GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: bcarrier on November 11, 2007, 06:01:02 PM

Title: Paul Galvin- Kerry Captain
Post by: bcarrier on November 11, 2007, 06:01:02 PM
Congratulations To Johnny Mulvhill and Feale Rangers lads.

Galvin now most likely Kerry Captain for the 3 in a row 2008.
Title: Re: Paul Galvin- Kerry Captain
Post by: magickingdom on November 11, 2007, 06:14:11 PM
as i posted elsewhere, Galvin will be kerry captain next year. 6 of the feale rangers team also won the hurling co final this year with lixnaw. eamon fitzmaurice, brendan Guiney and noel kennelly play for feale rangers and have also played in green and gold. had to feel sorry for bryan sheehan today as he missed a 45 in the closing minutes to tie it up and keep his chance to be kerry captain for next year. this year Galvin won and ai medal, county hurling medal and co football medal which was last done by johnny culloty in 1969.. some achievement
Post by: orangeman on November 11, 2007, 07:58:24 PM
Some achievement alright and I'm looking forward to Galvin as captain already !!!! There could be fireworks !!!!
Post by: Louth Exile on November 11, 2007, 09:07:35 PM
He's not exactly captain material, is he??
Post by: orangeman on November 11, 2007, 09:32:17 PM
Galvin is sure to give somebody a sore head next year !
Post by: CiarraiAbu on November 11, 2007, 09:36:18 PM
Congratulations to the Rangers, a mighty display today from a team who half the county were expecting to go down without a 'fight'!! According to Eamon Fitz's acceptance speech Galvin will Captain Kerry next year, he also mentioned that it would be a three-in-a-row and I for one believe him. At the moment there is no other possible contender as Galvin is the only Ranger on the panel and if per chance that changes between now and next season there is no way the powers that be would have the balls to shaft him.
Post by: orangeman on November 11, 2007, 09:41:10 PM
Will Eamon Fitz be back next year ?
Post by: Frank Casey on November 11, 2007, 10:09:04 PM
As a South Kerry man I was very disappointed with the loss. I thought at the end we were going to get a draw but it wasn't meant to be. I feel doubly sorry for Bryan Sheehan. He had a late chance with a 45 but it went astray. He won the county final last year with a monster late kick.

As for Galvin as captain - I've a feeling that Billy Morgan must have had a vision that this was coming and thats why he announced his departure during the week.

I wish Paul the best of luck next year. I wonder will he quote from his little black book on the steps of the Hogan Stand next September. Twould be some speech.
Post by: magickingdom on November 11, 2007, 10:10:13 PM
Quote from: orangeman on November 11, 2007, 09:41:10 PM
Will Eamon Fitz be back next year ?

dont think eamon fitzmaurice will be back, he scored the winning point today and played well. maurice fitzgerald came on for s kerry in the second half and you can take it to the bank it was his last game. also as the kerry gaa are moving ground in the near future it was probably the last county final in austin stacks park, so an historic day in all..
Post by: Tyrones own on November 11, 2007, 10:13:58 PM

Fair play to Galvin alright, some achievement!
Post by: magickingdom on November 11, 2007, 10:14:11 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on November 11, 2007, 10:09:04 PM
As a South Kerry man I was very disappointed with the loss. I thought at the end we were going to get a draw but it wasn't meant to be. I feel doubly sorry for Bryan Sheehan. He had a late chance with a 45 but it went astray. He won the county final last year with a monster late kick.

As for Galvin as captain - I've a feeling that Billy Morgan must have had a vision that this was coming and thats why he announced his departure during the week.

I wish Paul the best of luck next year. I wonder will he quote from his little black book on the steps of the Hogan Stand next September. Twould be some speech.

they just never got going today frank...
Post by: orangeman on November 11, 2007, 10:14:33 PM
What age is Maurice Fitz now ? What is his football like now ?
Post by: Frank Casey on November 11, 2007, 10:18:22 PM
Quote from: orangeman on November 11, 2007, 10:14:33 PM
What age is Maurice Fitz now ? What is his football like now ?

Maurice is 38 next month. His appearance today was probably his last.
Post by: orangeman on November 11, 2007, 10:20:36 PM
Does he still have the class he had ? Jesus but he was as good as I EVER seen - a class act !
Post by: Frank Casey on November 11, 2007, 10:25:09 PM
Quote from: orangeman on November 11, 2007, 10:20:36 PM
Does he still have the class he had ? Jesus but he was as good as I EVER seen - a class act !

