GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: sam03/05 on October 19, 2007, 06:34:21 PM

Title: Paddy Bradley to get an allstar
Post by: sam03/05 on October 19, 2007, 06:34:21 PM
you heard it here first....
have it from a very good source
Title: Re: Paddy Bradley to get an allstar
Post by: inisceithleann on October 19, 2007, 06:42:30 PM
I have heard that today as well. Paddy has finally got one by all accounts.
Post by: inisceithleann on October 19, 2007, 06:46:36 PM
It could be rubbish but these awards are always leaked. McCloy at corner back as well from what i've heard.
Post by: ExiledGael on October 19, 2007, 07:30:34 PM
Pretty sure the other thread is spot on
Post by: new devil on October 19, 2007, 10:29:46 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on October 19, 2007, 07:30:34 PM

All his crying as finally paid off.
Post by: Balboa on October 19, 2007, 10:31:38 PM
Quote from: new devil on October 19, 2007, 10:29:46 PM

Another insightful post from the devil himself.......
Post by: Our Nail Loney on October 19, 2007, 10:49:48 PM
Was there a show on rte tonight? Just home from work here
Post by: new devil on October 19, 2007, 10:52:53 PM
Yea clarshack i agree..he didn't do much against dublin either
Post by: orangeman on October 19, 2007, 10:53:03 PM
I think Bradley had better years and got nothing - it shows clearly that the all stars are a load of shite, dominated  by southern based and biased Dublin media ! Stop buying the papers  !!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Balboa on October 19, 2007, 10:55:14 PM
Quote from: new devil on October 19, 2007, 10:52:53 PM

Correct devil, all he did was almost single handedly drag them back into the game in the 2nd half.
Post by: J70 on October 19, 2007, 10:55:44 PM
Quote from: new devil on October 19, 2007, 10:52:53 PM

As far as I recall he was excellent against Dublin.
Post by: orangeman on October 19, 2007, 10:59:19 PM
You're thinking of Eoin Bradley ??
Post by: new devil on October 19, 2007, 11:00:14 PM
Cant really argue i am only going on memory  :)
Post by: Balboa on October 19, 2007, 11:00:24 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 19, 2007, 10:59:19 PM
You're thinking of Eoin Bradley ??

No it was him that cost them them game due to his impression of Stevie Wonder
Post by: orangeman on October 19, 2007, 11:01:37 PM
Stevie Wonder ????? Missing the target or what ?
Post by: new devil on October 19, 2007, 11:02:35 PM
YES YES thats it orangeman.... eoin,i always get them 2 mixed up ;)
Post by: Balboa on October 19, 2007, 11:02:50 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 19, 2007, 11:01:37 PM
Stevie Wonder ????? Missing the target or what ?

Yes
Post by: new devil on October 19, 2007, 11:04:02 PM
What target??
Post by: orangeman on October 19, 2007, 11:05:37 PM
Class !!!!! Hill 16 was the target - I loved the way he took the shot, which was saved and he put his two hands into the air as if he were Jesus or some higher being, and urged the ball into the net !
Post by: Doire abú on October 20, 2007, 12:45:03 PM
Quote from: new devil on October 19, 2007, 10:29:46 PM

I'd love to know where Bradley gets this reputation for crying about not getting All Stars. He's never complained about it.
He has said in interviews when dirrectly asked about the issue that he was disappointed not to get one and never once said he should have gotten one. What was he supposed to do when asked? Say he wasn't disappointed?! Catch yourself on.
Also two years ago the Derry County Board complained to the All Star committee about his omission and I know for a fact he did not ask them to do that.

</rant>
Post by: ziggysego on October 20, 2007, 01:15:17 PM
Fair play to him. Don't think he deserved one this year, but he was over looked too many times. I guess what's saying is, what goes around comes around.
Post by: Jinxy on October 20, 2007, 01:51:38 PM
It's just like Scorsese and the Oscars.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 20, 2007, 02:00:32 PM
He has deserved an award in previous years, but not in 2007. This really was a case of it being 'his turn'.
It's all the more disgraceful because of the suspension that he never served at the start of the year and that still has not been dealt with. It's a shame - he's a great player, but this allstar is tainted.
Post by: orangeman on October 20, 2007, 03:58:08 PM
How come the suspension has not been dealt with ? I thougt he had served his time ?
Post by: Doire abú on October 20, 2007, 04:05:45 PM
He serves eight weeks of a suspension for something that didn't even warrant a yellow card, so there you go.

