle a new mother for having a tacky sign on her car, and it was you trying to have a dig no matter how you want to now dress it up.  ::)  You can read back over the rest of your posts if you have memory issue.

It's getting to the quiet end through the "drivers" touring car parks looking for spaces and those driving out, surely you can accept that the saftey of toddlers is increased immensly when they don't have to negotiate this!
Post by: ziggysego on November 27, 2007, 07:21:28 PM
Quick.. somebody. Lock the door, their both in here!
Post by: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 07:22:23 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 27, 2007, 07:21:28 PM

Are many of your 5000+ posts as good as this!!!
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 07:27:14 PM
QuoteI think your mood was totally encapsulated when you tried to belittle a new mother for having a tacky sign on her car, and it was you trying to have a dig no matter how you want to now dress it up.  Roll Eyes  You can read back over the rest of your posts if you have memory issue.
I simply wondered was there any point to those signs?  I dont recall passing comment on it after that.
Why would I have a dig at a new mother - my sister became a new mother a couple of months ago (she doesn't have a tacky sign on her car so I couldnt' ask). 
I don't understand why I'm being accused of having an issue with parents - why would I?
You first started off accusing me of having something against children - I had to point out to you several times that what I actually argue for is actually for the benefit of children. 
The one thing I can't stand are people who have children for show and who then expect others to raise them - babysitters and grannies! 

It's getting to the quiet end through the "drivers" touring car parks looking for spaces and those driving out, surely you can accept that the saftey of toddlers is increased immensly when they don't have to negotiate this!
I think if a parent can't take a toddler through a car park they are in big trouble.

There are only ever a handful of these spaces in any carpark - they're not for any purpose other than for the Supermarket to present a family friendly image.  I happen to think they would make better use being assigned disabled parking, you know for the people who would have greater difficulty making their way through a car park.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 27, 2007, 07:33:19 PM
quote author=Snowed Under link=topic=5682.msg204598#msg204598 date=1196191343]

Watch yourself Zigg he's taking on all comers now!![
Post by: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 07:33:34 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 07:27:14 PM
QuoteI think your mood was totally encapsulated when you tried to belittle a new mother for having a tacky sign on her car, and it was you trying to have a dig no matter how you want to now dress it up.  Roll Eyes  You can read back over the rest of your posts if you have memory issue.
I simply wondered was there any point to those signs?  I dont recall passing comment on it after that.
Why would I have a dig at a new mother - my sister became a new mother a couple of months ago (she doesn't have a tacky sign on her car so I couldnt' ask). 
I don't understand why I'm being accused of having an issue with parents - why would I?
You first started off accusing me of having something against children - I had to point out to you several times that what I actually argue for is actually for the benefit of children. 
The one thing I can't stand are people who have children for show and who then expect others to raise them - babysitters and grannies! 

I think if a parent can't take a toddler through a car park they are in big trouble.

There are only ever a handful of these spaces in any carpark - they're not for any purpose other than for the Supermarket to present a family friendly image.  I happen to think they would make better use being assigned disabled parking, you know for the people who would have greater difficulty making their way through a car park.

But you think that trying to help mothers/parents and toddlers make parents selfish and lazy - your words, which you constantly use, yet you show major signs of being selfish by just being out for yourself and taking advantage of allocated spaces and advocating slapping infants; as I said you're some act.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 07:39:27 PM

QuoteBut you think that trying to help mothers/parents and toddlers make parents selfish and lazy - your words, which you constantly use, yet you show major signs of being selfish by just being out for yourself and taking advantage of allocated spaces and advocating slapping infants; as I said you're some act.

The parents are selfish and lazy because they think they've a God given right to these spaces.
They have no right to be parked at the door any more than I do so I park there too.

How is slapping children selfish?  Not disciplining effectively or not at all is the selfish thing!

