Option 2: Cummins
votes: 6
Option 3: Fitzhenry
votes: 39
Option 4: Donal Og
votes: 8
Option 5: Brian Murray
votes: 1
Simply put lads, whos the best at the minute ?
Not sure you can include Mc Garry when he is not playing for Kilkenny. I would actually put Fitzgerald at the top prior to his hissy fit with Considine. Cummins is renowned for the Hollywood saves but can be dodgy IMHO. I voted for Fitzhenry though.
Yeah I thought that about James but I always thought he was a very steady man between the posts. Nothing dramatic etc but got the job done.
Maybe not gone for good ?
Quote from: sligeach on November 15, 2007, 11:48:50 AM
Yeah I thought that about James but I always thought he was a very steady man between the posts. Nothing dramatic etc but got the job done.
Maybe not gone for good ?
I think he didnt have much to do because the ball was always at the other end of the pitch !Rarely made any glaring errors though.
Quote from: hardstation on November 15, 2007, 11:58:46 AM
I don't think anyone will vote for Donal Og.
I wouldnt have voted for the ballacks even if he wasnt in the GPA.
Quote from: Balboa on November 15, 2007, 12:03:49 PM
He is the best IMO, but again, I wouldn't vote for him. Detest him
Quote from: theskull1 on November 15, 2007, 12:33:37 PM
As a goalkeeper he went up in my estimations over the last year or so, but his whinging would get on your tits.
I still think I'd prefer Damian Fitzhenry behind me though.
I voted for him
just to sicken yis
awooga
Quote from: johnneycool on November 15, 2007, 12:50:54 PM
As a goalkeeper he went up in my estimations over the last year or so, but his whinging would get on your tits.
Wouldn't everyone ?
I voted for Donal Og, hard call between himself and Fitzhenry as they are both great keppers. I think the public preception of Donal Og is very off in terms of the GPA thing, he is doing a lot of the heavy lifting for a lot of players in the background and taking the flak accordingly.
The guys trains his own club team, is involve in the juvenile coaching in his club and has shown a real willingness to be involved in hurling promotion around the country.
Sligeach - your last comment was a low dig and says more about you and your mentality than the palyer you tried to slight. Gobsh*te.
Quote from: johnneycool on November 15, 2007, 12:50:54 PM
How close would you like him Johnney? :o
Fitzhenry - the best over the last 12 years amidst very solid competition.
Pull Hard Hes No Relation, are you Donal Og in Disguise???
sligeach Cheeky one, but Pull Hard Hes No Relation your getting a bit wound up dont you think???
I voted for Fitzhenry as he def the best in terms of high ball, presence, shot stopping, poc outs and consistency. He has the whole package.
Thought Clinton Morrisson from Waterford should have been in contention though he had a fine year.
Would also agree with that Kevin
A bit like Shay Given with Newcastle/Ireland, Fitzhenry is always prominent in his matches as is kept busy playing on an average team. The comparison is particularly apt as both are class keepers and have been playing to a high standard over a long period. Surprise surprise.......he got my vote.
Quote from: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on November 15, 2007, 01:37:09 PM
Sligeach - your last comment was a low dig and says more about you and your mentality than the palyer you tried to slight. Gobsh*te.
Actually if your referring to his sexuality, thats not what i meant. I just realised what you meant after reading what you wrote and what i wrote again.
Fitzhenry for me. In an era of many good hurling 'keepers he has been the best in my eyes. Absolutely superb.
Fitzhenry has been the best for 10 or 12 years.
Davy Fitz was right up there also, but slightly more prone to mistakes than Fitzhenry and the Wexford man would give more accurate puck outs.
At the moment there is a changing of the guard with the great keepers of the last decade.
McGarry, Cummins, Davy Fitz and possibly Fitzhenry shuffling on.
However with promising keepers like Brian Murray, Philip Brennan etc coming through, we will have plenty of new talent to keep an eye on.
theres a very promising keeper in wexford, ciaran boyle.... being hailed as the next davy fitz
Very surprised you left Fitzgerald out of the candidates. I now he didn't play last year (and most likely his own fault), but chances are we will see him in action this year.
I would still give Fitzhenry the no.1 spot followed closely by Fitzgerald and then Cummins a bit further back.
As much as I dislike Donal Og, I'd have to give him the no.4 for the way he has improved his game over the past few years and if he keeps going the way he is he'll be pushing for no.1 pretty soon.
Like everone else I thought McGarry didn't get the credit he deserved, and this was due to the excellence of the cats defence. However, I think he was badly shown up when he left in 5 against Galway, and hasn't really recoveredd since.
