GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Guillem2 on October 10, 2007, 07:06:37 PM

Title: Hooligans plan trouble at GAA matches
Post by: Guillem2 on October 10, 2007, 07:06:37 PM
I saw this on the Down thread and I thought it should be seen by a wider audience. I watched the second half of the Down final at the weekend and there was a bit of trouble behind the goals between opposing supporters.
It now appears it was all planned.

This way out of order. The club is bound to know who these guys are - Longstone can't be that big. Get a few stewards behind the goals with hurleys and any signs of trouble at the replay -  knock the shite out of them.

http://www.bebo.com/Ultra-GAC (http://www.bebo.com/Ultra-GAC)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_MzEP-EoylQ (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_MzEP-EoylQ)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e1dSE05HhCg (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e1dSE05HhCg)
Title: Re: Hooligans plan trouble at GAA matches
Post by: Puckoon on October 10, 2007, 07:13:42 PM
Christ look at the age of them. One good thump from anyone and they'd all be home crying to their mammies.
Post by: Guillem2 on October 10, 2007, 07:15:04 PM
Well if you look at the video the steward thought they were causing enough trouble to throw one of them out. You can also see a bottle being thrown.

Zero tolerance of this shite is the only way IMO.
Post by: Puckoon on October 10, 2007, 07:16:04 PM
Well yes Guilliem, no doubt. Sunday afternoon shouldnt be ruined by wee feckers like that.
Post by: Lecale2 on October 10, 2007, 07:24:14 PM
Here's a shocking video of them at their work last May. Disgusting!

This has to be stopped before it gets completely out of hand.

This video is not suitable for anyone easily offended!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2BgbU-XJnws (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2BgbU-XJnws)

It will all end in tears anyway. Just ask the Bohemians Ultras who went to Derry.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7037422.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7037422.stm)
Post by: Lecale2 on October 10, 2007, 07:30:13 PM
I know! Shocking, isn't it? That's what they get up to at weekends in Longstone.  :-[
Post by: ExiledGael on October 10, 2007, 08:00:30 PM
Title of this thread sounds like the perfect headline for tomorrows Newsletter or Belfast Telegraph, suppose there's little chance of any of their staff snooping around here
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 10, 2007, 08:06:33 PM
QuoteTheir Club should have a word with them and warn them about their behaviour and that should be the end of it.
the PARENTS should have a word!

Hadn't we something like this before?
Is there some county that has tools like this, I remember it being discussed on here.
People objected to me saying they needed a good kicking.
Post by: Puckoon on October 10, 2007, 08:09:34 PM
The mothers would have a word, but by the time the get parked in the corner of safeway, get the groceries in the car, get the kids back  in (in the furthest corner of the car park), theres just no time.
Ive got a new phrase to replace "I blame the parents"

I blame Pintsofguinness
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 10, 2007, 08:11:57 PM
what did I do?   :(
Post by: Puckoon on October 10, 2007, 08:13:14 PM
You parked in the mother and kid spot. I dont know why  you need to shop anyway, dont you get a couple of good tight steaks delivered in foil once or twice a week!
Post by: ziggysego on October 10, 2007, 08:16:19 PM
They just look like a load of tosser.

Just look at them angrily and they'll piss themselves and go home.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 10, 2007, 08:17:48 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 10, 2007, 08:13:14 PM
You parked in the mother and kid spot. I dont know why  you need to shop anyway, dont you get a couple of good tight steaks delivered in foil once or twice a week!
I need sweets.
Post by: Blacksheep on October 11, 2007, 12:04:16 AM
That video Lecale posted of all the Ultras Morris drancing round the Longstone is the funniest f*cking thing I've seen in ages !!

:D :D :D
Post by: johnneycool on October 11, 2007, 08:38:50 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kM2irsdVzY8&mode=related&search= (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kM2irsdVzY8&mode=related&search=)

That JP from Longstone is also an ultra hard bastard, he can even smoke through his nose, I wouldn't like to meet him on a dark night.

Why Oh why do young lads that age let their younger sisters loose on their barnet with the peroxide? Did someone somewhere tell them it was cool?
Post by: The Police on October 11, 2007, 09:17:27 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 10, 2007, 08:16:19 PM
They just look like a load of tosser.

This is The Police

The sentence above does not make sense whatsoever.

I'm not here to cause trouble. On your way.
Post by: his holiness nb on October 11, 2007, 09:35:09 AM
The county with the "Ultras" was Mayo.
Gang of about 20-30 of them were at the Mayo / Dublin league game.
Now while they were only scrawny young lads and werent violent it was the soccer thug mentality that worried me.