Are you two going to the gathering?
What's the parking like?
Post by: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 07:39:45 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 27, 2007, 07:35:28 PM

Why are you hosting it?
Post by: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 07:42:28 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 07:39:27 PM

QuoteBut you think that trying to help mothers/parents and toddlers make parents selfish and lazy - your words, which you constantly use, yet you show major signs of being selfish by just being out for yourself and taking advantage of allocated spaces and advocating slapping infants; as I said you're some act.

The parents are selfish and lazy because they think they've a God given right to these spaces.
They have no right to be parked at the door any more than I do so I park there too.

How is slapping children selfish?  Not disciplining effectively or not at all is the selfish thing!

What's the parking like?

And there in lies the issue - what parents - all parents - what statistics have you for this - f**k all - it is your perception as a selfish lazy individual who probably had a run in with a parent with 2 or three toddlers as you were parked in an allocated space, allocated by the shopping centre - and as a result you have deemed all parents selfish - you get more pathetic.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 07:47:19 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 27, 2007, 07:41:29 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 07:39:45 PM

Why are you hosting it?
No, Lecale2 is.

It's in the city centre so the parking is pretty poor. There's a couple of multi-story carparks nearby.
hmm have to do better than that, say I was a mother with a toddler, where would I park then?

SU
And there in lies the issue - what parents - all parents - what statistics have you for this - f**k all - it is your perception as a selfish lazy individual who probably had a run in with a parent with 2 or three toddlers as you were parked in an allocated space, allocated by the shopping centre - and as a result you have deemed all parents selfish - you get more pathetic.
I told you, parents have no more right to park there than me and I don't deem all parents selfish.
Post by: his holiness nb on November 27, 2007, 07:49:19 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 07:22:23 PM

Jaysus Ziggy, he has it in for you now  :o
I remember him slagging me for having loads of posts too.
A real freindly, easy to get along with dude.

I cant see what Pints problem is to be honest  ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 07:52:51 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 27, 2007, 07:51:09 PM
Weemen and children aren't allowed to go.

Well according to 5ivetimes I've a problem with both so that's good.
Post by: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 07:56:30 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 27, 2007, 07:49:19 PM

Jaysus Ziggy, he has it in for you now  :o
I remember him slagging me for having loads of posts too.
A real freindly, easy to get along with dude.

I cant see what Pints problem is to be honest  ;)

??? ::)  I just remember you giving out about disabled parking spaces.
Post by: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 07:58:22 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 07:47:19 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 27, 2007, 07:41:29 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 07:39:45 PM

Why are you hosting it?
No, Lecale2 is.

It's in the city centre so the parking is pretty poor. There's a couple of multi-story carparks nearby.
hmm have to do better than that, say I was a mother with a toddler, where would I park then?

SU
I told you, parents have no more right to park there than me and I don't deem all parents selfish.

Well as they have started clamping lazy, selfish idviduals now who do park there - i'd say you are wrong on that point.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 07:59:55 PM
QuoteWell as they have started clamping lazy, selfish idviduals now who do park there - i'd say you are wrong on that point.

Not in my supermarket.
Post by: his holiness nb on November 27, 2007, 08:00:35 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 07:56:30 PM

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

What a weird and wonderful individual  snowed under is !  ;)

Post by: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 08:03:09 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 27, 2007, 08:00:35 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 07:56:30 PM

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

What a weird and wonderful individual snowed under is !  ;)

As opposed to a Hypocrite.
Post by: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 08:03:44 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 07:59:55 PM
QuoteWell as they have started clamping lazy, selfish idviduals now who do park there - i'd say you are wrong on that point.

Not in my supermarket.

It will come.  ;)
Post by: his holiness nb on November 27, 2007, 08:06:35 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 08:03:09 PM

???

If I remember you called me a hypocrite several times too previously, yet every time I asked how you avoided giving an answer.

So come on the second coming, explain?
Post by: Lecale2 on November 27, 2007, 08:06:54 PM
You are all more than welcome to come along next week. Details are on the GAA section.

