GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: GalwayBayBoy on October 09, 2007, 10:40:11 PM

Title: Pete Finnerty to coach Mayo hurlers
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 09, 2007, 10:40:11 PM
From Mayo News:

GALWAY hurling legend Pete Finnerty is set to join the Mayo hurling management team ahead of their 2008 campaign.
The two time All-Ireland Senior hurling winner and five time All Star was confirmed as the coach to the Mayo senior hurlers last week. He will join manager Westport's Martin Brennan and trainer Ray McNamara in a three man team.
Finnerty, who made his name at right-half back on the All-Ireland winning Galway teams of 1987 and '88, will come on board with Brennan and McNamara, who were involved in the same positions last year.
Jimmy Martin and Stephen Broderick are no longer selectors however.
Mayo will play in Division 2 of the National Hurling League next year and Finnerty's presence within the Mayo camp is likely to lead to drive for league honours.
They will play in the Connacht League and the Leinster based Keogh Cup prior to commencing National League action.
Finnerty (43), from Mullagh near Ballinasloe, is a businessman based in Tuam. He owns the Supermac's franchise in the town. He was right-half back on the swashbuckling Galway half-back line that also contained Tony Keady and Gerry McInerney.
Finnerty has been a hurling analyst on RTÉ's The Sunday Game for several years as well as writing a weekly hurling column with The Sunday Independent
Title: Re: Pete Finnerty to coach Mayo hurlers
Post by: stephenite on October 10, 2007, 10:43:39 AM
Good to have a big name appointment - hopefully the powers that be will give the new manager and his players the support they deserve, unlike the shameful treatment dished out to Browne, counting sliotars and setting limits on the number of the training sessions they are allowed etc.
Post by: theskull1 on October 10, 2007, 11:14:22 AM
Quote from: stephenite on October 10, 2007, 10:43:39 AM
Good to have a big name appointment - hopefully the powers that be will give the new manager and his players the support they deserve, unlike the shameful treatment dished out to Browne, counting sliotars and setting limits on the number of the training sessions they are allowed etc.

Surely that is a joke stephenite ??? ??? Are they that bare faced?

How come they've got Finnerty to come in if this is how they've treated previous regimes?
Post by: the ship on October 10, 2007, 03:01:35 PM
if i was to tel you some of the strokes the mayo football board get up to when it comes to hurling, i would be here for a week and probably thrown off the board.l

some of the people behind the scenes in mayo hurling at the moment are quite wealthy im told, so thats where the money must be coming from to pay finnerty, as all money earned by the hurlers is diverted to footbal activities.
l   
Post by: Bord na Mona man on October 10, 2007, 03:22:16 PM
Quote from: the ship on October 10, 2007, 03:01:35 PM
if i was to tel you some of the strokes the mayo football board get up to when it comes to hurling, i would be here for a week and probably thrown off the board.l

some of the people behind the scenes in mayo hurling at the moment are quite wealthy im told, so thats where the money must be coming from to pay finnerty, as all money earned by the hurlers is diverted to footbal activities.
l   
Maybe someone from outside the county and with a bit of profile would be more capable of ensuring hurling doesn't get shafted.

Post by: slow corner back on October 10, 2007, 08:35:25 PM
Good to see someone in Mayo is taking hurling seriously, best of luck to Pete Finnerty one of my all time favourite players
Post by: Gnevin on October 11, 2007, 09:46:46 AM

l   

Well that's a waste anyway :P .

Good to seen the efforts being put in to drive Hurling forward .
Post by: the ship on October 11, 2007, 02:29:45 PM

Maybe someone from outside the county and with a bit of profile would be more capable of ensuring hurling doesn't get shafted.

do you think Finnerty is coming just out of love for mayo hurling?, i doubt it all thats bringing him is pounds shilling and pence, and as to
an outsider ensuring that hurling wont get shafted, may i just mention the name of Micky Moran who got them to a football final and look what happened him.
Post by: GY Joe on October 11, 2007, 04:15:27 PM

l   

Go on ship tell us!!