They deliberatly stood right beside the crowd of Dubs behind the goal that day and as soon as the game started singing "f**k the dubs" while facing the Dublin fans and giving the fingers.
They continued with "go home, to your council flats" and "I'd rather be a pakkie than a Dub" among others.
Although there was no violence, it came very close on a few occasions as some of the Dubs started to get sick of the abuse.
I moved the missus back up the stand out of the way as I felt something could genuinely happen.

These longstone lads are obviously stupid young lads too, but lets not fob this attitude off totally, unless zero tolerance is used, its only a matter of time before we see fighting in the stands at one of our games.
A tiny, tiny minority, but tell that to the media!
Post by: Gnevin on October 11, 2007, 09:58:13 AM
This longstone place looks like a failed experiment. They all look like idiots
Post by: Tubberman on October 11, 2007, 10:53:04 AM
QuoteThe county with the "Ultras" was Mayo.
Gang of about 20-30 of them were at the Mayo / Dublin league game.
Now while they were only scrawny young lads and werent violent it was the soccer thug mentality that worried me.

They deliberatly stood right beside the crowd of Dubs behind the goal that day and as soon as the game started singing "f**k the dubs" while facing the Dublin fans and giving the fingers.
They continued with "go home, to your council flats" and "I'd rather be a pakkie than a Dub" among others.
Although there was no violence, it came very close on a few occasions as some of the Dubs started to get sick of the abuse.
I moved the missus back up the stand out of the way as I felt something could genuinely happen.

These longstone lads are obviously stupid young lads too, but lets not fob this attitude off totally, unless zero tolerance is used, its only a matter of time before we see fighting in the stands at one of our games.
A tiny, tiny minority, but tell that to the media!

And the Mayo Cult died a very quick death. There hasn't been sight nor sound of them since that game. It's just a gang of spotty 15 year olds. Obviously not something that can be tolerated, and it might be slightly worrying, but I don't think it's a major issue for the GAA
Post by: Silky on October 11, 2007, 12:11:53 PM
These young lads look really cool in a dark menacing sort of way. The dancing round the Longstone reminds me of that film "Wicker Man".
Post by: his holiness nb on October 11, 2007, 03:42:09 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on October 11, 2007, 10:53:04 AM
And the Mayo Cult died a very quick death. There hasn't been sight nor sound of them since that game.

Thats cause there hasnt been sight nor sound of Mayo since that game  :D :D :D
Seriously though, thats good news.
Post by: Tubberman on October 11, 2007, 04:27:47 PM
QuoteThats cause there hasnt been sight nor sound of Mayo since that game   

Touché!  :D
Don't worry - we'll be back to break ye're hearts some sunny Sunday again  ;)

As a wise man once said "Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." 
He was surely talking about Mayo....  :)

Post by: his holiness nb on October 11, 2007, 06:36:25 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on October 11, 2007, 04:27:47 PM
Don't worry - we'll be back to break ye're hearts some sunny Sunday again  ;)

Now that I dont doubt!
Post by: orangeman on October 11, 2007, 06:38:24 PM
A few wee slaps will sort all this out ! But not too hard !
Post by: his holiness nb on October 11, 2007, 06:49:57 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 11, 2007, 06:38:24 PM
A few wee slaps will sort all this out ! But not too hard !

I agree, but the danger is the few wee slaps will be at the wrong time, like in front of BBC cameras!
Post by: orangeman on October 11, 2007, 09:20:25 PM
BBC cameras at a GAA match ? Never !
Post by: Bacon on October 11, 2007, 09:45:17 PM
I know that this carry on has been brought to the attention of the Down County Board. Longstone have been warned to sort it out. Committee members will be visiting household tonight and tomorrow. Parents will be reminded of their responsibilities. This is bringing discredit upon the Association.

Even poor Morris dancing like that brings disgrace on our county and the entire Association. They have been formally warned and I am sure there will be no repetition.
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on October 11, 2007, 10:28:47 PM
Is this the Longstone scor team? Typical Down, not addressing the real issues.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2BgbU-XJnws (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2BgbU-XJnws)

Excellent Lecale2!!  :D :D
Post by: his holiness nb on October 12, 2007, 09:58:57 AM
Quote from: orangeman on October 11, 2007, 09:20:25 PM
BBC cameras at a GAA match ? Never !

:D :D :D :D :D
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on October 12, 2007, 01:52:15 PM
This behaviour ought to be brought to the attention of their parents and the Parish Priest. They should try a good talking to before slaps are considered.
That dancing might not be at Longstone in South Down but it does look like the stone itself and the man with his hanky hanging out looks very like Emmett Haughian.
Post by: Pietas on October 12, 2007, 02:51:05 PM
Just getting back to those Mayo idiots, the funniest thing was their webpage on Bebo which targetted Parnell Park for their next trouble making exercise.