I didn't know you owned a supermarket Pints.
Post by: ziggysego on November 27, 2007, 08:08:01 PM

About 4500 of them.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 08:11:09 PM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/news/news.html?in_article_id=496488&in_page_id=1770&in_page_id=1770&ct=5&expand=true (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/news/news.html?in_article_id=496488&in_page_id=1770&in_page_id=1770&ct=5&expand=true)

A quick google search found some interesting reading...

QuoteHeavily pregnant woman fined £90 for parking in mother and toddler bay at Tesco
Last updated at 15:52pm on 27th November 2007

Comments Comments (129)
Heavily pregnant and already overdue, Laura Howard decided to pop to Tesco for some last-minute baby goods.

Because she was finding it hard to get around, she parked in a mother-and-toddler space to be closer to the supermarket.

Half an hour later she struggled back to the car with her shopping to find a £90 parking ticket on the windscreen.

She contacted Tesco, which referred her to car park operator Safe Park.

Scroll down for more

Laura Howard

Heavily pregnant Laura Howard holds the parking ticket she was given for using a mother and toddler bay

The company simply informed her that, because there was no image of a pregnant woman painted on or near the bay, she should not have parked there.

Miss Howard, who was still waiting to go into labour as she entered her 42nd week of pregnancy yesterday, said: "I parked in the mother-and-toddler space because I thought heavily pregnant women who were struggling could do that.

"I was only about 30 minutes in the shop so they must have been watching me get out of the car and then whacked the fine on the windscreen."

Miss Howard, a children's nursery manager, and her 33-year-old partner, pharmaceutical salesman Peter Donovan, were taken aback by the parking company's response.

Scroll down for more

Restricted: Mother-and-toddler bays outside the Tesco branch in Leicester

"When I contacted Safe Park UK who issued the fine to explain that I was more than nine months pregnant and wasn't aware that a pregnant woman is not permitted to use these spaces, I was told that because there wasn't a picture of a pregnant woman in the bay that I couldn't park there.

"Instead of relaxing and looking forward to the birth of my child, I had the worry of finding payment for £90 looming over me."

Miss Howard, who lives in Leicester, added: "I am just so angry that I have been treated like this.

"They need to define what they mean by mother and toddler parking."

She also contacted the owner of the land at the Beaumont Leys Shopping Centre on the outskirts of the city.

She was told that as it was leased to Safe Park UK she would have to take the matter up with them.

Fortunately-Tesco, which apologisedto Miss Howard yesterday, has agreed to pay the £90 if she takes her ticket into its store.

The company also said it would "rectify the situation with Safe Park". However, the parking company itself was unrepentant.

Brian Walker, operations manager of Safe Park UK, declared: "There are signs saying that if you park here and you don't have a child then you will be fined and this lady did not have a child.

"Pregnancy is not a disability. It is a lifestyle choice and these bays are aimed at being wider for buggies."

Mr Walker added: "If someone has a broken leg and they need a wider bay then we will show compassion and let them park there.

"However, under UK law a mother with a child of 17 could park there because under UK law they are still classed as a child."

A Tesco spokesman said: "We are very sorry that this has happened to Laura, but in this case it is not a Tesco car park.

"We will pay the fine and we are trying to rectify the situation with Safe Park UK."

Should this woman have been fined snowedunder?

I love some of the comments:
It's a shame that they're not so keen on fining the various workmen in vans and old age pensioners who always seem to park in the baby and toddler car park spaces in my local Tesco!

Laura quite clearly didn't have a toddler with her in the sense intended for these bays (ie to accommodate large buggies) and, if she's fit enough to drive to the store, then she's fit enough to park somewhere else. The walk will do her good!

And you wonder where I get my attitude?
Post by: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 08:17:49 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 27, 2007, 08:06:35 PM

???

If I remember you called me a hypocrite several times too, yet every time I asked how he avoided giving an answer.

As I keep saying I remember you giving out about too many disabled parking spaces in car parks.
Post by: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 08:19:57 PM
Should the pregnant woman have been fined, common sense would say no of course, should a lazy individual like you be - 100% yes.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 08:24:44 PM
snowedunder

She's not a mother and toddler?