I slag Mayo men every day. Many of them look at hurling as a foreign sport altogether so their county boards attitude does not surprise me...
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 11, 2007, 09:50:02 PM
I want to wish Pete Finnerty the best in the role. I'd love to see the Mayo hurlers playing at a higher level than they are at. However, GY Joe makes a good point about the attitude of Mayo people in general towards hurling. I will be the first to admit that I've heard Mayo people actually call hurling a foreign sport and that they would actually prefer to watch soccer/rugby than hurling. It's sad but true.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on October 12, 2007, 09:12:56 AM
Quote from: GY Joe on October 11, 2007, 04:15:27 PM
Go on ship tell us!!

I slag Mayo men every day. Many of them look at hurling as a foreign sport altogether so their county boards attitude does not surprise me...
It's always disappointing to hear that sort of nonsense from GAA people.
From both hurling and football people towards the other code.
The motto seems to be, if you aren't successful at the other sport, then sneer at it.
Some people seem to wear their ignorance and contempt for hurling/football as some sort of badge of pride!
Post by: Bord na Mona man on October 12, 2007, 09:22:49 AM
Quote from: the ship on October 11, 2007, 02:29:45 PMdo you think Finnerty is coming just out of love for mayo hurling?, i doubt it all thats bringing him is pounds shilling and pence, and as to
an outsider ensuring that hurling wont get shafted, may i just mention the name of Micky Moran who got them to a football final and look what happened him.
If Finnerty goes to Mayo and is continually having the rug pulled from under him, it is far easier for him to blow the whistle and expose it.
He is not from the county, so upsetting Mayo county board officials won't damage him in the long term.
He is on the tv and in the papers and is bound to mention how he finds things in Mayo.
The last thing Mayo should want is to have their dodgy dealings with hurling exposed nationally and I'd expect them to be shamed into improving things.
Post by: scalder on October 12, 2007, 01:26:44 PM
Name and shame lads - if the Mayo board are undermining hurling it needs to exposed. Now this is an issue for the GPA but where are they on this??

I beleive that hurling has grown in the county but thats its inspite of the board - Connacht needs a meaningful championship and it would be great if Mayo could rise to the challange!
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on October 12, 2007, 01:41:19 PM
Good move by Mayo and all the best to Pete and the Mayo hurling boys.

Hopefully in a few years you'll be good enough to join us Antrim boys in the fourteenth preliminary round of the McCarthy Cup (a bitter Antrim man ;)
Post by: the ship on October 12, 2007, 04:26:28 PM
there is not doubt that hurling has grown in mayo in the last 10 years, we have 6 senior clubs which all have juvenile clubs plus  in the last number of years juvenile clubs have been started in claremorris, ballyvary and moytura (ballinrobe) this is in spite of all the roadblocks put in our way.
so while we will never be in the same league as the galways, kilkennys of this world we can still aspire to be at least at the top level of christy ring and who knows if a special bunch of hurlers came along together we might give the higher counties a rattle for a few years.
but the harsh realities of life in a football county is you spend most of your energies fighting to keep the sport alive as opposed to moving it on to a higher plain and when the people who could really help you don't give a toss you are fighting a losing battle.   
Post by: slow corner back on October 12, 2007, 06:04:07 PM
Quote from: the ship on October 12, 2007, 04:26:28 PM
there is not doubt that hurling has grown in mayo in the last 10 years, we have 6 senior clubs which all have juvenile clubs plus  in the last number of years juvenile clubs have been started in claremorris, ballyvary and moytura (ballinrobe) this is in spite of all the roadblocks put in our way.
so while we will never be in the same league as the galways, kilkennys of this world we can still aspire to be at least at the top level of christy ring and who knows if a special bunch of hurlers came along together we might give the higher counties a rattle for a few years.
but the harsh realities of life in a football county is you spend most of your energies fighting to keep the sport alive as opposed to moving it on to a higher plain and when the people who could really help you don't give a toss you are fighting a losing battle.   

Just ask the hurlers of Down, The portaferry PRO was giving off stink about how the down board acted in relation to the changes to the hurling format two weeks ago. It relegated down to div 2 and the Down county board voted in favour of it!!!
Post by: heurebag on October 16, 2007, 04:52:11 PM
i hear finerty is gonna bring with him johnny mc intyre for metal side of trainin
Post by: billy the kid on November 09, 2007, 02:19:43 PM
I think the GPA should be ashamed of themselves they are undermining everything the GAA stands for.  What they are asking for is Pay for |Play dressed up in fancy clothes.

They are an elitist Organisation who are only concerned with themselves and I firmly believe its a case of a few leading the many.