Class is permanent. Unfortunately body is not.
Post by: magickingdom on November 11, 2007, 10:26:16 PM
Quote from: orangeman on November 11, 2007, 10:20:36 PM

he will always be a class act!
Post by: orangeman on November 11, 2007, 10:27:50 PM
It's a shame we never got to see more of him ! What about that day in Croke Park against Armagh in 2001 ???
Post by: Pangurban on November 11, 2007, 10:29:37 PM
Dont expect Galvin to dignify the position, reasonable footballer he may be, sportsman he is not
Post by: Frank Casey on November 11, 2007, 10:32:45 PM
Quote from: orangeman on November 11, 2007, 10:27:50 PM
It's a shame we never got to see more of him ! What about that day in Croke Park against Armagh in 2001 ???

The 2000 semi final replay against Armagh. Soloed the ball with the right foot, drop kicked with the left into the railway goal.

That point against Dublin in Thurles with Tommy Carr whispering in his ear.

His 1997 final against Mayo.

Getting 10 points against Cork in the 1992 Munster Championship.

Etc. Etc. Etc.
Post by: orangeman on November 11, 2007, 10:37:36 PM
1997 will never be erased from my memory - left foot free kick at Hogan stand side - left foot - out near the sideline - outrageous ! Pure brilliance - and then to top it all - the sideline kick over the bar from about 70 yards !
Post by: magickingdom on November 11, 2007, 10:40:13 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on November 11, 2007, 10:29:37 PM
Dont expect Galvin to dignify the position, reasonable footballer he may be, sportsman he is not

expect to be surprised, he's a great leader. he also loves kerry football and it will be a huge honor for him.
Post by: dodo on November 11, 2007, 11:54:47 PM
Quote from: orangeman on November 11, 2007, 10:37:36 PM
1997 will never be erased from my memory - left foot free kick at Hogan stand side - left foot - out near the sideline - outrageous ! Pure brilliance - and then to top it all - the sideline kick over the bar from about 70 yards !

Ye ye ye, undoubtedly a class apart.......but in fairness he was being 'marked' that day by Pat Holmes and the only time he touched him was at the full time whistle to congratulate him. And don't give me the he couldn't get near him to touch him story, Holmes played like an adoring fan that day.  :(
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 12, 2007, 12:25:10 AM
As if there wasn't reason enough to hope Kerry lose next year, the thought of that **** lifting Sam caps it off. The contrast between him and Maurice Fitz is huge, a true legend and a class act, unfortunately for him most of his Kerry playing days were in the 'famine' period.
Post by: mannix on November 12, 2007, 09:18:06 AM
Not even a patch of the sportman that fitzgerald was, not too fond of him.He is perfect though to combat the rougher teams from the north and the dubs so I suppose he has his uses.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on November 12, 2007, 10:33:54 AM
Galvin leads with his right!
Post by: magpie seanie on November 12, 2007, 02:59:29 PM
I actually think Galvin will do well as Kerry captain. It could be the crowning of him. People speaking negatively of him should also remember for all he dishes out he takes a fair bit of it himself - both on and off the field.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on November 12, 2007, 03:11:56 PM
You said it Seánie. Paul Galvin would stroll onto any county team in the country, and there isn't one of us that wouldn't be glad to have him. Best of luck to him in his captaincy. I'll even feel for him when Mayo bate them at last.  ;)
Post by: Louth Exile on November 12, 2007, 03:18:55 PM
NEWSFLASH

Following the news that Paul Galvin is due to captain the kingdom, a number of counties have today confirmed who their 2008 football captains will be. These announcements have happened despite some counties being currently without a manager. The captains for the relevant counties will be as follows:
Meath - Graham Geraghty
Tyrone - Ryan Mc Menamin
Laois - Colm Parkinson
Cork - Noel O'Leary

It is expected that their will soon be further announcements once they have evaluated their situation and decided is who is their most suitable gurrier captain
Title: Paul Galvin- Kerry Captain
Post by: 5 Sams on November 12, 2007, 03:21:45 PM
f**k it I would love a few gurriers like that on our team :-\
Post by: Louth Exile on November 12, 2007, 03:44:48 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on November 12, 2007, 03:21:45 PM
f**k it I would love a few gurriers like that on our team :-\