What about elderly people?

Unwell people?

Someone with a broken leg?

Are you and your children more entitled to a space at the door than these people?

What do you think of some of the comments on that thread, in particular the two I posted, aren't those a reflection of the attitudes of the parents that use these spaces?
Post by: his holiness nb on November 27, 2007, 08:58:14 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 08:17:49 PM

???

If I remember you called me a hypocrite several times too, yet every time I asked how avoided giving an answer.

As I keep saying I remember you giving out about too many disabled parking spaces in car parks.

How does thinking some car parks have more disabled spaces than they will ever need make you a hypocrite??  ???
Do you even know what hypocrite means?  :o

Post by: Gnevin on November 27, 2007, 09:31:59 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 27, 2007, 08:58:14 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 27, 2007, 08:17:49 PM

???

If I remember you called me a hypocrite several times too, yet every time I asked how he avoided giving an answer.

How does thinking some car parks have more disabled spaces than they will ever need make you a hypocrite??  ???
Do you even know what hypocrite means?  :o

It means your wrong  :P
Post by: ziggysego on November 27, 2007, 10:20:38 PM
Last week at Omagh College, a disabled woman couldn't get parked in the disabled spots as they were all taken up by non-disabled person. So she parked behind one of them, blocking them in. She then went into the College, a wrote a note

"You took my spot, so I blocked you in" and stuck it to the back window of the offending car.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 27, 2007, 11:24:46 PM
Snowed, I'm begining to think you're not cut out for the old parenting lark. You'd think you were the only person in the world that ever had toddlers. Lighten up a bit. Pints, himself an angry man, is right about the parent and toddler spaces, there's no need for them to be positioned where they are right beside the shops. There's a lot more justification for such spaces to be reserved for old people who, while they may not be disabled, are not as fit and agile as young parents.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 11:29:48 PM
QuotePints, himself an angry man,

:(  I'm not angry.

I'll kick your hole the next time I see you  :P
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 27, 2007, 11:32:43 PM
Well Armagh4Sam said you were some months ago and I believe him
Post by: Puckoon on November 28, 2007, 01:23:25 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 27, 2007, 10:20:38 PM
Last week at Omagh College, a disabled woman couldn't get parked in the disabled spots as they were all taken up by non-disabled person. So she parked behind one of them, blocking them in. She then went into the College, a wrote a note

"You took my spot, so I blocked you in" and stuck it to the back window of the offending car.

And to think I took the day off the gaaboard and actually worked - I missed all the excitement.
Ziggy - thats a cracking move.
Post by: Snowed Under on November 28, 2007, 07:04:05 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 27, 2007, 08:24:44 PM
snowedunder

She's not a mother and toddler?

What about elderly people?

Unwell people?

Someone with a broken leg?

Are you and your children more entitled to a space at the door than these people?

What do you think of some of the comments on that thread, in particular the two I posted, aren't those a reflection of the attitudes of the parents that use these spaces?

You really are getting more and more pathetic - I constantly said that I believe no parent would have an issue with a disabled person parking in a mother/toddler space, I am sure the case is true for other people who need assistance, your whole ethos is f**k the lazy selfish parents because supermarkets / shopping centres make spaces available to aid mothers and toddlers for safety reasons above all else.  You obviously believe these spaces should be for people who require assistance but your hatred of parents and children blind you from the fact that they too may require assistance and your constant and deliberate parking in thses spaces shows you don't really give a f**k about anyone who may require asistance.
Post by: Snowed Under on November 28, 2007, 07:07:45 AM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 27, 2007, 11:24:46 PM
Snowed, I'm begining to think you're not cut out for the old parenting lark. You'd think you were the only person in the world that ever had toddlers. Lighten up a bit. Pints, himself an angry man, is right about the parent and toddler spaces, there's no need for them to be positioned where they are right beside the shops. There's a lot more justification for such spaces to be reserved for old people who, while they may not be disabled, are not as fit and agile as young parents.