Don't get me wrong i totally agree with players being treated well and looked after if they get injured but they are always looking for more and more.

Currently every season inter-county players in Derry get:

2 pairs of boots
2 full kits a season,
2 full sets of training gear. (1 wet and 1 normal)
1 rain jacket
1 zip up top
1 jumper
2 polo shirts
1 tracksuit
Home training Equipment
Free access to state of the art gym

All the above are official Derry gear from O neills with emblems and crests and this is only the gear I KNOW FOR CERTAIN they get!

Also they have access to a top class physio, team doctor dietician and heart screening facilities.

they receive meals after ALL games and on the way to away games

they get fed after every training

and they also get VERY GOOD rebates on their mileage expenses.

Again these are jut the things i KNOW FOR CERTAIN!!

for each national league game they receive 4 passes each allowing friends and family to gain admission to the games for FREE and the passes can be used for both hurling and football even if only involved in one code.

They receive at least 2 and sometimes more FREE tickets for ALL championship matches they are involved in

They receive 2 good tickets for the all Ireland final in their code (hurling or football) for FREE

Before the club championship begins they receive a pass allowing them to gain FREE entry to ALL championship matches within the county in EITHER code at ANY level

The above list was given to me when I asked a PRESENT COUNTY PLAYER from our club about conditions at inter-county level.

I don't think anyone would begrudge them these things as the gear and medical farcicalities are a MUST and so are the mileage expenses and the meals.

The other stuff are added perks and again I would say Just right they are training very hard and giving a big commitment to Our County.

Looking at the list I would say our county players are fairly well looked after wouldn't you? And this is just the example of our county alot of other counties like Armagh and Tyrone get even more gear and perks which again is fair enough.

But to ask for money and to make out that they are so hard done by and listening to some of their leaders you'd think some were hardly fit to feed themselves and on the way to financial ruin is an absolute myth and border line lie!! Nobodies making them play!!!

What ever happened to being proud to play for your county and pride in the jersey? That used to be enough to make people play for their counties.

Has Pride and honour fallen of the radar of the GPA in their obsession with self-worth and self-gain.
If pride in the jersey and being honoured to represent your County plus the list i have supplied aren't enough to make individuals play for OUR county teams do we really want them to? The type of character who would undermine the very fabric of our great organisation to line his own pockets.   

I was also informed by the County player from my own Club that most county players don't want to strike but are being openly pressurised to do so. Is this Democracy?

Its also evident the GPA are so far removed from the grassroots GAA and the supporters that they haven't noticed that the vast majority are strongly against it, but why would they listen to us mere mortals?

Down Manager Ross Carr has the right idea:

If these prima donnas strike and refuse to play Each County should find a panel of players who will represent their counties for pride honour and the other perks i listed. There would be a stampede to trials and it would totally negate the strike and render their actions futile and meaningless.

We cannot let the elitist few hold the rest of us to ransom while they try to gain financially for doing what most TRUE Gaels consider an Honour and a privilege – PLAY FOR YOUR COUNTY  
Post by: mrroscommonman on November 15, 2007, 05:14:06 PM
haha wat a joke da footballers are bad but dder hurlers anre 100000000000000 times worse!!!!!
Post by: billy the kid on November 15, 2007, 05:20:29 PM
What you on about??
Post by: Bord na Mona man on November 16, 2007, 11:12:20 AM
Any update on how Finnerty might be approaching things.
He should organise a few "clear the air" rows with the county board to make his mark!
Post by: tayto on November 16, 2007, 11:28:22 AM
Quote from: the ship on October 12, 2007, 04:26:28 PM