I have to admit that must of us would, not as captain though
Post by: ludermor on November 12, 2007, 04:33:54 PM
if galvin does as well as gerathy did he will be happy. FFS do you want your captain to be a pillar of society or a winner, i know what id prefer
Post by: Frank Casey on November 12, 2007, 10:10:52 PM
Galvin would go through a brick wall (and most of the opposition) for Kerry. This determination will be an example to others. I think the captaincy could actually be the making of him. Whether people believe it or not he is a more controlled and mature player than he was a few years ago.
Post by: orangeman on November 12, 2007, 10:12:07 PM
W
Post by: orangeman on November 12, 2007, 10:13:20 PM
Where is the name from IolarCoisCuain - I understand the CoisCuian bit but Iolar - is that the mountain Paidi talks about ?
Post by: orangeman on November 12, 2007, 10:14:55 PM
Frank - I was just thinking today what might have been had Maurice Fitz been managed by someone other than Paidi ( who he appeared to fall out with ) - I would be a big fan of Paidi's but what do you think ? Maybe I'm completely wrong in this ?
Post by: Frank Casey on November 12, 2007, 10:24:58 PM
Paidi will always say that the ends justified the means. The 2000 All Ireland was won after semi and final replays with Maurice playing the impact sub. I honestly believe that Maurice was consigned to the bench too early. At the same time there was a shiver went down the back of your neck when you saw him coming on and you could see the team picking their heads up.

Would another manager have made a difference? To Maurice probably, to Kerry who knows. Hindsight is not very clear on this one.

One difference might have been that Tomas O'Se who was a fair pup in his younger days might not have received the time to grow up and into a player of the year. Uncle Paidi gave him that time.

A five time all ireland winner with Kerry one time reluctantly opined that he might get more respect than a man with only four. If Maurice Fitzgerald had never one even one, he'd still be a football hero to most. Mind you he'd had a quiet game in 97 until he broke Billy O'Shea's leg and he gave the rest of the match determined to make up for it.
Post by: orangeman on November 12, 2007, 10:45:43 PM
I tell you what - he made up for breaking his leg by giving a virtuoso display that - poor Pat Holmes etc etc -

Am I right in saying that Maurice and Paidi never really saw eye to eye ? Did Maurice's talent and attitude go against the grain with Paidi ?
Post by: Frank Casey on November 12, 2007, 10:51:56 PM
Quote from: orangeman on November 12, 2007, 10:45:43 PM
I tell you what - he made up for breaking his leg by giving a virtuoso display that - poor Pat Holmes etc etc -

Am I right in saying that Maurice and Paidi never really saw eye to eye ? Did Maurice's talent and attitude go against the grain with Paidi ?

I think there was something. Maurice was one of the most deceptive players. His manner seemed unhurried almost lazy but when you're that comfortable on the ball everything looks easy.
Post by: orangeman on November 12, 2007, 10:59:26 PM
John Mc Entee Armagh looked like he was in slow motion but was bursting past players at the same time -  not that I'm trying to compare the two in any way.
Post by: Frank Casey on November 12, 2007, 11:02:50 PM
Quote from: orangeman on November 12, 2007, 10:59:26 PM
John Mc Entee Armagh looked like he was in slow motion but was bursting past players at the same time -  not that I'm trying to compare the two in any way.

Captain Kirk would say that it was a kink in the space-time continuim. ;)
Post by: orangeman on November 12, 2007, 11:04:19 PM
Something like that ok - pity Maurice is 38 - here's a question for you Frank - did you ever see Maurice seething with anger ?
Post by: Frank Casey on November 12, 2007, 11:05:48 PM
Quote from: orangeman on November 12, 2007, 11:04:19 PM
Something like that ok - pity Maurice is 38 - here's a question for you Frank - did you ever see Maurice seething with anger ?

Once but twas his wife's fault ;D
Post by: orangeman on November 12, 2007, 11:15:05 PM
Good one ! lol
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on November 13, 2007, 10:43:36 AM
Quote from: orangeman on November 12, 2007, 10:13:20 PM
Where is the name from IolarCoisCuain - I understand the CoisCuian bit but Iolar - is that the mountain Paidi talks about ?