Fitzhenry, but Cummins a close second. Wouldn't have much time for Cusack or Fitzgerald on account of their whinging!
Fitzhenry by a mile both in terms of his goal keeping ability and his personality.
Just for the record, Billy the Kid, the Waterford goalkeeper is Clinton Hennessy. Clinton Morrison is a 2nd rate soccer player!!.
Clinton Morrison . . .
Amazed to see the consensus building behind Fitzhenry - not because I don't agree, but because people rarely agree on anything here!
Quote from: deiseach on November 21, 2007, 05:51:34 PM
Clinton Morrison . . .
Amazed to see the consensus building behind Fitzhenry - not because I don't agree, but because people rarely agree on anything here!
I don't find it surprising at all man. Its fairly obvious to everyone he is the best at the moment, the mans just pure class and has being for how long.
Like Davy Fitz , who was an average goalkeeper in 1995 but who developed into an outstanding goalkeeper by 2002 ish , Donal Og was an average goalkeeper when he first emerged. However in the last few seasons he has developed into an outstanding goalkeeper and is in my opinion now the best goalie in the country. Fitzhenry is undoubtedly the most consistent goalie in the country over a ten year period.
Fitzhenry is pure class.
Fitzhenry has shown his class over 10 years + and has been ultra consistent.
Fitzhenry always has to make more saves due to the porous nature of the Yellow Bellies defence!
It has to be Donal Òg Cusack for me.
Someone mentioned presence under the high ball.... the best example of this is Donal Òg's catch when Eoin McGrath threw himself and his hurley at the ball. The hurley ended up in the net but the ball ended up safely in Donal Òg's hand.
He even saves points. [Ken McGrath's free]
Duignan raves about his puck outs but I wouldn't be too sure a statistical breakdown of possession secured from them would back this up.
Quote from: timmykelleher on November 29, 2007, 01:38:39 PM
It has to be Donal Òg Cusack for me.
Someone mentioned presence under the high ball.... the best example of this is Donal Òg's catch when Eoin McGrath threw himself and his hurley at the ball. The hurley ended up in the net but the ball ended up safely in Donal Òg's hand.
He even saves points. [Ken McGrath's free]
Duignan raves about his puck outs but I wouldn't be too sure a statistical breakdown of possession secured from them would back this up.
Considering he's pucking out to a relatively poor aerial wise half forward line he may have no other options
It seems like these guys (with the exception of Murray) have been around for ever. How long can they all go on? Will Wee Davy be back next year - I hope so.
Donal og will be the best now - he can puck out a few grant cheques ! :D ;) ;D
Quote from: billy the kid on November 15, 2007, 05:17:44 PM
[Thought Clinton Morrisson from Waterford should have been in contention though he had a fine year.
ha ha, brilliant. When hes not pretending to be Irish you mean? (I think Clinton Hennessy is the lad's name!)
The 2 Fitzys are the best keepers around since the early to mid-90s. Others have had their day in the sun (Cummins, Donal Og, McGarry), but haven't been as consistently excellent as Fitzgerald or Fitzhenry. If I'd the gun to my head and had to pick between those 2 I think Davy Fitz is the more talented shot-stopper, but he causes awful disruption to a team and tends to get the opposition going more. Damien Fitz is a quiet, unassuming lad (had the pleasure of playing against him once), and doesn't nothing more than get on with his job and let the hurling do the talking. So I'd pick Fitzhenry.
The fact that Fitzhenry comes up the field to score match winning goals every now and again is usefull.
Fitzhenry just shades wee Davy IMO.
Looks like the contest is well and truly over - 70% of us go for Fitzhenry - case closed.
Cusack is by far the best all round keeper in the country at the moment and has been for at least 4 years now, even some of the stuff he pulled off this year behind a very low in confidence defence was awesome. High ball, shot stopping, accurate puck-outs(when allowed) and for sheer balls, he's top of the lot.
If you were to take the last 10 or more years though Fitzhenry would walk it in Goalkeeping terms, Fitzy would have it in balls/ mentalness terms, and Cummins would walk the "Flashbulb" saves/ being too big for his boots award. Honourable mention to McGarry for being a hugely unsung hero around the country, we'll give him the "dennis irwin" award for consistency.
I don't think wee davy should go back to the Clare county panel as the current keeper is very good and doesn't need undermined by wee Davy.
Davy has two celtic crosses in his hip pocket, time for some young blood to make their mark.