I read recently that Mayo has doubled it's playing population in the last X [cant remember if it's five or ten] number of years. It'd be great to see the likes of Mayo emerge as a genuine dual county, Pissed off to hear about the county board but sadly not all that surprised, someone should get Paudie Butler on the case, part of his brief is to make sure hurling funding goes to hurling and that co boards dont shaft hurling development.
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on November 16, 2007, 12:29:40 PM
If the County Board try shafting Finnerty, I predict that the chariman will require extraction from the plasterboard wall in McHale Park  :D Legend up our way, a hard man and loves his hurling. If his enthusiasm doesnt rub off, theres no hope for them.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on November 16, 2007, 02:03:42 PM
Quote from: MaroonAndWhite on November 16, 2007, 12:29:40 PM
If the County Board try shafting Finnerty, I predict that the chariman will require extraction from the plasterboard wall in McHale Park  :D Legend up our way, a hard man and loves his hurling. If his enthusiasm doesnt rub off, theres no hope for them.
Your spot on there M&W in relation to Finnerty.  Never played against him in the auld hurling but had the pleasure of "trying" to put manners on him when he was togging for Tuam RFC.  He was one hard, stubborn bas***d. A legend though and I'd expect him to rattle a few cages in the Mayo CC if they try and mess with any of his preperations next year.  Really hope it works out for him and Mayo hurling continues to make progress both within the county and on the national stage.
Post by: mannix on November 16, 2007, 02:52:33 PM
Well done to Mayo on landing a good manager. A lot of work needed all over, but, its not now,rather in the next 10-15 years if the youth movement is done right that you will see Mayo become a bit of a pain for the big boys.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on December 03, 2007, 10:25:30 AM
Quote from: mannix on November 16, 2007, 02:52:33 PM
Well done to Mayo on landing a good manager. A lot of work needed all over, but, its not now,rather in the next 10-15 years if the youth movement is done right that you will see Mayo become a bit of a pain for the big boys.
Fair play to Mayo if they do make genuine strides.
It is a county that would have seemed hostile to hurling, as they are so desperate for football success.
A few more football only counties need to start moving in the same direction.
Post by: neilthemac on December 03, 2007, 07:25:08 PM
its some of the football officers in county mayo and provincial quarters who are hostile to hurling, in a huge way.

most people would play anything if given the chance - especially children

its not the fact they are just increasing playing numbers in Mayo which is impressive, but the actual formation and running of new clubs in football areas which draw players from 3/4 surrounding football clubs. just getting the people to push these clubs is a huge achievement

its organised this way to get around the daft rule the Mayo board insist on enforcing in relation to players from one club playing hurling with another who also have a football team...
Post by: spectator on December 03, 2007, 08:23:34 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 09, 2007, 10:40:11 PM

Mayo will play in Division 2 of the National Hurling League next year and Finnerty's presence within the Mayo camp is likely to lead to drive for league honours.
They will play in the Connacht League and the Leinster based Keogh Cup prior to commencing National League action.

It seems looking in from the outside that some sound, understated hurling development has been taking place in Mayo for quite a while. With little or no fuss, progress has been made from a position where there were very few hurling clubs to one where there now seems to be a good spread of clubs.

Not uncoincidentally I suspect, the senior team has made great progress too & now almost rival Ros as regards the number of established clubs & level they can compete at. With the right approach, you'd have to say that Mayo has the population to push on & become a reasonably credible dual county.

Given the opposition to hurling in the county - eg. treatment of FrankBrowne & Mayo senior hurlers etc - can any of the Mayo lads posting here give an outline of how ye've gotten to this stage? I get the sense of hurling development being carried in a very sensible, low key, sustainable way in spite the stated county board 'spanners in the works' etc.

How is it happening on the ground? What's the blueprint in Mayo?
Post by: ludermor on December 04, 2007, 01:52:41 PM
Martin Linnane (Sylvie's brother) set up a club in Belmullet about 15 years ago ( may be more) and within a couple of years they were challenging for honors and have a steady representation on county teams. It is some achievement for him ( and others I'm sure) as the nearest hurling club at the time would have been 2 hours drive away.
Post by: neilthemac on December 04, 2007, 06:48:46 PM
the full time Hurling Officer in the county seems to drives most of the development

Post by: muppet on January 07, 2008, 01:26:26 AM
This thread seems to give the impression that there is widescale opposition to hurling in Mayo, there isn't.

Fair enough there is antipathy from the CB and downright hostility from the odd high profile Gaa person in the county. There is also a lot of ignorance among the wider Mayo Gaa fraternity but there is huge work being done by devoted hurling people and we were only just a few minutes away from playing Dublin to get into Div one last year (minus our only Railway Cup player at the time).

Certainly most of the Mayo Gaa supporters aren't taking much notice but don't confuse that for opposition.
Post by: mannix on January 08, 2008, 05:12:45 PM
you would be surprised how many people follow the hurlers fortunes, Mayo are moving in the right direction.
Post by: tayto on January 08, 2008, 06:29:03 PM
Good stuff, It's some craic following both codes, anyone who dosent is missing out on half the fun!
Post by: Onlooker on January 08, 2008, 08:05:35 PM
Well said Tayto, I agree 100%.  Would be great to see the return of the dual player at county level.
Post by: stephenite on January 08, 2008, 11:58:25 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on January 08, 2008, 08:05:35 PM
Well said Tayto, I agree 100%.  Would be great to see the return of the dual player at county level.