Iolar=eagle. Hence the avatar. :)

It's from a song called Cill Chais, the lament for Kilcash which I've always liked:

"Ní chluinim fuaim lacha nó gé ann
Ná iolair ag éamh cois cuain..."

The first line of it, "Cad a dhéanfaimid feasta gan adhmad," used to be one of the lines of Irish literature quoted on the Aer Lingus seat covers. I think Aer Lingus have done away with that since though. A pity.

Wouldn't know any Páidís where I come from. :)
Post by: orangeman on November 13, 2007, 10:58:12 AM
Thanks for that - very interesting - I thought you were from Kerry there for a minute.
Post by: CiarraiAbu on December 03, 2007, 12:26:05 PM
Congrats Paul on becoming the new Kerry captain. It was officially announced on Saturday night at the awarding of this years All Ireland medals. Darragh and Mike Frank picked up their fifth Celtic Cross, not bad going considering they are playing in the time of Northern Dominance and of course we cannot forget that Kerry haven't won minor or under 21 in years!! ;)
Post by: Jinxy on December 03, 2007, 12:36:07 PM
Quote from: orangeman on November 12, 2007, 10:45:43 PM

It's unlikely that anyone with a brain in their head would ever see eye to eye with Paidi.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 04, 2007, 01:16:37 PM
Quote from: CiarraiAbu on December 03, 2007, 12:26:05 PM
Congrats Paul on becoming the new Kerry captain. It was officially announced on Saturday night at the awarding of this years All Ireland medals. Darragh and Mike Frank picked up their fifth Celtic Cross, not bad going considering they are playing in the time of Northern Dominance and of course we cannot forget that Kerry haven't won minor or under 21 in years!! ;)

What northern dominance? No Ulster teams have been in the semi-finals fo the past 2 years - when 2 of those all-ireland were won. Not trying to take away from this achievement in any way, but to be realistic, it's a period of Kerry dominance, not Northern dominance.
Post by: Rav67 on December 04, 2007, 02:22:05 PM
I think he's taking the piss
Post by: the destroyer on December 04, 2007, 04:31:31 PM
in fiarness to paul no, hes came throw alot of abuse in his time, an i no that talking to him personally it can have an efect on those around him although he doesnt get bothered by it himself.

thon boy is a cute heure all the same, hes not as green as he his cabbage lookin il tell ye that much
Post by: Maguire01 on December 04, 2007, 05:16:14 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on December 04, 2007, 02:22:05 PM
I think he's taking the piss

possibly, but i doubt it.
Post by: red hander on December 05, 2007, 04:49:07 PM
Will he have to decapitate someone before a referee has the balls to send him off at Croke Park?
Post by: his holiness nb on December 05, 2007, 05:00:57 PM
Quote from: red hander on December 05, 2007, 04:49:07 PM
Will he have to decapitate someone before a referee has the balls to send him off at Croke Park?

Did you copy and paste this from a Ciaran Whelan thread?

Galvin is exactly the sort of player to inspire his fellow players. Blood and thunder, 100% commitment.
Fair play.
Post by: doodaa on December 05, 2007, 06:27:14 PM
Im glad Paul Galvin will be captain next year i think he is one oif the best players in kerry, does a lot of the donkey work but kerry wouldnt be the same without him....
Not afraid to mix it up with anyone thats what you want from a captain no fear of anything and he'll do well.....

If Derry dont win Sam then i hope Kerry do just to see him lift Sam.
Post by: Kerry Mike on December 05, 2007, 07:32:02 PM
2006 - Declan O'Sullivan

(http://www.hoganstand.com/Common/ImageGallery/declanosullivansammaguire.jpg)

2007 - Declan O'Sullivan

(http://www.hoganstand.com/Common/ImageGallery/decosullivan.jpg)

And a look into the future................

2008 - Paul Galvin

(http://www.diarmy.net/wp-content/uploads/2007/09/galvin_159398t.jpg)

Post by: Kerry Mike on December 05, 2007, 08:02:07 PM
QuoteWill he have to decapitate someone before a referee has the balls to send him off at Croke Park?