There were three things wrong with that assertion.

(i) Dublin wont be playing Mayo in Parnell Park next year, not competitively anyway.

(ii) Its a bad idea for visiting fans to cause trouble in Parnell Park.

(ii) It's an even worse idea to let the Dubs know you're coming!
Post by: full back on October 12, 2007, 02:55:22 PM
Quote from: Aristotle Flynn on October 12, 2007, 01:52:15 PM
This behaviour ought to be brought to the attention of their parents and the Parish Priest. They should try a good talking to before slaps are considered.
That dancing might not be at Longstone in South Down but it does look like the stone itself and the man with his hanky hanging out looks very like Emmett Haughian.

I honestly dont believe it would make one iota of difference what the PP's said to not only the ones involved but to the majority of under 18's nowadays. Many of them dont attend mass (excluding A4SA, he hasnt been about in a while - any word) and have little or no respect for priests
Post by: Gnevin on October 12, 2007, 02:57:07 PM
Quote from: Pietas on October 12, 2007, 02:51:05 PM
Just getting back to those Mayo idiots, the funniest thing was their webpage on Bebo which targetted Parnell Park for their next trouble making exercise.

There were three things wrong with that assertion.

(i) Dublin wont be playing Mayo in Parnell Park next year, not competitively anyway.

(ii) Its a bad idea for visiting fans to cause trouble in Parnell Park.

(ii) It's an even worse idea to let the Dubs know you're coming!

Cause trouble in Parnell Park the place is tiny! They must just want their heads kicked in. Is it only the Dubs they hate?
Post by: Pietas on October 12, 2007, 03:01:51 PM
I think self-laothing is the real problem here.
Post by: orangeman on October 12, 2007, 03:15:24 PM
Do these boys not know what the Love Ulster boys got last year when they went to cause trouble in Dublin ?
Post by: AZOffaly on October 12, 2007, 03:52:33 PM
Don't be silly orangeman. What the the 'Love Ulster boys get'? They sat up in their buses playing their drums while scumbags ran amok on the main street of our capital city throwing blocks and weapons at *our* gardai, looting shops and burning out cars. Is that something to be proud of, or are you insinuating that GAA fans should/would behave like that?
Post by: Louth Exile on October 12, 2007, 03:53:28 PM
Quote from: Bacon on October 11, 2007, 09:45:17 PM
I know that this carry on has been brought to the attention of the Down County Board. Longstone have been warned to sort it out. Committee members will be visiting household tonight and tomorrow. Parents will be reminded of their responsibilities.

Proper order. I know they are just a bunch of 15 year old numbnuts but as HHNB has already pointed out, its this soccer mentality that you don't want to see creeping into our organisation. The media would be only to happy to pick up on something like this (I don't want to reopen the other debate on this thread, but yes it would be the type of coverage UTV would give to the GAA). I watched most of this match the other evening when it was rerun on Setanta. I would imagine that they use TG4's coverage (easytiger or gaa beo would know) and even their cameras were giving these guys a fair bit of attention.

I know that if some little shits within my own club decided to start up their own wee ultra wing..... well lets just say that our 'commitee' would make sure that these boys didn't show their faces and of our club games  ;)

They weren't obviously bothered about giving away their identites when you look through the bebo page. Also looked at the other vids that they put up on you tube. They have one which clearly shows one of their houses (nice looking house too!) http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=Dkkejs4yfG0

Now I know nothing about longstone, but going by the names of players mentioned in commentary on Setanta the other evening in the full rerun and names appearing on the bebo site, all these little gobshites appear to be connected to the club. If the club has any cop on they will sort it out.
Post by: Colonel Cool on October 13, 2007, 09:00:54 AM
Quote from: Aristotle Flynn on October 12, 2007, 01:52:15 PM
Emmett Haughian morris dancing!!  :D :D :D

I'd say the Stone committee will be on the ball this weekend and there will be no repeat of last weeks carry on. The headline on this thread is way over the top IMO.
Post by: southdown on October 13, 2007, 10:22:21 PM
I am from Longstone, that video Lecale put up is not Longstone, the english accents might be a give away!  This whole thing is been blown way out of proporortion.  This bebo page has been on the go for ages, and as far as I know it was just a bit of craic among school kids.  If any of you have actually been to one of our matches you will have seen that these lads always stand in the same place at every game. It just so happened that a small fight between 2 or 3 lads at a big game.  Even more, the video shows a mayobridge lad been thrown out, yet its Longstone who are getting slated here.  This has been highly exagerated, nobody who was at the game can honestly say the incident was major.