Would he get two grants? :P
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 24, 2008, 08:34:53 PM
Any Mayo hurling fans contribute to the site? Anyway I was wondering what Finnerty would think of his early (January) form, they won one game and lost two, all by narrow margins and all against college teams. First league game is against Wicklow AFAIK on the 10th of February and I'm sure the players would have benefitted from those games anyway, despite not winning them.
Post by: orangeman on February 10, 2008, 01:24:34 AM
How's Pete getting on anyway ?
Post by: highking on February 10, 2008, 11:24:38 AM
All going well in the Mayo camp afaik. Today will tell if theres any improvement against Wicklow. However, a five hour early morning bus journey to Arklow is hardly the ideal start. Many of the players went up last night and stayed in Dublin. Ger Whyte is supposed to be playing for Wicklow today so there could be sparks.
Post by: slow corner back on February 10, 2008, 05:14:45 PM
Wicklow won by two. Wicklow have improved recently and from the radio reports it was quite a good match
Post by: stevecw on February 10, 2008, 10:01:23 PM
That was good effort by Mayo today. As far as i know they led for a good part of that game. Not bad v a team that got to the Div 2 league final last year.
3rd place in that division should be the aim for Mayo as id say Westmeath & Wicklow should be top 2. Tough enough division all the same with Kildare & Kerry there too. Roscommon should end up bottom. Seems that 2A is lot tougher than 2B. Any of 5 teams could top 2A. Only Down, Carlow & Meath would have a chance in 2B id reckon.
Post by: neilthemac on February 10, 2008, 11:41:14 PM
QuoteRoscommon should end up bottom

I'll put my money on Roscommon to beat Kerry and Mayo
Post by: Bord na Mona man on February 11, 2008, 02:39:07 PM
Wicklow beat Leix in last year's league, so they are one of the better Division 2 sides.
Hopefully this performance is a sign of progress from Mayo.
Post by: the ship on February 14, 2008, 09:12:48 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on February 10, 2008, 11:41:14 PM
QuoteRoscommon should end up bottom

I'll put my money on Roscommon to beat Kerry and Mayo

roscommon are miles behind mayo the mayo junior team would be roscommon
Post by: neilthemac on February 15, 2008, 12:03:12 PM
Quoteroscommon are miles behind mayo the mayo junior team would be roscommon

evidence?
Post by: the ship on February 17, 2008, 05:04:13 PM
obviously you dont follow the hurling scene
Post by: heineken_on_tap on February 18, 2008, 03:08:05 PM
Quote from: the ship on February 17, 2008, 05:04:13 PM
obviously you dont follow the hurling scene

I think you should do a little research ship before making stupid statements - It is obvious Mayo have made great strides over the last few years in hurling and Ros(while been successful in Nicky Rackard - a competition they were too strong for) have gone backwards a bit - at the present stage I dont think there is actually much between the two teams. I would say the loser of this match will be the team that gets relegated.. However your asseration Mayo junior team would be Roscommon shows your hurling knowledge is weak to say the least

And then neilthemac asks you to provide a few basic stats to back up your views and you cant .................which doesnt surprise me
Post by: Son_of_Sam on February 18, 2008, 03:59:19 PM
Who was Pete calling a small county the last night. I know his here for the hurling but come on  ???
Post by: neilthemac on February 18, 2008, 05:19:10 PM
Yeah, Roscommon may not be world beaters but when was the last time Mayo beat Ros in hurling at Senior county or U21 or minor level? Didn't Roscommon relegate Mayo to Division 3 a few years ago in a winner takes all game??

come back to me when you find the answers
Post by: highking on February 18, 2008, 10:41:08 PM
Last Senior Meeting - Conacht Hurling Cup Shield Final 2007 - Mayo Won
Last Senior Championship Meeting - CRC Relegation 2004 - Ross won
Last U21 Meeting - Connacht U21B Final 2005 - Mayo Won
(Didnt meet in 2007 as Mayo team was withdrawn)
(Didnt meet in 2006 as Ross withdrew)
Last U18 Meeting - Havent met in recent years AFAIK

Roscommon should be better than Mayo as they have a better club championship and a larger player base. There is little at the moment between the sides, but Ross are rebuilding due to the retirement/departure of many of their players.