Oh ye of short memories, he was sent off agin Armagh in 2006 in Croker, after an altercation with John Tool the Orange clad water boy about the quality of his water bottles. But there was no doubting Galvin's bottle. T'was a great day.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on December 05, 2007, 11:52:54 PM
QuoteOh ye of short memories, he was sent off agin Armagh in 2006 in Croker, after an altercation with John Tool the Orange clad water boy about the quality of his water bottles. But there was no doubting Galvin's bottle. T'was a great day.

Dont mind Red Hander KM. He and his ilk still whinge about the 1996 semi v Meath.....the poor little dears.
Post by: mackers on December 06, 2007, 11:18:12 AM
Yea, he really showed his class that day, told John "Tool" to get off the pitch as he was a "cripple" and John "Tool" left him sporting a shiner that was still evident in semi final.
Post by: red hander on December 06, 2007, 11:49:13 AM
'Dont mind Red Hander KM. He and his ilk still whinge about the 1996 semi v Meath.....the poor little dears. '

Not as much as youse boys whinge about your humiliations in 2003 and 2005 ... ah, sure maybe I'll write a book about 1996
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on December 06, 2007, 02:15:55 PM
Galvin was more sinned against than sinning in that incident from 2006.
John Toal should not have been on the pitch yet he succeed in getting a Kerry player sent off.
I watched the game again a few months ago, cracking match – Darragh O'Se (indeed the whole O'Se Clan) at his majestic best.
I got a Christmas present of the photo of Francis on the ground with Donaghy scoring the goal – a class photo.
Galvin does sail close to the wind but I do not think there is a team in Ireland that would say no to him.
As for the humiliation in 2003 & 2005 - we may have got over that by winning three out of the last four all-Irelands.
Post by: full back on December 06, 2007, 02:19:22 PM
Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on December 06, 2007, 02:15:55 PM
I got a Christmas present of the photo of Francis on the ground with Donaghy scoring the goal – a class photo.

Ah Jaysus, little pleases the innocent :'(
Post by: mackers on December 06, 2007, 02:46:48 PM
"Galvin was more sinned against than sinning in that incident from 2006". Are you sure SDC, don't you remember him throwing a water bottle at one of the Armagh players in the same incident, missing him and it ended up hitting somebody in the crowd? Why should John Toal not have been on the pitch?
You're right, though, it was a superb match with the O'Se's outstanding (unfortunately!!). Whatever about every other team wanting Galvin, ye are lucky to have those three!
I love these back handed compliments to Francie, people buying Christmas presents of him being beaten for a ball because it doesn't happen that often!!
Post by: red hander on December 06, 2007, 05:50:43 PM
I would have Galvin in the Tyrone team, no problem,  he's a cult (yes, I have spelt that right) hero, but youse Kerry men should take five minutes away from ripping off the tourists and get real. If he was playing for us or Armagh you'd be calling him all the ***** of the day...
Post by: Mike Sheehy on December 06, 2007, 06:23:52 PM
Quotebut youse Kerry men should take five minutes away from ripping off the tourists

Is there tourism in Tyrone....I mean, seriously, is there anything to see there at all besides the dreary steeples.

Any attractions other than Kieran Donaghys shrine and the road out of Tyrone ?
Post by: red hander on December 06, 2007, 07:58:32 PM
'Is there tourism in Tyrone....I mean, seriously, is there anything to see there at all besides the dreary steeples. '

Aye, trust youse free state sell-outs to quote a hoary oul warmonger like Winston Churchill.  Is the favourite past-time down there still interfering with friendly dolphins? :-*

Post by: Kerry Mike on December 06, 2007, 08:12:02 PM
QuoteIs the favourite past-time down there still interfering with friendly dolphins?

Yerra tis better than breeding killer dogs I suppose.
Post by: Puckoon on December 08, 2007, 02:03:07 AM
Quote from: hardstation on December 06, 2007, 06:29:14 PM
Ardboe alone is a huge tourist attraction.
It has the Aul Cross, Coyles' Cottage and the Airdrum. It used to have a tree that you stuck money in. I think Ballinderry GAC came along in the middle of the night and cut it down to buy new jerseys.

Anyway, Ardboe attracts about two tourists a year.

Gabriel going home and bringing the latest flame with him doesnt count as tourism hardstation... and leave funghi out of it, he must be a right age now, we used to go visit him in the early 90s.