At the same time this cant be defended, they have completely shamed our club, pack of absolute idiots.
Post by: Tankie on October 14, 2007, 03:51:37 AM
its hard to believe that there are scumbags outside dublin!!! wat next, other counties have loads of fair weatjer fans to???? why give these gob shites the time by discussing their shitty site!
Post by: Bacon on October 14, 2007, 01:06:32 PM
Quote from: southdown on October 13, 2007, 10:22:21 PM
I am from Longstone, that video Lecale put up is not Longstone, the english accents might be a give away! 

If it's not Longstone why is Emmett Haughian there?   ???  It certainly looks like Longstone to me.
Post by: Louth Exile on October 14, 2007, 08:18:15 PM
Well, was there any bother at the game this week??
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 14, 2007, 08:29:05 PM
Quoteits hard to believe that there are scumbags outside dublin!!!
I don't think there's any comparison between kids acting hard and drugs being passed around on the hill. 
Post by: Sky Blue on October 15, 2007, 09:23:21 PM
Was there any bother from the Ultras at the replay? Who is this guy Haughian and why does he organise these strange dances?
Post by: his holiness nb on October 16, 2007, 10:11:23 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 14, 2007, 08:29:05 PM
I don't think there's any comparison between kids acting hard and drugs being passed around on the hill. 

Passed around?
I heard of the drugs in the jacks and some knackers taking them on the hill, but never seen them "passed around".
Its only a small minority of scum pints, its not like we are all waiting for a toke!
Post by: Snowed Under on October 16, 2007, 01:03:35 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on October 16, 2007, 10:11:23 AM

Passed around?
I heard of the drugs in the jacks and some knackers taking them on the hill, but never seen them "passed around".
Its only a small minority of scum pints, its not like we are all waiting for a toke!

Ah just in the toliets and standing taking them on the hill - sure thats alright then!
Post by: Gnevin on October 16, 2007, 01:05:36 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on October 16, 2007, 01:03:35 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on October 16, 2007, 10:11:23 AM

Passed around?

Ah just in the toliets and standing taking them on the hill - sure thats alright then!
We had this discussion 10 times already if you really feel the need to flog this dead horse look it up , otherwise can we get back to the scum bags from Mayo and Down who are threatening to ruin the Association?

Or least the great atmosphere that cant be experienced at GAA games .
Post by: his holiness nb on October 16, 2007, 01:07:18 PM
Snowed Under, yes that alright then.
Thats why I called them both knackers and scum in my post, because I dont think they are doing anything wrong  ;)
Post by: Snowed Under on October 16, 2007, 01:14:09 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on October 16, 2007, 01:07:18 PM
Thats why I called them both knackers and scum in my post, because I dont think they are doing anything wrong  ;)

I just find it hard to understand why you have to jump to defend the notion that they are being passed around.  Surely the fact that they are present at all is the issue; I also find it hard to believe that a group taking them on the hill wouldn't pass them around among themselves.
Post by: his holiness nb on October 16, 2007, 01:25:13 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on October 16, 2007, 01:14:09 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on October 16, 2007, 01:07:18 PM

I just find it hard to understand why you have to jump to defend the notion that they are being passed around.  Surely the fact that they are present at all is the issue; I also find it hard to believe that a group taking them on the hill wouldn't pass them around among themselves.

Eh, I wasnt defended the notion I was rejecting it  :o
The fact that they are present at all IS an issue, and I fully condemn it, but this thread is not about that, so let it go or start a seperate thread about it.

And a group of 2-3 guys handing a joint to the guy beside him hardly constitutes them being "passed around the hill", this would suggest theres a whole lot more people involved.

As a regular on the hill I can say this does not happen.

Now can we get back to the hooligans??  ::)
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on October 16, 2007, 06:09:49 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on October 16, 2007, 01:25:13 PM

Look they aren't hooligans. They're just a group of young lads who like to dance around the Longstone to entertain English tourists. There's no harm in them.
Post by: orangeman on October 16, 2007, 07:05:18 PM
Did the parish priest visit their houses do you know ?
Post by: Tankie on October 16, 2007, 07:13:05 PM
Quote from: SouthArmaghBandit on October 16, 2007, 06:09:49 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on October 16, 2007, 01:25:13 PM

Look they aren't hooligans. They're just a group of young lads who like to dance around the Longstone to entertain English tourists. There's no harm in them.

Would they not come under the term Scumbags?????