Post by: the ship on February 21, 2008, 06:46:33 PM
mayo club champions have also been continuallly beating roscommon champions over the last number of years and my friend heinken i did not consider those remarks stupid nor is my knowledge of hurling weak in my opinion.
Post by: neilthemac on February 21, 2008, 07:10:07 PM
Mayo couldn't field a team at U21 last year? from the whole county?

Post by: highking on February 21, 2008, 11:10:12 PM
Mayo had a very strong team last year (nearly all the AI U21B finalists from 2006 were underage again), but there was no management put in place by the county board. A few of the older players attempted to prepare the team, but the County Board made the decision to concede the semi-final against Roscommon. Poor county officers was the cause of it. In fact the U21 hurling championship was played for the first time last year, in which four clubs took part. U21 hurling has never been as strong in Mayo. Lets hope the one man hurling board has time to make a few calls this year and get an U21 management in place.
Post by: neilthemac on February 22, 2008, 12:14:08 AM
yeah. cause Roscommon won that competition out. they could have done with another game
Post by: Bord na Mona man on February 25, 2008, 12:32:05 AM
Prenty slams hurling loan system
22 February 2008

Connacht Council secretary John Prenty has criticised the ruling that allows hurlers to be loaned out to weaker counties.

In a system that echoes soccer loan moves, non-traditional counties are permitted to borrow hurlers who are surplus to requirement in the more established counties. Prenty is adamant that the policy is in no way beneficial to the weaker counties:

"These fly-by-nights are being entertained under the tenuous logic that they will promote the game at intercounty level.

"How can a player who is just passing through - who has no contact with a club within a county - be more valuable than a young player who has been nurtured by his club, who has an ambition to play for his county?

"This player has to look on as he sees one third of his county team populated by players with no allegiance to the county they play for.

"This scheme is only of benefit to players with no allegiance to the county and team managers who are seeking short-term gain with no interest in developing the game in the long term
Post by: Bord na Mona man on February 25, 2008, 12:34:59 AM
I'm just curious as to what Prenty's motivations are.
I saw it alleged elsewhere that he is not amenable to the spread of hurling in his dealings in Mayo.

Post by: neilthemac on February 25, 2008, 07:37:22 PM
alleged?

its feckin common knowledge west of the shannon

how can a FULL TIME officer get away with criticising the association?
Post by: highking on February 26, 2008, 01:42:38 AM
Who is this prenty fellow answerable to. Can he not respect the rules of the GAA. Who is going to make him toe the line?

This wouldnt have anything to do with the transfer of a Dublin hurler into his own club in recent weeks, to strengthen his chances of making the Mayo team.
Post by: scalder on February 26, 2008, 05:25:36 PM
BnM – I was wondering about this too, it might be genuine concern but I've a feeling his motives are less pure! Is he afraid that these players might actually help improve the fortunes of Connacht hurling and so force a greater share of the cake to go to hurling? I could be doing the man a disservice but the state of Connacht hurling would lead you to have concerns.
Post by: the ship on February 26, 2008, 05:45:19 PM
dont worry mr prenty is not one bit nterested in hurling in mayo or anywhere else for that mater you can be sure he has an agenda, ask the hurling people of ballyhaunis who have had to suffer under his regime and do they suffer
Post by: neilthemac on February 26, 2008, 08:58:58 PM
himself and the brother?

control of Connacht GAA and Ballyhaunis club

Prenty is a gobsheen.
Post by: scalder on February 27, 2008, 11:08:18 AM
Ok armed with the reassurances that Mr Prenty's intentions are far from honourable I feel free to comment.
Connacht hurling (Galway excepted) is a disgrace, well the lack of it and fair play to those hardy few who toil the barren soil in the West. I wonder how many pronouncements Mr Prenty has made about hurling other than this one? I wonder what his plans in this capacity as provincial secretary for the game are? I really hope the lack of action to promote the game is reflected when revenues are doled out from the Championship and league!
Ulster I suppose is not much better but at least Antrim and Down seem to be making efforts, plus it has to be recognised the problems that people faced when carrying a hurl could result in you being attacked or killed!
Post by: neilthemac on March 09, 2008, 04:44:44 PM
i'm eating humble pie here

but mayo are going very well. beating westmeath today
Post by: Tubberman on March 09, 2008, 06:50:07 PM
Yeah thats a great result for Mayo, the big effort being put in over the last couple of years seems to be paying dividends. They were unlucky in their previous games, so this will give all the players a big boost. Westmeath are Christy Ring champs, so that should be the aim for Mayo this year. Hopefully, they will get more support within the county (the likes of me included!), they deserve it for all the effort they put in 
Post by: heineken_on_tap on March 10, 2008, 12:01:01 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on March 09, 2008, 04:44:44 PM