Please enlighten me on these comments - some examples of my quotes would be helpful.  By the way do you think that Pints is fully justified in parking in them to run in for his sweets?
Post by: Snowed Under on November 28, 2007, 07:19:53 AM

Brillant  :D , hope the offending person had to go early that day, but due to the situation I bet they lay low until all were gone. 
Post by: Gnevin on November 28, 2007, 08:38:41 AM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 28, 2007, 07:19:53 AM

Brillant  :D , hope the offending person had to go early that day, but due to the situation I bet they lay low until all were gone. 
A case of 2 wrongs ?
Post by: Snowed Under on November 28, 2007, 08:41:52 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 28, 2007, 08:38:41 AM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 28, 2007, 07:19:53 AM

A case of 2 wrongs ?

The only way to educate sometimes is to teach and that person was taught a good lesson that day!
Post by: Onion Bag on November 28, 2007, 08:53:30 AM
Cant beleive there is a discussion here about Car Parking spaces, f**k some people must be bored and have nothing to do!
Post by: Snowed Under on November 28, 2007, 09:12:03 AM
Quote from: Onion Bag on November 28, 2007, 08:53:30 AM
Cant beleive there is a discussion here about Car Parking spaces, f**k some people must be bored and have nothing to do!

Can't believe someone would find a discussion about car parking boring, but still read it and be bored enough to comment about it being boring - some people as you say have nothing to do.  ;)
Post by: Onion Bag on November 28, 2007, 09:22:22 AM
I know what youre saying Snowedunder, I am bored, I was just stating there must be a lot of other idle people about ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 28, 2007, 12:31:01 PM
snowed under
QuoteYou really are getting more and more pathetic - I constantly said that I believe no parent would have an issue with a disabled person parking in a mother/toddler space, I am sure the case is true for other people who need assistance, your whole ethos is f**k the lazy selfish parents because supermarkets / shopping centres make spaces available to aid mothers and toddlers for safety reasons above all else.  You obviously believe these spaces should be for people who require assistance but your hatred of parents and children blind you from the fact that they too may require assistance and your constant and deliberate parking in thses spaces shows you don't really give a f**k about anyone   who may require asistance.

What about the elderly? or a heavily pregnant woman as people, judging by the link I put up, seem to have a big problem with those using the selfish parent spaces.
now, that's what's pathetic!
Post by: Snowed Under on November 28, 2007, 12:44:16 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 28, 2007, 12:31:01 PM
snowed under
QuoteYou really are getting more and more pathetic - I constantly said that I believe no parent would have an issue with a disabled person parking in a mother/toddler space, I am sure the case is true for other people who need assistance, your whole ethos is f**k the lazy selfish parents because supermarkets / shopping centres make spaces available to aid mothers and toddlers for safety reasons above all else.  You obviously believe these spaces should be for people who require assistance but your hatred of parents and children blind you from the fact that they too may require assistance and your constant and deliberate parking in thses spaces shows you don't really give a f**k about anyone   who may require asistance.

What about the elderly? or a heavily pregnant woman as people, judging by the link I put up, seem to have a big problem with those using the selfish parent spaces.

Can you not read - seriously that is a serious question - if so look at the bit in italics after the bit in bold in my post - pathetic doesn't come close to describing you.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 28, 2007, 02:58:19 PM

Quote from: Snowed Under on November 28, 2007, 07:07:45 AM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 27, 2007, 11:24:46 PM

Please enlighten me on these comments - some examples of my quotes would be helpful.  By the way do you think that Pints is fully justified in parking in them to run in for his sweets?

I think the following fits the bill:

Let's see walk out door with 2 toddlers shit load of shopping leave shopping at door put toddlers in car, load car with shopping - yeah it's a nightmare at the door.  ::)
Post by: Snowed Under on November 28, 2007, 03:14:40 PM
Sorry my mind must of went blank so I am an unfit parent as I said that it's easier with toddlers to park at the door?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 28, 2007, 05:44:54 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 28, 2007, 12:44:16 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 28, 2007, 12:31:01 PM
snowed under

Can you not read - seriously that is a serious question - if so look at the bit in italics after the bit in bold in my post - pathetic doesn't come close to describing you.