Also the games he played when you claim he should have been suspended were ten minutes against Antrim and the Monaghan game. I'm sure those two games did nothing to advance his All Star claim anyway, so its not as if it really mattered.
Post by: orangeman on October 20, 2007, 04:37:35 PM
But the suspension doesn't get in the way of an all star - imagine if he hadn't been suspended, he'd have played a lot more good footie !
Post by: Maguire01 on October 20, 2007, 05:13:00 PM
Quote from: Doire abú on October 20, 2007, 04:05:45 PM
He serves eight weeks of a suspension for something that didn't even warrant a yellow card, so there you go.
Well firstly, that's not your call. The case was upheld after appeal and only passed back to the Derry County board due to a technicality. An outside observer would probably think that it must have been more than a yellow card offence.

Also the games he played when you claim he should have been suspended were ten minutes against Antrim and the Monaghan game. I'm sure those two games did nothing to advance his All Star claim anyway, so its not as if it really mattered.
So are you admitting that it would have mattered had he done anything of note in those games?

Don't get me wrong, i think he's a great player and deserves an all-star. Just not in 2007.
Post by: gaagaa on October 20, 2007, 10:17:05 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 20, 2007, 05:13:00 PM
Well firstly, that's not your call. The case was upheld after appeal and only passed back to the Derry County board due to a technicality. An outside observer would probably think that it must have been more than a yellow card offence.

So are you admitting that it would have mattered had he done anything of note in those games?

Don't get me wrong, i think he's a great player and deserves an all-star. Just not in 2007.

My brother was at the game where he "allegedly" struck the ref - he said he only pointed to the scoreboard and touched him on the shoulder to attract his attention.  By all accounts the ref had a "little help" with putting together the report.  I'd agree he wasnt great for part of the year, but he was certainly more consistent than dara o'shea - and how many games did "star" shine in?

ALl star was overdue, though itll help mcgolderick motivate himself to mark him in county final in derry tomorrow.
Post by: Doire abú on October 21, 2007, 01:51:24 AM

"Not my call isn't much of an argument, I could just as easily say "Its not your call" regarding the All Star and then where would we be? I've talked to many spectators at the match including four people who would be the first to tell you they don't like Paddy Bradley at all. They all say it was a nothing incident where (as already mentioned) he taped the ref's shoulder to get his attention to point out the scoreboard to him.

So you're saying he shouldn't have got an All Star because he hypotheically could have played better in those two games (even though he didn't), which would in turn have tainted his nomination because he should've been suspended for them. i don't quite get your logic here.
Post by: OUR BOY on October 22, 2007, 01:45:50 PM
Firstly Paddy's suspension or non-suspension is irrelevant when it comes to all stars unlike pre 1990's when being suspended automatically ruled you out of all-star contention. Altough Paddy was probably not as good as previous years i would defy anyone who SAW Paddy against Armagh,Mayo,Laois and Dublin to tell me who deserved the full forward award more.He was at least very good (if not excellent againsr Dublin and Laois)in all these games. Even against Monaghan when Derry were totally outplayed out the field and there was virtually no ball (not to mention quality ball) played into the full-forward line he still managed to score 1-1 from play.Again i ask you to tell me who deserved the no 14 jersey more and why? 
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 22, 2007, 03:40:20 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 20, 2007, 02:00:32 PM
He has deserved an award in previous years, but not in 2007. This really was a case of it being 'his turn'.
It's all the more disgraceful because of the suspension that he never served at the start of the year and that still has not been dealt with. It's a shame - he's a great player, but this allstar is tainted.

a bit like the way Canavan incorrectly got one instead of the more deserving Brian McGuigan
or the one Kieran McKeever of Derry received when he had only an average season- but should have had a couple by that stage.

Bradley deserved one long ago, but while not being there for all the the championship games or matche fit and as effective as he usually is - he was as good as anyone else vying for the position