Me too! That was a savage result - obviously Mayo hurling is seriously on the up. Looks like the Rossies will be relegated from this groups after all. Anyway great result and great for hurling
Post by: the ship on March 13, 2008, 09:14:21 PM
should be a good game  kind of a b connaught final mayo to win and relegate the rossies happy days 
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 14, 2008, 10:29:11 AM
Quote from: heineken_on_tap on March 10, 2008, 12:01:01 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on March 09, 2008, 04:44:44 PM

Me too! That was a savage result - obviously Mayo hurling is seriously on the up. Looks like the Rossies will be relegated from this groups after all. Anyway great result and great for hurling

Yes great result did Keith Higgins scoring 2-7  he must be a fair hurler ?
Post by: the ship on March 14, 2008, 04:39:35 PM
heard he's not a bad footballer either
Post by: neilthemac on March 14, 2008, 06:43:34 PM
they play football in Mayo?
Post by: the ship on March 15, 2008, 04:24:57 PM
mayo 2-17 rossies 0-9 now my friends i really dont want to say i told you so but what the hell "i told you so"  :D :D :D
Post by: dodo on March 15, 2008, 07:08:08 PM
Maybe the Rossies should stay with the pool cues.
They'll definitely get better publicity !  :P
Post by: heineken_on_tap on March 18, 2008, 01:23:39 PM
Quote from: the ship on March 15, 2008, 04:24:57 PM
mayo 2-17 rossies 0-9 now my friends i really dont want to say i told you so but what the hell "i told you so"  :D :D :D

Well ship, seems Mayo are on the right road after all - I would say for a number of years Roscommon were exactly where Mayo are now. The problem was we could not substain the level we reached. Time will tell if Mayo can - seems to me a Christy ring title within the next 3 years should be the goal. Playing Galway in a connacht championship is still years away.

I still take exception to your point that Ros are like a junior team compared to Mayo - the truth been we lost 8 players from last years panel and this is a young team. If you take 8 players from any panel(even Kilkenny, Cork) then I think you would see a drop in standard.

Anyway, well done - hope hurling continues to strive in Mayo ;)
Post by: the ship on March 18, 2008, 06:40:12 PM
thank you mr heiniken for your good wishes and may i add mine to roscommon and hope that it wont be long before ye are competing with mayo at hurling and if i can be so bold football again.
Post by: heineken_on_tap on March 19, 2008, 09:42:07 AM
Quote from: the ship on March 18, 2008, 06:40:12 PM
thank you mr heiniken for your good wishes and may i add mine to roscommon and hope that it wont be long before ye are competing with mayo at hurling and if i can be so bold football again.

Absolutely ship, I can only dream of reaching finals. Of course I also dream that we actually win them when we get there .........................ah surely dreams come true some time ;)
Post by: Ash Smoker on May 13, 2010, 07:34:33 PM
Who is over Mayo hurlers this year?
I heard they had to cancel a training trip to Portugal last week because the GAA wouldn't sanction it!  >:(
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 13, 2010, 08:51:46 PM
That's the footballers Ash Smoker. Pete Finnerty is still over the hurlers, with Frank Brennan from Westport.
Post by: Lecale2 on May 13, 2010, 08:52:05 PM
Trips to Portugal!! They must be investing heavily in Mayo!

The Down players get to go to Kilclief.
Post by: Ash Smoker on May 13, 2010, 09:30:50 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 13, 2010, 08:51:46 PM
That's the footballers Ash Smoker. Pete Finnerty is still over the hurlers, with Frank Brennan from Westport.
Yeah, I was thinking it sounded a bit far fetched all right!  :D
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 19, 2010, 07:53:51 PM
After the hiding, Pete Finnerty is no longer over the hurlers I believe.