Yes, and judging by the coments from bad parents on the link I put up you're wrong.

Hardstation, I'm on dial up woudl take a week to watch them but I assume they're complimentary  ;)
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 28, 2007, 06:11:49 PM
I'm begining to thnik Snowed Under is a bit of a Moaning Minnie. I wonder has Mrs Snowed Under possibly withdrawn favours in the boudoir thus lcontributing to his outbursts of anger? Mmm I feel a Poll coming on here
Post by: Snowed Under on November 28, 2007, 06:18:37 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 28, 2007, 06:11:49 PM
I'm begining to thnik Snowed Under is a bit of a Moaning Minnie. I wonder has Mrs Snowed Under possibly withdrawn favours in the boudoir thus lcontributing to his outbursts of anger? Mmm I feel a Poll coming on here

Or maybe he just treats this board and the internet warriors on it for what it is.  ;)
Post by: Puckoon on November 28, 2007, 06:20:49 PM
Im reserving judgement on whether he is a moaner or not, but he sure does wink at a lot of folks in his posts...
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 28, 2007, 06:23:24 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 28, 2007, 06:18:37 PM

Or maybe he just treats this board and the internet warriors on it for what it is.  ;)
and what's that?  :-\
Post by: Snowed Under on November 28, 2007, 06:29:16 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 28, 2007, 06:23:24 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 28, 2007, 06:18:37 PM

and what's that?  :-\

For me it's something to do whilst I work, my job dictates I do long hours and the company is good and always entertaining.  ;)
Post by: gerry on December 28, 2009, 07:31:37 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/asia-pacific/8432887.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/asia-pacific/8432887.stm)

now only if they had a mother and toddler car park

China shopping centre builds 'car park for women'

The shopping centre hopes to appeal to China's women drivers

A shopping centre in China's Hebei province has built a car park with wider spaces that it says is designed especially to suit women drivers.

The women-only car park in Shijiazhuang city is also painted in pink and light purple to appeal to female tastes.

Official Wang Zheng told AFP news agency the car park was meant to cater to women's "strong sense of colour and different sense of distance".

The parking bays are one metre (3ft) wider than normal spaces, he said.

The Wanxiang-Tiancheng shopping centre had also "installed signs and security monitoring equipment that corresponded more to women's needs", he said.

The Global Times website says female parking attendants have been trained to help guide women drivers into their parking spaces. The bays also have extra lighting.

Driving in China is a dangerous activity, with more than 200 deaths in road accidents each day last year, AFP reports, citing police statistics. 
Post by: muppet on December 28, 2009, 08:11:22 PM
Quote from: gerry on December 28, 2009, 07:31:37 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/asia-pacific/8432887.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/asia-pacific/8432887.stm)

now only if they had a mother and toddler car park

China shopping centre builds 'car park for women'

The shopping centre hopes to appeal to China's women drivers

A shopping centre in China's Hebei province has built a car park with wider spaces that it says is designed especially to suit women drivers.

The women-only car park in Shijiazhuang city is also painted in pink and light purple to appeal to female tastes.

Official Wang Zheng told AFP news agency the car park was meant to cater to women's "strong sense of colour and different sense of distance".

The parking bays are one metre (3ft) wider than normal spaces, he said.

The Wanxiang-Tiancheng shopping centre had also "installed signs and security monitoring equipment that corresponded more to women's needs", he said.

The Global Times website says female parking attendants have been trained to help guide women drivers into their parking spaces. The bays also have extra lighting.

Driving in China is a dangerous activity, with more than 200 deaths in road accidents each day last year, AFP reports, citing police statistics.

I believe all of the spaces are drive through to avoid the need for reversing.